Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bigallo 3 stars

Vicolo degli Adimari 2, Duomo, 50122 Florence, Italy

#148 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 944 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is bit hidden, and reception is on a third floor

    Great location, get out almost on cathedral square. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is simple but nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were very thin, made it hard to sleep comfortably.

    Excellent location for walking around Florence and surprisingly quiet (if you have a room in the back), given the proximity to a busy piazza.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I didn't care for was the building itself (the hotel occupies the 3rd and 4th floors). The entrance is rather dreary, giving little sense of how pleasant the Bigallo is once inside their premises.

    The hotel, more like a pensione, was very comfortable and pleasant And the location was spectacular: the Duomo was my next door neighbor practically. Yet in a cul-de-sac, so actually quite quiet. Best of all, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful--and extremely attentive to a left heel problem I had developed during my time in Italy. And the woman in charge of breakfast is so sweet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Literally right next to the Duomo. My room was near bell tower and they were beautiful to listen to. Woman at reception was very friendly and super helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could not be better. Could open the window in our room and have an excellent view of the Duomo. Have the pictures to prove! All the staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There is an ambulance station next to the hotel, so at night you sometimes heard sirens.

    Staff was friendly and almost all were fluent in English. Can't beat the location: it is next to the Duomo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from a room number is absolutely fantastic and exciting! We also appreciated the parking, keys were left on a reception and staff drove away our car and drove it back by our request.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Amazing location, very convenient - able to watch the Explosion of the cart (Easter) from the hotel lobby window and pop back to the hotel during the day easily if needed during our stay. Clean, comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to say here, as everything excellent

    I came here on an emergency flight from the embassy, my father had collapsed and was in the Santa Maria Nuovo Hospital, the hotel staff bent over backwards to take care of all our needs. Lots of calls, faxes etc and nothing a problem. Cannot recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the location as I thought we would have a view of Duomo, however we were overlooking scaffolding and roofs. The staff could not tell me if there were any English speaking TV channels and told me to ‘flick through and if I could not find any there were none’ not helpful when there are hundreds of channels. I was eaten alive by mosquitos and there were no mosquito nets in the room. I had to open the bedroom window as it was so warm, I was told it was too early in the season for air conditioning to be put on. So catch 22, open window and be eaten by mosquitos (which I had not realised at the time) or bake in a hot room. Room was extremely dark and grim until the window was open. Then the room was quite pretty. This has resulted in me being quite unwell on my return to the UK from the mosquito bites. Not ideal.

    Location is fantastic with the hotel beside Duomo. The contenitenal breakfast was nice and majority of the staff were nice and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast

    View from our window was to cathedral. Stylish decor, simple but comfortable enough. Good breakfast. I would recommend it for tourists since location is so central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff incredibly friendly and extremely helpful to me and my travelling companion when I ended up in hospital. Location was perfect, room and bathroom spacious with a touch of elegance, Nice to have armchairs in bedroom and hotel to relax in. Wifi worked well thought.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no iron, even not at the reception. The breakfast was included but the quality was poor and sweets only. There is no guest allowed after 11pm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Reaching the hotel by car is not easy, very narrow roads with special traffic conditions! - Parking in the garage some streets away, you need to leave the car keys and they will park it in another parking lot they have on the other side of the city and when you need the car you inform the garage one hour in advance! but driving in this area is not recommended. - Reception is on the third floor, if you don't read this you will have to guess until you reach inside the elevator where the first sign says that the reception is on the 3rd floor next to the 3rd button. - You use the elevator for the Check-in \ check-out to the 3rd floor but not from your room if it's on other floors (4th for example) but you still can go to the reception and use the elevator from there at the 3rd floor. - The bathroom was very cold even with the heating on because it's not well isolated. several pieces of furniture are broken or not working. - the nice view was in the bathroom !! from the bathroom window !! so you only can enjoy the view while being naked taking a shower if you can stand the cold while the window is open and of course don't mind people watching you (only in case they look up on to this dead angle)! hahaha

    In a very nice location. Nice breakfast included. Very helpful and friendly staff. Has elevator (read -ve).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upkeep could be better.

    Overlooking the Piazza del Duomo, the hotel has the best possible location one can think of. Has extremely friendly staff, semi rustic decor and is clean. Has numerous food options nearby. Worth further recommendations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not suitable for a business trip if you need working space or a desk.

    Perfect location to explore Florence. Walking distance from the main sights. Plenty of dining options in the area. Friendly and helpful staff. Free wi fi in the rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy as the ambulances for central Florence are stationed outside the hotel. The Misericordia who operate these have been there for 600 years so not much can be done about this!

    Absolutely stunning view. Helpful, friendly staff. Easy walking to all the tourist sites.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning somewhat noisy. No view from the room, but direct view to the dome from the reception.

    Excellent location, right in the dome piazza. Confortable room, nicely decorated. Breakfast was a little light, but ok for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are to hard

    It's very well located. You can actually wake up to. The bells of the Duomo.really loved the hotel. It's very safe, you can walk around at any time at night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned electric meant our adaptors were difficult to use. The hotel lent us one though.

    Fantastic location. Great breakfast and friendly staff. The lift was hilarious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Something that the hotel can't do much about: the streets in the centre of Firenze change -- one way, security bollards etc -- without much notice.

    The view out of our window of the Duomo was stunning. The staff did their best to guide us to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Blanket is a bit old, wish could have duvet

    -Hotel is right besides the Santa Maria Cathedral, view is great -Location is great, walking distance to many stores around -Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality-price reletionship. Some of the doublerooms are very small, if you pay 30 EUR extra you can get normal size doubleroom with the view.

    The situation is good, same is the view, but to get the view you must pay extra.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was fine but comparing with other hotels the variety was poorer.

    The location was excellent, so close to everything. I liked the decoration and cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    heater in the room 1307 did not operate well (there was colder than in the hotel's coridor) lack of space in a cabinet too narrow elevator (hotel is in the 3rd floor...) difficult to reach hotel by car due to traffic restrictions depozit for a dog even if it is small (50 €)

    perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size is small. The breakfast can surely be improved. The lift is a bit scary.

    The greatest advantage of this property is its location. The lady at the reception was very courteous and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small and dark ,we had to use stairs at the dining room to get to our room which was uncomfortable specially when people were having their breakfast . The Hotel theme is pure Italian which was nice but not recommended to stay longer than two days

    Location was the best literally we were in the Center of Firenze

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choices in breakfast

    Location deserve more than 10, maybe not suitable for old people bcz there is a several stairs must use them. But is nice place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative, which isn't the hotel's fault, is that the toilet in our room was uncomfortably close to the wall. We accepted it as an odd quirk in an old building. Certainly not a deal breaker.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable, and offered a fine breakfast. They even had a lift to the third floor reception desk. Even better was the location, right across from the baptistry!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sulfur smell in the bathroom permeated the entire room. It gave off a bad sewage smell. Also, it was very cold in the room. Bedding was thin and the heater though on full-blast didn't do much.

    Location is amazing especially if you're pressed for time and tourism.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an extremely disgusting inconvenience. When we go to bed we found q blood stain, of course not ours, we made a claim in reception in order solve the problem ASAP and of course get an apology. The night receptionist came with a reponsible (probably the owner). They blame on the maids without receiving any apology. After taking the sheets to change them we saw how disgusting the mattress was full of stains. They changed the bottom sheet and that’s it. After that not even a word until we checked out, when they just said they couldn’t do anything about it.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast lacks scrambled eggs and meat. The elevator is too small and narrow.

    The room is a nice big suite with a mezzanine bedroom. There is no tea pot but they bring hot water to your room. The staffs are courteous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated but fine. They were comfortable and clean.

    The location was excellent, staff very friendly, very clean hotel. Breakfast was good and replenished well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Television is in Italian only. For international guests a couple of international News channels is a must if you want to compete with other hotels. Breakfast area too little and uncomfortable. Access to rooms, elevator and room key procedure very inconvenient.

    Location was excellent. Very nice, clean and bright rooms. Staff very kind, warm and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok - rather limited if you eat low carb as there were a lot of cereal, pastry/bread items. However there were choices of fruit, yoghurt, cheese and hard-boiled eggs to fill up on. Coffee was not good - lukewarm and a bit 'scummy'; I think I would have preferred instant!

    The hotel is very well placed for all main sights: the Duomo (and its bells...!) are just outside; the Uffizi and Accademia Galleries are both a 10 minute walk away and there are shops, cafes and restaurants everywhere. The staff were charming and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. It was handy to have a fridge in the room. The wifi connection was strong and re-connected as soon as you got back to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were very small,but consider age, no big deal.

    Irene the receptionist went above and beyond. Rosa in dining area was very accommodating. The place was very clean. The place was a perfect location! And thank god for the elevator!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator was claustrophobic

    The included trip to Murano was the highlight of our stay. Water taxi and friendly tour guide made it memorable. Great breakfast also included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a Brit abroad I miss tea/coffee making facilities in the the bedroom, but this is appears to be a continental thing, there was a fridge so cold drinks could be kept in the room instead. This is such a minor thing, everything else was superb.

    Perfect location right next to the Duomo. Every single staff member we met was polite and friendly, the bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom huge, breakfast wasn't a vast selection but was good, fresh and kept well stocked. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the room wasn't clean u could found dust anywhere -very bad wifi -poor breakfast

    The location is perfect & the staff r so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being right next to the breakfast room was a little noisy in the morning.

    The location was incredible. The staff were great and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next door to the hotel there was a garage for emergency vehicles. I was awakened 3 times by screaming sirens. :-((

    So close to Il Duomo, you could practically touch it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Large room, good sized bathroom, cold air-con and excellent location. Breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. Would stay here again if ever in Florence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Note that the reception/lobby of the hotel is on the third floor. So at the entrance take either the stairs or elevator to the third floor. (this is not mentioned at the entrance) - Breakfast could be improved, as the choice is quite limited. However sufficient breakfast opportunities are close-by the hotel. Quality is ok.

    - Perfect location, right in the city center. Less than 1 minute walk to the Duomo. All nice restaurants and squares (piazza's) are easily reachable by foot. Taxi's are (minimally) allowed in the city center, as the city has a (close to) no-traffic policy. But the whole city is easily reachable by foot. Also recommended as this is the nicest way to see the city. - Very friendly staff, who are very helpful. - Leaving luggage at the lobby upon early arrival or after check-out is possible, without surcharge. - Bathroom facilities available in the lobby in case of arrival before check-in or after check-out. - Safe room-key "policy". You have to leave your key at the reception when leaving the hotel, which you can pick-up (24/7) when you return to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The temperature - Firenze is hot in August!

    A brilliant location with the majority of attractions within walking distance. And what a view from our top floor room! All the staff were so helpful, especially the breakfast lady and Irene. Goodnight and we will see you in our dreams.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - I thought that the Hotel Bigallo was excellent

    The friendly efficient staff, excellent room and firm bed, great breakfast and so close to the Duomo [one of the main attractions and centre of Florence.]

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is very tiny and not pram friendly. The stairs do not have banisters which is not ideal for a small child.

    The room was comfortable and the staff was very nice. Basic breakfast but very nice coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift could only be used for luggage transferral. Stairs don't suit everyone.

    Very central. Right next to the cathedral. Fantastic view from our window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite making a booking for a family of four with young children and asking for one double bed and two single beds, two non-adjoining rooms with double beds were provided. This was not satisfactory. The hotel said they never received the details regarding the children from booking.com. If true, this needs to be rectified. Thanks.

    Great location, rooms and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked the room with Duomo view and got an e-mail from Hotel asking if I'm ready to pay extra for that. I confirmed I will but while arriving they claimed they did not recieve my confirmation and no Duomo view rooms available now. Also I was told they already had quite many issues about communicating with clients while booking from this site. So better make your reservation communicating the hotel directly or double check the hotel got the information you sent.

    The location is perfect!!! The price was surprisingly low (I ordered 5 month before staying)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although you can order tea and coffee from reception it would be nice to have facilities in the room. Lovely continental breakfast to set you up for the day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel owns 3rd floor and needed very small lift to carry big luggage to it. Breakfast needs better selection.

    Location excellent, couldn't have been better. Room clean and tidy. Girl on desk excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very basic. Guests need to remember that the hotel starts on the fourth floor of the building, there is a small lift to help.

    Location could not be better. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    One of the reception desk staff was very good but the others were not very helpful or friendly. Checking out very early in the morning was a disaster !!! We had to get to the airport and had a taxi waiting for us while they tried to get our charges through !! They also kept the door locked on the floor above reception ( only had 17 rooms that occupied the 3rd and 4th floors) and always had to meet us up there to unlock the door for us. One if the receptionist told my friend to use the back stairs so she could open the door for me when I took the elevator instead of doing it herself !! The rooms were nice but the beds were too firm. The breakfast was satisfactory but not great. All in all I would not stay there again. The only thing going for it was the great location by the Duomo and Piaza di Republican !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing that was wasn't perfect was the bed. Very hard and woke up with aching back.

    The location was amazing, the staff was friendly and helpful, rooms well insulated from street noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stingy. No complimentary coffee or tea. No coffee maker in room. Hand towels material like napkins only bigger. Breakfast bare minimum. Breakfast coffee machine not working as well as it should. They will turn on the machine and then charge you for it. All walls need painting. Tiny elevator even for Italy. This is a medieval building. Bed hard as a rock.

    Position a stone throw rom Dumo. 10 minute walk from main train station. Forgot that the church bells chime - early wake up.Pleasant and helpful staff. The cleaning staff did a good job.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bad experience with the Garage that we parked the car with through the hotel, the car was scratched and the hotel didnt interfere and they told us that this is something between us and the Garage while this was managed through the hotel at the beginning, so the Hotel was good but not recommended if you have a car as it's very difficult to manage the car parking by yourself.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So the stairs beware that you can only use the elevator or check-in and check-out and the hotel is on the 4th floor but really felt like the 6th floor because of the high ceiling making each flight of stairs longer. The wifi that you get for one hour free a day never worked for me and I heard other guests say the same thing. Then on our last night, our sink stopper got stuck and we couldn't get it to pop back up. It happen so late it wasn't worth bothering the staff about but still it was annoying we couldn't use our bathroom sink the next morning for getting ready.

    So our room was one of our biggest of our trip which was amazing to have extra room in our hotel rooms. Our view from our bathroom was awesome it was of the Domo, and the bathroom was awesome, it actually had a power plug so I could do my hair in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful on questions we had. Their breakfast they had was awesome! So good and lots of options. The location is such a great place if you want to be near the Domo and all the museums such a great location!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee making facilities in room. Had requested a nice room as we were on our honeymoon and got a tiny old room. While checking in asked the reception person if my request had been received via Booking.com and he very rudely said...well you haven't paid extra for a room with a view so you won't get one. He was not nice at all. The shower was quite dirty and all night you could hear water running through the pipes in the walls. Noisy.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots for breakfast except no eggs. Even hard boiled would be nice. Kind of hard to find. Once you get to the door there is no sign saying you need to go up 3 flights to the check in desk.

    The best location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was a little cramped and the breakfast while adequate was basic.

    Location was wonderful and not very far from the railway station. Easy walking distance to all of the major sights.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not an issue for us, but if you have trouble with stairs you want to make sure to let the reservation desk know as they have rooms that are single story, and rooms with a loft that have steep steps for beds above and below - the loft rooms are the ones I've stayed in for more than two people. They're roomy but if you have trouble with stairs you'll need to let them know so you enjoy your stay.

    Best location for seeing all the sights, including the Duomo which you see from your room. Room for 3 was very comfortable and the breakfast is yummy. Very convenient to restaurants and shopping. My favorite place to stay in Florence. I park at the Parterre Parking garage and walk in, however there are buses and taxis that can get you from any parking garage if you plan to drive to Florence.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff apathetic. The WORST breakfast I've ever had in a hotel... Not to mention the ridiculous fact that you have to pay extra for wi fi. (10 euros for 3 days... a Rip Off!)

    Very well located. Rooms with an excelent view to Santa Maria dei Fiori.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is extremely basic, bed is rock hard and pillows flat as a pancake. Bathroom layout odd and difficult.

    Location is fabulous, view from room is to die for

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We like everything of this Hotel. We felt like home and were treated as family by Rossana, Alessia and Alessandra. In addition, the Hotel is excellent and very well located. We will definitively recommend it and choose it again if we have the chance to come back to Florence.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central location and good value for money. Rooms are spacious and are kept very clean. Frendly staff and good breakfast. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the bells from the church as well as the noise of the ambulances.

    The location was excellent, pretty close to all the items to be visited.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My favorite hotel in Florence. This time I was there with my Dad and brother, and we fit comfortably in the room, which had a loft with two singles, and a single bed in the main room. The hotel breakfast is great! The location is convenient to go and see some of the main sites: the Dome, Uffizi, and Academia. We were able to see the sites because the hotel kept our bags all day after checkout, which was so convenient. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress a little thin, but overall comfortable enough. While our room had a view, it was the closest to reception which got quite loud as people came in late at night. Same room but on a different floor might be quieter.

    Loved this location! Nicely appointed rooms, clean and updated bathrooms. Happy they had a lift, reception is on 3rd floor. Staff helpful, storing our luggage since we arrived prior to check in time. They also arranged for a large taxi to pick us up at 4:00 am to get us to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complementary wifi, you have to pay for it and even paying the internet service is extremely bad and slow.

    Great location, amazing view to the Duomo.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the 3rd floor and only having a small lift.

    Great location. Hotel is situated on 3rd floor of the building with a great view out over the cathedral. Rooms were great everything you could ask for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekkie, or maybe we were just over continental by this time 🙄

    Totally central to a number of attractions, close to a large amount of eateries and bars of all kind. Clean rooms and convinient access at all times.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is severely outdated and in need of a deep clean and a fresh coat of paint. The pictures they use on the website must be from many years ago. The floor of our room was dirty when we arrived and the place was quite dusty in most places. The top of the tv was never dusted during our four night stay. It took two days for the bits on the floor to disappear and the marks on the top of the bedside table were never cleaned. The material on the chairs was black and dirty. The whole place needs a fresh coat of paint. You only get one flat pillow each and one spare in the room and when we asked for another pillow they said they didn't have any!? The view from our room was into the back of the other buildings and when we asked if we could get a room with a better view the man at the desk said yes we have three available would you like to see them so we thought great but then he informed us that this would be an extra 40 euro a night if we wanted these rooms. He then informed us that if we had requested it at booking we could have got a room with a view but seeing as we didn't state this we would have to pay extra!! Even though he had just told us they were free for our entire stay. First time I've ever come across this, very disappointing. Breakfast is as basic as it comes with very low quality produce. I have no doubt this could be an amazing hotel if some changes were made.

    The great location and lovely girl at the desk are the only things this place has going for it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could improve would be free wifi

    The location is the best. The staff friendly and helpful and the rooms clean, spacious and quiet. Breakfast is continental with good choice of cakes, croissants, cereals, bread, cold meats.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly as in the pictures. Old hotel and the view of the duomo is not present from all rooms.

    Very good location.. Exactly neard the duomo. Staff very helpful and smart.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wish there was a safe box in the room and no free wifi seems a little 'old fashioned' (should be standard these days in my opinion)

    the location was fantastic, no issue with noise either. Bed was super comfortable and reception staff (especially Alexandra) went out of their way to help us with arranging the car parking and making our stay pleasant, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bigallo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: