Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Bologna Centro 4 stars

Viale Pietramellara 59, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#68 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2529 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When opening my bed, finding the bedsheet with a (dry) stain of blood is totally unacceptable! Had a twin so slept on the other bed. Curtains in the room do not make the room dark (at all).... Old... haven’t seen such type of bathrooms since the 90’s!

    Friendly staff in general.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With off the bath when using the shower was a problem for us and we are not large people. You kept accidentally turning the shower off.

    The garden at the rear of the hotel was lovely and the location next to the train station but within easy walking distance of historical sites and eateries was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not too close to the restaurants. But if you are not in a short vacation, it is not a big problem as well. You can find purely Italian restaurants just 5 minutes far by walk.

    Location is great because you can get to train station easily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brown colour scheme in bedroom a bit full.😯

    Breakfast was a delight selection very good. Good communication between staff and also between staff and customers , helpful with a smile. 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had dirty marks in the corridor and room. Wallpaper was opened on the joints. The man in the parking was very rude to us. The Mercure Bologna Centro doesn’t respond of the 4 Star hotel. And it’s not the same as it’s presented on the website. We checked out directly after check in. Don’t recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of TLC in places ie bathroom.

    Location. Good sized room with lovely views over the private garden. Breakfast was excellent for a vegetarian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little updating. Decor rather tired. Breakfast was rather ‘hectic’ plated being removed almost the second they were empty- and it was noisy.

    Location good for station a fairly close to town sites

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was filthy with broken flush mechanism. When I asked for loo to be cleaned I was told that it was just old and stained so I scrubbed it out myself. Breakfast buffet was very ordinary.

    Very close to station. Lovely garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower location was a little awkward to get into but hard to find any faults really.

    Across from the train station and walking distance to everything. Amazing gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Location: Just outside the train station - 10' walk to Piazza Maggiore Breakfast: excellent - rich & tasty Staff: everyone was really helpful & friendly Value for money: yes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bar had a table football game which people tended to use late in the evening sometimes and this disturbed us when we were trying to get of to sleep. My wife felt that the air conditioning wasn't effective enough, but we were able to turn it off and open the window, which helped .

    We were in Room 501, the bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely view over the garden (which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel). We liked the free bar snack buffet in the evening where we could relax over a drink in the garden. The room staff did and excellent job keeping everything clean and tidy for our return every day. The hotel is also convenient for the self-service buffet restaurant next door where you can get an evening meal at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve never been to such a nosy place. You can hear everything-the snoring neighbor, his toilet, just everything. The shower cabin i so small- 60/60 cm., so if you want to use it, you have to be a dwarf. There’s no anything, but shower gel and shampoo and I’m wandering who the f**k gave them 4 stars? We were in room 221.

    The location- very close to the train station and the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room need vacuuming and carpet cleaning. Curtain needs replacement. Airconditioning was not working. Should have more selection of bread and cereals. The croissant was average!

    Coffee and tea were good. Breakfast was average. Great location. 1-minute walk from the Central station. The bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little extra on price (about 10 Euro’s) for a city tax ? No big deal though. Bar was a bit pricey compared to local bars.

    Clean. Quiet. Always staff present. Close to buses and trains. Garden was private and quiet and relaxing. Room was spacious. Bed was really comfy. Had a safe. Bathroom was good with decent shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Employees are rather impersonal and bureaucratic. They are inflexible about simple minor requests saying that it is their "policy". Where is you personal commitment in hospitality?

    Closeness to the station. Nice garden to stroll around. Typical average Mercure hotel. Nothing is outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything

    I booked this hotel on the basis that it was close to the station and assumed it might be quite noisy however I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had a small garden area at the rear that was lovely and peaceful for a quiet drink in the evening. The breakfast room had an overlooking balcony which was very nice and our room also had an outdoor area which was nice to have in the hot weather. Breakfast was more than adequate and the hotel staff were efficient and pleasant. The walk into town was an easy 15 minute stroll

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very very small and rudeness staff. Not 4 stars hotel, please refer to the enclosed photos. Like budget hotel room, sure different than what you see the room photo from booking.com. So upset stay 4 days here as trust the Mercure Hotel is 4 stars hotel.

    The room side very small and photo is very different show like booking.com. The rude staff stop my friend leave his baggages to my room as my friend need to take train to Venice after 2 days. Very rudeness staff may be see we are chinese or this hotel only serve European. Not recommended if you want enjoy your trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    Walls really thin, heard EVERYTHING in next room - they were up all night No shower cap, no skin lotion, plastic everything, disposable everything Not a pleasant experience, although the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not see a gym...

    The location. Bigger roooms and the friendly staff, huge garden. The staff made the stay, they have a luggage storage thatvwas perfect to explore more of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy since it is on a busy road.

    It is across the train station. It is fifteen minutes away from the center on foot. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant for dinner. Air con not working.

    perfect location opposite train station. Quiet in room despite busy location. Lots of places to eat close by. Great view of pretty park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the facilities you need and were working, but dated.

    All staff were friendly and helpful. Great location. Nice and quiet to the rear. Comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right across from the Central Station. Bus stop is right by the hotel’s entrance. Piazza Maggiore is a 20 minutes walk away. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I chose this hotel because it was the only available property in the city, during a busy fair when prices are extremely high. The hotel rooms are out of date, with old furniture and evident tear & wear everywhere. Our (back-facing) rooms on the 2nd floor, where in essence closer to basement rooms, since from the windows you cannot see anything else but the ground and a wall opposite. My colleagues room didnt even have a full window, just a couple of high skylights with metal bars. Also be aware that you can hear everything from the adjacent rooms, as there seems there is no noice insulation. I woke up every night from voices, toilet flushing, water running and the opening/closing of nearby doors. If you want to charge anything at all, there is one power outlet near the television, way out of reach, and one in the bathroom. There is no power outlet next the bed, where the nightstand includes a 1960s radio. The bathroom is small and the bathtub is very tight. You cannot move around without touching something. If you want to store your luggage, you have to carry your bags yourself to a storage room where there are hundreds of bags stacked with no system at all. Breakfast area is very noisy and understaffed, which means the (friendly) staff run around the tables, cleaning and replacing the limited selection of food. Finally, one very annoying thing. As this hotel has old fashioned metal keys with hue plastic keyholders attached, staff urge you to leave your key every time you exit the hotel. But this means that every time you need it back, you have to ask for it, AND state your name before the staff give you the key!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet could have been a lot more varied on the savory side to my taste; one fresh fruit juice as part of the buffet would have been appreciated; the scrambled eggs were microwaved and good to miss out on.

    Very good beds and well equipped bathroom with great shower. Water and tea for free as a welcome. Optimum location for coming by train. Very good, secure luggage storage facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff at reception, bar, luggage storage. Easy bus connection (stop right in front of the hotel) to get to the fair, no taxis needed - brilliant!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms facing garden are quiet, clean, location is perfect for business (Cosmoprof Bus 35 in front of the hotel) and tourist, Thanks a lot for Ms. Eliana for her help and the nice smile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture was a bit worn and the shower had an inconvenient configuration (location of fixtures and narrowness made for a tight fit). No breakfast included.

    Great location for those traveling by train or coming to/from the airport (Aerobus stop across the street). Walking distance to the main square. Friendly and helpful desk staff. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was old, but still okay. Shower was dated and small..

    Location was right outside the Bologna Centrale train station. Easy walking to the bar or shopping, bus, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are from the 80 and not updated, traces of mold all over the bathtubs. Needs a major renovation in the rooms to deserve a 4 stars rating.

    Amazing location, big rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy for the railway station. Large room with excellent bathroom and very comfortable bed. Very quiet - we got a great night's sleep - even with the window wide open

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent hotel - location - near the train station and near the airport bus - 10 mins easy walk to city center - big rooms - high ceilings - good mattress .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the hotel did not have a real restaurants

    The location was very nice because i was arriving by train for one night staying at the hotel and the hotel is just a cross the Bologna centrale trainstation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didin't have a smoking place on the floor and I didn't understand why we had to pay citytaxes.

    The bathroom was clean, big and had a bathtub. I loved the fact that the bar from the room was free and also the coffee. The bed was very comfy and the room was beautiful. We had a gret time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything that I did not like :)

    Rich breakfast, but I liked most the cakes! The Staff was pleasant and helpful; the room was clean and the location of the hotel excellent!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn’t have restaurant or room service at night. I understand they serve breakfast but at night I was starving and I didn’t want to go out but there was no other option.

    The location was excellent 🎉

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a China mug or cup in my room as we were staying for a few days, also a proper drinking glass instead of the flimsy plastic ones. The room was very hot.

    Wide range of different breakfast food. However the scrambled eggs and bacon could have been warmer .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ?

    1- The heating system didn't work e the room was too hot, even with thw window open 2- too much noise fron the rooms around and from the hidraulic pipers 3- bad smell entered in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at the front of the building are noisy so if you want a good nights sleep you should ask for a room at the back. The room service pasta was not great and you are charged more than is stated in the menu - maybe this is normal in Italy but came as a surprise to me.

    Very friendly staff, excellent location if you want to be near the train station, a good choice for breakfast, good supermarket on the right of the train station where you pay a tenth of the price for the beer in the room fridge :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far to hot. The hotel set the temperature at 25 degree centigrade so we had to open the outside door to a Juliet balcony to cool the room. Made sleeping conditions poor and hotel would not change this approach

    Hotel was very handy for the station and just a short walk to the centre.... good breakfast was available

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a touch of tender loving care. Facilities could be improved.

    Staff were pleasant and room had view over rear garden. Price was correct. Situation near station has advantages and disadvantages but just next to bus stop for airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not enjoy only having cardboard cups in the room. We made tea in the afternoons and had to wash out these cups for early morning use. They just about lasted. I would have appreciated a china mug.

    The bed was really comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very central and clean. Good location as it's close to the station. Ideal for travellers who arrive late in Bologna and has to travel by train early next morning. Infact booked this hotel twice within a month!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv selection could be better and the location very next to the trainstation is perfect if you choose bologna as a traveling hub but looks a little unsafe at night

    We had a superior room and the amount of space in the room was pretty good. Everything was very clean, minibar included in the price of the room and a very big king suze bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location closed to train station so we don’t have to drag our luggage too far. Although it’s about 17 min to city centre. It’s an old hotel but Room are clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even at the reduced rate the hotel is way overpriced.I will certainly think twice before booking a Mercure hotel again. Cracks on bedroom walls. Cracks on bathroom tiles. Shower in bath very narrow. Even though we had booked 2 rooms together, 1 was on first floor, 1 on sixth.....had to insist to have on same floor.....this was done, though not with a smile. They must have a problem with heating in winter, both rooms were cold, my wife and I enjoy sleeping in cool room but our friends had to ask for a radiator. Paper cups for complementaty tea and coffee not suitable for hot drinks!

    The bed was very comfortable. Close to station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was built in in a very impractical way. The double bed had two separate mattresses. The room was not well isolated and one could hear the sounds from the adjacent rooms and the hallway.

    The room and the whole hotel were very warm. The room had a water boiler with teas and a large bed. The TV had many channels including ARTE. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel facility is old and you can observe the dust in the corners and edges and the lights are old fashion and furniture looks old in addition the room was small space.

    close to central rail station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic toiletries but that is hardly a major negative.

    Rooms were clean, quiet and I felt very secure here. The hotel was across the road from the train station so it was very handy and you did not have to go far with your luggage. Breakfast was €12 and very filling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room but the toilet pan needed a thorough clean as it was stained brown in some areas. Rather unpleasant. The shower arrangement in the bath was uncomfortable as very narrow bath and shower controls were in an odd place so a very tight squeeze.

    Perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, as before, the place needs some renovation as it looks a bit run-down but overall it is good value for the money.

    I stayed there maybe for the 6th time or something like that, still an excellent choice for an overnight stay before heading out of Bologna the next day as it is right across the train station. It is clean, the staff is OK, there is one girl at the reception desk I don't recall having seen before, but she was very friendly and with a huge smile on her face.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needs a painting. The walls look old. The pillows are not very soft.

    The location is perfect, in front of the train station and at a walking distance to the main sightseeing places. I felt very safe walking around the area of the hotel. The breakfast is very good, with a machine for coffee, that makes a delicious cappuccino. The hotel has a wonderful plus: a beautiful garden. In the room there is an electric kettle, with coffee and tea, very good. Also nice towels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a twin room and found the bed excruciatingly uncomfortable. Common in twin rooms unfortunately.

    All of the staff were charming and so friendly - we really felt at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one lift in operation so long waits to get to and from 6th floor.

    Staff very friendly and helpful as well as cheerful. Bed very comfortable. Hotel very quiet considering it is so close to the main station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negative for me was the lack of a fitness room, however I overcame that by running up & down the marble stairway (no-one else seemed to use it apart from me & the occasional staff member)

    Central Location, across from the Central station & 10 minute walk into the heart of town centre. Superbly efficient, professional, courteous, smiley & helpful staff throughout the hotel. Very clean, good big breakfast buffet. Computer & printer available to download boarding cards etc. Also close to shuttle-bus stops for the airport & exhibition centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some facility does not work properly. Room heater does not work, but staff brought a portable heater. One time, elevator does not work. These are not too bad to me.

    Good breakfast with various items. In front of central station, and very close from a aerobus stop. Kind staffs. Room heater did not work, but staff kindly bring portable heater, which is good enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was super-firm, which i find uncomfortable. The appearance, although clean, was very plain- not the most attractive. Elevators small and slow- but I prefer the stairs anyway.

    As convenient as it could possibly be to the train station. Reasonably quiet. A fair value. The room was spacious and they kept it clean. Staff was polite and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - dirty/old bathroom, eg. limescale on the bathroom tiles - noisy corridoors between 7-8am - thin walls, you can clearly hear anything from next room, TV, bed, etc. - very loud minibar fridge - old fluorescent lamps which emmits humming sound

    + kind and helpful recepcionist

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel that is very close to the central railway station and the terminus for the airport bus. Rooms are very clean, bright and spacious. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. It is an easy walk from the hotel to the city centre. Plenty of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren’t teacups in our room. We said to staff, that we need it, they said, that they will bring them, but when we return after 12 hours, there were not cups in our room. I went to reception, and only then they gave me a cups.

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the statue, the main attraction of Bologna was covered up and I didn’t get to see it.

    Bologna is a beautiful town to walk around. The Restaurantures were friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everyone at the reception was very helpful and kind. Our room was ready before check-in time, as we kindly asked. Very good hotel and very close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent.

    We needed a well located hotel for a night in Bologna before flying back home. The hotel was fine, the staff at the desk exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the location, for both a visit to the city centre, and especially for the airport bus, couldn't have been much better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for one night to catch flight out of Bologna next morning. Logistically an excellent choice being bang across the road from train station and airport shuttle bus. It also happens to be a short walk to the city centre. Comfortable large bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was central and convenient, but on the other hand there was no place for a taxi to stop (a busy street in front of the entrance). The hotel desperately needs to be renovated - it looks ad though it has not undergone any changes for at least 40 years. The towels were old, the bathroom awful and the furniture and looked like from a different era. I also did not enjoy the service. It definitely did not feel like a 4 star hotel.

    The hotel is in quite convenient location - next to the central railway station, less than a km away from the Old Town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything bad about the Mercure.

    Very pleasant staff, nice lobby and garden, great location between station and centre. Quiet rooms, good size and good bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and lock had to be dismantled on my door when arrived back late evening as did not work with key nor with reception staff key. They were helpful in solving the problem

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is on a noisy street, but I sleep with ear plugs so it didn't really matter to me.

    The shuttle to airport is right across the street from hotel, at the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a corporate hotel, that had everything you need, but not a lot of character. I asked for some fresh milk to take back to the room for my tea, and was refused by the bar man, who was actually making coffee with milk. The reception staff were much more helpful and arranged some ( from the bar staff !)

    Close to station, good sized room, comfy bed. We had a deluxe room that had a coffee machine that was a nice addition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed little hard.

    Proximity to station and easy walk to Plaza Maggiore, with all the little shopping and eating lanes, twin towers, old churches, historic buildings. Great trip on tourist train up to Sante Luca from there. Magnificent view. Loved the kilometres of covered walkways.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Location is perfect, just opposite to the central train station. Airport shuttle is also in front of the train station. Room is big and clean. Bed is comfortable. Convenient location to find restaurant and super market.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was not so impressive. a bit of change from day to day would be nice.

    The rooms were very comfy and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit too warm in the room as we arrived in a sunny afternoon and it takes longer time to cool down to a comfortable temperature. But it is acceptable.

    All good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard and the pillows were even harder. I had backache and neck ache every morning. Also the walls are so thin I was kept awake most of the night by the person snoring in the next door room. Also there is a smell of cigarettes permanently coming through the air con.

    Nice garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath a little small. Decor is a rather '50's film-noir but perfectly respectable.

    Very comfortable bed. In our 4 city trip of northern Italy this was the best value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated and more than likely needs updating

    Bathroom not clean could do with update, also the pillows were all too soft. P other options available, air con was not working well so the room got hot on occasion and we visited in September

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Bologna Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: