Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Porro Pirelli 4 stars

Via Edoardo Tabacchi 20, 21056 Varese, Italy

Review score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    good breakfast, nice surroundings, stylish hotel and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    we asked for separate beds through booking, but at arrival it wasn't taken care of. Received a less attractive room without adjustment of the price. Airco is noisy and credit card pre-authorization still has not been released a week after.

    good breakfast, nice surroundings, stylish hotel and rooms. comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfort and care in decaying grandeur.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The public areas are stunning and the gardens large but this is an old building, and certainly in need of maintenance in some areas.

    Our room was large, bed comfortable and bathroom spacious, but I'd rather have an iron and ironing board than the trouser press. Breakfasts are generous and wonderfully varied, and the venue is beautiful. A car is helpful but the station isn't far away and trains to various locations are frequent. The staff are friendly and helpful, and putting on breakfast early for all the visiting cyclists was certainly appreciated. The restaurant is lovely, food quite nice and the maitre d' charming, but it's not inexpensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall a satisfying stay in a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel presents a very elegant image and everything we needed was there, but I felt it could benefit from a more engaging feeling. Staff were efficient, but that did not match the old style elegance and sense of luxury that the property makes you wish for.

    The hotel is elegant to look at and we found our room very comfortable. It was only one night and a very fast visit, but we enjoyed a nice dinner, efficient service, and a quiet night's sleep. Parking was easy and it's a good location if you have a car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Attractive, spacious, clean room, comfy bed, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starting to get shabby, needs some renovation, showers are awful. Room described as a “suite “ but in reality it’s a double room with a stud partition wall splitting the bed from the rest of the room

    Attractive, spacious, clean room, comfy bed, good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is better, than it seems to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dinners at restaurant wasn't as good as it was positioned.

    The hotel is better, than it seems to be. Grate room, service, place and location. Everything were on top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    beautiful building, friendly staff. But the hotel deserves a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small and clearly have not been refurbished a long time. The fridge did not work, the shower door was broken, and the TV was resting on the desk rather than attached to the wall which made the desk essentially unusable. The double (which I found out on my first night was made up of 2 singles pushed together) was OK for 1 person, but would have been uncomfortable had it been 2 of us. At the high season price, I expected better.

    it is a lovely building but the hotel is in need of a refurb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great late summer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfect place and great value for money.

    The staff were very helpful, accommodating a very early arrival by letting me into my room, then being understanding when I also missed my check out time. Superb breakfast too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    A real gem, locked away in the Lombardy countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs a good clean, fresh paint and new floor coverings.

    The chateau itself and the manicured grounds are really beautiful. There's a wonderful atmosphere at the hotel, one you'd usually associate with places that would cost 5 times the price for B&B. The staff are also top class.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Majestic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is much too simple and not very tasteful.

    Beautiful majestic hotel with great views, making you feel a celebrity. Late at night the bar seemed closed; however we were helped excellent and very generously by a staff member.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. Lovely staff though but the hotel needs to sharpen up as competition is high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool area was a disgrace. Pool was dirty. Sun beds broken and no sun mattresses at all. The umbrella we had did not work either. The whole place looked unkempt and unhappy. We really booked the hotel so that we could swim after a long drive but it just did not look inviting. We couldn’t wait to get away.

    The staff were all lovely but the whole place needs an update. we had dinner there and it took ages for the food to arrive. When it did it was cold...not how I like my pasta so I ended up having no dinner at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The property is beautiful (villa, swimming pool and garden).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the dishes served at the restaurant could be improved (especially considering the prices). It was anyway an amazing stay at the Villa!

    The property is beautiful (villa, swimming pool and garden). Breakfast was very good and the room comfortable. Staff helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    very nice but enhanced by building and history breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lift not working correctly room allocated was average but upgraded to junior suite which was nice would expect tea coffee in room for 4 star

    stunning building good food allbeit a bit fawlty towers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Italian Style Hotel & amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location: The hotel is situated a bit further away from Varese but we had a car so it wasn't an issue and the car park was free of charge as well. I think it is harder to reach if you are using public transport and it is too far to walk into the city center.

    This is a very good hotel. The staff was amazing and super friendly. It was my birthday during our stay and they went above and beyond for my breakfast table in the sunshine. Room: We were situated in the main house and the room was in a traditional Italian style and clean. Dinner/Restaurant: We had dinner at the hotel once and it was super tasty but a bit more than your usual affordable Italian restaurant but worth it. Facilities: The pool area was never busy which was nice and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame pool not open at time we went mid June, would have liked a swin in the lovley area it was situated in

    Absolutley fab stay, lovely area. Visited Lake Como and Maggorie, within an hour to an hour and a half each. fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    A really enjoyable experience in a quiet Italian town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a lovely unique country property, a short walk from the train station and several restaurants and a large supermarket. The deluxe room was very comfortable, with a large bed, nice view, good air conditioning and very nice bathroom. It was equipped with a safe, a minibar and shower. We found the room quiet and perfect for our needs and the staff couldn't be more polite and helpful. There are a number of seating areas indoors and on the grounds, near the bar which is open throughout the day. The pool area is sheltered and sunny, the pool is not heated. Breakfast was a lovely continental buffet with a particularly surprising selection of cakes/tarts as well as fruits, cereals, meet, cheese, eggs etc. We ate one evening dinner in the restaurant which was a very pleasant, high-end dining experience in a beautiful old dining room and terrace overlooking the garden. The menu comprises rich, more unusual choices which was enjoyable but as visitors we preferred to try new places each night to get a taste for seasonal local fare and we weren't disappointed with the offering in Induno Olona, but you do need to keep an eye on opening times since most places close in the afternoon between lunch and dinner. The area is quite hilly which could be tricky for anyone with extra mobility needs, for example the paths are narrow and may not be wheelchair friendly. The hotel itself is fitted with lifts and while there are a lot of steps in the gardens, all of the areas are also accessible from the driveway so the steps are avoidable. Parts but not all of the outdoor areas are gravelled. Car parking is located very close to the main door. We had a really lovely stay here and would certainly recommend it for peace and quiet without being too remote. Worth noting that we did not have a car and managed to get to all the places we wanted with no problems, using public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking forward to the restaurant having been told the vegetarian food was great. We were very disappointed by the vegetarian offering, not much choice and not very exciting. We saw reasonably sizeable secondi meat dishes and the vegetable and cheese dish was 2€ less than some of the meat options and was a small starter in size and was left unimpressed and wanting more. But don’t be put off if you’re a meat eater!

    Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    The place is beautifull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a party in the hotel during our stay. Couldn't sleep. The room wasn't really clean. Stuffs from previous customer still in room (empty bottles, paperworks) The bed sheets weren't ironed. Noise room to room. Hotel industry should chose between hotel & events. Booth aren't compatible. I paid for having a place to sleep and relax.

    The place is beautifull. A nice garden to walk around. Luxurious environment. My stay there last year was pretty good. That time, it's a disaster

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    Very Noisy Event- and Partylocation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It‘s a frequently booked event- and partylocation with big parties and loud music all night long on their terrace. Almost all rooms have windows to this partyterrace. During our stay, the air condition did not work, too, so that we had to decide between party noise (until 3 o‘clock!!) or heat in the Room.

    The House is old and Charming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    In general we really like this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general we really like this place. It was clean and cery comfortable. Hotel looks very nice and it is located in the nice, green area. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    A jewel in northern Italy. Perfect ambiance and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little mix up with the room was perfectly solved by staff and management. For our discomfert they sent a bottle of proseco and a large plate of fresh fruit up to our room. Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Simply wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house salad was a bit to much experiment.

    This hotel is nearly from an other Time. The 300 years old villa is tasteful renovated an well -looked after.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower / complicated to operate

    The restaurant inside the Hotel was excellent no need to travel out side for a dinner meal. The manager Francesco was above and beyond his duties. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, with private parking space en beautiful dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is a luxury restaurant and for us, since this was for a 1 night stay on our way to Italy, a simpel menu would have been better. Food was fine, but for children too little choice.

    Very nice hotel, with beautiful ceiling in the dining room. Breakfast was excellent, everything was available. Nice terrace, when we were here there where not many visitors. Quiet location with a parking garage for the guests. The property is closed during the night by a fence.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Idyllic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Has more potential. Garden around the villa (behind the pool, between the Villa and the road below) is not fully maintained and could be beautiful with walks under trees etc. I think they are balancing with big expensive estate/building that needs quite a lot staff but has little bit irregular utilization (it did not seem crowded, when there were no weddings). For example, eggs&bacon seemed to be optimized and running out at breakfast although you got more if you asked and staff was always very helpful and professional. Still, very nice for the price. Just remember to bring a car, so you can visit near by places. Even if in map some places look to be close, remember that height difference and not so straight roads make it longer to reach places by foot.

    Beautiful, idyllic place. Romantic. Nice restaurant. Good quality beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Place for weddings or conferences, not for holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff, pool is just a joke (no sunbeds, staff, any help). Hard to find enyone for help. Looks like nobody is managing this place.

    Nice room, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    A high standard of hotel - stunning building and interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area at the top of the elevator down to the carpark was a real greenhouse and makes for an unpleasant minute or two waiting for the lift. It was not in line with the high standard of the rest of the hotel and its operation.

    A high standard of hotel - stunning building and interior. Breakfast was excellent. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced 3stars in urgent need of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby towels and used carpet in the room. No glasses and handkerchiefs in the bathroom. Only 2 pillows. Bad shower products. Frankly it is not what they call a four star hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful old palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It must be difficult to adapt an old building so as to become a hotel; hotel lacks harmony, some practical needs missing in bathroom (where to put things?) or switches for light, AC, etc. difficult to find. Maintenance standard could be higher. Nevertheless: worth while staying there - we would come back!

    Great immediate surroundings of hotel - lovely park/garden. Beautiful old building; rich interior; some rooms quite spatious; very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice and charming place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and charming place! The hotel and restaurant stuff was very kind, pleasant and helpful. Excellent service everywhere. A separate special thanks to Ms. Anna, the hotel manager or one of the owners (it was not quite clear from what we were told) who kindly offered a nice highest level room reserved for VIP instead of the one which did not satisfy us for a certain reason. In spite the fact that the hotel was fully booked for Easter holidays. Very good job, thanks again for unforgettable staying!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Perfect for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner makes it hard to breathe in the room. Old shower cabins

    Villa is absolutely beautiful. Ancient nicely decorated rooms and marvelous views around. Nice sweets for breakfast, friendly stuff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    2.9
    Awful rooms and service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and the room was absolutely awful - tiny and dark with old furniture and the carpet looked like it'd been there for at least 20 years. We booked a junior suit. The housekeeping don't knock on the door - they just open the door and walk in with no warning. They did that at least 6 times during our stay. On one occasion my husband just came out of the shower and was completely undressed. We had a 'do not disturb' sign on. The food is very average. The list just goes on...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Cycling in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired and the pool furniture needed updating

    The setting was beautiful and rooms very spacious. A great base to cycle in the region.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Would be great if the aircondition wasn't broken
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtain and air condition were broken - still no discount or any compensation

    The place is really beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Couldn't stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, facilities and so relaxing!

    Couldn't stay longer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful villa, splendid view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service isn't exactly 4 stars Would appreciate slippers, bathrobes and a bottle of water in the room

    Beautiful villa, splendid view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Carpets and rooms need refurbishing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets and rooms need refurbishing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa no services and old rooms

    Very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Impressive building with a sense of faded grandeur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb breakfast. A fantastic property - a real sense of faded grandeur.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    The place and the room
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was poor.should be at least at the average of Italian couisin for this very nice hotel.

    The place and the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Staff wasn't open to issue, and not supported during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff wasn't open to issue, and not supported during the night, push the resolution to the next day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Too far out of Varese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location An air of lack of care

    The helpfulness of the star overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Great accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Premacy, park, friendliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was not exactly our taste

    Nice view, nice garden, authentic main building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Historical Palazzo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had absolutely no view!

    Great historical building, great breakfast room, nice and quiet location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    A perfect place for disconnecting and having a rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic restaurant for dinner and delicious breakfast. Very comfortable room in a quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful place off the beaten path. The price was very good too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    I personally like that type of aristocratic villas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    The ambiance, the parking, the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airco shutdown every hour, restaurant planning, elevator not working, pool extremely cold.

    The ambiance, the parking, the food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    I liked the hotel location, the airport shuttle dropped us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was hard and we couldn't get a deep sleep

    I liked the hotel location, the airport shuttle dropped us real close to it. The room was neat and clean and the stuff very pleasant

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I've been there many times, last time 1 year ago... Now many things changed, interior is not more so authentic, everywhere shabby walls, div. Scratches and so on. Not like a 4* hotel!!!! Minibar didnt worked (all drinks inside were warm). Inside was a small white wine bottle and no wine bottle opener, nowhere! We had to go to reception and wait until they found an opener, which they couldnt give to us, perhaps only one bottle opener in hotel? 😂 Im very sad about the changes, which I dont find acceptional. Next time I habe to choose another hotel.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.6
    The room was excellent, comfortable and with good views from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was excellent, comfortable and with good views from the windows. The staff were very helpful. There was plenty of parking. The breakfast range was very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    Excellent view top of the hill location for this beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent view top of the hill location for this beautiful historic building Villa, old-new design combination with sensational old painted wall & ceilings and mixed modern & old furniture. Large clean rooms with a great view. The staff was very kind, professional and helpful make us fill welcome!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    6.7
    The staff were really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was horrible! Water pressure in the shower was really poor. The sink runs faster than the shower. The hotel smells old.

    The staff were really nice and helpful. The hotel is really old but the room was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    6.3
    Location and excellant restaurant cuisine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Leaking hand basin, no hot water on the second morning of a two day stay loss of wifi connection on the second morning

    Location and excellant restaurant cuisine

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.5
    Second visit to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The first time we visited this hotel, we were in the main building which has large rooms, beautifully decorated with antique furniture. This time we were put in the annex, which is bog-standard 3* hotel quality, small rooms with furniture and equipment that has seen "better days". After the first night we were moved to the main building which was nicer. However many things could be improved. At breakfast, most of the dishes on offer were empty and not refilled without persistently asking the waiter. e.g. No meat, no cheese, no bread rolls, no bacon, no eggs, no milk, no salad, no fruit. No point in having a buffet breakfast if there is an empty buffet. The rooms are in need of some maintenance with showers not working/doors hanging off, fridges not cold, beds broken etc. Worst of all we had an easy chair in one room, light beige fabric, which was covered in stains.

    Second visit to this hotel. It is a marvelous characterful hotel but does not quite live-up to its 4* status.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    5.0
    The staff was helpful most time and did their best to tackle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had 2 rooms. When we arrived the room safe was closed and we had call staff to open it - they were helpful however I wonder why when they clean the room they do not have a check list. First 4 days there was no or little hot water with the excuse that there were too many people in the hotel. The shower doors were not closing properly and we were afraid it would fall at any time. The lifts were not working half the time. Breakfast was everything cold. Hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, scrambled eggs and bacon were cold even if put in a heating unit (always off). We repeatedly complained, staff were nice but it seems management never took action.

    The staff was helpful most time and did their best to tackle each problem that the room or the hotel had but it seems they were on their own and their does not seem to be a hotel manager around!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    Very beautiful villa, very beautiful apartment (big 2 rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant (attention!) : looks nice but is really expensive for the tiny portions and the food's quality! Better to take the complete day's menu (it's ok but wine and water are not included although this is what it says on the menu you have in the room!)

    Very beautiful villa, very beautiful apartment (big 2 rooms for 4!) with wonderful old furniture (not too practical though!), good bathroom. Double bed was very good. Nice and good location. Nice garden, beautiful little church, pool. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    4.2
    The character of the hotel with the church on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room to small shower broken and when we tried to move room it was not possible. There was two weddings and a conference which meant the staff had no time for you

    The character of the hotel with the church on site

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Location and property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar was closed when we arrived and no staff to serve they apologised and said the bar would open later, but after a long drive all we wanted was a drink, UK to no avail so on this point the hotel was poor

    Location and property

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.0
    Lovely grounds and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost €91 for the room and €100 for transport! This should be made clear on the website. I was told it would cost €70 for the shuttle to the airport and was then charged €85. No negotiation, just an interrogation asking who had told me €70 which was not helpful. Room was poor. Poor shower, half used moisturiser, no mirror in room, trouser press useless, poor breakfast. Impersonal service. No attempt to honour my request for a quiet room, placing me right next to the hotel entrance. A very bad and costly decision to stay here. Disappointing end to my stay in Italy.

    Lovely grounds and pool. Unique Italian villa experience.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    The hotel style and ambiance with location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was not allowed to bring the vehicle to the reception entrance with the luggage for 6 persons.The guests had to lift luggage and walk for quite a distance although a lift brought you to the same level.

    The hotel style and ambiance with location.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.7
    Position, character of old villa-chateau, like a museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    verry bad management, rude reception with bad english speaking, dirty hotel, needs cleaning and renovation .

    Position, character of old villa-chateau, like a museum.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    A lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely building. Nice large room with a fridge. We requested a balcony but did not get one. We didn't use the restaurant in the evening but it had a reasonable choice of food. Breakfast was good, apart from the usual continental there were boiled eggs, sausage and bacon. The hotel was extremely full however so things ran out rather rapidly!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Fantastic Building, lots of nice rooms and surroundings,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family rooms need a refurbishment, but room was still good for the price.

    Fantastic Building, lots of nice rooms and surroundings, very good restaurant good food, a bit pricy

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent hotel and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was OK but with a few minor improvements would be excellent. (e.g. The "hot" food tray with bacon, tomato and sausage was not heated, Quiche could be made with real rather than powdered egg). Bunk beds in the kids room were not exactly safe.

    Excellent hotel and great value for money. Reception staff could not have been more helpful. Interesting old villa, sympathetically modernized. Quirky and unusual "Italian" pool surrounded by a stone balustrade was very clean and well looked after. Air-conditioning performed really well even with temperature in the high 30s outside.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    The villa, the pool, the breakfast, the garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Th restaurant was too expensive for the portions; getting a drink throughout the day tooks a lot of time en organisation; the manager at the reception was slow and without experience and not very friendly. It was our third time, we were guests in the villa: the room in the side-building was not so good, especially the bathroom (defect).

    The villa, the pool, the breakfast, the garage.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    nice place and , pleasant accomodation, garden with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    pity that staff does not work better - cluttered tables on the terrace for breakfast spoils good impression, guests had to clean up their own so that they can sit down . Sometimes was not replenished bread or another ....

    nice place and , pleasant accomodation, garden with pool

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Best vacation ever , enjoyed the stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The closet door was broken and we could not use it . Very small room. Besides those every thing was great

    Best vacation ever , enjoyed the stay . Very nice stuff , good breakfast , value for money , beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    3.8
    Staff at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In room 208: - number of the room badly glued - light at entrance broken - sink broken, not possible to have the sink full - tab leaking from the top - shower cabin: half of the shower pipes blocked with limestone; doors out of rails; black moisture spots - noisy airco - marks and spots on wall have been repainted with a slightly lighter color leaving the walls in the room a camouflage patern - very noisy plumbing so we had to change room at night - no towels or shower at the pool - grass around the pool not mowed - pool table not level, was that bad that is was nearly impossible to have the white ball on the spot to start a game - elevator button -2 broken suite 109: - even more noisy airco; - same bad paint job on wals

    Staff at reception Towels in bathroom Remote control to unlock doors Quality of the WiFi

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    Nice and charming villa in a very convenient location if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice and charming villa in a very convenient location if you want to visit Lugano, Lago di Maggiore, Lago di Como or Milano. Staff is very polite and helpful. We had a suite which was very spacious and comfortable for a very good price. We also had a dinner in the restaurant which is very nice and romantic and the food was really good. Definitely would like to come there again!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    Views of grounds / gardens from room and garden .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In our option the showers need some attention . Bracket for shower head unable to tighten up worn out . Flops down .

    Views of grounds / gardens from room and garden . Staff all helpful and pleasant

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    5.4
    The hotel Building and The surrounding area is quite nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The extra bed in a 3 person room was horrible, and only for small children, Even though we were 3 adults. I couldnt get a good sleep. There was Also a loud buzz from The air condotioning, which couldnt be turned off. You had to Pay for tv. Worst Thing was The Breakfast. Very poor selection, and only unhealthy options almost. Bread was boring, no fresh fruit, and coffee machine was horrible. No Nice eggs or ham. Very unsatisfied for a 4 star hotel. Also, very Little shampoo and shower gel offered

    The hotel Building and The surrounding area is quite nice. The Breakfast room and opputunity to eat outside at The terrace is a big plus. The hotel rooms were quite big, and so was The bathroom. Parking house is Nice, and The parking was free.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hospitality was non existent, man in the desk was rude and unhelpful. No drinks or food, walked to a nearby pizzeria after desk man said there was nothing anywhere local. Was made to feel like a second class citizen! Heavy glass shower door fell on my 7 year old son. After the way I was treated by he reception I was too afraid to complain! Beds were unbearably uncomfortable, so much so that we left in the early hours if the morning and skipped breakfast!!! Awful , awful, awful!!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    - the history is around you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - weak breakfast

    - the history is around you - beautiful building and environment - friendly staff - modern equipment in bathroom - historical equipment in bedrooms

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: