Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Borgo Antico 3 stars

Via Di Lucignano 405, 53014 Monteroni dʼArbia, Italy

#12 of 19 hotels in Monteroni dʼArbia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small, bathroom had quite some mold in the corners, whole room was smelling humid (our visit was early in the season, at the end of May). The underground restaurant is also used for breakfast, which might be nicer somewhere outside.

    This is a small hotel in a very nice and quiet village, very friendly staff. The hotel has a nice restaurant in a big underground room with barrel vault ceiling, very stylish and probably comfortable temperatures in summer. Dinner and wine were not really exciting, but also not very expensive. Bed was comfortable and clean, equally towels were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is a beautiful inn in a lovely and quiet location. Service was friendly and professional, rooms were great and the dining room was outstanding. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position near Via Francigena and outside of town so quiet. Cristina fixed us a tall cool drink when we arrived after hot day walking. Excellent food in vaulted room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room a bit cramped and dark, but comfortable.

    Great staff, Ms. Leonardo very friendly and efficient. Terrific views from the terrace on a fine afternoon. Pretty nice restaurant, but great buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that I only got to spend one night here. I would have preferred to stay longer. The tiny little village is so charming.

    The staff were super. Especially the lady on reception, Christine I think her name was. She went out of her way to look after us. Then the chef had more for dinner than expected and did a fantastic meal for us all. I loved the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay there were two large parties at the hotel and we felt their demands took precedence over those of other guests. This wasn't such a problem at dinner as we can cope with eating late, but it seemed to overstretch the staff at breakfast who perhaps underestimated how much some guests will eat.

    Comfortable property in a small village, a good base for touring the area or for breaking a journey from southern Italy back to the UK. Very good welcome at reception, convenient parking, spacious room with lovely views over the countryside. We enjoyed a good dinner and interesting wine list.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its getting chilly in the evenings now so we are needing to put the extra blanket on the bed from the wardrobe. The one I had to use was old and looked like it was used for a dog to sleep on. Got a replacement no problem but these all need to be checked with the change in season. Everything else was perfect.

    Lovely room with beautiful view in a cute little village. Worth coming to even though away from the Via Francigena walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a bit cramped. We couldn't have our two large suitcases open at the same time, missing drawers and shelves to unpack. Ask for larger room.

    Friedndly staff, very good free breakfast although very sweet (Italian style, very good restaurant for dinner as well, comfortable bed, well located south of Sienna with great view of those amazing hills.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, was able to park right outside. The room itself was very large and spacious, and the whole building had a lot of character. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was fabulous, the house red wine was a complete 10/10. And the views completely speak for themselves.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice staff and helpfull. We had to cancel one night without refund, but they still did this. We arrived late and they kept the kitchen open for us. Nice place with a beautiful view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional small-town hotel. The village is tiny, surrounded by farms. Not much to do outside hotel. Good service. Room smallish but correct. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't believe they have an elevator, don't know for sure. But staff will carry your luggage upstairs if that is a problem for you. Or you can request a room on ground floor.

    The staff at Borgo Antico is wonderful. Attentive, always helpful and accommodating. I sat upstairs on the outdoor veranda, restaurant area one afternoon. The view was an absolutely postcard picture perfect example of the Tuscan landscape. When staff saw that I was writing in journal, they brought me some hot tea and then did not bother me again. Not even when it was time for the girls to start setting up the restaurant for dinner. Of course I left, but, again, staff is wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More available information on transport links to local area. It was also written that there was a laundry service but there was not, you had to go to the next town a couple of miles away.

    The room was great and the staff were very helpful. The village was also lovely, however there is nothing else in the immediate area. However it was useful for us as we wanted to make day trips to Siena/Montepulciano.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a big disappointment. Only 1 person to manage: breakfast for about 30 people (coffee & kitchen!!) and reception in the same time. Result: people waiting for coffee, table with breakfast most of time empty (literally) as physically impossible for one person to do everything. We spent 1 hour watching the lady doing her best, but at the end we have left the restaurant having just coffee and some cornflakes... Not fair.

    Location, nice view, clean & comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were extra friendly, they gave me tips about places that i should visit. Their restaurant is recommended, specially their lamb ribs dish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi worked only in public areas.

    Brilliant terrace restaurant with valley views and first class food and wine. Building very well restored and tastefully decorated. Most helpful staff. Excellent location for exploring Siena, Montalcino and Pienza.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was a small and dark. Paid. 10 to change to better one. Albeit still with view of wall

    Solid hotel in small village with excellent restaurant patio looking over the countryside. Good stop in the Francigena. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building. The room was small but clean . The food was good. The only criticism was there didn't seem to be enough staff. We had a very long wait for our meal the first night. At breakfast you had to go and find somebody to make the coffee. They were pleasant enough when you asked for something but they weren't readily available . That said, it was a pleasant stay. There are other restaurants in the village where the food was also good.eg La Perla

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nicely decorated in a good village location. Pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for sightseeing Tuscany.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is big so feels lonely when eating alone

    Lovely room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location tipica senese

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff was very friendly but one person.Maybe a bad day?

    Beautiful hotel in a n extraordinary little village. The restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An amazing place! Everything was wonderful - staff, amenities, location, food! I'd love to stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from the road, warm room (lucky with the AC)

    friendliest staff ever, terrace, parking, the building itself,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tuscany extremely hot so swimming pool would have made it more perfect.

    Restaurant and food excellent quality. Plus very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Location,ancient atmosphere,breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was so-so, staff probably new.

    Nice building, great front desk staff (super fast check in), good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location, friendly staff, nice terrace. The room was a nice size, with beautiful views from the window

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not realizing they had a restaurant. I guess we didn't look closely enough at the property when we booked.

    The location was perfect as a starting point into the heart of Tuscany. It was a in a quiet village between the Val d' Orchia district and the cities of Siena and Florence. The view from the common terrace was beautiful. They served a very good breakfast. It seemed that they had a fine restaurant which we did not utilize because we had eaten before arrival to hotel. We arrived there after a free vineyard, vintage room, wine tasting with Gemma at San Carlo winery. Their Brunelo di Montalcino was superb. We just had to buy a bottle.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Given that we were explicit that we wanted a room with a second bed for our daughter and had pre-booked it online before arrival, we were disappointed that we were only able to get a fold-out bed for her which made the room very cramped. But also frustrating as the hotel was empty when we visited in January. It was also a little bit annoying that there was no lift access to our room, so we had to carry our bags up the flights of stairs. But the hotel is Antico (approximate English means antique!) so may be that is the way it should be! :)

    The restaurant is cavernous in size with a beautiful curved ceiling and enjoyable ambience. But weird because only five tables of more than 40 were full - would have been really crazy noisy in summer! The staff were all very friendly and attentive to your needs throughout the duration of our stay. Great to be in the countryside just out of the townships. It was also nice to be able to get to a lot of places within Tuscany quite quickly due to our location. Having a car park just below the hotel was good so that we didn't have to park on the street outside as it was a little narrow. Also looks visually appealing from the outside! :)

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is a typycal italian style, not good for health!, a lot of sugar cakes, white bread, no fruits, no natural juices, no eggs (but if you ask they do it, no problems)...But for the money that we pay for this Fantastatic place, this is ok!

    The place is very nice, the location, the view, the staff( principal the young guy of the reception very kindness and professional), the restaurant, the selection of wine, very clean all hotel, the rooms very confortable, very big parking and the principal The Borgo, you fell the history around...The Really Face of Italy...Soberb!!! Very cheap for this kind of place

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a little tricky to get to - not much around it, but if you're looking for a base to discover Tuscany for a few days, it is wonderful.

    Wonderful hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool area needs work and not inviting

    Host was lovely . Bedrooms and common rooms nicely appointed with antiques and tools of the farm

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, room & service. Up scale hotel in the country side.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spectacular scenery. Great location

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurante do hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quiet village, quiet hotel, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff! Good rooms. You get a nice toscany feeling.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful outdoor areas and restaurant, beautiful building. Very good value for money!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: