Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bretagna This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lungarno Corsini 6, Tornabuoni, 50123 Florence, Italy

#199 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1429 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    4.6
    Location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old hotel, breakfast very poor, room very dark and old, toilet very tiny, booked a certain type of room and I was given a completely other one and no one did anything about it for two days stay. Breakfast is very basic in a tiny corner in the lobby, toilet ia very tiny with a shower, room is dark and furniture is old. There is no elevator.

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.1
    I love Florence wherever I stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the furniture was old (extremely consumed) and the internal room design needs to be improved and to be more creative, the same for the bathroom. The Jacuzzi was not working.

    the location and the view are awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.3
    If you are looking for a place that is good on location and less on look and feel, this is a goodie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size and decor

    The room was a little small and the decor dated 'European', but the location and breakfast made up for it. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The major sites are all within walking distance and easy to also walk to the main/central train station (about 10 mins walk with luggage on the cobblestone streets). Bed was comfy, shower was warm and towels were fluffy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    2.9
    Bad hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. In reality room was very different from photos. It was old and not very clean. Air conditioner was not working, but staff can only smile and told that tomorrow it will be fixed. I was there for three night and conditioner was fixed only last day. I was not proposed for any compensation for this inconvenience and administration was not agree to change my room to another with working conditioner. Generally awful hotel with awful service. Do not recommend.

    Breakfast was good, but only because it was served in other cafe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Very much enjoyed our stay in the suite room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing negative to say about our stay. I would stay at this hotel again.

    Very much enjoyed our stay in the suite room. The historical building, walkway flowers, view from balcony very charming and added to our Florence experience. The terrace from there building 2 was spectacular! The breakfast exceeded our expectation. So many fantastic choices in the buffet and coffee was wonderful. The staff was exceptional, always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    The staff- in particular Julia (I think that was her name)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff- in particular Julia (I think that was her name) was amazing and provided excellent information about Florence and getting around to all the key attractions. In addition she provided great info on local places to eat. Breakfast was also very good. And the location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Great friendly staff,great breakfast,don't leave money in your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small old room,no view, we left small change/ money on our desk when we returned from excursion money was gone, informed staff and was told that cleaner must have taken it as a tip, we did not leave a note stating it was a tip.

    Breakfast ,location, staff ,great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.7
    on River Arno bank in a building of epoca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a simple double room, is very simple small room and the furniture is old except the bathroom was renovated some time ago. The building itself is of epoca so will have to live with the structure of the building but the pictures of the common area are way too pretty than reality.

    breakfast was great at a restaurant downstairs. location is great if you want to stay by the river Arno. Staff is polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel, helpful staff and fantastic rooms ..... shhhhh ... don't tell anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was noisy and could hear people in the apartment above walking around in the morning.

    The reception was old with a beautiful view over the river, however when I stepped into my room I was blown away, newly renovated, sparkling clean and huge!! I had only booked one night because I had been staying with friends who left a day earlier but I wish I had more nights in this hotel! The bed was the most comfortable I slept in during my entire trip and the pillows soft, I loved my stay and the breakfast downstairs in the cafe was very good, I ate the most delicious wholewheat croissant there! It is about a 2 minute walk from Ponte Vecchio and the shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with helpful friendly staff, best location and value for money. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitos - needed more repellent plug in.

    Excellent location by river, a few mins to Ponte Vecchio, enjoyed drinks on the balcony and beautiful sunsets. Helpful friendly staff, very attentive and provided clear information. Fantastic breakfast included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful historical location, AMAZING BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Nice located at Arno river, beautiful historic palace, pefectly clean and functional facilities, friendly and professional staff, AMAZING BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    The Hotel Bretagna was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel Bretagna was excellent! We absolutely loved our stay and the woman at the front desk was the absolute best, she was super friendly and extremely helpful. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking! We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, close to amenities and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They do not have parking so it is a little bit cumbersome if you are driving to find parking and then check-in. Hefty police fines if you drive in the old town (as a tourist it is very easy to make a mistake and end up in the pedestrian only part of old town). But then, this is not the hotel fault.

    Great hotel conveniently located close to all attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff, Kudos to Julia!!. 24-hour Front desk service. Comfortable and clean room. Will come back to this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.8
    It’s close to attractions and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I find that solo travelers get the worst room in the house and this was no exception. There was only one TV channel. The amenities were very basic and I feel that I didn’t get value for money (maybe because it was Easter weekend and this is Florence?) It’s in an old building (as probably everything is in Florence) so certain things like an electric outlet beside the bed were not available.

    It’s close to attractions and shopping. The breakfast was excellent, serving green beans and zucchini (as it would be pizza and pasta all day otherwise).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.0
    Spirit of seventies
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don´t have any negative expirience.

    Very good place, I have visited a few years ago. I like this place for itś spirit of old palace on the bank of Ardo river. It is nice walk around in small corridors and monitor life. There are 2 lines of Hip Hop buses and this tour give you good survey about location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    The room was really nice and the view was insanely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was in a different building, a cafe a few buildings down. The WiFi was spotty.

    The room was really nice and the view was insanely amazing! The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Great value for money, and I'll be happy to return on my next visit to Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's in a superb location, remarkably quiet for the proximity to the city centre. They offer a wonderful buffet breakfast, lots of different items (cereals, bread, cheese and hams, yoghurts, fruit, pastries, cakes, hot items, juices, choice of coffee...). The staff is friendly and helpful. My room was compact but clean and comfortable, with tea/coffee and bathroom supplies replenished daily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.6
    Terrific location and wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was lovely and had heated towel racks. The breakfast served at the restaurant a few doors away was delicious. The staff were tremendously helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was amazing, the bathroom was outstanding with a Jacuzzi bathtub and very big for two people. The room with a view to the river was great. The breakfast was spactacular and the reception was always helpfull and pleasant. Overall the stay was great!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    The room was quite nice -- very old-fashioned, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is quite warm sometimes.

    The room was quite nice -- very old-fashioned, clean and tidy. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide selection of food and drinks. Hotel wifi was great -- far better than that of our hotel in Rome. The hotel is in a nice location, walking distance to the shopping areas, Duomo, and nice bridges.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great location for that Florence has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The taps on the bath and the shower head were almost falling off the wall! A bodged repair had been attempted. But not good enough for the cost of the room. That said it didn’t spoil my stay.

    Great location for that Florence has to offer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    İt was an ancient building from The 15 th century.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we booked The room The offered price changed inthe hotel because of The cıty tax.we weren't informed about this.

    İt was an ancient building from The 15 th century.İ felt surprised.The bed was quite big and very very comfortable.İt was in The heart of The cıty bu The River Arno....The staff was magnificient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.1
    Generaly ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi very poor. One suit was perfect the other one poor. Very huge difference in quality for almost the same amount!!! This influenced my evaluation of value for money. If I have just one (better one) suit I will give much better rewiev.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    5.0
    I am disappointed, unfortunately the photos on booking are...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am disappointed, unfortunately the photos on booking are not exactly corresponding to the hotel . The modern room I was looking when I booked the hotel are in the sister hotel Alfieri few steps away from hotel Bretagna where they serve breakfast also for the guest of hotel Bretagna . I think this information should be more accurate in order to avoid such kind of unpleasant surprise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    9.6
    Would go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet wasn't working while we were there because of a problem with the supplier but could be obtained in the breakfast café next door for some reason

    Location within easy walking distance of everything Breakfast excellent with wide choice ( taken in partner café next door ) Staff friendly and informative Excellent bathroom facilities ( we were in room 10 )

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    10
    Beauty & history with today's comforts, great location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was wonderful!

    This is a former 14th century palace renovated in a romantic style located on a beautiful view of the canal. So lovely inside, from the doors to the ceilings! The rooms are fabulous, with tasteful, comfortable furnishings and a bathroom to die for! Such interesting lighting abounds, as Italians do so well, and the bathroom has every convenience imaginable! The staff was so professional and warm and very helpful to suggest places to see and restaurants to enjoy. Breakfast was top notch as were the staff, everything was wonderful and extremely well done! If you enjoy art and the style of an earlier Florence, mixed with the tasteful comfort of today you will love staying here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.2
    The overall experience was very good. The feeling of Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The efficiency of some details (shower, heating) maybe not perfect. These need some improvements.

    The location is excellent! Also the price was very interesting (special offer). The room was clean, quiet and the bed comfortable. Excellent breakfast at Altieri on Lungarno included in the price of the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff, wonderful location. Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was enormous, but the only windows were the doors, so we could not leave a window open.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the location was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is fantastic.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spend the extra money on the better room. It will have more space and the possibility of a nice view as well.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic. Just far enough from major sites to keep a bit of quiet, but within walking distance of it too. The place nearly next door for breakfast is good food, just be sure to get the order card in the night before.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    5.0
    Better options than this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very old, the shower had to be held in hand as there was no place to put on the wall. Sheets on the bed we very outdated and had a musky smell to them and aslo in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.9
    Great break....no issue with the staff, clean room ..... but don't pay top dollar to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No where to eat in the building....no public lounge .....breakfast area, outwith hotel about three buildings along the street.....when coffee requested.....arrived tepid.....but hey I was on holiday in the heart of Florence, nice restaurant next door to hotel and why drink coffee when you can drink wine.

    Nice hotel right next to the Arno River and just along from the Ponte Vecchio bridge....so location fab....bit over priced for a basic hotel.....especially if you end up in the older part, the entrance leaves a lot to be desired and bit disconcerting.....but staff fine when you find them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in downtown Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was nearby common toilet and while being used at night or early morning - noisy. I guess in the summer there might be mosquitos from the river. In end of October I had one in my room and saw one more inside of the hotel so make sure you get some repellent.

    Amazing safe location, walking distance to downtown just next to the river. Basic single room was comfortable and worth the money according the season. Breakfest amazing, staff kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    8.3
    Quite a nice hotel, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As mentioned, not easily accesed by public transport.

    It a great location for sightseeing, but not that good in terms of public transport and getting to or from the train station (if you dont want to take a taxi). The room was dated, realy needs some renovation, but still comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful - 10/10!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have 3 kind of rooms. The old one which are not nice and the new section that are just beautiful! We'll and just beautiful design! At the second and the third night We got a room in the new section with the river view. It was fantastic

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    8.8
    Short walks under a bright blue sky by the Arno
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very small, true it was a single room and I made the booking for my friend and I as I had been here on a spacious traditional room. Unfortunately tbey gave ME the tiniest one with roof view and at the back of the hotel. It is true we had an unbeatable price, therefore I didn t ask for a room change. We noticed mosquitoes, due to the rise of temperature.But a hotel has to have a mosquitoe desinfection from time to time to avoid this.

    Great Location! In front of the Arno and very near main roads. Many restaurants around and a couple of meters from Ponte Vecchio.Great views from Registration desk area. Great continental breakfast with fresh croissants, fruits, yogurts, cakes, omelette, etc on a modern cafe a few meters away from main building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked it all

    View of Arno River from our room! Incredible breakfast located on River with wide selection of fluffy eggs, bacon, cappuccino, pastries and fruit. Location was excellent near Ponte Vecchio and lovely shopping street! Very safe. Staff at reception welcoming. Would stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our week in Florence. The weather was good, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We arrived late in the evening, the taxi dropped us at the end of the block so we had to walk along the sidewalk with luggage to the hotel. It was difficult to see the sign at first.

    The location was great, breakfast was fantastic, front desk staff very helpful, room was quiet, bed comfortable, but could have used another small chair in room. Our family enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    7.1
    What it lacks is modern comfort it makes up in charm, location, breakfast and welcoming staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because it’s an old house, the room wasn’t very soundproof. Nor was the room and bathroom equipped like we’ve come to expect in hotels.

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast isn’t in the hotel but a cafe 3 doors down the street. It’s delicious! The hotel is an old palace / house with a lot of charm. Location next to the water inside the cultural centre, could not be better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    5.0
    Not good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water pressure in the morning was not good. A shower would take you twice the normal time. We had to call reception in order to have water the first day, they open the pipe, we heard the water coming and the air blowing through the pipe. Finally, the water came, and as soon the water arrive, a guy knock the door, and he ask us if we have water, we said, the water just arrive, but the guy said, why do you complain, I see the water running. ... Really? That was so annoying. We had to take the shower early in the morning, otherwise after 8 am, wasn't enough pressure.

    I like the location, and the breakfast. They have a wonderful breakfast in a cafe neraby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great room (4th floor), fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on the 4th floor but our friends were in an older room on the 3rd floor.

    The room was very modern and has been recently renovated. The breakfast at the partner café on the street below was superb, along the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    4.6
    location is not everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was nowhere near close to what is down in the picture, quite big but very dark with a small window. What was really disappointing is the fact that there was mold in the room (ceiling) and even after declaring that my wife was asthmatic and pointing out the related health concerns the staff would not allow us to switch rooms unless we paid for an upgrade.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    A must stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing wrong It looks plain from outside but a real surprise when inside

    Love the history of the building If you like original and antique stay in room 2 You will not believe it. Then the new suite upstairs is amazing as well totally modern and a great contrast We stayed in both and would stay there again Great location right by river

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    6.5
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was quite shabby, dirty paintwork and quite old fashioned - sink plug got stuck so needed to be fixed which it was - also complained because the toilet dripped all the time very annoying at night - that was not fixed - I would go to this hotel again but only if we had a renovated room

    Breakfast was great Position of hotel great Staff really helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    8.3
    We love the decoration, very classical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Triple bed room is a little bit hot.

    We love the decoration, very classical. Breakfast is very good and you can have a very nice view because the river and old bridge just on you side. It is very convenient from the hotel to everywhere in Florence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    6.3
    Very dissapointed.Our Hotle in lucca was 100 a week extra and was exeptonal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was a converted house. The room was too hot even though it had air conditioning but the ceiling was really high so not effective. We had to have a fan on in the room. There was no breakfast room except outside next door. No bar or other facilities. no where to sit and chill.

    Large Bed and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    10
    Walls are probably 6 mt which makes the room very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are probably 6 mt which makes the room very spacious and the painting of ceiling is amazing when you lay down. The location is great, we're able to walk around with our 5 year old kid. We'll absolutely book here next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    8.8
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Antique furnitures in the room are old which might be liked by some people but not for us.

    Breakfast is great.Location is good, closed to the river side is a plus.Lots of shops and restaurants are nearby. Staffs are kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.8
    Loved Florence and location of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was really an apartment no services whatsoever . Very old and tatty reception and entrance area. As I say the room we had was fantastic ( junior suite with river view) non renovated rooms may be a little less opulent.

    Room had just been renovated and was swish modern . Not sure what other rooms are like

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old property...... needs to be revamped

    The location of property is nice. The hotel needs renovation..... the air conditioning did not work even after our repeated complaints. They gave us a fan in the room on second night. It was not the worth the money spent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    8.8
    Old elegance with beautiful river and bridge view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The extra bed (we had a three person room) was very hard and my hip was sore if I slept on my side for too long.

    An old building right on the river with the Ponte Vecchio a hundred yards away. Beautiful view of the river, the bridges and Santo IspirituThe building was old and elegant in details but could use some better preventative maintenance. It did not effect our enjoyment of the place. They had a good desk staff that was fluent in many languages. They were able to convert my dollars into euros with no delay. They had an arrangement with a café a few doors away which was the best buffet we found in our three weeks of travel. Café had extensive choices in eggs, meats, fruits, pastries and beverages. All the capuchinos you wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Outstanding location & venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Facilities were in excellent order and condition, exceptionally clean. The bathroom was large, impeccably clean and fittings were of the highest standard. Our bed was large, super comfortable and we slept very well due to excellent acoustics. The staff were superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    10
    Best in Florence with river views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly beautiful views from both our deluxe junior suites. Fantastic breakfast with very attentive service and the last but not least very knowledgeable front desk with great tips and advices! Would love to return soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    8.8
    Close proximity to all major tourist attractions; friendly staff; amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the plugs in the bedroom weren't working.

    Close proximity to all major tourist attractions; friendly staff; amazing breakfast at designated cafe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.9
    Amazing breakfast selection and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were nothing special and kind of a bummer. Also our shower was dirty.

    Amazing breakfast selection and friendly staff. The perfect location. Would come back just for the free breakfast and location alone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    3.8
    Location and breakfast
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is different like picture on booking. Hotel is old and smell very bed. Toilets smell bad in rooms. Reception have bad service. Never go for this price in this hotel again. No parking!

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    4.6
    Think double before book it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is too high up with lots stair but did not mention in the booking info. Not suitable cor you g kids or olderly people. Share bath roim is not fun and room has no AC, internet super slow. Not worth for 200€/night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Hotel Bretagna was perfect, we wished we were staying longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was perfect, spotlessly clean and quite a large space. The bed was very comfortable, extra pillows were provided. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast was an amazing selection. We were worried about driving into the ZTL zone for parking at the hotel, but it was so simple. We informed reception staff that we had driven to the hotel, they organised parking in their parking lot behind the building and informed local traffic control of the car registration which cleared the vehicle in the ZTL for the previous 3 hours and onward. It was advised to inform staff if we needed to drive the car, but we had no intention of driving until check out as Hotel Bretagna is in a perfect location to see everything you would need to, on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    Great location right on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was not always sufficient to cool the room. Workers were painting rooms and hallway in the area and paint could be smelled in our rooms.

    Great location right on the river. Staff was very friendly and helpful. All spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.1
    Air conditioning let this hotel down ,big time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reported air conditioning twice was told engineer had been but no change ,put temperature on 16 degrees but room still very warm no blow our friends had done the same, very uncomfortable at night, very disappointed,waking several times each night sweating no proper sleep.

    Breakfasts were fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    The location was perfect for strolling around Florence and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having a screen on the window so I could have opened it at night in lieu of using the air conditioning. There was supposed to be an anti-mosquito plug-in which I never did find (nor did I pursue acquiring one, as the air conditioning was fine).

    The location was perfect for strolling around Florence and easily getting to all the noteworthy sites on foot. The staff were gracious and helpful and always cheerful! The room was quite comfortable, just perfect for my needs. I requested a room that was quiet, and indeed it was. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.3
    Fake photos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel has fake photos on booking.com.The hotel has two sections, a renovated one and a non renovated one. On booking.com appear only the photos of the renovate rooms. I booked my stay based on that, however what I experienced during is a completely different old, non-renovated room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.3
    The front desk staff was amazing - so kind, compassionate,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view from my small single room, but still comfortable. Spotty wifi at times.

    The front desk staff was amazing - so kind, compassionate, and helpful. Good location, great value, excellent air conditioning :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast, served in a small Nice lille cafe close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rom smelled bad , the aircondition didnt work good . The roome was clean, so the smell probably came from the bathroom ,

    The breakfast, served in a small Nice lille cafe close to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Friendly staff, very clean and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from air con units located close to the outside of our room and noisey during night. Would have preferred a better view.

    Breakfast was excellent with amazing views of the river at a local cafe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    7.1
    The location was fantastic, breakfast was available a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the room at all, it had a big platform with stairs leading upto it in front of the window as it was very high and you could only see out by climbing up the stairs. This consequently took up far to much space in the room, nowhere to sit & relax only on the bed. I realise they are very old buildings in Florence & that adds to the ambience of the hotel but unfortunately I was very disappointed with our room.

    The location was fantastic, breakfast was available a few doors down at a lovely cafe/bar. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    5.4
    Never repeat my stay in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is very good

    There is a big different between the pictures of the hotel (rooms, reception...) than the reality,,, its the same but the played with filters of the pictures. It should be same as the reality. The internet is very poor in the room i must stay in out side my room to get the signal!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    9.6
    Loved Hotel Bretagna's location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the hotel is on the Arno river, there are mosquitos. Although the mosquitos did get into the room, before I noticed the message on the window, they didn't cause me a problem. The room was a bit small, however, would be comfortable for two.

    Hotel Bretagna is located in a very picturesque area. Close enough to Pointe Vecchio, high-end and market shopping, and also cafes. I really loved that the breakfast buffet was delicious and of excellent variety. Also, the hotel and room were clean and comfortable. I do plan to return on my next visit to Florence.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.3
    Faded charm from another era.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room needs updating. There's a coffee pot (water boiler), but you need to unplug the TV, move a chair and put it on the floor to use it. Also, you have unplug the hair dryer in the bathroom to recharge a phone. Not enough outlets, particularly at the desk -- where there are none. The building is historic, but not particularly well maintained. The lobby is on the second floor, a sign directing you there would be a nice addition. The public rooms are neglected. There is a bar that is not opened and sitting rooms that are a little dodgy. Staff works with what they have, but the property needs some investment to make it competitive.

    High painted ceilings give property a classic, elegant impression. Good location, great view of Ponte Vecchio and river from balcony off the lobby. Comfortable bed. Staff was helpful and cheerful. Breakfast (in a bar/restaurant a couple of doors down) was an ample buffet. Tasty and well prepared.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No drink or bar service in the hotel and pulled a bit too hard for my taste.

    Excellent location on the Arno River and near all important sites. Friendly, efficient staff helped with anything you wanted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was low quality No plug for bath Air con not cool enough Window had view of roof and strange metal stairs to get to window Very basic which wasn't reflected in the price! Felt more like a hostel than hotel!

    The location was great The staff were very helpful Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.3
    Great position for seeing Florence. Property has lots of history but not very modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property is very old and is still being modernised. Certain facilities were not working well .No english channels on TV.

    Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    7.5
    Best view of the River Arno. Quaint Italian. No restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No attached restaurant. Small dark room. Entrance is confusing as it is more like an apartment block.

    We were very pleased to arrive at the hotel with beautiful views of the River Arno. The hotel looked over it. The location was fantastic next to the designer shops and restaurants. It was a little hard to get to from the train station as we were traveling by speed train. So next trip will just cab it there! It was a little pricey for the room size we booked having come from Rome and for the same budget was given a lovely room. Florence may be a more expensive city overall too. But will certainly return due to its amazing location. Meals were down the street on an adjacent building but the food was excellent with fresh produce from the Tuscan Hills.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    3.3
    Noisy needs updating and watch out for the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Avoid!! While on first appearances all looks well, until… - Workmen starting at 8am on the dot with drills and hammering...... if the hotel requires work then they should not be putting people in rooms 2, 4 or 6 they are facing an internal courtyard which echo’s the work and is very loud, you can hear EVERYTHING… the glass is very thin and the shutters do not help. They should also advise the other guests that work is going on through certain dates so people have the option. - One of the workmen was welding with no screen, on the ground floor just as you come out of the lift, so you dont expect it. Again people should be warned, it is dangerous to peoples eyesight. - One night an alarm in the neighbouring building was going off all night, I queried with staff if they knew what was going on… assuming they would be interested in what was disturbing their guests, but no. After a couple of calls they finally did investigate and they were going to ring the police.... the alarm did not stop until 6:25am! While the alarm is not the fault or in the control of the hotel the workmen that then started at 8am are! They could have been more considerate, due to the alarm issue. - One of their parking assistants left their phone in the car while getting it out of the parking area. We did not notice until we were at the airport returning the car that day. We gave it to the car rental desk and explained. Once home the next day I had a number of E-Mails from the hotel harassing me and threatening me the police if I do not tell them what has happened to it by the end of the day! – Needless to say accusing me of a crime when staff leave their own personal equipment in the car is not acceptable and I will be putting in a formal complaint…. What if we had been travelling to Australia and could not meet their deadline?? Or did not see it in the car if it slipped down the side of the seat?!? - Beds are far too hard. Also 2 singles pushed together, so not a double!

    The location was Ok for the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.1
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no hair conditioner in bathroom. Desk staff was pleasant, but not proactive. Seemed to give the typical tourist option restaurants, rather than anything really interesting. We had an issue with laundry drop off that I had to make a pressing issue, rather than the hotel trying to resolve it. (Aka- it was lost and not back the day we were leaving and still dirty.) They gave us a little off the room for it, but it was very tense.

    Very good included breakfast. Room was huge. Weird carve out into room might have made a storage closet for the hotel. It created a platform in the room that was kind of odd and kind of noisy. Shower worked, but would have liked it to be larger. Surprisingly noisy for a courtyard. I do not think they have a room with a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit dated, but for the money, it was great value

    The Staff were friendly and helpful. The location was brilliant. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bretagna Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: