Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bonadies 4 stars

Piazza Fontana Moresca 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy

#15 of 16 hotels in Ravello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent great views and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was like a motorbike about to take off, did not feel that £200 extra was worth it to have the room with the a/c. Beautiful swimming pool though sunbathing area is very limited. Balconies to rooms were very small

    Location was excellent great views and spacious rooms. Extremely clean, Great breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful, wonderful terrace on the 6th floor though they don’t really advertise it. It could be even more appealing with a bit of effort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic Ravello trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strict pool regulations where you were watched very closely which was not relaxing for us and wasnt needed. A slight bit of rain and you were asked to move as it closed. The pool isnt big enough for the number of guests and beds were reserved by the lifeguard for Italians even if you were first there!

    Loved the setting and location of the hotel. The view is spectacular. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.3
    The location is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we checked in the hotel we were allocated a room with no outdoor window - the only window overlooked an indoor hall - closed at night. We asked for another room which overlooked a busy and noisy road. The glass partition in the bathroom fell on me as I was using the shower. The comfort and style of the rooms are very old; the mattresses were uncomfortable. We realized by mistake that our door key could also open the neighboring bedroom which is clearly not reassuring for the safety of guests’ goods. The pool isn’t very pleasant, open until 5, with limited tanning space and a rather abrupt safeguard. On the second day of our stay we were informed by the cleaning lady that, should we want our room to be done, we would need to leave the room within the next 10 mns although we had not been in the room for over 6 hours that day (ie at 3:10 pm). As we were trying to leave Ravello - a rather remote location, and specifically asked for detailed guidance to reach Amalfi and then Naples, the receptionist gave us bus times that didn’t function that day (ie holiday or weekend and wrong month) and didn’t inform us that we were supposed to purchase tickets in a local tobacco store which led us to missing the first leg of our journey and all the ensuing ones (boat to Sorrento and then Naples). The service at the bar is also hit or miss, which could be part of the charm of the hotel if it wasn’t so frequent.

    The location is fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful Family Run Traditional Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know it's nothing, but the aircon unit was very noisy, & the shower could have been more powerful. We also felt that the roof terrace should have more furniture and be better utilised, as it's a wonderful space, with great views.

    Fabulous location, beautiful hotel that has traditional values. Breakfast was excellent and the view from the balcony is stunning. We had dinner on the balcony, the food was fabulous and what a place to eat your meal!! It was nice to sit with drinks in the Piazza & watch the World go by and having a pool was a real bonus. The staff were professional, helpful & very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views, great location and exactly what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking, could have had a bigger bedroom.

    Beautiful views, great location and exactly what we needed. AMAZING balcony and delicious lunch in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Not a great stay at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi-connection, airconditioning was leaking (even still after they checked) old furniture, uncomfortable beds, noisy room (that’s worse when you sleep next to a road), very small shower (there was a massage shower with seat inside, but it’s useless), poor lightning in the room (half of the lights were defect), No tv signal. Unusual when you pay 160 euro for a night.

    Good location for visiting places around and walking distance to the city centre of Ravello, nice view from the hotel, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Expected more for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three things: There was an awful rotten smell in the room. The pool guard was unnecessarily rude. The toiletries in the bathroom were not replaced once finished.

    Very good location with panoramic views and the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Heavenly
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the staff, the hotel, the location were perfect !

    The sea view we stayed in room 9 and I have to say the balcony led to an enormous terrace overlooking the coast and the views were spectacular!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked last minute, so we were aware that there was only one room left at Hotel Bonadies. We were given one of their last available rooms. The room was clean, but the bed was the most uncomfortable bed we had ever experienced, it was like sleeping on a concrete block (and we are not fussy guests) - unfortunately the room was also on the first floor, overlooking a busy road, which amplified the noise levels. We have experienced many different 4 star hotels in Italy and France and one thing we expect in a 4 star hotel, even if it's the standard entry level room - should at the very least have a comfortable bed. I believe that the hotel will be undergoing renovations soon, which will be very welcome - breakfast and pool area is in definite need of maintenance. Perhaps other rooms in this hotel have more comfortable facilities.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed it views lovely ,reception staff very helpful .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not up to our usual standard very little choice to many cakes ,boiled eggs or more fruit maybe different choice of yougart......no glasses in bedroom or bathroom plus shower was extremely small very narrow to move in .....

    Views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Charmming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool close's early

    Very friendly welcoming hotel & staff. Beautiful elegant structure, within a short walk to the center square . Nice food and with a great view. A bitt out datet room, butt it had his charm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    We will definitely be staying here again when we come to ravello.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was brilliant

    The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help and make our stay more enjoyable, the room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Hotel was spotless, great location with a 5 min walk to the square and Beautiful views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    What we got from the hotel in low-season was worthwhile.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) in-room chairs need txed.o be replaced. All broken.1 2) hairdryer is too old n no hot air when blowing. Needs to be replaced.

    Location & Seaview room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    lovely hotel but don't bother with the shower and take your own eggs for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they charged extra for eggs at breakfast! come on guys how much would a boiled egg cost ? the shower was very small in size and power of water was very very week !

    lovely pool and views the food in the hotel was very nice and the waiting staff were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    It's a "bean counter" operation prioritizing money over service. They shouldn't be in the business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shocking this is a four start very expensive hotel providing internet only in the lobby. I don't even understand it. The signal even reached our room but they must have it blocked, the password didn't work so I assume it was separate wifi router. Also, I went to the pool. It was the middle of August. Everyone wants to cool down. The pool was shut down even though it was clearly full of water and accessible. No explanation.

    In general breakfast food was very disappointing. The coffee was poor and I like Italian coffee. The fruit was especially poor in quality. The dessert was stale.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Ravello. Unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture in the room and around the hotel was a bit dated. There were some stairs that we had to carry our luggage up to. There was only one lift and it was out of order one day. The breakfast perhaps could have had a little more variety but the staff's service and attitude more than made up for that.

    We were getting married and the staff left us a nice note offering congratulations along with a bottle of wine. They were helpful in explaining how to get around to Amalfi, Positano and answered our other logistical questions. Overall they made our stay enjoyable!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very weak and bathroom needs updating.

    Good location and easy to walk into main square. Restaurants and bars within walking distance. Our room had a nice balcony and the room was very comfy and spacious. This hotel also has a nice pool although small it was perfect for a swim and to cool off. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was lovely. Pleanty of space to relax, staff very friendly, good choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure that the staff close the room door after cleaning the room. Our was left open for two days running.

    Room was very pleasant , the only thing was there was nowhere to leave private valubles e.g handbag or other valuables in the room under lock & key if you didn't want to take them with you when going out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Location, fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was just OK, we had to ask to the Staff to replenish items when they had run out. Staff were not readily available, we had to go find them. A little more attention here would have made all the difference.

    Good hotel, 10 minute walk to the main square. 5 minutes to the Bus Stop for Amalfi and from there you can get a Water Taxi to many of the Amalfi Coast hot spots.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, clean hotel with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was locked up one night and I couldn't get in. I am a lady who was travelling alone and if it wasn't for a kind stranger walking past, I would have been stranded outside of my hotel.

    Friendly staff, clean hotel with lovely views. Although the pool is fairly small and gets shaded over in the afternoon it is a nice peaceful spot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.0
    Ravello is a great town and the views from the hotel are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a cramped room beside a busy road, asked to change and were given a just slightly better one. Breakfast was very basic, service was average, parking 15euro a night, cleaners came at 5pm when we were in the room, pool not as nice as on pics, etc.... not 4 star standard, bad value for money, amalfi coast doesn't justify everything....

    Ravello is a great town and the views from the hotel are great, but for the rest we don't understand the positive reviews on booking...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Great view in old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and design is very old fashioned. I personally did not like it. The room and toilet were tiny... not a good value for money!

    Beautiful view on the Amalfi coast. Nice balcony!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, with parking and a 5 minute walk to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The one thing we did not like was the very poor wifi connectivity in the room. We had to go to a hotel hallway to use it and this was not convenient.

    We liked our stay at the hotel very much. It is quiet and well located with a beautiful view. They have their own parking lot, which is very convenient. Staff was very helpful. Ravello is beautiful and the perfect place to stay in the Amalfi coast!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and restaurant food so and so! Also rooms need a little bit of modernising!

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    We love the view from our cozy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are preparing for summer season and was under construction so was to much noise early in the morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    The staff was very nice and kinde, the room was very very...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and kinde, the room was very very clean and the view is stunning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel to stay in Ravello
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at front desk and another one at the restaurant. Choices of breakfast are limited

    The owners and their dog

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable and homey stay. Met some of the most accommodating and warm people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they gave me a 20% discount for the noise during the night because of a Christmas party. It was unexpected and very generous of them to do so.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Small tired rooms, old tired furnishings, but awesome views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit grumpy

    The views from the terrace, did I get areas and pool are working derful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking. Rooms were ugly.. you pay for the view.

    The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Location, incredible views,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many rules

    Location, incredible views,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    The plaza, front porch for family to gather.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee should have renewed hotter

    The plaza, front porch for family to gather. Laundry--next door. Breakfast selections

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful Ravello
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcoming and very helpful staff. The excellent buffet breakfast and the breathtaking view from our bedroom and the dining room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.9
    We were in Ravello for a wedding in another hotel. The Bonadies was very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms could do with updating

    Family run hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.8
    Lovely, family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This isn't a criticism of the hotel but more generally about Ravello which in effect closes at the end of October and reopens in April. Amalfi/positano maybe better places to visit in winter months. I believe Ravello is missing a trick by closing!

    Lovely, family run hotel. Excellent value with beautiful views. We visited at the end of a season so hotel was very quiet. Our room opened onto a huge terrace with stunning views but it was shared so I would imagine this terrace would be busy in high season.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely room with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small thing....breakfast was a little lacking. It runs until 10am but food was not replenished. It wasn't busy but platters, bowls etc were often left empty. I also think a little variety would be nice.

    Lovely room with amazing view. Good central location. We liked the authentic, traditional feel of the hotel. Martina, Vincento and guy who looked after pool area were extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    5.8
    Unfriendly manager/owner - many other staff gracious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfriendly manager/owner - many other staff gracious. We we told that bc we booked through bookings.com they were unable to offer us another room even if we were to pay to upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.9
    The staff and view made up for the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra small room.

    The staff and view made up for the room.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was totally disappointing. No fresh items, everything canned and of low quality, especially the serials

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    The terrace of my room and the view from the terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The terrace of my room and the view from the terrace and breeze there was gorgeous. Wish I could stay there longer.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.8
    Staff are helpful and approachable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee facility in the room

    Staff are helpful and approachable

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: