Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bologna 3 stars

Piazzetta Scalette Rubiani, 3, Verona Historical Centre, 37121 Verona, Italy

#12 of 66 hotels in Verona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2149 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit small.

    Breakfast bar was superb, coffee was great, the room was small but well air-conditioned and comfortable. Staff greetings at all time were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in an ideal location and with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Stayed with sister in law and husband and they too were as impressed and happy as we were.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable room. Staff were outstanding - courteous, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Fine hotel in an outstanding location with amazingly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much except a little difficult to find when you are driving in the narrow streets of old Verona, but that's the price you pay for being right in the centre of the action.

    The most wonderful location in the centre of old Verona, in fact right ext to the Roman Arena. The staff were most welcoming and even stood out in the street to keep a parking place for us - which was all free! The room was excellent with a fine view and breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay in the Hotel Bologna again when we are next back in Verona. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Definitely an hotel to recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a single thing we didn't like.

    Lovely hotel, excellent location. Very nice room overlooking a courtyard so there was no noise from the street. Friendly and helpful reception staff. We would definitely stay here again, if we return to Verona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel, highly recommended! Very beautiful and tastefull interior, friendly hosts and amazing location. The room is quite small but it is very cozy and made with love to every detail. We were also very happy about the parking service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Liked the roof top terrace very much
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking close by. We had to deposit our cases and then the car was taken to a car park at an unknown location by a member of staff and returned to us on our departure.

    Liked the roof top terrace very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The staff was absolutely incredible, so helpful and catered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was absolutely incredible, so helpful and catered to all our requests and desires. When we told them we were on honeymoon, they left us so many nice little surprises/gems - something you would never get from a big corporate hotel. The hotel is perfectly located, right next to the arena and in very close walking distance to all the city's main points. Our room and bathroom were spotless. We'd come back to Hotel Bologna in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great historic city centre hotel, a good base for cultural sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were quite small, but adequate for a city break.

    Lively and central location almost next door to the Arena and Piazza Bra. Walking distance to most good spots in the old town. Some great bars and restaurants nearby too. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Staff here really helpful and were amazing in providing facilities for changing and cleaning up after a long day out and about prior to traveling to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Clean bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Horrific bed. Restaurant overpriced with small range. No bar. Staff were rude. For what is described as a luxury hotel, this was not.

    Clean bathrooms. Good location. Not good if you have a car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Just fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I love it all

    I have travelled extensively on business and leisure. I have stayed in some very high end hotels when on business trips but the service my family got at Hotel Bologna was far more superior than any service I have had in all the hotels I have stayed in. All staff spoke English. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We had the deluxe room which was a good size as I travelled with my husband and my 20 month old daughter, so we could fit a cot in the room. We hired a car from the airport and the hotel provides a valet service, which is very helpful as the narrow Verona streets can be challenging for parking. Location of the hotel is exceptional, everything from the arena, Juliet house, the local squares and shops are a short walking distance away. Three staff members who were exceptional during our stay were Marabella (beautiful blond lady at reception), Laura (beautiful brunette lady at reception) and Alejandro (not sure of name spelling but the most helpful gentleman who fixes everything from sorting out my lost room key, organising our car etc). Hotel Bologna should be very proud of these three individuals. I could go on and on praising this hotel. Highly recommended, child friendly, great location and superb service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    good but we expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    they were replacing the window and there was a lot of noise in the morning. very small shower and toilet. they told us that the room was ready, we did the stairs and the room was not ready.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    creaky bed. laminated floor dipped and creaked thought you were going to go through it . Damp Smell. but staff were friendly. good location in Verona If these items mentioned would be a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very welcoming, hotel is in a great location, breakfast was plentiful, room was very clean. Highly recommend the restaurant next door Locanda 4 Cuochi it was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    This is my third stay and I will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms...

    Attention to detail in how the room was decorated. Very typical Italian/European amenities in the small rooms. Very clean. 150yds from the coliseum and a great piazza to hang out and have an aperol spritz...or “spritz” as it commonly referred to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Saw all that Verona has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed some minor maintenance. Not sure we were allocated the upgraded room booked but hotel changed the room upon request. Breakfast only gets 4 stars.

    Comfy large bed, big room, very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, clean rooms, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind staff, location is 10min nice walk by the river to po te vecchio and historical centre. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Good breakfast. Would recommend it. The only thing is that if you are coming with a car there is no parking at the hotel facility. Parking garage that charges by the hour is 2 min from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, very clean, good breakfast, frendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to re-charge the key card every day at the reception to open the room, otherwise it stopped working every day.

    Excellent location, very clean, good breakfast, frendly staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad point was the price of the breakfast but other than that it was perfect! I would definitely come back!

    The room smelt amazing!! Loved the shower and bed and the decor!! Just perfect!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Bologna in the heart of Verona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room overheated and although I turned down the thermostat it didn't make much difference. The room was comfortable but tiny. It's okay for a one night stay but if you want to stay a bit longer book a bigger room.

    The best thing about the hotel is perhaps the location (one minute walk from the arena). The second best thing is that the honey that is served for breakfast comes straight from the honeycomb to your plate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    My wife and I enjoyed our four days and nights at Hotel Bologna and will return when we revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the noisy fan in the bathroom.

    Everything - excellent location in the city, welcome and helpful people at the front desk, comfortable clean room, quiet even though our window above the front door overlooked the street, good bathroom with adequate towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely love Verona!!! Fantastic restaurants!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I somehow couldn’t adjust the room temperature. It was too hot in the room so couldn’t sleep very well. I don’t know if perhaps it was the bathroom radiator which kept the room temperature so high.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location - a comfortable & relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Getting to the hotel by car was difficult and frustrating. It's in the historical center (otherwise a very good thing), with narrow, congested streets, many of them one-way. There are signs for the hotel (and many other hotels) at some points, but they are somewhat small and if you miss a turn (as I did) you can end up going all the way around the center to get back for another shot at it. (The key is to be sure you are on the street heading north toward Porta Borsari, and then look closely for the small sign for the right turn on the small street just Before the gate. It doesn't look correct because the street is so small, but it is. Once you get down toward the Piazza Bra end of the street, you must park briefly - for unloading - past the front door, beside the hotel's restaurant, to get out of the way of the one lane - one way traffic coming down this street. This effort of just getting to the hotel by car was stressful, and ended up taking me most of an hour after I had arrived into Verona. I must mention though that I would do it again, for the great location of the hotel once you are settled in. If you are not arriving by car (train, bus, ?), then the location is truly wonderful. The room was rather small. (Think Paris-sized for similar priced accommodations.) We could move around in it OK, but it was by no means spacious. The shower stall is much too tight. You can't easily turn around while showering, and I'm a pretty skinny guy. Plenty of hot water and a good shower head, but just too cramped. The hotel is pricey, but so are others in Verona, which attracts so many tourists. (Blame Shakespeare!)

    Our room was in their deluxe double category. The room was comfortable, and nicely fitted out with writing table, night stands, good reading lights, ample wardrobe for our clothes, heavy curtains to keep morning light out, small balcony looked out on to the piazzetta. (The standard rooms don't have all of these items, I believe.) Bed was comfortable, nice bed clothes & pillows. Bathroom reasonable size & kept very clean. Our room had a view over the small piazetta at the east end of the hotel, on over to the Roman arena on the Piazza Bra. (Room 220, at the east end of the building, end room. I recommend these east end rooms; I think there are two on each floor.) Facing this way, you are away from the noise of the wine bar that is opposite the hotel's front door, which is on the north side of the building; some reviewers were bothered by this late night noise but in our room we never heard it.) Breakfast was good - ample selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, yogurts - in addition to the usual rolls & cakes. Good coffee, made fresh with an espresso machine. I found the staff pleasant and helpful. Desk staff responded well to requests for information. Breakfast staff were pleasant and efficient. Location (once you get to it) is great. Two mins. walk to the Roman arena; pleasant 15 min. stroll up the main shopping street to Piazza della Erbe, and "Juliet's House." Many good restaurants in easy walking distance, and over a dozen outdoor cafes to choose from on Piazza Bra. 15 min. walk to the Scaligere bridge, one of the main sights of the town. Once I actually got to the hotel, the valet parking service worked fine. The hotel driver took the car off to the parking lot within 20 minutes of our arrival. When we left, the driver brought the car over within 15 minutes of my asking for it. I did take care to work within the hours that the hotel notes that its driver is available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    We will be back in the future with our family.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single queen room was smaller than we expected, but provided a comfortable bed.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, stylish, and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the best breakfast we had during our 14 day Italian trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked mirror near the vanity desk but that's a personal thing.

    Great room, loved decor and location perfect for exploring Verona. Lovely bed, staff great and great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowds around the square

    Loved the service by a young man at the Ffront desk. who drive our car to the hotel. We could not get close enough and he offered to walk back and drive us in. This took away the stress that we were feeling. Beautiful room with Terrance. A great escape. They also booked a great restaurant not in the main square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    100/100
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are a shopper the location is the best. It is like 50 meters to the shopping street. When we felt like we had too many bags to carry we stopped by to hotel. It was that close! Clean and large rooms, excellent staff! Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have a tiny complaint, it is that the toiletries were a bit mean. No hair conditioner and one small body lotion for 2 of us.

    The location could not be better. The hotel and rooms are lovely, breakfast was very good. The staff were very helpful. Can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    but the bathroom is very small esp they have included a bidet, which i don't think most travellers would use, and the shower is EXTREMELY small and it gets water everywhere! most of the staff were helpful but one lady got really bad attitude!

    The bed is comfortable and the size of the room for one person isn't too small, most importantly the location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N.A.

    Very nice hotel. Very well located, quite confortable and the decor is nice. The staff at thr reception is friendly and helpful. Overall is a great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay if in town for shopping and sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the opposite side of the hotel there is a bar. It is not that comfortable to pass nearby drunk people with a child. Management should do something to avoid that kind of situations.

    Location and parking handling

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Verona revisited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish bathroom. We didn't like the wine bar over the road which serves drinks to patrons in the street until after 1am. A combination of that and the 6am rubbish collection made sleeping poor but I guess that is the compromise of being in the main strip.

    Location was great. Close to the arena,breakfast was nice, clean, comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    What a lovely place to visit for a couple of days, like a mini ROMA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit hard. Noisy at the front of hotel as you are very close to the Arena and central piazza, so if there is a concert on you can hear everything, but we were not bothered by this at all.

    Location was perfect, staff were very friendly and helpful, we were offered free bikes for the stay. It was very easy to access all the sites you wanted to by bike but also very easy to walk to them as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that can be fixed. Rooms are small. But it was what we expected and they made the best of the space available.

    Location and breakfasts were excellent. Staff very responsive to any needs we had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, lovely rooms, great breakfast - nice boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive - but most places are in Verona and i thought it was worth the money. The bed was very firm but that's a personal preference.

    Fantastic location just around the corner from the arena and easy walking distance from majority of attractions. Lovely rooms, clean, modern, luxurious, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Awesome stay at beautiful boutique hotel in perfect old town center location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very hard to find when driving because GPS takes you to a church near the hotel but not the hotel. Really huge frustration getting there. Called and got directions over phone but was not clear we could drive on local traffic only road so again very stressful. I walked to hotel and asked and directed my husband by cell phone.

    Beautiful, elegant, perfect location! Staff were very helpful. Buffet breakfast amazing! Quiet. Bed comfy. Prosecco chilled with glasses when we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fresh orange juice - tasted very watery.

    Excellent buffet breakfast with wide selection of meats, cheeses, breads, pastries and cakes. Fruit selection outstanding. Fantastic hotel location next to Amphitheatre, shopping, restaurants, hop-on-hop-off bus and very helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is only metres away from the amphitheater and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is only metres away from the amphitheater and main square. The hotel is decorated beautifully, it is clean and fresh. The free bike hire was a bonus. Totally recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aircon in first room we were given was whistling so we complained and they changed our room - which was fine though they insisted on sending a man up to check we were not making a fuss over nothing!

    Location & décor fantastic; coffee & tea making facilities great; room v small but perfectly equipped. v quiet though on a main street - amazing double glazing! great buffet breakfast except the eggs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    I will go and stay again in this hotel. Great location. Nice food in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hangers in the closet were not enough because the space for the closet was so narrow. There was not enough space for luggage.

    Marbel at the reception and Pablo in the restaurant gave us very friendly service. You feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small , although clean and well-furnished. The air-conditioning though was the real problem because it didn't manage to cool the room enough and it was very hot throughout the whole day, which was very disappointing. Overall I think the price of the room was too high for the services and the convenience. When you pay a good amount of money at a hotel you expect to at least not sweat throughout the whole night..

    The location of the hotel was amazing. We stayed for one night only, but it was super convenient, and walking distance from everything we wanted to visit. We saw the whole city on foot in one day-which was pretty amazing! The breakfast was really nice and the people in the breakfast room were so kind and willing to help us with anything, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel for a city trip Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fyi They make a reservation on your credit card for the costs of one night on the moment you book the room and this reservation will last for 3 months...(don't know why) You could perhaps conclude from the website that their is the option to sit outside / roof terrace but that is -unfortunately- not the case

    Great location, our room was very comfortable (quite) and the bathroom had a normal (not small) size. Bathroom and room very clean, nice staff. The breakfast area might be a bit small (in an Italian way) but it is clean with again very helpfull, polite staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    We loved our stay at hotel bologna as would recommend to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom was quite small but sufficient and you could hear other people in the hallway going back to their room, but it wasn't too bad.

    Amazing location and the staff went out of their way to help us and make our stay in Verona memorable by giving us tips on where to go and what to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Great position near to the arena and convenient for all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing would stay there again if going back to Verons

    Great position near to the arena and convenient for all sites in the old part of the city Rooms quite small but more than adequate for short stay and very well appointed Staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Luxury rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During heavy rain; raindrops in elevator. (electric elevator?????)

    Luxury rooms. Excellent breakfast. Friendly personnel. Good valet parking service (welcome in these small streets). Restaurant at the hotel is a recommendation!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smaller than expected

    Great staff. We had trouble figuring out which little streets we could take to the hotel, so the porter came out to the car to drive us there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive

    It takes 1 minute from Arena so it was good to see opera. Bathroom was so cozy and room was clean. And there was welcome presecco in the roomand it was very surprised to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a nice touch to have a bottle of prosecco waiting in room on arrival! Also, very clean and in an excellent location. The breakfast was also included and delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Sophisticated boutique style hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our room was not good but clearly other rooms had some great views. I guess we had a cheaper room but it was still very nice.

    This is a lovely hotel which is well presented and comes across as higher than it's 3 star rating. Comfortable and sophisticated, friendly staff and a great location. Breakfast choice with extensive choice providing something for all tastes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Best location ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was the smallest triangular shaped shower I had ever seen.

    Upon arrival there was a bottle of champagne on ice in our room. Not sure why we had this but it was a really nice touch. Location is steps away from arena and piazza Bra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    The room was very well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The position of the hotel makes it a bit noisy at night.

    The room was very well maintained. The breakfast had a large selection on offer, and the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Reasonable accomodation for shorter stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff unwillingness to help with messed-up reservation. Room was small and one had to manouver around the bed to get around. Due to a mistake in my reservation (caused by myself) I had to pay for three nights although I only could stay one night. When discussing this issue with staff, prior to arriving, they were unwilling/unable to do anything for us, so we had to switch hotel after one (due to circumstances) expensive night.

    The location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Wish I Were Back There Now
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    Quality front desk and dining service. The hotel is 30 seconds walk from the beautiful Piazza Bra with its stunning Roman amphitheatre and bars & cafes, and yet it has a quiet position, just set back from the square. You couldn't get a better location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the front desk were not at all welcoming. There was no offer of a map of the local area or any information provided about breakfast. The only smile I can remember was when we checked out.

    The location was fantastic. Piazza bra was right on the doorstep with plenty of restaurants and bars and a great atmosphere. Our room could not have been better. The four poster bed was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    heart of the town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small shower, and room not too big, but in Verona no way to spend time in the room. just go outside and enjoy the city

    nice rooms, confortable bed, Amazing location near the arena. small rooms but well furnished, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Well located but disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is bland; breakfast room is cramped and understaffed; limited breakfast buffet. We were really insulted by false publicity by the hotel: "free minibar" turned out to be 2 bottles of water!!!! 2 free bottles of water is just normal in any 4 star hotel

    Location, large room, confortable bed and sofa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    The folks at the front desk were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The folks at the front desk were very helpful Great location. Right between the 2 main piazzas Junior suite gave my daughter and I a little Space while traveling together

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Amazing experience at Hotel Bologna in Verona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit tiny, but it's a small price to pay for a beautiful property!

    Hotel Bologna was absolutely beautiful. The staff was very helpful, the complimentary breakfast was the best we've had on our trip, and the room was excellent. Add to that the absolutely perfect location next to the coliseum and main square, and it's an ideal property to explore Verona. Also, they have valet parking service for the car, and while we were a bit concerned by having to drive into the ZTL to access it, the hotel indicated they contact the police to register the plate and waive any penalties. We will definitely go back! note: the bathrooms are a bit tiny, but as North American travellers, we tend to find that's the case nearly everywhere, so I'm not holding that against HB in my rankings 10/10!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    great romantic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was perfect, honestly

    from the first contact when I phoned and requested a specific room I had seen on the site, to our check out we were so impressed by the service, the style and cleanliness of the rooms and the whole hotel. More over, it was my wife's birthday and without asking we found a lovely surprise in our room, compliments of the hotel. Honestly, it could not have been a better stay. Further, the hotel is perfectly located on a quiet street right next to the old arena with everything that comes with, restaurants, shops etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Thumbs up, but fingers crossed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GPS directions were insufficient. The hotel is located on a street who's has restricted access, and without a parking pass one can get a citation for merely driving there to drop off luggage. One should be forewarned. The staff, at least three at reception exhibited an eagerness to please, but didn't seem to know where we'll Known restaurants were located, nor when cultural venues were open. That bathroom was almost too small for one person.

    The staff was very friendly, the room comfortable, the location wonderful once there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable and friendly but a little cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small with not much room to move around the bed, resulting in a few stubbed toes. The shower was also very narrow, despite it being a overhead shower it was cramped for myself at 6feet and medium build. However this may be due to the size and layout of an old building like this. Overall we enjoyed staying here and would recommend it.

    The location was fantastic for getting around Verona. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very fast Wi-Fi too which seems to be the norm for Italy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    We were given a bottle of prossecuo with the superior room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In booking.com it looked as though you had use of a hot tub and sun loungers in the roof, but this is part of a private penthouse room which was dissapointing as it was one of the reasons we booked.

    We were given a bottle of prossecuo with the superior room which we weren't expecting which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    We plan to return asap. Explore the area around Verona and see a show at the arena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The local restaurants were either catering to tourists and jammed or exclusive and inappropriately snooty. The food was excellent but I could do without the attitude. We did have a great time chatting with nearby diners -- the bad service was a bonding experience!

    We absolutely loved the accommodation. The location was IDEAL. It is near the central plaza -- but not on it -- which keeps the noise down. The room was comfy, clean, almost elegant. There was a ceiling low watt night light in the bath -- how clever. We are newly engaged and the staff provided champagne when we arrived! The breakfast was delightful -- yogurt, fruit, a honeycomb, pastries, very good coffee… (a necessity for us) and juices. They loaned us bikes so we could explore Verona. Planning to return --

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel were super friendly and a really good breakfast selection. This hotel is in the perfect location for sight seeing and would highly recommend to others

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful cosy room in heart of Verona
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful little hotel perfectly located in Verona ! The breakfast is very nice and the room were confortable (small but well organised) ! They even have some bikes at disposal for the clientele ! Highly recommended for one or two nights !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Go for the middle class rooms , small double means just that !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a small double which was challenging but we knew what to expect so not a surprise . Will upgrade next time !

    Very friendly staff and easily as good as reviews we read before booking. Value for money was a very big Happy Smiley

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Charming hotel on a great locaton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very kind and accomodating staff. Delicious breakfast. Unlike in many other hotels across the globe, we have never returned to an unmade room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location and very comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location and very comfortable rooms. We had a triple room and it was super spacious. Very comfortable beds and very clean rooms overall. You`ll find everything you need here. Also, breakfast was delicious and had a wide selection of food for everyone. Location was in a walking distance to Verona`s most popular touristic attractions. Great choice for Verona!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean, stylish and comfortable. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel and free bike hire made sightseeing in Verona easy and fun. Really a great choice!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a taxi be sure to book as they are difficult to get hold of when it rains 😀

    The location was perfect, the hotel was comfortable and the staff excellent. Everything in Verona was in walking distance from the hotel and as well as the bars and restaurants in the main tourist areas you are very close to more interesting local bars

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    handy for the Arena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was big but the room was very small and not much space to move around. The only window was small with no view.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly Breakfast was great The location was excellent and so handy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was perfect. Just round the corner from the Arena, breakfast was excellent and the staff was so so helpful. Most particularly a lady at reception that helped us with transport to other locations and anything else we needed . If i'm not mistaken, her name is Ira. The bedrooms are 100% clean and very pretty. I would stay in this hotel a million times over and over!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small double which was perfect for our needs, BUT, the bathroom was small which wouldn't have been a problem if the shower had been a bit bigger, I am 5 ft 1 and petite and I struggled to fit in it.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was in a fantastic location, it was clean and well kept.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel should be 5 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower enclosure was a little small but I think it depends which room you get.

    Everything! The staff were lovely and breakfast was great. Much better than the 5 star hotel I stayed in few nights before.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other guests have mentioned the potential for noise from the Wine Bar opposite. We had a room on the side, 2nd floor, and noise was no issue whatsoever.

    Excellent location, ideally placed for Piazza Bra and walking to all main sights in old Verona. Railway / Bus Stations are 15 min walk or 5 min taxi ride away. Breakfast was very good with great choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Best location in Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located just a few steps from the Roman Arena, in the pedestrian shopping area. The staff is very nice and the breakfast is very complete. Definitely the best value for the cost.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bologna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: