Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bosone Palace 4 stars

Via XX Settembre 22, 06024 Gubbio, Italy

#7 of 19 hotels in Gubbio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Might once have been a grand hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a shocking situation, clearly it’s an ongoing issue and there’s a trick to getting connected... only one staff member knew the trick. It might be an idea if all staff knew the secret to connection, it’d save all kinds of moaning and irritation at the reception counter... just saying.

    The location was great and breakfast was excellent choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.3
    We are very disappointed in this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty; shower was mouldy and dirty. We chose not to use it. We needed to ask for the air conditioner controls. The wifi did not work. There was a musty smell in one of the two rooms we had reserved. We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. We had reserved a double room, and when we checked out, we were told that this was a superior room and had to pay the difference, with no explanation why it was considered superior.

    The breakfast was OK. Sheets were clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a two and a half hour drive from Florence airport. Would most certainly fly into the local airport if we went again.

    The staff, the hotel and our overall experience during our holiday was great. Gubbio was a very beautiful and friendly place which we will certainly try and visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.0
    4 stars...not on your life.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was hideous, old dirty shower, probably last cleaned when just after WW2.. taps last polished around the same time. Room window very difficult to open, air conditioner not working very well. Room could do with a good repainting.

    Location, building externally well maintained

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Medieval Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right near the best of Gubbio's historic sites, Bosone Palace was a bit of luxury in the heart of one of Italy's most picturesque medieval towns. We will be returning!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My word Gubbio is a steep town! There are a LOT of steps. You cannot park by the hotel but there is a big car park in the main square. That can prove quite expensive per night (cost us 22 Euros for 24 hours) but there are side streets you can park in in the newer part of town.

    Lovely little hotel right in the heart of Gubbio. Friendly staff. Room a bit small but had a view over the rooftops and across the old city. Hotel is quite grand having been the home of a wealthy family in the 15th century. The bed was comfortable and wifi worked well in the room. Breakfast is a good spread in a lovely old room with frescos and plentiful cappuchino! There is an excellent restaurant the Bosone Garden right below the hotel and they give you a 10% discount voucher if you eat there. They also have a sister restaurant in Via de Republica which was very good. The price per night including breakfast was excellent. Really good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful area, nice old building, not only italian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bathroom is quite small. We couldn't park on the street, we had to go to a garage which was about 1 km far, and it wasn't a guarded parking.

    Beautiful area, nice old building, not only italian breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    one day in Gubbio, maybe "the most beautifull medieval city" as is written at its entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the elevator was bad smelling - the room was a little small, but it is understandable because it's a historic building - no hot table at breakfast

    - very good position, near Piazza Grande - very beautifull house (the grand staircase, the breakfast hall).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    10
    Real comfortable
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not there long enough.

    The staff were very accommodating, I could not complain at all. If you see a complaint, disregard it. The breakfast is not for those who are on a diet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    I do highly recommend Bosone Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes internet did not work from our room.

    Professional staff, beautiful rooms with views, wonderful location, and delicious breakfasts all at a reasonable rate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    10
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for our son's 21st birthday. Everyone in the hotel made a big effort to make it special including a breakfast pastry with a candle for him and for another birthday guest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    For my partner it was a first visit to Gubbio; he fell in love!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had wifi connection problems on various devices. Perhaps a better or updated wifi?

    Beautiful room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    We would recommend staying here. It's an interesting town. Very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean. Location great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant. Would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi.

    Great location. Didn't charge for my two dogs. Plenty of choice at breakfast, served in a stunningly beautiful room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Had a great stay. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Renaissance Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like!!!

    Fantastic room. Location great for getting to things. Wonderful hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath very difficult to direct!

    Location of hotel was excellent. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renaissance Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    The town and the location of the hotel and the gunicla
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The town and the location of the hotel and the gunicla

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location in Gubbio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gubbio is incredible. This is one of three hotels in Gubbio that I stay at. The location is central and the building is stately and beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Proximity to Art gallery was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet access was poor in our room but the view and room layout made up for that! It was a fair walk uphill to hotel after eating in restaurants.

    Proximity to Art gallery was good. Views were outstanding. Staff were very kind. Breakfast was delicious with multiple choices!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Very nice personnel, especially the older waiter who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    if there is anything to complain about it would probably be something that was hard to improve these days: with temperatures over 'body-heat' the airco of the room wasn't always able to lower the room's temperature to acceptable levels....but we didn't care that much!

    Very nice personnel, especially the older waiter who stay's up all night and serves you coffee or tea in the morning !! Beautiful ancient venue with lots of original 'medieval' wallpaintings and other details.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel. We were given a upgrade to a larger room. Quite room with a great view Excellent friendly staff who were more than helpful. Great location in wonderful city. What more can I say

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    4.6
    Leaving in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    being asleep in my bed, then being woken by very loud music below our window which continued from 10:30pm until after 01:00am. The hotel's solution was for us to sleep on a sofa in a public lounge with other patrons come in and out. Next morning the hotel asked for full payment despite this completely unacceptable situation.

    Leaving in the morning

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.3
    Centralissimo, sulla via principale, la suite era...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La suite era molto fredda, il riscaldamento non era sufficiente e nonostante le nostre richieste il problema non è stato risolto

    Centralissimo, sulla via principale, la suite era meravigliosa. Personale cortese.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.3
    Atmosfera incredibile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Atmosfera incredibile

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak wifi

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Nice helpful staff, great facilities, great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice helpful staff, great facilities, great rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    We had a great room on the top floor which had a huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great room on the top floor which had a huge balcony and faced down into the valley.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, nice staff, good positioning in center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Airco was not working well. The rooms didn't have a nice view.

    Beautiful hotel, nice staff, good positioning in center of city.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff! they helped me in any request, highly professional. Many languages spoken Great breakfast service. Close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find and get to - even with SatNav

    Location excellent Friendly and helpful staff Local information available

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Great city for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great city for relaxation. Lovely restaurant besides the hotel, excellent food and affordable.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner struggled with heat

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    We opted for the room with balcony and we're not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We opted for the room with balcony and we're not disappointed. It had a magnificent view of Gubbio.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Location, nice people, beautiful style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, nice people, beautiful style

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location to experience la festa dei ceri
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect location to experience la festa dei ceri

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water in the shower

    Excellent location, very friendly staff

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Bosone Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: