Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Camin Hotel Colmegna 4 stars

Via Angelo Palazzi 1, 21016 Luino, Italy

#2 of 17 hotels in Luino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy well-kept hotel and surroundings, nice location at the lake, very friendly and service-minded staff, great breakfast buffet and good lunch/dinner restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, lovely swimming in the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant noise of garden machinery spoiled the tranquility. Mowers, strimmers, leaf blowers.

    Beautiful location, lovely swimming in the lake. Stylish room and bathroom. Huge breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    A fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We thought that the restaurant was a little pricey and didn't like the rather formal atmosphere very much. Fortunately there is a very nice little trattoria almost opposite so we ate there most of the time. Other people would love the restaurant, but it just didn't suit our mood. Just us, I guess.

    A fabulous hotel. Our room had 2 small balconies with fabulous views over the lake. Everything was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautifull and suprisingly large lake-side private park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifull and suprisingly large lake-side private park which gives you space to enjoy the views on the lake. Al public spaces are well-kept and comforting and surprising. Great room with a magnificent view (free upgrade).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Nice place - we will come back for sure!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like.

    A most wonderful place by the Lago di Maggiore. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff is very kind. Delicious food and a fantastisc breakfast. Dogs are welcome into the restaurant. The hotel is surrounded by a nice garden, sauna, whirlpool and a lot of beach spots. The water was cristal clear.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay overall but could not use the facilities as we had hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi and small pool's water was too cold and not enjoyable despite the magnificant view (we visited in mid-October). The adjustable temperature was not increased although we mentioned this to the reception on both days of our stay. The spa facilities could be improved for attracting visitors all year round.

    The location and property grounds are beautiful. Staff were helpful and friendly and our room was comfortable. The breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Incredible views and amazing restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The onlyyyy minor point would be the lack of a gym but other than that, it was paradise!

    Sensational views, very pretty garden, nice little pools, incredible quality of restaurant and bar, very helpful staff, attractive room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Maggiore magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedrooms and noise from the road

    Location, staff, cosy feel, views and general oasis nature of a tranquil spot. Good choice of restaurants within hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic weekend at the shores of Lago Maggiore !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the property was a little challenge at times .

    Hotel is located right at the water . The grounds are expansive with beautiful vegetation and the staff is extremely friendly . The cuisine is exquisite and the overall value very good .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Mini holiday unto itself at Hotel Colmagna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If driving, the Hotel comes up quickly - right after one exits a tunnel there is a sharp turn to access the entrance. Just be aware.

    Hotel Colmegna is a couple of kilometres from Luino where one can find bars, shops, restos, etc. We were very happy to stay at the hotel and enjoy the view from its various bar tables situated at different levels in nooks and crannies...very private and romantic if one wants plus staff automatically presented snacks (olives, cookies, corn chips with drinks in the late afternoon. Staff obliged with decorating tables with flowers and petals for special occasions - birthdays, anniversaries...We ate our three dinners here as the food was superior. Breakfast was included, extensive and delicious - excellent presentation. This is where we found the coolest egg "boiler" a dome-shaped appliance where one can cook a fresh egg to one's taste! The "beach" area consists of lounge chairs above the water, hot tub, sauna and paddle and pontoon boats are available. Some young brave souls jumped from the stone wall to swim. From here by car, ferries or motorships are available 18 kim away (not far) to visit Lago Maggiore (this was the purpose of our stay at Colmagna) which is a must! Again, we never tired of the view from Hotel Colmegna - truly magical.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    brilliant location with stunning views. garden area beautiful. a little pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a wedding on every day we where there; with music and very noisy until late at night. Parking became difficult with all the wedding guests. were charged for coffee pods used in the room. felt the food and drinks at the hotel were a little over priced for the area.

    incredible location on the rocks of the lake with stunning views of the lake. garden and relaxation area along the lake is wonderful. lovely sun beds and good access to the lake for swimming. Jacuzzi also available. free bikes available to explore the area. wonderful breakfast spread catering for everyone. rooms and bathrooms are small but very comfortable with nice view of the lake. staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Superb grounds and garden with plenty of varied places to relax. Good staff. Good breakfast. Lakeside location with lovely views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness,staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, cleanliness,staff. Excellent room with lake view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is more about the view than the food.

    Friendly staff, beautiful views of the lake, deluxe room is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful full service resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing. It was an all around great stay!

    Great view, excellent room, good food and service. Delux!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    The view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Classy place, amazing Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise, and noise from functions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    beatifull modern rooms in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location,the room modern and clean view toward the lake,everything was grait

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Hotel du Lac... Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to do in the village

    amazing location on the lake

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    Over priced function food in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal in the restaurant was over priced function food

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Charming and quiet location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is not much happening in the town, so for activities outside the hotel one must go to the next town.

    Very friendly staff. A lot of extra equipment for babies, e.g. cot, duvet, changing mat, bottle heater, bath tub. Beautiful view from room, restaurant, bar and garden. Beautiful garden. Good restaurant. Good breakfast with many choices.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    as always perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    as always perfect location perfect facilities perfect staff the staff in this beautiful hotel are a credit to the owner lara. even when very busy with full restaurant and catering a large wedding the minimal staff worked with efficiency and professionalism yet still giving the personal touch. many a first class hotel could learn from this hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    Good buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening dinner was OK nothing exceptional. My duck was very undercooked and tough. The replacement duck wasn't much better.

    Good buffet breakfast. Efficient ceiling fan has the weather was hot. OK for one night stay but not two.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    The Tognetti Family from Napa, CA visited to see where our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Tognetti Family from Napa, CA visited to see where our relatives originated from. We found the Camin Hotel and just loved the Hotel, Staff and Management. We will be back and will be sure to tell everyone we know about this lovely Hotel. tognettiwines.com

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Very good and friendly service, clean, new and well-kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good and friendly service, clean, new and well-kept rooms in traditional Italian style and an outstanding view! Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.9
    although a roombooking was in place at arrival we were told...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    although a roombooking was in place at arrival we were told no room was available. worst experience ever. staff should be fully blamed for this mess.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.2
    the garden is amazing with all facilities, rooms, staff, all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast buffet could be of better quality

    the garden is amazing with all facilities, rooms, staff, all good.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    every thing

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: