Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Canaletto 3 stars

Castello 5487 San Lio, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#124 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1312 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel. 5 minutes to St Mark's Square & Rialto Bridge, so close to the centre. Plenty of bars and restaurants in close proximity. Room was spacious and clean. The bed was so comfy - maybe a result of the amount of walking we did! So much choice for breakfast - cereal, toast, croissants, eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    A great vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I didn’t know what except , the hotel it self was beautiful and the staff were very helpful with us in getting the area , I had a great time there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    The bed was quite hard, my partner didn't sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard, my partner didn't sleep well. Also the bed was actually two single beds pushed together which was slightly uncomfortable, especially when I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival to advise that it was our honeymoon. Other than that we had a great time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had very poor pressure with little temperature adjustment.

    Very traditional Italian hotel, comfortable beds, good breakfast. The location is also good, once you find it !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is so good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address on google maps brings you to the wrong location, and as the streets are so narrow it can’t read where you are. Took us about 15 minutes wandering in the same area to find the hotel.

    The location of the hotel is so good! 5 minutes from both Rialto and Piazza San Marco. Easy to get to from the airport!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent and in a campo (yard), where it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms we got were small, but you can expect that throughout Venice (except in large hotels with expensive prices). It is not easy to find it for the first time (the best is to follow the sign from Salizada San Lio).

    The location is excellent and in a campo (yard), where it is quiet. The staff is helpful and allow you to leave your luggage after check-out for all day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to control temperature of room - was warm at night

    Great location Spacious enough for a family (2adults, 2 children) Had a small canal (with gondolas) outside the window!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice cute little hidden jam in the heart of Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows (flat and not comfortable). Internet (download speed was ok, but upload speed was 0 during our entire stay, witch means that it was no internet connection at all). On the day of our departure cleaning lady burst into our room at 9.30 in the morning after an extremely short knocking and my answer that we are still in the room (she probably didn’t hear that), but it was very frustrating because we were still in the bed and undressed.

    We were really happy to stay here during our short visit. The rooms are ok-size to fit 2 guests (plus, we didn’t expect to find a room larger in Venice). Beautifully designed and furnished. I loved the design a lot and was totally excited from textile wallpaper! Also each room has well working AC and fridge. Bathroom was decent size, clean and bright. Hotel itself conveniently located so you can get yourself anywhere in the city-center in no time. Breakfast was pretty good as well. Overall I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Central, and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the pricey side, with additional city tax (like all places in Venice, it seems). The room was also a bit dark, since it wasn’t a canal room, which are apparently lighter with the open view.

    Great full breakfast buffet. And it is in a central location to walk to lots of the big tourist sites like San Marco square and Rialto bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure to ask for proper coffee at the breakfast. Also dont for get to add the city taxes to the price from booking (to pay extra).

    Very good location, between Rilto and St Marco. Staff is very nice and helpfull. Recommending it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasantly surprised! Will recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi could have been better in room 134 and towels could be bigger or thicker.

    Loved the front desk people....very helpful! Loved the help with our Murano/Burano trip. Comfy beds and good air conditioning. Great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice, well-located hotel for a pleasant stay in Venice without straining your budget too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well, we regret finding too late that we could order a great coffee at the breakfast bar instead of drinking the one that was placed in a big container for all to drink from. So, our advice to future guests: at breakfast time do ask one of the staff for an expresso! We wished we had a view on the canal, but, of course, that would have been an ultra-ideal scenario. However, we asked for a room with limited noise and we pretty much got what we wanted (one morning, however, we were awakened by talkative cleaning staff who had their little supply room right outside our door, but after an intervention at the reception and profuse apologies, this problem never occurred again).

    I liked the location of the hotel, just a short walk away from St. Marc's and in an area that was not too crowded with tourists (= this kept the noise level down), as well as an historical association (the home of Giovanni Antonio Canaletto). For a 3-star hotel, you can't expect luxury, but this establishment had pretty much all we needed. The room was pretty big, the decor was neo-baroque, all was clean. The breakfast got repetitive after a few days, but there was everything one could desire (save for tomatoes or other vegetables), namely from cereals through cheese and ham, etc. The staff was helpful. I appreciate the receptionist calling up a good company for a water taxi at our departure. Also, I'd like to thank the gentleman at the reception who recommended a nearby bar serving Aperol Spritz for just 2.50 Euros (believe me, that's a good deal). In contrast to one complaint we noticed, we did not have big problems with internet connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude, room was not clean, size of the bed was too small and even in the room two people can not stay standing up at the same time😂😂, they sold us this room as a family room. Location is between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco, but according to our experience it is not worth for this price.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value and a great little hotel, just excessively noisy on the street frontage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excessively noisy location. Our room was right above a restaurant with lots of shouting and crashing about late in the evening as the staff closed down for the night. Also the room was above a street refuse collection point for the daily early morning clean up. From 6.am onwards shouting and crashing again as the city refuse staff brought several steel wheelie bins to the street below our window prior to loading onto the boat for removal. It did take the shine off what was otherwise a very nice little hotel, particularly as I had requested a quiet room.

    Very helpful staff, room clean and tidy, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Helix
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very complicated! We could reach the hotel with three big bags very difficult. If you dont have accesse to the internet and google map it will be imposible to find the hotel.

    Just breakfast was good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, great location, good value friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a little small, not a problem outside of peak times.

    Excellent location, great room (we had the one in the photo with the split level). Flight cancelled by EasyJet and re-scheduled, staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was decent. Good value for money hotel in Venice, we will return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a bit better

    The room was amazing. Nice view , very quiet in the room (can’t here anything at night). Location is perfect. Didn’t expect room will be so nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommended - great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room had no view of the canals or any water.

    Excellent Breakfast. Prime location to Rialto Bridge. Very comfortable bed & beautiful furniture. Great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing experience overall, very pleasant staff, Exceeded expectations for breakfast every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing I would have liked is a coffee facility in the Room as breakfast only starts at 07:45 am and there are no locations around to find coffee when you want an early start.

    Location is amazing and easy walking distance to Beautiful locations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    I have a vacation with my friends and I booked my flight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carrying big luggage to upstairs is very difficult. It would be great if something should be found out in this point.

    I have a vacation with my friends and I booked my flight one day earlier. I booked one day stay in Canaletto Hotel but I would prefer to stay longer there. I had great night, everything related to cleanliness, breakfast and room was perfecto.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Close to San macro . Good location , recommend especially during Venice carnival .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    google map not clear about the hotel location , so better to use hotel map . Reach the hotel need to across one bridge , if carry a bit heavy luggage may b difficult . but for small luggage is ok

    Close to san macro . easier to reach there . staffs are nice and breakfast are good . Lots of restaurant and minimart around hotel .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room slightly small

    Beds very comfortable, quite. Room and bathroom very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location, easy access to st marks, rialto etc. Highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    The location of this hotel is excellent it is within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast rooms are a little small so can feel cramped.

    The location of this hotel is excellent it is within walking distance to all the major attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Good value Hotel.Had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The scrambled egg was plentiful and streaky bacon was tasty.Good selection of Croissant,Danish or pain au chocolate. Cappucino was good quality. Bedroom had a beautiful Murano chandelier. Pretty venetian furniture.Location is excellent because it is away from the main street but within walking distance of several Restaurants,Rialto Bridge and even a small Supermarket.Spacious room which is rare in Venice and very clean. Stayed in this Hotel about ten years ago. Couldn't fault it for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was just perfect, close to the main attactions but also quiet. The breakfast was good but nothing special. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Connecting to internet was slow Steps inside the room - forgot about them when getting up to toilet in the dark

    Good location Good variety at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for a short stay in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The decor was classic and beautiful, the man at the front desk was very welcoming and the location was perfect for our short stay. Breakfast included was a bonus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Good and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to put a suitcase in the room. Only on the floor. No toilet on the reception, only in the room.

    Good location just in 3 min walk to realto brige, nice and clean room. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold and small. One of the staff was an unwelcoming man who was angry at us for no reason on Chrismas eve.

    The location of the hotel is great (close to both Rialto bridge and San Marco plaza). The room was clean and breakfast was complete.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    I liked the breakfast and the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I was ill on the first day and was sick and some got on the sheets so I took them off the bed to save the girls having to handle them and left them on floor.i had put some jeans 2 pairs and top and scarf etc in a bag on floor too beside them. When we came back that day the bag of dirty laundry was gone? So I reported it. All the laundry bags were checked but it never turned up. The staff were very apologetic but I have never lost anything out of a hotel room before. So it took a bit of the shine off the holiday. I reported it to the police then the hotel looked at compensating us which they did. I would rather have just gone home with my jeans as they were jeans I really liked. But it does leave me with a bit of concern abt hotels? Where I have never given a second thought.

    I liked the breakfast and the location of the hotel. The staff were very nice. There was nothing I could say I didn't like.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Awesome, fun filled and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room, with all facilities as told..milk was available for bambini at odd times as well.the only drawback it's far from main station hence during holidays difficult to locate or one has to use cabs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Dream stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there 15 years ago and decided to return. We found it even better, quiet, beautifully attired and remarkably inexpensive. Also very 'Venetian' in charachetr. Loved it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception guys were cold and even a bit abrasive. Not very welcoming and seemed annoyed when asked for dinner suggestions or directions.

    Location was great. Walking distance to everything. A bit confusing at first to find, GPS will be your God. The girls that tended breakfast were kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    The hotel was not worth the money, I was charged twice ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not worth the money, I was charged twice , once on the credit card and once through cash. Although the person at the desk said that my money would be released in a few days but I never got the refund. Secondly the hotel presented an untidy picture. The furniture was not good and had cracks in it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Great breakfast. Quiete place. Yet, in the middle of centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and wifi connection.

    Breakfast delicious. Personal was very nice. Bathroom would need a little redone (bath was old). Really appreciated free cancellation of reservation until the very last minute so didnt mind that the hotel was little more expensive than others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Good stay, enjoyed Venice.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A garbage barge right in front of the window collects trash every morning - waking up to that noise / view is not the best start of the day. Breakfast could be improved in terms of variety. Also the breakfast room is relatively small and often at full capacity.

    Great location, friendly staff. Overall good hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous time and strongly recommend the Hotel Canaletto to anyone visiting Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer pillows

    Helpful staff, great variety to breakfast buffet including cappuccinos, fantastic location between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Piazza.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely expensive Venice but the people and service were great. A wonderful experience and trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We thought our room was one of the more basic ones compared to the website. Bathroom was adequate but small. Breakfast area lacked room with lilliput plates and small cutlery. Food offering was okay and completely self-service.

    The location of the hotel was great and near main sights. Staff were friendly and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The standard of cleanliness was excellent with regular changes of linen and towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find in amongst the maze of canals!

    Central location, great large room. Lovely large windows overlooking a canal. Reasonably priced mini bar, superb breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Central position is great - just a few minutes to St...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom towels are getting a bit thin and worn.

    Central position is great - just a few minutes to St Mark's Square, and to the Rialto. Staff are friendly and very helpful and obliging. Wide variety available for breakfast: cereals, breads, croissants, toast, bacon and eggs, and much more. Especially liked the fresh fruit salad.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed seeing this location and can mark it off our list of must sees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Must admit it is a little difficult to find your way around so get a good map with lots of detail. It gets better after you do a little exploring on your own. The fact that there is no mobile transportation within Venice makes transporting yourself and luggage a bit of a challenge. The use of porters for a fee is available but expensive. Be sure to agree on a price before turning over your luggage for transport to your hotel or water taxi. Airport is a very busy place too, give yourself at least three hours to get through all of the lines to check your bags and get through security etc.

    Location was great with an easy to walk to the St Marks square. Staff was great and very helpful with all of our needs. Breakfast was great with a nice variety of both hot and cold choices. Rooms were clean. Lots of local restaurants to pick from all over the area. The city is amazing and always very crowded with tourists. Beautiful buildings everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that there was no air conditioning. Understand the explanation but we found the weather warm despite people walking around with jackets etc

    Breakfast was most enjoyable with Pastries and coffee that were delicious. Room was very nice and decor of the hotel was beautiful Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have any issues during my stay. I stayed for one night only. But I did notice the receptionist who was checking me in the way he was talking to one couple. It was okay but I asked him why is he so strict (that couple was leaving the hotel and forgot to stop by the reception to return their keys - thats the rule). The receptionist was just too serious about such a simple thing so I asked him and he said its because if he gets into some troubles it will be on him not on their guests. Which I totally understand but a little bit of friendliness wouldn't be damaging. But still I personally didn't have any problems with our receptionist.

    Bed was comfortable and breakfast surprisingly wonderful. Compared to other hotel for the same price in Paris selection of pastries and everything was much better. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean and friendly-but the price should be in respect to the quality of a 3 star hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prices for this properety as offered by booking.com were not relative to the quality of the hotel. Booking.com over charged me-this is not a $250 hotel. No deal here and extremely disappointed with booking.com-not the hotel which is good for what it is. I think I got taken by booking.com

    The location of the hotel is very good in reference to tourist sites. Clean hotel with a little less of facilities like coffe, tea or sugar in the room, no elevator. The stafff was very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great Location, friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little hard to find but such a great location only a 5 minute walk from the Rialto and San Marco. A good selection at breakfast they even had a barista making coffees to order. Staff were really friendly too, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is located in the city center, a few minutes'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's policy is to leave the key at the reception, which can be quite unpleasant when the receptionist is not in the office or is talking to other tourists.

    The hotel is located in the city center, a few minutes' walk from San Marco Square. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Property was quaint, just what we wanted for Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was quaint, just what we wanted for Venice. Breakfast was fantastic and a great start to the day, the location between the Rialto bridge and St. Marks Square was fantastic. Neighborhood resteraunts were excellent and easily accessible as was the shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location a very easy walk from Piazza (if you know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location a very easy walk from Piazza (if you know where you're going), and not far from St Mark's Square. Unique style of the hotel was fun to experience. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    It was a pleasant stay and the gentleman that was there daily was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As previously mentioned first impressions of building were not good. The dining area was not as big as it looked on your website.

    The gentleman who booked us in and was there everyday was great. First impressions when we arrived we're not to great. The pictures on your website have been photoshopped abut. When we got over the first day things were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the furniture was of an age; not bad but older. You get what you pay for.

    Breakfast was excellent. Lots of food, many different types and the bacon was delicious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Great classic Venetian hotel. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City tax in Venice is payable by cash only

    Hotel is in a great location, easy walking to public transport, shopping and monuments. Staff were accommodating (specially got soy milk for my breakfast coffee for the next morning) and helpful. Room was classic Venetian, spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for beautiful Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the breakfast room to be a little too small and there was no queuing system for tables! Pillows in the room were stone hard!

    This hotel is absolutely beautiful! Such a perfect place to stay in a beautiful part of Italy! The staff were lovely! We got upgraded to a suite for free! Amazing surprise that was! Room was beautiful and clean! Location is perfect! 5 minute walk from Rialto bridge!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Value for money, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Canaletto. We arrived at midnight and were welcomed, by Alessandro, as if it were mid afternoon. We were able to walk easily through the maze of streets from the Hotel. My husband's luggage was missing and Marco was most helpful in contacting the airline to enquire. Comfortable, quaint room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Great value in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was difficult to find.

    The hotel was very clean and the rooms were quiet, even with foot traffic right outside. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely little hotel in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift which would be difficult for some people with their luggage. There's about 30 steps to negotiate. The reception clerk did help with some luggage but not all. No air conditioning in room. It was quite stuffy as the weather had been warm.

    Good breakfast, comfy beds and great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Overall our stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were not very soft. Room 160 we found to be quite dark, not much light coming through the window.

    Bacon & scrambled egg for breakfast ! Lovely coffee ! Location was good, close to Rialto and St Marcs . Very pleasant and helpful staff. Would visit again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant Hotel in the Heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The decor is a tad faded. The eighteenth-century theme makes that less of an issue, but it's the only thing I had to work with a bit as far as liking the hotel.

    Location is the reason to stay at this hotel; it's within walking distance of many important sites in Venice, with a few vaporetto rides thrown in. The hotel is on a quiet campo away from the tourist scrum. There's a nearby supermarket, for me an important convenience.The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ample and features some wonderful little pancakes. Overall, I had a good experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast and coffee service was good but crowed at peak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had a strong odor to it that would not go away. Difficult to stomach.

    The breakfast and coffee service was good but crowed at peak times.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast, nice staff, close to Attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my first time travelling to Euro.I travelled for Biennale 2017. The staffs are willing to help about how to go to Arsenale and Giardni. It"s cool for single Traveller. It"s recommended and most importantly the hotel is closed to a supermarket which is very important for a single traveller!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and affordable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm, but that is normal for Europe at this time of year. There is no lift so you need to be able to carry your own luggage up to your room.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was small but very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in beautiful Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got very cold at night and couldn't work the heating. The tables in the breakfast area were either too high or the chairs too low...making it a bit uncomfortable to sit and eat

    The location was fantastic...out of the bustling streets but close to everything. Decor of the room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    good!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was mediocre-- coffee terrible unless you order an expresso

    Nice room if a bit small. Remarkably quiet given how crazy Venice can be in that part of town. Great location and easy to get to. The staff very friendly and helpful. A bottle of Prosecco in the room as gift was lovely!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    Good location but not a lot else to recommend it as anything special for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was the best part as it was close to Rialto and San Marco, breakfast was a little thin in parts but ok, did not mind old but starting to look a bit seedy and run down, overall it was adequate but would not recommend it for the price. Photos of hotel were misleading as we thought it was on water but it was actually displaying the one close by.G

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice and cute hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bedroom. A little bit difficult to get there by bus from the airport, you have to walk quite a bit or take a taxi. We decided to walk. You can make it if you have just a hand cabin luggage and a good disposition to walk and climb stairs, but I guess every hotel in the city center will be like this. The wifi was very slow during the night.

    Very cute decoration! You can feel that you are in Venice even inside the bedroom. Good size bathroom. Clean. Very good breakfast. Good location, in the center of Venice, everything that is in the center you can go walking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Lovely clean hotel in a great location with very friendly staff. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a great location for seeing all the major sites. We had the room advertised on their brochure and on the website. A superb room overlooking the canal. Very peaceful. Breakfast was fully adequate and the staff made you a coffee of your choice if requested. The hotel desk staff were very friendly and recommended us several restaurants which turned out to be superb, particularly Trattoria la Madonna. Highly recommend as the food and service were of the highest quality. Allesandro , desk manager, was the star of the show for us as we had left our ipad in a restaurant in Venice and didn't realise until we were back home. He went out of his way to go to the restaurant and pick up the ipad for us and we managed to ship it home. This was beyond the call of duty for which we will be ever grateful. That sums up the standard of service that you can expect from this excellent hotel and staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room consist of 2 rooms. In the first there are tables with meal, opposite - tables for guests. When many guests come to have a breakfast, everybody feels enough uncomfortable themselves because of the lack of space, queues, сonstant monitoring of Your actions of those who are already having breakfast. Neither boiled eggs no scrumble I do not recommend, taste like plastic. Cannot say that a breakfast is very good... Just ordinary, could be better.

    As everybody says - good location. Close to Realto bridge, close to San Marco. In the late evening when restaurants in other parts of the city going to close their doors, near the hotel there are several streets where You may have a dinner later. Our room was renovated (№150), quite and with the nice view on the restaurant. But I had a chance to see rooms without renovation - and I can not recommend them. Damp and musty smells in the room, and it influences on all the impression from staying in the hotel. Staff was helpful, room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything I disliked. After traveling all over Italy, this was the best bang for the buck.

    I loved the room- it had an old feel but wasn't imposing on its decor. The breakfast was aqueduct - ask the attendant for an espresso if you do not like the americano. Get an espresso with a bunch of mini croissants and you're set for your adventure in Venice. The people working here speak very good english, they are attentive, and very kind. I appreciate that they have a toilet that you can use before/after you check in/out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Fairly enjoyable stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was ridiculously small. Breakfast was okay, though the worst we had in Italy. Steer clear of the scrambled 'eggs'. Opt for the boiled eggs instead.

    Very helpful staff, location fairly central, bed was super comfy and we had the best nights sleep.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is rather tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is rather tired. Very small bathrooms. My daughter shared with us in an alcove that was more like an under staircase. No bigger person could have slept there. Breakfast was not good. The water for tea and coffee had a very funny taste. The tables were small and uncomfortable. We thought the rooms were not great for $200 a night and the staff was not very welcoming. We would not stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Great location in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have been nice but only 2 short flights of stairs were not too bac.

    Gorgeous room with very high end furnishings and canal view. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    The mezzanine bedroom was definitely a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The mezzanine bedroom was definitely a plus. Gorgeous decoration. Staff at reception were super friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    A breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desktop for the guest is terribly outdated. They still use windows XP and IBM in 2017? At least, the hotel staff tried to help as much as they could, which is appreciated. I think they should upgrade their PC and operating system. It is not that expensive at all. It just cant be compatible with emails from anywhere in the world. So the current PC is the waste of space indeed.

    A breakfast is good. You still can have freshly made una espresso !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Old Venezian style furnitures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with double bed was small. Quality of brekafast was weak.

    Old Venezian style furnitures. Location is quit good, close to Rialto Bridge.Staff at receptiom was frendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Breakfast, bed, location, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, bed, location, staff... Everything was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to spent some time in the heart of Venice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    It was value for money and the room was very pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe more of fruit and salad for the breakfast, it would be just good.

    It was value for money and the room was very pretty decorated and great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Canaletto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: