Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Canal & Walter 3 stars

S.Croce 553-240, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

#287 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1174 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    3.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service is excellent! Really appreciate that we can leave the bag before check in or after check out for few hours so we can continue sightseeing before departure. Breakfast was also good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit small and shower not that user-friendly

    Great location on one of the main canals. Room was very small which you would expect in Venice but soundproof which was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world charm.... Which is fine when it's fresh and clean! The room, can't swing a cat! Smells of smokes. Bathroom, same. Only a hand held shower sprayer, makes it hard to clean anything.. If you are into a dripping roof, no room and old world charm. This is for you.

    It had air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was extremely hard, from the outside the hotel looks bit dingy and warn with graffiti so we were a little alarmed but inside was good.

    location was fabulous, directly opposite the translation. lovely view of canal, great breakfast and staff were friendly. Room was clean and tidy and lovely and cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was VERY run down with odds and ends dumped in corridors.The bath room needed a complete refurbishment,peeling radiator, peeling bottom of door and everything in poor condition.

    Good towels, clean bedding and efficient air con.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small over cramped bathroom and shower. Could only use the WiFi in the foyer, didn't work in the room

    We had a room overlooking the Grande Canal which was interesting watching the Water activity. Less than 10 minutes walk over the main bridge to the station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like Venice herself, the place is in glorious decay. also like Venice, hugely overpriced.

    The location is excellent. Also, breakfast- a very good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The crowds

    Friendly professional staff great location with vews down the grand canal would suggest paying for canal view . 10 minute walk from train station . Best to use ACT local ferries to travel around Vennice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so bit difficult taking luggage to 3rd floor.

    Excellent location and staff provided us a breakfast pack as we were leaving early. Bathroom was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, For where it is, quite a recommendable hotel.

    The name interested us until I found that it was a combination of the Hotel Canal and the Hotel Walter. "Canal" being a rather sad looking pink exterior facing the Grand Canal and "Walter" a more substantial multi-story one facing a side canal. Pleasant interior and pleasant if quaint rooms. Good lighting. All basic but in good condition and serviceable. Ten minute walk from the station and similar to the nearest vaporetto. (shop just outside the station charges E12 to secure-store case overnight compared to E25+ at the station. Pleasant, if small, breakfast room and quite good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very untidy hotel, lots of things lying around. Also seems a very tired hotel, décor and furniture wise, particularly the public areas. Breakfast was mediocre. No air conditioning until June any year, but initial room we were in was very stuffy. Leaving our luggage upon our departure wasn't a problem for them, but that's because we had to leave it anywhere we could find, with no security on it.

    as expected, the view was amazing, once we had changed our room, as the first was too close to the people on the bridge outside. Also, location was amazing too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Icecold in the room as the heating didn't work. I had to fill the bathtub with warm water and open the door to the bedroom to get a higher temperature in the bedroom.

    Closeness to the translation was super good as I had early departure from Venice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was old and the toilet was clean but still too old fashioned... Also, it is horrible that you pay for such room 100eur for one night and yet have to pay for the internet.. I don't know from where they get those starts but it is really not worth it - unless you are a young person who does not care at all about comfort but yet again it is still pricey comparing with what they offer...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is a little run down.

    The location is very close to the train station and port. You do not want to walk far with your suitcases in Venice as it is so busy! The lady at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful, it was great to have breakfast included and be able to store our luggage on the day of checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed was actually two single beds pushed together, so they would often move apart and get uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. The room was exactly as we expected from the pictures and the view was great. The bathroom was fine, though the shower took a little while to get going. For the price we paid, absolutely spot on overall! Receptionists were always helpful, especially when the sirens for "acqua alta" confused us!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom are old but clean

    Perfect location closed to train, bus, boat station, very convevience(with canal view). Delicious breakfast. Good for having 24hrs reception desk with a nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It can't be better

    Staff very helpful(thank you Antonella for being kind). Excelent localization, in front of the station just cross the Canal. The coffee was organized and very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very shabby and dingy place. Room was tiny with window onto shaft containing sewage pipes. At times smell was disgusting so had to keep window closed.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good location as we wanted to be near airport bus. Short walk over two bridges.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clean. Staff were not very polite and they were bored even to speak.

    The location is really good cause it is next to the parking place and next to the old city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room was really too small and cupboard like. Appreciate the old design of the building but the room had hardly any space to even put the suitcases. Bathroom was also tiny and a very strange design with the tinest bath tub and an enormous sink and unnecessary bidet. Also really bad insulation, could hear everyone’s every movement and honestly the canal view we had didn’t look as advertised in the picture. Terrible coffee at breakfast!

    Great location just opposite the train station. A bit of a walk away from San Marco and main attractions but doable. Room was well heated and could have a hot bath. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite being located in a charming historical building, at least in some parts the decor dates back to sometime in the twentieth century and is overdue for a serious revamp. Especially our bathroom was sad and a bit of a hazard with its slippery-when-wet floor (I suspect it had floors tiled with wall tiles to save on costs back then)

    The hotel is conveniently located in the least confusing part of Venice, a short walk to all modes of transport. Our room was spacious, as well as the bathroom. There were large wardrobe and desk. The staff honoured our request for a canal view. Heating in the room was perfect (in winter). The breakfast included a good variety and the breakfast room is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no free wifi.

    Really good place, near Grand Canal and main train station, good breakfast, authentic atmosphere (hotel is a little bit old, but not so old) :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was slow, intermittent and you had to pay for it.

    Excellent location across from main train station and on Grand Canal. At check in we requested a room in the front. Anna graciously gave us room 114 right on the Grand Canal it has three windows, and a small balcony. We loved the view and all the light. For some the room would not be appropriate because it is noisy and more visible to the sidewalk. However, we enjoy viewing the daily life, the vaporrotos, and other boats on the Grand Canal, the light the noise and excitement of Venice. You have to pay for Internet 3 euro for ten hours, and the Internet is Slow and intermittent plus only one person in the room can use it at a time. Other then the Internet situation excellent place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old, it seems that they have not done any renovation for ages; broken and dangerous plug in the room, so impossible to charge the phone, the small TV did not work properly and the fridge bar was the oldest piece of household appliance I have never seen ! The bathroom is small and very uncomfortable, in fact there is no space to have a bidet. Everything has a dirty and unkempt air, I better fly over any comment about breakfast. ahhhh even the phone to call the concierge was broken Absolutely no worth for 230 euro per night

    The location, near the train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The confort of the hotel could be better. The bed is not really confortable, the bathroom looks quite old. I would maybe not have stay here for a longer time but just for a weekend, it is okay.

    I liked the location of this little charming hotel but also its staff who where really helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, the bed made us really itchy, pillows were awful. The shower head had nothing to attach it to so it was free holding which made it very hard to shower.

    It was clean and we loved the window view to the canal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Location was easy to get to at midnight (and check in) plus the breakfast was a great way to start the day. Being able to leave our bags at the hotel allowed us to explore Venice before catch the train (which was just across the canal) I would stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people from the staff was bothered , they seems like spys and they just look you in qny moment I was a little bit scared.

    Everything was near from the hotel and the breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really cozy and nice. I really like the decor inside my room coz it gives you the Venice vibes. Très chic! The hotel is also located infront of the grand canal which is quite strategic as u can enjoy the view or go for a night walk without worrying anything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault this hotel at all

    After reading previous reviews I was worried about staying at this hotel. However I have just returned from an amazing stay.... the staff were warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 207 which had an amazing view of the Grand Canal, the room was spotlessly clean, with crisp white sheets, the bathroom was clean with plenty of clean fluffy towels which were changed daily. The room was decorated with traditional decor which added to the charm of the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful with the best coffee! Also the room had a USB charger, so charging phones was some, no adaptor needed! The hotel was so easy to find and being able to leave our luggage before check in was a real bonus. I will definitely be returning to this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Ive added a picture of the view from the room at sunset!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel & facilities are old. Needs renovation.

    Location is perfect! In front of train station & water transportation. Bus station also walking station. Our room is with Grand Canal view. The afternoon after we checked in, it was snowing. View from the room to the Grand Canal was so beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night time we bought 2 WiFi 1 of it wasnt work when ı go receptıon old man he didnt help us he was really rude

    Lady was really helpful day shift thank you agaın

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry to say everything. On arrival the receptionist and manager were arguing. waited 15 mins and no one else there. also were told to leave our bags in the restaurant as room wasn't ready yet. There were other people eating and told to leave our bags beside them. Stairs old and wall looks terrible. Room stinks, loads of bugs and we all had rashes and insect bites the next morning. Avoid like the plague. In hindsight should have just paid to stay in a 4 star.

    For the price i was expecting the room to be at least 3 star. Felt like 1 to 2 star property. We all we eating alive during the night by bed bugs. This place is really bad. Only positive is the location but really avoid if you have a family. No wifi you can pay for one user to use. Smells. rooms very dirty and bed bugs. Just looked at trip advisor and plenty of reveiws saying to avoid wish I read them first as booking.com says the places is fine!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is small and the two single beds leave no space to move. besides making the bed, cleaning under the beds is also important.

    it was very quiet. breakfast included both salty and sweet foods, the location was great, the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms needs some serious attention to it. The hotel management should look into the room fittings and decorations. They seem really very old and worn out. Gives it a very dirty look. The toilets are clean but however, the lighting and the shower heads needs to be changed as well.

    This place is walking distant from the train station, nearby to Gondola rides, nearby restaurants as well. Venice is a place for everyone to walk around to experience that whole area , therefore where ever the hotel is, just walk around and have a memorable time viewing and experiencing Venice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room slightly cramped but did only use it to sleep and get changed

    Convenient for public transport and access to Venice. Great view of the Grand Canal. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a bit of tlc but the room was comfortable and clean. A bit of faded elegance.

    The hotel was convenient for bus, train and waterbus. Also easy to walk around the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there only a night and we went out so early in the morning so i can not take the breakfast in the hotel but the personal of the hotel very kindly preparated us a breakfast to carry. The hOtel is five minutes walking to the bus stop to go the aeroport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the negative things are that you have to pay for wifi!! wtf in 2017 you dont have free wifi?! the double bed its actually 2 single beds together,what can i say for this :( th breakfast its was poor but still ok!!

    the location it was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room with balls of hair on the floor and two single mattresses stick together which make our couple sleep really hard. In addition the shower head was completely blocked and the WiFi was not free

    Great position near by the station and the waterbus. Nice view from our room and the breakfast was ok. Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never book this Awful hotel! The hotel is not worth its money A very old repair Here is so dirty that there is fear gays infected by something Dusty rooms, there is the smell of the millennial dust Very noisy rooms with Chanel view, all night boats unload goods under the window Breakfast is terrible!

    Ничего Nothing Terrible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of maintenance. Shoddy overall. Mildew in bathroom. Gaping hole in ceiling. Door to room was open at the frame - not plastered. Inadequate stair rail. Safe didn't work and wasn't fixed as promised.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Coffee was good. View from room was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though former reviews were mostly all negative, I booked this hotel anyways for the canal view and the price. I should have taken the reviews more seriously. This hotel is in desperate need of upgrading. Yes, Venice is an old city, but this hotel could fix stained wallpaper, replace broken spring mattresses, etc.... (I also was bit by a spider here.)

    This hotel was right on the canal and close walking distance to restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is an astonishing low quality of products. From the croissant to the meat and cheese it gives the feeling of value saving packages.knowing how easily it is to spend more money on accommodation in venice it is convenient due to location, but for what one gets in return I would opt next time for a hotel in mestre or to spend more for something better.

    close to the station and free luggage storage

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were mosquitoes in the room. We couldn't figure out how they were getting in but one night killed 12! The outside of the hotel looks like it's ready to fall down. The lobby is so old and falling apart. It sure could use an update. Was very expensive for what we received. I would not recommend this hotel.

    The hotels was very quaint, old but the rooms were clean. Breakfast was included and it was good. The rolls baking in the morning drifted to our room and made it easy to get up! That's about the only positive. Other than the front desk gentleman was very friendly, the girl, not so much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the area and the price it is a good hotel. It was a bit warm in the rooms, never really cooling off (though I think this is standard for the area).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was interesting! But it worked. I’d asked for a walk-in shower as I’m disabled but didn’t get one. Had to be man-handled into the bath by my very obliging husband. Had to check out at 7.30am on last day and, even though everything was set up and ready, couldn’t get a coffee and croissant because “breakfast starts at 8”. A pot of coffee was on the hot plate but I wasn’t allowed to have any. Not good.

    I’ve stayed here several times because of its proximity to the rail/bus station. It’s quaint and quirky but sadly, in need of an upgrade. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the room was clean and surprisingly large! I probably won’t be able to stay there again as my disability is worsening and there’s no lift - sad but one of those things.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best lighting, I brought a suction cup magnified mirror to stick on window to apply makeup. Had a tough time negotiating what is the best way to get from airport. Should have taken the street bus, water taxis took over an hour to get aboard, then another 45 mins to get across water, then over 30 mins walk from Rialto Bridge. We got impatient and jumped on first water taxi (note to everyone- don't make our mistake). Hotel could address options just as a standard way to communicate, it would have helped.

    A room with a window overlooking the grand canal! Enjoyed hearing the boat traffic in the mornings, never to loud. Loved having access to the water taxis within a very short walk. Breakfast wasn't American but I'm not in Italy to eat American, it was perfect. If you need American coffee bring it....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well for some reason our credit card didn't go through, so we were sent to the building 3 doors down. The staircase was funky.

    Looking out at the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a fitting over the bath in our room and without a wall bracket to peg up the shower head. I prefer a shower to a bath so it was a bit awkward trying to get a shower one-handed (ie whilst the other was holding the shower head). It was manageable but not ideal. I would have preferred a shower cubicle or at least a bracket on the wall to hold the fitting. Having said that, the water pressure was good and there were no issues with hot water supply so far as mg husband and I were concerned. I managed to wash my long hair. There was no hairdryer in the room and I assume you must have to ask at reception for one. I didn't bother - I just let it dry in the sun and on the boat ride - outside it didn't take long. Many of the reviews I read before booking complained about the place being shabby or dirty; yes, the stair carpets are worn and some parts could do with paintwork refreshing, but I thought it was reasonably clean and you have to bear in mind the price you are paying to stay on the Grand Canal.

    The hotel is well located near the start of the Grand Canal (ie the Piazza le Roma end, not San Marco end) but just over the nearby bridge from the hotel is one of the main vaporetto (water bus) stops so it is really easy to get around even if you don't like to do too much walking (although it is only about 30 mins walk to San Marco you get a good view of all the sights along the Canal if you take the vaporetto). The staff in the hotel were very pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. There were croissants, bread, rolls, boiled eggs, meat, cheese, jam, cereals, juice, and coffee. The room was fairly small but adequate (obviously Venice is an expensive city so space is compromised like in London). It was clean enough (perhaps not immaculate - I spotted the odd cobweb in the corner), and the bed was comfortable. I had a room with Canal view which was splendid although with hindsight I might not have bothered paying the extra for it as I was concerned about mosquitos getting in and thus left the window closed almost all of the time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Arrival we were informed that the room was out of use, so they moved us to a similar hotel Tre Archi 15 mins further from the Grand canal. which turned out to be clean but poor. So i think for next time i would not book a 3 star in Venice, as both the properties looked terrible, i would pay the extra and get something a little nicer. the breakfast was one of the worst I've had, one word "appalling" Venice itself is amazing place, so if your looking just for a no thrills place to stay this is your place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a not as good as some other hotels we have stayed at.

    the hotel is perfectly placed on the canal and only a short distance to the main transport hubs making it very easy accees to cruise terminal and train station,both of which can be a challenge in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel need desperately a renovation. When we got our room the wash basin was leaking. Then water comes out in our room as a room upstairs don't use the bathroom correctly, They need to put a recipient and tower need our bed and was afraid of electric circuit as water from the wall near the electric socket. need to climb the stairs with our luggages. Need to pay for wifi.

    not too far from the metro

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised with free wifi but you had to pay for wifi. Our room seemed very dusty, I have a dust allergy and was covered in hives our entire stay. Seemed a bit overpriced for the cleanliness of the hotel.

    PERFECT view if the grand canal! Room 114 was the only room to have a balcony, it was amazing!! Breakfast in the garden was also beautiful and delicious! The staff was very helpful and answered all our questions. 😀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovation. Wifi has to be paid and is not working at all! The front desk does not resolve any problem at all and just looks at you with a sad face but "cannot do anything". If you have a problem you can write it down" and nothing happens. We were assigned room 118 which smelled like old French Fries' grease (you could not step into the bathroom without the desire of vomiting, and I am not exaggerating!!!!!). Seems that the exhaust air of a nearby restaurant gets directly into the room.... To sum it up: we had a horrible night! I am definitely not recommending this hotel to anyone!!!!

    The breakfast was nice, and the location is excellent if you get to Venice by train (st Lucia)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was way overpriced. The breakfast was terrible. The coffee machine spewed out. Tim s of powdered milk. The pot coffee was. Old. The toast was inedible. The bathroom was so small you couldn't turn around and the water was slow and took ages to warm up. There was barely enough room for our suitcases on the floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift. Had to carry baggage to second floor. Narrow hallways. Outdated furnishings. Poor shower configuration. Minimal breakfast.

    Goof location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is run down. We had to carry our luggage up two flight of stairs, which is not easy for 2 of our ladies friends. The hotel has no lifts and no porters. At the time of my booking last November the tariff for the room with canal view was $200 Euro. The hotel charged us $250 euro when we checked in 0n 30/06/2017. I think the management of Booking .com should contact the hotel and question them why the tariff was $250 euro and demand them to refund us $50 Euro

    nothing really

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've liked to have stayed in Venice longer.

    I injured my foot whilst on holiday, the staff were very sympathetic and gave me ice packs to help. Staff were friendly and courteous at all hours of the day. Hotel is ideally located near transport links.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be warned there is no lift. The hotel is delapidated and quite frankly may be dangerous. There was exposed wiring in the bathroom. The plumbing was clearly done by an amateur. Most of the staff were very pleasant in what are clearly difficult conditions. My advice is not to stay here. I'm surprised Booking.com has this listed as a 3 star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bridges... Something you can't avoid in Venice.

    Opposite the train station, best for those who catch a morning train. but...No matter how, you have to cross a huge bridge, please choose the bridge that looks farer to the hotel,as u just need to cross one bridge, the closer bridge will have total of 2 or 3 bridges to cross. The hotel prepared very simple breakfast for me, it feels great when I am hungry and have it on the train.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stairs to get luggage to room. Glad we were on the first floor. No free wifi.

    Had to leave too early for breakfast so they did us a takeaway breakfast :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much to dislike for the amount we paid. It did exactly what we needed the hotel to do for the amount of time we were there, which was provide a clean, comfortable bed and room with easy access to the Venice attractions. Breakfast was basic but did the job offering a fresh croissant with spreads, cereal and cold meats and cheese. Coffee and juices. It's perfect for the tourist seeking a no frills 2-3 night stop over in the heart of Venice.

    The location was perfect for visiting Florence. Easy access on foot and via public transport to all the major attractions and both touristy and local bars and restaurants. We also had our own bathroom which is a must in my book and can be quite hard to find in some hotels in Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property itself is tired. A/C was nice when it worked but it didn't always. For Venice, you would probably pay 300+ Euros/night for anything nicer though.

    Proximity to train and bus station very convenient, no need to navigate the Vaporettos or pricey water taxis with luggage. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and tired decor but was great value and suited it's purpose perfectly so not a deal breaker

    Great location , good value, quiet, perfect as a base for Venice. Opposite a water taxi stop and next to bus and train station for easy, hassle free exit out of venice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness left much to be desired. Lots of dust in the corners. Beds however were ok. The shower in our bathrooms (we tried two) couldn't be fixed in any position making bathing very difficult. The breakfast was uninspired - maybe as could be expected in Italy.

    The room had a wonderful view directly to Canal Grande. It was easy to reach - just passing two bridges - from Piazzale Roma.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds....... are way too small and made you feel it's not clean. Our room is dark ( that was the last room in the hotel) and narrow. It's just a place to sleep nothing more. I don't even want to take photos.

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was good value and better than we anticipated

    Ideal location close to station and bus depot. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We would certainly go back again. Only need tea making equipment in rooms for early morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift (but they arrange to stay in the first floor, it does not too bother us )

    the lady in the front desk is very friendly and helpful the location is awesome (you could take a water taxi arrive the hotel, from port to hotel costs around €90, from airport to hotel costs around €120, if you travel with the family the cost is reasonable ) the view is wonderful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is quite run down, and not very well maintained. The shower in our room was dreadful, with virtually no pressure. The shower is over the bath, with a fixed shower screen. The bidet is right in front of the bath, so it is very difficult to get out the bath. Breakfast was ok, but rather too many bread choices. Stair carpets are worn in places, and the stair railing was wobbly at the top on the second floor.

    Location was excellent, right on the grand canal, and easy to reach from the cruise terminal Our room was at the back, so lovely and quiet. Staff were mostly helpful and friendly. The city however is beautiful, and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dim lighting, not very hot water, lack of toiletries shelf in shower stall. Expensive WiFi and inconsistent roaming data reception. One day the chambermaid neglected to do our room.

    Quiet room, pleasantly furnished, near transport hub, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff coverage on main staffs day off one lad in particular very rude assume he was just a casual worker all other staff very pleasant.

    Bed very comfortable great nights sleep.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is too far from San Marco Square and Grand Canal. Lastly no elavator at hotel.

    Hotel is near to the train station. Personnel are helpful and polite. They prepared breakfast to us at 6:00 am. If you want cute and warm hotel, there will be good choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condtioning was very hard use. May have been broken, couldnt get it to work. The room was very cold. The bed was average but small for two people. All the furniture was either broken or breaking badly. In deire need of a renovation. PAID WIFI WAS SO ANNOYING

    The location was close to the train and walking distance to everything. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door is not soundproof, sometimes the sound of people passing by the corridor could disturb a good night sleep.

    Good location, directly infront of the grand canal, close to Ferrovia train station with many cafes nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Canal & Walter traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: