Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bougainville 4 stars

Via Balestreri, 98055 Lipari, Italy

#3 of 20 hotels in Lipari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 188 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is surrounded by this lush mature garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no internet in the rooms. Internet access is only accessed in the reception and dining area.

    The hotel is surrounded by this lush mature garden. The staff was so helpful and ready to assist you with any issues one can have.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    It was crazy overprice, paying 140€ per night you dont have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was crazy overprice, paying 140€ per night you dont have the right to use the jacuzzi (5€ for 30 min) if you want a towel, 5€ more, there was not even the little bottle of water in the room they give everywhere!!! This is not caring for customer experience at all

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel run by beautiful people!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I told the receptionist when I checked out, I want to live in this hotel! I stayed for 3 nights and had a mission to see the islands of Alicudi and Filicudi which can be difficult in low season. I came to the conclusion that I would have to make a separate trip to each island but the hotel stepped in and managed to get me on a tour to both islands on the same day. This saved me time and money and I am ever so grateful for this. From the moment I called the hotel shortly after making the booking, everything they did was done with a touch of class. The warmth and willingness to help were really striking. There were in total 5 people that looked after various things during my stay and I would consider them all friends now, such was their lovely disposition. Apart from the staff, the hotel itself is wonderful. As soon as I walked in I had a big smile on my face due to the beautiful view of the town centre and the next morning when I saw everything in the light it was even better. It takes 5 minutes to walk down to the town but there's also an excellent restaurant on site. I urge you to try anything with the aubergines as it was all so delicious. Well done everyone and thanks again. I'll be coming back for sure and might even take up permanent residence ;-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location and facilities and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaint about not being proactive enough in topping up the muesli, tomatoes and rolls at breakfast time especially when there large groups staying there.

    We liked the location as it was easy to get into the centre of Lipari. Staff were really helpful and friendly and provided information on public transport and some walks we could do outside of Lipari.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Good looking place, well-run in the main but let down by a poor breakfast service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were hit and miss. The selection of meat and cheeses were often not available. Orange juice and bread were often unavailable.

    The hotel is very beautiful, well laid out and planted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Not at all a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a disaster not worth at all a 4* hotel Extra espresso is charged and not included in the breakfast. Which is ridiculous in 4* hotels Beach towels should be rented for 5 EUR for the stay. Completely ridiculous for a 4* hotel. Jacuzzi is paid at 10 EUR for 30 minutes No wifi in the room and they acknowledge it but do not try to fix it. Completely ridiculous for 4* hotels The room does not get electricity if you open the door (not only if you remove the card) which is completely ridiculous. this would turn off the A/C and all lights even if someone else is inside!!!

    The pool, surrounding the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was in great location with a short walk down to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised to find out that the hotel charged for most extras including bottled water in the room, €5 per towel to be used by the pool and €10 for 30 minutes in the hot tub. For the price we paid for our stay, I don't think these should have been chargeable extras. My biggest pet hate is double beds which are made of two single beds pushed together with one sheet. I was disappointed to find this type of bed in the hotel and I found myself falling into the gap when rolling over in the night. Doesn't make for a relaxing sleep. The hotel is nice but not worth the money.

    The hotel was in great location with a short walk down to the Main Street. We were picked up by the free shuttle from the port and were welcomed warmly by the staff on reception. The hotel is nice and authentic but is in need of some repairs as age is beginning to show in certain areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Lipari at its best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, great view of town and great location - 5 min walk to seafront and start of shops, restaurant area. Shuttle to and from port made it easy to get suitcase to the boat and was appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    You will not be disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful modern spacious hotel with fantastic staff. The lady Tindara that helped us throughout our stay was absolutely fantastic. Tindara helped us with pick up at the ferry, organised a spectacular tour of Stromboli by night (not to be missed) and always was so helpful. The rooms are airy and spacious and very nicely decorated. One of the best hotels on our 10 days around Sicily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for a third person (a six yr old child) was excessive because the booking for one room was for 1 adult and 2 children.

    This is a beautiful property, the staff was friendly and helpful. It is also located within walking distance of city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laneway walk at night

    Staff very friendly Nice pool & jacuzzis Transfers to the ports

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    I love the outside many flowering trees.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the outside many flowering trees. Rosemary, oleander,jasmine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff were so nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and the food

    The staff were so nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view, space, free transfer to port.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, nice room, comfortable beds, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, nice room, comfortable beds, good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in Eolian stlyle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotels with brilliant friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet, just a short distance from the main street which is full of bars restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    2/4 days problems with air conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2/4 days problems with air conditioner. Do not order a BELLINI :(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Stayed only for a night everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed only for a night everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    6.7
    The staff were friendly enough except the waiter in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast really is sub-standard and not what we have experienced through our extensive one month tour of Italy at 4 or 5 star hotels, where until the Bourgainville, had been excellent. Italians pride themselves on food so this place really was a disappointment. Hence did not take up the offer of eating dinner in their restuarant in the evenings. Plenty of cakes and biscuits for the locals, of which there were none,and who will arrive in August, but nothing hot. We had to ask for some scrambled eggs as cakes, salami and cheese just doesn't sate a North European appetite. What I found surprising was the "fresh juices" were concentrate. C'mon! Sicilian oranges are two a penny and this was the only establishment serving something from a carton.It's mean and painfully obvious that the hotel is cost-cutting here (just as the €5 charge for pool towels when they have a laundry in the basement) For the prices paid fresh orange juice should be on tap not €4 on request. Unbelievably, the coffee was undrinkable served from an urn and the most bitter concoction that still left a nasty taste in the mouth in late afternoon. Avoid at all costs!!! Room service? When I rang at 2145 ( literature says closed at 1030 pm) Was told "chiuso" Staff, although kind,haven't really been trained in hotel management and unfortunately it shows. The rooms are spotless thanks to great cleaners but views of an old running track not great. Hotel Bourgainville is pleasant enough but I would not rate it anywhere near 4 stars and it has much to learn from its contemporaries.

    The staff were friendly enough except the waiter in the restaurant really must cheer up! The hotel was very clean and the cleaners did an excellent job. Gardens and pool very pleasant. A free pick up service to and from the port ( 5 mins away)

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful buildings, grounds, and sparkling clean pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful buildings, grounds, and sparkling clean pool. Within walking to port if you don't have luggage. Staff was helpful and friendly. It would be a great place to stay and use as a base for excursions to the other islands.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    The pool is a great improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the wiFi experience is pretty bad, especially in the rooms - if there is one thing that could improve my confidence about taking time off to be in Lipari, it is a better connection. Breakfast has way too much sweet stuff for Northern Europeans.

    The pool is a great improvement. The gardens are delightful and the location is relatively quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.8
    The location is good, not in the city centre but 10 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a Big Hotel, not really cosy. The wifi is terrible and no wifi at all in the rooms what is inacceptable for this size of Hotel and this range of price. Our room was supposed to be view on the garden, it was view on a football playground that looked like a garbage

    The location is good, not in the city centre but 10 min from the port by walk

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is pretty with a very nice view of the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi is very poor (none in the rooms) Breakfast can be improved: they were running out of basics (like yogurt or croissants) very quickly. Also they charge an extra €4 for a fresh orange juice which one would expect to be included as a staple. The pedestrian shortcut path that leads into town is useful but too dark at night making it scary if you are on your own. Toiletries in the bathroom were very poor - for the price paid(€220/night for a garden-view room) one would expect better ones

    The hotel is pretty with a very nice view of the old town and a nice swimming pool. The rooms are big and clean The staff were helpful and friendly The location is fairly good and close to port

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Great position, views of the port, lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great position, views of the port, lovely pool. Staff excellent,helpful and friendly. Town of Lipari great to explore, wonderful restaurants, Aperitifs and people watching takes hours!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    5.0
    The swimming pool was attractive with good views of Lipari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a 4 star hotel - barely a 3 star. Rooms are basic as is the breakfast. Miserable waiter.

    The swimming pool was attractive with good views of Lipari.Not

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Everything was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was incredible! Magnificent views, extremely friendly and very competent staff, excellent rooms (both very clean, functional, spacious and with a great view), great services offered (like scooter hire, shuttle to bring your bags to the port etc.) and fun pool. The bathtub in our room had a jacuzzi function. Best breakfast I ever had.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    They picked us up from the port almost immediately, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds are a bit hard and the restaurant took an hour to bring us our dinner however, they did compensate us a beverage for the wait.

    They picked us up from the port almost immediately, friendly staff, nice room, nice pool, great drinks, great location, and reasonably priced. We stayed in a king sized bed and enjoyed our (one night) stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    5.5
    Location was good, room was nice with a view and balcony (we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was cold although they say it's a year round pool. Breakfast was marginal. We wanted to leave a day early in our 5 day stay and said so the 2nd day and they would not work with us and charged us the entire stay, we left anyway. Lesson learned if that's a policy of the property consider why.

    Location was good, room was nice with a view and balcony (we upgraded)

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    5.4
    My partner and I stayed at the hotel in mid-April and were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My partner and I stayed at the hotel in mid-April and were forced to have luke-warm showers. Despite numerous calls to staff, we were promised each time that the water would be hot in 10 mins only for it still not to warm-up. In addition, the wifi doesn't work in the hotel rooms but only in the communal areas.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful resort like facility with well maintained grounds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful resort like facility with well maintained grounds and gardens and swimming pool. Spacious rooms with views. Felt very relaxed and at ease.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff, location and hotel in general, well built
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, location and hotel in general, well built

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful, great location, clean, good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing not to like.

    Beautiful, great location, clean, good service.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location, great swimming pool, nice decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's bizarre to charge 5 euros for a swimming pool towel rental.

    Good location, great swimming pool, nice decoration

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.2
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too few shuttle schedules. Missing a fitness room

    Spacious room. Nice swimming pool and kindness of service

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    easy to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    easy to relax

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    quiet peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the beds!!

    quiet peaceful location. Excellent staff.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Bougainville traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: