Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Borromeo 3 stars

Via Cavour 117, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#487 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 818 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room's conditions, neglected (broken tents and walls), poor bathroom optionals, room's bad acoustic isolation, uncomfrtable air conditioning, scarce breakfast, burnt-taste coffee. price too high for such a hotel.

    position quite near the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Breakfast was good, but not rich - we had to wait for certain products to be filled in - cheese, bread, salami etc. - Our room faced the street and we could not keep the window open due to noise. While the windows have double-closures and they greatly reduce this noise, traffic sounds still came through

    They allowed us an early check-in which was great. Location is cool - next to Termini (wherefrom we took the bus to the airport), as well as a walking distance to the major places in the center. When booking a hotel for Rome, bear in mind that you will probably be out all day and will only return to have a good shower and sleep at night, hardly having any spare time to enjoy any services or amenities. I also liked that we received what we expected for the price we paid - nothing special, but good enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is quite essential, there is everything you need, but quite normal Room was clean, but when I had to take something that fell down under the bedside table, I saw that down there it was not clean at all. I'm not saying that every time you should clean below the bedside table, but it seemed it was not done since a long period. Bathroom was ok, but water mixers of the shower and the sink were quite old and should have been better cleaned (they were basically splashing water around)

    Very well positioned close to the Termini station (walking distance, not with big luggages) Nice staff Open until late (I was very for a wedding and I arrived quite late in the evening, and I did not even had to ring the bell)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy, though my room was on the Ground Floor so I had a lot of foot traffic.

    All you needed when staying in Rome. You’re never in your room! Very basic, but wonderful breakfast, wonderful location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was on main road so there was some noise from the traders/cars throughout the night. It was a Sat night to totally expected and didn’t take away from our stay.

    Location very near Rome Termini ( short taxi ride but could walk- we had kids though) and easy walk to Colosseum! Clean hotel. Basic hotel rooms but we’re fine for 1 night we were there. Really good breakfast on the rooftop- hot options and lots of cold options available!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating. We booked last minute due to flight changes and they were very helpful. The bed was quite stiff - but after a day of travel and standing we needed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for what you get. Hairdryer was useless. I’d definitely recommend traveling with your own if you require to. But all in all it was a nice stay.

    Friendly staff - the grounds keeper that helps with cleaning or fixing etc was so very lovely. Breakfast was yum. Rooms are quite nice but need a little upgrading. Water pressure was good. Bed comfortable. Wifi works well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked through booking a double bedroom but we specified we needed a spare bed for our five-years old kid. When we arrived to the hotel they informed us that if we wanted the extra bed we had to pay 30euros extra per night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private terrace wasn't part of the room. It was located on the other side of main hall. Walls are very thin.. You hear neighbours very well:)

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was a bit tired. The mattresses are obviously old and could do with a change. We asked for a double which turned out to be two singles pushed together but one mattress/bed was higher than the other. This made it a bit uncomfortable along with the old mattress. Bathroom: The hook for the shower was broken but as it was a low hook it was quite dangerous for my little one when in the bath. I was afraid she would try and grab it and it would definitely be sore or cut her hand open! The shower didn’t have a high hook to sit on - so it was baths all the way (or hold the shower in one hand whilst rinsing your hair). Baths weren’t too bad after all the walking you do in Rome! But a quick showers couldn’t be had. The bath drained slowly and if you pulled the plug out completely the bathroom would flood with water via a drain near the toilet. Cosmetic: The curtains and bedding had holes in them - they just need to update a few things - all cosmetic really! Sleeping with the window open can be noisy as the room gets very hot and there wasn’t any air con in the room. (We had a standard room). Nothing you couldn’t deal with! Breakfast: The breakfast was a bit shabby. Although bacon, eggs and sausages were advertised on their website. It was always scrambled eggs and chopped up bacon bits. It would’ve been nice to have been able to order a poached or fried egg for instance. Lots of selection of cakes though! The juice was a strange watery mix.

    The reception staff and cleaners were very friendly and excellent at their jobs. Every morning at 6am I came down to the lobby to get hot water for my baby’s bottle, whoever was at reception was more than happy to help. The internet went down and immediately a technician was sent for and sorted it. They printed off a ticket for me, ordered me a taxi and helped with the buggy and baggage! Really great staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't the most comfortable, and the triple room felt a bit cramped.

    Helpful staff, and a free upgrade to room with a terrace which was very nice to have. Only a 10 min walk to the Coloseum and 10 minute walk to the station. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sound insulation is not the best, but if you are ready for this - it will only add charm. I'm not sure that this can be considered a disadvantage :).

    Lovely hotel. We did not expect something outrageous. And that's why they got a lot of pleasure. Many thanks to the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast were really yummy. The staff GiGi is really nice. He took a map show us the way to the interest points when he knew we were first time in Rome. He gave us a lot of information about eating, public transit, reminder us to book museum tickets online ahead of time to avoid long line up. He gave my kids a lot of chocolates because kids may need it when museum cafeteria has a long waiting time. He lent us a umbrella because he said that day will rain. He is a perfect staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi signal was very, very poor. Barely good enough to browse the internet. We stayed on the third floor and there was a lot of noise from the the kitchen, coming through the walls and door. No sound filtering capacity - you can hear everything outside the room. Breakfast was OK for us, but lacking variety. We could only eat it once, and then we went outside. Less pretentious people may be fine with it for a few days though. Room was quite small, although you wouldn't need much space when visiting a city for a few days.

    Location is great, you can walk very quickly in the central area to visit pretty much all the important stuff. Room was clean, temperature was comfortable, shower in excellent conditions, warm water as expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked coffee in the room but we know that's a bit of a luxury!

    Excellent briefing on arrival. Superb location for the main sites. Really easy walk from the main train station and loads of good restaurants just round the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit overheated and the controls didn’t seem to work properly. The bin in the bathroom wasn’t emptied on one day (though it was on all others).

    Staff were very friendly. And we very much enjoyed the breakfast, especially the cereals and the coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to hold the shower head instead of it being attached to the wall and was a little noisy from the metro underneath the hotel every 5 mins

    The location was great and the staff were fantastic, couldn't of been more helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Excellent location, just a few minutes walk from central station and the metro. Rooms were clean and tidy, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has quite good location, but the rooms are to small. Breakfasts leave a lot to be desired

    Location is not far from Termini and Colosseum. The staff is friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the front desk was not friendly. I walked into the hotel and he simply stared at me until I told him I had a reservation. Upon checkout, I waited for a thank you or similar closing remark...none was offered.

    I enjoyed the breakfast provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The repeated breakfast 😩. A bit of variety would have been wonderful. We initially got the family room downstairs on the first night and it was not very good at all. Had a chat to the front desk and we were moved to the first floor to better rooms

    The location was the absolute best. We were within walking distance to Termini Station, the Colosseum, Trevi, Pantheon and all the other surrounding sights. Busses were frequent down Via Covour and there are plenty of restaurants along the way

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room is small so we had to wait on a table at times.

    Reception staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the city. Location good, walking distance to coliseum and to the Metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old lady who is responsible for breakfast (staff), was mean, always looked at our table. It looked like she is counting what are we eating and how much... she started complaining in italian language, which we do not understand, that we are having to much food on the table...

    The Albert from reseption was very kind and helpful!!! Thanks a lot!!!! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room was a bit small, but this is common for single rooms..

    Basically, everything was great. Special thanks to the staff, who are doing their job really well!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1- Old, worn-out facility. (It was not smelly, so it was not that bad). Black mold in bathroom. 2- Not especially clean. 3- Small rooms, common areas In general, it was not a super great hotel, but almost acceptable considering its central location and good price.

    1- Price Rome city center is an expensive place to stay, so with the relatively cheap rate, I would expect to have a basic facility and it was the case. 2- Location It was central. 3- Relatively rich breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Bathroom was disaster, shower cabin was with curtains because door was brooken. Toilet flush brooken. Room AC didnt work. Instead double bed was two single beds joint together. Breakfast - milk two days in the row was bad.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    poor breakfast; there are no vegetables, nothing! all TV channels are local .... In room 205 the bathtub is clogged, the refrigerator does not work; lots of money for a minimal comfort .... city taxes 4 euro / person / day but public toilets do not exist

    the hotel is close to the Coliseum,Santa Maria Magiore and Termini train station; great efforts are being made to clean but not always good; very good wifi; friendly employees;

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were too warm.

    Excellent services provided. We enjoyed our visit to Rome. The staff was very kind, helpful and polite. Huge respect to the lady, who is involved in the breakfast organization. Great breakfast. It gives the opportunity for storage location after the checkout, which help us a lot since the flight was on the evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our arrival, they said that our room is still occupied, so we either had to stay in one of their other hotels which was completely in different location or we can stay in this hotel, but in very small room, which is more suitable for one person. So we decided to go for one night to their other hotel, however it was not that good as that one and very cold. Otherwise I would score this hotel as very good, but because of this experience I can’t.

    The hotel was clean and in very good location. Staff members also very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sound isolation in room is bad, breakfast is just ok

    Great location - in walking distance from Termini, city center and metro, good restaurants are very close, overall cleanliness, bonus terrace on last floor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small with little storage space. Breakfast was basic, limited hot food.

    Clean bedrooms. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to all places of interest and to the Termini Railway station. We walked even to Vatican on foot. The metro staion in 5 mitues walk. Good breakfast. Good wi-fi. Classic Rome design.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little bit bigger but that's your choice you expect in Rome

    Very nice hotel room was lovely but a little bit small I can't complain because the price was great only about half a mile to the Coliseum and real close to the train station try the gelato on the corner it's amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Great location, in the heart of Rome, the hotel premises, the cleanness and nice staff. EXCELLENT breakfast!!!! We highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything me and my mom.

    The staff and location. Really high service level. Did arrange late pick up from airport, informed about what to see and where to take care. Possible with gluten free and lactose free brunch. Nice view and got our own little private rooftop terasse. Excellent!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place especially after a long flight . location was perfect not to far from and close to Monti area of Rome and coliseum staff were super friendly.Not difficult to find a short walk from train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap in bathroom dripped in bathroom constantly and toilet roll holder broken but that's all.

    Excellent service, very friendly. Welcome drink on arrival. Offered to store our luggage on last day. Bedroom standard (stayed with in family room). Really comfy beds, fantastic shower! Air conditioning which we really needed. Breakfast is good, perfectly adequate. Great location for Colosseum and surrounding area.Good wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No great restaurants in immediate vicinity. Very small bar in hotel beside reception.

    Gigi was a fantastic help on the reception. Great location for Colloseum and train. Family room was ideal for one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly. A good selection of breakfast. Clean room. A great bathroom. Good location. Lots of restaurants, cafe's, supermarkets around so easy to find something to eat at all times. 10-15 min walk to the Colosseum. Near Cavour metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the facilities were clean and very well maintained. The breakfast was plentiful with many food selections on the buffet. And the outdoor balcony seating was an excellent surprise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night of our stay were we're given room 210. WARNING!!!!!!! Do not stay in room 210!!! The power went out only in our room. We got the room at 2:00pm and stay in the room for two hours. Left the room came back maybe at 11:00pm or 12:00am wasn't in the room for even 45 minutes and the room went dark no lights no A/C nothing. The worker on shift tried to help the best he could but couldn't. Call booking.com and they weren't much help either. 4 of us stayed in one room which included my 4year old daughter that was pitch black and hot!!!! Aperantly the hotel was fully book so they could move us that night. So we had to wait until the next morning to be moved. We were so nervous and scared because it was our first night in Rome and our first ever trip to Italy. When morning came we were offers an upgrade room on he 3rd floor and no refund for the first night. Then I asked why no refund for the first night when we had no power and was uncomfortable we didn't got to sleep until 3:00am. So the front desk worker spoke to his manager supposedly and we were then offered another option of going to the first floor with a 50% discount. We took the offfer because the balcony was right next to the breakfast area and sealed off and actually the room with the balcony was smaller than the room on the 1st and 2nd floor. The bathroom on the 2nd floor room 210 need a bit more of a detailed cleaning in the shower area. The shower head and around the corners of the tub. Black mold!!!! Room 110 was so much cleaner and didn't have that old smell. There are no irons in he rooms because apparently it's illegal and the hotel charges to iron.

    I loved the location. This is hotel is located in a great location in Rome. Still have to do a bit of walking and there are much nicer hotels in the area and even closer to the hotspots.( But)For price and location this hotel is a good choice secondly the staff at the hotel are gems. All men Staff at the front desk and they were so helpful and nice. They are truly the best asset the hotel has! The hotel had an old vintage feel and the 1st room we had had an old smell to it. Not bad just an older smell. There is a lady of decent Chinese or Asian no quite sure. Don't want to offend anyone. She cleans the older floor speaks both English and Italian and she was such an angel to us. She translated and explained everything to us. She was awesome. After we switched rooms because of the power outage only in our room (210) we didn't see her much but she was really awesome. They offer breakfast which was basic and everything has sugar. Everything is sweet and overly sweet but some toast and coffe or tea will set your day off right. Pancakes and hot chocolate was available for he little ones because their chooses are limited. Cake is not breakfast but the way. Lol. Which they had available. Every morning. Lol. There's a older lady that helps with breakfast she has a short hair doesn't speak much English or if any at all I dont think so. She's a little stern but take no offense. 😁

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I have stayed here three times now and will continue to do so in the future I am sure, the room wasn't the cleanest upon arrival and the toilet flushed, but the button was broken. All of the items worked in the room without any issue, but the light fixtures near the bed were fraying and the room definitely needs a paint job.

    They have a very friendly staff and all of my interactions with them were wonderful, including preparing my room early. Air conditioning was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual booking through booking.com means room in front of elevator. It was noisy in the room facing street

    Breakfast location was great. Breakfast itself could be better. Great place to eat spaghetti nearby (ask reception) Subway is close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The most important function of a hotel room is to provide a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, their hard and lumpy mattress did a poor job.

    We booked a room with a balcony and the balcony was fantastic! We could walk to the Colosseum and the Forum. Arriving after midnight, we walked to a lovely dinner at La Base Pub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little noisy from traffic below our 3 rd floor room

    Room 303 was great as it had a huge outdoor terrace which was a sun trap too for when you have had enough sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The handling of food by the staff in the breakfast buffet could be improved.

    Very helpful front desk staff! We arrived a few hours before check in time and we expected to wait. But since there was a room that was already available, we were allowed to check in right away. After traveling for almost 20 hours, this was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard as a rock and the pillows thin as paper.

    Igor at the front desk was amazing and super helpful! The rest of the staff had little to no knowledge about restaurants or tours or anything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They had no beer at the bar one night! Coffee from a machine at breakfast.

    Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Location was pretty good. Overall it was good value considering the price of the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be more variable.

    Great location - everything is in walking distance - only few minutes to walk to Coliseum! Helpful and easy going staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sink broken terrible smell but fixed very quickly Water didn't go through the plug hole the shower Breakfast was only satisfactory unless you like runny scrambled eggs and raw bacon

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very warm. It was near freezing temperatures outside, but the room was too hot. But this would definitely NOT stop me from visiting the hotel again.

    location was fantastic in every way. Already recommended to friends travelling to Rome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't work the air con in the room, only heating. Maybe because it was winter, but it was a little too warm for us.

    Extremely helpful staff, made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had some little trouble falling asleep with the sounds from the ventilation system

    I chose this hotel because It's near the train station. It's also in walking distance of the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain. Breakfast is good; there are quite a few choices, not just croissant and coffee. Room and bathroom are very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, but ok when you need only for sleeping. Old furniture, old bathroom. Breakfast all time the same. Scrambled eggs made from dry eggs.

    Close to Coloseum and Termini station. Very friendly and helpfully stuff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is very good but the glass door of bath cube would have arranged it in a way that water doesn't leak. On overall its fine if people finds the how to closed the door properly.

    Rooms are good, clean and comfortable with safety locker. The bed size is good and very silent. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is the second time I stay in this hotel because I had such a great experience first time I visited Rome. However, in this occasion the room I was provided trembled each time the metro passed. It wasn't a big thing but you could both feel and hear it, which woke me up early in the morning (metro starts around 5am and finishes around 11pm) This is because the red line travels underneath the hotel all along Via Cavour. However, the first time I stayed there I didn't feel nor hear anything.

    - Wonderful staff. Always with a big smile on their faces. They made me aware that the Pope was going to Piazza Spagna, which was great because I could decide whether to go and see him or avoid the crowd around the Piazza. - Great location. The hotel is located in Via Cavour, just a few minutes walking from Termini, Coliseo, Fontana di Trevi and is also a nice walk to Trastevere, Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo, etc. - Awesome breakfast in the rooftop. Pity that this time it was too cold to have breakfast on the terrace :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff went the extra mile in every thing ,we could not have asked for better nicer people to take care of all our needs, One of our friends was unwell,we had great assistance in sourcing help in a country we had,nt been to before,so did,nt know how to get the help we needed,we also had a problem with the electrics in our room we were promptly moved into another room no problems at all ,service was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel has an excellent quality / price ratio with very friendly and competent staff (even with check-in at midnight they gave immediate response to requests like extra pillows, they are very careful to do the maintenance of the rooms outside the usual time, as in the afternoon, when occasionally for us was not convenient at the usual time). In the morning, two charming ladies are present to manage the breakfasts: are the owners. It makes all the difference this hotel with authentic architectural details and good taste be managed by a family! We recommend and this is where we will be in the next trip to Rome!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a little out of the way but we were happy to walk everywhere so not much of an issue. The walls were quite thin and we could hear children screaming ALL the time. Also took a while to figure out how to lock the room! You need to rescan the card before closing the door.

    The staff were wonderful, really nice to have someone friendly around at all times. The breakfast was good and the facilities in the room were great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe an upgrade on the showers, and maybe change the plastic chairs on terraces and water the plants - but I really am being picky.

    Lovely staff, great buffet breakfast, loved our little terrace, air-con a god-send in August, ideal location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the breakfast cold scrambled egg and bacon. Bread hard. There was a really bad smell in hallway each morning like sewage

    Room was a nice size and aircon was great to have. Great location 15 minutes walk from all the main sites.If u are booking ask for a larger room because the other rooms are really small. Apart from breakfast being bad it's good value for money for somewhere so central

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was definitely not clean, along with the bed and chair, etc. It appears that the hotel would need a serious cleaning in oder to qualify as a three star hotel. Also, very dusty.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really bad, we got cold food. Coffee was watery and without any taste. Bread was like one week old. It's dissapointing. Also we needed taxi to go to airport, staff called one, it was really strange that we got taxi for 55 euros, it hasnt any marks that its taxi, so it was illeagal one we think. Because taxi from this point to airport is 30-35 euros. Its was dissapointing too.

    The location of this hotel is excellent.. It's 10 min walk till colloseum.. 10 min walk from bus and train stations. Hotel staff english is excellent and russian good too, so we got every information we need. Hotel number was clean and cossy. We got our terrase, this was clean too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast

    The staff was extremely helpful and kind in advising how to get around, get better deals for food and events and avoid being "ripped off".

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was bad, everything was stale.

    Good location, clean rooms, nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal and staff very very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are a bit tired looking No tea making facilities

    Location is excellent. Ten minutes from the Coluseum. Very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and noisy road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Very safe but very close to historic places. There is also a subway station just 2 mins away. Just perfect to see Rome !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant, room condition

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping could be better. Was expecting little more as the hotel was better rated.

    Good location in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Respect and silence policy - no adds and no instructions for clients. Doors too weak to isolate external corridor noises

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooom was a little small. Small window. No view at all.

    Staff were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, room

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Borromeo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: