Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Hotel Bolivar 4 stars

Via Della Cordonata 6, Rione Monti, 00187 Rome, Italy

#444 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 638 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    For the value and location and not a hotel you will lounge around all day...then it's a great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is good however not very close to any metro stop..About an easy ten minute walk. Don't book a room on the first floor (their second floor) as you can hear the noise from the lobby come right up the stairs and into your rooms. Rooms are small but acceptable if you are just looking for a place to sleep and have a beer or a glass of wine in their small but acceptable lounge area before bedtime...you're in luck. Average breakfast served in a very sunny upstairs room with a nice view.

    Location...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    The property is reasonable well located and was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee machine at breakfast could be upgraded as it was like old percolated cofee.

    The property is reasonable well located and was clean. The front desk staff were very helpful. The breakfast was basic but okay . The Wifi was intermittent and only worked in some parts of the room which was frustrating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The architecture of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities in the rooms was zero. No boiler no glass no plates in room. Bad stuff in breakfast bar.

    The architecture of the hotel. It has refrigerator in rooms. Good breakfast restaurant. But if you go late some items are gone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location with walking distance to best locations in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs improvement with the room as we used air condition (summer time) and a bit noisy at the night time.

    Location is the first thing in mind, close to all Rome's best attractions especially Fontana di Trevi and Spanish steps . Breakfast at the upper level was enjoyable with the great view of Rome. Booking taxi through reception is very fast, we did it 3 times and the taxi was ready not more than 5 to 10 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Calm Street at the HEART of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very poor. Not a lot of options, just basic (scramble eggs, bacon, bread, cheese and jam). We were traveling with a 2 years old kid and it was very hard to feed him without a melon, watermellow, papaya, or some other fresh fruit (there were just apples )

    The locations is Perfect. Very odd find a good hotel 5 minutes from Trevi Fontane with parking lot. Bolivar has parking to taxi pick up and leave people and parking to cars. Most of Hotel at Monti, the taxi has to stop at middle of street to leave or pick up people and their stuffs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    We would be happy to stay again at The Comfort Hotel Bolivar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pedestrian access from main roads to the hotel via narrow cobbled streets was disappointingly dirty with litter and let down the hotel, which was well kept.

    We enjoyed our four night stay this hotel. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is only a few minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain, Presidential Palace, Trajan's Market and the Colosseum. The hotel is in a quiet central location although close to several very busy main roads and bus route from Rome Termini Station to St Peter's Square. Bedroom was not particularly spacious but had character and was interestingly furnished and decorated. Breakfast room with its view of the Rome rooftops was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    I would choos another hotel any day of the week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not suitable for 4 people, they had squeezed in 2 extra beds in a double room. The rooms was very sensitive for noises from the corridor, it was like people outside the room was inside. Breakfast was very simple and service very low.

    The only good thing with this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Great for someone who needs sanctuary from the noise and bustle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were slightly austere

    Rome is pretty hectic, but the hotel, down an unpreposessing alley, is an oasis of quiet and relaxation. I liked the warm colours, the trees, the architecture, and the lovely little restaurant opposite. Also - the staff were kind, helpful and laid back and I got the impression that they genuinely enjoyed working there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic, the man at reception went above and beyond to help us out. Breakfast was perfect. And i do recommend to ask for a room on the same floor as the breakfast room as these 2 rooms have balconys. Perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is located in the city center and it is just few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is located in the city center and it is just few minutes from main sights. Hotel has awesome helpful stuff. They provide private parking next to the hotel, where is "dead-end" so there are not many people around. Breakfast offers a nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really loved our stay here. Perfect place, perfectly located near all the attractions. The staff were amazing and very friendly. Thank you Peter, we hope to see you all again soon. Adam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi in my room location was very weak. In the rest of the hotel it was OK.

    Bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, hotel location for tourist is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a great break in Rome and could easily walk to everything we wanted to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the Hotel Bolivar is fantastic - just a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and less to the Trevi Fountain. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended - except for their breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the only reason I'm not giving a 10-10 to this hotel is the breakfast they serve. Please, serve fresh food, more fruits, natural juices and healthy cereals. It is a shame, bearing in mind the amazing view the have on the top floor and the taste Italians have for quality food.

    Location, location, location. It is located in a great area of Rome, walking-distance to every mayor attraction or tourist site. From there you can literally walk to every part of Rome. The area si safe, there are good osterias and trattorias near-by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location but basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 star is definitely not the correct rating. I wouldn’t rate it more than 2-3 star. Facilities were not impressive at all. Very small room, with not enough space and storage. You didn’t know where to put your suitcases. No kettle, no iron. Very small TV, face towels made of sheets not proper towel. And the double bed had two single mattresses rather than one double. We had a quadruple room which was hardly the size of a normal double. Very limited breakfast buffet in a very small restaurant. And all this for a ridiculously expensive rate.

    I liked it’s perfect location and friendly staff. Also it was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Requested king size bed but they provided two single beds joind togather which were totally uncomfortable despite writing in the special requirements that we need king size bed - worst thing I hated about the hotel they kept switching off the ac from the electricity box ( from reception staff) and everytime we ask them why they are switching off the ac they kept saying that some of the guests complained that is too cold ( in summer! ) which is clearly not not true because each room has its own control of ac they can switch it off if they dont want it but I think they were saving bills of electricity .....

    Location ( 10 minutes to the colosseum) Toilet looks new Old lady (in kitchen making the breakfast) was very kind and nice ..... Reception staff were very helpful except about one thing (see below) - they can keep your bags free of charge if your flight will be late even after checkout

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    This hotel has modern facilities, a friendly accommodating staff and a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The memory foam mattress (I believe), pillows, and linens were pretty comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and included a variety of items such cereals, cold cuts and cheeses, pastries, boiled and scrambled eggs and prosciutto, pancakes, breads and jams, hot drinks, juices and milk. There was also a charming view of various cupolas, monuments, and old buildings from the sunny top-floor breakfast room. The location to Trevi Fountain, the Forum and other areas were very convenient. And all of the staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the heart of ancient Rome made our stay one to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband thought the bed was too hard for his tastes, but I like a firm mattress.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel is beautifully maintained. Breakfast on the enclosed terrace was delicious. Location could not have been better and a few minutes walk to the Colosseum/Forum. The ceiling in our room was incredible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Rome is the best city I have ever visited. The hotel was in an ideal location, very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel was superb. The room was small, but perfectly fine, nicely decorated, very clean. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were good. Overall, I would highly recommend it for a location to stay if you want to see and experience Rome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Worth staying here for the location, but Poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room didn't match with the photos in Booking.com, only its balcony was there. The blankets were really old. Very high audibility. The breakfast was really poor and not 4-stars hotel quality at all, just cheap products from the old fruits to the cheese. We only tried it twice and then decided to have breakfast outside. The lady didn't even offer us a coffee like other hotels. I stayed before in 3 stars hotels and they served better breakfast than here. Lastly, we felt really irritated when the hotel charged us 2 euros for a small bottle of water, where you can get it from the most touristic place ( like Colosseum and the Vatican ) for only 50 cents!

    The location was perfect, close to all the sights. Only 10 minutes walking to the old city and It was also close to the bus station. Nice view from the restaurant windows and from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is perfect. Close to all the sights. But away from the noise and hustle-bustle. The breakfast was terrific, as was the rooftop terrace where is is served. A wonderful place to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    A well-located and quiet hotel (near the different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A well-located and quiet hotel (near the different attractions, not far from the station Termini, close to numerous restaurants,...), comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Location worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Very high audibility - you can hear people walking on the hallway, closing their doors, chatting neat the elevator etc. really does not help resting 2. Breakfast is poor

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had a very pleasant stay, hotel location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds and pillows were too hard so not very comfortable. Choice for the buffet breakfast could be expanded. Cappucinos were very nice and hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast with roof-top conservatory - nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast with roof-top conservatory - nice view. Great location 15 minutes walk from Roma termini, or 3 minutes to the bus stop. Right in the centre of Rome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Very well situated in the heart of Rome, comfortable stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Very well situated in the heart of Rome, comfortable stay and the room was very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Represents good value for this outstanding central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tired entrance approach of the laneway approaching the hotel.

    This is a great location close to Trevi fountain and coliseum . The only thing that lets the hotel down are the tired buildings next to the hotel. I’ve stayed here twice because the staff are friendly and the rooms have been rencently refurbished and are clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and excellent location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask to move rooms as initial room provided was not the one pictured and was much smaller although still a quadruple

    Friendly staff and excellent location .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Rugby tourists in rome
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point , BUT we were next to the breakfast room so got noisy outside our room from 7.30 good wake up call though

    Location and lovely room with a balcony

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    4.6
    I really not sure about 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast without natural coffee, coffee-machine was hidden. So you need ask woman to get it. She wasn't real pleasure. Room had some hair and dust on plug outlet. Realy old tap in bath... Fungus on wall and ceiling in bath. The room had bad soundproofing.

    The bed was realy big. Location near center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot and breakfast was quite limited for choice although it was served in a beautiful room.

    Location was great and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall a great location and great staff at the hotel, just ask for a room on the top level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedding could have been nicer and the mattress and pillows could have been more comfortable. The room faced an alley and people smoked outside and the smoke came into our room when the window was open.

    I really liked the location of the property, walking distance to many attractions and food options. The shower water pressure was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no kettle to make a tee or coffee machine - we would appreciate it as it was raining really heavy the whole day. In our room, all the noise from the floor was really horrible - music early in the morning etc. Also thin walls - so we could clearly listened to the conversation in the next room. The lady at the breakfast was really rude. Breakfast is avarage for 4 star hotel. The driver providing hotel shuttle to the airport asked for tip 5 euro (to the price 50 euro for the shuttle) in a really unkindly way.

    Location is good. New bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    In general this Hotel was a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed was Very hard and the single pillows flat and hard. The bed definitely needs a soft foam topper pad.Breakfast could have had a better selection of toast breads and instead of hard boiled pre cooked eggs which were barely warm sitting on a plate... it would have been nice to be able to order them freshly boiled, poached or scrambled. :)

    The room was a comfortable size and the bathroom very nice. Location was excellent, walking distance to restaurant's, shops, The Trevi Fountain and Pantheon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    The location was great and the staff very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows, blankets and mattresses on the beds could use an update.

    The location was great and the staff very accommodating. Breakfast service was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv, the room was a little dusty, and the elderly hostess in the dining room was very grumpy and unfriendly, unlike the rest of the hotel staff, whom were very nice and helpfull

    Great location and bathrooms, welcoming staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    Very very expensive and not worth the price.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room so small, dark and everything outdated. Room looks so old that it haven’t been renovated in ages except bathroom. TV maybe 10 inch wide and not working. Could not watch tv there was green line and everything in mosaic. Breakfast was no good. Coffee cold everyday same with eggs. Waitress mean. Same breakfast everyday. Room is not clean. Also they charge city tax 6 euros per day per person. Hotel next street only charge 3.5 euros per day per person.

    Location it’s excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The breakfast was limited and the lady serving it was not so welcoming and interfering too much when you put stuff on your plate.. - No hanger in the toilette - Triple room was too small and had only one chair.

    The location was superb, close to all main sightseeing places and not on a noisy road. The room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I didn't like to be honest, we ate lovely food in the mornings and were gone sight seeing for the day and came back and had a comfortable sleep. The hotel more than served it's purpose

    The hotel was pristine. It was perfectly located for our first time in the city. The staff were excellent and we actually looked forward to our breakfast every morning as there is basically anything you could want to set you up for the day. Comfortably spent 4 nights, 5 days here. Luggage was kept safe on our final day when we were out and the hotel offered their own transport service to get us to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was small and difficult to use. The room was not consistently cleaned every day. The air in the room and some of the amenities did not work.

    The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They were very interested in helping us to have a good experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Pleased with location value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel very central for all rome has to offer . The breakfast was the usual things they could improve on the dreadfull Orange juice !! Un drinkable Ask for a room at the back not the side of the steps noisy all through the night, not what you want after a long day sight seeing .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was fairly convenient to buses and cafes and the owner/manager was very welcoming and sociable. A good breakfast was provided in a sunny and spacious room on the top floor with views over the city. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and there was a nice bar area near the entrance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Rome was wonderful and the central position of this hotel made sightseeing by foot so easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The position of the hotel was excellent, in a quiet courtyard, so no noisy traffic passing by, yet within 5 mins walk of major sites, shops and restaurants. Staff pleasant and helpful, arranging taxis and recommending places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    A comfortable stay for a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not very efficient, the second night of our stay it appeared to be switched off again so we slept with the windows open, this was very noisy as although The hotel is Iocated in a pedestrian street the main road is nearby and the traffic never stops, passersby were also noisy, we had earplugs so were able to block it out .. I definitely recommend them for any hotel in central Rome, it is a very noisy city.

    Very clean, staff were very accommodating and helpful, we requested extra pillows as there was only one each, this was no problem. Beds are very hard but we like them like this so not a problem for us, we find this quite a common feature in Rome. Air conditioning was not the first day, we complained and it was switched back on. Shower was great, breakfast plentiful. All in all a good hotel for a brief visit to Rome, I wouldn’t consider it 4* by British classification , more a 3. The hotel is less than a ten minute walk to the trevi fountain and approx 20 mins to the coliseum so well placed for most of the attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location, close to the Piazza Venezia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old stylish hotel, its services and quality doesn't reflect that it is a four stars hotel. The breakfast is quite poor, there is no vegetable at all.

    Good location, close to the Piazza Venezia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel pick for 40th birthday treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, our needs were very well catered for.

    Excellent location, the hotel room was beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Would recommend sticking to the allotted breakfast period, the lady who runs the breakfast service is an absolute sweetie. The restaurant opposite the hotel is family run and serves amazing food also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing 4 day stay. Location great, Hotel great, weather good all in all had a very lovely stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did have a broken toilet seat which i did report and was told a new one was on order but it couldnt be replaced. and the door handle to the bathroom fell off, this was fixed the very same day i reported it.

    Hotel was excellent location, staff were very helpful, always very friendly. Room was great we had the room with the 4 poster four poster bed, maid cleaned room every day . Breakfast was good only thing possible to improve on is the freshness of the bread and the hot water for tea wasnt hot enough, and more choice of cereals

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if they say it's peaceful location we had our window to the direction of the streets (stairs) and it was noisy. Also loading (off-on) happened outside of our window early morning and it was noisy. Suggestion for the hotel - would be good to have an adapter for UK travellers (UK-EU sockets)

    I liked the specious room and large bed. Great view from breakfast room. Large selection of cakes at the breakfast. Rooms were clean and done daily bases. Great location to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Central to historical Roman landmarks, a beautiful comfortable hotel that makes you feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was slightly small but that was not a problem when all the pluses are considered. For breakfast, perhaps Italian olives and tomatoes would be the only thşng missing. Everything else was superb. And the flat screen TV in the room is a bit small but again, this is no major complaint.

    Location, location, location: The hotel is located right next to the major places of interest in the hitoric city centre of Rome. The hotel is in an old 19th century building and has been newly decorated. The staff are very nice, especially Peter at reception was very helpful and assisting to us in advising where we can go nearby and about hotel facilities. The shower was great. The Roman Forum and Collossium are very close by as are restaurants and shops. Superb decor in the hotel. We also liked the breakfast (but would have one minor criticism) on offer, and our room was cleaned every day with new towels always provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Just like the Hotel and the people running it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many tourests around everywhere,but that not a problem. Shops are great around the Hotel. And some rooms are small depends how luckey you are when you Are allotted the room . All bathrooms have been modernised in past year and rooms are Antique but lovely.tile floors and quaint elivator . Worth staying at.

    This hotel is one of the top 4 star hotels on Rome and far cheaper than other 4 star hotels around ask for rooms beside the roof garden resturaunt and you get view or Rome and it is beautiful. I have been there to stay several time and am never dissapointed. The small restaurants near by are great and are the true essence of Rome Close to dozens of famous sites and so easy to walk to them all. Also bus next street takes you all over Rome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facility in room, although did have free mini bar on first day.

    We were lucky enough to have the room with the outdoor terrace which was fantastic (I think they upgraded is as it was my birthday). Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Worth every penny!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow in some spots in my room. If this happens to you just move until you find a spot with better connection.

    The rooms look newly renovated. With nice furniture. The room and bed where large. The shower was amazing with a handle shower head and a rain fall shower head up above with excellent water pressure.The bathroom also had a glass shower and a towel warmer!!! My room had two doors that opened up to a court yard so it was quite at night and there were flowers on the roof tops around me. The air conditioning was a blessing in the heat. The hotel has a bigger elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't comfortable and they could do with better pillows.

    We had a lovely stay, the breakfast was amazing and the staff were very helpful. The balcony in our room was an amazing bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything about it

    We have stayed at the Bolivar several times. It's in a quiet square that's just round the corner from all the major sights. You can park right outside which is really handy. The hotel is clean and comfortable and all of the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the blanket was old and dirty. The receptionist mentioned the hotel was newly renovated, so you'd think they'd upgrade the beds and blankets as well.

    The location of the hotel was very central to all of the sights in Rome. Everything was within walking distance. This was especially helpful as I was there in August when it was so hot, so it was nice to be able to quickly pop back to the hotel to cool off and rest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Very good situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bad was discomfortable, the room stink. The air condition was so loud that you can't sleep in the night.

    Very good situated hotel. The Coloseum or Fontana di Trevi is very near. Good but not excellent breakfast. Nice and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    The walls were paper thin so you could even hear the person...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin so you could even hear the person in the next room having a shower. Woke up very early every morning by other guests as you could hear everything!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    It was a good base from which to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit smaller than expected. The sheets were clean but a little worn. Needs a full length mirror in the rooms and a better hairdryer.

    It was in a quiet but central location. The restaurant opposite is excellent. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    The location was ideal, the staff friendly, hotel very clean, and breakfast was good. Rome itself w.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two things which could and should have been better to make our stay perfect. The fridge in our room was in my opinion, faulty, not working. (Fridges make a noise when they work and a light comes on when the door is opened. This did not happen.) I enquiries about this, a staff member did check, but said due to the heat outdoors this is effecting the fridge. I believe the only reason the drinks were slightly cool was because the room had air conditioning and the drinks were at a cool room temperature. So, not happy with the explanation from staff about the fridge. Second, two beds pushed together to make a double means it is very uncomfortable in the middle of the bed because two mattresses were used. It was very lumpy in the middle because of the edges of the mattresses. Not very romantic. Also, two pillows each would have been nice, though I must admit I didn't ask if more pillows could be supplied.

    Location was the main reason for booking at this hotel, staff were friendly and hotel very clean. Overall very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inappropriate staff behavior Very simple breakfast Expensive car parking (30euro per night) Room instruments not in 4star hotel level Overally same as 3star hotels

    Good location Clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, good facilities, but poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked airport pickup service through the hotel and got confirmation but no body turned up at the airport. We made several calls to hotel asking if anyone would come to pick us up at all. The receptionist told us "yes you have a booking with us but we don't know if anyone would come to pick you or not"?! There's hardly a smile on the faces of the staff, especially the lasy who works at the breakfast room. The guests were so disturbed by the loud noise she created by throwing the plates and cutlery as if she was angry while cleaning up the used tables. It was like that every day throughout our stay.

    The hotel is centrally located with 360 degrees view of Rome from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds could have been more comfy, very hard & same with the pillows

    We did love this place, very clean and friendly. close walking distance to most attractions and restarurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Short holiday at the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service attitude at the reception was excellent. We lost cellphone to taxi and Receptionist was able to reach the driver and get the phone back. Well done. Location of the hotel is excellent. Very clean and tidy hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice weekend in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful the rooms were clean and towels change every day the breakfast was very good had loads to choose from and you could have Scrambled egg and bacon and sausage if you like . I would stay there again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Perfect visit to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast service was very noisy, unfortunately our room was right below the dining room so we were woken up early every morning.

    The location was perfect, everything within walking distance. Hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly. I would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Excellent location, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. The staff, especially the breakfast staff, were rude and nosy. The interior of the hotel was always noisy. Since the rooms are set around a central staircase more needs to be done to ask guests to be respectful towards one another when walking through the narrow echoing hallways.

    The location is excellent. It's right off the main attractions and the metro is near. Great food options around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    More Like a 2 Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The bed was so uncomfortable. The shower was rusty and had a lot of calcium buildup, really disgusting. The fridge did not work. The breakfast was okay (nothing great). Overall, I was extremely disappointed for the amount of money I paid.

    Staff was polite and helpful and the hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same every morning. Would a been nice to have a few different items every morning. But still it was good.

    The amenities were as expected. We were VERY happy with the location. Easy to get around to the sights. Everything was pretty much walking distants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    The perfect location for Rome city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect location. 20 min walk to Vatican, 20min walk to colosseum and a 5min stroll to the fountain of Trevi. The staff were great and if you are looking for a city centre location in beautiful rooms this is the place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    A peaceful hotel in the centre of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedroom furniture and décor are a bit old-fashioned, but that wasn't a big deal.

    The location is really central, a 5-minute walk from Trajan's column and Barberini metro station. The Forum and Trevi Fountain are a short walk away, as is the President's Palace. It's in a quiet side street with no through traffic. The air conditioning was very good, it was 33 degrees outside...so we slept well. The bathroom and shower were great. The bathroom window acts as a mirror as well....very clever. The breakfast is fine. You can ask for coffee from the machine if you prefer a good cappuccino or espresso. The waitress (lady with glasses) at breakfast is very nice and helpful. Taxis are near if you need one, just beyond Trajan's column. You can get a fixed fare to the airports...€30 to Ciampino.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Good little hotel and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Depending which direction you head off in the morning there can be quite a few steps to negotiate. No problem unless you have limited mobility.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean, couple of nice restaurants nearby and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was very central to what we wanted Trevi fountain was a short walk away. We arrived earlier than the check in time and after a short wait we were able to check in. Water pressure and temperature was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Best stay in Rome!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very impressed by the hotel, it exceeded my expectations by far!! The staff were AMAZING, especially PETER. He was so helpful and kind and explained everything I needed to know about getting a tour of Rome , even where to get the bus at. Very exceptional service!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome. It's not only a very good value but beautiful as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Good, clean hotel just off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could hear the people in the next room.

    Good central location, just off from the main roads so not as noisy as if would have been if we were on a main road. Food was fine and the staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Hassle-free stay in the middle of Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet could have had a few more options. Decent, nevertheless.

    The hotel was bang in the middle of the city. The Roma Termini was just a 15/20-minute walk from the hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We stayed there for two days, and it was all hassle-free.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Comfort Hotel Bolivar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: