Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Caneva 1 stars

Ramo Licini 5515, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#274 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1873 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    It was just beside the river and very close to San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean but a little bit old.

    It was just beside the river and very close to San Marco. There were light on the way back to the hotel, don’t need to worry at night. The host was very nice and the bathroom was clean and safe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    Very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with a view - lacked just that. Scaffolding prevented me from being able to look out on the canal. Also not great to woken up by noisy construction. Staff seemed disinterested in your needs and were quite abrupt on departure. Made you feel apologetic for staying there!

    Location was good but currently has construction going on so couldn’t even open the window in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to everything, good stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and bathroom were really small. Water leaked from outside the shower making the whole bathroom wet. Air conditioning would of been good however the fan wasn’t too bad.

    The location- waking distance to everything but that’s Venice for you! Also a very nice classic Venetian room, very spacious considering this is only a one star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Venice is beautiful and if you just need a basic room then this is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The workmen and lack of view

    The room was very basic and our window was covered due to scaffolding and work being done which we had not been made aware of beforehand. Also the workmen started at 7 waking us up. However the shared facilities were nice, staff was friendly and it was so close to Rialto bridge which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Budget hotel, unfriendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, tried to say we canceled our accomodation when we arrived and that we hadn’t paid, however showed him my bank statement and he was still saying no, due to language barrier as he couldn’t speak very good English, he later then realised we weren’t the person he was referring, this was frustrating as I knew I hadn’t canceled and knew I had paid! No hot water once during our two night stay, it was freezing cold so couldn’t have a proper shower. Came back after a day exploring Venice and I brought my 60 year old mother as she was staying a little bit further away so was going to let her use the toilet and wait for us to change for dinner and the man at reception refused her to come to our room, not in a polite way either! It’s defiantly a budget hotel and was fine for two nights, we weren’t expecting anything magical,however would never stay again. Can be a little tricky to get too as the instructions aren’t quite clear if you are coming from the Venice airport best way is to get the ACTV bus to the central part of Venice then hop on a water bus they’re about 7euro and get off at Rialto and then it’s a short walk best to use maps on phone for this as very confusing first off.

    It was quite a central location, however you can get easily lost and hard to find when you first arrive in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the friendliest staff at reception. Wasn’t allowed to take your key out for some reason. The river side of the hotel had scaffolding on it from top to bottom which meant we didn’t get a river view but most of all we wasn’t even able to open the shutters so didn’t see Day light until we left the room!

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Budget hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit soft and towels hard.

    Location is very central to the sites in Venice. Room was clean but basic. Don’t expect a fancy hotel, it is a budget hotel but definitely better than a hostel. Had own bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel was great, close to the Rialto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding was up at je time of visiting restricting view of canal from room.

    The location of the hotel was great, close to the Rialto bridge and San Marco. Also nice as the hotel was on the canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was old, hard and uncomfortable.

    Location! It’s close to Rialto, San Marco and other great eateries. Free luggage storage Internet actually works, albeit slow at times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok served the purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Really basic room, extremely noisy with construction works. Also smoking area was right outside my room and people smoking talked extremely loudly. The smoked tended to dfift right into my room. I asked for the chair to be moved which it was but it was back again the next morning. They need to move e smoking area away from the hotel.room was basic , but this was all I required as i spent most of my time with my friends at their hotel nearby. No airconditioning only a fan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    2.5
    Terrible acoustics! The hotel faces a very noisy canal! The bed was awful! Careless personal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible acoustics! The hotel faces a very noisy canal! The bed was awful! During the stay they were recovering the external facade: the view from the room was blocked by scaffolding, the noise was unbearable and there was no notice in advance, no justification, no compensation...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy in the morning.

    Nice location, near everything and easy to reach by waterbus from just outside of Venice. We were told beforehand that we don’t have a window, but we did, which was a nice surprise. A clean bathroom, that seemed renovated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location - you can walk anywhere easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A shabby hotel but we knew what we were signing up for based on the other reviews. We got no view as there was scaffolding. Price is high but you pay for a great location!

    Great location - you can walk anywhere easily

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Stay away from this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and old. Wifi not working well. A.C. not working as,well. Staff doesn't speak English . Hotel under renovation so noisy.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location but room and service horride
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist is not welcoming, doesn't even say good morning and give eye contact when speaking. Seemed like it wasn't a pleasure for them to host us there.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so nice and polite, the place could use a little bit of refurbishment but it was very clean and spotless the location was excellent! Loved the attention!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Location was fantastic and room was very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at reception was not friendly at all.

    Location was fantastic and room was very clean and comfortable. The room and bathroom were quite big too. We could also leave our bags there for a few hours after check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Nicely surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda hard to find

    Pleasantly surprised. Some reviews were having this as a 1st class dump"..... I travel quite a bit and felt it was much better than advertised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Venice is expensive and this was a safe - No perks at all all - hotel in a good tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC didn't work. Window didn't shut. While not their fault the building was under construction so our balcony overlooking the canal was blocked off by netting and it was insanely loud all day as they worked. Also, the idea of being on the water seemed good until you realize that boats cruise by all night long.

    The location was good and the front desk clerks were nice. A couple of English speaking channels on the tv.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Essentially it over priced and needed massive renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having read the awful reviews, I tried to cancel this hotel but because they’d demanded my payment as soon as I booked (through a series of abrupt emails) I realised I didn’t have much choice. On arrival we were given a piece of paper that said we should drop off the key every time we left, from other reviews stating the lack of security in asking for your key, we decided to keep hold of ours. I noticed a long list of cancellations as we checked in, which meant we had a room with a window that opened but the scaffolding is horrendous! Faults! - no fixing on wall to hold shower head - long wait for hot water - cracked tiles - only one mirror behind toilet door - hard bed/ bad pillows - furniture full of woodworm - air con broken - courtyard garden was unusable - curtain falling down - shouldn’t be called a hotel with no safe, fridge or kettle, really it’s a hostel - stickers from clothing packaging left stuck to door frame and walls needed painting - toilet flush leaked water over floor Not going to mention the noise of the canal, pigeons or smell as specific to this hotel, that’s just Venice BUT this hotel needs work, very run down. They are trying; new carpet, new sink in bathroom, hairdryer looks new. However, it is massively overpriced for the facilities and needs major work. P.s. we took our own towels!

    Great location, not bad security (if you keep your own key!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, reasonable cost, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is under renovation, so construction works arrived on the site at about 7.30am and commenced work at 8.00am

    The room and ensuite bathroom were clean, the beds and linen were clean and comfortable. The location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect stay for young people visiting Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The venue is facing some issues with the sinking of the island and is stutted with racks... The room did not allow for much sunlight.

    The place is located very close to the ancient heart of Venice. Everything is easily accessible by foot. Compared to what other people pay, this is good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value for a cheap stay in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer in the bathroom was broken

    Great location and good price. Small but clean room. Check out at 11 AM but we could leave the luggage at a safe deposit at the reception, so we had some time to go out before we left Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.3
    DO NOT STAY HERE, YOU WILL REGRET IT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was unfriendly. The website boasted incredbile views of the canal- NOPE, they are having construction and they start VERY early in the morning. The carpet in the room was disgusting. My boyfriend and I wore shoes at ALL TIMES because of how gross it is. The security is a joke. You are required to give your key to the front desk when you leave, but it's very clear that ANYONE could come in and say "room 28" and be handed the key. Needs a serious upgrade in all aspects...

    I didn't like anything about this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Venice was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole Hotel was clad in scaffolding and covered with sheets so we couldn't see anything or use the window. No fire doors. Our door didn't fit the frame and you could see round it.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    If you’re looking for BASIC then it’ll do.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - construction work starting early morning at around 7:30am. - was told to keep window shut by builder because of construction work. - You are required to leave your room key at the front desk every time you leave the hotel. We were offered no explanation for this. - when you return from a day out and want your room key 2/3 staff members didn’t ask for name confirmation, so you could technically ask for any room. - too expensive for what it is. - the walls are thin so you can hear neighbours very clearly and those above you.

    - Location was great. - room was cleaned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    My overall stay was unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable, all beds were single, there was no refrigerator, no drinking water, no soap or shampoo in washroom. The receptionist is very old and can’t speak well.

    One room have four single beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, staff and breakfast were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction is going on. It is very very noisy. Shared bathroom is also not very convenient.

    Location, staff and breakfast were amazing. All important places reachable within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Staff were rude and unhelpful, the manager was actually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and unhelpful, the manager was actually aggressive when questioned on the functionality of the air conditioning in the room. Avoid at all costs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Really nice stay in an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very simple, construction work during our stay, Window view undesirable

    Perfect, central location, you can reach everything easily; very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Worst hotel we stayed at in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They talk about their canal views ... but ours was a dusty scaffold with debris view! There was construction outside our window complete with scaffolding, lots of dust, and, most off-putting, workmen. When we told the front desk, we were told there couldn't be any workers out there ... which would have come as a surprise to the man I almost hit when I opened the shutters! The man when we checked in was very unpleasant; we asked why rooms on line were 50% off on line he didn't answer or offer an adjustment. This was before we discovered the construction. The bathroom was tiny even by Euro standards, with shower just separated from toilet just by a (torn) curtain. Queen-size bed was two doubles shoved together and held together by a fitted sheet, making one sometimes roll into a crevice in the middle of the night. There's more, but why go on.

    Good location, non-management staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    2.9
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire room is falling apart with mold. Reception senior guy pretended he didnt speak any english as excuse to deny a fresh towel. Room is very humid. Google always gets lost to find hotel direction. Confort had holes all over. The lady from reception was nice and polite though, but the other two guys very rude.

    I didnt like anything about this property. Everything is old and completely dated. Staff member doesnt do any effort to help you around or to speak with you. At night you can hear the pigeons by the window, I mean loudly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    "Meh" summarizes my feelings about this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the staff only yelled at us "city tax four iuro" upon arrival like a parrot, he was rude and didnt have any map or information to share with us about the city. The other guy from the staff we met was kind

    Nothing particular, just average, good for the price. A good point is that they allow you to left your luggage there so you can take a look around the last day without carrying it, unfortunately not everyone offers this service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Really great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way they charge in advance. They send email asking you to confirm your booking in “their cheapest and really dark room” with formal I agree Name Surename. And they immediately charge you. It turned out that it wasn’t so bad room and hotel. So I’m happy I stayed here.

    Really great location. It was quite and close to the center. Our room had good bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Close to Rialto Bridge, but sufficiently far away from the commercial front line to be based.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At this time, April 2018, the building has lots of scaffolding up and netting that covers it. So trading with photos that sell its appeal at its potential best and not how is actually experienced for now... This means no view from a room selected to offer one and we were not advised of this. Less of an issue, if only there to sleep essentially, but be aware charges are based on room selected online images and are not the reality where views are concerned. However, it will not always be this way... Hopefully it soon displays the benefits of the work in progress.

    A good location very close to Riato bridge, ease of access to transport links and attrations on foot Reasonable size room with ensuite. Chair lift on stairs from the ground floor, if required, as no lifts. Breakfast at 5 Euros cash, was good value... but you may not want almost the same each day, if there for a while! Good places to eat, that the locals use in nearby alleys. The main Rialto Bridge and St. Marks square are ripe with ripoff prices for dubious quality. Be aware of the Rialto markets, they are known for made in China copies of legitimate products. Original genuine products have legitimate certificates of authenticy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    modest spot to sleep in a very city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very loud even during the night. The facilities are pretty modest. There is no iron. The internet connection is poor. One of two showers was out of the hot water in the morning. Later it was just closed and there was only one open shower at the floor. Well, probably most of the inconveniences can be excused because of the old town area, the communications there just cannot be modern.

    The location is very central: 5 min from Rialto bridge, so it’s easy to find it from every part of the city. But at the same time think twice if you want to stay at this uncomfortably overcrowded area. The staff is friendly, some of them speak English. When I had an issue with my train tickets one of the employees helped me to call to trenitalia support. The room is pretty clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    Location : It's in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most unkind People ever. Hôtel and room are really old fashioned and dirty. Wifi is not working. You Hear everything from other rooms. Doesn't look like on pics. Hôtel is in rénovation : workers are screaming and working from 7am.

    Location : It's in the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Good walking distance to popular locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy and old. Towel was like sandpaper. Bed and pillows were really thin. No kettle or anything complimentary. Expensive for a budget stay.

    Good walking distance to popular locations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    At 100 euros per night the hotel disappointed us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Included zero perks usual to any hotel e.g. drinking water, safe, kettle, tea, etc. the window was blocked by construction so it couldn’t be opened and there was no view as in the ad. The furniture in the room was low quality.

    Location. 5 euro breakfast was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Expect less and you would be pleasantly surprised. Lovely find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If the outside renovation was completed and the scaffold removed

    The location was fantastic. For a first time visitor to Venice I couldn't have picked a better hotel. It was so ideal in terms of its proximity to all the major attractions, shops and water bus stops and in terms value you can't beat it. I found the staff very friendly and approachable. The breakfast was basic but at 5 euros, fair price in my humble opinion

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Very bad! This is the worst hotel we have ever been :( Never go there!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The window is hidden by a board, you never see the day - The bed was extremely extremely bad - There was a second door in the room going to the neighbour room so we could hear them turning in a bed - We could also hear people walking in corridor at any hour, you never sleep - When we tried to talk to the reception they never wanted listen to us and in addition were agressive

    The only good thing is the location. Otherwise you will better in youth hotel!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only book this hotel if you plan on waking up by 8AM. Both nights I stayed, I was woken up by workers hammering on the outside of my room’s walls from 8-10AM. This is especially stupid because the rest of the day, the hotel was quiet. Why would you do construction in the morning when people are sleeping instead of the afternoon? The shower took a very long time to reach a decently warm temperature. If you have heavy luggage, be prepared to carry it up and down quite a few stair cases as you use the bridges of Venice to reach this hotel. TV in my room didn’t work. My room was chilly.

    Decent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Very good location and a really large room for 2 which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately bed&pillows were one of the most UNcomfortable bed&pillows I've ever seen...

    Very good location and a really large room for 2 which was so clean. 24h open reception is a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean & basic budget accommodation, very well situated at heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls thin, so could hear people in adjacent rooms. No natural light as exterior walls covered in scaffolding & protective curtains

    Central location within easy reach of Piazza San Marco

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the members of the staff wasn't nice at all, the rest were very nice. The room seemed clean, although there was a funny smell in it.

    The location. It was really close to St. Mark's square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    4.2
    Located next to canal, not far from the Railto bridge but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet too small and don’t have hot water! The towel wasn’t soft, rough. The room has not anything for compliments and too old.

    Located next to canal, not far from the Railto bridge but it hard to find the way to get to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in this hotel, far exceeded our expectations for the money we laid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast for 5 euros was really good and definitely worth the money! And the location was perfect, really central and close to both the rialto bridge and St Mark's Square. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to explore Venice on a budget

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Essential, but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been nicer. Also the room was a little old, they should put more hit on the cold season..

    Position right in the center, and the place is so clean!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't know English at all but we managed to unterstand the basics somehow. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and the double bed was actually two separate one-person beds put side by side.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Budget hotel but clean, staff friendly, little english spoken, good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast choice was limited to cereals and packaged croissants, bread rolls and ham tinned peaches and orange juice tea and coffee. No facilities in rooms to make hot drinks

    Central location by the Rialto Bridge good for water bus transport to and from Airport find the Disney shop and go down the right hand side alley over bridge bear right hotel around corner. Rooms were clean and a blocked toilet was fixed immediatly. Hot water needs running for a few mins until it comes out hot. Fresh towels every day. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable room at fantastic price and close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. The air was a bit musty when first entered the room.

    Very close to the most main Venice attractions and water bus terminals. Very clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good hotel for a short stay in a very centre of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a little bit cold, hotel does not own any duvet so we needed to use 5 blankets to keep ourselves warm.

    Hotel´s staff was really friendly, they all do their best. Breakfast was not very rich, but tasty. Room and bathroom were clean. WiFi was excellent. Perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    We got a really good price for three nights and only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior is quite simple and sometimes a bit old, but for the price and everything else we were perfectly fine with that.

    We got a really good price for three nights and only expected the hotel to be clean. That was completely the case. The location is perfect, central in the old town of Venice, very near to Rialto Bridge and San Marco. The staff of the hotel was very nice and polite with one exception. Also the internet was very good and fast, better than in any other hotel we stayed so far, including 4 stars-hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, St Mark square, shops, and restaurants are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front of the hotel undergoing renevation so the view of the canal was blocked with scaffolding.

    Great location, St Mark square, shops, and restaurants are in 10 min walking distance, very friendly staff, comfortable room. Definitely worth your money, would return again. Felt safe and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    3.3
    The place was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was in 30 mins away from Station. It was in middle of old Venice so either you went to the station or place must visit - still far away. With the room rat, i was expecting more than the old room, a bit cold and balcony view block due to construction. The Owner ( i guess) was so rude when i had trouble with the key door. He was even yelling at me when i asked for help. I really don’t want to recommend this place. It ruined my experience with Venice.

    The place was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Located at 2 min walk from Rialto bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was under renovation and the whole windows was covered, room was really dark Bed was not so stable, nor comfortable Wi-fi was dropping every couple times an hour

    Located at 2 min walk from Rialto bridge Room was cleaned everyday Shared bathroom was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Not really what I paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not like the pictures on the website. Small bathroom, tiles missing from the wall, the shower head didn't have a support and there wasn't any hot water. Issues with paying and couldn't get through on the phone

    Good location and looked out onto a canal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    A nice surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had a private bathroom, was large, warm, well-equipped, it surpassed our expectations. It wasn't noisy, the window had a good isolation. Very friendly & helpful staff. Fair price for breakfast (5 Euro/person).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    2.9
    A shame for Venice, will ruin your experience in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This stay, SPECIALLY the hotel staff and decadent room, really did break my whole Venice experience. Years dreaming about it only to arrive and be treated in a mean way by ALL the staff, at every hour, no problem solving whatsoever. The weather was really cold (3°C) and the room only had a tiny heater that does not make a difference in room temperature. Added to this, huge cracks in the floor and walls from where air currents would come in! (photos added) When we complained in the front desk, they didn't even offer a blanket, an apology, a change of room, nothing! acting very peevish and uneducated. Also, the room has an uneven floor, broken and dangerous. Our window had the most awful view ever. It was depressing just being in there!! At 8 am we heard loud noises from a construction work, but, again, nothing would be done by the staff when we told them, not even a minimal interest or gesture of hospitality. On the outside of the room, a pigeon colony makes it all more glamorous and higienic. Just a true shame that this pigsty is called a hostel and whatever they charge you is too much (for us it was 80).

    For the first time ever in Booking.com, I find nothing good about this hotel. I cant believe the scam it is. It shouldn't be on the website.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Great location, really close to Ponte di Rialto, San Marco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy place in the evening/night. I missed hot water in the shower. We had only cold or little bit warmer.

    Great location, really close to Ponte di Rialto, San Marco square. Lot of shops, restaurants and bistro around the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    3.8
    There were live bed bugs in the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were live bed bugs in the bed. The room stank of sewerage when it rained. The bed was uncomfortable. People could see into your window from the street if you tried to air the room out...and it needs it. Booking this accomodation was a nightmare.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for low budget trevalers that want to enjoy location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, the advantage of being on the canal was view wise, but the disadvantage was the noise coming from the boats passing by. Recommend to bring with you a pair of earplugs, it solved the problem for us. The bed wasn't very comfortable, but I have slept on worst bed. The water takes time to warm up in the shower, but otherwise it got hot eventually.

    The location was great, very close to everything you need to see. We had a nice room, old fashioned style and beautiful view to the canal. We enjoyed the stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    3.3
    Cold, noisy, dirty, unfriendly staff... avoid this place :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very cold, and the facilities old and dirty. The hot water and the wifi were not properly working. The building is under construction, so the windows are covered (noise, and no natural light). It is generally very noisy, because the walls are very thin. On top of this, the person in the entrance (the owner?) got absolutely mad because of a key issue, and starting to yell and insult out of nowhere. Please, never go to this place.

    The only good thing is the location. Not even the relatively low price compensates such a bad hotel. Honestly, I don't understand the good reviews I've read - you have to have very low standards to tolerate these conditions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, less than 5 minutes from the Rialto and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a bathroom with other rooms, and the lack of towels with the room. But, I suppose, you get what you pay for!

    Perfect location, less than 5 minutes from the Rialto and San Marco but quiet and secluded enough that you feel sheltered from the hordes outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place near Rialto bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls too thin (you can hear literally everything), hot water takes ages to come out (5 to 10 mins), the room was a bit cold

    Great location (2 mins from Rialto), really clean, all the rest good enough since we are talking about a 1 star hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Location was excellent, really close to Rialto Bridge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, really close to Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. It took 20 min to walk to the train station. The hotel was basic but clean and the price was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Value for money to stay in the middle of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was impossible to be connected. The furniture was very old. The wall was so thin, you could hear everything from your neighbors.

    Very good location, very center. The reception was very nice and friendly, the bathroom was always clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Better then expected.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside was undercostruction, so it was loud-noise.

    Good location, cozy room, nice-new bathroom. Nice view through the window. Near the coop supermarket.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    It is a 1 star hotel with all the necessary things for just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water comes too late. Doors are not hermetic, so every time when someone another room closes his/her door, I hear my door shaking. There is a construction going outside, but it is not permanent obviously.

    It is a 1 star hotel with all the necessary things for just coming and sleeping at night. The breakfast for 5 Euros was more than ok, and the cleaning was quite good. Only hot water provision needs to be improved.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    The views and sights and sounds from our room were straight...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the hotel. We realise it's a rite of passage to get lost in Venice though, which all contributed to the experience

    The views and sights and sounds from our room were straight out of a movie. We loved it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent! It is only a one star hotel however the room and bathroom were very clean. Good value for money. Overall we loved our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Rude ospitality but fair price for Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the worst experiences from the point of view of hospitality. Massimo was extremely rude, and arrogant. I kindly ask for a hairdryer, since the one in the room was probably from the 70ies although, he had one new at reception, he could not be bothered to go upstairs and take an adaptor. He said he would go later, and he never came back. After 20 mins I came to reception to ask him again and he said that he could not be bothered about it. A real shame, because even though the room was in the basement in practice with the sewers in front(I could not blame him for this, as Venice has tricky hotels sometimes), when someone is unable to do his job and make customers feel uncomfortable, the place loses every quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Basic hotel in an excellent location, very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room, furniture and decoration very basic. Shared bathroom (shower only, not bath) as expected, as clearly stated in description. Breakfast ok - extra cost, but also as clearly stated in description.

    Location excellent. Room clean, warm, nice view. Room had little balcony over the canal. A bit noisy from boats on canal early morning. Take earplugs! Wi-Fi good. Staff friendly. Price for central location was amazing. Would book again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    An amazing weekend explored on foot from a well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tricky to find at first, but that’s Venice. All part of the adventure!

    Location, location, location! A perfect spot near to San Marco square and Rialto. We walked everywhere and the evenings are fantastic when the day trippers leave. Get lost in the labyrinth created by the streets and alleys. Eat well. Go to a football match. Enjoy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    The location was superb, you could walk 5-10 min to Rialto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a personal bathroom,it was shared but it was clean and the hot water was always.

    The location was superb, you could walk 5-10 min to Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Caneva traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: