Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Byblos Art Hotel Villa Amistà 5 stars

Via Cedrare 78, 37029 San Pietro in Cariano, Italy

#8 of 21 hotels in San Pietro in Cariano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in room and better lighting. The beds slightly hard.

    Hotel and staff were fantastic, wonderfully attentive and helpful and friendly. The food was lovely though expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I like the following: Location very good and quite and you can visit Garda Lake (20 Minutes) and Mountbaldo ( 70 minutes) you can enjoy going up by cable car and Venice(90 minutes)and Verona Center (25 Minutes) Gardaland is 25 minutes Nice lobby and helpful staff clean by all mean and good for family and couples nice place around to walk easy to reach the city of Lazise to have launch or dinner and walk in lake, many shopping mall around in center of Verona I will choose it again if I visit Verona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seems to be issues with ventilation in the property which makes it a bit stuffy.

    Unusual place and vey interesting to see all the modern art and installations. Service was outstanding - in particular big thanks go to amazing people in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom in the room had a bath with overhead shower - very unusual for a 5l rated hotel (we normally have a separate walk in shower) - also was very slippery to step out from the bathtub... Bedsheets and duvets/ pillows also were not of a usual 5L standard. Windows were too small and we could not open them.

    Beautiful quirky boutique hotel, felt like coming home after all day exploring the city. Very friendly and attentive service from all staff - from the first correspondence with office, reception, transfer, shuttle, restaurant and bar man - Thank you all! Our room was very spacious, with high ceilings and beautiful furniture, and plenty of wardrobe space - felt like our own studio apartment. Food in Amista Gourmet restaurant was very nice also - wonderful dinner experience. Very unusual and beautiful, we would most certainly stay here again - hopefully for longer than a weekend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    It's so much more than a hotel, it's truly an experience in luxury. Very professional staff paying attention to all details. The hotel is very well located, nice surroundings. Original decoration, gardens and swimming pool. The best place for relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely gardens and swimming pool. Original decoration. Very friendly and professional staff. Great spot close to Verona and Garda lake. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice boutique style hotel. Attended Madame Butterfly at the Arena, was absolutely amazing, the hotel did offer a courtesy shuttle service to and from the Arena, as the hotel is located about half an hour drive from the city Centre. Lots of beautiful restaurants located in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms relatively small, but comfortable.

    Great art, and a refreshing hotel style. Good restaurant with very friendly staff, surprising menu, excellent cheff and great wine selection!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The Art Deco was incredible. The staff very friendly every wish was their command! The grounds of hotel were very well kept with beautiful flowers and shrubs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!!

    Byblos Art Hotel is perhaps the best property in all of Italy. It has won Best Villa Hotel 3 times in the last 10 years. It's so much more than a hotel; it's truly an experience in luxury, service, exclusivity, creative food pairings and grounds that will knock your socks off! Then, of course, there is an art collection that would rival MOMA. Put this on your must-do-before-I-die list!!!!!! And say hello to Titus, the little red Volpino Italiano doggie that greets all the guests!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot - apparantly it was too early in the year to turn down the heating. That said it was not too noisy with the window open

    You'll have to go a long way to find more interesting artwork in a hotel! The gourmet meal was a real experience - in terms of not only the food and the wine but also the service - The chef is imaginative and service over dinner was informative, attentive and all delivered with a wonderful sense of humour. Great fun - and hopefully to be repeated at some time

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there early March - Hotel/Villa was beginning to open for the season, so not entirely ready for guests i.e., outdoor facilities not open.

    The decor The bedroom Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was lovely, but very dark being in the bottom floor of the property. Gelato served by the pool bar was very poorly presented and over-priced. Ice cream and berries = 2 untidy spoons (not scoops) of ice cream and 2 strawberries in a very ordinary bowl! Not what one expects in Italy!

    The staff were charming and helpful and the hotel décor quirky, arty and interesting (and just a little bit naughty!) . Lots of fun places to sit, and unusual seats! Beautiful gardens with an incredible giant 'Orchid' - very photogenic. Lots of objets d'art to marvel and smile at! The hotel shuttle was very efficient with lovely drivers. Fantastic breakfast with a wide selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The BYBLOS was our first stop on a tour of Italy for our honeymoon and what an amazing couple of days. Such a unique place to stay. Staff were so accommodating! It was fantastic to have the hotel transport take us and pick us up from the centre of Verona. And I would highly recommended the 9 course taster menu... It's like theatre over dinner. Thank you to the BYBLOS for an unforgettable experience!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to 'not like' A bit far from Verona and expensive by taxi if you miss the shuttle bus but the hotel bus service tried very hard to accommodate us as much as possible. Breakfast would have been nicer if we could have sat outside in the sun and not just in the glass conservatory!

    Where to start ....there was so much to love about Byblos Arts Hotel! The hotel itself is stunning with a beautiful driveway and heart fountain. Inside there is the maddest collection of modern art - nude women might not be to everyone's taste but they're not at eye level so you don't have to look at them! From the moment we arrived we were treated wonderfully by all the staff, from George the porter, Laura on reception, Daniel and Luca our smilie and very attentive waiters and of course our Diego the Head Beverages Man! Even the lovely chamber maids always smiled and said hello! Our room was lovely, comfy, quiet, very clean and spacious. The pool is perfect for relaxing and cooling off on a hot day and the pool boy (who's name I can't remember) was ready to help with anything you needed from towels to parasols. This is a beautiful and wonderfully run hotel full of wacky art and smiling, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Been there before and we just love everything there. Beautiful villa surrounded by marvellous gardens, superb interior design with much much modern art, a feast of colours! It's a place you always want to return to

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the artistic decor at Villa Amista. It's not only beautiful and modern but also original. We went to Verona to go see the opera, and the staff was wonderful and accommodated transportation for us. The opera finished at 1am and the van was already waiting for us. Great service and attentive staff. The pool area and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were rock hard, air conditioning did not work in first room and somewhat worked in second room, restaurant was very poor quality food and very low value

    Porters and staff were VERY friendly and helpful, grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The overall luxury, the polite and helpful staff, beautiful building and grounds. The Art is an interesting theme, even if it not always something that one would want at home.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic chaises longues at the swimming pool

    It’s like living in a Classical/Modern Art Museum

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb! One of the most unique places we have ever stayed. A surprise around every corner and the levels of service were second to none!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive meals Intermittent internet connections

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible art and food

    The rooms were spectacular

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very easy with a baby... Spa a bit on the low side

    The restaurants were amazing, the rooms very confortable. Amazing Art collection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room with no view, quality of food was reasonable. When showering, water on the bathroom floor. Room with no view.

    Art

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner and food generally appalling and poor service.

    Good pool and arty ambiance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great staff; comfortable and clean rooms; great breakfasts; great location;

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    A wonderful villa in a wonderful place !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Place of total beauty. Great pool, great garden, great food ala carte.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing location, serenity , room and service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance

    The art

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic glasses at pool restaurant

    Alice in wonderland

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tout

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I didn't like, only needed more time to enjoy this extraordinary hotel. You need at least three nights...

    Friendly service, beautiful environment. Very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No AC in spring which was very hot. an absolute disgrace for a hotel charging those prices stating on their site that they have ac in the rooms but not being switched on. They should be ashamed of themselves. This message is for the management. If u are going to charge those prices switch on the damn AC!!!!!

    I loved the design and the politeness of the staff. The building is stunning and worth visiting

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the surprisingly warm temperature of early April there was only 1 fan for the whole hotel and we had to move to another room as air conditioning not on. Might be a tad expensive but service wonderful, you get what you pay for.

    The room was original. The garden, the spa and the art installations were fantastic but it was glued together by the helpful polite staff. We had to move rooms but not a big issue as staff really helpful. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish there had been facility for hot drinks in the room. Tea in the morning is a must. They will obviously do room service at a cost.

    A really unusual quirky hotel. So much to look at. Beautiful driveway entrance, amazing reception area .Room was spacious, free shuttle to Verona was great.Staff really helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel is not open to the gardens. The restaurant was just to quite. The should have put a big flowerarrangement in the restaurant. The food was great!

    It is a strange hotel. The area is not perfect but once incide the compound things are beautiful. The building is an old countryhouse. Inside it is half ould and half modern. Not everymans taste.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service in the bar area was very poor. We went twice and both times had to find someone to serve us, and the second time we waited for over 15 minutes.

    Fantastic building and amazing artwork. Great pool.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hard beds, noise above the room, to far from town, very expensive breakfast, same menu every day at dinner. No free water, no tea or coffee making available.

    Staff were wonderful very helpful. We had to move rooms in the end and they did all they could to help. The hotel was an art fans dream world. if you did not like the sort of art displayed then you would have a big problem staying there. You need to have an open mind.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    we stayed for just one night en route to the Milan expo but wished it could have been longer. everything was perfect with a beautiful room on the second floor of the main house reached via a balcony across the magnificent entrance hall decorated with marvellous art and sculptures.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel decor, grounds and facilities were fabulous. Numerous places to sit and relax, staff always available to assist whether for food, drink or information. Excellent free shuttle service into the centre of Verona.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mosquitoes attacked the minute we opened the window, so we kept it closed the remainder of the stay.

    Very comfortable chairs in the reception area and a great location to relax with a bottle of prosecco after dinner. Great service. I really enjoyed this place and wished I could have stayed longer to explore...

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bedrooms were very dark. The art throughout the hotel was a bit 'in your face' initially, but we got used to it v quickly. I wouldn't be happy with young children though, some art was very explicit.

    Good location. Explored Verona, Lake Garda, Milan and Venice easily. Helped us source a v interesting winery visit. Courtesy bus was available into Verona but we didn't use it. Staff v friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I guess it is a matter of taste but we felt like being in an amusement park more than being in an art hotel. The entrance hall is beautiful but the rest of the property is very poorly done.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room cleaning was a bit erratic.

    Staff and setting were both excellent. Have stayed several times over the last ten years mainly to see opera in Verona but the hotel is ideal for holiday location.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area was very crowded. We were like little sardines squeezed into 3 rows. Not the poolside weekend I was hoping for. The pools filtering system also made tons of noise. Our room had very very small windows. Most of the staff seemed very inexperienced. It just wasn't up to level. When you go to a 5 star hotel you really expect them to exceed in service in everything and unfortunately that happened in nothing here.

    You go there to be shocked by the contrast and the art and that is what happens. The grounds are very nice and well kept (except for the lounging at the pool).

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms don't have tea making and the shower was definitely designed by a man lol

    Loved the gardens and the attention to detail. Gorgeous art!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Byblos is full of some of the best art pieces I've ever seen, but totally accessible located in unexpected places around the hotel. Ricciardo the Salvador Dali lookalike manager and his team are great fun and incredibly friendly, there is nothing elitist about Byblos. The girls on reception spent an hour pulling strings to sort out a problem on our hire car, we would have been in deep trouble without their help. Everything about Byblos is magical, we love it so much we plan to marry there.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful please and top Service

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very nice butic hotel,my favorite,but if you not reservation for dinner,menu is poor,For dinner menu must have be more alternativies...

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A Clockwork Orange in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was amazing and helped us with a lot of things to do in the nearby area! The food in the restaurant was also a great experience!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very interesting. Art everywhere. The colors !

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best hotel iv stayed in. A must visit by all travelling in and around Verona

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic decor, grounds and service.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff all ways willing to help

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambience

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Byblos Art Hotel Villa Amistà traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: