Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3 stars

Via Regina 41, 22011 Griante Cadenabbia, Italy

#11 of 16 hotels in Griante Cadenabbia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very little variety at breakfast from day to day, there is no attending staff to help with bags or with parking a car, and the housekeeping staff overlooks things like re-stocking toilet paper.

    The view, the pools, the outdoor terrace, and our room balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were okay but not beyond that. The dinning room gave a factory feeling with terrible breakfast and unfriendly staff. We were told was ready but discovered it was not. Need better instructions of how to get to the hotel’s parking lot which is not on the hotel premises.

    The location is good . The view out to the lake is great and the lobby is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the extra charge for a sunbed given booking.com mentions the swimming pool is "free". It's a little misleading. Didn't like the breakfast. Some of the staff were quite rude.

    We liked the accommodation and its location. It was quite dated but clean enough and facilities were lovely, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you like going abroad but being surrounded by your fellow Brits (retired or school children) and having a 'Little England' with more sun then this is the place for you. Breakfast of baked beans and chips, porridge made with water, wifi only in the reception area, many opportunities to change your booking to all inclusive, wine consisting not of an Italian Chianti etc but red or white, pasta where teeth aren't necessary. Reminded me of Fawlty Towers just a lot bigger. The pictures are deceiving - 8 euros to enter the 'infinity pool' which isn't an infinity pool. A busy main road between the hotel and the lake/ infinity pool. Very thin walls. Overly attentive waiters who want to know why a woman is travelling alone. Unfortunately it wasn't my kind of hotel. I only booked as the hotel where friends were staying (Grand Hotel Caddenabia) was booked out and I wanted a hotel nearby.

    The location and view over to Bellagio. Good morning coffee from the machine (don't accept it from the waiters).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not informed about available facilities during my stay. I left unsure whether I should have paid for the pool access or whether there was a boat available for lake transfer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks in bar fridge to pay for. Also no coffee facilities in room. No glasses in room, no room service, had to go down to get glasses from bar and helped myself from bar since no barman. Couldnt even get ice for myself. Hot breakfast dont have might give you food poisoning. Also reccomend bringing your own sodas and wine and beer for bar fridge in room as you have to go down 6 flights stories in a elevator . A 15 minute trip to get drinks , glasses and ice from bar of the barman is even there. Pity to see this beautiful hotel so worn down and all extras like that not even in room. No explanation of pool , have to rent a towel by the way 5 euro a day.

    View , location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift / elevator to last flor so you had to carry the luggage. No real double bed but two single beds put together

    Close to ferry to Belaggio and Varenna

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel , soaps etc are provided. Mini bar is empty Sink drain is jammed Bathroom light switch is not working Tv too small for size of room

    The view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel offers four star accommodation at three star prices. The staff are friendly and approachable and the rooms spacious ; well appointed and clean and the views from the front of the hotel sublime. The all inclusive package includes a vast array of beautifully cooked local and national dishes all of which can be consumed in the very spacious grand dining room with excellent views across the lake. The hotel is also superbly located for the Cadennabia ferry stop ( only 50 yards from the hotel ) which is just a short trip away from either Bellagio /Varenna and numerous other lakeside villages/towns( Not to mention Villa Carlotta which is also only a short walk away) Whilst at the hotel we enquired about possible trips that we might make and were advised by the very helpful Concierge on numerous possibilities . We finally decided on a trip to Tirano to take the Alpine train to St Moritz .............which we did and what a fantastic day that was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I did not like at this hotel. It is fantastic value for money. The lovely staff really make your stay special.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic - lakeside with a beautiful floating pool. The rooms are in grand local style and are immaculately clean. We had platinum wristbands which were amazing value for money and means you can eat at any of the restaurants on site. The food is freshly prepared and plentiful. Nicole makes a wicked cocktail at the easy vibe pool bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was this german seniors tour group of more than 100 people, it made the dining area very busy for breakfast and dinner, thats the only thing i really didint like it, wasnt peaceful to dine in there at all.

    Right by the lake, amazing view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one lakeside (busy) road on the west side of the lake. On our trip here the road had suffered a land slip so we had to drive there on the other lecco eastern side of the lake.

    Lovely location looking across the lake to Bellagio. Sadly it wasn't warm enough to use the pool that floats in the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really any major dislikes.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. We upgraded to all inclusive and glad we did as thoroughly enjoyed the other restaurants we could eat at, especially the Italian one. The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool towels provided - had to purchase at reception Buffet breakfast very limited Wifi didn't work in room

    Beautiful view across the lake towards Bellagio from room Nice restaurants close to hotel Close to ferry

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs at the pool were AWFUL because they only had two positions - almost flat and flat - extremely UNCOMFORTABLE if one wanted to sit up and read, which a lot of people did. THE PUBLIC AREAS OF THE HOTEL COULD DO WITH A REFURBISING - looking very tired and you could certainly use more staff when the tour busses arrive; the reception area is way too small at such times.

    The infinity pool, the free shuttle to Bellagio, food and drink at The Lido wrestaurant - very friendly pleasant staff there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How should I start ?!? Staff is really bad, rude and incompetent. We asked them to order us a taxi and we later discovered that they were commissioning (we over payed by 50%. Rooms are so tiny it is impossible to open the suitcase. Worst room I have seen in my life !! Breakfast is mediocre. They didn't change the towels or the sheets for the whole stay. There aren't any amenities. And to top it all on our last night we couldn't sleep until 4:30am because of noisy people in the hotel and the staff wouldn't dI anything about it

    The location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How should I start ?!? Staff is really bad, rude and incompetent. We asked them to order us a taxi and we later discovered that they were commissioning (we over payed by 50%. Rooms are so tiny it is impossible to open the suitcase. Worst room I have seen in my life !! Breakfast is mediocre. They didn't change the towels or the sheets for the whole stay. There aren't any amenities. And to top it all on our last night we couldn't sleep until 4:30am because of noisy people in the hotel and the staff wouldn't do anything about it.

    Location is the only positive point

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous hotel. Only good thing was location. Photos extremely deceiving. Stayed for a week and didn't have the towels or bedding changed once, even after asking. Room was small and dingy with urgent need of renovation. Shower was broken and freezing cold. Breakfast made us ill. Hugely overpriced for what you get. Highly recommend to avoid this hotel!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No free towels for the sun loungers (although only costs 5 euros for the week, not exactly anything to moan about - I just can't think of anything else negative!)

    Buffet breakfast wasn't as great as the other food but I only say this as the other food was so exceptional that my standards were higher than usual

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel decor and bedrooms are rather tired and in need of refurbishment. Car parking very limited and nearby car parks were full. Breakfast buffet very busy with limited selection of food.

    Excellent location with stunning views across Lake Como. The all-inclusive package was excellent value. Good dining alternative at nearly Lido owned by hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful. The rooms were small. The decor was terrible. The blankets the gave us were dirty. The staff was indifferent.

    the views were amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was the worst I've ever eaten in any hotel I've stayed at in 30 years. Don't be fooled in to getting their all inclusive packages. You end up eating elsewhere anyways, cause the food is inedible. The drinks are worthless as well.

    The location is decent. The rooms are okay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) Single room size - I had a single room which is the smallest I've ever seen. The small bed was wedged between the 3 walls with barely enough space to open your suitcase on the floor. The bathroom was tiny - as in you had to sit at an angle on the toilet otherwise your knees would hit the wall. 2) My walls were paper thin. I could hear conversations clear as day. I believe they housed their staff in the room next to mine which woke up at 6am every day and spoke very loudly and when they walked about my floorboards creaked very loudly. Therefore I did not have one decent nights sleep which was very frustrating. 3) Décor/Cleanliness - my room had mould on the curtains and lots of the skirting boards had been chipped away or eaten by wood lice. 4) Staff - those we dealt with were not helpful and sometimes very rude. e.g. on arrival to Como at night we rang the hotel to arrange a taxi. The receptionist said he was too busy and simply hung up. 5) Other - you have to pay for an extra key card to your room if you want more than one.

    Location was great being 2min walk to the ferry to Bellagio, 20min walk to Tremezzo with all its bars and restaurants, and a 10min loco train (like a toy train on the road) to Menaggio. Has a Nice little bar on the lake opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small improvements could be made in the rooms - bathroom could have been a little better as it's a tad basic, but over all was lovely.

    Amazing views from the room - huge room with extra beds! Fantastic value for money and an absolutely wonderful swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for chairs by pool. But guess that is standard on many hotels...

    Very good breakfast. You could also take icecream!! We bought half pension and the evening dinner was superb compared to the price. There was two pools and they were ok. But we have to pay extra for chairs at the pool. We expected it to be included in the price. Hotel is very central. Close to ferry. That was good because when we booked it was the nearest hotel with rooms. Only 5 km. Then the GPS took us to a ferry.... The hotel was on the vest side of lake. 2 hours driving if there was no ferry.... so we were lucky... Be careful with distances if there is a lake....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little tired and coachloads of pensioners make it feel more like a low cost cruise ship. Outdoor furniture was needing replaced. Downstairs bar was depressing. No wifi except in the lobby. Some staff were quite rude and not well trained. Beer tasted watered down and wine was "on tap" in the bar.

    View from room was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This has to be the worst hotel I have ever booked/stayed in. My husband and I were on our honeymoon, when we arrived to the hotel we were told by the Receptionist that they had overbooked and they had booked us into another hotel. The Receptionist told us to walk down the street and find it, which we couldn't. On our return to the hotel, we requested to have the room we actually booked. They eventually gave us a room in the hotel and said our room was a 'deluxe' room. By 'deluxe' they meant two single beds pushed together, the smallest shower you have ever seen and stained carpet. The air-conditioning didn't work properly in the room and it was stinking hot all night with no way to change the temperature. We stayed one night due to exhaustion and checked out the next day, the staff refused to give us our money back and were extremely rude. The picture of the hotel pool is clearly photo shopped as you have to walk across the road to the pool which is on a pontoon over the lake, not to mentioned that it looks nothing like the pictures. The parking is a nightmare, you have to drive/walk up a huge hill behind the hotel and you have to get in quick for a park. You are required to wheel your bags down the hill to get to the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem with this hotel and location is having to leave.

    The views from the hotel are stunning and cannot be beaten. The staff are really helpful, knowledgable and polite. A great selection of food at the buffet something to cover all tastes. The A la Carte restaurant is in a stunning separate building with options for inside and outside dining. The floating pool on the lake gave great opportunities for sun bathing and cooling off.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean It is not possible to lock the door It is not possible to take shower It is very poorbreafsst very crowded Everything is extra even to enter pool Safe very small No parking place

    Place of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of cleanliness, staff and their attitude and lack of help and kindness, dirty dishes around the corridor, rude greeting, no smiles or help with bags, no powerpoints!!!! Ripped chairs without couch pads out on terrace, they couldn't find our reservation so shoved us in a triple room- needless to say, extremely disappointed and dissatisfied. Should NOT be on booking.com

    Leaving

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Purchased a wristband for all inclusive food and drink, was then told in the evening there wasn't enough food available - this service could be managed better.

    Location is excellent, close to the shuttle, coach and ferry ports. Hotel pool is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet seat in the toilet on the ground floor. The toilet in the reception area could have been cleaner. It was a bit dated and tired. The staff worked really hard but not enough of them

    Swimming pool was good. A lot of extras to pay for. Towels and sun beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi not available in the room. Lack of standard hotel information in the room. eg what time breakfast? Check out time? Simplified advice sheet about ferry/boat times from cadenabbria and villa Carlotta.

    The hotel was beautifully presented inside. The swimming pools are fab. The location must be world class. Breakfast was great. I got a good deal with price. Room was plenty big enough for one person.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is something called a factory of tourists, then it is this place. Staff struggle to keep a smile. And all that to prices way above of the value you get. Not again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was under staffed. The rooms were run down . The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Our Friends had a room near ours that had a bathroom so small they had to come out of the bathroom to dry themselves. The alcohol served by the pool tasted watered down and flat

    We really loved the location and enjoyed the pool area .The staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful and worked really hard. The cleaning staff were efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi struggles a little when the hotel is full.

    The location is fabulous. Good selection of places to east within the hotel and the local area. The floating pool is really a bonus. The staff are really friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not in rooms. Staff found it inconvenient that our booking was allowed and they told us that booking .com should not have allowed our booking??? They did manage to find us a Tein room. So it all worked out OK.

    The swimming pool was amazing. Great place to relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved three rooms, one double room was OK, the second one was two times smaller. Very noisy during the night - motorcyclists were racing outside the whole night. No parking offered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very crowded. . Restaurant loud like a school dining room. The food must be significantly improved to be worth the money although inexpensive. Reception understaffed..

    Location perfect and nice relax areas by Lake Como. Room with a view. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tacky even for a package holiday. Staff were miserable and every day we overheard people complaining about things like their shower didn't work,room wasn't clean,food was disgusting etc. thankfully we didn't have any of the food and caught ferry to Bellagio for dinner each night. I would stay in Bellagio or menaggio over this area. I would also say the hotel wasn't 1.5-2 star. Certainly not 3 star.

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brochure says antique frniture and luxury fabric, in fact it's old painted furniture which is now in a shabby condition. Hotel seems to have gone out of their way to source cheap products. The food was bland, tasteless and poor quality, tinned fruit and salad soaked in vinegar or dry and bitter, unbelievable tasteless coffee and tea, none of which you would expect in Italy of all places! Toilet rolls disintegrated before even using them, cheap beds, cheap and minimal bathroom products which weren't replaced daily. They ripped off guests whenever they could, (extra charge for a second room key, sunbed charge for the 'free' pool which was across a busy main road, no wifi in rooms). Older all-inclusive guests seemed to like it so if you're a pensioner who likes canteen-style dining and need absolutely no facilities, it's fine, everyone else, stay away!

    Location quite good but on a busy main road. Room had a balcony so good views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron available for rooms... have to use the sole iron in the laundry room. Shower only, no bath. No shower gels provided etc. No face cloths provided, just a towel.

    Location, location, location. I booked a room with a balcony and lakeside view. Great to wake up to and very close to restaurants and the ferry stop. Clean room and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pressured to buy an all inclusive package the second we arrived. Breakfast was what you would get in the UK - rice crispies, tinned fruit, eggs, sausage, beans ... nothing fresh. Swimming pool only open from 10 am to 6 pm. When we arrived, our assigned bedroom had someone in it. The new room we were given hadn't been cleaned for a while - lots of dust especially in the bedroom Very very unfriendly staff.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin. No iron. No shower-I had to sit in the bath to wash with a shower head that had nothing to be held up by. Extremely poor air conditioning. Two small sachets of body wash which once was used was never provided again. Towels in bathroom were not changed. Bathmat disappeared to not be returned. Very run down hotel for the price you pay. About 10 parking spaces for the entire hotel which is about 6 floors. One lift was out for the day. Only one room key so when you leave the hotel for the day the "supposed air con went off as well as the ceiling fan" which meant you returned back to a warm stuffy room.

    The only thing I liked about this property was the floating deck pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WI-Fi is very poor, does not work at all on the 6th floor. The hotel feels like it is accommodating mainly who is over 60- the evening entertainment and etc. The hotel pictures are very deceiving- the swimming pool is by the hotel, but you need to cross the main street to get to it. There is extra charge for the sunbeds by the pool, extra charge for towels. The bar- is in the cellar, no view from it. There is a balcony with the view, but in order to have drinks on it, you have to purchase the drinks in the bar that is in the cellar and take them upstairs onto the balcony. The hotel had a funny fishy/WC smell everywhere in the main public areas.

    The location of the hotel is very good, easy access by boat to Bellagio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acommodation - without warning during reservation process - in neighbour building not belonging to the hotel. Hotel boy was not sure where is our room... confusing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communications on hotel policy should be informed to all staff - due to lack of communications the Chief waiter or manager at the lake side restaurant off site was confused about the the arrangement for half board - the reception explicitly states that dinner is inclusive for half board but that particular manager was ill informed and insist that guest pays for their meals causing unpleasantness among many guest. In addition his attitude is the worst I have seen and he is especially rude, brining shame to Swiss hospitality standards.

    The location is very good as it's a mere 5 minute walk to the ferry ride to get over to Bellagio and other locations at lake Como. The included meals (half board) is value money and food servings are generous and offers alternative dining for dinner. The reception is very helpful and tries to accommodate all requests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks a little bit aged. Room furniture and bathroom are ok but borderline with basic. Could do with a refresh.

    Excellent location. Ferry to Bellagio few minutes away. Bus stop right outside the hotel. Fantastic pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult. I found space in an open three level parking area fairly close by. Perhaps a floating car park too!!

    I love the floating pool and bar area. Sadly the days after Easter are not the time to be by the pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I loved the classical interior and the room with its view and décor didn't disappoint. The food was great with plenty of choice. The pool amenities are not open before Easter but looked to be amazing. The lido has a pool, sun beds, bar with an ala carte restaurant. The main pool and sundecks are actually floating on the lake itself with its own bar and food areas.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The presentation of the hotel Buffet could be improved, but considering the number of guest being catered for the quality of the food is good.

    The hotel is family run and offers great facilities for a 3 star hotel. The breakfast had a great choice. I was particularly impressed with the scrambled egg and the Illy Coffee. Guests have a choice of places to eat, drink and relax. There are ample seating areas in the hotel and there is an outdoor terrace to relax and enjoy the sun, The hotel has a fantastic floating pool on the lake with a grill and bar. There is also the Lido Restaurant and bar with another swimming pool. The restaurant here serves an excellent range of Italian specialities freshly prepared as well as a daily menu. There is a range of excellent wines and champagne. All in all the Britannia offer excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The interior is amazing with all the classic panace you would expect in itally.The staff are great and really helpful. The food was lovely and plenty of it buffet style with all tastes catered for. Rooms and views perfect, clean, comfortable and well furnished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is such a hard a section to fill out but I will try. No. I really cant think of anything that I can honestly say I didn't like.

    On entering the hotel you are greeted by friendly and obliging staff. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The food is good quality amd plentiful with a large range to choose from. The dining room is huge with one of the most amazing ceilings I have ever seen, staffed by friendly and helpful staff that are able to deal with most requests no matter what your lamguage. I intend to return in the summer next time to be able to take full advantage of the other amenities the hotel has to offer, floating pool, lido pool, sun decks and terraces. We had a very special evening in the lido dining allacarte, the food was amazing. I would like to tgank all the staff and management for making it a stay I shall never forget.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at this hotel 5 times. It is excellent value for money & the location, staff & cleanliness is of a very high standard. We like it so much that we are having our daughters's wedding there next year!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. Booked three nights there, spent one of those nights in hospital due to gastro, it is queried, from breakfast - quite an unenjoyable ordeal. For 15€ the dinner was buffet and quite poor. Good for anyone who prefers quantity over quality. The breakfast was a close relative of dinner. I definitely don't recommend paying extra for breakfast unless all you like is cereal or toast/croissant, and certainly not dinner where a good Italian meal is found for a similar price at any restaurant in the area.

    Very nice lake view balcony. Well positioned (C10 bus stop directly outside). Staff were nice and helpful. Hotel is very pretty and a balcony/lake view room would be highly recommended the extra cost.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a problem with my fan and air condition unit. The air condition unit was fixed but the fan remained broken the entire weekend no matter how many times I requested it to be repaired. The weather that weekend was approximately 30 degrees plus so the fan was much needed but remained unrepaired. When I checked out and complained I was advised that repairs take a little longer in Italy than in the UK. One member of staff asked me if i expected immediate repairs in my own home? Well no i replied, but I wasn't at home, I was in a hotel!!! Not a great attitude from the reception staff to be honest.

    The location was great and the various restaurant facilities were great. The area was amazing!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the apartments are not quite finished and have no contact with the hotel reception in case of queries or difficulties. the restaurant is busy and buffet style and the best of breakfast is at 830am when the coach parties eat - after that it is hit and miss

    upgraded to an apartment unexpectedly which was great but they are not finished and are a long way from the hotel if it is raining! Requested a dietary requirement which was acknowledged

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had to walk through resturant to two poor lifts. Bed not made every day. Unhelpful staff on arrival. Not in main body of hotel.....very disappointing! No beach towels supplied.

    View of lake and good pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed end covers were soiled and dirty. No summer doona just sheets. Only one person on duty at Desk for a full hotel overnight. Insisted summer Donna to be provided, he had to leave reception desk unattended.

    Fabulous view from Balcony over Lake Como to Bellagio. Three times daily free boat service to Bellagio, return. Car free day! Floating pool and evening live music.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very little. perhaps keeping the pool open a little longer as I fancied a late night dip, but understandable that it has to close at some time to bathers.. theres always the lake, which has many access points unlike Lake Garde. Dont do Garde if you want to swim, you cant get in. Lake Como is great for lake access

    Went for room only. So didnt taste the food but the dining hall looked lovely. Fabulous room, view over Lake Como, its the sort of view you only wish for and never expect. Whole hotel fabulous. From the entrance hall and the chandalier to lobby, to our room. Brilliant. Pool at front of hotel was lovely. Staff super friendly and attentive. Walking distance to ferry, bus stop outside. Car parking as well. If I had gone all inclusive I wouldnt have left the place. Had a car and I have to say the location here is great compared to other side which we found very mountainous. Towels, linen and fridge in room with toiletries. All free. only charge was 5 euro for pool towel for whole stay which isnt bad. Holiday tax only 1 euro, this is cheapest you can get. And no charge for room towels or linen unlike many places in Italy. Also fridge in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at pool bar , last year lovely . This year ignorant and don't know what there doing! Don't even know how to make a Bloody Mary! Dirty rooms. Not the cleaners fault, they work hard and fast , but have so many rooms to do . Double bed was two single beds pushed together!

    Staff in main hotel restaurant always friendly and smiling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was dirty despite complaining the staf f did not attempt to clean. The hotel was busy and overcrowded and you need to book well in advance for restaurant bookings

    The view of the lake were good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every time I stay here it's very Faulty Towers. While I find it endearing, do not stay at this hotel if you like things just so. There will always be some sort of issue. I just treat it as par for the course.

    As ever, the platinum all inclusive represents excellent value for money and the infinity pool bar is a lovely place for a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needed a little updating but was lovely none the less!

    The location was perfect, the pool and bar facilities were great and the rooms with views were lovely!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was super bad (English style...), in our room the air con and tv control remote were not working... and we are pretty sure it is haunted

    The view from the room was very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the buffett in the restaurant which was very average, breakfast wasn't any better. I would suggest to eat elsewhere. Room was quite expensive.

    Had a room over looking the lake across to Bellagio, the view was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony faced the pool and they had kareoki going on till midnight every night. Also traffic noise . Nit easy to sleep

    Location is great and the all inclusive allows for dinner and drinks by the pools and in off site restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been better. The choice of cereal was limited and maybe add a waffle maker.

    The view from the hotel was beautiful. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had a large and pretty room. Lake Como was an amazing place to visit. We rented a boat and spent a whole day on the lake looking at the views and swimming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were terrible they over booked the hotel and some guest who travelled half way round the world were turned away. I got married and lake como and had almost 50 guest staying there, not one of them had a nice thing to say. probably the worst experience ive ever had abroad, not to mention we were all there for my wedding..... be warned this place is not worth even considering......true nightmare

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was very crowded with big group bookings and lots of coach loads coming in continuously.

    Location and facilities were good and the all inclusive offer was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reached at 2 pm, they said check in is at 3. My rooms weren't ready till 4pm. No wifi in the rooms. Very slow wifi in the lobby too. Very crowded and breakfast is very limited. I waited 3 hours at night for them to delivery my bed sheets. Very bad attitude from the staff. No parking although I mentioned that I need a car park. Had to park 20 mins away. While I was loading my bags in the car, had to park in front of the hotel. Busses from a British tourist group almost hit my car and cursed at me. Worst experience ever. Never again.

    AC in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was average but when you go to Lake Como you don't want to be stuck in your room. The breakfast was terrible!!

    The bed was comfortable and the location was idea and right by the Ferry port. There is a tiny restaurant next to the hotel and I spent most of my evenings there as the bar in the hotel was packed and noisy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great to be honest. There was food to eat to make you full but overall not good. The pool closes at 6 would be nicer if it stayed open a little longer as by the time we returned from our day outings we only had about and hour in the pool which is great after a hot day. You have to pay €5 for a pool towel for the length of your stay or bring your own. That said I would still stay here again!

    It was a good location in Candenabbia! Has great pool and bar facilities. Close to a ferry point. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, food terrible (how can you spoil cornflakes!) reception, not many English speaking staff. Room facilities poor. Advertised shuttle bus turned out to be phone for taxi at exorbitant rates($255 to airport). Whole experience spoiled good holiday

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, the facilities are good, pleasant and helpful staff. Boring and uncreative breakfast, and F&B outlets are limited in quality and variety. Great place to stay in Como, that is in the middle of everything, with lower cost, if you are looking for a place to sleep. Make sure to request parking space if you have a car. Overall a positive experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: