Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caiammari Boutique Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Via Daniele Impellizzeri, 96100 Fanusa, Italy

#5 of 19 hotels in Fanusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful oasis for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled here by car so the rural location wasn’t an issue. We loved the peace and quiet.

    This place is the definition of a fine boutique hotel. Clean and tastefully decorated room, beautiful gardens and pool area, attentive and friendly staff, lovely breakfast buffet and on-site restaurant for dinner which is worthy of high marks for taste and presentation. There are spa services as well although we didn’t make use of them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice property, with very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is on outskirts of Syracuse, but if you want to explore surroundings is nice.

    Very nice property, with very nice staff. Spent a day at the pool just to relax, and it was amazing. The barman and the manager, both young guys, are really dedicated to make you feel good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful surroundings pool and gardens, good size rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal we had was a little disapointing Manager was off that day portions were rather small

    Off the beaten track so taxis needed however hotel shuttle is very useful daytime

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Pretty nice place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the surrounding area is not very attractive - rural roads, farms, greenhouses, pretty boring. I like running in the morning but in the surreounding area it was not fun at all. You must watch your back for the local drivers drive pretty fast on those narrow rural roads. The restaurant at the hotel is not bad but we were not particualry impressed by their dishes either. I mean the food is not bad but I would give it 6,5-7 points in 10 points scale. If you would like to get something really tasty take your car and go find some nice restaurant in Siracusa. Beware of huge mosquitos in the evenings!

    nice place to stay in. Close to Siracusa (round 10-13 minutes by car). Very friendly, English speaking staff. Very nice pool and pool area. Breakfasts were not bad although I hoped they would be better. The hotel itself is located in an old villa and is surrounded by a nice garden that well taken care of. Good wi-fi. Very clean. They clean rooms everyday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Oasis for quiet and relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough benches in the park.

    Peace, quiet, very green, personnel was excellent. The food was very good. It's an oasis for quiet and relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    This was the nicest of the 3 hotels we stayed in whilst...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance from Siracusa.

    This was the nicest of the 3 hotels we stayed in whilst holidaying in Sicily. It was value for money and I would especially recommend for those with a car. There is easily arranged transport by the hotel into Siracusa, But unfortunately the taxi out costs about 20 euros a go, so might not be the best if you intend to go in and out of Siracusa often ( although to be honest you would probably see most of what you would want to see in a day or so. ) We had an evening meal there on 2 days. Wine was excellent as was the steak. The pool is also lovely, so I would recommend this hotel, if you want a nice relaxing stay in the sun, sitting on your rear end . If your intend to go in and out of Siracusa a lot, it might cost you a bit in taxis.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Very good hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel. At breakfast they have bio food, even goji berries are. The breakfast is good and varied. I really liked the pool and the fact that in May the water in it is warm. Large rooms with a beautiful bathroom. Cleaning was good and always in time. I liked very much that there is a free shuttle to the Siracusa and to the beaches- we were without a car. We took their free bicycles and went to local shops. Drank tea in the room, there was a kettle. The staff is very, very friendly, everyone is trying to make the rest wonderful. I recommend everyone to relax in this hotel, with a beautiful park, even if you are without a car. Soon they will have a new gym and sauna :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    You will find yourself in a beautiful area where it is...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will find yourself in a beautiful area where it is wonderfull to relax! With fantastic food and very nice staff. If you have a dog with you its a very good spot to be!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a place where one can relax in peace and quiet surroundings. The garden is beautiful and well kept. And the pools are large and clean. The breakfast is good but as usual in Italy it was more concentrated on sweet food, which for me its no good. The staff is excellent and they make sure that you feel at home from day one.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.8
    A Disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much we liked about this place. It is just "tired" and a the room was a little tacky and not very comfortable or well kept. There were several burned out lights bulbs in our room. We were on a long road trip in Southern Italy. We stayed in many places. This was our least favorite.

    We enjoyed the restaurant. There is free on site parking. The grounds are interesting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent 4 star retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car if you're staying here. If you do have one then it's an excellent retreat that is a 15min drive from Ortygia

    Excellent staff, a really well run family hotel that's a converted villa. The swimming pool and poolside bar are great. Good breakfast, good spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Staff and facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Great for overnight stay .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of rooms was average and the surrounding of the hotel are quite ugly .

    Wonderful service , pool is excellent .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay to explore Siracusa and surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful pool area. Tranquil ambience and immaculate property. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff. So friendly and helpful. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The atmosphere is very peaceful, calm and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous spa hotel, with excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great stay, can’t fault anything

    Excellent Spa Hotel in rural position Great rooms and staff Restaurant was excellent, modern Italian food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, clean and quiet, lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxed ambience, great pool, lovely staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the craft beer!

    Relaxed ambience, great pool, lovely staff, good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    When we arrived they said they wanted Hotel Caiammari to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived they said they wanted Hotel Caiammari to become our second home, when we left, we knew why. Everything in this hotel is tasteful and tidy. And the restaurant was simply the best we found during the holidays. Really nice cocktails under the sunshade at a really large swimming pool with soft Italian music, life can be sweet.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful place with lots of charm and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - room equipment a bit worn - restaurant needs renovation and more style - pool bar old-fahioned and not matching the style of this great area - we were a bit disapointed we cannot have our breakfasts outside in the garden or by the pool - breakfast ok, but could be some fresh vegetables and real juices

    Beautiful place with lots of charm and character. Fabulous garden and great pools area. Very silent, yet only few kilometers from Ortigia (Siracusa). Rooms accesed directly from cozy patio with olive trees, with own garden furniture. Highly recomended.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    5.8
    Nice,quiet location with clean, spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from the advertised Gourmet. Bland menu that never changed. Desert menu stated 6 options, 3 only on 1st and 2nd night, and 1 on the 3rd. No apologies at all. End of season is no excuse. Far too expensive for what you get.

    Nice,quiet location with clean, spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    The room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had both lunch and dinner at this hotel. While the quality of the food was OK, it was about 50% more expensive than the food in good restaurants which served better quality food. Also, while the ground are very pleasant and well planted with trees and shrubs, this gave rise to many biting insects

    The room was comfortable. The pool was very large and well maintained. We were flying home the next evening and were allowed to keep our room until 2.00 pm and then use hotel facilities for showers and changing before going to the airport at Catania (about one hours driving away).

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is situated on lush and well manicured grounds ...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is situated on lush and well manicured grounds with two lovely swimming pools. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of fresh native fruits, yoghurt and delicate pastries. I was initially unhappy with my room because it was smaller than I expected and faced a large courtyard where an evening wedding was being held. The staff was very responsive and. Offered me a larger room facing the rear of the property and out of the sound of the wedding. I would definitely stay here again but I would clarify my particular need with regards to the room. One definitely needs a car as there is no public transportation Into near-by Syracusa and Ortigia .

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    - excellent location to explore the Syracuse area and relax...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - dinner was good but not excellent and a bit too expensive for what it was - the hotel should really increase their effort to make it nice to stay for dinner (special menu for guests, put tables in a nice central place, rather than at a narrow side between the pool and the kitchen, on the way to the bedrooms) - some staff were very friendly and helpful, others not so much (e.g., guy at breakfast) - there were two family parties going on while we were there (July 2015), which had quite some impact (full parking lot, much noise and activity until late at night)

    - excellent location to explore the Syracuse area and relax at the pool after a hot day of visits to the beautiful sites and cities - breakfast had everything we wanted, including free expresso and cappucino - excellent swimming pools and family-size jacuzzi - beautiful garden

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    I've rated good for the location of this hotel as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is basically non-existant. You have to be near the reception or bar to be able to use it. I survived but others may not! Breakfast was hit or miss (we were there three nights and one breakfast wasn't great). The decor in the rooms was a bit old and they're a bit dated, but everything else makes up for this.

    I've rated good for the location of this hotel as it's quite isolated. For us, that was what we wanted - some peace and quiet while only being 15 minutes drive from Ortigia (at least, from the street we found we could park on!). We didn't go to the beach while in this hotel, but rather on a couple of afternoons made use of the swimming pool to relax. And that was what was the highlight of this hotel for us; a great place to just unwind and relax! If you don't want to go anywhere, the restaurant is great for lunch too.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Staff were so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    Staff were so friendly. really pretty place to be. Pool is great and so is the food. Really cool deco and the rooms and cool and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Nice Location , very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice Location , very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. No question or problem not dealt with in a kind way. Grounds are magnificent.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Very spacious room with plenty of luxuries - such as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly remote and need a car to sightsee

    Very spacious room with plenty of luxuries - such as a jacuzzi bath!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.8
    beatiful swimmingpool, great garden, amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    loud airconditioning in the rooms, no welcome gifts in the room (not even the water)

    beatiful swimmingpool, great garden, amazing!

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.6
    The pools are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pools are very nice. The grounds are beautiful and well planned. The loudest sounds were the birds!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful location and old building, mature trees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Looks a bit run down, but restaurant is gave us the worst restaurant experience in years.

    Beautiful location and old building, mature trees.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33