Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ca' Alvise 4 stars

Calle della Verona, 3673, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#143 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit dark and decor a little dated (but well maintained).

    Great location and staff. Well run, higher end, hotel with nice rooms and a professional feel to everything. Included breakfast was very fancy with a wide range of choices. Our room and bathroom were a good size, better than most.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a great hotel in a great location with lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, just upgrade the air conditioning on the 3rd floor.

    This a beautiful Venetian style hotel. Gorgeous comfortable rooms with large bathrooms and even a spa bath. Friendly helpful staff on reception with the concierge helping to carry your bags up the stairs. There is no lift in this hotel, not a problem for me, but, some might find that a little hard, especially on the 3rd floor. My air conditioning did not work, they said because it’s on the 3rd floor the roof is hotter. They provided a portable one for the night, then I was moved rooms and that was fine. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from. The hotel is in a great spot I found it easy to find and great location for exploring wonderful Venice. Would definitely stay here again, perhaps, not on the 3rd floor. I ended up booking another night as I loved this hotel and Venice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Very Nice Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no idea how to get there. We lugged our bags over three bridges or more from San Marco and reached exhausted. I called the hotel but they could not send us a porter and we did not know how to get one. Knowing how to get there is important. On the return we used a porter the hotel arranged and he took us in 5-7 minutes straight to Rialto.

    Its a lovely hotel. Everything is excellent. There is no elevator but the staff carry the guest's bags to their rooms. Staff is really good. Jess who served us breakfast and also carried our bags, the lady in the kitchen who prepared breakfast, Everyone at rsception, all were great. Cannot thank them enough for a lovely stay in a lovely city. Rooms are really nice and spacious, so are the bathrooms. Even the smaller roo. We moved into on our third night was quite big. Breakfast is plentiful, varied and delicious. Wifi is good. Location is pretty good. Everything is walking distance. Some excellent shopping close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location, bad experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, the night shift guy was unfriendly, he insisted that we need to pay with the same credit card that we used for booking which is not the case in all other hotels we traveled to, the room was not so clean, the atmosphere was a bit depressing.

    The location was good. The WiFi worked. Breakfast was rich, not so tasty though. The morning shift guy was extra friendly and helpful with our questions about the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was not so efficient

    Spacious rooms in unique baroque style. Generous bathroom and nice little sitting area. Breakfast was wonderful, staff very helpful and the location is great with both saint Marc’s square and the Rialto bridge within a few minutes walk. I would really like to stay here again some time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff very nice, breakfast was good limited, but good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to reach , water taxi will not take you there, the AC was not working, they got me a portable AC, also no internet in the room, only around the reception area, overpriced and overrated , not 4 stars

    Staff very nice, breakfast was good limited, but good quality, close to local attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice choice for a Venetian vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, quite low air conditioning and most rooms have no views (one out of three rooms booked had a view to a little canal, which was much appreciated, but the others had no view at all).

    The hotel is well located, right at the heart of the city and only a few minutes’ walk from all tourist attractions. Decoration is lovely and gives the hotel a truly Venetian atmosphere. Rooms are large and cozy, well equipped and beautifully designed. Breakfast was OK. Staff was genial and helpful. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Venice trip with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just o.k. no vegetable at all. There were some fruits but there were not fresh. Air condition did not work properly. In our room.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    The reception basically is not helpful to give suggestions,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception basically is not helpful to give suggestions, tbe restaurant recinended is poor. Worst i loss €400 at rbe reception. When iseek for assistance fo help.. He just simply advise not see... Is thsre a cctv in front of reception. . Booking. Com you shoukd not revomemded and rated tge hotek 4 star... Tbe hotel is worse than a 2 star... No lift.. The toilet door can not be lock..booking.com has mislead us. And worse.. We feel. The reveprionsiat is a con man

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a hotel with 500 hundreds of history. It may never occur to you that the mirror that hangs on the wall is an antique object. The decor is quite retro and the reception is like a butler. It's like you are living in Downton Abbey. The breakfast is good and the location is great. Quite a unique experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Venetian style rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the lighting system door card didnt work properly and took ages to sort out. The shower was leaking all over the floor area each time.

    Venetian style rooms. Friendly check in. Location is great. Water taxi to airport is simple.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay, perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing do dislike everything was just perfect

    Hotel is 2 mins from the Rialto vaporetto stop. Very close to bars, restaurants and shops. In the evening when all tourists return to the main land, it is peaceful and just a wonderful and exciting and happy place to be. The hotel staff is just superb and genuinely friendly. We were offered breakfast even though it was not part of our deal. Very clean and comfortable. It was such a pleasure to hear the locals have coffee and chats in the morning downstairs in the lanes. We were on the 4th floor. Perfect location. Just like in the movies. Venice what's not to like, people are friendly, happy, and willing to help.I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little over priced

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location was good (even though it took us some time to find the hotel the first day)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are of an old style which was interesting but odd. I ended up actually liking the room and furnishings after a day or so...

    Great location. Rooms are kind of unique but beds are comfortable and the shower etc was fine. Breakfast is good enough but pretty average. Staff is very nice and when I asked for something, it arrived extremely quickly. Was a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk for tea

    Lovely property in great location but still quiet. Had an upgrade to a suite which was so comfortable. Breakfast included and was delicious. Hotel provided a breakfast pack for our very early departure the last morning. Take the public ferry from the train station rather than walk. Water taxi way too expensive (80 euro for early morning). Public ferry was absolutely fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was beautifully located and the staff was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the furniture was old and creaky. Air conditioning didn’t work well. Was not told you needed to keep both key cards in the light slot to keep the lights on so struggled for a good 20 minutes trying to figure out how to keep the lights on (timed out).

    Hotel was beautifully located and the staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Spoke English well and helped figure out the key card-light fixture ordeal (weren’t made aware originally).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Venetian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel in a perfect central location - Piazza San Marco or the Rialto bridge are only 10 minutes away, Staff is helpful and friendly. The room had a view over a canal and was decorated in Venetian style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh vegetables at the breakfast.

    It was very clean, the junior suite was huge, clean and simply beautiful! The staff was very helpful and friendly! Also 5 minutes walk to San Marco was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location - quick walk to main areas of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds put together to make double bed Aircon didn’t work properly

    Excellent location - quick walk to main areas of Venice Friendly staff Jacuzzi bath Relatively clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall, it's obvious the staff are well trained and appreciate the customer and business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What could have been better? Neighboring guests with brains. They think nobody can hear them, the walls are soundproof, or think their room is the only one. Other than that, that's it.

    Bed nice and firm, art deco takes you back maybe a century or two, all in good taste.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Large room, well equiped.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colors and tastes in the Room : the red color of the walls and the red marble on the floor makes a dull impression.

    Large room, well equiped. Good bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Romantic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with good sized rooms. Also excellent breakfast with big choice of cakes ant pastry, Prosecco available to make your morning more cheerful :))

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A large bed rather than two singles put togehter would be better

    Most staff were very helpful with one exception but that seemed to be noted by the other staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Our room was a good size, clean and decorated in Venetian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an older building there were a couple of hallways that smelled unpleasant, but the room and common areas were fine.

    Our room was a good size, clean and decorated in Venetian styles. The hotel recommends a restaurant and gives you a card for a free drink (the restaurant is average price, but we enjoyed our meal there). Breakfast was average-desserts, meats, cheese etc, and provided gluten free options. Great for a quick breakfast before heading out to explore Venice, where you are only 5-10 minutes from the most popular places (Piazza San Marco, Rialto Bridge etc).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    we got better than we had expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower water spray wets the bathroom floor more than you would like.

    location, their morning breakfast was the best we had in our italian trip. lot more selection and bigger ,better breakfast room. close to saint marcos square and rialto bridge. room and barhroom were spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and central, perfect to explore Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cracked hair dryer was repaired with duct tape - this is a safety issue, though over the holidays it could have been difficult to find a replacement. Just for inormation for potential guests and in no way a dislike: Hotel is on 3 floors with no elevator (which is fairly common in most hotels in Venice due to space constraints). Also if reached by public transportation (boats) the nearest stop is a 5 minutes walk, with some steps over a bridge in-between. This too is fairly common in Venice. Not ideal for guests on wheelchair.

    Very central location in Venice: S. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge are less than 10 min walk away, teatro La Fenice just 2 Minutes away but despite this a very quiet location since not on a main passage. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean, our room was extremely quiet and well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Only the bathtub with jacuzzi and the breakfast but ok for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank God we only stay for 2 nights there!Small room. When I complained about the size of our room the receptionist told us that in the booking site we saw the junior suite not the deluxe that i paid for(I paid for the deluxe because it was seemed to be bigger than the standar and the fotos are actually wrong in the site please peoole change it! ). If I knew it I wouldn't have booked it. The aircondition was old and too noisy and we couldn't sleep because we hear the people who they only just talking no loudly in the next room. The last night i saw a spider just up to my head above the bed but i did not say anything because we were leaving at 4 a.m. It is not worth it for the money we paid(125€ per night for deluxe 2-bedroom)

    Only the bathtub with jacuzzi and the breakfast but ok for 4 stars hotel I have eaten better breakfast than it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor drain emitted unpleasant odor.

    Great location in Venice. Easy walk to Piazza San Marco. Near restaurants and shopping. Beautiful room decor with comfortable beds and very quiet at night. Lovely large bathroom. Excellent breakfast in an elegant room. Polite staff at front desk and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    The location, really good breakfast, cleanliness, the fact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift (3rd floor room)- although I guess you could have expected this in a Venetian building

    The location, really good breakfast, cleanliness, the fact that it was all very warm inside, whilst it’s been really cold outside- was nice to be back after a long day outside

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    The room was very lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a triple room. The bathroom tub was not that clean enough. They gave us combined shampoo&bodywash which was not that good and smelled a bit weird. For us, since we went there half of the regular price, it was a nice quality for that price but if i were paying full price for stay, i would need to consider.

    The room was very lovely. It was very venezian style. Spacious and cozy. The bed was comfortable. The location was very good. It was close enough to S'Angelo station and Piazza San Marco. Since its close to shopping area and gondola ride, it is perfect for you if you are considering for them. The breakfast was good. We were very worried about it since not many reviews mentioned about it. The quality was very good. It wasnt continental style yet the menu didnt changed. Staff are super friendly! They recommended us couple of good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Half-term at Hotel Ca’ Alvise in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothibg to not like.

    Very comfortable and large room with a king-size bed. The hotel is ideally situated within easy walking distance of all the Venice attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Breathtakingly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of any negatives.

    The room was lovely and big, lovely spa bath which is just what you need after a long day. The hotel was close to all main attractions, lovely to hear the gondoliers on the canal just outside. Plenty of choice for breakfast all staff were friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have fallen in love with Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much really but air conditioning unit had obviously leaked and left marks on the wall in our room (106). Very quick paint job would rectify this.

    Lovely hotel in a great central location. Staff friendly and very helpful. Good, plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a lovely part of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no laundry services in the hotel or in the room so clothes had to be sent out. This was quite expensive.

    We booked a junior suite which was very nicely appointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location; Decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a party of 4 (2 adults/2 teens) and booked a family room. While we did have 4 beds & the family slept well, the room was a little cramped. Otherwise no real issues with the property.

    A nice location and that is probably the best thing about this property. The buffet breakfast was also decent, though we would have preferred a little more variety and perhaps some halal food too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    We loved the design of the room, the design of the hotel,...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At a temperature of 35 degrees air conditioner does not refrigerator with broken blinds. The Jacuzzi was not proper, we asked for an iron and did not receive it. At this spot we received a bid to iron one shirt for 6 Euros and this does not make place instead of just from 8 am this morning on 9 am. General information Parking in Venice costs a lot of money and is far from the center. From there should take more taxis whose cost starts from 70 euros.

    We loved the design of the room, the design of the hotel, the location of the hotel. Beds were very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Will not go there again. My visit was in August 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception guy at check out was really rude he didn't even bother to ask how was your stay! All he cared about is to pay cash the room tax. Location is best thing in that hotel other than that not impressed at all. Breakfast not worth to pay extra charge for it, better skip it.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Saying that I've been disappointed it's still not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saying that I've been disappointed it's still not enough to express all my deception. Dirty, dusty, smelling, overrated, furnished with no taste and style (60s/70s old furniture). I've spent 270$ for 1 night; for exactly the same price (even 5/10$ cheaper) you can stay at the Splendid Venice hotel and enjoy all the comfort and luxury you can expect from a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Bedroom was very spacious, bathroom as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very spacious, bathroom as well. We enjoyed having fresh air coming in through three large windows. Furniture and decoration, in a word interior was really nice and in Venetian style that made our stay even more special. Breakfast was offered both Italian and intercontinental so I enjoyed myself having some cereals with soy milk, soaked plums, fruits and green tea. Staff at the reception, dining place, rooom staff were all very nice and polite. To conclude, we were pleased to have chosen Ca' Alvise Hotel for our stay and would be happy to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location. Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The night chap at the Reception was not particularly helpful or friendly.

    Good location right behind Teatro Fenice. 5 minutes walk to St Mark's square. Had some difficulty walking there with luggage from the boat stop in San Marco. Took a water taxi to the train station on the way back - very convenient. The hotel staff were very helpful with the taxi and luggage. The pastries at breakfast were very nice. The day manager was very helpful. We needed a fan. He set us up with a big air-cooler. Made our stay more comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic breakfast for that kind of hotel. Sweets are not so fresh, but choice of salty's was very poor.

    Gorgeous spacious room. Comfortable bed. Very good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Venice is no bargain but worth it! Ca' Alvise has acceptable cost-benefit ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both seem to be usual in this city but: There was a roach circling the bathroom ceiling. It was just one! Looking around in gaps and corners brought no evidence of other vermin but there was still this uncomfortable feeling. There are pharaoh ants (Monomorium pharaonis) at the breakfast room. No surprise having millions of international tourists each year and a climate that doesn't kill them. But again it leaves you with a strange feeling.

    Location, Location, Location! I was traveling Europe with my son and there was not much time. Staying over on the spot was a conscious decision. It was crucial to experience Venice without the struggle and hurly-burly of day trippers. Even though we weren't looking for sights the location was vital to enjoy the spirit of Venice, the calm evening, the light reflections on the walls at night - this very special atmosphere. Since Venice is highly frequented by tourists we expected several threats (pollution, vermin, frauds, profiteering). Thats why we didn't consider lower categories to have a reasonable hotel accommodation although it was off-budget. The interior design and service was very well. Furnishing, cleanliness, breakfast was OK. Building structure was indifferent (...well its a historic city).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    expensive, slight arrogance but EXCELLENT location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was our honeymoon, 5 days in venice. First of all, we had 2 beds pushed together and NO double bed, even though we had requested it with our booking. We had an issue with the bathroom door, the doors are strange, we kept getting locked OUT of the bathroom, there was an issue with the lock which apparently happens often enough that the lock was already full of dents from having the lock broken from outside the door. The first time we had to call the reception to come open the door for us it was late at night, the guy came with tools like he knew of this issue, carried on by blaming us for the way we closed the door and ended it by patting my new husband on the head (sort of like "well done, idiot"), extremely rude and also belittling. My husband is half Ethiopian, we felt racism at every turn on our holiday however wouldn't expect it from the people you are paying such amounts to stay at. I have received better treatment for Eur30 rooms at a bed & breakfast. Much more was expected paying well over a grand for 4 nights. But i guess it is Venice and they don't really need to compete with anyone for anything. You can tell so literally everywhere you go, every step of the way. The locals are quite arrogant.

    location, location! We were 5 minutes from San Marks square! the breakfast croissants were actually very nice, but thats about it. Thankfully it is Italy. Everywhere else the food is amazing. The hotel decor was old Venician style, tiny room however we didn't need anything else. Venice is absolutely breathtaking - every step of the trip was enjoyable, even paying Eur8 for an espresso. No one goes to venice because it is good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    I liked a lot location, interier,bath stuff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked a lot location, interier,bath stuff is complited(including shave kit and toothbrush with toothpaste even without asking),nice breakfast and in general i felt very comfortable -hotel is better then average italian 4 stars hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Loved my visit to Venice.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What a wonderful find. The hotel was fabulous, comfortable, clean and a great location to st marks square, lots of shops, restaurants and bars on the doorstep. We stayed on the top floor but the staff took our cases to our room so not a problem at all. Lots of lovely extras too, dressing gowns, slippers, toothbrushes and toiletries and the room was amazing, felt very spoilt. Continental breakfast was also good. Also, staff very friendly. Would stay again. Took the water bus to st Marco from the airport , only 27 euros return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    The staff was genuine and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because we were there before the area got hot during the day, the AC wasn't operational. The only downfall to that was that because I slept with the windows open, the mosquitoes had a field day with me while I was sleeping.

    The staff was genuine and extremely helpful. It's located at the heart of Venice, just a short walk from San Marco's Square. It's a perfect getaway, and it's quiet in the evenings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was the usual continental food, but compared to other hotels, it was very poor. I think for the price we paid we should have gotten a decent breakfast.

    It was very close to St. Mark's Piazza, which was a great! The staff was friendly and very helpful! The room was very "venetian" like and although it felt old, we have enjoyed it! I think the location is the best part about this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location, ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms outdated and sold as a SPA hotel. Breakfast nothing special. It was not the standing as expected. When reading the reviews and the 75% discount, it is a joke. People paying full price must be extremely disappointed (if they exist).

    Nice location, good reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double payment. The pre-payment of whole amount as a guarantee-deposit 2 weeks before the visit, the payment of the same amount in check out and waiting the bank to refund the initial deposit.

    The location, the staff, the service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, the staff on the reception was very efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in hotel. But it was a bit difficult to park the boat, because of the other cargo boats, which were reloading at the same place.

    Nice hotel, the staff on the reception was very efficient and friendly. Rooms are good, very comfortable big bed, clean and even quiet. Good breakfast. Location is also fine: between San Marco and Rialto, everything close. But we use the boat to reach it with the luggage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic, could have had some more variety. It was the same thing everyday, which got boring very quickly.

    Great location, and hotel itself is lovely. It was only a few minutes walk to all main attractions like St Marks Square and Rialto bridge. There are really good restaurants and shops to browse near the hotel, with a supermarket very close by. Streets are always going to be a little tricky to get a hang of, but the hotel staff were very helpful in telling us how to get there. We used the public water bus from the airport to get to the hotel and the staff told us beforehand which line to take and which stop to get off at which made it so much easier. Tickets were bought at the airport, and there are signs everywhere to show you where to go for the waterbus, so it was very easy to get to the hotel. The room we had was huge. Incredibly spacious. The beds were comfortable and it was thoroughly cleaned everyday. Facilities in the room were good. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Answered whichever questions we had and always available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    Okay for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast layout is unappetizing. Halls and room had an unpleasant odour - maybe from cleaning materials. Room has dim light. Place could use a nice face-lift.

    Excellent location in the heart of Venice. Very friendly and helpful staff. Elegant old lobby, if getting slightly shabby. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely boutique hotel, super staff and a delicious breakfast. The hotel had character, was spotlessly clean and only a short walk from the main attractions. Really enjoyed our stay here and had a great time in Venice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants recommended by hôtel. One in a street just over canal and behind church charged 18 euros cover charge plus service to sit at a table in the street. Then over charged 12 euros for a smal plate of veg marked on menu at ?. 5 euros. Caveat emptor ! Great hôtel. Hard to reach by water ferry orange or blue from airport. They are so smala. Wwaited in queue for One jour. Try bus and line 1 next time

    Staff, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.4
    Nice and authentic place but very poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet is bagging all the time. Impossible to work. Breakfast is too modest and poor. No choice at all. In this four-star hotel you just can't ask for a glass of water in the restaurant! First you will be given technical water from coffemachine with the poor taste, second you will wait 15 min. And then you will be offered to take care about it yourself. Staff are not really polite. Most of them don't speak English. It was last-second discount. And even for this money it was like very strange to have such poor service.

    Interior is just super! Like you are in the Middleage :) Place is very comfortable. Heart of the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Venice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Excellent location, really comfortable room (junior suite) with all necessary facilities. Quiet, relaxing and a great base to explore Venice from.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    We really liked the room, very big and spacious, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really liked the room, very big and spacious, bed was comfy, and the breakfast was surprisingly good. Location was the best, between Rialto and San Marco

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    A good choice in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little tricky, so needed to use my mobile GPS. If mobility is a problem, be aware that there are stairs in the hotel. This is all common in Venice. The only other thing to warn about is to check the room really carefully when leaving. The lighting is adequate but not bright, and the patterned carpet and furnishings act as camoflauge, easy to lose a mobile phone or other small objects.

    Room was very quiet, and much larger than expected. Furnishings and location on small canal, all very typical Venetian. An electric jug and coffee/tea bags are provided. Considering that a buffet breakfast was included, it was fantastic value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Could be better for a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely zero vegan options for breakfast, which was included in the price and we specified our need beforehand. The heating system is made with AC and it was extremely nosiy and annoying.

    Friendly staff, except the oldest man at the front desk who was to lazy to accomodate us when the lighting system in the room was faulty. We asked the next shift guy to help, and he sent someone to our room. Very good location! Room was exactly as shown in photos, when we booked it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.1
    The location close to St Marks square easy to access from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast lacked variety and healthy choices. We had to ask for cappicinos it wasn't offered. A great breakfast if you only want a crossaint and cake. A bit monotonous after 5 nights. The spa bath didn't work. No lift for luggage.

    The location close to St Marks square easy to access from the train station and easy access to the airport link stop. The local restaurants were of varying quality but not determined by price, but that seems to be Venice. Tourist focussed at the expense of quality and experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location, nice staff...fantastic value booking day before
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too hard and room not super soundproof.

    We booked one day in advance and it was a fantastic value. Lovely room, large and jacuzzi tub were bonuses.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.8
    Great location and staff, skip the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understanding Venice is expensive and the buildjngs, vintage but while I was "upgraded" to a canal-view room, the room itself was dingy, dirty walls, poor lighting and the bed could stand to get new covers. For 4 stars, it was a 3 star experience. The buffet breakfast was plentiful but of fair quality: cold powdered eggs, dry breads, warm yogurt. For 4 stars, I expect nicer.

    Best thing about the hotel is the location. While it was initially hard to find, it proved to be walkable to everything. The staff was very kind and helpful -- the second best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    7.5
    A nice hotel to stay but I couldn't understand how it is 4⭐️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even the location is very nice to walk around it is a little far away from the water bus line and it is hard to go hotel with luggages. There wasn't elevator in the hotel and corridors were like labyrinth. Even it is in Italy there wasn't tomate mozzarella olives concombre at the breakfast.

    Location of the Hotel is between Rialto and San Marco Square. The rooms was very nice with the traditional figures of Venice and very clean. Bathroom was with spa. Staff were mostly helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful bday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work well but it's a tiny thing

    Usually I never write any reviews , however, that one really deserves. It's was amazing stuff in the hotel. It was a bday celebration and we had a complimentary bottle of prosecco which I requested in advance. It's a perfect location because everything is very close, also good for shopping.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Special treat for a 30th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't aware that local tax needed to be paid in cash, but this was however explained on arrival.

    The hotel is situated in a fantastic location, slightly off the busy main streets - perfect for exploring Venice. If you are getting the boat to and from the airport, having the Sant' Angelo stop a few minutes walk away is great. We stayed in Nov in the junior suite which was very spacious and perfect for a special treat. Hotel staff were friendly and on hand to answer any questions. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    - location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - big parts of the hotel are very dated and could do with a renovation and upgrade. This hotel would not pass as four star anywhere else in Europe.

    - location, location, location... it's a bit of a hidden side street, but very central.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    3.3
    Not worth the money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth the extra money i paid. Had to ask for my room to be cleaned. Didn't even give anymore tea or coffee sachets on the 2nd day after the room was cleaned. Jacuzzi gave out black residue which we were so annoyed with!! Overall it was too expensive for what we got. Better off staying in a hotel further away and save some money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Good, but not good enough for that price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -booking.com promised a dvd player which wasn't present -staff was very friendly but couldn't really solve any issues we had -air conditionner could only heat and not cool the room down -the doors make a lot of noise when opening and closing: woke up everytime one the neighbours left their room -everytime we got back to the room in the afternoon someone was working there (mostly cleaning personal) with the room door widely open; once we even found the door open but no one inside: safe to say you'll need to put your valuables inside the safe!

    -the deluxe room was nicely big -bathroom was clean and beautiful -while cleaning they even used some scented spray -bed was big and comfortable -staff was friendly and spoke english -good location in the heart of the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent, like very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of elevators, but this is normal in most of hotels in Venice

    Excellent service, friendly and very helpful staff, good location, walking distance to Saint Marcos Square.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Wish I was staying longer. I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was in perfect shape. Very clean . Beautifully layed out. Couldn't of ask for more. Very happy with the staff. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    The location was perfect, quiet but close to St Mark's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was perfect, quiet but close to St Mark's Square. We booked a junior suite and it was fabulous. The bed was so comfortable. Air conditioning very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to carry your luggage to the room , there is no elevator and i checked in at night so there was no one to carry the luggage ,

    Excellant location Very close to saint marco and surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants, Very clean and spatious room, Friendly staff, Nice breakfast , Very nice decoration,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Bigger room then other hotels in Venice and for the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough employees at breakfast time

    Bigger room then other hotels in Venice and for the same price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    I enjoiyed it. but the night was too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning did not work

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Wanna go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ca' Alvise traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: