Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ca' Fontanea

Cannaregio, Campiello delle Beccarie 786, Cannaregio, 30170 Venice, Italy

#124 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 864 B&B reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could be improved: the glass "wall" that was meant to keep water inside the bath did not really work, we could not switch between the two shower heads either.

    The breakfast was very good by Italian standards. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was quite convenient: relatively close to the train/bus station, though a bit far away from the main sights. Overall it's a reasonable choice for a short stay, but don' t except anything fancy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how disabled people can get around easily, certainly bridges everywhere might cause problems?

    Well, we liked the location, quiet with restaurants nearby that were very good and reasonably priced. For some, it might have been too far out but really it was only 10 mins from busy spots. We're mid-60s and we like walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived at 2:45 pm and the room was not ready yet and the girl at the reception was texting the room service telling her to start working on our room. we couldn't use our room till 5pm. also location is very far from everything and hard to get to. also heaps of insects in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to read clear the instruction to get the place. I mis overlook the restaurant by mistake with another one, it make me take 30 min wondering around. Finally I found the correct restaurant at the end of canal. Then it takes me few min to get the house. It take a while for us to find the way to switch on the main power of the room. Bath room is bit small. And water leaking at shower place to room.

    Allow us to keep the luggage at their b&b after Check out. Facilities to cook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit leaky.

    The terrace in the room was beautiful and it was very quiet. Great area well away from the tourist traps. Really comfortable room and we had a lovely stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ferry boats are not operating here all night. So if you need to catch your flight early or you coming home late be ready to walk from the train station 20 minutes

    It is a quite please with no crowds and still close to the center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good heating, but cold stony floor without any carpeting, even slippers were nor provided. Walls are not sound protected, luckily we had neighbors who did not speak much, and were quick while had shower.

    Location Good to reach main touristic sights. Calm district. Some really good places to eat around Room Nice and cozy from the first glance. Enough place to keep our luggage and stuff. Perfect wi-fi. Cattle, two cups and teaspoons provided, wellcome tea/coffee is included. We did not take breakfast, just used cattle. Hospitality Very responcive to the questions. Fast and well-coordinated welcome and check-in process. Still some mistakes occured, but were corrected very quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An outdoor space to sit & relax would have been nice after a day sightseeing,but that’s being picky.

    .Nice quiet area,a water bus station 3 min walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT PAY FOR THIS PLACE, WE HAD A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. The shower did not work properly, it kept falling off the wall and flooding the floor. The air con did not work, we were told the manager did not turn it on in April......we accepted this but when it came to night we had to open our windows as it was so hot and the mosquito net did not work properly either!! We woke up covered in bites. We informed the one staff member who was pleasant abd agreed with our complaint and said they were due to fix the problems. She asked we email the manager. I’ve had a few email reply’s from the Manager Alex who had been very rude, unprofessional and outright insulting towards us. We just travelled through Italy for a few weeks and this is the only problem we had which is a shame as it tarnished our stay in Venice. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

    Staff were pleasant and listened and agreed with our complaints, although they could not help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Armchair was dirty, with a lot of dust. But this is peanuts.

    An excellent place in a quiet area of Venice. It takes about 30 min to walk to San Marco but you can enjoy the area free of tourist crowds. This part of Venice is not fancy but ideal to feel the atmosphere of the city on the water, to walk slowly, to enjoy your coffee near a canal. Don't forget to check the map (I used Maps Me) to learn the way to the hotel. It is located within 10 minutes walking from the Venezia St. Lucia railway station. The reception operates only by mornings but they have an excellent access system for guests arriving later (you get a door code by email and collect your keys inside). Rooms are small, a bit old but quite nice, it's definitely a good value for money. No classic breakfast. We bought yoghurt, mozzarella, prosciutto and canolli in a supermarket (DESPAR is within 10-13 minutes walking) and had an amazing breakfast in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, really clean. Toilet was nice too! We were pleasantly surprised by the refreshments and bottled water provided too. Location is a little far from the main attractions, but really near to S. Lucia station so it was a worthy compromise!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small TV in the bedroom, ikeea furniture still in the box, wardrobe in the bedroom was very old.

    Air conditioning, 2 balconies and the apartment was huge at attico, bigger TV in the living room, good bathroom, good WiFi, best value for the money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, great bed, friendly service, mosquito nets on the windows: no mosquitos in the room! Great, quiet location! Had a wonderful time, totally recommended. Don't forget to ask for the code to check in, as reception is till 13:30. They gave us perfect directions on how to walk from the bus stop and the code. The key and instructions were waiting. They let us store luggage the last day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full breakfast menu not available. No wine or beer in mini - fridge.

    Good value. Helpful, friendly staff. Clean usable bathroom. Near many local restaurants, bars, shopping, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For some reason there was only one bin in the toilet, I have never asked for another one so can't really complain. For some reason empty glass bottles were never picked up from our room so after 7 days there was a fair build up ;)

    Location, North of Venice closest to Airport when transferring on boat-bus, close to Train station too. 30min walk of St Marco. Reasonable price for value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location's a bit challenging for our backpackers. The walk from the train station is further than expected (because of the structure of road in Venice)

    Vanessa and her colleague were fantastic! They were both been super helpful! Room and bathroom are both clean, got many amenities. Heater is strong!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way to this hotel is very desolate,it was too scared when we walked in the night. And there aren't restaurants around there.

    Near the train station and comfortable place. Valuable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe there was a little bit of rumor.

    Totally value for money, only 10 min from railway station and you can avoid long distances with luggage , nice room(big), clean. Really hospitable people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet, so no payment via card. Reception open until 13:00. The instructions for entering the hotel came the same day on my arival and I didn't know about it. So I was really shocked standing in front of the locked door alone late in the night. Luckily I made my internet work (very bad reception in Venice) and was able to go in.

    Nice staff, good location, very good connection to the train station and bus station (by walking), clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have any internet. So annoying. They said that there is a problem with the internet.

    The location is almost near with main station and we can see a canal/a river along the way towards the hotel. It was a beautiful moment for going or leaving the street. The staff is really friendly, she had given us a map/a booklet for a tourist place or a restaurant near them. The day for check out, they will let us to leave our belongings inside the hotel and then come back again. We don’t need bring our suitcases everywhere until our train are coming. At room, there is a water heater, tea and sugar but no coffe :( There is a small fridge as well inside the room. the mineral water bottle is free but for others we have to pay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no Wi-fi all week, and the receptionist was not very helpful. The shower in the attic room needs fixing (the door leaks), and the bathroom tap only runs hot water.

    Nice little place tucked away in a quiet part of Canareggio, lovely attic room with an altana (which was an unexpected bonus!). The room was warm and comfortable, complete with a tiny kitchenette - in the summer, it would be ideal for al fresco dinners overlooking the roofs and church spires.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues finding the property. We received an email from Ca' Fontanea that provided their address through a link, which we followed and it was incorrect. This was quite stressful as it took over an hour to find the correct address. But other than that we enjoyed our stay!

    Really appreciated being able to leave our luggage in the building as check out was 11am but we were stuck in Venice until 6pm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Location is wayyy off in google maps which cost us a lot of time lugging heavy suitcases through Venice with a 2 yr old in tow. When we finally reached the staff said they had sent us a mail with the location which they did not. They said they have contacted google regarding the location in google maps and google refused to change it. I don't buy this argument as myself and my family have travelled to 13 other countries round the world and none of the hotels have their location wrong in google maps. 2. I think they are withholding the correct location in google maps as the location of the hotel is not that near to the main train station and carrying a heavy load of luggage to the tip of this island where this is located is difficult, but luckily we found a road that runs right back thru the hotel into the train station on our check out. 3. When we came for check out at around 10:30 am, all our luggage was kept outside our room by the staff and they began cleaning the room saying the check out time is over. But it is clearly mentioned in the print out that they gave us that the check out is at 11 Am. To amend their mistake they did not charge us the city tax for our stay

    Room & bath was ok. Veporatto stops near the hotel to go to Murano and burano. Staff was cheerful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed a code to get into reception - this had not been mentioned or provided to us. Not pushchair or suitcase friendly because there is no elevator, and a fairly narrow and steep set of stairs. Could not get the show to a comfortable temperature for more than several seconds before it would get incredibly hot or incredibly cold. Wasted water in a 20 minute, frustrating shower each.

    Spacious bedroom and kitchen/dining area. There was a washing machine too. It was a very quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find it using Google maps. Plus they didn't answer the phone when I was looking for it. The room needed minor repairs. Venice itself is too crowded.

    The breakfast was nice, but we prefer a breakfast room. They served it in the room. It was in a quiet area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Venice has very smelly waste system...this is not unique to the property!

    Difficulty finding location but once key located then easy to find apartment. Excellent sized apartment and good facilities. Staff helpful and pleasant when needing assistance. Water bus great way to travel around Venice- with a day pass you can cover the whole city!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an annoying odor coming from the bathroom. The front door to the apartment building needed to be planed to close properly.

    The location was great for taking the airport boat back to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and mugs in room but no coffee to make a drink

    Easy to find. Good instructions from the owners. Great transport links to the airport, cruise port, train station, the other islands and around Venice. Away from the main tourist areas but near enough to get to them. Very comfy beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee making facilities provided but had to ask for coffee and no extra provided on the second day. Sound can travel from hallway/other rooms, we had quiet neighbours but might be an issue if you get someone noisy next door.

    Simple, basic accommodation away from the crowds, with pleasant helpful staff. Comfy Bed & good size room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the property was so helpful and kind. We felt welcomed to Venice and knew if we had any questions we only had to ask, but he covered everything we needed to know anyway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in Venice. 10 minutes walk from Santa Lucia station, but in a quieter and less commercial district. There are streets quiet enough to stroll through or jog through, but enough bars and restaurants around to keep you fully sorted. The hotel provides a door code and leaves keys on the counter, which suited us just fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought about booking breakfasts here, but they were too poor

    The room was clean, quiet big, bed was comfortable. The hotel is located in a very quite area, water buses are close, so you can go to Burano and Murano without problems. After 13:30 there is no one at the reception so Kay attention to the letter you receive after booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they need to extend the reception time and fix the AC in the rooms. there was a problem of maintenance during my stay and they provided a fan instead the AC. The location is far, I needed to walk around 1 km to reach the hotel either by bus or water bus.

    It is very quiet guest house. I didn't meet anyone during my stay neither the staff nor other customers. I arrived after the reception time and I found the code of the door in an email was sent by the property. Then I found a gentle letter from the staff and they key of my room on the reception bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleaning of the room was not being done properly. There was dust under the beds and corners, a leaked liquid on the fridge, and we had problem with bed bugs.

    Very good location. It is located in a beautiful and peaceful area with amazing sunset view! Also close to the city centre and public transportation. The staff were also friendy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to information on booking.com check in is from 12 PM, but actually rooms are ready from 2 PM. Switch to set a temperature in fridge was broken, we would have liked a cooler fridge.

    Our room had 4 windows, great to cool down the room. At our arrival we were told that AC is out of service and will be repaired next day, but we were given a fan. Actually I would prefer fan over AC, so we were happy for that. Location is in a quiet area, waterbus stops and cafes very close. 3 days before arrival we got a detailed email with instructions how to get to hotel and a code to open a door in case we arrive when there's noone in reception (after 1.30 PM). Hint: switch to bathroom fan is located next to toilet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition had broken down in the middle of the heat wave. Impossible to sleep in room. We left as early as possible. Terrible experience. Small room with temperature well above 40 degrees Celsius despite electric fan

    Might be nice hotel but had terrible experience see below.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle needed replacing and the room had a musty smell to start.

    We had the top floor 107 had it's own balcony as such. Which was good in the day as was way too hot to be walking about. Quiet location with a number of very nice restaurants on the walk up the main drag

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was bad, the temperature never remained stable and would sometimes fluctuate from freezing to scalding. They didn't clean our room after our first night.

    The location was quiet with easy access to a boat station. Room was spacious and included a refrigerator and washing machine. Receptionist was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we reached the hotel a hour after the check-in time, the door was closed and a message said that we need to enter a secret code that was emailed to us. However, we hadn't received any secret code via email from the said email address. Moreover, our phone networks were not working for some reason, so we were stuck outside the door for quite some time. Fortunately, another couple reached the hotel and were able to phone them and get the secret code via phone. Later during the day, when we were going out for sight-seeing, we found another couple who were stuck outside and were relieved that we had opened the door for them. This secret code thing is a real deal-breaker for me. The reception is open only for a few hours. The mirror in the room is quite small and a full-size mirror is available just outside the room.

    The location is pretty good in that it is a 10-12 minute walk from the train station. There is also a vaporetto station at a 5 minute walk. Since Venice is small, we took a Vaporetto to St. Mark's square and were comfortable coming back walking to our hotel. We only used the Vaporetto once. Rest of the time we enjoyed Venice by just walking and exploring. There are many shops on the way from the train station to the hotel. The room is clean and in the room there is a fridge with a wooden door right below the television and it has a bottle of free mineral water (frizzy water).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small breakfast. Hot water was compromised in the shower if your partner also uses the sink. The view from our window happened to be into someone's backyard, but understandably we were in Venice and there is limited space.

    The room was a good size. Plenty of towels for the bathroom. Small kitchenette, washing machine, mini fridge were all nice touches to the room. The internet wifi in the room was excellent. Very easy to navigate to the property. Boat taxi was very close by. Staff offered to store luggage at the facility even after check out to go touring around the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was rather weak and only cold if you were standing beside the unit. We had a leaky sink which leaked all over the bathroom floor. We had asked for twin beds and had one queen size bed. We were told we would have breakfast in our room which wasn't ideal. Tiny shower that was difficult to get in and out of if you're allergic son. We had a fridge in our room but it really only made things cool not cold.

    I liked the location as it was an easy walk from the train station or from the area water bus stops. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Immaculate room and very comfortable. Exceptional shower. Great location too - nice and quiet but still easy walking distance to the main tourist trail. There was nobody manning reception when we arrived, but there were clear instructions provided by email and also left at the property so we had no problem accessing and finding our room. This place was really surprising given it's low price compared to other options in Venice at the time - I would highly recommend and will book again should I return to Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast OK - not too clear how it worked. Eaten in your room. No milk in room for the tea and coffee Location good but need to be prepared to walk a little bit.

    Excellent location, clean bedroom and bathroom Would recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very good value for money. The hotel is in the walking distance from the train station and is close to the pier for public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred not to have breakfast in our room but this is a personal opinion.

    We had a warm welcome from Vanessa, the receptionist of the hotel. The air conditioning in the lobby was great as it was so hot outside. The room was spacious, clean and well cooled by the AC. The room was cleaned and towels were changed everyday. Crea station for the water commute is less than 5 minutes walk from the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find a night on our first night, but typical Venice. We thought since it was a BnB, breakfast was included, but it was not. We ate out every morning, which we actually enjoyed.

    It was perfectly located, affordable and quaint. We were happy it had air conditioning, a nice shower, and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extractor fan was noisy when in the bathroom.

    Friendly and extremely helpful young lady on reception. The room was small but perfectly adequate and clean - Venice is not for staying in your room (see photos). The air con was very effective and much quieter that a UK 4* hotel I stayed in a couple of days ago. The bed was comfortable, and the pillows - unusually - were very comfortable. An electric kettle was supplied with mugs, and tea and coffee, although if you drink as much tea as us you will need to buy a pack of milk. The bathroom was good, but a bit dim. The extractor fan was noisy when in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The longest wifi password ever, impossible to enter it. Staff didn't replace any room consumables for the second day, even when requested. But mostly good.

    Great price and value for Venice.Pretty easy to find, great room, a little away from the main drag. Great room, excellent aircon, private bathroom. Reasonable breakfast at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit​ pricey for the room, the shower wasn't working properly and not easy to find. The wall are thin and you can hear staff talking downstairs and the other guests

    The room was fine and clean. The location is not very central but easy to access everywhere and away from noisy and crowd. The staff was helpful and polity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of hot water for evening shower.

    Excellent location, The bar half way down on left canalside, walking away from hotel, opens at 7am and offer better light breakfast option.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet light was not function. The water for shower constantly changed in temperature (which made us very fed up to take shower). The breakfast wasn't appetizing. The light in the bedroom was too dim.

    It can be really quiet at night since it's located far away from town. But there's a shortcut to the railway station by turning left once came out from the apartment main door, and walk all the way straight to cross a bridge that's not shown in google map.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger shower stall would have been nice. The lights in our bedroom did not work either. Has to use hallway lights, which made showering a bit difficult.

    Very modern and comfortable suite. Lots of space to live in! Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work until I reset their router. The bathroom lights did not work despite us complaining to the staff. The staff was only available for a few hours a day and we were not told that breakfast was in-room only from 9-10 am. We were not able to have breakfast either day.

    Location was off the main strip, but close to everything. Lots of space in our room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing at all we didn't like

    The apartment we were in was far far larger than expected, comfortable, and the staff were beyond helpful and very friendly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service was non existent Many problems eg on arrival at around 6.00pm no towels in room and no one to help and even after a thorough search none could be found. The next day at around 9.00am we were given two hand towels fetched from another property which were not much use after a shower!!Many other problems reported but any request to speak to a manager or the owner were rejected. Our 7th visit to Venice and the first time we experience problems despite the cost being one of the highest. I shall never use Booking.com again!!!!

    The room was ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some people might not like not having staffing in the reception 24 hours a day and having some staff member not fluent in English. This was not a problem to us.

    The facility was located out of the heavy tourist area, but a short walk to public transportation and an easy walk to attractions. Upon arrival very early we were allowed to place our luggage in our room and hostess provided a very complete overview of the more important things to visit in Venice. Continental breakfast was available at a reasonable price, although we did not participate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Near the train station and busyness of Venice streets but at the end of a quiet canal so nice to get a bit of peace too. Room was clean and pretty spacious compared to others we stayed at in Venice. Breakfast was delivered to the room which was nothing fancy but more than adequate. It's a small establishment so staff were only there until 1.30pm if you come after that as we did entrance was via a secret code. No problem with any of this though. Lovely little bar just before the turn off to the house and couple of nice local restaurants too. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were absolutely thrilled with the location....a quiet walk away from the crowds...down the path off the canal...aahh peace & quiet...the room was just lovely, great security, great everything, ...opened the windows...listen to the bells chiming...breakfast delivered at 9am...TV was on the small table...tennis was on so we were rapt...tennis has no language...we walked towards the shopping crowds....and walked out to our sanctuary...that's how it felt...lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the fact that when we gently complained about the lack of hot water and suggested we might get a discount on our room rate the management gave us an excellent discount and fixed the problem.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt strongly of sewage gases. Luckily we were able to close the door to our room and the bathroom so the smell didn't spread. As reception is only open until 13:30 this makes it difficult if you need anything after this time.

    We had a comfy apartment with basic kitchen facilities and a washing machine. The room was very spacious. The hotel is located about a 15 min walk from St Lucia station about 30 mins walk from St Marks Square. There are some nice restaurants nearby. A waterbus station is conveniently located only a few mins from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast available only between 9 and 10, and brought to room (no breakfast area).

    quietness of the area, friendliness of the staff, small fridge in room, price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect!

    Great rooms, lovely bathrooms. We recieved free city map also a great dinner place recommendation! Thanks a million :) Very close to centre in a calm and quiet neighborhood. Room was cleaned every day as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guesthouse was really nice, the staff very attentive, we also enjoyed the confort of the room (and also of the bed). There were some small restaurants near the guesthouse and also a shop. We definitely recommend Ca Fontanea!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We visited this place in March. The room was big, nice, warm and very well equipped. We were suprised that cleaning service is done every day! Location is perfect, stuff very nice and helpful. I could not imagine better conditions and what is more - for such price!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell outside of the rooms. It was a bit difficult to find the hotel the first time.

    It's a very nice apartment hotel, close to the centre, water bus was ver close.amazing staff. Clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I had to point out something (even though we where in general very happy with our stay), The shower head did hot stay in place on the wall so we had to hold it when taking a shower and the double was two single beds joined by a cover and the sheets, which tends to be the case in most hotels lately anyway.

    Very good location: Close to everything, but far enough not to have all the noise from the street. Water bus very close and main street too. Helpful staff and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room doesn't appear to have sound insulation. We could clearly hear normal talking voice from next room until 3, 4 AM, that woke us up intermittently through out the night.

    It's well organized, included very detailed instructions in getting to the location which is very helpful for Venice, and the staff is responsive to emails. The staff Chiara speaks good English, is very sweet and very helpful in taking care of all our needs. Fatima is also very nice and makes very good cappuccino for breakfast. The shower is hot which is much appreciated and the bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel located at a very nice and quite area but also not far away the railway station. The room was quite nice and cosy. One of the best sleep i had during my trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic room, nice decor, clean and it had great facilities like a jug, tea and coffee and even crackers and spreads! The room was serviced immaculately everyday. The staff were extremely polite and friendly and have a comprehensive run down of Venice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested separated 2 single beds in advance, however it wasn't. The staff made up one couch to a bed,so it was ok to stay though. Wifi was a bit weak.

    The location was close to Santa Lucia station and it's alomost 15mins on foot. The hotel was not so big, but our bathroom was really comfortable.The front staff was kind and she always smiled:) There were some nice restaurants near the hotel. We could eat at night and went back to the hotel only few minutes on foot.(It's really dark at night in venezia after 7 or so far)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    An elevator would have made it perfect. Be aware you have to carry your suitcases up two steep flights of stairs. This is totally normal for Venice, as even some 3 star hotels don't have an elevator.

    - They provided clean towels every day. - The apartment was really, really big. - Great shower every morning. - The place was really, really clean. - The washing machine in the apartment worked great, but there is no dryer. We just hung our clothes in the bathroom to dry. BTW, this is typical for Europe. - The apartment was easy to find and was located in a quiet part of Venice. - The corner restaurant/Bar had wonderful food and we got a cappuccino and pastry there every day. - Watch how the students get to the train station, and the shortcut will cut your walk down to 10 mins.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was hardly any kitchenware if you were actually going to cook in the apartment.

    This self-catering apartment is in the quiet, relatively peaceful Cannaregio district. It's a few meters from a canal with easy connections to the main tourist areas. You also can walk to the Santa Lucia railway station with only one bridge to cross.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food available at breakfast was inconsistent and what was available possibly depended on what time you came down for breakfast. On one day everything had been cleared away even though we arrived before the 10 am finish. Servicing of the room was also inconsistent although the bed had always been tidied and clean towels provided.

    Comfortable bed, air conditioning. Good shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price we paid for 2 nights, it would have been better to have breakfast included

    The location was excellent, only 10 minutes walk from the station and off the noise of the touristic area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a little lost on my way to the hotel. I rang and got further directions from the S.L. station. Perhaps these could be included in the booking confirmation directions : ie, with the station to your back, turn left...I engaged the services of a porter who was very friendly and helped me there with my big bags. Recommended, because there's one large bridge to cross before you reach the 'alley' .

    I had a full bath! Luxury! Big room, comfortable bed. Lovely! And in a quiet spot.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ca' Fontanea traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: