Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bonvecchiati 4 stars

Calle Goldoni 4488, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#175 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2951 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very disappointing - bland, white modern. Not like the pictures. This was an historic Venetian palace not New York! Dining room very squashed, tables in rows because usual dining room being refurbished - should we have been told in advance? Staff on the frosty side - you got help if you asked, but only the lower members of the hotel hierarchy went out of their way.

    The location was superb, couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for a superior one and for its value , very bad insulation between rooms

    Location, staff, access via water taxi at the door of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very excited to stay here and eagerly arrived by expensive water taxi. We expected to be warmely greeted and welcomed, alas the Staff did not assist us nor welcome us at check in, when we announced our arrival, they just kind of shrugged and didnt care. We were given a dingy room that looked like a very tired old room, smelt musty, very worn out carpets, no kettle or tea / coffee facilities. Our "city" view consisted of looking into the neighbouring buildings roof. On our return one day, our items were scattered around the room., which was quite alarming. Our double bed was 2 x singles pushed together with a large "crack" down the centre, (Certainly no cuddling going to go on here) one of the beds either had broken legs or had seen much better days as it sloped to the side almost tipping my husband out of bed. He slept kind of hanging on. Great location but needing improvement in appearance, comfort and welcomes. I hope this review urgently initiates some swift changes so others have a better experience.

    Excellent location, lovely towels, good bathroom amenities provided, staff in restaurant were excellent. ATM nearby and great restaurants at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online pictures of this place were misleading. Also, I expected more for the amount of money I spent for one night. The carpet smelled like pee, and their was a hair in our bed.

    The location-that’s it; oh, and the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds too soft. The cleanliness of the ceiling and wardrobe poor. The safe in my room (316) didn’t work.

    The location is perfect. Breakfast is amazing. The staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel has been neglected over the years from 2011 when we last here. No tissues in bathrooms in a four star hotel. Breakfast not up to standard for a four star hotel. Tiny toasting machine, not enough fresh fruit salad, warm milk just in glass jug, white bread being eaten by the pigeons who were flying in from outside. Very cramped seating. All very disappointing.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a shame that such a lovely room had marks/stains on some areas of the carpet and that there was no coffee/tea making facilities. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast but such a shame too that the only coffee served at breakfast is from a push-button machine and is lukewarm and too milky.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable and in a wonderful location. On request I had a large and spacious “Room with a View” and I especially loved the fresh sheets and towels everyday and the lovely bathrobe and slippers. My bed was very comfortable as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was noise from a construction crew early in the morning with loud drilling, and boats delivering supplies in the early morning added to the noise. Would have liked to see more variety at breakfast buffet from day to day.

    Room was very clean, loved the robe and slippers! The tide was high so the water taxi pulled up to the door which was wonderful because we had heavy luggage. We weren't so lucky when leaving- had to walk with luggage to water taxi stop on grand canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast... before this breakfast room is much bigger and they have better breakfast but now you can not find the private table and the breakfast totally so much Italian and It`s not complete

    Clean hotel with very good staffs, great location and comfort rooms It`s my 4th time stay in this hotel and I love this hotel Sure If I need to back again Venice this hotel is my first choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast selection. No lounge bar or opportunity to get a drink after 11pm apart from minibar in room. No kettle in room to be able to make a hot drink.

    location and staff very good. Rooms very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms (two) we booked werent available. Moved us to cheapier room but asked to pay for better ones. It was my weddings, my guest had to stay in same building, but was in other one. We asked for good view - but saw a wall. It was very very bad situation.. And in the final - we thought that after moving to such a bad rooms we will pay less, but NOT - they asked the same money amount! Its unbelievable! Price in their website: 210 eur/night We paid: 400 eur/night 3 nights, 2 rooms.. about 1200 euros lost.

    Location of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add.

    The hotel is very nice. Good location, few minutes walking distance to San Marco and all other sights. The staff was very polite and friendly. I would choose this hotel next time during my travel to Vinice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds could be less hard, but the all have a beatifull vieuw.

    The "maitre d'hotel" is the perfect person to have in your hotel. All your wishes are fullfilled in a minimum of time and with great pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    5 star hotel, 3 minutes walk from san marco. i could actually see it from window. great staff, excellent food. couldn't be any better. amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower didn't work and the slipmat for the bath was not cleaned properly

    Location is excellent, midway between St Marks and Rialto Bridge. We had a superior room with a fantastic view of the canal and could see and hear the gondolas from the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots! Surly staff in the dining room at breakfast. The breakfast was a self service buffet, even the coffee and juice, which both came from a poor quality machines . The room was extremely dated and scruffy. The bathroom was small and the bath was an oversized sink on the floor! The hot water on the shower kept going from cool to extremely hot, almost to the point of scorching the skin! There were no tea / coffee making facilities in the room. This hotel is extremely overpriced for the quality which is totally mediocre. The carpet on the stairs are worn through. This hotel is old, tired and desperately in need of upgrading. The staff could do with some considerable customer service training.

    The waiters in the dining room were friendly and attentive at the evening meal. Shower was powerful. Location is excellent, very central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were not as described, the one we were given upon arrival was very small and did not match the photos used to advertise it on booking.com. We were moved to a better room but only after I asked for a refund and started looking for alternate hotels! This being something I have never had to do before and complaining is not something I do often, but this hotel is 3star at best. It is currently undergoing renovation work so the main restaurant and bar area are currently out of bounds. Improvements to a hotel are a good thing but not to current visitors when the builders wake you up at 7.30am as they start work. I'm sure when the renovations are finished the hotel will be lovely but unfortunately it is affecting the quality of what is currently being offered.

    The hotel was in an ideal location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms given to us were humid because there was no AC, but we asked to be transferred to rooms which have AC and they did! Otherwise it was an excellent stay

    The location is excellent. The hotel is nice and clean.The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont care customer who make reservation via booking. The room was very dark,it was like a cave no window at all. If you pay 200€ for one person they can offer you city wiev room. Normally, I dont even pay 10 € for this room. You can find better hotels in this price.

    Just location was good nesr to san marco square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in the perfect location for exploring Venice and surrounding area. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choice. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By law they can not put on the air conditioner until the 15th of May and the room was sometimes really hot, because the temperature outside was 18C.

    Excellent. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional hotel, great location everything is 5/10 max minutes walk from the hotel, but most of all amazing staff. From the moment we walked into the hotel to the time we had to leave the staff were wonderful in every sense of the word. So friendly and professional making sure that we were completely satisfied in your trip. From the Comfort and extremely clean rooms, Breakfast was nice and you had a good choice. Highly recommend I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally prefer a softer bed but in that, you cannot please everyone.

    The hotel was very close to Piazza San Marco, the Doge Palace, the Rialto Bridge and many museums and churches.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small.

    Great location (just 3 minutes walk from St Marc square); great breakfast (you can eat well and have a late lunch or on the go to make the most of your stay if time is a constraint)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A proper Bar would be nice-and in a very English way I would have liked the chance to make tea or coffee in the room!You also have to often wait for the two lifts for some time.The cleaning was excellent and unobtrusive.

    Breakfast was very good value-and the food in the evening was exceptional-of course,not cheap-as was the wine.My room was nice and the bathroom luxurious,and the heating full on and very necessary!The waiting staff,indeed everyone, were very good at their job.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have a kettle with cups and so we couldn’t make a brew or coffee in the room. The furniture in the bedroom because some of the cupboard drawers didn’t open and the wardrobes need updating.

    A really nice hotel, welcoming staff and great location. Very comfy bed and pillows. We paid extra for a good view which was well worth it. Breakfast was from 7 till 10 and you were not rushed out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very big, however, you don't come to Venice to spend time in hotel room. The walls are thin, you could hear other guests speaking next door, which wasn't very comfortable.

    Excellent location, great breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were paper thin, and we heard our neighbors speaking as if they were in the same room as us. Cold water was unstable, turning on and off while running the shower. The bath shower screen was weird and flimsy and created an uncomfortable shower space. Rooms were too hot (in winter) with the air con controls disabled. Rooms were fairly small with dust on surfaces from the sheets after they were changed. Breakfast was mediocre.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and we found a bottle of champagne in our room with birthday wishes on my partner's birthday. The location of the hotel is great for exploring Venice, close to a major water transport stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is in the restaurant, but this is being changed

    Warmth on very cold days, bath and rain shower, very quiet, good breakfast and brilliant location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system in one of our rooms was inoperative.

    Excellence location in the middle of the shopping area, and just behind the Marcus square. The rooms were nice and clean. Good breakfast. In February the price level was very reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we checked in we discovered a sign apologising for ongoing work with their dining room which is not flagged when booking. This resulted in chaos on Sunday morning with a queue in excess of 20 people waiting to be seated for breakfast. The other two mornings - Saturday and Monday were ok. It appears their main dining room is closed and you have to eat on the enclosed terrace. This is ok as long as they leave on the heaters. Unfortunately when we dined on our first night in the restarurant it was a quiet night and with four of us left in the dining room they turned the heaters off and we had to ask for them to be put back on. Bar is not separate from the dining room and closes at 11pm so no night caps in the bar - you need to hit the mini bar in your room!!

    Room was on the small size but well appointed and spotlessly clean. Robes and slippers were a nice touch and mini bar useful as bar closes early. We were on the top level and it was very quiet. Very good breakfast. Location is unbeatable - steps away from Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was very small, there was one radiators in our room and It was very noisy ... please inform that problem to hotel management and everyday breakfast was same ...everything is same during 4days ,it is no good

    hotel location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.room was very small (after they said it’s an upgrade) 2.staff was rude 3. They almost lost our bags ! And it’s on my and my partners anniversary! Not the best experience

    Location is very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t always work.. Heating didn’t not work at the last night of our stay and it was freezing!

    Location was right in the middle of everything, it’s close enough to everything, walking distance to everywhere you wanna go and close to the water taxi stations Rialto and San Marcos stations are both very close by. We booked the standard room and we got a beautiful renovated room, loved it. But you can hear steps from the room on the upper floor, I had no problems falling a sleep but my mom did and we moved to another room, it was a bigger room but not renovated at all and very old but the worst part is that the heating did not work at all, we had only few hours to sleep and that definitely was a bad experience to end with otherwise all was good. Ask for renovated rooms when you book the reservation:) Staff was lovely! Check in went smoothly, everything we asked for they were very helpful, cleaning staff were amazing, I think they cleaned the room every time we left the room, they cleaned at the morning and then again the evening when we left for dinner they fixed the room for us. Breakfast is good, all kinds of coffee and tea were served, lots of food choices, and desserts. The boat taxi is overpriced in Venice, we took the public water taxi to Rialto and then we walked, took us 5 min to walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they upgraded the room into a superior room but it was so small, plus there was hair inside the bed, the put only one paper toilet, the rooms are not sound insulated so you can hear everything happening in your neighbors room and the corridor!

    the staff speaks perfect English which is something rare in Italy :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was uninterested. The room had no hot water the first night so we had to get the plumber up. There was a bad sewage smell in the hotel for one of the days. Breakfast queue was very long so we ended up going out for breakfast. Very noisy. The rooms are dated! I left an item there and they have said I need to pay €80 to get it back!

    The location only

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the coffee for breakfast is selfservice, what I expected to be made from the staff.

    Good breakfast, nice and friendly staff, traditional furniture, everything clean, quiet and large room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, and very dingy overlooking a large air conditioning unit. There was so much noise from the unit outside, men/hotel staff or guests in the corridor and outside, and to top it off a massive lot of drilling/building going on that it was impossible to sleep past about six am in the morning. Considering what we were paying for the hotel, they should have informed us when we booked that there would be a substantial amount of work going on. We asked them to move us and they provided us with a much better room, however it was still noisy and not at all conducive to what we had been expecting. The reception staff were very unfriendly, breakfast was terrible and best to go out to one of the great little coffee bars which can be found within a few 100 yards of the hotel.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath - my husband could hardly fit and the room was quite small.

    Location was perfect and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was great! The Bath was very very tiny though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Breakfast could be more richer , with more vegetables

    The Hotel was has ,a very, very good location 2 min. walk to San Marco place ,the room was big enough with a very nice bathroom , The staff was very helpful , especially Mr. Francesco and Miss. Sara

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling with my son and had a twin room but the beds were very narrow and very firm single beds pushed together, sharing the double bedhead. We were able to separate them, but not used to such a narrow hard bed. Hard also in Rome.

    The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We upgraded to a bigger twin and it was a good size with a view over a canal. Was central location. Caught boat bus to Rialto €7.50, and no steps between there and hotel. ( handy to know if you're pulling a heavy suitcase).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is really really small. The bed takes up all the place and moving requires shuffling around the bed.

    The room is equipped with a big cupboard for storing your good. The bed is big and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast Buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smell a bit old, the wall were so thin that you could hear everything happening in the corridor and your neighbors . Difficult to sleep properly with all the noises. The breakfast had a big choice but was not really good

    The hotel was very central. The room was of a good size with a good size bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bathrooms could be a little bigger, however for such an old hotel, very acceptable

    everything fantastic, great location, deal and service, tasty varied breakfast right between rialto bridge and st marks square, very pleased special thanks to Ecaterina & Marco at the bar!))

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They shouldn‘t write that there‘s a parking place nearby, seen that one has to take a boat to reach the hotel. Margarine, vegan alternatives to dairy products and gluten free products totally missing from the breakfast buffet.

    Tomatoes and hams at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could practically hear all conversations in the corridor (just outside our room) We would have liked a teapot during breakfast. The Tea served got cold in less than a minute (and i am not kidding). We would have liked sausages and nutella. These were missing.

    Helpful Staff. Good location. Cleanliness. Aboveall, the Bangladeshi man (a butler) was so welcoming, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main negative was that the room was far to hot and it could not be regulated in the room. We asked the staff for assistance and they told us they would adjust it but it remained too hot and this impacted our sleep.

    Overall it is a comfortable stay, it is an average four-star hotel and you get what you pay for. Breakfast was included and very good, coffee excluded (tasted very bad). The staff was very nice and friendly, and the rooms are clean. Location is very central but then Venice is so small that I would think all hotels are very central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Breakfast view nothing like the photo shown (visited on January) 2. CROOKED room. Both floor and bed were crooked. You can roll a bottle on the table. 3. Extremely small washroom, smaller than the one shown in photo. 4. Washroom ceiling was leaking on the first day (room 216), which was fixed the next day upon request.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at the reception were unpleasant. They claimed that they offer free parking which they don’t. Cost us 21 Euros a day for parking somewhere else and 30 euro for the commute. There was a bathtub but there was no shower so taking a shower was a real headache. And some of the pics of the hotel are misleading like there was no tables by the canal to eat or to drink

    The location is really great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am very picky but I really have trouble finding a fault with this hotel.

    The room was not huge but adequate and very charming with an great bed, and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was clean and bright. The view from the only small window was the quintessential vista of a canal spanned by a typical Venetian bridge with gondolas passing frequently. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was very central. I would book here again without hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly welcome by the hotel staff, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, quiet at night, large selection for breakfast, central location - close to piazza San Marco and Rialto bridge, easy transport from the airport by water taxi right to the entrance of the hotel. This is the second time we stayed at the hotel, and we all enjoyed it. Thank you !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent! the waiters and waitresses were generously friendly! Location boasts of great area near the city square, and has great historical value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were moved to a second room as the bathroom floor would get flooded when you had a shower. Very slippery and dangerous. Second room was certainly an upgrade, more room and bathroom did not flood once!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked kettle to make coffee tea that's all

    Location very good and we were up graded from a room to a suit would stay there again and would recommend it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some white (bleach?) stains on green carpet. Hotels should notify of pre-existing damage. We feared we might be blamed (we were not). Breakfast OK, but not very special. Scrambled eggs (no other option included in price) too salty. We had one evening meal, which was very poor.

    The room was large, beautifully furnished and felt like a palace. We were like pampered princesses. Exquisite marbled bathroom with bath and shower (over bath). View from window of rooftops and canal below. Friendly staff for such a large and grand hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the adminsitration should ensure that the staff taking the incomimng guests to their rooms explain tohem the handling of the TV remote control.

    The location, very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For the size of room the price is astronomical. The only furniture in the room was the double bed. There was just enough room for one person the squeeze around the bed on every side. The bathroom just had enough space to stand in. You could not take a step. From the one position you could do everything use the basin, the toilet and the shower but you had to move the freestanding toilet roll holder. None of this would be so bad if the price was reasonable. It was over 300Euro per night. Aircon did not work properly and the TV was almost impossible to find english channels. This is not worth more than about 50Euro per night. A complete ripoff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not comfortable (I realize this is subject to personal preference) and the breakfast could have offered fresher food.

    The staff is outstandingly nice, accommodating and helpful. The location is fabulous, situated between the Rialto bridge and P. San Marco with easy access to the major touristic sites as well as public transportation (the water-bus).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing about this hotel and staff that we didn't like

    We liked the room, particularly the wet room was stunning. The staff were extremely helpful, from the ladies on reception to the head waiter Giorgio, and the head bar man Roberto. They put themselves out on several occasions to make our stay very special. Arriving by water taxi to the hotel steps is a special memory and we were very sad to leave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were beside a canal & unfortunately the smell was not nice!!We had dined there before but then no offending odour!!

    It was central.Very convenient for sightseeing,vaporetto.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were paper thin - urgently need replacing. Rooms don't match pictures. No shower, only a shower head. Rooms smell of strong fragrance. Beds are rock hard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the trash station at the canal, breakfast should be closed to non-hotel guests,

    The location of the hotel is great, just in the middle of everything but also close to main trash loading/uploading station of the respected canal, that's why starting from 4am in the morning there is a disturbing noise coming from outside and continue till morning. So if your room is facing back of the hotel, you will hardly sleep. On the other hand, since you are very close to trash station, there is a serious mosquito problem in the room, even the room is very clean. We asked from the reception to put a mosquito killer in the room, still did not work and we had difficult times while sleeping. Breakfast is great but since it is also open to guests outside the hotel, it is incredibly crowded and noisy therefore you can't have a pleasant time of breakfast even the content of the breakfast is good and varieties are enough. The lobby area is very outdated designed, for such location and price, it should have been more new and modern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed instead of one big/king bad, mosquitoes in the room, older style of room, smaller bathroom

    Perfect place in the center, lovely personal, good restaurant, very clean, bar in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was quite small with not much storage space. I felt that the hotel was overpriced and the only reason for its classification was its proximity to central Venice.

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was very copious and good value for money. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good. Location was excellent - just round the corner from San Marco square

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable. The room was dusty. No free refreshments (tea/coffee) facilities in the room. Overall not bad and you don’t spend long in the room anyway, but you are paying just for the location at this hotel really.

    The location of this hotel is perfect. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure meant the main shower didn't really work.

    Excellent breakfast. Very attentive staff. Maybe a little overpriced. Couldn't fault the housekeeping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working and a large noisy fan left in its place. Bathroom door didn’t close. Mosquitoes in the room and wardrobe. We had 17 bites between us, my girlfriend suffering a reaction to them. Breakfast isn’t any special in Italian hotels and this is no exception.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travel to hotel from airport by public transport, no private taxis available, size of room, no warning of Mosquitos, cost of room, quality of breakfast,

    Location, reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom is very small and the bed was extremely lumpy. We only had one night here or otherwise would have asked for another room.

    location was good, amenities were nice and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely small & lighting was very poor. We had to take the elevator to 3rd floor & then walk down to second floor to get to our room. Too much walking for seniors. They offered us what they said was an upgrade Which was on 4th floor & again had to walk up 2 more flights of stairs & we refused room It was in an attic with no view, certainly not an upgrade. We were disappointed with hotel. Lobby couches were shabby & carpet in hallway was very worn. We stayed 4 nights & spent over $2000.00 & would never return or recommend. It is not 4 star hotel!! Prices are outrageous! Bathrooms very tiny & little closet room We left our clothes in suitcases the entire stay..

    Location & dining room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the value, it was not worth the price compared to other similar properties in Rome and Florence.

    Breakfast was extensive and the atmosphere was very nice. The hotel itself was average and the rooms were quite small compared to our accommodations in other major Italian cities. Most of the staff were courteous but the senior rep at the front desk came across as rude and unfriendly. Also the front desk struggled to handle the volume of incoming clients as it was understaffed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an unpleasant odor - especially in the bathroom

    Location is awesome and old world charm for days. The restaurant looked amazing but I didn't eat there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing all was perfect

    We were upgraded with a canal view and woke up in Venice with the bells of St Marks and serenaded by the singing of Gondelier in their boats outside . The room was very large for European standard rooms with great old wood timbers in the ceiling . The breakfast and service at this hotel was exceptional . The location to Rialto Bridge and St Marks square was within 5 minutes .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service, very low quality breakfast, no response on room service line, small room, when TV didn't work employee that was sent to assist was very patronising. He also didn't fix it on first attempt. Hotel is very overpriced - impression is that staff are very unhappy and demotivated. Would not visit again or recommend to anybody.

    Nothing of note.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I felt that the hotel up-charged their boat service. They quoted 180 euros and my receipt for the direct service was for 125 euros (which is what I paid as I had the receipt!). The regular taxi service just to the airport dock is 130 euros...the shuttle is an extra 20 euros plus tips of course. However, I must say that, although ridiculously pricey, it is very convenient. The hotel also charged 1 night's stay 3 days prior to arrival (no problem with that). However, they reverse that charge when tallying the bill rather than just charging the additional nights (which results in a 2.5% service charge by VISA for the "reversal" transaction).

    I had a deluxe twin room with 3 windows with views of the canal. Lovely. I was travelling alone so I booked the airport shuttle (quite a walk from gate to boat with luggage for me) and the hotel boat that brought me directly to their private dock. Very pricey but, without aggravation after a long flight. I would just advise to watch for price quotes...prices seem to change depending on who you speak with. Breakfast was plentiful but, not outstanding. Gym was good with a view. My son joined me for 3 days and we had ample space in the room. Great location. 10 minute walk to St. Mark's Square or to Rialto Bridge. Steps to gelato! Enjoyed the gondolas, serenading and sounds of the city in the mornings. Would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bonvecchiati traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: