Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Canado Club Family Village 4 stars

Loc. Villa Emilia 361, 57022 Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy

#7 of 11 hotels in Marina di Castagneto Carducci

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 532 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Super sea side stay for the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome with the train transport to the reception was nice and exclusive. No cars enter the facility and therefore there is complete silence. A small complex with everything you need. We arrived a bit off season so some things like the pizzeria and the parts of the animation were still closed, but we expected this. Staff was extremely nice and helpful in every way, especially at the reception and we were very satisfied. Rooms are spacious and modern. Small terrace area for eating al fresco. A market has all the little items one could need if you want to cook for yourself and otherwise nice selection between alla carte restaurant and self serve at lunch. Breakfast was very nicely decorated but the food quality could have been a bit higher. Jams are like a paste. Eggs and bacon were cold and the room was chilled a bit too much with air conditioning, but nothing that could not be fixed. Next servings of eggs and breakfast came out warm and fresh fruit was available. Overall we were very satisfied with the location, the staff, and the room. Beach services were wonderful with umbrella and 2 chairs and paddle boats and canoes which were included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice place if you like rest after season peak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small ants in floor but this is not so big problem.

    Nice place if you like rest after season peak. Nice to sit in balcony and drink Toscana vine. The sea water still warm for nordic people in end of September.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Summer in Toscana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel, no shampoo. Had to buy everything in the supermarket. Ants were coming to the room from balcony. Had to kill them all the time. Don't waste your money in the Galleon restaurant. Food was cold, they have brought meat before starter, side dish was after main dish, English translation in the menu was wrong. The administrator guy was very angry on guests and did not hide it. When big Chinese family came with children he wanted to put adults separately from kids. Guests had to fight to be able to sit all together. For two weeks in Toscana the dinner in this restaurant was the most expensive (even higher than having lunch in Florence) and the most unpleasant.

    Great location. Wi-Fi on all territory including beach. Excellent beach. Great and funny animation team. Even though animation was in Italian we could understand almost everything and had fun every time. Pizza restaurant food and staff were really nice. Great hotel to stay with kids. Supermarket 8 min drive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Lovely beach, disappointing resort though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our family room - basically a double room with 2 wall mounted beds - one of which overhung the main bed! We didn't really sleep for the 3 nights we were there. This set up wasn't clear from the website and I expected better for what we paid for. The main posh restaurant on site was a rip off - we ordered a small portion of king prawns for my daughter - so she got 3 instead of 5 yet were charged the full amount .

    Beach lovely staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    there is only one combined soccer/tennis field, swimming pool area could be bigger, bed sagged in the middle

    good location, friendly staff, nice sandy beach, food for lunch can be bought at the bar at very reasonable prices, good annimation and entertainment team, good food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Excellent beach, clean, comfortable rooms but small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants in the evening - poor choice, average food, expensive.

    Excellent beach, clean, comfortable rooms but small. Only real complaint is the poor choice of restaurants. Food is average but expensive. Some of the restaurant staff are abrupt. There was a special holiday whilst we were there (no mention of this to us when checking in) this resulted in no availabliity in any of the restaurants. Taxi ride into the nearest town was 25 E each way so this meant we watched all the other guests enjoy a banquet around the pool whilst we had take away pizza.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay with a young family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Food is not really the best for kids (not enough choice). There were only 2 buffet services per week.

    Programme of activities is excellent and the resort is "human size"...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Perfect Tuscan family holiday - even if your only language is english!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it was perfect

    Loved the room, the wifi was great, the facilities where great for our needs, the staff where lovely and super friendly. As an English speaker only there where plenty of customers and staff who could translate for us. The surrounding villages where beautiful so I would recommend getting out of the resort every night and heading into the hills for dinner, and to visit world class wineries in the region - absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Accommodation is poor location is good and night entertainmentprogram is loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room is so small that it feels like prison you can not move and bathroom for 4 is also small. Pool is very basic, small and limited. Coffee at breakfast is bad. Loud entertainment every night up until 23:00 blazing over the entire resort.

    Direct access to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic beach place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above. Also, life guards were over vigilant on beach 'rules' - as Australians we are a bit more flexible and experienced on getting out in the surf! But I suppose you can never knock safety.

    Beach and pool were excellent. Organised activities for kids great too. Buffet breakfast was also great. One lady at reception was fabulous - can't remember her name unfortunately - and not just because she was one of only a couple of staff who spoke English, she was just so cheery!!!! The evening meal was poor so we only had it once. Took a long time for courses to come and they were nearly all cold. The whole atmosphere though was everyone having a really good beach holiday. Nearby towns are fun to explore and only an hour to Lucca and Pisa etc. you have to go to aqua village water park too - we went to the one at cecina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    4.2
    This is a 3 star holiday village, definitley not a 4 star resort hotel - beware!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is very far from any civilization, this place is in the middle of nowhere, parking being far from the resort so you always need to take a shuttle there, what can be a pain with kids and luggage. This is not a resort nor a real hotel, it is what the name implies - a village i.e. rooms for rent with some old and rather poor facilities around them. Three stars maximum, very far from a 4 star resort. Basic and not great food, super tiny pool, poor animation - overall this village is VERY small so a bit claustrophobic. We stayed there in august, was very crowded mostly with Italian families that mostly rented the rooms without food, cooking on their own, etc.. This place is not worth over 300EUR per night that we paid. I would not come back for sure. If this would have cost us EUR 100-150 per night would be ok, as the standard offered is a medium 3 star holiday village.

    We had an issue with the booking and the staff was very pleasant, including end of day the manager sorting the issue in our favour - very nice and appreciated approach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.4
    Nice with the pool and beach but average and to expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely expensive. And they charge an extra 7 Euro pr person pr day tax (excl the city tax). That's a rib off in my point of view. The staff looks and acts a bit run down-tired but friendly and do their best. But be aware of the extreme noise. Every night at 9.20 PM a show takes off at the scene and it lasts until 11.30 pm. We stayed the first night right behind the stage - and it was impossible to speak together outside due to the entertainment. The Italians seemed to enjoy it. We did not. And moved to another apartment which was fine. It is a mistake that there is no pre information about the every-evening entertainment big noise. At least let people know that there is a lot of evening entertainment...competition for children and singing, loud music etc etc. In the middle of the appartment area - so you actually do not have a choice if you live close by. Lower prices would make it all more fair.

    We loved the surroundings. That there was a (small) pool and just at the beach. You have a sunbed and an umbrella - which is nice. The apartment was ok big for five people. The shuttle chauffeur from around 3 pm until 11 pm or midnight was such a friendly older man who actually seemed to enjoy his job (as the only one). He was joyful every day. The little shop has warm bread every morning and actually most items and food you need. A little overpriced but hey... Saves you the drive to the supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    6.3
    When we arrived we were very pleased with the cleanliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were very pleased with the cleanliness of room. However... We had just arrived and went to the beach for two hours. There was not any food out. They had ants many many ants. On the walls in the bed on the floor. I can understand maybe twenty ants but this was an entire line full of ants that crawled from the top of the wall to the bottom and on to the bed in the sheets and on the floor. Then when I asked to move rooms they sent a cleaning lady who tried to convince me that it was normal and that her spraying the wall will keep them from coming back. Within 30 minutes the ants were back. I asked to move rooms they replied yes we will check as we are booked there might not be a room available. Then saw one room and had to verify with their boss. They said they would call to let me know if we could move. They never called so I called and they said oh yes you can have the other room. This process from beginning to end was about three hours. The complaint was customer service and the cleaning ladies passive agressive attitude. The woman behind the counter was wonderful and very helpful. She is the reason I give high remarks for their customer service without her I would have given a poor score.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the a la carte restaurant in the hotel and got a terrible service. There was no menu in English and the main course came before the starter. And my eldest son had to wait 2,5 hours before his meal came.

    The location by the beach. Close by were many beautiful villages and beautiful landscape. The hotel was also very family friendly with lots of activities for the children.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Dinner Buffett was a joke, service was below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner Buffett was a joke, service was below average.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Localization and nice apartament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localization and nice apartament. Additionally I felt safe in this place compared to other visited locations in Italy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Great for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for family. Price was higher then should have been for type of room

    Beach and pool. Family friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Secluded location , beach and pool, staff were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secluded location , beach and pool, staff were very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Great place for family vacation with kids, nice staff, fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 20 nights

    Hotel's sunbeds reservation system extremely inconvenient.

    Great place for family vacation with kids, nice staff, fine beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and isolation from car traffic very clean bitch

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    4.2
    Beds are awful, no wifi in rooms, rooms are smelly okay if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are awful, no wifi in rooms, rooms are smelly okay if spending £85 a night but we spent almost £300 a night. Terrible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.4
    Nice position and beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    4 star hotel without shower cabin and nothing in the minibar

    Nice position and beautiful beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Nice and not crowded place with the direct access to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good and nice staff, very comfortable acccess to the pool and surrounding beach. Not crowded and well furbished.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    3.8
    The reseptiion staff were unfriendly and not helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reseptiion staff were unfriendly and not helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    6.3
    club hotel is directly at the beach, nice playground for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Already when we arrived, the reception staff was confused about our booking and needed half an hour to organise keys for us (although the Hotel was only partly booked). The family room (for four) had the same size as the "superior" room, but just with an unfolded bunk bed instead. The food offers in the morning had only few and same savoury options every day. The good espresso maschine was switched off, when the number of guests reduced after the easter holidays. booking.com gives one sentence, that in the winter season, restaurants and activities are not offered - we visited during the easter days end of March to beginning of April, and were surprised, that it is still "winter season". Only the main restaurant was open; all other facilities, food options, avtivities and the pool were closed. Even the bar (which openend during the easter weekend) was closed after the holidays. The parking is far away from the hotel and did not seem to be watched during night; the shuttle was not operated. The canado club is far off everything around - you definitely need a car to get around (after the walk to the parking). Finally we had ants in the bathroom every day, which was a minor issue and were easy to hunt in the morning.

    club hotel is directly at the beach, nice playground for small kids, there is a bar to have drinks in the evening. The breakfast staff was nice and welcoming every morning. Our rooms got cleaned well every day, as well as the hotel area. Our kids were welcome at all times in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    The best of both worlds - beach only meters away and a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The road to the holiday village could do with some better signage - looks really remote and after a while I thought navigation is joking. Also the WiFi needs some serious upgrading.

    The best of both worlds - beach only meters away and a good starting point to drive around Tuscany.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.7
    Private sunbed on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice club overall the big issue was the isolation of the room , very very noisy we could hear everything from the rooms next door and couldn't sleep at night at all. This club is great for families only. Plenty of kids crying and you can hear everything from your room :-/

    Private sunbed on the beach

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    4.2
    Nice beach, the breakfast was ok, not crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I reserved a room in a four star club (as they advertise theirself). The first suprise was upon arrival, when I had to pay 90 euros for a "swimingpool" which is a children's pool, totally useless for an adult couple. I told them I won't use it, but anyway they charged me the 90 euros as they called the "club card fee". The second suprise was the room. The smallest room I've ever seen in my life. Even took pictures, I can send it to anyone if needed. And it turned out, that this is the part of the club which has 3 stars. So finaly I reserved a room in a 4 star club for a certain amount of euros, and I got a 3 star mini room for 90 more euros. The wifi only works at the receptions office. When I asked them about thiese problems, they told me that I should have read everything on booking.com. This is a scum, and it's not fair!

    Nice beach, the breakfast was ok, not crowded

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    Really good position on the beach, nice and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some damage and strange noise in the room, the playground in bad conditions, expensive restaurants

    Really good position on the beach, nice and quiet place

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    We the beauty of the location align with the food and...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    We the beauty of the location align with the food and excellent service we received. Several in our group had food allergies and they accommodated us very well.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent for holiday with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent for holiday with children.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    every morning we enjoyed our coffee and and croissant in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    hotel wifi is a dissaster

    every morning we enjoyed our coffee and and croissant in the self service bar

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.8
    - all in green
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - food in the restaurant - staff were not helpful - would not suggest for solo travelers or couples

    - all in green - location (u need a car)

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: