Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Canova 3 stars

Via Urbana 10, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#466 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1375 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    It was ok just for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was impolite and as a customer I think it is ok to ask an extra blanket or sheet but they couldn't provide what we needed and almost we got criticised of asking a blanket!! Our room was very small nothing compared to what it is seen in the pictures. I would probably wont recommend anyone staying here.

    The location was great. It was pretty close to Termini and the area had full of good restaurants and bars. Other than that I cannot say anything outstanding about rooms or breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Staff was nice and it's a nice clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the shower is a little bit small and during our 3 nigts stay I was only once asked about the name when I was asking for the key.

    Staff was nice and it's a nice clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Umberto the night porter was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator was very small. We needed two trips to get the luggage (2 suitcases) myself and partner to the floor we were on.

    Umberto the night porter was excellent. Location was great, walk to just about everything. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Short stay review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was slightly wobbly but comfy and no issues to sleep. Slightly quirky in a good way e.g. 2 person lift

    Very clean hotel, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Small hotel but fantastic location for all key sights, 10mins walk from Termini Train Station, we even walked to Vatican City from the hotel! Roof top terrace for breakfast a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel staff was very helpful. The location was very nice. The rest was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cheese and the fruit salad could have been better.

    The breakfast was just correct. The fruits were not very fresh but the omelette was nice. The staff was helpful. The location of the breakfast room at the rooftop was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location close to station and main sights, everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, especially the shower and limited closet space.

    Great location close to station and main sights, everything is walkable from hotel. Nice restaurants in the area and mini market next door. Good clean room but with small bathroom. Loved the rooftop terrace, perfect to sit after you come back from dinner and have a sip of limoncello or wine (bring your own). We had to leave for the airport early in the morning and staff offered coffee and croissant at check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    We have no complaints about thiis hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints about thiis hotel. Breakfast was a pleasant experience, on the 5th floor either indoors or on the terrace, (except when smokers took advantage of being outdoors to light up). Location is very convenient to the station, restaurants and for many places of interest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were noises from plumbing and other rooms during the night so may not be great for light sleepers.

    Great location close to the sights, restaurants and transport. Lovely terrace. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    We would stay here again but would probably go for a bigger room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was tiny. I’m a taller person (6’2”) and it was miserable. Also, you can’t charge your devices unless you are in the room with the lights on. I understand that’s an energy saving measure and it might even be compulsory but it still sucked.

    Great location. Walking distance to Colosseum and Trevi Fountain. So much to do in a 1km radius. The breakfast was fantastic. Served on their nice little rooftop terrace. The staff was very attentive. Recommended things for us to see/eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    We would recommend this hotel as quaint, very comfortable and great value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front counter staff was very helpful, spoke very good English & met all of our inquiries and needs. They were excellent to deal with. The continental breakfast was very good. The eggs cooked almost in front of you - so fresh & tasty. The lady that was serving/cooking was very friendly. The location of this hotel was perfect - convenient walking to see the sights of the centre of Rome. Very quiet all day and night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Good starting point for exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a tad limited, but the terrace room was nice. Also the shower was a bit naff, had to fixed and the doors to the shower were not in great nick

    Good room generally, in a nice neighborhood with lots of good urban bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    I went to this hotel for the second time and i will come...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i had a smaller room this time. i prefer the top floor.

    I went to this hotel for the second time and i will come back. it is in a perferct location to go around in Rome in a charming area. the hotel is nice, bed very confortable and good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but noisy Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street Small room No tea or coffee in room

    The location was fabulous , but it was on a very noisy street and the room was very small. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, no fuss checking in or out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tad too small but understand it's a city hotel so I was expecting it to be ☺

    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, no fuss checking in or out. Helpful staff and great location. I would recommend this hotel to a friend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay, great location, even better staff and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. So nothing really.

    Location was amazing! We walked to all the major sites from the hotel and there was tons of little restaurants around. The bus/train terminal was literally a 4-5 minute walk from the hotel so it’s really easy to get the bus to and from the airport too from the property. Really lovely little hotel. The staff was amazing in particular, especially Umberto who just went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    The coffee for breakfast was especially great and I loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite pricey for a 3* hotel, however being so central in Rome it is probably normal.

    The coffee for breakfast was especially great and I loved the terrace and the overall building, the hotel is very central and the staff was superfriendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our first time in Rome, hotel close to all main areas and a short walk from Termini Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms small not much room to move about, glasses in the room would be nice rather than plastic cups.

    Bed very comfy, very clean, good breakfast with good selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water could have been hotter in the shower. This could have been due to lots of people showering at the same time though!

    Very central and easy to visit all the main sites in Rome. The train from the airport into the Termini Station is excellent and only 600 metres from the hotel. Lots of fantastic eating places on the hotel's street. Lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    We really loved the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really loved the location of the hotel. It's an easy walk to almost every major attraction in the city. Also really liked the breakfast buffet. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    A kind staff, 10 minute walk from the Termini in 1 direction & into the heart of Monti in the other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for 1 night, so not someone they needed to do big favors for, but they did. We were in Rome prior to staying at the Hotel Canova & realized we'd be hit with a big luggage fee on an airline. The hotel staff happily stowed a bag for us for a week. Plus since we had to leave early the next morning, they cheerfully provided a continental breakfast before we left. Great staff at the Hotel Canova, and I'd go back there again, for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff members are kind and helpful. Clean, cozy and comfortable rooms. Great position, few minutes walking from Termini train station and Colosseo. Metro station is also near and there are good restaurants on the street of the hotel. Breakfast can be compared to higher level hotels with great variety and is served at fifth floor in a cozy terrace where you can enjoy the atmosphere of the roofs of Rome. Have been in Rome many times, also going to higher level hotels, but it certainly is the best hotel I've ever visited in that city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Great location to discover Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to discover Rome.wonderful breakfast. Staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful.thanks to Andrea for recommending restorants.very clean room !!! I would happily stay here again !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Location and price were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took 5 minutes to heat up and wasn’t very powerful. We stayed 5 nights and the breakfast offerings were managed very tightly each morning, e.g. you had to ask for more food if the trays were empty, and they were empty very frequently. But the breakfast lady always made more when you asked.

    Location and price were good. Walking distance to everything including Colloseum. Very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed in general standard but appreciated location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the general level of comfort. Having stayed here before felt the hotel looked tired and not well cared for this time, this affected our perspective of the room and overall enjoyment. Would look for alternate accomodation next time in room.

    The breakfast overlooking the terrace was nice and had a good selection of basic breakfast options. It was well situated for all popular attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    2.9
    In my opinion, it was a unpleasant experience in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner of the hotel was so rude, we asked his staff kindly for the WiFi connection and he promised us it will take only 1 to 2 days for the WiFi to reconnect it. Then we asked the owner about the issue and started yelling that you are not in a 5-Star hotel and we started having heated words with him and then he told us that "I don't where you come from, but people like you should live in the street, and I can kick you in front of my guest". Absolutely, it was so offensive and barbaric from such an "owner" to say such a words to his guests. We complained about his attitude to Rome Capital Tourism. Also, when we have breakfast the waitress is being moody as if we are begging for food or refill. However, we tried to be nice just to avoid any issues with her as well. Finally, every time we leave the hotel, the receptionist insist of obtaining our key room just as "protection" from being robbed and I really find that weird from a hotel not to use the modern technology and use the swipe card doors.

    Location and breakfast. However, the owner is so arrogant and rude.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    I was angry to pay so much because I could have better hotel in this price with normal brekfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful I travel a lot and sth like this I have never seen.The breakfast was between 7-10 we came the first day at 9.10 and there was almost nothing left:two small pieces of ham the same with cheese some traces of scrambled eggs and a few slices of bread.There was a lady and when we asked her put some more ham cheese and made eggs so it was nice of her to do it but these things should wait for the guest!The other day was even worse,there was another lady and there was no ham no cheese no eggs left just thaces of everything, just cornflakes and few pieces of tomato and 2 slices of bread left plus milk with a dead moth inside.We asked again for food...I was embarrassed in front of my boyfriend because this trip was a gift for him...I paid 100 e for a night and had to each time ask for food!!!which was paid and which should be there!I think that this was the hotel's strategy to save some money in breakfasts thinking that maybe nobody will come within this hour or if he comes he can eat cornflakes because this was left....This was the worst hotel experience I had mainly because of the breakfast!I felt awful asking to put sth to eat because almost everything was gone....

    The room was OK, and was cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    The staff service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a dungeon...food was bad and nothing Italian although being in Italy!!!overall a bad experience!!the photos in bookings.com and the room is completely different.

    The staff service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    i don;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a closet. the bathroom smelled like sewage and there was no hot water in the shower.

    the wait staff was very kind and the cleaning lady was lovely, kind and courteous. great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    5 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can not receive any English TV programs at room.

    Great location near the Train station. The staff was very friendly. Everything is close by walk to all attractions that you must see in Rome. I would recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.4
    Do not accept a room on the fifth floor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our first 4 day arrival and stay to the hotel, we were given a room on the fourth floor which was newly renovated - new bathroom, fresh new bedspreads, fresh towels, etc. After touring Italy, we returned to Hotel Canova for one nights stay before flying home. Our second room was located on the fifth floor (Room 502). Had this been the first room we were given for four nights stay, I would have demanded a different room. The beds were rock hard, the bathroom was old and worn, (you literally could not fit in the shower without pushing the shower curtain out). The bedspread and furniture had seen better days. Our first stay was very nice I can't say the same for our second stay. Also, if you have claustrophobic issues, beware, the elevator is a one man elevator. One person plus luggage is all that can fit.

    Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very nice, fresh and satisfying to get you going for the day. The location is convenient - literally down the street from the Termini and within walking distance to many major historical sites. With one quick email, the hotel (Claudia) arranged for a private car to pick us up at the airport. The cost was compatible with hiring a taxi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One man elevator, cramped room but understand this is Rome.

    Nicely located with cramped but clean accommodations and staff seemed friendly. Breakfast was satisfying.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    Adequate accommodation but it didn't lift our spirits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, old fashioned and dingy, the bathroom awkwardly shaped, and the room looked onto a back light well.

    Good location - Via Urbana is full of small shops and restaurants/bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely to have a comfy bed waiting for me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was a last minute booking and Canova lived up to expectations.

    An excellent mainly savoury breakfast! A good choice of croissants, but also various cold meats and cheeses, scrambled eggs with mini sausages, slices of fresh fruit. A lovely change from the usual excess of fancy cakes!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    I loved the charm of the old building and the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the options for food could have been better. It was hard to find napkins and the eggs were over cooked.

    I loved the charm of the old building and the staff was very informative and helpful. Our safe's battery was low and they immediately replaced it. They booked our tour to the Vatican and a taxi when we needed it. Great location and a 5-10 min walk to the Colosseum. The room is tiny but we only needed it for sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Recommend location, close to Colosseum and really nice small restaurants within 1-2 blocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we returned for a second visit, so find nothing negative to report.

    breakfast was fine, great coffee. didn't eat the eggs/sausage, but the bread/cheese was really good. Several fresh pastries to choose from too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay. Property really accessible to many sights and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, shower area very small. The elevator also very small, stairs not really accessible to walk , dangerous, not proper railing. Needed a cab to cruise ship, asked the price, desk gladly called taxi for us and quoted us 120 euros, however the ride ended up being 150 euros, was not happy that I was given wrong information.

    I have never seen a more clean facility. Was quaint and charming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.8
    Severely disappointed- would NOT recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked based on reviews and cannot figure how the place got such a good ranking. Room was dirty, marks all over the walls, stains on benches. The breakfast at the hotel consisted of scrambled eggs, cheese slices in plastic and a small selection of nothing. Plus you could hear EVERYTHING from outside the room, both in the corridor and the outside. The only saving factor was the location.

    Not much really. The location was good but could find better closer to Campo De Firori

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location close to Termini Station, but some rooms may have street noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rome is always noisy and the room was relatively quiet with the windows closed. However, there was a very unpleasant sewage odor coming from the drains in the bathroom that made it unbearable to leave the windows closed. So, you either didn't sleep because of the street noise or the sewer smell.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was abysmal, coffee was cold, no eggs left at 9.10 and wouldn't make anymore. Electricity went off for an hour in the morning, couldn't get a shower.

    Location was great. Alberto on front desk was very pleasant, beds were comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea or coffee making in the room and hot coffee at breakfast time but it wouldn't stop me going again.

    The location couldn't be better. The hotel was small but very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.3
    1 night stay is enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location: sketchy neighborhood. I would not want to be an inexperienced solo female traveler. Terrible shower. No hot water.

    Location: near train station. That's it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    The room advertised on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room advertised on booking.com looked alot bigger then the room i traveled with my father and we were very squashed in the room. The aircon diddnt work and no blankets on the bed we had to request late at night from staff as we were cold. The television did not have any access to movies or other then Italian tv we are tourists and do not speak the language we were not able to relax in the room as too small and no tv cigarette smoke was also blowing through all the hallways and cleaners were very loud moving matresses late at night. The crossants and food in the breakfast room was old and crossanta were stale.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.4
    Friendly guy in the reception wiliing to change room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at the breafast - very slow or none adding of eaten items Very slow internet access

    Friendly guy in the reception wiliing to change room. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Convenient and practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing specifically to mention. I would change the furniture of the room and decoration, but this is a matter of choice/preference, and not a criticism.

    Consider that in Rome things look like "a bit old". The hotel has a reception that is somehow modern but the room decoration/furniture are classical and, somehow "a bit old" like the city. The room space is standard and room was clean. Breakfast is good and it is served in the roof, and there are open and closed areas; it is pleasant. Location is walking distance to Terminus (train) station and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. I think it is a good value for money, considering the price of hotels in Rome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely little hotel, within walking distance of main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little hotel, within walking distance of main attractions and I would happily stay here again, only downside was , breakfast was absolutely dire, and the lady running it was as unfriendly and un smiling dragon, we bought breakfast out after the first attempt, receptionist really helpful and friendly , tho the lady one was again a bit abrupt, but tbh we found that all thru our five day stay , the people who worked in Rome except for one or two, were very abrupt to the point of rudeness . We stumbled across Irish pub, with Irish staff and they were the friendliest staff we met our entire stay. Have already recommended the. Hotel to a friend wanting to go to Rome next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely room, nice staff, breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was just really tiny and we were on the 5th floor. The stairs got really narrow (spiral staircase and almost like a ladder). There was a lift but you could only fit 1 person in with luggage. Ask for a lower level floor!!

    Lovely room, nice staff, breakfast was ok. Super location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    It was ok but I won't use it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and small lift Poor air conditioning Lukewarm water in shower Treacherous stairs from 5th and 4th floor Poor bar Average location Crazy electrics

    Friendly staff Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff was really helpful and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but there are better options in the area around the hotel. Bed was a bit hard. Small elevator.

    The staff was really helpful and welcoming! It felt close to everything, really good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    passato bene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no internet in all my 4 days !!! room not as what showed in booking.com i think should see room before you accept !!! and they pre-authorised my card with money Never back !!!!!!!!!!!!!! no more comment

    Position of the hotel the staff was gentile night open

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness seemed hit or miss. Our sheets weren't changed at all during our stay of more than one week, but we got fresh towels every day.

    The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. They really tried to make you feel comfortable and happy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    A mixed bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the air conditioner dripped--the hotel's only solution was for us to keep the temperature so high that the AC was not effective in cooling the room. We were there three nights and they never were able to stop the dripping. Their solution was folded bath towels on the floor next to the bed, which occasionally felt damp.

    Very helpful staff--they placed several calls for us that saved us time with sightseeing appointments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all

    Staff at reception were excellent. Breakfast terrace was a beautiful place to start the day. Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet and very well priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was a bit slow but we find that quite common in Europe unfortunately.

    Great location......walk to Colosseum, Roma Termini etc; a supermarket next door, many restaurants around!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    The free breakfast was delicious and there were lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free breakfast was delicious and there were lots of options. I really loved having breakfast on the rooftop - the views were good! Very comfortable stay for a great price. Easy to walk to the metro (maybe 10 minutes).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Roman Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There where no complaints from us.

    The staff were lovely and friendly, we had a problem with our bathroom and they fixed it promptly. The air conditioning was brilliant and the room was perfect for sleeping. We had an amazing 4 days. Thank you 😀 perfect location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.0
    So much potential! need to change furniture and would be great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very old furniture and the cleanliness... It's very difficult to clean those types of beds and bed covers... they are nasty! They could do much better by only leaving the simple white bedsheets specially with the temperature of Rome!

    The location, specially If you are traveling to other cities by train.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was located on what looked to be a back alley. Directions from the staff were confusing ... never did find the ATM or the restaurants they suggested.

    Quaint. Was our first time in Rome, so did not know what to expect. Was in the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Our stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised there was no tea making facilities in the room, but staff very help with making tea/coffee to take to room. Breakfast had a small choice which was fresh.

    Room comfortable with air conditioning, staff very helpful and friendly. Location was quiet and close to hop on/off busses. It is walkable to a few attractions and we felt safe at all times. Main reason I picked this was its so close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location and staff but tiny (and poorly noise-insulated) room with narrow bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was tiny (much more narrow than a regular single bed). My room was VERY small (that was OK for one night but I would not have stayed there if I had been in Rome for more than a couple of days). The hotel is a bit noisy (people on my floor were talking loud and watching TV until very late). Breakfast was not great.

    The location is great. The staff is very nice. There is a rooftop garden for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel near city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was clean, but you could hear everything from next door neighbours. As skandinavian you prefer a good breakfast, white bread is not that.

    Location was perfect. Nice and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Excellent,central,comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff eccellent, friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, clean and very comfortable. Very central, close to everything. I would book this hotel again. Excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is so convenient to walk all around Rome city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room kind of small and bed not soft at all.

    This hotel is so convenient to walk all around Rome city. You not need the train or bus,just walk. Staffs are really nice and helpful,breakfast is was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.4
    The rooms didn't look like the pictures and looked dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms didn't look like the pictures and looked dirty. There was black marks all over the walls and the bed linen looked dirty. Also when checking out the lady behind the counter was rude.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    2.9
    Please find elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was horrible. Room was dingy and congested. No kettle or facilities to make tea or coffee, no housekeeping services in afternoon - we have to go downstairs in an even congested lift n get the stuff. Breakfast was bad with no options at all. I'd like to rate this property -1. Booked it through online rating on trip advisor, will never trust this again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We stayed 3 nights (26-29 March) in this hotel, and had a great time. Booked 2 rooms and traveled with my family. All the members of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, the same everyday but you have enough options: croissants, pastries, different kinds of bread, ham, cheese, butter, jam, honey, chocolate spread, boiled eggs and also coffee and fresh juice. The wifi signal was strong at the 2nd floor, where our rooms were and the internet speed was good enough. The air conditioners worked properly and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms was cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.9
    Good value for a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was rock solid. We had to ask for a second pillow.

    The location was excellent for walking to all the tourist sites, especially the colosseum area. It has a very nice roof terrace for breakfast. Very clean. Shower room fine. Well lit room. Our room was not on the road side and so was very quiet for a central location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Walking distance to many attractions in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Access to an electric kettle would be a bonus.

    Staff were very helpful. Breakfast on the 5th floor was good with cereals, toast, yoghurt and cold meat and cheeses. Custard filled croissants were the best part of breakfast. If it wasn't for our big suitcases we could have walked from Termini.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    A good night's sleep but disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was varied but the coffee was not hot and the croissants seemed stale. The waitress was rather elusive!

    The helpful receptionist explained the best way to use the heating, and gave me a big, fluffy extra blanket, which in fact I did not need. A likeable place with small but well arranged, attractive single rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.9
    Good little hotel in a great part of town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nice, but croissants were all gone when we went up on the second which was a shame. Also rooms were a bit small and had thin walls.

    Great location, nice bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    Great find value for money in central Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic would of been better if there had been fruit available. The toaster was incredibly slow

    Location quiet road close to resturants bars. All the major sites within walking distance. Staff friendly helpful. Room and bathroom a bit small but very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Relatively cheap but definitely cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could not help but be disappointed with the rooms. They were much smaller than they appeared in the photos and the bathrooms were quite pokey and tired-looking. Having said that, what do you expect for the money?

    It was a good location, close to a lot of places of interest, nice eateries and the station. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and were always friendly and pleasant. The breakfast too was very good, even with little pots to make your own tea.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    5.0
    😕
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC didn't worked properly that's why the other room was always freezing. They had just one key for us and clearly (a bit obsessively) stated that we should give the key back at the reception. Twice the lady who works during daytime reminded us that which seemed rude to me as I never saw a smile on her face during the five days there. She doesn't seem to like her job. I'll visit Rome many times more but never again will stay here though it has such a great location. The breakfast was always the same, they ran out of black pepper and it was never even noticed during four days time. Sad...

    The night shift staff were nice and helpful. Also the lady at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor choice when it comes to breakfast, the lady that served it (I believe she also cleaned some rooms) was NOT nice. Every other member of the staff was super nice.

    Great value for money! Super well located, 5 minute walk to the Colisseum in a road full of restaurants and life.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In reception ladies spoke italian in front of us and make some fany face. It was embarrassed,because we can't understand. Just asian men who chek in us was very friendly and very kind person. Thanks for him!

    Location great!!! All hotel style was very nice, room clean and has been cleaned every day. Little shop centre just next door (very comfortable to buy some food and drink). Breakfast ladies was very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    wonderful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds were slightly uncomfortable (mattress seemed old)

    Location is fantastic. Very glad there was an elevator. Food was lovely, kitchen was clean and the lady was very friendly. And most of all we loved the drying rack for the clothes

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Canova traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: