Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda 4 stars

Via Roma 191, 50028 Tavarnelle in Val di Pesa, Italy

#5 of 7 hotels in Tavarnelle in Val di Pesa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a disabled room, and it was impossible to use the bathroom! The air conditioner always went on 20 celsius degree, it was very cold. The waiters should be more informal.

    Breakfast and dinner was excellent. The panoramic wiew was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Villa was wonderful. We used it as a hub and made day trips each day. Nice to come back to this beautiful hotel. Pool is great. Very nice sunset.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors could be a bit more sound insulated but that's really wasn't a problem place is very quiet.

    We had superb time at the hotel during our honeymoon trip around Italy. Exelent customer service with very good English, delicious traditional restaurant with big wine selection, beautiful view from the balcony, super spa, and ideal location in the heard of Tuscsny. We will be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, great rooms and facilities. Very good breakfasts and good menu and wine list. The location is also good for travelling to some major Tuscan sites. Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was icy cold (even in August)!

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food (breakfast and lunch) was delicious and the coffee was amazing! Great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the second time my family and I come here and we love it! It's in the middle of olive and grape farms. Staff is very nice, the rooms very comfortable. Great breakfast, in a word perfrct

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little basic and we had a "garden view" which is no view...a very closed grass and hedge area. That would be OK if you just slept there. But we were there for relaxing at hotel while between touring. We did anyway, but it would have been nice to have the view, which I thought I reserved.

    We loved the grounds, flowers, gardens, pool and Breathtaking views of the Tuscan hills and valleys. That is the view from the pool area and some of the rooms (which we did not get on this trip). The staff was the highlight of this stay. They were very accommodating with where to go and how to get there. They Arranged a cooking class for my granddaughter and I with a pasta chef then lunch with a special sauce for the ravioli we prepared. We enjoyed the restaurant dinners and one night the 12 year old wanted to watch movie in the room and they made her a ham and cheese sandwich and French fries. They have a good sommelier and I was taught about Tuscan wine and olive oil. It is 30 minutes by car from Florence, but I would highly recommend a private tour or train for the transportation. Parking and driving In Florence is frustrating. Hotel Borgo di Confredo has a wonderful staff and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've missed breakfast and I am sure we would have loved it, judging by dinner, so don't oversleep :D

    The place is great, the view was lovely, too bad we only stayed one night, I want to get back there for weeks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was one of our favorite places to stay in Tuscany. Great view, nice pool, wine tasting for free, restaurant with great good options, and the rooms were large/comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was a bit too cold. Also, the restaurant was very expensive! I would recommend including dinner etc. as there isn't loads around, so go for that option.

    The staff are brilliant! The location is amazing. Loads of parking. The pool has great views. Had a one year old with us and they gave us unlimited warm milk in bottles, such a help! Really enjoyed our stay. Oh yeah, and the breakfast is AMAZING!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grounds and gardens looked like they needed tending, but early in season.

    View from room was lovely. Dinner in restaurant excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern premises in a traditional antique style. Good restaurant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stop working two days at late night and we had to call maintenance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no

    Good breakfast and center of city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms with wonderful views, Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All round excellence.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar prices are a rather high

    The pool was an excellent spot to relax in the tuscany sun

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good place to make a break and get relaxed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the restaurant menu a little limited in choice.

    We have stayed at this Hotel on three previous occasions and find it a good place to both relax and also access the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Bags of Tuscan charm. Lovely swimming pool and grounds

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely Perfect! :)

    The hotel is absolutely perfect!!! The quietness, the nice and helpful staff, the location and the romantic setting... just great for a romantic, quite, peaceful country side getaway.. we event extended our stay for another 2 days :)

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The view is awesome. Too bad there is no terrace overlooking the hills. They should rethink that. The area is so beautiful!

    Perfect location. Very spacious rooms. Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shifty wi-fi to below grade rooms. We had a leaking shower - torn comforter- safe box that needed resetting often & issues with room door- everything was fixed and addressed after we pointed out. Room 232 has no view and you wake up to utensils from the kitchen and smell of food being just over it! No coffee/tea amenities in the room.

    The property is nice from the outside.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is exactly what we needed after a week of ancient villas with no a/c or restaurants, the view and the view from the pool are stunning! Just a fabulous property. Free daily in house wine tastings too, my husband was thrilled!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is enjoyable at this place, even the views. The cooking class was fun as was the afternoon wine tasting session. The restaurant is high standard and you can choose to eat outside and take in the afternoon views. Plus free car parking.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I chose to stay at this hotel because the website says it has a fitness centre. However, on arrival we were told the fitness centre was closed for renovation "until next year" !!! That is just false advertising and not good enough.

    Location, swimming pool, views.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit farther from San Gimignano than we anticipated (20+ minutes drive) but nice Tuscan country side drive to get there. Didn't care for dinner menu very much but nice restaurant staff.

    A stay in Tuscany that we had envisioned. Room was fine & overall good value.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We absolutely had one of the finest and tasteful dinners of our entire trip. The wines were marvelous and we brought several bottles from the wine cellar back home. The room was quiet and private and the staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't think of anything that we didn't like or would alter & must say that the cheerfulness & helpfulness of the staff deserves a special mention. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slightly disappointing new Year party, far outweighed by enjoyment the rest of the time

    staff were both very friendly and polite and very capable Very good restaurant introduction to Tuscan food and wine

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike

    The tranquility although just off the road. Central location, easy to drive in any direction. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, giving us recommendations and booking wine tastings and dinner. We spent 3 days there and although we went out every day we had time to relax and wind down, much needed after being in large busy cities

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed could have been more comfy poor cover on the matres made it to hot

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place, hospitality , great views. Very good breakfast. Very easy to travel from.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant staff. Good service and very entertaining.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is my third time visiting this hotel and i always enjoy and will always return to this place when am in this area

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything about this hotel is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , swimming pool, restaurant and the very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect.

    Great place for the relaxing holidays!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: