Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda Ca' Formosa

Castello 4857, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#121 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 814 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    👌🏼👌🏼
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of stairs, not a problem for young, abled people but some may struggle

    Good central location but still quiet with very local vibe, close to many good restaurants and bars. Staff were kind and helpful and even upgraded our room from shared to private bathroom at no extra cost. Breakfast was great with a variety of foods on offer and coffee made by one of the hosts. Clean hotel with great wifi and spacious rooms. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    I would not personally recommend friends or family to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walking directions (given by guest house) from water taxi to hotel were terrible! There were hairs in my bed when I turned down the bed sheets upon arrival...yuck. The manager had already left for the evening as soon as we arrived. The manager did not hide his disappointment that we arrived about 3 hours later then the time we had notified him that we would arrive (still arrived before dinner time), due to traffic and being lost in the streets trying to find the guest house. Bathroom in our room was small & tight. We were on the top floor and had to carry our own suitcases up the narrow staircases ourselves.

    The breakfast was decent; the server/preparer of breakfast was very pleasant; the location in proximity to tourist sites was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel the staff couldn't be more helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel the staff couldn't be more helpful and the room was comfortable. There are a lot of steps to the room as advertised but the super fit staff had no problem carrying the bags up and down for us. The location is superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very comofrtable. We were on the last floor, so the bathroom was next door. Very clean! The staff very kind. They even let us print some tickets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Good location; quiet, yet central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location next to Piazza Santa Maria Formosa. It's halfway between Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. It's quiet at night and the air conditioning works well. Our room was spacious enough for three people. Nice to have a breakfast available with fresh croissants and cappuccino!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Family group of 4 adults
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many many steep narrow stairs were a negative. Also one of the single beds had a very poor mattress - only suitable for a child but not an adult. The double bed was extremely hard.

    The property was in an excellent location. The room was very clean. The people were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location, the rooms were lovely - very traditional but with great air con. Breakfast was good too, I loved the croissants. I wouldn't recommend if you find stairs an issue but we were warned before we stayed here so it wasn't a problem for us. There is an oyster and prosecco bar just around the corner - its owner managed and fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Hidden gem convenient to both San Marco and Rialdo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower!

    Staff was helpful and night staff carried our suitcase up to our room. Was able to explore area while leaving luggage at hotel. Convenient to San Marco and Rialdo bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    My wife keep looking at me who booked it through you, when she could NOT sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact there was 59 steps to the room! The a/c went OUT and they only brought in a fan to help us on some of the hotter days in Venice! We could not find the place "easily" and had to hire a porter to do that job. He knew right were is was! It is well hidden in this medival town.

    The staff tried to be very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Thank you Silvia and staff for a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Silvia and the staff are the best that we have encountered during our European trip. They went beyond, sending my hubby’s suit overnight to our next destination. They are quick to help even if we were no longer there. The breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay, very good selection and the croissants are amazing! And they made sure we were fed before our check out at 330AM! The room was comfortable and good AC. And it’s close to landmarks. Love Love this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant location - close to St Marks Square and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As is common for Venice, expensive and lots of stairs. But that’s Venice.

    Brilliant location - close to St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge but off the main tourist track. Lovely bar in Campo di Santa Maria Formosa for morning coffee or evening people watching. Big family room, spacious bathroom, overlooking canal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is a large converted apartment, some of the rooms are connected with doors and not very soundproof, but we did not have any problems with that. The nice pink bathroom robes provided were so small that we burst into laughter when tried to put them on. Could be slightly cheaper, but that's prices in Venice.

    Our room was spacious and the shared bathroom was spotless. No problems with water temperature or pressure. To access the bathroom you need to cross the dining hall, but we knew about that from reviews. We were also aware of the steps at the entrance, but never found them tedious. Generous breakfast buffet with some meats, cheese, eggs, cereals, yogurts, pastry and a couple of croissants brought to the table. Very nice staff. Good location a 10 minute walk from major tourist places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    Very littoe value for money when you have to pay more than a standard B&B rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get it on a real B&B rate, ok. But if you have to pay 3-4* Hotel prices because of e.g. high season as on (long) weekends etc.,it's just no value for money at all, not to say a complete rip off as most in Venice, anyway. Just booked this one because of the good rating and the pictures which don't reflect reality. The view was against a concrete wall. No river, no Terrasse, no garden. Beds are just cheap mattresses on two single bedsteads. No even a proper warm duvet. But it was cold. Bathroom would need a refurbishment. Breakfast was alright continental B&B Standard inside. All in all pretty authentic Italian B&B, but on 3* price level even for Venice. All good ratings here must have been from people just paid hostel rates for it. In this case worth a 4 star rating. But elsewise not to recommend. Better pay 30-50% more and get at least value for your money having a round and romantic stay in Venice. Could have get for the same rate 4* Boutique Hotels on walk in rates as prices drop notable when rooms are left over. And there are many in Venice even on a long weekend in May.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Great value - watch out for mosquitos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised with air con - adv it isn’t warm enough for the air con yet - it was 26 degrees. Our room in the attic was boiling - windows open = covered in mosquito bites

    Location was great, beautiful room with facilities. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good central location and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside to this hotel is that it is located on the third floor of a building with six flights of stairs to climb!

    The whole room experience was delightful. The bathroom was well equipped and the bedroom was airy and light. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choice. The staff were helpful and considerate and having stayed in comparable hotels in Venice many times, the room and breakfast was by far the best!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite many stairs. Dirty floors. No luggage room. If you want to leave your luggage, you have to leave them in the corridor. Receptiin was not available even in daytime.

    Breakfast was good. Also location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Would not stay here again due to too many stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift, we had to carry our large suitcases up 60 stairs. Do not stay here if you have large heavy bags. Tricky finding hotel from the station. Definatly not for the faint hearted. Matresses on the beds were very thin, bathroom was always hot, very small shower.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast lad was very sweet, breakfast was good. The man at the desk was helpful with information

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Good option and very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have elevator and rooms are on the 3rd floor.

    The location of the hotel is very good. The room was quite comfortable and very clean. Breakfast is very good. If you arrive in Venice by plane you can get the boat and get off in Ospedale stop then walk 10 min. If you arrive by train, you can get the Vaporetto and get off in Rialto stop and also walk 7/10 min.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift , so get prepared for a lot of stairs! We didn't mind though!

    Very good location, friendly hosts, nice breakfast, comfy room. As a plus i would say that is near to a ferry station that it was helpful the day arriving and departing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very cosy atmosphere in the hotel with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be ready for those Venice steps (we enjoyed them)

    Great location, very cosy atmosphere in the hotel with a great breakfast provided every day and very friendly staff. Well equipped room with everything needed, even a couple of spare pillows for those of us who like something a little higher to sleep on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Location was excellent, staff friendly and an awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only awkwardness was having to walk thru dining area to use the facilities as our room did not come with its own bathroom.

    Location was excellent, staff friendly and an awesome breakfast spread.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice place to stay! location was great (very calm street near Realto bridge). Beautiful room with extra soft bed and lovely view. Good breakfast included. We were totally satisfied with our stay:)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.4
    Regretably, it was worse than last year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold rooms, no additional heater, electric installations (sockets) not working, breakfast had poor variety (no tomatoes+buffalo mozarella in italy at this price level?!!!)

    Personel tried his best and was friendly, but the accomodation is clearly understaffed. Was better last year. Room cleaning was good. Room decoration and furniture is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing ending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ruined my final evening in Venice because card machine was not working. Had to frantically go around Venice finding an ATM in which to pay, seriously impacted my enjoyment of staying there.

    Really good location and fair value. Breakfast included was a bonus

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Very nice and helpfull staff,good breakfast,close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is so cold that the bed feels wet!!it is very very cold!!!! I have never experienced such a cold hotel room!NEVER! So if you plan your visit during the carnival look for something else.If you go during summer this place is nice. The ac was on for 2 and half days and it was still very cold.I am not sure if this is something usual in Venice, but i have entered stores that were warmer than our room. Also they should make themself more visible,the property is hard to find but i guess thats with all the properties in the aria...maybe writting their name at the beginning of the street or at least at the door! The pics on the website with the outside of the building ? There is no canal view what so ever.

    Very nice and helpfull staff,good breakfast,close to the center,restaurants and shops arround

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Best part of our month long vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a tad hard to find at night so would recommend checking in during daytime hours.

    Amazing bed and breakfast welcoming staff great location beautiful breakfast every morning and so close to everything made our three days there very memorable.very safe city compared to other cities we have visited .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    We loved venice, very beautiful city, excellent accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No concerns, we had to go up lots of steps to get to our room, but no real problems. When first getting to the property it was quite difficult to find so we should have been better prepared and found out exactly where it was before hand.

    The staff were extra accommodating and the breakfast was very nice with a great selection to suit all. The room was perfectly comfortable and warm. The area is brilliant with the benefits of being within a very short walking distance to the main tourist area but with the added benefit of also being within walking distance of the much cheaper and less touristy/more authentic Italian restaurants. Everything was in easy reach of the hotel meaning that we could head back there for an afternoon break :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff, cozy atmosphere and great location in down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was not so convenient for us was that, when we booked this property, we did not have the choice of free cancellation; so, we paid for three nights and in the end Stayed there just two, because ofa canceled flight.

    Wonderful staff, cozy atmosphere and great location in down. I highly recommend it and, most probably, I will stay there again next time I visit Venice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very flexible as to check-in/check-out and leaving bags there for the day. Staff were very friendly and were happy to help out where/when needed. Also, breakfast was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    The overall stay was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning will automatically block off every few hours. It made the room quite chilly during 12:00-3:00 at night.

    The overall stay was comfy. Clean and spacious room, bed and bathroom. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    breakfast was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    from santa lucia staton to here It was tooooooo far. I got a suitcase, in venice there was so many bridge. If you have lugguage please book the hotel near to station.

    breakfast was good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    4.6
    Good breakfast but so cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What makes me so angry is that the climat was not controlable.. we don't have the remot control and the climat is so cold till i became ill.. if the administration repare this problem, all will be perfect because it is so important

    The room is so clean and the emplacement is so good especialy the breakfast is so so great and you don't need to look for another place to take it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant Hotel in an excellent location just off a main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didn't bother me but access to the rooms was up 3 flights of stairs.

    Pleasant Hotel in an excellent location just off a main square. Room was well sized and well equipped with a nice large comfortable bed. Views of street and enclosed courtyards from rooms were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    2.5
    DEPRESSING! I couldn't wait to get out of that place!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room and the hotel itself were actually depressing. I wanted to leave the second I saw it. The room had a total of 4 doors (though there was only access through one). One of the doors led to the kitchen. One night at 11:15 on staff member emptied the dishwasher and woke us up. Then he set the dining room table which was right outside another door and this continued to keep us up. Another of the 4 doors led to the room next door. We were continuously woken by returning neighbors after midnight, and had to ask the kids next door to lower their video games. We agreed to a shared bathroom, but couldn't imagine that we'd have to traipse through the dining room to get to the bathroom. The hotel provided bathrobes, but I'm a size 2 and couldn't close it. On arrival, we asked for two sets of keys, and although we finally got them, the reaction we got was as if we were asking for the moon, and rather unpleasant. We couldn't wait to leave this hotel, and would NEVER EVER RETURN! Be smart and stay away!

    The few small pluses were completely drowned out by this depressing facility and overall poor service. (good location, though extremely difficult to find and we were given very poor directions). The lady who prepared breakfast and cleaned the rooms is lovely, but even her charms and skills, can not overcome the horrors of this facility. Please read the next section!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent property and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on third and fourth floor and no elevator may be an issue for some travelers.

    Location was excellent, close to San Marco, Rialto and ferry terminal. Many good restaurants nearby and lots of shopping opportunities. Very good continental breakfast with good coffee served by a friendly and helpful staff member. Clean comfortable and spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Good location, nice little quiet place with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no view from this hotel, as it is not on a canal.

    Location is great, very close to San Marco square and the main tourist area of Venice. Breakfast was big and varied, and the coffee was excellent. Staff very nice, allowed us to leave our bags there while waiting for our train later in the day. Quiet and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Good location, nice little quiet place with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no view from this hotel, as it is not on a canal.

    Location is great, very close to San Marco square and the main tourist area of Venice. Breakfast was big and varied, and the coffee was excellent. Staff very nice, allowed us to leave our bags there while waiting for our train later in the day. Quiet and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    The location is absolutely perfect: 10mins San Marco and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Take care: lot of stairs (almost 60 until the 3rd floor where the "hotel" begins), the staircase is narrow (problems with big luggage - but you'll have problems with big packs in Venice anyway...), the walls are a bit thin, but the guests here aren't partygoers usually, so you can have a rest at night. Our room was quite small, but it's usual in Venice. However it was clean. The buildings are very close to eachother so don't count on a great panorama.... Unfortunately some rooms are right at the breakfast room, so you'll wake up latest at 8. But hey, in Venice every second counts:) But these are tiny things, you won't even realize them.

    The location is absolutely perfect: 10mins San Marco and Rialto, 14mins the vaporetto station to Murano-Burano, no late-night bar in the street (quiet in the night), the breakfast was just right, the staff is amazing, nice and tolerant people (we arrived late and the guy was patiently waiting for us), no hidden fees. (Attention: you have to pay the city tax (2.5euros/person/night) in cash at the check-out. The hotel reservation can be payed by credit card, of course.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location too far from train station contrary to info given. Going up and down stairs

    Was a great place except that it was much further from station than we were told- otherwise, we would have left our luggage at the station and took what we needed for the night. Staffer Barbara was very nice to help carrying luggage up the stairs. Staff was very nice to leave a big breakfast the night before our departure since we had to leave very early in the morning before regular. Breakfast time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Ok hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in the building did not work in the first day, and on the second day the electricity stopped working. Both were fixed so this was not the hotel's fault. The bed and pillows were really bad though.

    Very friendly staff, spotlessly clean property and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dilapidated on the outside and. Asocial inside. No decent air conditioning free standing unit which did not cool the room so very hot might. The electrics looked very outdated.

    Very run down but clean and staff pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find the hotel. Too many stairs to go to the rooms. All rooms on 3rd and 4th floors. However, it has been informed in the booking confirmation.

    Good breakfast. Cleanness. Good WiFi. Large room. Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    If I come Venice again, I'll stay at Ca' Formosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place in Venice. Clean, lovely, and staff is very kind. We had to leave Venice before breakfast time and they prepared a perfect breakfast for the early morning, before we even asked for. They are very kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely staff who made you feel right at home. The room was huge, well air conditioned and comfortable. Strong wifi connection. Shared bathroom that was incredibly clean and well equipped with a hair dryer and atoms toiletries. Breakfast was so good. It was huge, balanced for all dietary requirements and super tasty. It was so filling and very generous. Great value place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    2 nights in Venice - July 7/8 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 4 large suitcases and 2 small ones as we were doing a 29 day trip from Australia. Dragging them down from the third floor was not fun...although the hotel assistant took them up for us on our arrival which was great. It was also difficult dragging the bags from the boat station to the hotel in the heat as there were 3 bridges with stairs on the way. We used a porter service for 40 Euros on the way back. They had a special trolley which went over the bridge stairs - well worth the money for 6 suitcases and 3 backpacks.

    The location was great....right near all the action - restaurants, shops, St Mark's square 7 min, Rialto bridge about the same. 10 min walk to the hospital boat station which is a quicker route to the airport than taking the boat from St Mark's square. The room was great for a family of 2 teenagers and 2 adults. Security was good. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly giving directions via email before arriving at the hotel. I would recommend a stay here - thorougly enjoyed it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Cute Venice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    According to other traveler's reviews the rooms had a canal view. Ours did not. We had a street view. Also the bed was extremely hard.

    Very beautiful common area where they serve your breakfast. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and decorated nicely. I also like that it's on a side street so there weren't many people in the streets. Very peaceful at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    I was moved to other hotel which is 5 minutes walk because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was moved to other hotel which is 5 minutes walk because of over- booked. However, it was alright as the location is easy to access to everywhere. The room is very clean and tidy. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Real taste of old Venice - amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet flush doesn't work well

    Well, I mentioned hotel that my partner's birthday is on the day and we got complimentary champagne bottle and amazing room. My Girlfriend was super excited about the room. Taking pictures all over the place. We loved it, perfect room, super friendly staff, great breakfast. Probably the best room I've ever been. Very central, when you open the window you see canal. Thanks again and when we will come back to Venice, we will definitely stay in your palace (no mistake here)!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Bed room is specious, with all the facilities one need
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to carry your luggage up and down three floors and in summers it's a lot for any one. After 10pm there is no one at the reception to respond to you.

    Bed room is specious, with all the facilities one need

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Very good situation in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very well isolated - you can hear the shower in the other guests room overall it is a nice location and nice place to stay when you visit venice.

    Very good situation in Venice. The room was clean and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    The room is very large and beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In despite of the possibility to use the lift to carry your bags upstairs, in the others days you have to climb up a big stairs!

    The room is very large and beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    A royal stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The working time of reception...

    The hotel had a very good location and we were very close to the center of Venice. The breakfasts were also good and the coffee as well as croissants. I liked the style of the hotel... but the room a little bit looked different than in the picture. But still it was quite cozy. And the price was quite reasonable. We parked our auto in Venice mestre cause there the car parking cost two times less than in Venice Santa Lucia. In general we were very sattisfied and would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good rooms, beautiful Venezian deco, clean bathroom, nice breakfast, lovely staff, the lady was waiting for us and show us our room, we had to change rooms because a noise of the bathroom and got a nicer room, no problem at all, cleaning Romanian Lady was lovely too. thank you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.3
    Very traditional small hotel. Very friendly personnel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are not for people with bad back. Not friendly for customer with disabilities due to traditional long staircase and rooms being on the 3rd floor.

    Excellent, flexible personnel and excellent location. 4 minutes to Saint Marco. Very traditional and cute. Quality met the price very well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    The person who receives us was so kind, careful and warm,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person who receives us was so kind, careful and warm, she makes us feel as home. The hotel is very closed to the center. And of course I have to mention the breakfast, it was for free and amazing, many options were available: toasts, cheese, olive oil and also croissants cooked in the moment (amazing), she also prepared us a hot chocolate (you can also ask for a coffee)... Everything was really good :) I really recommended it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot and we couldn't turn the heating down! The fan was noisy in the night.

    The hotel was in a great location, close to the Grand Canal and St Mark's square. You had to climb stairs but that was fine for us. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. Nice fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    We got a free upgrade to a room with a private bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is rooms are located up a few flights of stairs, which were difficult with baggage. However, we still had a great stay at this hotel nonetheless!

    We got a free upgrade to a room with a private bathroom, which was a lovely room. The breakfast in the morning was also very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs but not an issue if you are not disabled or old !

    Very friendly and smiley staff! Big and comfortable room! Nice breakfast with variety and freshly baked croissants every day! Perfect central location! Nice and helpful communication before arrival! Highly recomended!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.3
    Great location, do not follow Google maps directions or you will be lost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beware that Google maps directions will send you to the opposite side of this hotel. We were lost for two hours in a rainy night with no option to take a taxi. Locals were very nice trying to help but since the directions were wrong, they just sent us farther out. Finally someone called the hotel and gave us the right directions but again, it took us about 25 minutes in the rain to find it. The next day we realized we were 5 minutes away from St. Mark's square and about 8 minute walk from the Realto bridge.

    The room was spacious for Venice. The breakfast was ok too. The location was excellent but beware of Google maps, it will give you wrong directions!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    6.7
    The location is very central and the lady serving breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic for the money we paid and from images I thought we would have had a canal view but apparently only one ensuite room has a canal view and that wasn't ours so very disappointed.

    The location is very central and the lady serving breakfast and sorting payment was lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    Quaint place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we tried to call for directions first no answer then no English so we wondered hauling our bags for an hour then a homeless man helped us find it.They had us haul our bags up 60 steep stairs with no help. So we hired a Porter when we left and they let him use an elevator to take them down. Weird they all the sudden had one.

    Breakfast was amazing. Place was quaint.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.1
    Perfect for a budget traveller
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the top floor and the lift wasn't working most of the time. Very noisy at times. Communal bathroom is accessible via the dining room. Very difficult to locate the first time.

    Big room, good breakfast, very stylish décor. Authentic Venetian atmosphere around. Easy access to San Marco once you've learnt the route. Good and free WiFi connection. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    A nice little hotel in a central location with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We really liked it here and can't find anything negative. The stairs were of course a bit painful, but we knew that when we booked the room. It was a nice bonus when we sometimes could use the small elevator, but you can't expect that.

    The room was nice, clean and provided slippers, hair dryer, shower cream, soaps, shampoo, conditioner, cotton swabs, nail file, cotton pads and shower caps. Furthermore, the room had free wifi in a good speed, a free security box, a kettle with tea and coffee and a mini bar with reasonable prices, but also storage room for your own drinks and snacks. The staff was nice and helpful, especially the lady in the breakfast room who also seemed to manage the cleaning. The location was good (tourist friendly), really close to both the Rialto bridge and St Mark's Place. When we were there in the middle of September 2016 the air condition was running for the first days, but was later turned off. At the time it was not that warm, so that was fine by us. We could sometimes use a small elevator, but only if the staff was in the building. The breakfast was fine and always had cheese, bread, yoghurt, cereals, something salty (salami and/or proscioutto, mortadella etc) and something sweet like pain au chocolate, a cake etc. Sometimes there were even more on the table. The coffee was also really nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    The accomodation was perfect, clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accomodation was perfect, clean and very comfortable. The place was quiet and close to the city center. The breakfast was good as well, europian style. We were very satisfied, had no problem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Lovely little bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the bathroom was quite far away from the room so trying to find it in the dark was a little difficult! Someone accidentally entered our room looking for the bathroom!

    Owner was very friendly and welcoming! Room was lovely and Windows overlooked a canal where you could see the gondolas! Good location and a lovely breakfast included! Would stay again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gentleman that worked at night was just the opposite. We had a small issue with our toilet not flushing all the way and asked for his help. He clearly was irritated - so much that we said we would do it if he just found a plunger. He turned his back without a word and got on the phone. We were on our way out so just asked him to leave it at our door and got no answer from him. When we returned it was fixed but the attitude we got was regretful.

    The woman that worked the day shift was awesome - very friendly and worked incredibly hard. She prepared a delicious breakfast, was friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    Clean and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress could have been more comfortable; no room to store luggage on the last day (but luggage deposits are quite easy to find in Venice)

    Location was perfect (5 minutes from Saint Mark's square but in a quiet side street) and quite easy to find with a detailed map! Staff was friendly and the room was very clean. We had no problems with the WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Superb property in the heart of venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing! You're in the middle of Venice in a superbly appointed property. What could I not like? This was my 5th visit to Venice & by far the best accommodation.

    Everything about this property was superb. Despite arriving at 11pm, I found it after a little difficulty - but this is Venice - & the staff were there to welcome me. Much better than a regular hotel and the location was superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    8.3
    A lovely stay in this B&B-like Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, I do feel this hotel is more like a bed and breakfast (hardly any staff, the ambience is like a normal home), but's for me that was not a negative.

    We wanted an extra bed for our room: no problem, the hostess was very kind. It is a very nice retreat from the busy and full of tourists streets of Venice: quiet and homely. The beds were good, the rooms were clean and the breakfast here is truly good. The hotel is, like anything in labyrinthine-Venice, a bit hard to find and my best advice would be to get to the Maria Formosa square and then ask some locals. The location is lovely: a tops 10 min. walk from the rialto-bridge and only 5 min. to Saint Marks square.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.1
    Easy central B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance and access to rooms a bit awkward and tucked away, plus narrow staircases to rooms.

    Well organised accommodation for a family of 4. Nice breakfast room and service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Excellent Location, Excellent Staff, Excellent Breakfast, Excellent rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Location, Excellent Staff, Excellent Breakfast, Excellent rooms. Cannot ask anything more for the price. If you have Google maps..very easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    The staff were very friendly and location was very central...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and location was very central everything is in walking distance. The breakfast was lovely with a lot of variety, the coffee was fantastic. The hotel was very clean and has a lovely charm about it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location, small hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial entrance to hotel is dark and doesn't give s good impression of the hotel rooms which are beautiful.

    Great location next to a canal, you can hear the Gondaliers singing as they go past.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that it can be easy to miss where the front door is.

    The staff were very friendly. The hotel was really clean. And the facilities were great value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Best place in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought room was little expensive (not a lot) but then it was okay for this tourist summer season. Apart from that the room was at 4th floor and there is no lift so that's the only problem. But these aren't problem , one can manage and ignore these easily only cuz the hospitality was too good!

    The hotel is at excellent location. It is close to all the main destinations and the area where it's located is very nice as well. The staff was amazing. The lady who manages the hotel is a warm hearted person. She is really good and services are very good. Breakfast was very nice and sitting place was also lovely. I was there for one night and they also allowed me to keep my luggage the other day at hotel after I checked out so I can see Venice without any hassle. Lovely experience!! Will recommend everyone to stay there. Especially if you're with family. Kudus to staff who are always smiling!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Locanda Ca' Formosa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: