Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bristol Palace 4 stars

Via XX Settembre 35, Genoa Historical Centre, 16121 Genoa, Italy

#12 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4038 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Bed and the bed side carpet were so slippery that we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and the bed side carpet were so slippery that we had difficulty to stand still. However it is a beautiful and very clean hotel. Breakfast has all kinds of wellness , gluten free, etc. buffet. Staff was helpful, breakfast waiters and waitresses were always smiling and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception. Staff always under pressure. Never had time to give any I formation about location e.g. Things to see, shopping , restaurants etc. We were told to come back when not busy. It was always busy

    Location. Bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Classy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing style, you wipl feel like in a palace. The staircase is just breathtaking. Also the location is just perfect. Even if it's in the centre next to a busy road, it is not noisy at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel besides unfriendly front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly unfriendly front desk staff (multiple times) - I don’t know how you can let this happen in such a nice hotel Skip the (frozen) pancakes or get different ones Parking a bit pricy

    Great location, great room, good breakfast on Terrasse, friendly breakfast and room personnel, best value for money in Liguria trip

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located, attractive boutique hotel with comfortable rooms and beautiful interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar is a little uninspiring - it could do with some new furniture to give it a more up to date, exciting feel.

    Beautiful rooms and attractive interior furnishings (especially the very impressive oval staircase up the center of the property). The breakfast was also excellent. Check in and check out was very easy. The location couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Central location. Excellent service. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar drinks were very expensive. 12 euros for a gin and tonic - and not a special gin either. Got stung and wouldn't use the bar again for that reason.

    Great hotel. Central location. Excellent staff. Breakfast staff were especially friendly. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Landmark place in the centre of Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had only one day in this Splendid hotel and town :) the bath tube could have been renovated.

    the quadralupe room was large and very comfortable for a family with kids.The location is great, the services quality, too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Good quality hotel at reasonalbe price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bar area is rather un-inspiring and definitely needs some attention. A drink in the bar is not a great experience (although staff is very pleasant). Unfortunately for the style and quality of the hotel the bar deserves a better place. Corridors of the hotel could do with a little bit of tlc.

    Being a 4-star hotel like the Bristol Palace you will have a lot to live up to. The entrance hall with its eclipse shaped central staircase is beautiful. The room size (superior room) is above average for a city based hotel and a well laid out and good size bathroom complete this well. Breakfast is very pleasant (although they could improve the quality of the cappuccino, being in Italy!). Air-conditioning in the room can be set at freezer temperature and is more then sufficient. Helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, well situated and it helped to make our stay very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of leisure facilities ie a swimming pool.

    The staff at the desk were always polite and helpful. The restaurant staff at breakfast managed the early morning rush for all the conference delegates very professionally and there was a good selection of food. Overall, we were both very happy with our stay. Room clean and a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely stay in the hotel and were really pleased as it was so central without being noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom looked great but the over-bath shower was pretty uncomfortable to use due to it being very narrow and the danger of hitting the temperature control while showering! The glass shower screen did not meet the edge of the bath meaning water escaped on to the floor. The washbasin set in the worktop seemed to be squint as again water from the badly designed tap ran on to the floor. On reflection we should have asked for a room with a shower cubicle,

    Nice room on 3rd floor, comfy bed, pillows. Air conditioning efficient. Room kept in clean condition. Breakfast room lovely with terrace. Staff very helpful. Good range of breakfast but no cereals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Treat yourself to a little luxury -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night!!! It's a real pity we couldn't have stayed longer but our schedule meant we were on a tight time-frame.

    Valet parking, buffet breakfast even though we are vegetarian, excellent location in the historic city centre, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Splendid hotel in town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor, slow service in restaurant for dinner and food arrived cold after a lengthy wait. Would not recommend eating there. Breakfast was self service chaos! Difficult to find hotel

    Very efficient,friendly, helpful receptionist staff and very fast and effective parking valet- it does cost 27Euros- but worth it. Lovely spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    2.5
    Basically we walked out and found a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet wasn’t cleaned at all.

    The welcome, well there wasn’t one! Just a very bland grumpy receptionist. The room was not as the pictures state, the toilet was still dirty and hadn’t been cleaned. We ended up walking out and not staying. There are much better choices for your money in Venice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing entrance with beautiful staircase, even better in 3D. Easy check in and our room was ready and waiting even though it was 9.30am, a real bonus. Very convenient to explore Genoa, and very close to velobus for airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Liked hotel well enough that I have rebooked when I return to Genoa at end of week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negative comments

    Great location and excellent, friendly, and helpful staff. Near many major attractions, restaurants, and Genoa subway. Room was quite spacious for a single. Good selection of international TV stations and newspapers European NYT)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, interesting City. Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was very disappointed when checking out to find that the hotel charged us 3 euros per person per night for city tax which, according to my Booking.com paperwork had already been included in the price at a cost of 2 euros per person per night. After much discussion with the Manager I ended up having to pay an extra 42 euros to cover our seven nights because he was pretty intransigent. He maintained that the tax had gone up 'just before our stay'. I fully understand that we have to pay the tax, however I have NEVER been asked to pay this by the hotel when checking out in the past and I have booked many hotels with Booking.com. It is very difficult to know what you have actually paid when the hotel takes payment in Euros and this is then converted into GBP on one's statement and with the exchange rate fluctuating so much this can be very confusing.

    The hotel was lovely - the staircase is very much a talking point. Breakfast was good. Bedroom was nice and the bed linen and towels were changed daily and the sheets turned down while we were out in the evening which was a nice touch. Restaurant staff were very polite and helpful. Location is great - it's easy to get to by public transport from the airport and is in walking distance of all the central sites of Genoa and the port/harbour area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Please renovate your rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the bathroom was not like on the picture (it was really old plumbing, look like 1980's) - room was old too, dirty old rugs - terrible view - very bad mattress (very hard to sleep)

    - great location - wonderful breakfast - amazing interior (classic and beautiful)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Going to Genoa? Book Hotel Bristol Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say here.

    Fabulous place to stay in Genoa. Very welcoming staff,. Valet car parking. Room excellent, bathroom better than excellent! Dinner was delicious. Breakfast was also good if a little busy, everyone seemed to arrive at the same time but the staff were very helpful. Would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Location was very good although not easy to find ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife was bitten numerous times in night not sure what bit her. Mosquito or bed bugs.

    Location was very good although not easy to find Restaurant meal was top notch as was service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel. A bit large and corporate but the rooms are nice. Make sure you get a refurbished room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking our cars (three of them) was a bit painful as they had to be put in a local garage. It was nice and secure but is was a bit of a fuss unloading the cars in a busy street and waiting for someone to take us to the garage.

    I had a refurbished room and it was very nice. The size was adequate and the bathroom was very nice. The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Ideal location in trendy area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good.

    Pleasant location and can walk everywhere from hotel. Liked the old fashioned elegant room and public spaces in hotel. Beautiful marble modern bathroom. We booked the superior room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location. Clean bed, but very little else to excite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply didn’t live up up to my expectations. Photos on website give a much grander impression of the reality. Staff pleasant enough, but rather too slapdash in attitude. No attention to detail.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel from the outside but we were expecting more in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor noise cancelation between the rooms, we were able to listen all the conversations from near by rooms. For sure not value for money....

    Great design in the heart of the Genoa. Gave us easy access to everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Fab location very close to the old town and heritage centres.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point - shower was a little temperamental!

    Fab location very close to the old town and heritage centres. Lovely traditional well maintained decor in keeping with the area. Very helpful staff who recommended a great restaurant that didn’t cost the earth. Big room and bathroom with good facilities. Great breakfast choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Good on site restaurant where food was excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial impression of shabby entrance hidden between shops

    Good on site restaurant where food was excellent and atmosphere of grandeur from the past now “shabby chic”. Mid range prices if choose inexpensive wine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area disastrous, very slow, congested with no privacy.Staff hassled and not welcoming.Checkout out took half an hour! Parking is offsite and costs €27 per day. Bar is small and lacks atmosphere. Breakfast very poor value for money.

    Comfortable hotel. In good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    The best place to stay in Genoa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One tiny criticism would be the shower in the bathroom, which impossible to regulate before getting in and getting drenched with coldish water. Even though the shower was quite large, the rain head was located very close to one end, so you had to stand practically touching the end wall to get showered. Fortunately, there was also a hand-held shower which allowed for a little more navigation room.

    The place to stay in the center of old Genoa, this is a beautiful old world style hotel with some fabulous and unique features like the eye-popping elliptical staircase and plaster decorated and frescoed ceilings. We booked a superior room and it was very spacious, with a great bathroom. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, and the morning staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the centro storica and porto antica by foot. The city of Genoa is very interesting — full of grand architecture and classical details, but a bit on the shabby side — which makes it more authentic than touristy. Most Americans probably wouldn't like it, since they seem to prefer places that are more carefully coiffed and sanitized, but we ate it up!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    A lovely experience with most things taken care of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A iron in the room would have made the facilities on par with equal rating hotels.

    Position, quality and food were excellent and staff went out of their way to help you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Delightful historical hotel in the centre of Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were wide, comfy & with lovely crisp cotton bedding. In fact, quite luxurious.The breakfast was delightful & filled all requirements. The hotel 's situation is perfect for a visit to Genoa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was our room was number 221 which was very close to the function room and when staff were cleaning up for the evening it was very noisy until nearly midnight.

    The beds were extremely comfortable, breakfast good, it was in an excellent location for visiting the historic centre. The hotel itself is beautiful. The restaurant has very nice food for the evening meal. The bathroom was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is perfectly located in the center few steps away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly located in the center few steps away from old city and Ferrari square. Awesome spiral staircase comes from the lobby to all floors with beautiful mosaic on the ceiling of the top floor. Excellently trained staff do everything to keep you in great mood during your whole stay. The restaurant in the hotel is very good and with prices comparable with restaurants in the neighborhood. Valet parking allows you not worrying about your car. One call to the reception and in 10 minutes your car is right in front of the main entrance. We stay in Bristol Palace in 2013. Five years passed but everything is kept on the highest level of hospitality and comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is located on one of the busiest shopping street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were plenty, but not there where most urgently needed: The few at the breakfast room were so busy cleaning tables etc. that it was impossible to get even a cup of cappuccino. A clear management problem.

    The hotel is located on one of the busiest shopping street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location for city center exploration and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and furniture was a bit “weathered” but size of room and cleanliness out weighed thisenjoyable

    Received upgrade to suite which was a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A beautiful hotel - stylish, well located, and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    I was given a very warm welcome upon arrival, check in was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was given a very warm welcome upon arrival, check in was quick and efficient. impressive lobby with one of the most stunning staircases in the world. I will use the place again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The location is great although it is not that close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The location is great although it is not that close to the port and train station. The hotel is the very classy Italian grand hotel style.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a fantastic stay at Hotel Bristol Palace on the last night of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a junior suite which had a beautiful private terrace. Wonderful staff and service throughout - they could not do enough to make our stay extra special. We also decided to eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening and weren't disappointed - delicious food and perfect service from Marco. Great central location - short walking distance from all the major sights, perfect for our short stay in Genova Slight confusion when checking out as we had already paid on booking.com but this wasn't shown on the reception system - easily sorted out though with minimum fuss! Thank you for a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Very nice atmosphere, very clean , near to the mean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice atmosphere, very clean , near to the mean atractions of the city. Breakfast was great , with nice view ... The price is worth it specialy if you travel as a couple. We will be back !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    A taste of old world charm with outstanding service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When our coffee order was taken for breakfast we never got the coffees. A shame when everything else was lovely.

    The bar was a nice change, friendly multi lingual staff who’s drink suggestions made our evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    minor amendments needed to become excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air condition noisy (esp at nights) and not controllable, low water pressure in the shower

    Location, friendly and effective staff, comfort, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    The ambience was Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At 6th floor the sound isolation between rooms extremely poor. The learning personnel at accommodation was underqualified.

    The ambience was Super! The Experienced staff excellent!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed staying in such a historic venue full of class and glamour. Just change those beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Only downside was the bed which was very hard and uncomfortable. There was a minor plumbing issue that was a bit annoying.

    Atmosphere. Warmth. Breakfast, staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful historic hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was a great choice at breakfast and it was served in the most beautiful, which really started our day nicely. It was a treat to stay in such a historic hotel in such a good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Old world feel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Parking was really expensive and roomservice cost 16 euros . Breakfast was included but no one mentioned the 16 euro charge !!!

    Old world feel .Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Elegant and interesting hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit awkward.

    Elegant, old-world style. Friendly and professional staff. Free room upgrade! Incredible architecture in its staircase. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance is easy to miss as it is quite small between shops along a covered arcade. We'd have preferred to have the room a little warmer (altering the air conditioning didn't seem to make any difference) but it was not so cold as to be worth complaining about. Overall this was a very comfortable stay and we would recommend it to others.

    Well located, spacious and comfortable. Elegant decor. Surprisingly quiet and peaceful given the location directly on a main shopping street. The valet parking is very useful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Great for a romantic weekend getaway with a historical ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is beautiful and they are focusing on old-school fine dining with a modern twist. Personally I rated the staff and environment higher than the actual food, it's almost like they are trying too hard but lack the skill getting all the way to the top.

    Very central and very traditional, it feels like travelling back in time so if that's your cup of tea you're in for a treat. This is city centre and everything will be walking distance, if you come by car they have a valet parking service at a charge. Very smooth, very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice interior, spacy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wouldnt recommend to upgrade the double room to superior. It wasnt worth of spending, double room is good enough.

    Very nice interior, spacy rooms. Luxury hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Great location and fabulous restaurant for both breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were quite uncomfortable

    Great location and fabulous restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Would love to come back in the warmer weather to eat out on the terrace. Love the old world charm that has been retained. Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    The building is great - lots of original details and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing between rooms is minimal. So if your sideways neighbour cough at night, or makes a phonecall, you will know. If your upstairs neighbour flushes the toilet, you will know. The hotel playlist that was piped to all common areas, had some very nervous jazz music - we did not eat in the hotel restaurant just to avoid it.

    The building is great - lots of original details and great decor. The staff show tremendous ownership....very friendly and very competent. So my hat off to them. The breakfast buffet was great. The bar was very nice too. It is also a great place to explore to city from; everything is within walking distance. And I must add I really liked Genova better than Rome or Florence....less crowded, less touristy and somehow more genuine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel building is magnifiscent, especially the staircase...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel building is magnifiscent, especially the staircase and dining room. Breakfast was very good. The staff was attentive and helpful. Location of the hotel is excellent, on the main artery of the city, close to the historical center and main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Location is perfect - could do better, especially re black stains around tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs better care as there were black stains around tub, balcony-window door needs to be replaced, very small lobby area

    Location is perfect, breakfast was good, staff was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous, awesome and Great staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any

    Excellent location and Great value for money. Staffs were warm and friendly, always ready to assist whenever we need support. Hotel is fabulous and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.6
    Terrible breakfast made bad impression
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is awful, no variety, bad coffee (in Italy?!). Also I asked for recommendation from receptionist to have a good dinner in a good local cuisine restaurant, she recommended me touristic restaurant where prices were three times higher than usual (25-30€ for spaghetti).

    Hotel is located in the city center, that’s the only advantage. Room looks good, bed is comfortable. Good interior.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel with a great location that lacked a welcoming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were professional but lacked warmth. I didn`t feel welcomed which was a shame.

    The breakfast was scrumptious. The location splendid. The room had a certain grandeur and was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic building in the center of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathrobe in the room

    Fantastic building in the center of the city. Great choice of restaurants, coffee shops and shops in the area. Excelent staff. Very confortable room. Good breakfast and wi-fi. Good offer of TV channels. It is always my choice whenever I go to Genova

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very well placed near shopping and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked the male receptioniste to help us book a table a small typical Genoa restaurant. We asked at the desk and phoned him 3 times for the table reservation and finally he could not arrange a table for 2. One phone call later by ourselves we had a table! This guy is not **** quality!

    The hotel is very well placed near shopping and restaurants. Valet parking made the parking very easy and was reasonably priced at 27€ Very spacious room in good condition though bed a bit hard for my taste.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    A great stay in Genoa which the hotel was a big part of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and the hotel was very comfortable. We had a great meal in the restaurant and really enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful staircase in the hotel...worth going there for that!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Clean rooms, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to hotel could be signposted better. I was told by yourselves that I was to pay the hotel direct but when I went to pay you had already taken my money. Not impressed!

    Clean rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly standard average breakfast and coffee wasn't so great. It's an old building so don't expect super modern finishings.

    Really beautiful old building in a superb location. The room was very comfortable. Easy valet parking. Great location for the old town and the harbour is easily reached on foot or 2 stops on the metro train from De Ferrari station which is just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay (and eat) in Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken up at 07:00 by the banging of machines, apparently from an adjacent room. Washing machines? So make sure you get a room well away from service centre. Sounding proofing is well up to Italian standards (= pretty awful)

    The room was spacious and very well appointed. The bathroom had been very well modernized.The common areas luxuriously decorated in empire style. Staff v competent and helpful. Location could not be better for a city visit. Dont bother to find a restaurant nearby. The hotel restaurant is first class.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Great Location and a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located just above the outside terrace - very noisy due to a Wedding Celebration. Valet Parking was great - but a little expensive.

    Great location in the centre of the City - comfortable and very clean. The Hotel staff were very helpful. Loved the staircase - I'm sure everyone says this. Very extensive breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful historical luxurious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms needs an update, it definitely felt like a blast from the past. The bath and shower was quite small so the entire area outside the bath was soaking wet after a shower.

    The hotel was really luxurious, the staff are really nice and friendly. The hotel was definitely really grand! The restaurant Giotto has great food as well. The spread of food for breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Elegant Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elegant hotel in a great location - Once belonged to the Queen of Spain and many famous people have stayed there such as Winston Churchill. Stunning staircase, comfy beds and large rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The separation in the Shower is not proper set up so water spilled over the floor after shower. The bathroom tub is too small to relax for a proper bath.

    Decent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location, please update the hotel soon!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather outdated and musty. Bed was super uncomfortable. Shower had warm water for a very limited time only. I would stay here again if rooms are updated.

    Location is great, only 20 mins by taxi to the airport and all sights walking distance. I loved the grandeur of the hotel. Personnel was very friendly but could use an English lesson or two. Breakfast was great as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay to explore this beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel in a central location. The staircase is amazing - you have to go to the top and look down. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The standard room wasn't huge but clean and decorated in warm sunny colours. We were not sure what to expect in Genoa, being a busy Port, but we pleasantly surprised by this lovely city with lots of history.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Live like Royalty !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fabulous !

    We were upgraded to a junior suite and were delighted. The hotel delivers on all levels but maintains and old world charm. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the staircase you see in the photographs is just stunning, and for that alone, its worth a visit. Cleanliness was exceptional even to the point that the tv remote came in a sealed, sterile plastic bag. 12.00pm check out is an advantage if you want to lie in, get out and see the city one last time, or catch a later flight. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and even came with champagne - yes, I did have a glass ! Genoa was a real surprise for us we loved they city and the hotel made the whole experience fabulous. Thanks Hotel Bristol, you were amazing !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    It ain't called a palace for nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This joint would be a tough act to follow. If I had to whine it would be as senior citizens used to early bird specials waiting for restaurants to open at 7, knowing a mammoth breakfast awaited the next morning.

    Told that the upgrade was because the room was available, it became an OMG experience for us (2 * travelers). This had to color our review, but there you go! The TV was huge compared to the other 5 rooms we were in on our trip with a full size couch in front of it. The corner room was even huger with a functioning balcony that looked out onto the (quiet) main street and down to the Ferrari plaza. The two sink bathroom and excellent shower were also part of the deal. The almost hidden entrance leads to the spectacular staircase that is shown in the pictures. The breakfast was a standout with plenty of space, tables with tablecloths, many selections and helpful staff. The location was central altho I wouldn't recommend the hike from the train station with suitcases- spend the 8 Euros for the 5 minute ride. Genoa was an afterthought for our Italian excursion but should have been our first thought. Over the top palaces and churches, busy waterfront and a variety of shops tucked away in dark, narrow alleys give the tourist plenty to do. Someone in our party managed to buy new shoes from the guy who made them in his shop while looking for a restaurant? The dark side of Genoa in gangster movies is nowhere to be seen. The streets are clean and people are friendly. The big group of people dressed like storefront cowboys doing the Texas two-step in a little plaza one night will remain a mystery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arriving by car it is not obvious where to park the car for the personnel to take it to the garage, but it is kind of normal given the very centric location

    Excellent hotel, perfect location and a wonderful personnel and service. Very nice breakfast. Looking forward to go back to this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    Not for people travelling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel seems nice. I felt that I have been given a room that was really not nice. The Windows go out to a office building and you could only block the views with a heavy curtain leaving you in a shoebox dark room. Everything seemed old and the furniture not well maintained. Nevertheless, I got a glimpse in other rooms, they seemed nicer.

    The breakfast was great, with a great choice of things in a nice venue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    The proper hotel to stay in Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon was over roasted. Americano was not good. Didn't have peaches for breakfast. We received 3d towel only on the second day. Never received a 3d cup and glass in the room.

    Cappuccino - perfect! Room and service - perfect. Young man on the reception was calm and polite and advised for every Q we had. Give him a bonus, please.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Superb, grand, hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A majestic and grand hotel in the centre of Genoa - luxurious surroundings, excellent large, clean rooms with modern well equipped bathrooms. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Easy walking to restaurants, 15 mins walk to Porto Antico. Highly rated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location in Genoa, good restaurants and grand architecture to be found close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately thin walls, all sounds/conversation penetrated clearly into room. Otherwise room was delightfully elegant

    Comfortable large bed; shower Over bath ; lovely breakfast ; good evening meal; excellent staff service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Ok, not amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was quite old and noisy, having to open the window at night for air, only to hear a lot of noise, first from a noisy air con vent, and then when we moved rooms, the noise from the street as it’s in the middle of the city

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bristol Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: