Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Blumen 3 stars

Via Mazzini 45, 40137 Bologna, Italy

#75 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 995 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is very high, I didn’t enjoy my relief time and the double bed is in fact two single beds brought together and at any movement we did me and my wife the beds would split away!!

    It’s in a fair location where busses pass all the time to take u to the city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of breakfast. It could be more organised. There were a lot of choices but they weren't of good quality.

    The room was really clean and had a lot of amenities. The staff was very helpful and the neighborhood of the hotel was ideal, not too far from the center and also beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful had. The

    Overall this small hotel was value for money, though the room was relatively small it had all the extras one would associate with a larger higher starred hotel. The bed, the cleanliness of the room and the bed linen etc were all of a good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was smaller and older than it seems on the photos.

    Hotel is at an easy walking distance to Piazza Maggiore. Breakfast was very good. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is ideal for those arriving by car. The hotel has a private parking place. Not very close to city center but easily reached by walking. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, comfortable and clean room, excellent breakfast with a variety of food to choose from and great location, you can go to the city centre on foot! It's also very convenient if you have a car ,since it provides free parking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small shower cabin

    The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel has a small parking facilities which is a bonus in Bologna. Location, just outside ZTL area, with easy access to Bologna's points of interest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cosy and not warm enough. But I need only to sleep so it was normal.

    I have already known this hotel for my other visits to Bologna. I choos it because of the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is around 20 minutes walk from Piazza Msggiore but it is extremely comfortable and clean . The staff is very friendly and helpful and it has parking facilities which is a bonus in Bologna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't really fault this place.

    The size of the room exceeded our expectations. The bed was very comfortable. The attention to detail in the bathroom was pleasantly surprising. The location - close to city centre, local shops and bus/ train services was great. Helpful staff, Great breakfasts. Only two minor problems - the shower doors don't fully meet when closed. Also, we asked for a cup of hot water at breakfast and it tasted odd. However, it hasn't harmed us on any way so it's only a minor niggle. Overall a great place to stay. We'd use it again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a joke, I was specific that I needed a large parking space and was led to believe parking on site was adequate - it was anything but, a complete joke. If you require parking book another hotel.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one thing to say, some - not all - of the bread in breakfast was not fresh, we took another one and everything was ok!

    Everything was just as we expected, the hotel is very nice, clean with strong wifi, well renovated, the reception stuff wonderfully polite (especially the guy that checked us in, he offered us a room with double bed since we were a couple and we had only found a double room with two beds when we booked, he gave us directions and propositions for the city etc), the breakfast was nice, the cappuccino great and the location was a good one too. I would return there happily!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the best room,very spacious with private patio! We travelled with a baby and needed hot water and microwave at odd hours, staff was really helpfull! Pleasant walk from hotel to city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Comfortable room with bar fridge. Big comfortable beds. Plenty pillows. Terrace. Well appointed bathroom. Good breakfast. A nice touch is that you can have a meal 24/7 as the hotel offers fabulous frozen meals which they warm up for you. For me this was a real bonus as it meant I didn't have to go out to a restaurant after a long day. My Risotto con Radicchio was delicious and served with a glass of wine. The staff are fabulous, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is within walking distance of the Centro Storico and is well located to the Orsola Malpighi Hospital for those that have family there, which was my situation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is astonishingly small. You can barely move around in it.

    Great location, close to public transportation. Room is very clean, wifi works great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was tight, but we had a small car!! Always busy at breakfast, struggled to get a table on one occasion.

    Located close enough to the centre of Bologna, yes not inside the old walls. A lovely 10minute walk up covered walkways to the main areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I personally found the bed too firm for comfort, but that is entirely my personal taste - my husband found it comfortable enough.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and multi-lingual. The breakfast offered a wide variety and lots of it. The premises were kept scrupulously clean. The hotel was within about 20 minute walking distance from the city centre, and the route was very easy to find - a completely straight line through the old city gate and down the Strada Maggiore. There were plenty of places to eat, whether coffee and cake or dinner, within walking distance. We were informed that there is a good bus service, though we didn't make use of it ourselves.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little hot at night making it difficult to sleep.

    Location of the hotel. We were going to a concert at the Teatro Antoniano and you could almost see the theatre from the hotel so very handy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only real issue I had was the poor quality of the bed - a mattress on straps and the pillows were stiff. I am not a good walker and most of the transportation was a distance to walk.

    Cafe, restaurant, a few shops and public transportation were close by. Breakfast was SUPERB, staff were friendly and helpful. Fairly close to the old city (about 7-10 EU by taxi) The fast trains were wonderful to get around Italy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit narrow, had to be carefull turning.

    The croissants were the best ever tasted with different flavoured creams. The best was pistachio.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny and dark and on a noisy street. It was also very spartan (but I have been in worse Italian hotels, for sure). Luckily, I was so tired from travelling that I slept despite the traffic noise.

    The staff were excellent and I received a good recommendation for dinner (mind you, I speak Italian, so it may have been easier for me to communicate). The location was fine for my work (15 minutes walk). The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Congested traffic in the area means it can take a while to do the 2km from the ring road exit to the hotel

    Good breakfast; adequate room and helpful staff. Parking a real bonus, even if a bit cramped. Location also good for 10 min walk into city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon when we stayed and 35 degrees outside No restaurant noisy road outside

    Staff very helpful Parking was available on site Apologised for no aircon, breakdown Pointed out good, not expensive, restaurant within walking distance

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Even though you were outside the city centre, it was only a 10 minute walk to the old city gates. Also, there was a bus stop outside the hotel which, for one euro, we could travel anywhere and this including getting to the railway station which we did quite frequently. Even though we had a couple of hiccups at the hotel, the staff were MARVELLOUS and put everything right immediately.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very small and was almost constantly full. We had to stay at paid parking place nearby (1,5€/hour), but we had luck and it was free on Sunday.

    Short walking distance to city centre, good breakfast choice and good capuccino. Staff was helpful. Best variety of toilettries in bathroom I have ever seen. Room at the back was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very small and was full on our arrival. We had to stay at paid parking place nearby (1,5€/hour), but we had luck and it was free on Sunday.

    Very close to city centre, good breakfast choice and good capuccino, too. Staff was helpful. Best variety of toilettries in bathroom I have ever seen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was pretty tight to fit into. no air conditioning but opening the window allowed the sounds of the city to come in...I find restful, others may not.

    Rooms were a good size and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice hotel with car park with a good breakfast very close to the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just fine for our needs

    Location, coffee in the morning, breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could of been more exciting ad alsqashed together in hotel lobby

    The hotel was great value for money and good parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luggage store is not big enough..

    Staff are friendly.. Location is good..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult.

    This hotel is an inexpensive option. The staff were efficient; very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small and needed refurbishment

    Had large terrace with the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the Cosmoprof show the hotel was way overpriced (3 times more than the regular room price)!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to call reception to turn on heating

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really comfortable bed and a cosy room during a cold snap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking, helpful and friendly staff, wireless functioned well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were satisfied with the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Parking, it is not easy in Italy at all

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, easy access to points of interest,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the air conditioner was noisy and the breakfast too much ordinary

    Big room, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very easy walk to old town. Breakfast. Parking on-site was great! Room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small.

    The breakfast was satisfacing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for what it offers. Personnel quite indifferent.

    Close to Bologna Fair and city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old and price was quite high for a night in this conditions (80€)

    The location was good. Free parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater was hard to adjust and the room got pretty hot.

    Great location near the main Piazza. Nice comfy room with balcony. We will come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was rather simple.

    Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed small

    Nice helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Estacionamento no local gratuito!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closest hotel to the center according to booking.com with a free parking. Big room for 3 ppl. Fast wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was tiny, even too tight for our 10 year old son!

    Everything except for the shower. Even the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be even better if freshly baked breads are always available.

    Many cakes and cookies of local produce to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated

    Free parking, friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly and helpful staff free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Was impressed by having even a tooth-brush in 3-stars hotel! Very tasty breakfast with excellent chose like prosciutto. Very clean room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast waitress was miserable, every day. Shower was too small.l

    Reception staff were excellent, room was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom shower to small

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything, would recommend highly.

    Beautiful clean traditional room with free car park in an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room

    Halpfull staff, parking, good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    Very close to city centre a very easy walk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very much Italian style.

    Very close to center, just before car restriction area. P-place incl in stay and free of charge

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good central city hotel, nice staff. Ask for a room at the back if you want the window open.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price was not very high, so perhaps I could not ask for more. But breakfast is quite essential for me and there was not a lot on offer... Also, there must have been something wrong with the AC as it was quite warm in the rooms.

    I was in Bologna for a meeting at the university. The location was ok, the beds nice and staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The world's smallest shower cubicle. No restaurant. Only one restaurant within short walking distance. Very expensive considering the facilities, although to be fair we booked during a trade fair, and all hotels in Bologna are over-priced during these times.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Free parking available.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely not recommending this hotel. Regardless of what room you get it is a smoking room with a horrible cigaret smell and ashtray on TV table. Our firts room was so badly smelling that we (non-smokers) felt dizzy after spending only 30 min in that room. Our second room was better in terms of a smell but still not possible to rest. That room had a baby cot and an ashtray burned with cigarets (!!). Good one!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast, as expected. Seems to be the norm in Italy. Room and hotel seem a bit dated, The key is weighted down with a block of metal so you don't take it with you. Vintage, right?

    Free parking as in beer, but not free as in available. Receptionist moved her car to make space for mine. Staff friendly, trying to be helpful but not quite succeeding, I asked for a bed sheet and I got two blankets. I asked again and it wasn't easy to make the (other) receptionist believe that it was not blankets what I needed. You can take the bus (19 or 27) for 5-6 stops right to city center. Tickets cost €1.5 and are valid for 75 minutes. You get them from tobacco shops and newsstands; there is one right in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    "Free" parking was full and staff wasn't very helpful in finding alternative solutions

    10min walking distance from the lovely towers on city center

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although I had a nonsmoking room the room & hallway smelled like stale cigarettes. Not a huge deal but noticeable. Staff were very welcoming & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very bad smells of smoke in the room..no working air condition..no service at all..İ Couldn't bear to stay even 2 hours.ı strongly no recommend this hotel (((

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    surroundings near the hotel a bit decayed, but that affects a large part of the city itself.

    Not too distant from city center, all way possible under semi-open galleries, except maybe for crossing the city ring.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great selection for breakfast and easy.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit of mould in shower-room.

    Professional staff, good location - city centre is a twenty-minute walk, good value for money. Recommended.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy on road side

    Good stopover if travelling. Lovely city, good restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Posto auto insufficiente

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Blumen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: