Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cambiocavallo Unesco Area & Resort 4 stars

Contrada Zimmardo Superiore, Sp 45, 97015 Zimmardo, Italy

#1 of 1 hotels in Zimmardo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing place close to the coastline
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice and well kept small property. The staff was always friendly and seeking to make guests getting the most out of their stay. The restaurant offers great value with well prepared meals in a relaxing setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Staff were friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and attentive. The set meal in the restaurant - a choice of meat or fish - was delicious & obviously prepared with a lot of care & love. Hotel & grounds are attractive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A relaxing and tranquil oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Cambiocavallo is a great boutique hotel. Only 8 rooms. We had a spacious suite Bathroom and bedroom well appointed. Great layout. The hotel offers a quiet and tranquil oasis a few kilometres from Modica. The restaurant deserves special mention. We ate there on three consecutive nights and the and the food was consistently impressive and very reasonably priced. A good wine list as well. It was a pleasure to come back to this resort at the end of a day's touring. Ragusa and Modica are close. Syracuse an hour away. Sampieri beach is ten minutes away and worth visiting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was great service was great and the dinner was one of the best I've ever eaten The chef came out after dinner and everyone complimented him on his dinner

    We liked everything about it and it was a spectacular setting accessible to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    All in all a restful week in an authentic part of Sicily with super service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When we stayed there were lots of flies. However, the hotel is in an agricultural area. We were there just as muck spreading had been done so this is probably only a problem for a very short time. There was some noise from the road but not enough to be annoying. The stones around the pool are rough so you might like to bring some flip flops, and perhaps some new sunbeds would be a nice idea. However these are just nit-picking points.

    Our rooms were excellent, clean and modern. Homemade cake for breakfast was a treat. No noisy small children. Grounds were immaculately kept. The chef Oggie was very keen to know whether you were enjoying your evening meal. We even liked Linda the dog who was very well behaved. The staff were helpful and gave us discounts to Tiki Beach Club which we enjoyed very much. We also drove to Modica and had a good explore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    problem with biting flies , sorry but spoilt our stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my main concern is the dominance of biting flies which are a plague to all outside areas, no surprise as the hotel is in the middle of farmland . wasps around the pool area would have had my daughters/grandchildren running inside .

    The evening meal was good value , although restricted to fish or meat only . at 27 euros good value , and takes into account that they cater for only 9 rooms . so choice is restricted due to efficiences

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    A lovely restful country hotel - a real oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a country hotel but we did not expect it to be so difficult to drive back in the dark from nearby towns where we would have liked to eat in the evenings.

    We had the suite without the terrace in the main building, and we thought it was beautifully designed, spacious and cool. The courtyard was a great space for eating and meeting other guests, and the garden was just beautiful, with palm trees and lemon trees - what we expected Sicily to be like. Nice comfortable chairs and tables for a drink. And there is a lovely swimming pool. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic good quality and relaxing base for visiting the south east corner of Sicily,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bathroom but no extractor fan, so it got very "steamed up" after we'd both had showers. The hairdryer was in the bathroom and it would have been impossible to dry hair properly in such a humid atmosphere - good job we brought our own travel hairdryer with us! Also, the glass partition for the walk in shower wasn't really wide enough meaning the floor got very wet. Minor points , but they could both be improved on.

    Very peaceful and relaxing location - also well placed for sightseeing in the area. Staff excellent - couldn't have been more helpful. Pool area very nice and because it is a small hotel, it never felt busy or crowded. On site restaurant served really good quality food - well worth using !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect if you wish to visit anything between Noto and Ragusa; otherwise, trips could be long to come back to the hotel (1,5h from Catania).

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, facilitating every arrangements for our comfort (e.g late breakfast prepared especially). The restaurant proposed excellent and typical sicilian meals, for a fair price. The homemade cake in the morning is a plus. In short, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Sicilian hospitality in a rural setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hardness of the bed which exacerbated a hip problem.

    Delightful staff who were helpful and attentive. The receptionist,Laura, even drove out to meet us and to guide us to the hotel when we were victims of an anarchic SatNav and unfamiliar Sicilian road signage on the night of our arrival !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional smell of manure from farm next door. Not an easy drive from Modica in the dark.

    Staff were excellent, recommended good restaurants in Modica. Pool open 24hrs. Good variety for breakfast. Excellent wifi everywhere. Room facilities perfect & spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Hospitality and Service with a capital H & S!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Feels like home coming! The staff knows all the hotspots, restaurants and activities in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful place with pleasant staff and in a good location for visiting local towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was painted in a way that made it quite dark.

    Staff were very helpful and breakfast was lovely. Courtyard and grounds were very pretty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Very clean and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay close to Pozzallo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearest restaurant was 15 min by car

    Personnel, really helpful, nice, comfy and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Amazing service, food, and accommodation. I would definitely recommend this place for your visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Rooms are close to eachother, you Will hear your neighbours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are close to eachother, you Will hear your neighbours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Accommodation and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was remote but that's what we wanted. We had to drive everywhere.

    Accommodation and staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Very well kept, charming resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No privacy on the beautiful patio of your room.

    Great staff. Good breakfast. Very well kept, charming resort.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice location, welcome and both dinner and breakfast above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, welcome and both dinner and breakfast above average for the area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sour out of date orange juice

    Pillows we're amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Quiet, clean and the location were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were very good, but we would have preferred fresh orange juice in the mornings and a greater selection of fruit as there is so much about. Also, the lighting in the rooms was difficult to negotiate! The bathrooms got very humid and there was no extraction fan and our laptops/iPhones could not charge unless there was a key in the door.

    Quiet, clean and the location were excellent. Friendly but unobtrusive staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    The ambiance is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lying by the pool, be prepared to encounter a lot of flies. We we're here in september and it did bother us a bit. Also, the rooms are quite noisy.

    The ambiance is fantastic. Really a nice couples' retreat. Spend some days here and visit the countryside, cities, beaches. Absolutely loved it here. And the hotel offers a very decent dinner if you decide to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    8.8
    This is a charming small hotel in the countryside with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool was not heated, but this was May

    This is a charming small hotel in the countryside with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Whole place is full of charm and the menu in the evening - either fish or meat - is simple Sicilian food.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    Quiet, nice grounds and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of the way. Charging € 5 per pool towel....

    Quiet, nice grounds and property.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Staff are very helpfull ,nice and positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff are very helpfull ,nice and positive. Excellent connection to baroque towns and beaches. Nice decorated rooms ,wonderfull garden.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.1
    Interesting towns within day's driving distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No choice of places to eat. Hotel menu was restricted to 2 choices of set 4 course menu.

    Interesting towns within day's driving distance.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough bathroom accessories / poor soap.

    The staff The position

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Cambiocavallo Unesco Area & Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: