Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Borgo Il Melone 4 stars

Loc. Il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52044 Cortona, Italy

#8 of 30 hotels in Cortona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1095 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodations and food were fantastic., but the staff was even better. We asked about events nearby and they not only pointed us in the right direction, but checked back with s to make sure we enjoyed it. They could not have been more pleasant to work with! We are coming back and encourage others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding hotel! Beautiful tuscan setting, the pool is very nice, the rooms are quiet and the bed is very comfortable ! modern bathroom, the staff was very nice..definitely our best stay in Tuscany!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We accidentally rented the small room and it’s very small!! I wouldn’t do that again. The staff was great the pool was great. The negative was there wasn’t really anyone to take drink orders at the pool and if you did get someone it was slow.. The restaurant on the premises for dinner was amazing!! The beef Chianti was delicious!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to change their shower curtain as it is too long and slippery when you step on it. Also perhaps they can provide slippers 😊

    Room is very clean, staff are very friendly and polite, especially Vincenzo! We arrived very late but staff waited for us. Breakfast is excellent and the swimming pool is amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok- normal continental cold buffet with meats and cheeses, pastries, old scrambled eggs. There were a fair number of staff kind of doing stuff in the kitchen prep area that we could see- it would have only taken one person with a frying pan to knock up scrambled eggs or an omelette on demand for guests, which would have transformed service. There was hotel facility for lunch, but a (we understand) separately run café near the hotel pool. The food was pretty mediocre, and menu quite limited (essentially just snacks)- but that didn't stop the bill for 2 adults, a 4-year old and an infant arriving just shy of €50. We were one of only 2 tables (out of about 30 tables in total) occupied during the whole lunch service. Had the food been better/cheaper we would have probably eaten there 2-3 times during our stay, as it is in such a handy position for guests who are spending time at the pool. They maybe took €100 over the whole lunch service, whereas had they been anywhere decent food/service they could have easily taken 10 times that. We had some amazing food in Cortona and Italy during our holiday-this just wasn't one of them.

    Beautiful location in extensive grounds at the foot of the hill, about 10 mins drive from Cortona town. Lovely pool, which we managed with 2 small kids- unsure if the other guests were impressed with us though. On our arrival the staff greeted us straight away, and gave us a tour of the rooms and a brief of the hotel. The rooms we booked was perfect for a family of 4- effectively a 2-bedroom flat, with small lounge area in one room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with a pool bar that serves drinks and lunch/snacks as nowhere to get lunch

    The hotel is typical Tuscan with comfy beds, lovely clean bright rooms and the pool was great to come back to after a day out exploring. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are several entrances to the property but only the one on the main rd is utised so google maps may have trouble locating correct entrance. I put in the address & it led me to sidecst entrance which was closed

    Vincenzo the receptionist had excellent customer service skills. The property was immaculate & I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited and not very good but if you like a light breakfast like me, coffee and fruit is lovely. The restaurant is owned by different management so they are treated separately and occasionally conferences are held in the restaurant which make it quite busy.

    The pool and surrounding area was beautiful, the staff were very helpful especially Vincenzo and the hotel and location overall perfect for a short mini break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved, loved, loved this property. Just minutes away from the walled city of Cortona, the grounds of this hotel are beautiful and comfortable all at once. There’s a restaurant on site where we had the best dinner we had while we were in Italy!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For us personally, the bed was a bit to hard.

    The Staff was very kind and helpful. The appartment in the Hamlet was bigger and nicer than expected. Lovely location with immediate access to Cortona, Lake Trasimeno, Castiglion Fiorentino and Arezzo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were all very friendly and efficient and some spoke very good English. Vincenzo at reception was particularly friendly and offered many helpful suggestions on things to see and do, including arranging a wine tasting for us at a really interesting small family winery in Montalcino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok, but for such level it could be with less packed sweets and with more fresh food.

    The whole complex is very interesting and on great position to continue the Toscana tour with Cortona in the morning. We liked the restaurant, that had good service, excellent meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We heard the noise of our neighbour who was on the phone the person spoke normaly we couldn't sleep before the end of the conversation after midnight. So there is a bad isolation of the sound. This is the only default of the place the rest was perfect.

    Perfect welcome very nice and professional persons and in our language. The room are decorated with taste and offer a warm atmosphere. Its perfectly clean. The breakfast is so delicious and very large salt and sugar. The garden is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to upgrade the Internet connection to make it simpler, and allow more connections. It was not a major thing, but I see that others have complained.

    Beautiful location. Room was perfect (corner on second floor). The staff could not have been nicer - Vincenzo gave us great recommendations (strongly recommend to do the wine tasting trip) - even the cleaners were friendly. We booked a superior room - it was immense, and the bathroom was the best I have seen in years. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place. Breakfast was excellent. Seriously, after the intense tourism of Firenze, this is the place to go to to relax, read a book on the patio with a bottle of wine and listen to the birds sing. Soon the pool will be open, and it will be perfect ( municipal rules determine when it opens).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast and Hotel staff were very accommodating. Accommodation was very warm and clean with picturesque surrounding - highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffe from the mashine at the breakfast buffet was really bad!! Every day the same breakfest.

    It is a really nice Hotel,the staff is super helpfull and kind,the room is also preati. heating is top!Its perfect if you come with car and you would like to discover the surrounding area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place, beautiful surroundings, amazing people, excellent breakfast (including superfoods -chia, seeds etc.🙏) , delicious dinners at the restaurant and great wines selection with highly professional service. Walking distance to Cortona “inside the walls” is aroud20-25 min uphill. Yes you can feel a bit exhausted on the top but it’s worth to see the view and feel all the nature around. It can be your morning workout:) Highly recommend!!! I’ll be back;)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Split level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal could be better, other than that, PERFECT!

    The most charming hotel I have ever stayed at. It was perfectly in-tune with the rustic wineyards and old city center of Cortona. Perfect location for a daytrips in to the heart of Tuscany. Great breakfast, would love to come back in spring to be able to enjoy sitting area outside. Conviently close to the road, yet you do not hear or see the road from the room. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Will be back next year!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were a little hard. It is a little out the way as directly off a main road. Not safe or easy to walk up to the main square because the winding road/hill does not have a pavement. We had a car but taxi's are expensive and around 12-15 Euro for a 5-7 minute ride up to Cortona town where all the fantastic restaurants are. There is a restaurant on-site but we didn't try it. Good base if you're planning to go to Florence or other destinations as the station is nearby.

    Beautiful four-star hotel and grounds, very authentic Tuscan! Nice large, clean rooms. Breakfast was very good with a reasonable selection of hot and colds. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and always on hand if we had any questions. Good value for money when we went especially for Italy. Highly recommended and we wouldn't hesitate staying there again if we return. Overall highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Very welcoming staff who took the time to not only show us our accommodation but provided a little information about its history. Peaceful setting. Comfortable and very clean room, excellent bed, slept very well. Outstanding Italian breakfast buffet. Restaurant on site under separate ownership was also superb with a huge wine selection. Close to Cortona, one of the most beautiful hilltop towns we have ever seen. Would not hesitate to return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called Booking.com about one month before we arrived to advise that we needed to arrive one day earlier. The person I spoke to told me the cost for the extra night would be over 300.00 euros per night. After I complained she dropped the price for that night to 177.50, which is still much higher than what we were paying. Sorry, this is not a good way to build customer relationships.

    The breakfast staff workers were great. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all, we have got excellent offer and we have taken this opportunity. Thanks for hosts a lot. We have got much more then we bargained. Mostly we liked their tavern. Excellent food and service by reasonable price. Very beautiful garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Split level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The park is either small or not fully accessible. The activities offered are via other places, which aren't very close (30+ minutes drive, for example)

    Nice place "on the road", with pretty gardens and lots of parking. Quick check-in and very nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like!

    Excellent place to stay, beautiful grounds and rooms and all very spacious. Staff very accomodating. Good breakfast. Nice restaurant that is separate to the hotel, with good food if a little pricier than driving to other places. You need a car here and there are some beautiful places to visit. I liked booking with booking.com with the free cancellation facility as due to health reasons and Ryanair cancelling flights (luckily not ours) we might not have been able to go.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the facilities are beautiful. The garden of the hotel is maintained every day and is an amazing place to relax or walk around. The pool area is also very nice. The rooms are very clean and authentic for Tuscany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the facilities are beautiful. The garden of the hotel is maintained every day and is an amazing place to relax or walk around. The pool area is also very nice. The rooms are very clean and authentic for Tuscany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the facilities are beautiful. The garden of the hotel is maintained every day and is an amazing place to relax or walk around. The pool area is also very nice. The rooms are very clean and authentic for Tuscany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Split level
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eating facilities on site were limited and there was no bar for drinks. The mattresses and pillows were very uncomfortable. Reception staff were hit and miss. Sometimes fairly friendly but mostly a little cold. I had booked the split level property and on arrival was given a basic room, without any explaination as to why I was in the property I booked. So I went to reception and asked why. They said they had problems with the room but no greater explaination was given. I asked for a room change and was given a more suitable suite.

    The building and its surroundings were beautiful and picturesque, perfect for a romantic getaway. Peaceful and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had trouble finding the location, we got escorted by a man living in Cortona on a scooter, a funny situation indeed, but our car s gps wasn't finding the property.

    The property was well maintained, clean and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The signage in many places telling you what not to do detracts from the beauty of this place. The property is located between two main roads and traffic can be busy.

    The property and buildings are very attractive. The pool is located in a beautiful garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool side service and on arrival we weren't told much about the facilities on offer, you'd have to keep asking, also lack of local information held on site, restaurant was expensive so only went once.

    The grounds of the property were lovely and relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WI-FI was patchy, restaurant didn't open for dinner until 7.30pm, place was initially hard to find as Italian addresses are different from the way they are expressed in Australia.

    This is a beautiful property downhill from Cortona so a convenient home for exploring the region. The swimming pool area was excellent, breakfast was excellent, room was beautiful....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, this place is fantastic

    Everything , this place was awesome, made our time in Cortona so great The pool is great, staff are super friendly and lovely grounds with fruit growing on the trees

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are so thick that wifi and mobile reception not the best in some areas. You need a car to get around as taxis and buses unreliable.

    Beautiful grounds & buildings, fabulous rooms, fabulous staff, fabulous breakfast, fabulous pool, fabulous views. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better lightning at night for entrance to hotel. Can be easily missed.

    Room was very nice, rustic wood beams. Clean modern bathroom. Comfortable bed. Friendly service. Good location, close to Cortona city centre. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are only a few downsides to our stay, you will definately need your own transport to get to and from the hotel, I made the mistake of not having any transport arranged when we arrived from Pisa on the train at the Camucia-Cortona station around 19.30 on the first night, there were no taxis in the car park so we were forced to walk the 2 kilometers to the hotel, this was ok until the pavement ran out around halfway and we had no choice but to walk on the verges and ditches at the side of the road until we reached the hotel, we laughed about it afterwards but it was not great! We used the local taxis twice, that's fine if you have deep pockets but it worked out at 10 euros per kilometer in total which was a bit of a shocker. - 15 euros one way to the station and then 25 euros for a 6.15am transfer to the station. Getting up to the lovely town of Cortona was not that easy either on foot from the hotel, again there is little paved areas so you need your wits about you, the pavement starts on the way up from Cortona Cemetary to the town. There is little evidence that the local drivers pay much heed to speed limits and seem almost surprised to see people walking up the hill so again I could not recommend walking at all, the car is very much 'king'. There is a local bus service but there was no information or timetable we could find to help us schedule trips. When settling the bill we were charged a local tourist tax of 24 euros, it would be really nice if this would go to improving the walking facilities to and from the station! Once at the train station the services are great, we got to Rome, Florence and Pisa really cheaply buying tickets using the Trainline.eu app on the phone, ironically it was cheaper to get to Rome over 120km away than it was to use the local taxis - single off peak to Rome was around 10 Euros! So in summary we can highly reccomend Borgo il Melone but have your own transport.

    We stayed at Borgo il Melone for five nights, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is a set of separated buildings housing the accommodation, our room was a short walk away from reception and after arriving late we were greeted and quickly shown to our room by a helpful member of staff who carried both of our cases to the room. Our room was number 41 on the top floor of a two story building, this deluxe room was very spacious, clean and has a lovely open ceiling with beams and tiles, plenty of space to move around and relax in. The following morning we were treated to a very nice view of the surrounding countryside- see pictures, a real bonus. The buffet style breakfast served from 07.30 in a building below the on-site restaurant was really nice, the staff were attentive and friendly, there were hot food options, cold meats and sweet pastries, our only regret was as we departed early on check out day we could not have breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was excellent along with the surrounding ground. The staff went out of their way to assist you. My cooking class was booked by the staff. The restaurant had wonderful staff and food. Only a short drive to Cortona. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only Negative was that the mattress in our room was quite firm.

    This is a super place to spend a few days as a base to explore the area or chill by the pool. I cannot commend the staff more highly who went over and above excellent service, they really make you feel welcome. Facilities are immaculate and the pool is excellent with plenty of seating around it. It is just a short drive up the hill to Cortona or a €30 taxi there and back:

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be improved.

    The rooms are big and nicely decorated with Tuscany style, the bathroom is big and clean, the wifi is fast, the property also has a very nice pool, with some services on the pool, like drinks and food. A parking on site is available and free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff very friendly. Reception staff booked lunches in town and arranged taxis for my family, which was a great help to us. The Trattoria staff arranged a lunch on another occasion for us out of hours. The service we received was excellent and I look forward to going back. The swimming pool was very well maintained and quite large. Great facility in the warm weather.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quite and beauty of the gardens and the swimming pool. ..

    The front desk staff very much helpful and nice..specially the afternoon shift. ..Vincenzo..was always helping us with a smile. ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great welcome and helpful staff. Huge swimming pool but not at all too noisy or crowded. Nicely quiet. Only a 5 minute drive up the hill to the lovely town of Cortona.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool opened only till 7 pm and WiFi was available only under the condition that you login through your social media or e-mail address. In order to use WiFi you had to accept adding your contact to marketing list. A big minus esspecially for such an expensive hotel that wants to be positioned among luxury hotels. Menu card in a hotel restaurant was very small but it is not a problem if you are there only for few nights.

    Comfortable premium rooms with air conditioning and diversified, as for Italy, breakfast. Pool and pool service were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The mattress is really hard and I could feel the iron springs. They said that the mattress were just replaced however I didn't sleep really well due to this. A mattress topper wil solve the problem. Its a pity that this is not well facilitated because a hotel primary needs to provide a good bed and nice sleeping ambiance.

    Lovely location for a Toscany ambiance and close to Cortona. The swimming pool is nice and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult for those without car as no shuttle bus from station or to Cortona, Pool closed too early...way before sunset, average breakfast

    Pool, Vincenzo!, Quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that I didn't like

    "Borgo" translates to "Village". This is like a small village transformed into a Hotel. The surroundings are beautiful to walk around, old town style buildings in very good shape, well maintained. The rooms are spacious and good size bathroom. There is plenty of parking and he breakfast is very good. It also has an outdoor pool with a good size for families. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They were always willing to help, even several weeks before our stay; they were very quick answering my emails asking about Cortona and things to do. When we arrived we got a very nice welcome. During the stay the made great recommendations for were to eat. We stayed for 3 nights and had a very nice and relaxing time! Would definitively stay again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds are quite hard but that's just a personal preference. Accommodation is generally stunning.

    Beautiful holiday location, immaculate accommodation, wonderful pool and grounds with fruit trees and beautiful buildings. Staff were excellent; a quiet and relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite old sunbeds and wasps at the pool. Rooms are not soundproofed and walls are really thin...

    Nice staff, quiet area. Restaurant with separate bill, but with good food. Little bit dark but quite modern rooms with everything needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a choice of pillows as there was only one each and both very high and hard however this was only a minor complaint

    Pool and gardens excellent. Facilities great. Parking and access to property very good. Access to touring in area very good e.g. Cortona, Arezzo and Lake Trasimeno

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Everything was ideal.

    The excellent location. The hotel located on a huge picturesque estate with a wide variety of plants, trees and beautiful flowers. There is nothing more enjoyable than a morning breakfast in the garden on a sunny morning. The food was very good. But the staff of the hotel incredible. They are all extremally helpful and nice people. I am planning to go backthere next year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattresses were rock hard in both our rooms - and I like firm mattresses but this was even painful for me.

    Nice breakfast buffet from 7:30-10 that included scrambled eggs on top of all the normal italian breakfast choices - croissants, salami, fruit, coffee juices Wonderful outdoor pool with plenty of lounge charirs and wonderful view of Cortona.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfasts could be more varied. As for Mediterranean food, I would expect much more vegetables. Otherwise was very good.

    Borgo il Melone is a perfect place to stay when visiting Tuscany. Staff is very helpful, engaged and friendly. I highly recommend this place for vacation in Tuscany.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free wi-fi was spotty at best, with multiple disconnections and unreliable service. Our room was in a basement (but had an open common backyard with other rooms). The room itself was very dark.

    The pool was magnificent, and the staff very friendly. There is a restaurant (Canta Napoli) very close by which is absolutely a must-go (but you will definitely need reservations!). The room was recently remodeled and very spacious. Parking was a breeze, andthe breakfast each morning was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dissapointing, even if we had a "suite superior". Nothing superior about that:-) The free minbar was nothing else but a few small boxes/bottles of juice, coca cola and water.

    Nice pool area and beautiful surroundings. The restaurant at the hotel was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Getting lunch at the pool was a little harder than it should have been - the poolside waiters were slow and quite unresponsive.

    Very attentive staff (excluding pool side waiters), amazing breakfast, lovely pool, very nice rooms, extremely clean and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sadly we got a room very close to a noisy air conditioning central machine set outside in the yard, so it was not possible to have windows opened due to this noise during day and night. I appreciate we had economy room but still the noise should be minimized as you come to rest and not to be bothered by annoying noise. Also we lack more vegetables (only tomatoes are served) and more variety for breakfast, the food was delicious but every day the same. The parking had little spots in the shadow so we always needed to jump in extremely hot interior of our car, outside temperatures rose to 38 degrees daily.

    We loved the overall atmosphere of this place, historical buildings made from the stone, even an old chapel and all hidden in gardens - flower pots, olive, cypress and fruit trees everywhere around you. The pool area with sunbeds + garden around the pool were nicely designed and offered lovely view to the Cortona walls and church up the hill + enough privacy for the guests. The pool had clean and warm water, free towel service and little shop for refreshments which came really handy - so all in all the pool is a real gem of this property, we spent lot of time there. The room we got was comfy, clean and modern though very small. Breakfasts were quite nice and we especially appreciated the option to eat outside in the greenery every morning. Staff was helpful and always smiling, especially Vincenzo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a 2 bedroom apartment with a lounge room, but we're given 2 adjoining hotel rooms, which meant we had no living area, which was important to us with a toddler.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn't like! Everything was wonderful!

    The spacious room The surroundings The swimming pool The friendly staff that help us all the time Very easy to get to other cities and city seeing Carla was so nice in the morning with the breakfast The welcome when we arrive! Very friendly and attent staff We loved every moment of our stay and would recomend this hotel to everyone's who want to enjoy a relax and luxury holidays The restaurant and its wine and menu, they even booked us a trip to meet a local wine and have a wonderful wine tasting in the afternoon Very near of the beautiful Cortona village where we had dinner every night Price and quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room booked was not room provided. Constant issues from arrival. Reception staff were friendly and helpful but 'manager'who we never saw or spoke to was obstructionist. I would not recommend anyone stay at this property

    This was the worst experience we have ever had. The pool area and grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quit poor, no warm dishes, just toasts and omelette. We had very unpleasant accident: my husband left his sport watches (sport tracker polar, last model, quit expensive) near our sun bad near the pool, it was evening and he'd just forgotten them. Every evening there is a stuff cleaning near the pool. But the next day when we remembered about the watches, nobody told us anything. I asked a lot of time, asked to talk with the stuff. Administrator wasn't really helping, and could do nothing. We are sure that the pool stuff has stolen the watches and lied about it. There were practically no people near the pool that day, so it could be only the stuff. We were very disappointed. And there, of course, are no cameras near the pool! disappointed

    Everything was really nice. The villa and surroundings are very beautiful, parking is great, specious rooms. The place is not far from Cortona, but you should definitely go there by car. But we had a very unpleasent accident.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows made it hard to get in a good nights sleep, the wifi isn't the greatest but that shouldn't deter you from coming here.

    The pool is amazing, it's a great place to chill out in the sun. The property is a five minute drive from Cortona which is well worth seeing, the views are amazing. Rented a car from Florence and drove to the property was a lot easier than I thought, if you're staying here a car is a must...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a deluxe double and when we arrived, we were shown to a very second rate room with a tiny dirty window overlooking something that resembled a rubbish dump and which was a long way away from the main building. Also we had to carry our own bags up 2 flights of stairs. When I complained the receptionist who had shown us to the room asked us to stay where we were and she would see what she could do. She then rang us and said she had found another room for us to look at and so we had to carry our own bags down the stairs again and back to the main reception where she showed us to a lovely deluxe double on the ground floor with two windows and a patio. This was not a good start to our stay there. Also the hotel grounds were untidy and unkempt with paved areas unswept and stoney and it is very close to a busy noisy main road.

    Breakfast was good and our room, once we got the one we booked, was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are comfortable but they could have been a little softer.

    Second time at il Melone and we had a great time. The pool was relaxing at the end of the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to without renting a car. The city center is all the way up, Borgo Melone is all the way at the bottom.

    Stunning grounds. The pool is amazing. Restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is next to a main road. It is not a country side place like you would expect in Toscany. There is no noise insulation between the rooms. You can hear every move your neighbours are making, even in the bathroom next doors.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find, but it was worth the effort. The address given by the hotel in booking, and by Google do not seem to exist. I had three different addresses and none seemed to exist.

    Everything: the room, the swimming pool, the breakfast, the garden and park around, the staff, the bathroom, towels, soap, everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let's say that customer satisfaction is a rocket science to those guys. They are very professional and all, but when it comes to little things and making sure you are happy they really suck. I would recommend to stay elsewhere.

    The place is really beautifull, but the treatment I have received is well off putting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a country of great coffee expertise I dont like machine coffee at breakfast. Wifi system is flawed. Both first world problems.

    Excellent staff, very good restaurant (separate management) on the premises. Great location outside of Cortona if you are travelling in a car. Beautifully restored/created.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the internet connection was extremely challenging and ultimately dismaying. But we think was just the area is in a dead zone

    The grounds were exquisite, the staff was engaging, friendly and helpful. The personal at the restaurant were as delightful as the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel is tasteful and relaxing. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious with coffee just as you like it, Italian style. This hotel is the place to go for a relaxing break and a great base for sight seeing. A home from home in Tuscany. The staff were the most helpful I have ever encountered special thanks to Gloria who pointed us in the right direction on a daily basis!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c and slept with windows open for air and got bitten by mosquitos. Also, limited dining options. The brochure said there was wine tasting etc.... there was not. When I asked about it they seemed confused but it was in the property description. The covers on the bed were a little old and the plug in the bathroom didn't work

    The staff was amazing and the room was VERY clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room to boil hot water and make tea,coffee etc. sometimes like to have in the middle of night as travelling from New Zealand means sleep patterns not always reestablished.

    Room warm facilities clean ,spacious staff excellent , breakfast great selection and easy to access Also liked the access to water and fruit juice in the fridge a lovely touch

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location from Cortona is great if you have a car as it's close and you don't need to worry about dragging luggage inside the city walls! The views were lovely of the city and the buildings wonderful. I got a great deal on top of everything so I'm extremely impressed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Best deal I have ever had ! Wonderful facility, great room, service. 43 euros a night ?! Excellent restaurant right next door. Calm beautiful grounds. I love this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had such a roomy apartment, it was very sparsely furnished. No comfortable chairs downstairs where the tiny tv was situated. The place felt it needed some soft touches and a bit of padding. The shower was dreadful and could not be rectified. Kept running hot and then cold with very little pressure. No pleasure in having a shower at all. In fact washed my hair in the sink! The on site restaurant menu was very much meat orientated, no option for non red meat eaters or vegetarians. However apart from that it was good. Unfortunately the nearest other restaurant (which was very good) was a short drive away. Shame to have always to take the car.

    The "room" was actually an apartment on 2 floors, so loads of space. There was an extra toilet downstairs too. The buildings and the garden were very pleasant and attractive. We felt very relaxed within the complex. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Good location for reaching other places of interest, but only by car.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Borgo Il Melone traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: