Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel La Solara 4 stars

Via Capo 118, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#30 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We had two quad rooms which were pretty and clean but a little small for four people. However, the balconies were very large and made our family very happy. We also had a large double room with balcony for my husband and myself. The hotel amenities and staff were wonderful. Thanks very much to Antonio, Mauro, & Massino who went above and beyond to make our whole stay in Sorrento a very enjoyable and memorable one. The breakfast was great and we had a delicious dinner one night in the dining room. Thanks Enno!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is the best i’ve Ever come across so far in terms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is the best i’ve Ever come across so far in terms of customer experience and satisfaction. They made sure that everything was available, always served with a smile and made us feel like royals for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff in all areas of the hotel are the most wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in all areas of the hotel are the most wonderful people they are kind polite cheerful and will do anything to make their guests happy The hotel feels like a big family the relaxed atmosphere is so lovely The food on the set menus was excellent delicious Italian dishes there was so much choice it was hard to decide we really looked forward to dinner Lovely relaxed hotel with the best staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Best stay really, and the pool was terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nello, Franco, Marcello.. front office staff were unbelievably amazing!!!! I can’t wait to go again! The reviews that it’s far?? Mario the shuttle driver was on point every hour and it was perfect. It’s my 3rd stay in Sorrento. I’ll definately be back here!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing. Nothing is ever too much trouble for you. Over and above what they need to do. When we were delayed for over 24 hours they couldn’t do enough for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location away from the hussle and bustle of the city,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would add some more vegetarian options and add a little more variety to the menu. The food was delicious however.

    Great location away from the hussle and bustle of the city, staff courteous and friendly. Very professional and attentive. Room was very clean and comfortable. The free shuttle very useful. Great food and lovely pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous views and very comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too far from the port for us. It’s quite expensive in a taxi, and too far to walk from shuttle stop with kids and luggage.

    Gorgeous views and very comfortable accommodation. The shuttle into the town centre was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Amazing People run this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is fantastic Staff go out of their way to assist. The shuttle bus to town was great. Restaurant food was delicious. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    I enjoyed my trip in super fantastic city Sorrento. Kind people, kind weather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location. Far from city center. Needs expensive taxi. Hotel bus (holel-city, city-hotel) schedule is not clear, bus is not stopping even you are in the place (bus station by directions). Needs a lot of money for taxi.

    Kindly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    We had an amazing vacation at BW La Solara! Would love to come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A

    Everything exceeded our expectations!! The staff was extremely kind and accommodating! The hotel facilities are very clean; service was excellent! The shuttle bus to Sorrento was very convenient and always on time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Very memorable a great place for family's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the shuttle bus to the centre of Sorrento could run every half hour especially in the evenings

    The stay was very enjoyable the room was beautiful overlooking the sea with a big balcony. The temperature in the room was perfect the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    A very relaxing environment with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing to complain about

    Located a little way out of Sorrento which was an advantage in that the town was very busy. The hotel provided an hourly shuttle bus into town from 0750 to 2300 hrs. Staff very courteous, friendly and helpful. Very good swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    A nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was rather small and the mattress a bit too firm in the standard room. They can supply you with a softer mattress padding.

    Very good breakfast. Amazing views and sunsets. Big terrace with the superior rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Old School Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did'nt like having to leave.

    I liked the location outside the city. I liked the staff, professional, courteous and oh so helpful. I liked the dining room and the wait staff, the kitchen, the menu and wines.. Marcello runs a tight ship. The facilities were simply superb and the high state of cleanliness and maintenance were immediately obvious. Great place more of an old school destination resort than I expected asnd I enjoyed it thoroughly. The free parking and shuttle bus were godsends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We enjoyed everything about this hotel. Perfectly located, on the hills of Sorrento, at 10 minutes by free shuttle bus from the city centre. The staff was very friendly and helped us with all our requests. Many thanks to Tina and Antonio from the reception and to Marcello the headwaiter. The food was very well prepared, the facilities great (heated pool depending on the outside temperature) and the rooms spotlessly clean. Also the prices at the restaurant and bar were lower than many other places in Sorrento. In conclusion, there was nothing that we disliked about this property. We will return next time when we will visit Sorrento.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, beautiful city with incredible people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In Sorrento the Best Western is called La Solara, if you call it the Best Western nobody knows what you are talking about

    The hotel staff were extremely friendly and assisted in every possible way. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel shuttle was an enormous help due to the location of the hotel - high up on a slope with a winding road up the mountain. An experience that will always be remembered and I will return as soon as I possibly can!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great find in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer being closer to town center however, shuttle worked just fine.

    Staff was efficient and welcoming. The hotel provided everything necessary for our stay. Shuttle to downtown was efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.2
    Verh happy with Solara
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor and colors were odd- especially the cigarette/worm overhead lights in the diningroom

    Staff were very helpful. Good food. Free upgrade, pretty floor in rooms, huge patio, with nice sea view and view of stars at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better but that maybe have been our personal taste.

    Pleasant Hotel good facilities friendly staff on the edge of Sorrento , but that was fine as the shuttle bus was excellent every hour, so going into the center was very easy especially when the taxis's are very expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, good food, clean facility, great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our party of 3 arrived on the train late in the day. We called the hotel to inquire about the shuttle pickup location and waited near hotel Cesar Augustus as recommended, but the pickup is actually at the nearby bridge about 100 meters away. We were unable to see the name of the hotel on the paper sign on the front of the shuttle in the dark, so did not know it passed us by and needed to wait an hour for the next trip. It only stopped at the bridge to pick up a few passengers and quickly departed. We arrived after the kitchen was closed, so no supper that night! The website could indicate an exact pickup location. We were disappointed that the driver did not make more of an effort to find us, as we were a very short distance away on the curb with our luggage! We called the hotel and although the staff was sorry that we missed the shuttle, would have been nice if the shuttle would have made the trip to pick us up, we had been traveling for hours. Fitness room treadmills not working. Water cooler in room was empty.

    Desk staff very helpful. Excellent travel suggestions. We had dinner at the hotel one evening, and the food was very well prepared, waitstaff quite professional. Despite service issue with pickup, we would probably stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Splendid hotel located on the hillside of Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constructive criticism: it would be great if booking.com clients could purchase a meal plan similar to Thompson Tours. Their customers get room plus Breakfast & Dinner, ours only included Breakfast.

    The staff do their outmost in terms of customer service. The rooms are spacious & comfortable. After a busy day, you can enjoy snacks & beverages on the pool deck & unwind. We enjoyed the pool but it closes at 18:00 in October; an extra afternoon just to relax poolside would been have good. The Gala dinner on Sunday is special as the staff take pride in making it theatrical! Complimentary aperitif & live music start the evening! I would recommend this hotel to couples or families. The hourly shuttle to/from the hotel is handy in terns of going to town or making connections to the train or bus stations. Easy access to Pompeii, Amalfi Coast & near by towns. I can only dream of finding deals such as offered from Thompson Tours in Great Britain....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel in Sorrento!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are sizable by European standards, comfortable and quiet, allowing one to get a good night's sleep. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about activities in the area. There is parking on the premises and a regular shuttle to town. The complimentary buffet breakfast is fabulous - with several varieties of coffee brewed on the spot, freshly squeezed fruit juices, eggs, potatoes, bacon, toast, prosciutto, cold cuts, cheeses, olives, prunes, bagels, a variety of cereals, muffins, rolls, croissants, yogurts, granola, breakfast cakes, pastries, and an entire section for people with dietary restrictions. A good value, particularly if you're traveling with kids with healthy appetites!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with excellent staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only neg for me was the very firm bed but some people prefer that.

    Staff was wonderful and extemely accommodating with any questions or needs. Great tour recommendations. Hotel has nice breakfast buffet and extra large pool along with separate childrens pool. Transportation into town was available and free.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    We enjoyed everything at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything at the property. The staff was excellent, The food and wine were great, the room and the view were awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view. Wait staff and food were wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Great value fro money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have any problem

    Very nice staff, clean rooms, great kitchen and a very useful shuttle bus to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was great. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Equipe do hotel excelente!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Da vista do quarto

    Da equipe do hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff! Great shuttle service! Beautiful location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    It is a nice (if not outstanding) property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    Bus to town made it very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    It was a base we used to attend my daughters wedding. Great to come back too and relax.
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have any dislikes

    Peaceful location after the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. Excellent free shuttle bus service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Best family hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is fabulous! We stayed there with 3 kids under 8 years old and loved it! Can't wait to go back!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice people and helpful, great room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room was very limited in items to use

    Complimentary champagne for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The beds, pillows, bathroom, and patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds, pillows, bathroom, and patio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Friendly welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of room

    Except for the view, everything about the hotel was top notch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Stunning as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All brilliant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    nice staff, nice pool, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice staff, nice pool, very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Peacefull hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best staff ever, cleaness number one

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.3
    Want to go back and stay a week!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a hard time getting TV channels in English

    Property was beautiful, staff courteous, and the shuttle to Sorrento very handy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Good view to the sea from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Position on map is wrong - close, but wrong. Pool is not heated...

    Good view to the sea from our room. Free shuttle to Sorrento every hour.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated pool a little too cold

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place,peaceful ,helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked room with better view

    Helpful staff,assistance with booking trains and private driver

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room did not have a good view. At all.

    The staff was amazing! Above and beyond

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.8
    A package holiday from the eighties
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical 'British' package tour hotel - ok if you like that sort of thing but not for the discerning traveller

    The staff were very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Perfect holiday in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There wasn't anything to dislike about this hotel. Location was fab, staff friendly and helpful, food excellent and facilities great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    9.2
    Hourly free bus service to center of Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hourly free bus service to center of Sorrento.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48