Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort 4 stars

Via Peschiera, 3, 37011 Bardolino, Italy

#6 of 40 hotels in Bardolino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 820 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk to Bardolino. Shuttle bus great, but could be more frequent.

    Fabulous hotel. Lovely staff. Amazing food in restaurant. Breakfast choices were extensive. Gardens pretty. Upgrade to main hotel, and bubbly for our anniversary really appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in French language but it’s not a problem if you speak Italian, English or... German !

    Great ! Spa, sauna hammam are excellent and really big. Breakfast and shuttle to Bardolino are free. Great choice for breakfast. People very kind and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    The majority of the staff were amazing;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly some of the bistro and bar staff were a bit surly. Their faces were anything but welcoming and one lady in particular was slow, difficult, sour faced and completely unable to perform her role in any way competently. She got regular rebukes from her managers and supervisors always in public view 😒

    The majority of the staff were amazing; reception, bar, dining room, ground staff. The gardeners and house keeping staff were delightful and always chatted when we stopped with them. Restaurant Manager was the most complete professional I’ve encountered. The food throughout; breakfast, lunch or dinner, was of the highest quality 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to relax: excellent spa and sauna , Outdoor and indoor pools. Easy access to beach. Comfortable big room with nice view. Excellent brekfast. Beatiful garden. Bikes to hire. We Loved this hotel !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous location with exceptional staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this hotel are exceptional!! They are all amazing!! We visit Bardolino every two years and we are never disappointed when we stay at the Caesius!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A great base for a visit to Lake Garda and around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only gripe was that the location is 15-20 min walk outside of Bardolino - however I knew that when I booked it. The walk is great in the early part of the stay but becomes quite wearing later on so we opted to use the free shuttle on occasion.

    The hotel is large and roomy. Our room was great for a 7 night stay and was clean and well turned out each day by the maid. The communal areas, reception, bar(s), lounges and terrace were spacious and well presented. Breakfast was good each day with a great range of produce and the staff were attentive. We had dinner and lunch once in the restaurant, one the first afternoon and the last evening - the food was excellent and a par with all the great food we had in the restaurants we visited around the lake, in Verona and in Milan. The extra touches like the free shuttle to the rail station and into Bardolino were also much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Pure Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, we were satisfied

    Very friendly staff (everyone was very accomodating), great breakfast buffet, very nice facilities and atmosphere outside, SPA and massage was great, nice and quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool not heated

    Location ideal for walking to local towns. Easy access across the road to a lovely promenade directly on lake away from busy traffic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    It was a very comfortable, relaxing stay. We wish we had longer there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We were upgraded to a family suite which was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the garden areas and Lake Garda beyond. We loved the swimming pools. The meals were delicious. The location suited us with an easy walk along the lake foreshore to Bardolino, Cisano and Lazise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great quality hotel in lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel great but one of our sons inflatables went missing from poolside but not blaming hotel for this !

    Indoor and outdoor pools were great . We were on honeymoon and had a complimentary upgrade and having a lake view made a big difference to us . Stayed bed and breakfast so can only comment on the breakfast which was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Great service, excelent facilities, food is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far walking to restaurants around. Water in the lake around Bordolino is not pleasent for swiming

    Great service, excelent facilities, food is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic and Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!!

    The staff at this hotel are amazing! They are always smiling, always helpful and consistently go above and beyond. Your staff training program is enviable!! Fantastic experience every time we visit the hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    This hotel made our Honeymoon extra special :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV in the room could've been bigger and have Sky.

    The bed was amazing, must have been the size of 2 king size beds, and the mattress was memory foam ... bliss.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Clean room, nice staff, amazing food (outstanding breakfast)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very poor isolation of rooms, we were able to hear baby cries from other room

    Clean room, nice staff, amazing food (outstanding breakfast), great location and free bicycles

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was very noisy and the rooms don't look like a 4star hotel

    The hotel was located near the lake, the staff is exceptionally friendly and they have a great sauna environment. I especially liked the shuttle to Bardolino

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Facilties were good, Room was clean and comfortable, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked to see an omelette for breakfast or a cooking station Thought the lunch menu was a little limited

    Facilties were good, Room was clean and comfortable, free bus into Bardolino was good. Location was good peaceful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The stay was really nice. Room was cleaned and spacious. The survive in hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Pools and the wellness area were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Pools and the wellness area were great. Food and staff were AMAZING

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Like this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like this hotel. Third time there. Nice and relaxing. Spa really good if you've had too much sun or weather not good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Super weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Poor spa and swimming pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor spa and swimming pools

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Worth a second visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff go above and beyond to help. The facilities are brilliant everywhere is kept clean and tidy. Excellent views from our balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    The best 4-star hotel I have ever been (and I've been in a lot of them)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cocktails in the evening bar perhaps?

    Great room and very helpful, knowledgeable and professional staff, at all levels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The hotel to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was super

    The best hotel I stay in Italy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    excellent and we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    room service were not great at replacing whats been used

    the staff were really nice and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay and experience lake Garda, the hotel has very good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing board

    Great location, good facilities and staff only one downside no ironing board or ability to borrow one

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    breakfast was superb, big choise of different things,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was superb, big choise of different things,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was amazing. We loved the bike hire and the pool and water aerobics

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Splendid holiday, perfect venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Soundproofing between our room to the hallway could have been better.

    Everything was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Exclusives 4 Sterne Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exclusives 4 Sterne Hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    looking a bit outdated and tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    looking a bit outdated and tired

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely breakfast, excellent facilities perfect for relaxation
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit confusing to get around within the hotel

    Lovely breakfast, excellent facilities perfect for relaxation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    A great stay with easy access to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything - great location - could walk along the lake to nearby towns, friendly staff. I would visit again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Kids loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not feel like I'm in Italy.

    The kids loved the indoor pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.1
    Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa services prvided need to be improved

    Location, landscaping, and lake view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    Loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room in the Augustus building was a bit gloomy. Didn't get any sun in the room so was sometimes uncomfortably cool.

    Loved the pool. Easy to get a sunbed anytime of day. Thermal spa wonderful and free massage which was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.5
    breakfast was very good, room clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rather hard pillows, uncovenient orientation in the area, if you want to go for a breakfast, you must ask where to go, because in the plan you get at the reception desk the name of restaurant does not exist

    breakfast was very good, room clean

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    The people that work in this hotel are extremely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If disabled you might face some problems in getting around the building

    The people that work in this hotel are extremely friendly and make you feel welcome

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cleaning of rooms could have been more thorough, eg cleaning or replacing used tea cups each day, providing adequate loo roll and shower gel. Outdoor pool should have been heated in autumn as weather was nice enough to use it but the pool was too cold.

    Friendly staff. Nice complex. Lovely spa and massage.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    Super pool area, free bikes, good spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's not really in Bardolino. The food served at the hotel is overpriced and average at best.

    Super pool area, free bikes, good spa. Nice location right next to the lake.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    From Christina & Elena at reception to Armando in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough plugs in rooms to charge phones, i-pads etc.

    From Christina & Elena at reception to Armando in restaurant to Paola in bar, all excellent! Facilities are all of a very high standard and outside areas very well kept.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Spacious room with a very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is very expensive.

    Spacious room with a very comfortable bed. Fantastic and friendly Staff, excellent service. Wlan worked well, even at the poolside. Very close to the waterside and the Promenade. Airport within easy reach car or bus.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    Lovely, gardens and seating areas to relax and read in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff tend to be curt and unfriendly and although this seems on par with other restaurant / bar experiences in the area, I would expect more friendliness from the staff in a four star hotel. The outdoor pool was freezing during our stay (early Sept) even though we had lovely hot days.. Shame as it looked gorgeous, but just couldn't brave the chill to use it.

    Lovely, gardens and seating areas to relax and read in. Comfortable, clean rooms and nice views of the lake from upper storey rooms.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.0
    how it has outside pool and inside pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    although we requested for two rooms next to each other (or close), and even the Hotel called to confirm after Reservation, it didn't happen at all at the check-in. (the Reservation was more than 2 months before...)The room was very poor for the price.

    how it has outside pool and inside pool.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Fabulous hotel, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Funny really, there were no "round" plugs in view (although I found one in a cupboard that the TV was plugged into)....so difficult to charge my computer. Even stranger because the kettle in the room also had a round plug on it and so it could not even be used (unless you hide it behind the tv in the cupboard)......not a problem.....just odd

    Fabulous hotel, excellent staff.......get all the small things right! Would recommend and will stay there if we return to Garda

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    This hotel is located brilliantly and the shuttle bus they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Although the rooms are nice and great if you are a couple but as a family really not enough space, on arrival we where told we had a free upgrade which pleased us, however on entering a very small, oppressive ( 3 bed room) overlooking some houses realised this was in no way an "upgrade" and most definitely was not worth the money we had paid, requested a room change, they where very obliging and changed us to a significantly better room overlooking the lake and pool but at an extra cost, we paid this as there was no way we would have enjoyed the stay in the original room.

    This hotel is located brilliantly and the shuttle bus they provide is so useful, it is clean and tidy and appears to be incredibly safe, you can walk to the lake in two minutes and enjoy being close to many towns, the breakfast included is a buffet style and even offers a glass of proseco to start your day.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    very good location,nice stuff,the family suite eas very big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the wifi didn't work,the stuff didnt answer phone ..

    very good location,nice stuff,the family suite eas very big wnd comfortable, many pools, very good hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.5
    there is a lovely view at of the lake at breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    rooms are not 4 star quality and bathrooms are ceramic tile floor and formica type counter, no granite or marble. Rooms are large but disappointing compared to other 4 star hotels.

    there is a lovely view at of the lake at breakfast and several great swimming pools.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Loved just about everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi wasn't the greatest.

    Loved just about everything. The staff were extremely helpful and everything was provided. Had room service which was excellent. It was birthday & they gave me a lovely bottle of Prosecco. Used the Spa facility & booked a massage each. Breakfast was excellent. Huge bed & very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Great swimming pool complex with plenty of loungers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little to dislike. However, you couldn't really fit two chairs on our tiny balcony!

    Great swimming pool complex with plenty of loungers and attractive gardens. Excellent breakfast with lovely views towards the lake from the Augustus restaurant terrace. Friendly, helpful staff particularly at Reception. Bathrobes, flip flops, pool bag all provided.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    Loved the many pools to choose from and although the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The atmosphere for dinner was bland. Food average. I would not recommend dinner here. Go into town. Also, some of the staff weren't very friendly at reception.

    Loved the many pools to choose from and although the hotel was fully booked there was enough room for everyone without an overcrowded feel.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.8
    Location was ideal as very short picturesque walk along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free WIFI was poor at best bordering non existant. Despite sunshine the outside pool was very cold. (Although it was late April)

    Location was ideal as very short picturesque walk along the lake to the town of Bardolino. Stunning well kept and manicured grounds. Robes, towels, slippers, pool bag all inclusive. Plenty of sunbeds, quiet areas etc Free secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    7.9
    Upgraded room, indoor pool and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining/breakfast room partitioned but had feel of a works canteen. Not enough tables/staff at breakfast. Broken coffee machine for 3 days no sign to alert guests that they had to ask for drinks. Main problem with hotel is the lack of focus. Is it a spa hotel, a facility for touring sports teams (all 3 groups were well behaved) a kindergarten (well behaved children but lots of them) or a conference hotel (at least 4 groups in 3 days)? If our stay was intended to be a quiet stay for R and R we would have been really disappointed but as a base for touring it is fine.

    Upgraded room, indoor pool and location. Staff on reception were a delight.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Breakfasr buffet was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thermae pools were not hot. Barely warm

    Breakfasr buffet was great.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    service was excellent and cleanliness fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service was excellent and cleanliness fantastic. Umbrellas provided at each exit

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    9.6
    Staff very polite and helpful, proposed a room upgrade with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff very polite and helpful, proposed a room upgrade with no extra charges

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.6
    # 1. frendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location and parking

    # 1. frendly # 2. kindly

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Location Fantastica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Fantastica

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    The restaurant was lovely, the spa and the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The restaurant was lovely, the spa and the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.9
    Location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible food at the pool bar

    Location,

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.1
    Nice hotel, good pool, friendly staff, good spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor lunch and dinner, nice breakfast though

    Nice hotel, good pool, friendly staff, good spa

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.0
    Front desk - resolved problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Front desk - resolved problems

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    Great rooms, service, pool and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great rooms, service, pool and surroundings

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    The spa was top notch and restaurant was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited wifi in the room.

    The spa was top notch and restaurant was wonderful. Very accommodating for a family with a small child.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    6.7
    Good pool and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very poor internet, staff sometimes not flexible and service minded

    Good pool and restaurant

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: