Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Borgo Scopeto Relais

Strada Comunale 14, 53019 Vagliagli, Italy

#4 of 11 hotels in Vagliagli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice enough but has the potential to be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were so disappointing, cheap decor, lack of furniture, terrible pillows and beds. Lack of any charm. Breakfast could be so much better. The fact that you have to pay to use the Spa Facilities in the hotel you are staying In ?

    Loved the grounds, the views and the Location. The staff were lovely and the Wine was out of this world.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A perfect three days in the Tuscan countryside made better by a fabulous hotel and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unseasonably warm in Tuscany so with the restrictions on cooling set by the Italian government the room was a little stuffy but the hotel staff relocated us to the coolest room in the hotel. It was not a downside for us but you are staying in the countryside so eating options are limited.

    The hotel and its location in the Tuscan countryside are breathtaking. The staff went out of there way to accommodate us, even arranging tours of wineries. They just went that step further than most hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The servis at the hotel was very poor. There is a spa area but we were denied access,the explanation was that it was already full. The internet did not work and we had to report it 3 times before they actually sent somebody to fix it. The place is very nice with nice garden, however the whole experience was very dissapointing.

    Nice garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    peaceful, in a perfect setting overlooking the vineyard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    aircon didn't cool room at all. best to stay on an upper floor and you can keep the windows open.

    peaceful, in a perfect setting overlooking the vineyard and rolling hills. very easy to see Siena and the Chianti region from the hotel. dinners were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location and facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms do not have iron board and the hotel does not provide you with one upon request!!

    Amazing location and facility. Perfect recipe for a relaxed vacation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Stunning place just outside Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relatively noisy room (without the great view) - make sure you don't get a room in the main building above the reception. Overall, attention to detail could be better for the price you pay!

    Property, building, stunning view of Siena and Tuscany!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in stunning and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower over the bath in 919 was not great. But we would be very happy to come back to this hotel and these rooms.

    Beautiful hotel in stunning and quiet location. Everything we wanted from a gorgeous Tuscan building. We certainly hope to return. Our rooms where the standard once, and were fairly small and basic but we did not mind that at all. The kids were in room 918 and we were in 919. Both are twin rooms but very private. The 2 rooms have their own shared front door and downstairs is a lounge just for you. Not that much to do for children but we were all happy to crash and stay by the pool. Stayed for 3 nights and wished we had booked another 3.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    HEAVEN!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air-con was not working properly but during the night the windows were open and that was fine. Room was a bit to dark but generally we spend more time outside.

    The place is totally amazing! Fantastic view, great location, excellet food&wine, friendly staff. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Tranquil and deluxe stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There needed to be an extra towel rail in the bathroom area so my pool towel and bathers could dry in time for my evening swim ( had gone for a swim in the morning), or an area outside .

    Loved the quietness and tranquility around the area, with beatifull views to wake up from my window

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Our best stay in all of Italy!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the best place we stayed during our 11 day trip through Italy. Gregory and the staff were tremendously friendly and helpful. It was everything we could have hoped for in our first visit to Tuscany.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful, romantic place with excellent dinner, amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that a vineyard could have been in the area of estate to enjoy a walking tour and a wine tasting.

    A wonderful, romantic place with excellent dinner, amazing location, two swimming pools. The extra bonus was that we asked for and got a free upgrade to a larger room with a better view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    The amasing staying in delightfull restored borgo!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff in the restaurant is not too pleasant.

    The borgo is fantastic! Delightfull restored relais. Excellent location near Sienna. On a spacious green territory, there are several charming buildings. The rooms are comfortable and very well decorated. Very good heatting system. Well cleanned rooms and common spaces. Quality bedlinen and towels, etc. The dinner in restaurant was very tasty. Amazing staying!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    We stayed an extra night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is magnificent and exceptionally well taken care of all of the staff were extremely helpful The restaurant was five-star service and food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful weekend getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property inside and out. Very nice breakfast. Dinner both nights at the hotel restaurant was delicious. Wonderful staff--Elona at Reception; Mario, Matteo, Oreste and the rest of the food & beverage staff were all fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    If you need a relaxing holiday with a great view ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a luxury room but they sold it . I got an upside to a junior suite but the room was basic and located at the left side , so no view, dark room etc. I asked for a change twice but did not seem possible . This was a real pity . I didn't book for that...

    Very nice place for breakfast and dinner, very good food, very friendly staff, nice view , great swimming pools

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote from any other location and poorly signposted the hotel lacked atmosphere being spread across a wide range of buildings and facilities. Our room 919 was cramped and there was a bad smell of damp at the ground floor entrance. Not sure why it is necessary to charge guests an additional 15 Euros each to use the widely advertised spa facilities particularly as only a cold shower was available.

    Good breakfast and dinner and pleasant helpful staff on reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    The hotel is beautifully located - the grounds and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a bit of a retro feel and the value for money is quite poor - a lot of things could be upgraded, ex. the wifi was patchy. Definitely wouldn't recommend the restaurant for dinner - very pricey, portions small and without any particular taste.

    The hotel is beautifully located - the grounds and the buildings are amazing. The rooms were a decent size, quite ok in terms of design. The breakfast was really good, especially if you can have it on the terrace. The staff extremely nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    peaceful retreat in easy reach of siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lost some nightwear as the room staff were quite enthusiastic in changing the linen and inadvertently took some of our clothing also. This was ultimately located and returned to us

    great selection of food that was fresh and as much as you wanted

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Ideal hotel for a short stay and explore the Chianti region and the city of Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food is good but relatively pricy.... Breakfast is OK, but not that comprehensive The service of the vespa rent company was far below what could be expected!

    The view is great... Ideal place to explore the Chianti region and Siena We liked the tennis courts!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely establishment that definitely worth the drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit remote, but the drive was quite adventurous.

    The environment is amazing. It transformed an old estate into a beautiful hotel. Breakfast was delicious and we felt very comfortable and relaxed during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful setting and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet needing replenishing more often as everything ran out. Staff struggled to cope with the number of guests.

    Stunning setting and lovely hotel. Beautifully located restaurant with views for miles. Restaurant food was good. Service generally friendly but a bit hap-hazard. Felt under-staffed particularly around pool area. Bedrooms spacious but decor dated Italian and a bit sparse.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property in the Tuscan countryside very close to Siena with excellent staff and delicious food. It was easy to relax all day at the pool or take a 10 minute drive to explore Siena. All the meals were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    A beautiful property turned insipid resort
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it's a beatiful property, everything is manicured to the nth degree and the whole experience comes across as quite shiny and insipid. Any heart and soul has been scrubbed away, leaving an underwhelming group of wannabe high-flyers lazing by the pool to have the biggest impact on your stay. If you're looking for relaxed, authentic Tuscan country house, this is not it. Add in the sub-standard restaurant and Borgo Scopeto Relais is teetering more towards a tourist trap resort.

    A lovely property in an outstanding location which feels very secluded but is a nice 20-minute drive to Siena. You can see the facilities are very well cared for and the staff were nice-enough. A few spots on the property boast beautiful views overlooking Siena and the Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.8
    Staff unprofessional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff unfriendly. Junior waiters with no formal training and unprofessional. Five course taster menu very disappointing. In summary staff let the place down.

    Property and rooms finished to a good standard. Beautiful location. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Serenity in Tuscany...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding location, staff and facilities. Beautiful pool area. Delicious and highly varied breakfast buffet choices (try the chocolate croissants). Rooms were clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. Stayed for four nights, could have stayed for four weeks. Cannot recommend enough!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Tuscan adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful place, in a beautiful location. So peaceful with great wine and food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, excellent staff, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our entire stay

    The hotel was in a beautiful location and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    It is close to Siena but also secluded.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a complimentary shuttle to and from Siena.

    It is close to Siena but also secluded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place and views. Relaxing and special - helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rather hard and uncomfortable, shower no bath. Basic bathroom quite rustic

    Lovely staff Tranquil setting very relaxing. Lovely food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice surrounding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit too touristic.

    Wonderful location. Great views. Excellent meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    I will book this again next year for sure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and the property were excellent. The staff is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.3
    Great place to stay for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds

    Great place to stay for a couple of nights. wonderful spa and grounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Perfect for relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for relax

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.5
    Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    Will remember for a long time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant only acceptable !

    Near to Siena Quietness - swiming pools - good parking and grounds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    harp tunes accommpanying the weekend breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    harp tunes accommpanying the weekend breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Best country retreat in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that was not great

    The location is stunning The service is top notch Great lunch and dinner outside

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    What Tuscany is all about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute perfection- we did not want to leave!! Tranquil, understated, elegant. Spectacular views of Siena below.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    A superb place to stay in vast grounds with Siena in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A superb place to stay in vast grounds with Siena in the distance. Really great accommodation,beautiful public areas and external spaces.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.2
    Should have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unbelievable views and facilities!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.8
    The property is very beautiful exclusive and extensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are not spacious or luxurious for the tariff. Facilities and breakfast are quite average not outstanding. One server named Marcelo was rather rude and on complaining did apologise but for such a hotel totally not acceptable.

    The property is very beautiful exclusive and extensive. The staff is very nice and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    The property was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was lovely except the windows were very low and small so we could not enjoy the views. The restaurant was more targetted for large occasions or functions rather than B&B. The wine and drinks were very expensive. Overall it is more suited to large groups and weddings and not very warm or welcoming to couples. For a place that targets tourists from overseas it had no English speaking TV and no satalite TV. For the rates they charge this should be included. It was high end room rates. A nice place but I will not return.

    The property was gorgeous. The staff member that greeted us was very friendly and helpful. Other staff were courteous but very matter of fact.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.1
    Secluded location, ideal place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is expensive and not that impressive.

    Secluded location, ideal place to relax. The complex is spacious and green you can get pleasently lost there.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    The property was beautiful and the staff was very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The property was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel has amazing food and the staff there was great as well!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful setting and loads of space, fantastic air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was very good, excellent even, but a little cramped. Also it's quite a big hotel, so you lose a bit of charm along the way. There were lots of kids staying while we were there so that killed the romance a little, but it was school holidays so it's to be expected.

    Beautiful setting and loads of space, fantastic air conditioning and lovely shower. There are two pools, one of which didn't have any children because it is very deep, and also further away from the main building (so it was perfect for us because we wanted to hide!)

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    the hotel & grounds were absolutely spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was sporadic, difficult to use. but thats not what you are there for...

    the hotel & grounds were absolutely spectacular. restaurant was terrific, and had an outdoor area where you could dine and look at the stars in the Tuscan sky. All the staff were extremely friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    My wife and I stayed at Borgo Scopeto for three nights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was outstanding.

    My wife and I stayed at Borgo Scopeto for three nights during our honeymoon in Tuscany and it was the most incredible hotel I've ever stayed in. The beautiful Tuscan countryside setting is idyllic and the building itself is stunning with beautiful furniture and fantastic architecture. The facilities were brilliant, and we made use of the spa, tennis courts and free bike hire. Staff were excellent, very friendly and knowledgable of the local area and history of the building. I couldn't fault the place.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and very good. The staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.9
    Quietness, food and wine is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to get to on small minor road.

    Quietness, food and wine is great.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    This was a wonderful property, we have told all of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a wonderful property, we have told all of our friends, we hope that we will bring lots of business to Borgo Scopeto

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.2
    Really beautiful, tranquil stay and fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really beautiful, tranquil stay and fantastic staff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and the staff. Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Fantastica location, vista stupenda su Siena e il Chianti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastica location, vista stupenda su Siena e il Chianti. 2 piscine e 2 campi di tennis

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    The setting was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike!

    The setting was amazing. Beautiful countryside which was so peaceful. Wonderful hotel & lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    The location, the staff, the food and the estate, all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to keep the tv on for wifi.

    The location, the staff, the food and the estate, all fantastic! We loved the peacefulness and relaxing atmosphere.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: