Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Borgo Grondaie

Strada Delle Grondaie 15, 53100 Siena, Italy

#11 of 109 Holiday rentals in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 823 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - close enough to walk into the centre, but far enough out to benefit from lovely grounds and a pool. Really friendly staff, who made us feel welcome - and who recommended a fabulous restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever.

    This hotel is a cut above the average. Upon arrival we were offered a glass of proseco. The Borgo retains its old world charm and offers a very comfortable stay. There are wonderful outdoor areas to relax and enjoy the views and sun. The pool is very inviting. You are provided with tea and coffee making facilities and the staff are enthusiastic and couldn’t be more helpful if they tried. You could easily spend a week or more at this Borgo. And there’s a huge supermarket a few minutes walk away. The old city is within walking distance or staff will organise a taxi to the duomo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location and the outdoor areas were great. I had some noise problems the first and second nights (people shifting furniture the room above me; next night around 10.30 more noise), But the staff were sympathetic and checked in with me and explained that the people were having some event. Ask for an upstairs room if you go in order to avoid this . Will be happy to return: pool area my favorite place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little hard for me but my husband found it fine.

    The whole place was wonderful, set in a large beautiful garden with a good sized pool. The breakfast was amazing, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were so amazing and helpful! They were very knowledgeable about the area and gave great suggestions and historical information. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like leaving. We enjoyed our stay so much and wanted more of it!

    Everything here was fab! The staff, the room, bathroom, a wide selection of hot and cold food for breakfast, the facilities, the pool, the setting and grounds, the gardens all beautifully tended, the whole thing was an experience. Best to go for at least 2 nights so you can appreciate everything as well as visiting Siena, just a short way up the hill!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt somewhat mislead about the location. It's not an easy walk into Siena, although the property advertises that it's 1-2 KM from the city center. (maybe as the crow flies) You can walk -- but you have to go down a steep hill and a busy street with no shoulder or sidewalk, cross a round-about, take a short-cut through a shopping mall and then weave back into town. In reality, it's an 8-10 Euro taxi ride to the city center -- imperative in the evening as walking is not at all safe (traffic, dark streets). It's very close to the train station -- but again, you have to take a taxi --and despite the short distance, the driver charged me almost 7 euros.

    Beautiful property with gorgeous grounds on hill overlooking old Siena. Well-maintained and lovely rooms. The breakfast is a feast and the staff is very attentive and kind. Overall, a really lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom door is a sliding one with glass insert. Come on! .. for advanced marriage only :o)

    Easy to find location, simple parking. Very-very helpful and friendly staff. Nice environment. Excellent terrace for evening wine. Pool was available in springtime also. Generally very good impressions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is on the hillside outside the ancient city, the scenery is very good. You can see wild rabbits in the morning! The breakfast at this hotel is the most abundant we have enjoyed during our trip to Italy! The room is clean and the staff is helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t need to go here

    We wanted to catch the steam train from Siena to Buonconvento, the hotel was initially chosen for its proximity to the station. The rest was a complete bonus, comfortable room, great breakfast ( the Serviceman requires a mention, best eggs in town) overall all the staff were quality. Check it out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom but clean and good shower. Our apartment was in the middle of two others and the noise carries a lot betweem the rooms. This was more to do with the families than the accommodation though. There was also a lot of noise first thing in the morning outside the property which carried in to the room as our window was open. The wifi is hit and miss.

    It's a warm, friendly place to stay. The staff are excellent and very helpful, plus the breakfast is great and gives you a good start to the day. I think this property is best enjoyed in the summer when the pool is open and you can enjoy the gardens and the view across to the city. It's very convenient to get in to Siena's centre (which is fantastic) with free parking and is close to the supermarket too. This is the second time we have stayed here and would do again when in Siena. It's also a good base to explore surrounding areas. We visited the winery at La Lastra nearby and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three nights we spent rhere but nobody came to change our towels and to take away the rubbish.

    The atmosphere is unique! The stile of the appartment i perfect. There is everything iside you need. It is very silent and calm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was some sort of city-based wifi service. I didn't like that it was unsecured and it logged you out very quickly if you were inactive, and made you re-log in every time.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and allowed us to extend our stay by an extra day at the last minute. Of 4 cities and hotels we stayed in during our Italy trip, this was my favorite. The breakfast was outstanding! I'm still dreaming of the fresh bread and local marmalade. I also loved the supermarket right down the hill! The location is maybe a 30 minute walk from the main part of town, but it was very near the train station. I love the property, grounds, and the fact that it was a little ways away from the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    The quality of everything-food, bed, staff. Gluten free options, pancake machine, great cappuccino and so many more things that made our holiday a great escape in Tuscany. They really think about the customer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the garden are great! The hotel is a little far from the city center (about 40 min walk but it isn't a problem even at evening). Surrounding is beautiful and peaceful. The breakfast is awesome! There is free private parking!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that close from the city center but not a problem at all, as the surrounding is really beautiful

    Awesome breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since room neess some time ti be warmed up, it would have been better if heater was turned on before.

    Apartment looks more like villas. Very spacious and cleanly maintained. Staffs were very friendly and provided very precious information of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful location, very well maintained, friendly caring staff who went above and beyond to insure a great experience. Perfect choice in Tuscany!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have laundry equipment (which is great), and it is also open 24 hours (also great), but it is a little temperamental. The staff were great in helping out with issues, but it might be a problem if they aren't around.

    Everything was good, but the staff was extra special. They went out of their way to be helpful. For me, the location was also great. Close to the train station and close to town, but far enough out to not get lost in the tourist bustle. You should know there are some hills, but it I can handle them at 70, you probably can also. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A smart and beautiful houses design, located at the city but on top of a hill surrounded with wide green fields that give you the feeling you are outside. The house itself has everything you need and is very new, cozy and warm. We loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult to find, but our fault as well as their signage-light approach

    So much to embrace: the ambiance, the friendly & accommodating staff, the great location making old Siena very accessible, the excellent food, the picture postcard grounds. This is a outstanding place to stay on your visit to Siena. We'll be back for a relaxing extended stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good walk into the centre of Sienna(40mins). Mezzanine bedroom gave too little privacy when sharing with others.

    Very comfortable. Excellent shower. Garden and pool were secluded. Good range of breakfast foods. Very good air con.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant at night didn't cater for a gluten free vegan, bathroom was a little small and the sound proofing wasn't brilliant,....but no big problems!

    Loved just hanging out by the pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is one of our favorite places. The staff are probably the best thing, everyone is wonderful and friendly. Breakfast is great and setting brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was not fully equipped. Pool was a bit far from the room and not enough sunbathe beds.

    Very nice facilities, very clean, room was beautifully decorated and confortable, friendly staff, great pool, walking distance to Sienna, easy reach to supermarket. Very convenient coin laundry. Possible to dry your clothes outdoors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Idyllic location and a little haven in an an otherwise busy area. Train station and huge COOP supermarket nearby which sells superb quality food. This is really handy to pop to if you need supplies at Borge Grondaie. The place is very clean, well looked after and very quiet. We had the pool to ourselves on both days with views overlooking Siena. We really didn't want to leave. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of Borgo Grondaie up on a beautiful hill but kind of behind a Coop- store with a bit of a shady road during night- time made us choose a taxi from Siena after our long dinners in the city centre. Very easy to get and costs just below 10€. We didn't ask the staff about the safety and it was probably fine but we still felt better safe than sorry.

    Very friendly and a no- fuzz staff. Breakfast guy was wonderful and made a great espresso. Beautiful place with a nice pool area. Rooms really beautiful as well. A nice walk in to Siena during day-time. Would have liked to stay another night to stay at the place and eat a snack- dinner and try some of the many wines. We gave our nights to Siena which was lovely as well. Could easily go back to this accommodation any time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Washer and dryer were expensive and dryer didn't work well.

    Breakfast was amazing. Decor of the main building was lovely. Our room was clean, comfortable. The grounds and pool were beautiful. The staff was wonderful. Kind, helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful B&B. Clean, spacious and well equipped room. The staff is friendly and glad to help. They helped arrange local wine tasting tours. Breakfast was excellent. Overall wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. However be mindful that the apartment is 20 min walk to Piazza del Campo.

    Very spacious, 2 floor (loft) apartment unit perfect for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. Air conditioning and wifi worked very well. Clean, clear-watered swimming pool. At night enjoyed sitting out having a drink on well maintained grounds/patios. Kitchen permitted meal preparation. 5 mins walk to grocery store and 10 mins to train station and escalator to city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt this hotel and our experience was a fabulous value for the price. I did do laundry 1 day and the dryer takes too long to dry. Other than that, we had an exemplary stay.

    The staff could not have been more helpful. They all went above and beyond. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the grounds were truly lovely. It was nice being just outside the Siena city walls - peaceful to come back to after a day of sight seeing. We took taxi's into Siena but you could walk and many staying there did just that. The staff called cabs for us and they were there in 5 minutes. Cab fare 10 euros. We spent 1 day just lounging by the pool. Beautiful, clean, and quiet. Also enjoyed a dinner at the hotel. It was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel and it's location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was perfect. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, and the garden (including a good size pool) was wonderful. I really enjoyed my stay here a lot, would definitely like to come back someday!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a 30-40 minute walk into Siena and it wasn't the prettiest of walks!

    The staff were really friendly & helpful. The gardens/landscaping around the hotel were lovely & the pool gorgeous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - small rooms - rooms a bit noisy

    - Very friendly staff - Good breakfast - loved the pool area - regarding the location: this very much depends on the preferences: we enjoyed to be a bit outside of the city center in the nature...though it's quite a distance to walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers are cramped Euro-type showers - the rooms would be luxury otherwise. AC didn't work great, but we enjoyed having windows open in May - very comfortable.

    The facility is in a very quiet and enjoyable setting - it is the kind of place to stay in for multiple nights because it is more than just a room - the outdoors and the pool are things to enjoy during the day. Breakfast and food is great, staff is very helpful. We were given good recommendations on restaurants, winery tours, and hiking areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I visited this hotel for first time in 2003 . We felt in love from the first moment . The hotel was and remain to be excellent . I am sure that we will visit it again very so.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, simple dinner available. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Very clean bedroom, lovely bed linen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way stayed only two nights - wish we had stayed longer.

    Spacious farm estate with a great variety of natural and other landscape. Wisteria was beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helpful and even packed us a breakfast for early departure. Clean and well-maintained.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful location, close enough to travel into the old town and far enough away to be in the countryside. The staff were very helpful and the facilities first class.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor comment: proper winter sleep duvet would be nice. It got little bit cold at night. We received wool covers instead.

    Breakfast, very friendly staff, great location, everything!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely one of the best properties that we have ever stayed at in Italy. We reserved an apartment with a larger than normal bedroom and bathroom as well as a kitchen/seating area. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful in securing reservations and booking private drivers. The Coop just down the hill gave us the ability to purchase items for dinner and sit on the patio instead of needing to dine out every night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from downtown. Also the receptionist who worked the second day of my stay was a little condescending towards me.

    They really went the extra mile to make guests happy with extras lie coin laundry, free shower cap and shower shoes, and free seeing kits. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast server was super friendly and ready to make you a deficits cappuccino or omelet. It was also very close to a great market. And the bed was ridiculously comfortable. The grounds were very nice and expansive with good places to sit and read.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise insulation from a floor above. Had to sleep with earplugs. Smell of smoke in the room (chimney) was not very pleasant as well.

    Great staff. Location. Country like style. Breakfast. Big parking. Hypermarket 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very good villa for travelers driving a car because the private parking lot is big and safe. And all the work staff here are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very close so it can be quite noisy around 8am. Quite a walk ton the city center, not through a nice Street.

    It's a very nice place and we'll decorated. Staff are helpful and breakfast is divine!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little further from old city centre than ideal.

    Traditional Tuscan style apartment complex, lots of gardens and olive trees. Plenty of space free parking. Quiet location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think beds in Italy are just hard. Would be nice to have breakfast included. Was over a mile walk to town.

    Staff was awesome! Nice toiletries, and towels. Good shower. Clean. Good breakfast. Laundry facility although we didn't use it, but nice to have.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a perfect spot to stay and explore Siena and surrounds - great staff, rooms were clean, character filled and comfortable. WiFi works very well, heating and water great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near the city train station- we parked there and walked into the city. Great room we also had a balcony my husband enjoyed taking "juliet-style" photos of me on it. Breakfast was large and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have been more clear about the instructions as how to get the the hotel, as it was a very short walk from the train station, but they just told me to get a taxi which wasn't that easy. I ate dinner at the restaurant on night, and found it wasn't very good, especially for the price.

    The location was great and the place was very quite and nice. I hadn't known there was a pool, so that was a bonus. The kitchen was well stocked and the seating area comfortable. They did provide maps and answered any questions I had. I enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked to have been closer to Siena for more dinner options. It is a 45 minute walk to downtown. Luckily we had a car so we could park closer. The parking lots are outside the city walls so you still have 20 minute walk to the city center. There are really no restaurants within walking distance other than their restaurant which has a limited menu. The size of the shower was tiny for such a large apartment. Lastly, it was very cold during our stay and the apartment was chilly. I would have liked to have the heat come on earlier in the evening instead of 8:30 PM. It would be helpful to base the head schedule on the actual weather patterns.

    Borgo Grondaie offers an excellent value for your money, especially for families. Our apartment, Olivi 1, was very large and homey,and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen, dining and living area is on the first floor with the bedroom and bath on a loft on the second floor. The property is lovely with a beautiful pool and terrace. In warmer weather, it would be a great place to relax after a day of site seeing. There is a fully equipped kitchen if you want to cook. Within walking distance is the Coop, which is an Italian supermarket for shopping which was great fun to visit. We bought food for our breakfasts and then ended up making dinner at home 3 nights because of the poor weather. For apartment guests, the breakfast is not included, but it looked very nice. However, there is free coffee all day long for everyone. The property is very quiet and peaceful. It is also a good location if you want to to take day trips to see different sites in Tuscany. The staff were wonderful and gave excellent advice on day trips, routes and places to see in the area. This property is a great place to stay for all types of travelers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clothes dryer is ordinary -2 hrs to dry six items is silly and they were still not quite dry

    Far enough away from the Siena inner city bustle, but close by to all key attractions Lovely family owned hotel that provides exceeding service and care Would stay again in a heart beat Reasonable breakfast offering to please all tastes

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant has a good but very limited dinner menu so when you are very tired but still want a great Tuscan dinner, you need to go into Siena. The breakfasts, however, are excellent.

    Our needs were a nice hotel, close but not in Siena because we were driving and needed to stay outside the walls and with parking. Basically, Siena was a hub for daytrips all over the region. Borgo Grondaie filled all of our requirements. It is in a beautiful setting, our room was great, the staff was most helpful and the location was perfect. When going into Siena for daytime activities, we walked to the train station then took elevators and escalators to Siena. At night, we relied on cabs. When going on daytrips in our car we had a clear path to highways going to Volterra, San Giamiano, Chianti, Montalcino, etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening dining limited to "snack" type meals and no nearby restaurants / trattoria available as an alternative unless guests are prepared to drive, take a taxi, or make a 40 minute walk into Siena (and return). Addition of full dining facilities would lift Borgo Grondaie firmly into the "excellent in all regards" category.

    Staff all excellent; very comfortable bed; buildings and gardens beautiful; breakfasts more than adequate..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard to fault and it suited it us perfectly.

    Ultra clean, comfortable rooms and a stunning location. Incredible attention to detail in a hotel of this standard and at this price. Good range of breakfast options. Excellent service from staff who, without exception, were helpful, attentive and genuinely pleasant. Location was fine for us (able bodied and fairly fit) but could be problematic for anyone with a disability as it's in an elevated position 25 minutes from the old town centre. Overall, extremely good and it was a wrench to leave for home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved staying here although we stayed for just one night! Me and my son enjoyed the pool on a warm sunny morning. The location was nice though not very close to the city centre, which was easy to reach if you have a car. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My rating is based on our research and expectations.... The Borgo was our Siena base from 4th September. Photos accurately reflect the Borgo, it is beautiful and due to its location it feels like being in the country but with Siena on your doorstep. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with its own garden at the top adjacent to the pool area which is a fabulous location (Cypress). Breakfast is wonderful on the terrace and the staff are lovely and welcoming, also very informative and happy to make recommendations and reservations. We booked the opera and a wine tasting tour via reception. Highly recommend and hope to return. Room Tip: we stayed in cypress, this one has its own garden with large dining area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had poor weather so only got to use the pool once . You can hear the noise from the town but then that is to be expected when you are so close to the city. Not a criticism

    This hotel was perfectly located a short walk from Siena. You felt you were in the countryside when in fact you were not. The bedroom was perfect, breakfast was spot on and the pool area was fab. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally could have had a better or closer walk into Siena centre but understand you need this location for the countryside feel too. On the plus side, it is handy for groceries etc as you have to go through the shops! Bring towels for the pool otherwise these are charged at a rate of €2.50 a go. Something like this should be free.

    Wonderful property and grounds. Pool area was lovely and breakfast was fab also. The food in general was to a high standard. All areas were immaculately presented and gardens well tendered.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep in mind that the swimming pool is not heated.

    Room is good size. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is absolutely great with fresh fruits. You do need a car or taxi to go to the tourist sites in Siena.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of mosquitos but this can't be helped in such green surroundings. Go prepared with mosquito plugs etc.

    The location was great, just a short 20 minute walk from the centre of Siena. Coop supermarket less than 5 minute walk, deal for picking up groceries. Staff were incredibly helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The Villa and surroundings were out of this world. beautiful views, peaceful, but close enough to everything that we needed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom was rather dark & could have been updated

    The staff were very friendly & helpful, the gardens & view from the pool beautiful & the food, although not a wide selection was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal.

    Quite location. Just up from a large supermarket. Dining, evening meal, nothing special. Advise eating out. Breakfast, good selection, except cold scrambled eggs, same for he sausage. Good selection of fruits, cereals and you can make your own pancakes. Espresso, cappoachino, coffees good. Rooms well lit, clean and pressed bedding. Think the sheets may have been Egyptian cotton. Pool was lovely and secluded from the hotel up on a hill above the hotel. Reception was very curtious. I left the desk a list of the best vineyards within 30 kilometers of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My one and only complaint: spotty/slow wifi. And in a way, this could be considered a boon, as it would make it easier to unplug on vacation!

    The staff at Borgo Grondaie are standout - each and every one, from the receptionists to the barista, went out of his/her way or make our stay perfect! There had been a technological scheduling error with our reservation; the second they discovered it, the staff communicated the issue as well as a suitable solution (including free breakfast!), which I greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We love the garden and external area, very beautiful. Really helpful and smiley staff. It seems they love their job! Very fluffy and soft towels. Breakfast with plenty of options. Quiet and relaxing place. A bit far from the city but it is a choice. Very good to travel by car to other cities in Toscana. They also have a big pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard rooms could have been a bit bigger.

    Hotel ticked a lot of boxes. Nice garden/grounds where you could take breakfast or a glass of wine. Friendly staff. Reasonable swimming pool. Outside Siena but with relatively easy access to the historical centre. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet service is not the best. It blocks you out every time you close your phone or IPad

    For tranquility & relaxation its fantastic. We had a marvelous 6 day stay & did day trips to sorounding towns in Tuscany. Wine tasting in San Gimignano was the best.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough closet space, the living room adj to the kitchen rather small.

    The staff is very helpful and welcoming, the location is perfect just minute drive from Siena old center. The staff was very helpful with great tips for parking and travel in the area. There is a supermarket near. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, the bedrooms are of a good size and the batrooms as well (2 bathrooms adj to each of the bedrooms). The apartment was located on the ground floor with a spacious sitting area with a view of the garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few more lawn chairs in quiet spots in the shade would be nice. Some are there, just not quite enough to go around on a hot sunny afternoon. We managed fine with location - but if you choose this property be advised that it is not walking distance to Siena piazza (town). Perhaps a hefty jaunt on a cool morning - but for the most part - be prepared for taxi fares to and from.

    Manager that first greeted us upon arrival made all the difference. She set the tone for a memorable short stay. From beginning to end - the long weekend was a wonderful experience. The property is beautiful and well maintained. Pool and lawn areas are perfect. An 'at home' atmosphere all around where you feel like you're enjoying your own place in the country with friends. Not so big that grounds and facilities become overcrowded. Room/apartment furnishings are not high-end but perfectly suited to the personality of the property - with quaint antiques. Kitchen and bath are well-equipped with everything you need. Wanted to stay a month!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't really think of any negatives. I would recommend this place to everyone I know.

    Every member of staff was so pleasant and helpful. The location and general ambience of the place contributed to my wife and I having a fantastic weeks break. Overall a fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not charging for pool towels, beds weren't all too comfortable, furnishings could use updating

    The grounds were beautiful, beautiful pool, a good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lunch available, meant we had to go out everyday as we had a room rather than an apartment.

    The location - near to town but just enough countryside and outside. The pool, saltwater, really the best. Rooms, lovely. Breakfast, superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I spent 4 wonderful days at Borgo Grandaie and enjoyed every minute. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was was great and refreshing on hot afternoons. The breakfast had a good variety of food. I especially enjoyed the outside tables to eat breakfast and dinner. I highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment Double Room + Sofa Bed (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only positive comments

    Very nice and friendly people, pool very nice, everything immaculately maintained - pool, apartment, gardens. Really enjoyed a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner food is average. Eggs were not fluffy but there was plenty of other choices to have a delicious breakfast.

    The stafff is very helpful and friendly. Beautiful location.it is a little too far to walk to the centre of town in the heat of the summer but ,otherwise, well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Borgo Grondaie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: