Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cala Caterina 4 stars

Via Lago Maggiore 32, 09049 Villasimius, Italy

#21 of 26 hotels in Villasimius

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 215 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ridiculously long waiting time during dinner (3 hours for 4 dishes). The dinner ended at 10pm. No playground for children. Beach was full of algae, maybe they clean it only in high season.

    Very big, comfortable room. Nice staff. Cozy hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The downside was the bathroom constantly had a sewerage smell coming from it and the air conditioning wasn't able to properly chill the room. The place wasn't so suitable for having a baby as the surrounding roads were so bumpy it was impossible to go for a walk with the pram outside the resort - we always had to jump in the car and drive for about 5-10 mins to go for a proper walk.

    The resort had a great boutique vibe and wonderful grounds with its pool, gardens and beach access. It was in a more secluded part of Villasimius providing a very tranquil and relaxed atmosphere. Our room was very large which was useful given we had our 4 month old baby with us. The staff were beyond lovely and most afternoons we enjoyed sitting in the outdoor area having an afternoon drink. A special mention to the kitchen and their amazing pasta dishes - it was great that there was a new menu every night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is superb, quite out of this world. Loved every minute if being there. Food superb. Staff extremely kind and attentive. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the balcony, there were many ants but fortunately they were busy for their business so didn't have time to come to our room. ;)

    We really enjoyed this peaceful hotel with small lovely beach! It was low season but there was good restaurant just 5 mins away by car. The room was old-fashioned (as usual as other Italian hotels) but clean and comfortable. The garden was very beautiful and massage was very good as well. (It seems the spa was not open but the hotel arranged it in one empty bedroom but it was just so good!) The location was also very good to explore Costa Rei and other hiking spots! And staff were helpful as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced and rather stuffy dining areas. Food (only tried lunch) nothing special. Wine also extremely expensive.

    Nice location away from downtown tourist core, lovely setting with gardens and private little beach. Comfortable beds, helpful front desk, great breakfast buffet. Nice restaurants nearby at Marina.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too expensive for what you get in return. The room is old, specially the bathroom with a dirty shower. The food in half board is really to cry: has no taste, hardly Italian and not fresh. The typical sardinian night was better but I'm suspicious the food was delivered that night. Too many stupid rules about towels and small other things. The women on reception are rather unfriendly. A gazebo for 300 Euros a week extra??? I thought i allready paid too much for the room.

    Location on a beautiful beach and garden. Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The interior design is a little basic in the rooms

    The access and view over the beach was nice and private. The grounds were picturesque and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced ! More than two times expensive then similar accomodations in the area. At the end this is not that luxurious place...

    Garden was wonderful. Especially pine trees..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The entry road which was very rough specially with a rented motorbike Some of the staff at breakfast and dinner room which was not professional

    Perfect Location, Good Chef and food at the restourant kind people of the staff at the bar/lunch restourant and reception Nice enviroments of the garden with direct beach access. nice relaxing atmosphere during all day in the premises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with great staff. They are very prepared and helpful. Hotel restaurant was great with very good wine suggestion. The beach is just a few steps from the room and the view is breathtaking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In room tea/coffee making facilities would be nice and large bottles of water. No iron available for guest use, just an ironing service which seems strange at a beach resort hotel.

    Comfy Bed, really good airconditioning in bedroom. Grounds and public areas all really inviting and comfortable. Bar food and beverage service friendly and efficient - restaurant service a bit less so. Loads of lovely clean towels available in room and at pool and beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Almost nothing about the hotel. The drive from the airport is challenging because of the totally inadequate road signs. There is a relatively easy access via the SS125 but finding it from the airport is almost impossible as the signs direct you via the coast road which is beautiful in the later stages but winding and the Calgiari ring road can be very busy. Local driving standards are different from the UK.

    The setting of the hotel is fantastic, with great garden and access to a private beach. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we particularly liked the emphasis on local dishes and local wines. The beach was superb and very well presented with sunbeds, parasols and towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent 5 days in early June with a 9 months old baby. Hotel was still quiet and there were no issues in getting the spots we wanted on the beach or in the park during the day. Both beach and garden were beautifully maintained and we napped a lot under the gazebos with the baby. Weather was hot and nice but water still a bit cold. Staff was very friendly and helpful with the baby as well. Nice bar with live music and aperitif in the evenings. We had a car and would drive to other restaurants for dinner at times but enjoyed the food at the restaurant when we stayed in. Car is essential if you are planning to go to town or to see other beaches but one can be quite happy just to relax at the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff; fine location if you want relax, large green area with a private beach (free sunbeds). Good breakfasts with fresh bakery from the chef; excellent dinners, with every day different menu. Restaurant in the hotel is the best of all around. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No adjoining rooms available.

    The staff were lovely, pool is at least 25m, plenty of sun loungers and great beach. Breakfast was excellent-and bar well stocked. Would highly recommend the spa treatments.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bar/restaurant payment system is definitely a downside,every time you order something,they ask you to sign a piece of paper with your order, without stating the amount or giving you a copy.

    the hotel is situated in a very nice,tranquil place. with not that many people around, you get the feeling that you are staying at your own villa. food was absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we had our own cabana near the beach and free drinks. Our suite had a big balcony. Sergio made some great cocktails :) . The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a wonderful boutique hotel with its own forest and a picturesque beach. Water is very clean and there are a lot of bright fish around, a perfect beach for snorkeling. There is a perfect service on a beach with towels and water. Hotel Cala Caterina is one of the most stylish hotels in Sardigna, it's a real boutique hotel with attention to details. We had upgrade from junior suite to suite, which had 2 bathrooms and was a very very beautiful, all furniture was hand made and a lot of small details that created a very cosy atmosphere. Breakfast and dinner were on a high level, excellent service and friendly team. Nice bar with life music in the evenings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is advertised as not allowing dogs but this is not the case as over the course of our stay several different types of small dog were staying in rooms below us.

    The staff were excellent being very helpful, happy, friendly and very civil. A beautiful stroll through lovely, well kept gardens to the beach. Lots and lots of secluded seating areas for use throughout the day. Lovely, authentic Sardinian cuisine with plenty of choice on most nights.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a bit expensive for the overall quality of staff and facilities Wilde cats left free to walk around the restaurant tables

    Cozy small hotel, with direct access to a lovely beach. Peaceful area, great food! Lovely view from the seaside view rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about the hotel was a lie! Over priced for what we got and Management was unhelpful and rude!! There were lots of unhealthy cats roaming the breakfast room and garden. Our room was no better than a 2 star motel. The bathroom door was pealing and the shower box was plastic! How this hotel gets away with charging 500euro a night is daylight robbery. We were disgusted with the overall experience. As I have a very active social media website, I will be writing a bad review so that others do not fall into the same trap that we did by booking online!!!

    The garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extremely over priced. Non-flexible and bureaucratic mannered staff. Not enough outside dinner tables so sometimes we had to eat dinner inside. No Ocean View even though the room booking said "facing ocean". Shower and room in poor standard. Nearby beaches over crowded.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - there is no proper SPA at the hotel, only a massage table - a lot of rules that make you uncomfortable - you cannot take towels with you outside of the hotel, cannot take whole bottle of water to the table during breakfast, cannot take glass bottles or cups to the beach. Not crucial but gets annoying

    - great location with walking access to the port, other popular beach and Villasimius - we were there at mid-season so it was not crowded - Staff was very polite and helpful! - Life music plays every evening at the bar!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff over charged and added drinks onto my bill that I didn't have. This was rectified by the owner who was fabulous and very on hands to address such mistakes.

    Beautiful gardens. Although the hotel was full capacity it felt like there were only a couple of other guests as it was so spacious. Totally relaxing experience.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice short break at the start of the season. we were pampered at the SPA where Erica does a truly outstanding job

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably as good as it gets, especially in October. Particularly helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally inadequate beach facilities

    The garden settings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed. It was not bad, but I wish it was more comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just too much expansive !

    A paradise if you are looking or just dreaming of relax. It worth a travel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was very disappointing.

    Service at reception, bar and beach was excellent. Well spoken, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!!

    Very peaceful. Fantastic staff. Very few children. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and friendly staff. we really appreciated being able to stay until our bus at 6pm. We needed to move our things out of the room but we could use the pool, beach and other facilities until we had to leave. The staff assisted us with bus timetable etc. Nothing was too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant food

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is too small for a 2 weeks stay and the price.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel, but rather soulless - particularly dining room.

    Nice pool and quiet beach (though seaweedy).

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a stay of 2 weeks the room could have been somewhat bigger

    The bar manager and his crew were just excellent

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a pity that wifi is limited to the downstairs reception area only.

    The food, the facilities, the location & the friendly service.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Cala Caterina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: