Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Borgo San Luigi 4 stars

strada delle cerreta 7 , 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy

#4 of 10 hotels in Monteriggioni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1003 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The architecture, pool, location and the whole look and feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option for vegetarian food, no gym. No iron in the room. Ironing is charged separately

    The architecture, pool, location and the whole look and feel of the place was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely setting and restaurant staff were mostly excellent, reception staff a bit snooty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathrooms were small

    Interconnecting rooms allocated instead of a junior deluxe suite - sold to us as a free upgrade. Was positive as got 2 bathrooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.5
    Such a beautiful place to stay. Rooms, pool, atmosphere, sceneray all absolutely gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dining a little slow. Could use extra mirror in the bedroom vs. bathroom only.

    beautiful facilities and the whole area. Easy to drive to. So pretty and relaxing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Gorgeous location with an amazing pool and we had a great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No oven and rooms were adjoining so we heard everything that went on in next doors bathroom and their conversations. Noise outside hotel was not great. Dogs barking and noisy people.

    Beautiful pool and remote location. Room was big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    amazing place, it's even better in reality than on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    really nothing! amazing place

    amazing place, it's even better in reality than on the pictures. Very quiet hotel on a huge territory. Beautiful restaurant and the pool area. Food was great for breakfast and dinner! We would definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    An absolute gem. Not to be missed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about it!

    The grounds are gorgeous, including vegetation and buildings. Everything is very well maintained. The staff were, to a person, polite and professional while also being relaxed and friendly. We absolutely loved our time here and look forward to returning soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Staff was fantastic and did everything possible to make our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was fantastic and did everything possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Very relaxing visit. Also, hotel’s proximity is close to Siena and Volterra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Great for a few days in order to relax - nice scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service could be better, especially in the restaurant/swimming pool area - more willing to help/smiling more. Not very fluent in English. Nothing else in walking distance (i.e. cafes, restaurants, shops, supermarket etc.)

    Breakfast - both quality and variety. Environment - lots of green and clean areas. Swimming pool. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay, we can't wait to come back in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very old. There is a variety of rooms in different shapes for different purposes. We stayed at the second floor within a suit (3 people).

    The place is remarkable, surrounded by almost a forest. Magnificent !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff was particularly helpful and friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As a solo traveller paying a substantial b and b rate I was disappointed in both the small size of my room and it's being above reception and very noisy as a result.

    The staff was particularly helpful and friendly and the setting was idyllic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful place to rest & relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be a little more cosier as it gave a cold feeling. Lack of rugs and the coffee & tea facilities were hidden in a cupboard. It should be put in a more reachable or more open space for easy access.

    Loved the surroundings & most of the staff was really helpful except for only 1 maybe senior staff that was being awkward & eating in front of the guests while the guests were also having their dinner & breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    By the pictures and reviews the hotel seemed exceptional,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extreme humidity in the bathroom and overly in the room, even the conditioner set to heating regime couldn’t help. Even the clothes that stayed in suitcases in the room became humid.. Don’t stay for a dinner there, not good at all, the food isn’t as tasty as anywhere else in the Italy, gnocchi seemed to be made from the frozen semi-finished products and the worst ever tiramisu with non corresponding ingredients. In 30 minutes drive you can get super tasty dinner in say, Siena.

    By the pictures and reviews the hotel seemed exceptional, yet it was not so or simply didn’t suit our needs. We were two friends traveling from Rome to Firenze and decided to stop for a quiet rest in the middle of Tuscany. Overall not bad, but at first we got a room with transparent shower and common bed yet beforehand we requested and were responded that two separate beds can be ensured. Nonetheless, upon our additional request on the spot the room was changed to an appropriate one. The hotel suits elderly couples who are used to very conservative and classy service. For us in our early 30s the hotel seamed rather outdated. The pool though is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    We were generously upgraded to a suite which was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were generously upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Large Ultra modern bathroom that had newly been renovated. Quality linens and comfortable bed. Very spacious patio with outdoor seating to soak up the sun and ambiance. spotlessly clean. Good buffet breakfast. Overlooking the pool. Lush park like grounds. Very friendly staff with excellent English we were made to feel very welcome for our last night in italy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful nature and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite outdated - it is partly the style, but would expect more comfort from a 4-star hotel room. Particularly the shower over the bath was unusable - there is no screen in front of the shower nor a shower curtain, thus the water is everywhere after the shower.

    Beautiful nature and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Most enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daily cleaning was rushed and not at the same standard as the rest of the hotel. The heating was turned off even tho it was still cold.

    Terrace outside room and excellent restaurant and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting in the countryside, beautiful garden &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit outdated and would need to be refreshed (shower, hair dryer) I felt this area was more suitable for bigger groups and for events than for independant travellers.

    Beautiful setting in the countryside, beautiful garden & pool, very big room and nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A real Tuscan gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Beautiful location with easy access to historic towns and the Chianti countryside. Staff are superb providing a warm welcome and outstanding service. Exceeds expectations in every way. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    It’s a very beautiful place with comfortable and large room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was not cooling properly, shower temperature varies too much, switch from cold to hot very so often.

    It’s a very beautiful place with comfortable and large room and a delicious breakfast with several options. Location was very nice to drive to another Tuscany’s cities. I would like to come back soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    I loved not being in the inner city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved not being in the inner city. I wanted a feeling of Italy uncluttered and I found it in this beautiful peaceful villa. The food was absolutely delicious and everyone was courteous and helpful. I would definitely go back again!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    We so enjoyed everything about our stay except how brief it was. (2 days)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron and had to notify staff a day in advance to have a shirt ironed, or beg and hope they would help, which fortunately they did so we didn’t look like ragamuffins at the wedding we were attending.

    Gorgeous landscaping, very accommodating staff, excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location but hotel not totally convincing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room. Took the better room but still very small to extent I could not fully open the wardrobe. Also air heating system makes a small room too dry.

    location, location and again location. Beautiful swimming pool (too cold to use it but defitely a plus).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    This place it’s magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave so soon!

    I was celebrating my birthday and the staff made my stay an amazing experience. The front desk and the bar staff were awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely country estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was outdated and some of the facilities looked like they needed a refresh. To be fair, it was off-season, so this could have been the reason.

    The grounds and the buildings are beautiful, plenty of space. The room was big and the bed was comfortable. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    It was just perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was just perfect . Beautiful rooms . Top class facilities and the staff were brilliant . Such a beautiful place and the location is amazing too . Close enough to explore north and south areas of Tuscany .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Great. Large resort-style accommodation in the heart of Tuscany but still feels rustic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, needed a new nozzle. The room had a kitchenette but it wasn't working so we couldn't "self cater". Not sure if they were just doing maintenance over the winter..

    Set on a secluded property, the whole experience was very relaxed and the place was well set up. Very helpful staff, many spoke English which was appreciated. We were given a free upgrade to a spacious room. Comfortable bed, good WiFi, great breakfast. Onsite restaurant was very good. It was a perfect place to base to explore Tuscany, including Florence. Definitely need a car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    I like surrounding area, wifi was good trought the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trought the whole stay we were freezing, especially first night of our stay, our room didnt match the room on the picture that we reserved, breakfast is little poor for the four star hotel...dont go to this hotel in the winter, especially with the babies 👎

    I like surrounding area, wifi was good trought the whole object, the staff was polited, location is great for explore tuscany

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left early on day 2 for the train station and Florence. We had arrived the evening before and our car parked elsewhere. When trying to leave before 7am the next morning, there was no one at reception to say where the car was and when we called the emergency number, someone answered but did not respond when we spoke. We had to ask the only member of staff we could find, a kitchen waiter. We were then late for the train we had planned to catch. The next one was over an hour later. But that was the only issue and we dealt with it. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Most spoke excellent English. All were happy to help. The hotel and grounds were stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Everything you'd expect from Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't be tempted to drive to the coast for a day at the seaside (about 2 hours). Although the drive through the Tuscany mountains is fantastic, the coast is typically overcrowded, commercial and grubby. Stay inland. You'll love it.

    We really didn't know what to expect of the place as effectively it's a series of small apartments in a large complex of old charming buildings, once a large private country estate. I can now say it is excellent. The longer we stayed, the more comfortable we felt. The staff remember you, which is a nice touch and the restaurants provide good food and choice. The service is really good with the odd trainee who struggles a little. The Bar and Swimming pool area provide relaxing meeting and eating with other guests and the extensive landscaped grounds are peaceful and well kept. Most rooms seem to have a balcony or terrace with furniture and are very comfortable. All in all, it's an excellent place to stay deep in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. We would certainly return. Perfect for visits to Siena and surrounding Tuscany. This is Italy at its best and hard to find better, though difficult without a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Victoria Z.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are extremely pleased with our stay at the hotel. The place and setting were fabulous. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great, too. The staff was very kind and polite. We will come again and stay longer for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    Outstanding staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic room is good, but our bathroom was very small.

    Staff was extremely helpful and kind. Always smiling. Outstanding landscape. Dont miss the opportunity to visit Banfi winery, the reception can book it for you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Service here is exquisite, each staff member is keen to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service here is exquisite, each staff member is keen to make you feel yourself at home. Breakfast is lavish and waiter is there for you as well. There's green and beauty everywhere you look, making you feel peaceful and happy. You can taste great dishes at the restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Borgo San Luigi is like a dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Borgo San Luigi is like a dream! The atmosphere of the hotel is just great! old stone buildings, big garden surrounded by cypress trees! the guy at the reception was so helpful and friendly! I had a dinner at their rest. and it was also pretty delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    Very far from my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating managed only a lukewarm temperature, we had to spend the all evening asking staff to check, to bring a fan heater that never worked and extra blankets, we had to climb a tiny wooden stair to reach bed, bending our back to not to hit our head all the times, the hotel is at the end of a long dusty street and the parking is too dark and isolated, one more thing, none of staff cared to ask if we managed to warm up the room!

    I've loved the lovely area around, the delicious breakfast, the free upgrade we did get for the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location with very friendly and helpful staff. Minor issue with room facilities (shower)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was partly broken and not fully repaired during our 3 night stay although requested.

    Amazing location and surrounding, Phantastic hotel and setting; Very friendly and supportive staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Lovely quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated. Not good service. Need a car. The shuttle bus and activities advertised are not available. Average (and expensive) food.

    Lovely quiet location. Nice gardens and pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, excellent staff, brilliant layout of sun beds around the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities, even though there was a mini kitchen. Evening buffet was limited but a la carte was good.

    The layout of the hotel and rooms in the country setting was fantastic. The pool was excellent and there were plenty of sun beds scattered around. You could either lay around the pool or on the grass under the trees, perfect for everyone. Great for families, with pool, tennis and football; but not too noisey. Couples could still relax without any disturbances. The location was excellent for exploring and wine tasting but equally relaxing for a chilled out break. Breakfast was excellent, especially the juicer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Various buildings in Tuscany style located in a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Few kilometers to the resort are unpaved and can become very dusty at dry weather conditions.

    Various buildings in Tuscany style located in a large beautiful and wellkept garden with a big swimmingpool . Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are served outside or inside depending on weather conditions. Friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    It is a beautiful property that lacks a welcoming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property but not terribly welcoming

    It is a beautiful property that lacks a welcoming atmosphere. The staff were generally officious rather than efficient. Jacamo was the exception, he was kind and answered many of our questions with patience and a smile. We were disappointed with Junior Suite that we ended up in, after having to move from a nice delux room because the air conditioning stopped working on our first night. Having them moved to a very lie grade 'Standard room we were 'upgraded' to a Junior suite- inferior yo out original deluxe double. We were really disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great family friendly location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to unwind and relax with family and friends. Particularly great staff, friendly and caring. Big parking area, nice swimming pool, good breakfast, free wifi all over the property, good accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and helpful staff who went out of their way to assist. Overall a great ambience.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in the room could have been colder. An ice machine close to rooms. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been good.

    The breakfast had a very good selection and catered for all tastes. Enjoyed playing tennis on the clay court.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    I can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't too keen on the food served for lunch, not alot of Italian choices, didn't get the same experience when being served for the sit down lunch, the staff didn't seem to be as polite.

    The staff were very friendly especially the reception, breakfast was amazing!! Could always get a sun bed! Beautiful place to stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Most memorable stay in Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The key was missing to the safety deposit box for our room, as it didn't get returned by previous guests and the hotel did not have any extra ones for us to use. They did immediately offer us the ability to store our valuables in the hotel safe which we did, this ended up working out the same so it really wasn't a problem, as they resolved it on the spot.

    The hotel room was a nice size and very comfortable. The hotel grounds are stunning, relaxing and so beautiful. The outdoor pool was enormous and extremely clean and refreshing. The restaurant for lunch and dinners were amazing. Most importantly, the entire staff went out of their way to provide the highest level of customer service in all areas. I would highly recommend to anyone and I plan to return again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    One word...paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible place. Clean and quiet. Extremely comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Large pool. All staff were friendly and professional. Paradise! Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Relax and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is well located. Loved the pool area and that there is a restaurant on site. Once you check in there is no need to leave ... you can just relax and enjoy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would have loved to have stayed longer. Recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the old building and the bathroom was very small...a bit difficult for my 6'4 boyfriend!

    Beautiful surroundings, extremely attentive staff, lovely food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property + 2 broke ribs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I broke two ribs on the tub as the bottom of the tub/shower was so slippery. The bottom of the tub dipped down and I slipped on it and could not keep myself from falling as the 1/2 glass door was not fixed and swung out. The room could have been updated. The bedroom was upstairs with steep stairs and we both hit our heads on the slanted ceiling.

    The property was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly, the room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dogs shouldn't be allowed to walk freely in the common areas. It was very unpleasant having breakfast with dogs walking by freely. Other than that the shower could be better. The water always ran out of the glass wetting part of the bathroom floor.

    The staff was very friendly, the room was nice. And the pool was excellent, very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    The service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some to "salesy" around the pool, the team wanted to sell from the bar to much...

    The service was excellent. For example we got in trouble with our car, and we had fantastic help from the staff (sorry, I didn´t ask for your name, if I had it, I had published it here).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    The setting was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was pokey, dated and poorly maintained. The toilet roll holder was attached to the wall by a single thread. The release mechanism did not work and the old roll could not be replaced. The shower head could not be adjusted; it just slipped down and the head pointed down. We learnt how to coax it into staying in a reasonably usable position. We had to ask for a bath mat and there was no grip on the bath itself and the soft water made it very slippy. It's literature describes it as an exclusive venue and the price certainly meets that description. However. we found that we were sharing it with convention of motor caravan sales people. Finally some clients were allowed to bring their yappy dogs into the areas surrounding the swimming pool and even the restaurant - so good if you love dogs

    The setting was excellent. The shared facilities including the restaurant were round a decent sized pool. The bar staff travelled to and form taking orders for drinks from clients around the pool and settled on loungers on the grassy slopes leading down to the pool. Here some beautiful trees gave shade to those who wanted / needed it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful breakfast in a beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tennis court could have done with a little refurbishment, but hey, it was free to play!

    The breakfast on offer was absolutely incredible. The staff were always happy to help with any issue. Also it was great to have complimentary use of the tennis courts and swimming pool. The room was very clean and had a lovely style too it, in keeping with the classic styling of the whole hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    A few minor issues but overall a great property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner at the hotel restaurant is not very good. The beds are sunken in the middle and the kitchenette area had no power. One of the maintenance people promised to come back and fix the power the next day but never did.

    The property was beautiful and the staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu could be better, but everyone tried to accommodate us

    The location, the room and the staff was great and meet our expectations. I will definitely come back and will recommend this location to Friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony was alive with red bugs and cushions on seating were dirty.

    Staff were amazing, food delicious, in fact I cannot overstate the quality of the food, both breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    A trip in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very outdated with weird setup .... a lot more is expected.

    The sourroundings of the hotel are very nice and the staff try hard to please.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay, if you want to have a bit of nature around you. Very nice rooms, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In contrast of nicely furnished room, bathroom was horrible for us. Small without working ventilation, and shower was hidden by that "plastic wrap".

    Great accommodation in room with style, room was very large. Staff in hotel restaurant was just amazing. Food was delicious, i recommend to have open bar for dinner. They upgraded our room to Junior suite for free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Monteriggioni's hidden GEM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked Borgo San Luigi by a coincidence - we planned to go from Chianti to Cinque Terre and stay somewhere around for a night but the weather on the coast has been terrible in online weather. So we search through the booking.com and we found out this gem. It's AN AMAZING place to stay. We simply shocked how beautiful it is. The place itself is on the beaten track, hidden from all noise and crowds. It has all green area, peaacefull and quiet. We think that the pictures on booking.com are not giving the full beauty of this place. We came to it after 20:00 and first thing we noticed is how nicely it is illuminated. Then at the reception we were warmly welcomed by a real gentleman. He took our passports and asked us if we would like somebody to pick our luggage from the car and to take it our room - how cool is that :) Service is on a very high level. We received room 33 in a small stone house behind the reception. Very clean, very warm and very spacious room. Nice bathroom, cozy living room and gorgeous bedroom with one of the best bed that we slept on in our lives. In the bedroom we also had a small fridge with some beverages and snacks - a very nice addition especially if you came with the bottle of wine bought on the way to this place :) One small detail that was missing is that there no glasses for water anywhere at sight however we didn't search in all cupboards - so it might be a tiny thing to improve. After unpacking we went on a walk to see how is the area looking. Everything looks like from a fairytale and make you feel so realxed and peaceful. It's a pity that the temperature was not high as we couldn't use the cool looking pool. Then we went for a dinner which was placed in a dinning area next to pool. The place is divided into two sections - on the left you can eat and on the right you can chill on cozy sofas and chairs and there is also a big fireplace which adds the charm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Good place if you want to disconnect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was dark and worn, too little natural light, no carpet on the floors (we had to ask for slippers), we had ants in the bathroom. WiFi was weak and cellular only one or two line if not at all.

    Very nice location and quite. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Tomas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room certainly was not deluxe. She was usually stylish and does not deserve the title deluxe. Meenijev little choice at dinner and small portions.

    I liked the location and ambience. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Just wonderful!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, very personalized! I had to follow a very specific diet because of pregnancy and everything was adjusted by the staff accordingly. Actually they made sure that all my needs were met from food to comfort, room facilities etc. The hotel was beautiful and very clean, pet friendly and with an excellent restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Gorgeous property with top service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was good but for the prices charged it should have been excellent​.

    Everything. The staff was amazing, very accommodating with the kids, just top service. The property was gorgeous, set in a beautiful peaceful piece of land and only 30 min drive to San Gimignano or Siena. We felt very relaxed there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Vacation spot for great relax and Tuscany visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced restaurant for dinner.

    Beautiful place for family with children! Nicely situated for the discovery of Tuscany! Staff is very nice and helpful !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding garden, pool area, surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite "old and tired",there were cracks on the walls and the decoration was "heavy". Needs renovation and painting. Nevertheless, it was spotlessly clean, with a great bed and fully renovated and modern bathroom.

    Outstanding garden, pool area, surroundings. Very friendly staff. Extra large and comfortable bed. Great breakfast with good quality products and variety. Renovated, modern bathroom. Value for money price. Convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful property, stunning blue pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, stunning blue pool! The room was big and clean. Very nice breakfast, staff very friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place! The area of the hotel is huge and perfectly maintained, no better place to relax. Staff is extremely polite and professional, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Stunning rural retreat
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fabulous place to unwind and enjoy the stunning decor and hospitality ... and they were brilliant with our dog too! It's also on the Via Francigena - so great long distance walking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Stay At Borgo San Luigi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower doors were interesting, even for Europe. We felt like a water got out.

    Everything here was fantastic. The staff was so, so friendly. The amenities had character but were up-to-date and romantic. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. The restaurant staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. The food was an easy five star. Make sure to get the chocolate cake! It will change your world.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely off-season getaway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was that the bed was a small double/matrimoniale (full size American) and we prefer larger beds.

    The location and facilities were beautiful and very well maintained. We ate in the restarant and had a delicious dinner. Breakfast was also good. The staff were very friendly. Easy drive to a number of local sites (San Gimignano and Siena). Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - wifi reception was poor in our room. first floor, little reception, upstairs no reception at all. also no GSM reception in the hotel. wifi needs to be improved I think. - I know it's silly but, after dinner, we forgot which room was ours as we also checked in late. everywhere was dark and there were no room numbers on the doors. I think it would be better if they have put numbers on the rooms :)

    + I'm a really obsessive person about the hotel staff and don't get satisfied easily, but San Luigi's staff were just great! + Perfect garden, definitely better than photos. Very relaxing. Unfortunately couldn't enjoy it much because of the rainy weather.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    4.6
    Big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a mistake - cold coffee, cold eggs, bad quality of everything, it seems like we were at one star hotel. When we arrived to the hotel, there was some "gala dinner" with music, which we didn't want to participate, but we couldn't order anything from the menu. We didn't get a choice - although we are vegetarians, we were supposed to eat t-bone steak. We had a kitchen at our room, but there were no plates, knives etc. Terraces are to close to each other, there is no intimacy, we were sitting with our neighbours all the time, listening to what they are saying and doing. I wanted to wash my silk dress, but the staff told me that it's impossible to make dry cleaning during the weekend. Taking everything into account, this hotel is a nightmare, I do not recommend it to anyone.

    Huge garden close to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Meny was a bit overworked, not the traditional Tuscan...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meny was a bit overworked, not the traditional Tuscan kitchen that we expected. Bbq evening for €35 was not fullt worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic pool and restaurant bar. Rooms were very large, excellent bathrooms, very attentive staff and delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    OVERPRICED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BROKEN PLUGS AND DARK BATHROOM

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    A real hide away and hidden paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit cold and dark, service staff polite but not trained

    The landscape, trees, garden, terrace, pool and views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    beautiful estate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful estate! Very green and well maintained. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds, very peaceful and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds, very peaceful and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: