Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Capo d'Africa 4 stars

Via Capo d'Africa, 54, 00184 Rome, Italy

#73 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1050 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They charged me a city tax which was prepaid but my booking papers were in my suitcase which was loaded into the transfer vehicle. So I had to pay 48.00 euros. I need to be reimbursed.

    The rooftop breakfast was very good. The location was great for walking near the Colosseum and Roman Forum, and Capitoline Museum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer or iron but we managed

    Beautiful hotel. We lived the outdoor areas..rooftop terrace was wonderful. Breakfast was excellent, room and bed were very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Spacious rooms, good location, friendly staff, and modern...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old design of the hotel and there was noise from other parts of the hotel of furniture that disturbed sleep, roof terrace is nice but not with too much views

    Spacious rooms, good location, friendly staff, and modern hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first floor, where our room was located, we were right beside the staff elevator and storage room - as a result there was a lot of early morning noise as breakfasts were being set up.

    Wonderful location. Helpful staff. Comfortable, clean room. Lots of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great location and very friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast I took a full bottle of water for my table. A staff member took it from me and said we could only take a glass at a time. Air con in the rooms is not great, too warm and the coolest setting wasn’t that cool.

    Staff at reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    The whole experience was fantastic, breakfast was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air con was more noise than cool, minor detail and should have mentioned it to staff at time.

    The whole experience was fantastic, breakfast was great really nice food, staff very friendly and helpful. Room and whole hotel was clean and fresh. So close to ancient city less than two min walk from hotel. There are a few small restaurants within 200m of the hotel so you are free to explore. Metro is at the Closso and at the bottom of road a taxi rank.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for exploring right near the Colesseum .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were quite expensive. Our room was on the street side on the second floor and every morning early they emptied the bins which were right underneath our window which was really annoying.

    The bed was massive And very comfortable. Staff were very helpful with how to get to places we wanted to see and booked And suggested restaurants for us. The breKfast was uncertain with a good enough choice and lovely coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a late check out, this did not end up in their planning somehow. We got kind of interrogated quite agressivly by one of the hotel managers about this. Not a nice way to end this trip. Her name was Katia.

    Great beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, staff helpful, very hectic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no power and it was difficult to shower properly, the television only had 4 news channels in English due to these small but inconvenient problems we would think twice before we stayed again

    The bed was very comfortable and staff very social

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Choose a different hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room was unbearable, the staff immediately started to try and sell tours to you on check-in barking what was available and an item went missing from our room which is unsurprising given how many times a day they come into the room and move your things around.

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    A great hotel for sightseeing due to proximity to ancient Rome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very quiet, no staff at reception when I arrived, no staff on the terrace during the day. Although it said it was open. The restaurant was very disappointing, empty and the food came very quickly. No atmosphere at all. I asked for a late check out at booking, then again when I arrived and no one came back to me. I had to call down in the morning to ask again. I just didn't feel very well cared for as a guest. The lock in the toilet on the 4th floor broke and I had to phone reception to ask them to let me out. If you are looking for atmosphere (it was April) or excellent customer service I couldn't recommend it as a solo business traveller. Best suited to families or tourists who don't want to spend much time in the hotel.

    Very comfortable bed and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is limited. Need more variety. Rooms are little small especially if you are traveling with young children.

    Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff. Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed eating breakfast in the sunshine on the terrace with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice at breakfast

    Enjoyed eating breakfast in the sunshine on the terrace with the view of the Colleseum Staff very helpful sorting out taxis and recommending restaurants for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing, enjoyable and very interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price of drinks in the hotel are excessive.

    The staff were polite, helpful very friendly and all spoke English very well. Breakfast is superb and the restaurant has balconies with great views. The hotel is 5-10 minute walk to the Colosseum and ideal walking distance to most of the other main sites of interest. The bars and restaurants near the hotel are all very reasonable but be careful on the main tourist routes, as prices can be very higher!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff & service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were overheated. The breakfast room must have been 30 degrees with Windows and doors closed even though it was april and very warm spring already outside. Stuffy full floor carpets. Interior had seen better days in the hotel. However everybody was kept clean.

    Staff were really friendly and flexible. Got a really good positive vibe from everyone. Cleanliness very good. Bed, sheets and pillows and towels were very good quality. The location was fantastic. Very good restaurants nearby and everything walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Great stay overall, room was comfy, sexy traveling partner made all the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok we didn’t get a complimentary water because the hotel gave us an upgrade for a bigger room, and said that since you got an upgrade there’s no complimentary water. No big deal, but still would have been nice to get free water. Had to buy it myself, but a plus is that there’s plenty of small convenience stores nearby, like very close, 30 meters close. Also the gym was really really cold.

    The name of the hotel was great. Also the location is really close to the coliseum, neighborhood is safe, there is parking on sight. Overall a solid hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Would love to return to Rome and would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large, quiet and comfortable room. Breakfast was fresh and extra friendly staff. Katia on reception was extremely helpful and when our stay was inadvertently extended due to flight cancellation the hotel were very accommodating. Location perfect....colloseum at the end of the road, metro stops for both lines within 10mins walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    A good choice for stay in Roma
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater is not that kind of warm during Mar/Apr.

    Very good location, so close to Colosseum but in a so quiet community. There are many good local restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, close to many excellent restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife couldn't get the running machine in the fitness center to work.

    The madras was not soft, lovely with hard one. Good location with many good restaurants within 5 min walking distance .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Good location But impersonal and not very friendly Superior room was small Check in took 30 mins which after a long journey is not acceptable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We ordered a superior double room and it was perfect size for 2 people and the hotel was in a perfect location, only approx 4 minutes walk from the Colessum and Roman Forum and max 10 minutes walk to the town centre. We even found an Irish bar 180m away where we could watch the rugby!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant staff, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant a little ‘corporate’. First room very spacious and comfortable. Invasion of ants necessitated room change to a smaller room

    Good city centre hotel with excellent staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    The room was clean and staff is friendly, the breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit out dated

    The room was clean and staff is friendly, the breakfast is OK, there is a lots of good food around here, the location is a plus and near the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant dinner - had to send back however dealt with very professionally from manager who removed from bikk

    Design of hotel lovely Staff very efficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    A classy, well-situated, quiet hotel with a lovely breakfast and very helpful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our only complaint is that lighting in the room was difficult. The lighting system needs to be updated.

    The room was very Nice. The beds were comfortable, and while located in the center, it was very quiet and a good night's sleep. Breakfast delicious. Lovely and informative personnel. Also loved the roof decks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location, helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, staff were extremely helpful. Great location, nice bar and rooftop terrace. Could see colleseum from breakfast terrace. Breakfast was also lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Romantic, historic and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few little touch ups need to be completed in the bathroom and more variety at breakfast time.

    The staff were amazing and so helpful, they recommended a great restaurant 2 mins from the hotel which was our favourite place from all the places we ate at. It was great location to the colesseum too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic base for a fabulous visit to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location - a few minutes' walk from the Colosseum - was fantastic. The hotel was clean and modern and the staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations and tour bookings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    First time in Rome to see the city and sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't have any faults with the hotel or staff.

    Service very professional, helpful and friendly. Very clean and comfortable. Location ideal for seeing all the sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tired and needs updating to match the quality of the rest of the accommodation.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Excellent location close to the Colosseum. Room was bigger than often found in European capital cities and we'll equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I am super critical The bedrooms were too hot, and the breakfast room was too small so we had to queue to eat and sit very close to the other guests, however with two terraces i imagine this is only a midwinter issue

    Room was large and comfortable the staff were lovely, the location was fabulous, it was an awesome stay overall, would book again without hesitation!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    The breakfast on the fourth floor with the view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area on the right side of the hotel was a bit dirty but I don't think that is the hotel fault.

    The breakfast on the fourth floor with the view of the Coleseum was so special. Great Location. Loved the car service to the airport only 50 euros. We will be there again for sure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Would definately stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost at the resident bar! 24 Euros for a gin and tonic and a Martini and lemonade - extortionate!

    Lovely and comfortable Bedroom, classy with all the facilities you would need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff where very friendly and helpful. Had a great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could of been a bit quicker but staff where busy so was understandable

    Breakfast was nice, staff friendly and extra helpful, beautiful roof terrace. Complimentary bottle of prosseco because was my partners birthday

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok for italian standards but not great. The rooms are a bit dated.

    The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The neighbourhood is calm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Rooms are spacious and elegant, and they clean them twice a day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I need to say something that they could change, they could have a larger variety for breakfast.

    It's a real oasis in the center of the city. Staff is great and they will do anything to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    We were there for over a week and every interaction with staff was helpful and positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iron in the room would be helpful.

    The staff were truly amazing. They helped us with reservations, tour info, public transportation routes. Every interactii6was helpful and positive. The location is excellent. Bug shout out to Julia at the front desk. Quick walk to the Collosseum and metro, but far enough away to be peaceful in the evenings. Lots of really good little restaurants and a grocery store in the area too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    A perfect hotel for our honeymoon, we felt very looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were all very friendly, helpful and informative, I requested a special table with champagne breakfast for our first morning which they had waiting for us. Location was perfect to access the sights of Rome, especially the Colosseum. Rooms were clean and well equipped The bed in the superior room was massive and very comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    very convenient location with friendly staff. the breakfast was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathtub and walls were always filthy. it was never cleaned properly and the shower head was in poor condition. The hot breakfast was boringly the same every morning/not enough variety.

    size of tv screen was good, firm bed and excellent cafe lattes. the shower caps were nice. The receptionists were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.5
    Rome was incredible and out stay at Hotel Capo d’Africa made it that much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel were just amazing! They were friendly, kind and incredibly helpful. They gave great recommendations and and helped us with everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nesquick chocolate instead of Hot chocolate and the fact they didn't replenish the tea/coffee in the room. Also the fact they left the unwashed cups from the night before.

    Location and comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant & comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet.

    The staff were friendly & helpful, the hotel was clean & quite the breakfast buffet was adequate but overall it justifies it's 4 star rating. I would recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and super efficient . I had asked for a bottle of bubbly for my partners birthday months in advance and it arrived in our room,. I was very pleased indeed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice, but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A noisy wedding party in the breakfast room on the 4th floor kept it going till 1 am, with high karaoke like music. On a Tuesday night. I managed to get a new room, but my colleague was not so lucky. His room was literally next to the breakfast room. This is not acceptable, guests should not be kept awake like this.

    Beautiful hotel, in a nice and quiet neighborhood close to the Colosseum. Good coffee and a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast, ideal location near Colloseo, you can reach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in hotel are OK, but nothing special. Just ordinary small rooms, nothing more

    Good breakfast, ideal location near Colloseo, you can reach everything by feet, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and walking distance to many shops, bars and attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was average. The scrambled eggs were a bit overdone and the sausages looked like they were from a tin. No beans or mushrooms or tomatoes so was a bit dry. Otherwise plenty of cereals and croissants etc.

    Excellent bar staff and staff in general. Lovely little touches in room such as the range of complimentary toiletries, slippers and gown. Cleaners came a few times a day which was excellent. Nice shower and plenty of mirrors including a full length one.Lovely reception area and rooftop terrace. Located in a quiet area away from the main roads. Overall excellent will definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Quiet location with good local bars and restaurants and near colosseum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are rather sparse - some more colour around would be good.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great recommendation to local restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location near the Colosseum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nearest metro station is around 7 minutes walking distance

    The hotel is located around 500 meters from the Colosseum in a quite neighborhood. The lobby is nice and the terrace area on the fourth floor is accessible 24/7.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing in pure comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was she shower head needed changing but this is a minor issue.

    The male staff that greeted us on arrival were nice, helpful people who took time to help us out and give advice. Location is excellent, 5 minute walk from the colosseum. Breakfast was included in the price-very nice on the rooftop terrace. The bed was huge and comfortable and room was spacious. Nice bar in the hotel too and security is top notch. Staff booked all our taxis including the airport shuttle too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely boutique hotel, not too big, quite street short wal,k from colleuseum. Staff were fabulous - many thanks especially to Lauren who was so helpful. Including an early check in which was very much appreciated. Lovely rooms, great comfy bed, and breakfast on the roof including outside garden area which is also open at night. Also very helpful with recommendations for local evening eating spots a 5 min walk from hotel - and both great choices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel, good location. A bit over priced for what you get.Rooms aren't very modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building must be quite old, and therefore not very soundproof. There was a lot of noise from upstairs room, could hear talking/moving furniture and running water. We were woken up both mornings from the noise above.

    Breakfast is lovely, with a good atmosphere, on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable, nice hotel in a good location if you are visiting the FAO or the Colleseum area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning was a little loud. And I thought the bathroom was a bit basic. The breakfast was good, though not outstanding. The outdoor seating was nice, but plagued by gulls, which sit close by and pounce on any food as soon as you leave the table. I would have thought that the staff could have done more to discourage them. The lighting switches near the bed were more complicated than they need to have been. (Labeling would have helped.)

    The terrace on the top was very good, especially for a late afternoon drink. I loved being able to borrow a bicycle at no cost (only a deposit). My bed was very comfortable, and I liked being able to use the stairs to go between floors. The closet was ample and provided lots of shelves and drawers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice but due for refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation. Photos look a lot nicer than in reality. Don't bother with the breakfast it is below average and not worth it. We had mould around the air conditioner in our room. The reception staff were apologetic and moved us to another room. Carpet in both rooms needed replacing looks a bit dirty and old. Aircon in room would not turn off. Over priced in its current condition hopefully they sort it out as it could be a really nice hotel.

    Very helpful reception staff, Location close to the Colosseum. Nice roof top area. Very comfortable bed. Ask for a room on the 4th floor if you are a smoker as you have access to the rooftop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    It's perfect for our anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that we didn't like or fault.

    The staff were excellent, very knowledgable and alway's help. We are going to back there again very soon, we would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel in a Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small.

    The location is awesome, it is about 3 blocks to the colosseum. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Iron available upon request. Metro and bus lines within a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Great Staff and nice clean rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast needs to be updated with few more items especially when you pay good money for the room with breakfast. There is one computer as a "business" center!!!

    The location is a walking distance from the coliseum. The Staff are great and also the rooms are nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice start to a Roman holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even when supposedly the room was with a noticeable discount, I think it was overpriced for the service that was provided. Although it was "Deluxe Double" the room was smaller than I had expected from the pictures.

    Breakfast location with a view over the neighborhood and Colosseum in sight. The selection of foods for breakfast was good. Nutella bucket with a pump was our favorite add-on for the cornetto. Proximity to Colosseum and other sights is a bonus. It is even in walkable distance from the Termini station (20-25min by foot) - we started sightseeing right after arriving by train from the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Loved the roof-top bar so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing-.no iron. I know a lame reason, but the only thing.

    Loved the roof-top bar so much. Victoria became a member of our family the three days we were there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff, some facilities need a bit of updating and some gluten free options needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms may need a little updating soon and breakfast was not great (although the staff serving couldn't have been more cheerful and welcoming). There were no gluten/ dairy free options, and my 10 year old found the bread to be a bit dry. The outside terraces are lovely but after the first morning we elected to sit inside because the pigeons were a bit of a nuisance outside, and unsettled my son.

    This hotel is in a fabulous location - next to the Colosseum but down a quiet side street, so not too noisy. The staff are extremely helpful and efficient, and dealt with a minor problem that arose in our room extremely swiftly and without fuss, moving us to a different room of equal standing. Our triple room was big and comfortable, well air conditioned, and with good quality furnishings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall a good deal in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - View of the coliseum from the hotel only at the breakfast when you are on the right terrace. - staff is overall ok but some could make some efforts to be more smiley - furnitures are in good condition but a bit old fashion

    - Location : 5 min by walk to the Coliseum but on the non overcrowded side of the city. - Value for the price in Rome city center. - Breakfast is fine. - Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely the best experience, loved every minute of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry couldn't fault the hotel in any way.....

    The Hotel was brilliant, staff, service, room, breakfast.... could not find any fault in our stay. We would definitely return to this hotel next time we are in Roma!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    A quality Hotel close proximity to Rome attractions, Excellent staff and Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent - highly recommend.

    From our 1st arrival the gentleman at the front door greeted us warmly and took our bags. He was polite, respectful and always greeted us in and out of the Hotel warmly. The receptionist was helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was lovely. We ate the Hotel Restaurant each evening and Fabrizio our Waiter and Micol our Waitress were amazing. Their professional, friendly, attentive service was EXCELLENT. They remembered our favorite drinks and how we liked to be served - We cannot compliment them enough - they made our stay truly special and we appreciated their special attention - Excellent staff members at Hotel Capo D'Africa - thank you sincerely. In addition - Breakfast each day was excellent. Luigi, Vincenzo and Mamum were polite, friendly and made our mornings very happy. Thank you to each of them personally - you made our stay very special and we would highly recommend Hotel Capo D'Africa as a result of their special attention. Overall - we highly recommend Hotel Capo D'Africa - if you want quality service, lovely surroundings and genuine care and attention. Thank you - Andrea and Darren / Melbourne Australia

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique hotel, convenient to sights of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop terrace was booked for a private function the evening we arrived so residents couldn't use it which was disappointing. A pool or sun loungers would have been a bonus as it's nice to come back to after sightseeing.

    Roof top restaurant was lovely for breakfast,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a great position and within walking distance to many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. The weather was very hot but it was nice to come back to the hotel where it was cool and comfortable.

    The croissants were lovely and the bed was comfy. Easy access to everything - Colosseum etc, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location but probably better hotels for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we were late so ate in the restaurant...don't as overpriced limited choice small portions and average - some very good local restaurants within two minutes walk. Also the roof terrace - one of the reasons we booked - was closed one evening for a private function and so was the bar in reception which we thought was poor and the staff seemed uninterested in helping.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. Location for Colosseum was excellent and very handy for 'hop on off' tourist bus. Staff generally very helpful apart from one occasion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely Amazing ❤️❤️❤️❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't find anything to say that I didn't like? Maybe the pavements 🤔 I couldn't wear my expensive shoes because of the uneven floors 😂 And...... I wasn't there long enough 😬

    Absolutely stunning ❤️❤️ Hotel was perfect 👌🏻 Staff were amazing and the hotel was in a perfect location! Will be going back very soon xxx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    A little kindness and sweetness near the oantheon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a swimming pool. That would be nice.

    The staff was so beyond sweet. I couldn't say any nicer things about them. I mean beyond sweet and really accommodating. I even thanked them personally. Also the front desk was generous and Luigi who serves breakfast is a man who just can't stop smiling. So lovely. All of them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    nice hotel in quiet neighborhood but close to major sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no swimming pool

    newly renovated room, high ceilings, great air-conditioning, close to colosseum, roof-top for breakfast that was included in the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Good Morning Rome-bellissimo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was there not to like-the minute you walked up those few steps you were greeted by friendly and helpful friends-not staff!!!

    After the first meeting the beautiful a very attentive staff would have my double espresso on the table first thing to greet me and another at the end of breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Italy Always
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use a bit of updating

    I liked that the property sat in a neighborhood. The beautiful colesium was right there, and the roof top patio was great for breakfast and late night conversations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    Great location, not so great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed poorly positioned (right next to a pillar); poor breakfast choices; poor bar facilities; lack of initiative displayed by some staff.

    Proximity to Colloseum, Forums etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel very relaxing and helpful from staff Regarding us being English iconic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe slightly more on menu in top floor kitchen

    Everything really great communication from staff regarding visiting and information about tourist points

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    For an average experience in all you could stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small with not enough place for two suitcases and you had to mind your way to navigate in the room itself. We just felt it wasn't completely value for money.

    Its a 5-7 min walk from the Colosseum and the station so the entire historical block is close by. The staff was helpful in giving us tips on where to go.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great stay in Rome with easy access to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great. Really easy to get around. We loved the roof top terrace and the bartender,Victoria, was like a new friend. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We would stay here again and we would recommend the hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Great help at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great until the last day when the bell hop ignored me when I tried to ask if our cab was there. I can only guess it was because I was an American and an Italian was also waiting. Very rude...

    Great help at the front desk.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: