Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caol Ishka Hotel 4 stars

Via Elorina - 154 Contrada Pantanelli, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#26 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows at all in the room. The mattress of the bed extremely stiff, not suitable for everyone.

    We took the hotel's kayak for a ride at the near river, much fun. Rich breakfast, nice pool and very professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double / Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is excellent, especially Gian Carlos who was there through out our stay. The restaurant is definitely worth a visit. Very relaxed atmosphere but you need a car to get around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall finish is very poor (paint, lighting, garden, leaks...) and some of the bathroom features are not practical at all! The industrial surrounding of the property The surrounding of the pool could be better arranged

    The kindness of the helpful receptionnist The green oasis close to syracusa The possibility to go kayaking on the river to the bay of syracusa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double / Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air conditioning and wifi. Supply of drinks not constant, and hence only water was available at the restaurant and bar for two or three days.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice swimming pool and recreational area around the houses. Nice breakfast and excellent restaurant at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    눇We loved the friendly staff and reception. Easy to reach Siracusa .

    눉The room and the overall facility was a little run down and lacking maintenance. The room lay out was a bit uncomfortable, especially the bathroom ( flushing water, light , shower ...). AirCom was not working well considering hit temperature outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos by the pool (they didn't bother me but my husband got eaten alive).

    Loved everything! Food (breakfast, lunch and dinner), staff, pool, room were all excellent. Would definitely return and have recommended it to friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a wonderful stay and we enjoyed every moment of it. Everything was perfect. The hotel is so comfortable and peaceful. The hotel's restaurant is very good. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. Thanks so much again for the surprise you made for my partner on his birthday. Wish we could have stayed more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A beautifully quiet country location, with a smart pool and a big garden, and yet only a few minutes drive from the historic centre of Siracusa and the archaeological park. The staff were friendly, helpful and generous with little touches, such as cake with the tea we orederd and canapes with drinks. Good dinners and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Steep metal staircase to loft bed in some of the bedrooms would be very difficult for an elderly person to manage if faced with that on arrival.

    Lovely countryside location in off main road. Ticked all the boxes - excellent staff and service, beautiful food from the restaurant and great amenities with brilliant mountain bikes at guest's disposal, very relaxing swimming pool/sun loungers and canoe to use on adjoining river. Couldn't ask for anymore! Highly recommend a stay here only minutes away from beautiful Ortigia.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without any flaws or concerns! Further on please

    Super hosts Lucca & Gabriela, utmost service oriented & helping us as much as possible. Wonderful hideaway, outstanding breakfast and delicious & creative fresh dinners!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful environment, spacious rooms and well maintained garden.Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast and dinner using good local products were served with a style. Easy access to Ortigia.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room layout was not ideal with limited sitting area.

    simple breakfast but excellent quality of fruits cheese and pastries. Staff very pleasant. Parking was easy on site and we only needed to drive 2 km up the road to a large inexpensive car park on the outskirts of Ortigya. Great if you plan to do a few day trips in the area but want walkable access to the old city. Bed was comfortable and large bathroom. You need to be able to manage a flight of stairs up to the bedroom. Restaurant on site- the best meal we had in Syracuse.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is mixed: next to busy road towards Syracusa, but at the back part there is a nature reserve

    Staff was very friendly; dinner at the hotel was a treat; hotel was overall very relaxing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double / Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just spent 4 amazing nights at Caol Ishka and loved every minute of it. Whilst the infinity pool, decor and location are all great, the best thing by far is the service. Luca welcomed us with open arms telling us to treat his hotel as our own. Gabriella the hotel manager could not do enough throughout our stay, booking restaurants, taxis and anything else we needed. They are just so friendly. The breakfast and restaurant were also fantastic. A huge selection of cheese, meats, cakes and cereal together with some of the best eggs I have ever had. The hotel is situated about 5 minutes from town by car and about 10 minutes to a really amazing beach called Arinella. This hotel would suit either a large group/wedding or a romantic getaway as it only has 10 rooms. I can not wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giancarlo was a very friendly host. Made you feel like a friend staying at his house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In desperate need of a renovation, staff wasn't helpful. Charme has long gone, absolutely not worth the money,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location only reachable with car. Nothing in walking distance. But ruther than that all was super!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, very good dinner and breakfast service with friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a refurbishing.the place is cloce to centre.

    Location was good and the surrounding was beautiful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design of the room was weird

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double / Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable and the room was very dark. The property needs some attention to detail looks scuffed up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great SKY TV, massive choice of room lighting and lovely outdoor seating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of wifi in the rooms

    Very nice modern setting

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    top of the list in syracuse!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in room

    Grounds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no freshly squeezed orange juice(seems common in sicily) a land full of citrus fruits!

    food in restaurant excellent breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortabel, no wardrobe in sleepingroom, no courtins to completly darken the sleepingroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great very friendly and attentive. The food at restaurant is exquisite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited breakfast - every day the same A bit pricy for what you get, as facilities start to show 'wear and tear'

    Great Location: close to Siracuse city (7 min by car), but set in a relaxing quite area next to a river with garden and beautiful pool Very friendly staff: welcoming you from the first minute until the end, listening to every concern Rooms with own outside sitting area (just be aware of the mosquitos from the river)

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was a bit disappointed by the surroundings. I was expecting the property to be in a more peaceful and quiet environment. We had the noise from a disco club up until late. I was really disappointed by the breakfast given the diner we had.

    The restaurant, we had a wonderful diner. The size of our bedroom was also pleasant. And the staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room safe didn't work (or was not plugged in) and we had to ask for a hairdryer. However, just a small inconvenience. I would return.

    The restaurant Zefferano was superb - the best food we had in Sicily

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional SERVICE!!! The whole team/staff was the best of all the cities we visited in Sicily! Everyone was friendly, helpful, personal yet professional. This place is truly a little gem! Surrounded by nature, gorgeous cacti and other greens, the rooms are modern with contemporary decor, it's clean and comfortable, the place is peaceful, beautiful, extremely relaxing and has a small private veranda where you can have a romantic apertivo or take your morning coffee! There is a very lovely pool, breakfast is always nice, good little collection of DVD's (thanks Caroline), free wifi and free parking! Great location...we recommend having a car, which made getting around easy...places we wanted to visit were close by or not too far away from the hotel and we didn't have a problem going around. They were also really cool and sweet with our small dog that we brought along on our vacation! Dining at their restaurant, "Zafferano" under chef Domenico di Bari is an ABSOLUTE MUST!!! He takes culinary composition and creation to a whole new level! Definitely one of the best plates/ meals/ dishes we've had...and just an excellent experience. Wonderful wine pairing as well! Oh and the best panna cotta we've ever had!!! We ate there 5 nights!!! Perfect place to come back to after a long day of going around and sightseeing, or after the beach! Actually, also to just stay there the whole day...swim, layout, eat, relax, read a book and chill out...which we did. We stayed here for a full week and really enjoyed this place! We will definitely be coming back! Everything was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed smelled like old sweat (even through the fresh sheets), the towels did not smell fresh, half of the walls were wet/ damp, there was an assortment of old coat hangers in the bathroom and the bathroom needed clearing/ refreshing.

    It is nice to be out of the city & have free parking right outside your door. The idea of the units is nice and beds & facilities are comfortable. The breakfast is nice.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A charming place, close to Siracuse yet "a world of it's own" - beautifull and peacefull. Very pretty swimming pool, big enough to really have a swim. Fresh & breezy near the river. A really friendly staff, behaving like a cool family of one's own. A wizzard of a chef (Domenico di Bari, watch out for this guy) spoiling the guests for lunch and dinner. And even the WiFi in the room was quicker than in any other hotel we've been to in Sicily. Had a great time.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was incredibly uncomfortable!

    Nowhere in Sicily was the staff as friendly, attentive and accommodating. Easy access/proximity to Siracusa.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Like most hotels we came across, there wasn't tea/coffee making facilities in the room. As I wake up at 6.30, I had to wait two hours for a drink.

    The staff were super helpful. The room was lovely, and breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only regret is that I didn't stay longer.

    I stayed one night on business. In my free time the staff arranged a bike to take for a ride along the river.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If it would be closer to the beach it would be nicer but then it wouldn't be at this price I guess;)

    The new owner and the staff is very friendly and they are really eager to change the image caused by the previous administration. The rooms are lovely and the facility is proper.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing bad.

    Super friendly staff. The amazing food, the general vibe of the place.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good and evening meals amazing.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully located, staff was friendly and helpful, amazing breakfast, great room and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed was hard but I am starting to think all beds are hard in Italy.

    The staff was the best of all cities we visited in Sicily!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi had only acces to the restaurantarea and not in the room.

    All was available from swimmingpool to a more than good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no wi-fi in room

    Only few rooms and the staff are super accomodating and polite

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Caol Ishka Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: