Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Britannia Hotel 4 stars

Via Napoli 64, Central Station, 00184 Rome, Italy

#127 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 644 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very comfy boutique hotel in the heart of Rome. Due to a mix-up with booking.com our original booking for a superior room was cancelled and all that was available to rebook was a standard room which was very small. However, we were ok as it was just the 2 of us but very snug with our luggage.

    Very comfy bed, aircon was great as it was quite hot in Rome. The breakfast was a lovely surprise with a great choice of foods.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower 'splayed' and leaked onto the floor sometimes and was hard to regulate at first.

    The staff were helpful and friendly and we had breakfast included each morning which was substantial. The rooms were comfortable and included all we needed for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old looking overall, lift quite small, No hot water in the morning and the reason provided was that too many people using the washroom at the same time!

    Staff were helpful, close to termini and main attractions. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If planning on walking to major sites, perhaps a little far but on the flip side conveniently only a short walk from central station and plenty of buses nearby.

    Friendly staff, clean room and nice breakfast. Located on a quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room can be a little stuffy in hot weather as the air-conditioner is not able to cope with temperatures over about 25 degrees. BUT the staff helped by sending a fan to the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some futures were dated

    Perfect location, the hotel and rooms were beautifully decorated, with huge crystal chandeliers and others designer's details .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent hotel staff were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was really nice room lovely and very clean. 10 outa 10 for me. Location perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extraordinary. I stayed here twice, and they remembered who I was the second time, they were welcoming, fun and just all around great. Breakfast was best of all the hotels I have stayed at in Rome. Rooms are small, but very functional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not as advertised. There is no air conditioning. The room was so hot and Heating automatically kept coming on. Requested help on how to work air conditioning and was told air con was not possible as it’s winter. It’s spring and was 20 degrees outside and sunny! The room thermoter was 23/24/25 degrees and the room really stuffy. We had to sleep with the window open which meant we had little sleep for 3 nights as Rome is very noisy all throughout the night. Toilet roll wasn’t replaced so we had to call down for it. We were handed a pack off paper but couldn’t access the dispenser as it had a key to lock it so had to rest the toilet paper on the floor.

    Location was great. Staff who checked us in were really friendly but the other staff we encountered weren’t helpful at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a little Bijou, when you sat on the loo your knees were touching the counter where the sink was located.

    Beds very comfy, staff very lovely plus free loan of umbrellas as it rained - LOTS! Also the free smart phone for calls and getting around a really nice touch. Breakfast was very good too. Loved my private balcony but didn't get to use it sadly, would be fab in warmer weather though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small thing but the tv had no English speaking channels.

    The staff were so helpful and the mobile phone in the room , that you can take out with you , is a great idea !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The coffee at the breakfast is a just from a machine. Could be better. - Second day, after the cleaning of our room we went in and watched the news for like 20min. Then we left the hotel for our day trip. After we came back someone changed our TV Remote Control (so someone must have been in the room a second time, while we were gone). The remote control we got was not good, old and didn't work properly. We told the front desk but the guy didnt have an idea. He said, he will tell the technician - nothing happened. Since we didn't watch that much tv, we didn't care. But still a little bit creepy that someone changed our remote control after the room was cleaned.

    The hotel and their staff is really fantastic. My wife and I made a 4 day trip to Rome and enjoyed our stay very much. We could check in earlier - the 20 min waiting time until our room was ready, the staff offered us espresso and a cake. The room were comfortable and nice. In every room is a smart phone with helpful guide. The breakfast is delicious. Perfect hotel - Recommended for couples. Everythings in walking distance if you are not lazy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a classic double which is not their smallest room. However after asking to move rooms as ours was old and falling apart, plaster falling off the walls etc we were given a significantly smaller room and told it was a classic double when In fact it was their 'cozy' room. We were still charged for the bigger room that we didn't get.

    Great location and breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, although convenient, is a little marginal. Not bad, but just a little shady.

    Impressive interior, although the exterior was understated, and on a small street. The location was close to public transportation, if needed. However, one could walk to most places, and see interesting and historic sights within blocks. The bathroom was beautiful, with marble and nice fixtures. Love the tub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a pleasant stay overall. The room was tiny but very cozy, clean and comfortable. The location is very central, there are many bars and shops around however it's about 15-20 mins walk to di Fontana di Trevi etc area. The staff is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    heating system and air changing in the room

    terrible heating system, really uncomfortable problems with TV the MANET assistant presented as FREE caused an unexpected extra-charge at check out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the train station, we got there with no problem. in the hotel there ware two surprises: 1. the minibar was on the house for the first drain. 2. they have a service that give you a mobile phone (free of charge) with internet connection and free long distance calls, that was very useful, and a great service we used it to find places to eat and to travel. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was nice, breakfast was awesome!!!! the room was a little bit small but not concerned. very convinient access to rome famous spots and station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. We had a beautiful stay.

    The staff where extremely helpful ! Every morning they gave us all the information we needed and helped us buy tickets for the Vatican which would have been more expensive at the door. The room was beautiful and the smart phone that comes in the room is very handy as we brought t out and used it to make calls which was all free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was too small , it was very difficult to walk in room , though room was nicely done and decorated. No variety in breakfast spread. I think I spent more as compared to value I got here even during winter time which is lean period

    Location was excellent very near to Roma terminal. Super market just 100 meter away. Nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c wasn’t very effective, but we opened window instead and let cool November breeze in!

    Excellent location, we could walk everywhere. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was only served from 7 am which was a disappointment as I needed to get an early train to the airport, but they provided a breakfast box to take away with fresh croissants when I requested it. There are stairs up and down to get to the lobby which is not stated and without a doorman there to help which should be noted. The room was small but very well appointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was happy with the Brittania hotel, the staff members were an amazing that was so helpful and absolutely made my stay. The hotel is well situated for the train station and some central attractions are within walking distance. The room and breakfast were very good. I would recommend for anyone who wants to have a pleasant stay in Rome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance was on the side street not on the main street.

    The location was city center, we liked our stay. It was nice and the staff was very helpful. Underground Metro was next door, easy access to everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was smaller than appeared on photos The sound isolation was not so good as we could hear pretty much every talk on the hall

    The staff was really great and helpful The room/hotel was always clean and tidy The location is near from public transportation The breakfast had some variety

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little run down and very small. It wasn't particularly clean. .The springs on the bed were old and not comfortable

    Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a large variety. It was quite easy to get to the key locations in Rome from the hotel. Very close to metro station. Close to high street with good stores for shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning could have been better.

    We had a suite and it was lovely. The weather was 35-37C for the 2 days we were there so it was too hot to sit on the terrace, which was a shame as it was very private. The breakfast was great with lots of choices. We liked this location as it was close to the metro and the train station and it was in a quiet location, off one of the main streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our 3 night stay we did not have any complaints or problems

    Small hotel, close to train station, hop on hop off bus & underground. Breakfast was very good, typical Italian hot breakfast, small range of food but very nice, nothing overcooked. Room was small but comfortable. Very good street cafe around the corner, the waiter was fantastic and we ended up staying and eating longer than we intended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was two joined twins (larger mattresses wouldn't fit in up the stairs), comfortable but with hard divider in the middle. Complementary breakfast was varied, and the coffee machine does a mediocre job of making any American or Italian style of coffee.

    A beautiful room with a nice balcony and amazing shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is our "home in Rome." We love this place: convenient, friendly, professional, impeccably clean and well-maintained, and a terrific breakfast. 10 minute walk to Termini train station. Love this place: have stayed a number of times - whenever we're in Rome for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was terribly soft, very uncomfortable. Air conditioning didn't cool the room enough, so during night it felt like in sauna. Very baisic breakfast, almost nothing to choose from if You are on a gluten free diet.

    Average hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small comment, but one we've noticed in Italy lately at other hotels: choices of music at breakfast seems more-and-more to be skewing towards "rock/contemporary." Please -bring back classical or (soft) instrumental music in the mornings for that first coffee or tea of the day! :-)

    We have stayed at the Britannia numerous times: it's like our "Roman home." The entire staff is lovely and helpful, especially the longtime manager Maddalena. A 10 minute walk from Termini, and on a side street off of Via Nazionale (next to the historic Anglican Church St. Paul's Inside-the-Walls), Hotel Britannia ideally situated: subway, Pantheon, Colosseum, all located within walking or easy transport distance. Plus, for those who "want to hear English", you're next door to the classic English/Irish Pub, "The Flann O'Brien" (it, too, with free wifi). It's the Goldilocks hotel: not too big; not too small. Rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms (including shower pressure) some of the best. We're always well accommodated, and if you arrive early before your room is ready, the friendly staff will offer you coffee or drinks in the bar right off the lobby. We love it. This two day trip up from Orvieto, Rome was in the midst of a heat wave -- unusual even for July. Everywhere, everyone seemed to be coping with the oppressive heat. The hotel actually moved us to a room with a more powerful air conditioner (most kind) knowing Americans' predilection for Arctic cooling. We'll be back. Also - still, one of the best / most substantial breakfasts offered by an Italian hotel we've yet discovered. A nice note: during our stay we had to arrange for some important documents to be FedExed back to the United States. While FedEx has facilitates right outside Rome, there were none within walking distance, and the paperwork for international / customs, etc. was a bit complex. Maddalena and her staff quickly leapt into action and arranged for FedEx to arrange everything onsite, and pick up our packages. It sounds like a small thing - we could have called ourselves - but on a busy, very hot day in Rome, the extra touches were and are appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the very end of my stay, I'd run out of clothes. Given the crazy prices, (about 5 euros per item) I carefully selected four items to wash, but at checkout what should have been a 20 euro bill came to 90. They changed it after my protest, but make sure to take a picture of your receipt just in case.

    Nice place. Gracious staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom shower left lots of water on the floor and was very fierce.

    Excellent, friendly and helpful staff, good range of breakfast options, comfortable bed, clean room and good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the bathroom water sound from other rooms. We had to walk 15 min. from the train station to the hotel and it wasn't easy to walk with bags.

    They allowed us to check in early (before noon). Rooms were nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom bit small. Dark badliy lit area by wardrobes.

    Very well maintained and kept. lovely comfy bed and bedding. Very good breakfast. Courteous helpful staff. Plenty of restaurants and bats nearby..just what you need after a days sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel with great breakfast. We had a problem with the air-conditioning in our original room and they moved us to a new room straight away. Very helpful staff. Great location in a nice area of Rome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Triple room is smaller than one would expect. WC flush button is specific and it required to be pressed more than once to let the water flow. Really small elevator.

    Excellent breakfast. Free welcome drink. Warm staff. Spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfasts were great. the room was clean and well kept. We had a terrace and it was well worth the extra cost. The staff was extremely helpful and second to none.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked our friends in 10 days after our booking and there was only one room left which they found very cramped for two people. They were disappointed. They would neither return nor recommend the hotel.

    We had booked the junior suite, so the room was lovely - spacious with an outdoor terrace. Breakfasts are very good. The staff are helpful beyond belief. Location is excellent. This was our second stay at the hotel. We would return as long as we could get a room with terrace - there are several.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a very early flight so we had to leave the hotel at 6.00 am, and although the receptionist told us that the breakfast box will be prepared for us that did not happen.

    Nice hotel, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is a little small but it was as large as the heritage governing body would allow

    This is a fabulous hotel in Sheraton location . It is an historic old home of a very wealthy citizen of Rome that has been beautifully preserved and converted to this boutique hotel . The rooms may be a little small but are more than adequate. The staff are all super friendly and could not be more helpful.The breakfast buffet is the best

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to departing our previous location, I contacted them to organize airport transfers. They refused to organize one DESPITE their website stating they do this. The bathroom was not clean when we arrived. The whole place is run down. The elevator will not accommodate luggage and patrons - particularly if you are travelling with large or multiple pieces of luggage. The walls are particularly thin so you can hear everything in your Neighbour's room - right down to them urinating in the toilet. The hot food in the breakfast room was always cold - even at 7am when it commences. The coffee was not drinkable. The staff made us feel like an inconvenience for simply attending breakfast. But for us, the unforgivable was when the entire venue had no hot water on our final night. They failed to communicate this to patrons. When I enquired when it would be restored, I was told not until after 6am the next day (it was approx 8pm). We had just finished organizing (with the same staff member) our early departure for the next day as we were heading home on an international flight. My husband was very sick. I asked what they expected us to do and she told us to have a cold shower! The water was freezing (not even tepid!). We advised them we would check out and go to a venue with hot running water due to my husbands illness and requested a discount for our final night (we were happy to pay a fee but not the full fee). They refused and told me to take it up with the manager. Since being home, I have emailed them twice and not received so much as a reply or apology. Appalling! The fees were not the cheapest for the type and standard of facility and when combining all of these aspects, I would never recommend the place and certainly won't be returning!

    The main person on the desk spoke excellent English. When they book your taxi it arrives in under 5 min.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Great location right next to the main train station. Staff was great and extra helpful. The staff went out of their way to provide a bottle of wine on my birthday, which was a great unexpected surprise. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was not so wonderful, bearing in mind this is Italy!

    Plenty of choice and quantity at breakfast. Lovely peaceful hotel and location is very good for sites, shopping and amenities. Staff helpful, rooms comfortable. We had the junior suite, lovely private terrace. Soft drinks in fridge free all stay (and replenished).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast coffee. Tasted a bit like a cheap substittute to Nescafe. Btw, the hotel use some kind of perfumed liquid or spray in the reception area and lift. Its honestly not very nice, and I would imagine an allergics nightmare.

    Overall a really good experience. Especially the staff was amazing. I had a letter of great value sent from home, and the manager Alessandro kept it in a safe and personally gave it to me when we arrived. Good service, Thank you. Room was comfy, but a litle small. Nice balcony. The location of the hotel is great, and central. 5mins walk to the collosseum and the Trajan Piazza. Close to Termini too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too small room, bad coffee for breakfast

    Hotel is good, friendly stuff and nice rooms. Great place, it is near metro and main station and all what turists need.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel room was very noisy (room 205) I am not sure if we were underneath the cleaners quarters but from above there was a lot of banging which made for a very annoying, very early wake up call each day.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dark - no natural light because of how it's planned and the shaded windows.

    Location is good - walking distance t Termini and Piazza Venezia, hotel is small and comfortable, you have everything you need, breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok

    Lovely decor in the room, easy to find and close to tube stop. Staff helpful and recommended restaurants. Free mini bar and welcome drink were nice touches

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little hotel in very central location.All the tourist attractions are 15 min walk.Very friendly staff.Clean modern room with modern bathroom and very comfortable bed.Excellent breakfast. I loved this hotel.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit old, it requires some renovation and the washing mechanism of toilet didn't function always well

    The room was well decorated and the bed was very comfortable, clean and modern room, free mini bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the heating was quite loud and would click throughout the evening. If you're not a light sleeper you wouldn't even notice this.

    The location was perfect and everyone was extremely helpful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None!

    Excellent value for money, room facilities including free 1st time mini bar. very helpful staff and also great bfast. also great room and excellent location!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water was almost cold both mornings, while the room was actually very hot and the thermostat was not working. Average breakfast.

    Good location, helpful staff, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting more from the breakfast given that in Italy foods tend to be excellent. Don't get me wrong, it was fine but I was expecting more.

    The location was great and the antique style of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small rooms making it crammed up. No in-house restaurant service for lunch or dinner. No English movie channels. Same breakfast spread everyday.

    Clean room and washroom. Good breakfast. Central Location - close to metro station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives here.

    Everything, it's a great place to stay. Plus it's easy to get to from the train station (Termini) Beautiful room. Great staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are often in Rome for business - sometimes last minute. Hotel Britannia is our "home away from home." Maddalena and everyone there make us feel right at home. It's a charming property, beautifully maintained, with TERRIFIC comfortable beds and GREAT showers /baths. Plus - the best "English Breakfast" in Rome. We love it, and will always return. Being on a small, quite side street (Via Napoli) right off one of Rome's main drags, Via Nazionale, makes it extremely convenient to all the main sites. And, for us, who travel by train: a 10 minute walk from the Termini Train Station. PS - the cute "Hotel Britannia" rubber ducks that come with your room are a memorable, cute touch: we have quite the collection now.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was building works outside our room so we're woken up every morning early :(. The shower never got very warm

    Bedroom was lovely and clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel close to all the big sites. We walked everywhere but there is also a bus stop very close, a metro stop (5 mins walk) and main train station ( 7 mins walk). Staff are all very friendly and rooms are nicely decorated. Breakfast was very nice. Not many hot food options but plenty to offer all tastes. We were treated to wine on arrival for a birthday celebration! Nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MAYBE IM USED TO GOOD HOTELS BUT -VIEW TO THE WALL -ROOM WAS OLD WITH CARPET WHEN THE ONE ON THE PHOTO WAS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT WHEN I ASKED FOR CHANGE THE MAN AT THE DESK SAID ITS THE RIGHT ROOM. THE ROOM WAS SMALL IN THE CORNER VERY CLAUSTROPHOBIC. - BREAKFAST COULD HAVE HAD MORE VARIETY

    - the bed was comfortable - distance from via Nazionale - stores around the corner - breakfast could have more variety as for italian standards

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could use some help. Bacon under-cooked (raw) and eggs really runny. Just stick with what you do well, the rolls were very good as was the charcuterie

    My room with the terrace was amazing. very spacious and comfortable. Desk staff extremely helpful and very kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great room, spacious with added bonus of private balcony. king size bed very comfortable. location is ideal for central rome and only 10mins walk from main station. all staff were friendly and helpful, will definetely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were nice enough but a little aloof. Would have been better with a terrace room like I had on the first night. Overall, it was a very nice place. Slippers and robe laid out so I can't complain. Nice little British restaurant pub across the street on the corner if you get sick of pizza, panini sandwiches and pasta. Breakfast was very good with plenty of selection.

    Great location on a side street just off Via Nazionale. Close to the train station, hop on/hop off buses with easy access to all attractions. Good value for money. I moved to another hotel on the last night of my stay because the price was substantially cheaper and it was easy to get to from Hotel Britannia. I would definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to get back to Rome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was a little disappointing but drinkable

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast, great selection of hot and cold items. Clean rooms with lots of great toiletries, good little mini-bar on arrival and helpful takeaway cups for the tea and coffee. The staff were very friendly and helpful, all round a really great experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steps into hotel are still a little issue.

    The rooms are spacious and clean wit plenty of storage space. Bathroom has all you want with nice shower etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here for my wedding and they couldn't have been more welcoming or considerate and even gave us a bottle of prosecco. They were so accommodating I will defiantly stop here when we return. The location is also great, close to bars and restaurants, it's on a quiet street but your close to all the sights of Rome!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corner rooms very small but does the job...

    Great location off Main Street. Very friendly, helpful and courteous staff, thank you for making our stay so lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negative points at all.

    Lovely small hotel with friendly, courteous staff and spotless accommodation. Free initial soft drink mini bar. Suites are excellent value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything.

    Elegant, beautifully furnished boutique hotel in a very central city location. Free wifi, excellent air conditioning and a good sized room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning and fridge were not cold enough! The room we were in was quite tight for space, e.g only one person could walk along the end of the bed at a time to get to the wardrobe.

    Room and bathroom were beautifully decorated and our room felt quite homely. Staff were lovely and the hotel was lovely and quiet and in a good location. Termini station near by and we found taxis quite cheap too!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the classic room is a little small. a very small selection of tv channels. sometimes the water pressure in the shower was hit or miss.

    excellent location, very near metro station. near shopping and many sights. cute boutique hotel. nice breakfast. nice bed and pillows. safe and minibar. quiet room with double glazed windows. clean and updated bathroom. good a/c and internet. free minibar for the 1st day. great lighting. good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the superior room was much smaller then it looked in the hotels pictures. Only just enough room to walk around the beds .

    Good location, very helpful staff that gave us a great restaurant recommendation, very nice breakfast in the hotel with lots to choose from . Very cute bar area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely staff great.Breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Britannia Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: