Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Cappello d'Oro 4 stars

Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 12, 24121 Bergamo, Italy

#9 of 23 hotels in Bergamo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2530 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are basic, general areas are very basic. Breakfast is not that great, limited hot food and it’s sitting around a long time. Fitness room is small and an extra 5 euro charge to use per day. My bed was nit very comfortable.

    Location is great, rooms have good air con and shutters. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm and we couldn't work out how to cool it down. If we had been staying longer we would have asked and I'm sure they would have sorted it. The shower was fixed with no handheld. It was also very small so no option NOT to get hair wet! But I don't believe all room were the same.

    The hotel was very well placed for the Alta Cite. Secure parking is excellent although a little difficult to find and access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi was zero in our room (there was good sign on the corridor and on other places in the hotel). Even after more notification did not resolve.

    We love Bergamo and love this hotel, so we stayed here now for the fourth time. The hotel located very centrally in the 'Citta Bassa'. Buss top to the 'Alta Citta' and to the airport in front of hotel, good restaurants and shopping streets nearby. We had a lovely room facing to the Porta Nuova. Modern bathroom /but not to much place to put down our things/, daily change of towels and pillow cases. Good breakfast. Friendly receptionists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is definately a pretty old one and needs rennovation. The location is ok if you travel on business, however I guess there are lots of different opportunities to stay in the city with comparatively similar prices. The hotel is poor value for money. Breakfast also leaves much to be desired :o(

    The stuff is friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit noisy.

    Perfect location in the center of Bergamo and not far from trainstation and airport. Coffee and thee availible in the room. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Air con not that effective. Bathroom too small. Small shower. Toilet placed right by shower, very restrictive.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is central to all you would want to do in Bergamo and the train station to take you to Milan is just a short walk. The hotel itself is clean & comfortable. The staff are very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    clean room, excellent breakfast, the room was great- loved it. staff was helpful and friendly. The location was great 10 min walk from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insonorisation is not too good in bedrooms we can almost follow the conversations of our neighbours.

    Location is very good, near the funicular to Old Town. Bedrooms of good size and comfy beds. Very good breakfast with fresh fruit salad renewed very frequently. Staff was nice. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many cosmetics to use

    Really good breakfast, big and comfortable bed, close to the station and also near the bus stop that can get you to citta alta

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minus is that it was very loud at night because of the street and cars passing by.

    Very comfortable bed, veeeery good breakfast we did not expect. Amazing location and good view from the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower water pressure was disappointing. Had to use the hand shower. Hotel is on a main road and very hard to park anywhere near it.

    Very clean modern room and comfortable bed. Walk in shower instead of having to hope into a bathtub for a shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stuffy room with no air conditioning. Very difficult to sleep. Opening windows NOT an option as my first floor room faced the main road and would be too noisy to sleep.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is not straightforward, the room overlooking the backyard and the opposite building

    Spacious room and bathroom, staff, proximity to city centre and most attractions in Bergamo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    soundproofing in room very poor, we could hear the next room when they used the toilet.

    the hotel is in a prime position for sightseeing and bars / restaurants, the room was fine, clean, staff were very polite, breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    Excellent location close to train station. Bus directly to the airport is outside the hotel.very friendly staff and very willing to help and provide all information requested.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna should be free.

    Comfortable, modern and up to the standard you’d expect. We really liked the young guy working in the breakfast buffet. It was only his second day, but he was extra attentive, professional, friendly and obviously very hard working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent central location -near train station,near shops and restorants,near bus stops and bus stop to and from the airport directly outside the hotel .The room was quiet, very clean and comfortable. Staff at breakfast and reception very helpful. Breakfast was very delicious and various I hope we will come back again soon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration is very old, phone didn’t work, bathroom doorknob fell off

    - Location is superb. Near shopping street, train station and 15 minuets walk to the funicular to the old town. - staff was always helpful - good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an excellent stay at Best Western Cappello D'Oro. Perfectly located in the center of Bergamo, short walk or bus ride to all the landmarks, shopping, places to eat. The bus stop is literally in front of the entrance - easy ride to Airport or Citta Alta. Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, tea-making facilities, safe box. Staff is friendly and very efficient. Hotel is perfect wether you came to explore the city, have business meetings or romantic gateway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    next time the other hotel but unfortunately there no many others.

    Wall shower ( nor for women ) water in the bathroom On the reception mainly stagiaires, , there are no warm reception, pretty cold, ....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower dribbled (no power at all despite asking for it to be fixed twice), the carpet is warn and the wallpaper is peeling. This place needs a serious refurbishment.

    The staff are friendly and breakfast not bad (ask for coffee as it is miles better than the machine). Location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms- although well equipped were a little small

    Excellent central location - bus stop to and from the airport directly outside the hotel Welcoming friendly staff. Breakfast outstanding and good time variations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary Wifi is not working ok, braking many times and you have to locate for the spot in the room where wifi is working ok. There is a room for improvement of wifi in hotel. Cleaning was ok, although i found several hair of the cleaning staff on the bathroom floors

    Hotel have nice location in city centre and close to the old city. Breakfast has good variety of food and breakfast area is very cosy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were some works going on on the top floor and workers used to start working very early in the morning and late at night, so at times it was very noisy. Also the shower we had in our room didn't have a hand held shower head and thus at least for us this was not comfortable.

    The location is central, with very good restaurant in the area, and close to citta alta.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Central located....good access to the airport. Very good and healthy breakfast. Staff at breakfast and reception very helpful. Room very clean and comfortable....hope to be back again in the near future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately,the smell of tobacco in " no smoking" room was quite intense,but more importantly,the smoke alarm was actually covered with the plastic bag! I am no expert,but isn't it a violation of fire safety as well as potentially lethal risk for the guest in case of real fire? Shocking!

    Overall-great hotel,great atmosphere and staff,excellent location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had no criticisms. The Cappello d'Oro lived up to its ranking as a four-star hotel.

    The helpfulness of the staff. The accommodation: our rooms, the breakfast room, lounge areas and the bar, which served light suppers that were very much to our taste. The cleanliness. The situation: Porta Nova is a nice area, a fine entrance area to a fine city. And, of course, the very reasonable cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was wonderful - a lot of choice so we have spent more time then expected. Be there earlier so that you can have time to visit the town as well :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have free water for guests in the rooms like many hotels have, so you need to pay for it. It's really unusual for 4*hotel.

    The location is great, the girls at the reception desk are very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only minor issue was that the bedroom was very warm when I arrived which was easily resolved by opening a window however, there was some late night noise if the window was left open.

    I spent a weekend in both Bergamo and Milan as a solo traveller and used the Capello D'Oro as a base. The hotel is ideally located with the bus stops to and from the airport within a few metres and it is only a short walk (less than ten minutes) to the train station with an hourly service to Milan. Staying in Bergamo is a much pleasanter experience than central Milan. Its also ideally located on a main thoroughfare with excellent access to very good shopping, bars and restaurants. You can also catch the bus or walk (15 minutes) to the funicular railway to go up to the Bergamo alta - the old town. My single room was exceptionally clean, good bathroom, newly furnished and decorated. Excellent selection at breakfast and helpful staff on the reception desk. Overall value for money was good and I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they have old and new rooms and they try to accommodate in old dirty rooms with bad bath room. reception do not learned their working, they do not carefully polite.

    breakfast, cleaning, location, lobby

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very clean & comfortable hotel, with an excellent breakfast, very helpful staff, easy to find, the bus stop from the airport is right opposite the hotel & just outside for the return, 5 minuet walk to the train station, good restaurants in the area with a decent pub round the corner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are smallish and imho a bit dated but my main gripe is about the cappuccino for breakfast. This is Italy for goodness sake. Why do you serve bland cappuccino from a coffee machine? ...and to make things worse that morning the machine had ran out of milk (powder!)

    Helpful staff at the reception. Very good location in the lower part of Bergamo. Very conveniently located if you want to take the bus to Bergamo Alta and on the other hand not far from the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the parking area is not obvious and needed to call reception, while waiting in front of the hotel, in a irregular, crowded, position, in a main avenue. Poor breakfast.

    Good room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk in the room took up unnecessary space. Otherwise very comfortable.

    The breakfast was my favourite thing- I loved the whole grain croissants. The staff were very nice people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Good location. Good staff. Good rooms. Perfect breakfast. The bus station is just opposite. The supermarket ir around the corner. The Old Town and the station is few minutes walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very delicious and various. We liked nice and helpful staff, clean room and great location (just in front of a bus stop on the way from the airport, not far away from the historical center of the city).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staf at the reception desk(especially the girls) was very kind and helped us on every ocassion end every time we asked for something. The breakfast was really excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You will probably want to turn off the radiator in winter. It was way too hot and thermostat seemed to act up a little. The safe in our room was already closed and locked. The staff should check that each time someone checks out of the room.

    Helpful and professional staff, with good command of English. Breakfast had plenty of choices. Location is great for both the airport, the train station, and visiting the city. Clean room with available power outlets by nightstands.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we stepped through the door the service was fantastic. The staff that were on were brilliant, very friendly. I will definitely stay again. Thank you for a lovely and friendly stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a technical issue with payment which meant I got charged twice and I am still trying to sort it out via the bank. I was not happy with the handling of the situation as there was no manager on site at the time. I had to contact the hotel numerous times before they began to look at the issue. Nothing was offered for the issue and inconvenience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car parking nearby.

    Nice place. The location is near a commercial zone and transportation. The accommodations are not exceptional (No dental kits or gadgets), but nice for sleeping and taking a shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A person at the reception who was on shift early in the morning was not fluent enough in English. Hard to control the air-conditioning in the room - it was too hot (27 degrees). Only 2 power outlets in the entire room. Poor wifi (as everywhere in Italy so far) :(

    Comfortable and tidy room, nice breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the start to the end of our 3 night stay we were pleased with the friendliest staff who made us feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast choice with the option to make your own smoothie. We had deluxe twin bedrooms on the 2nd floor with lots of space, minibar and kettle with tea selection. The hotel is very central with walking distance to the xmas market, supermarket, coin shopping centre and all restaurants. Bus stop from and to the airport (Nr. 1) in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had three single rooms for one night, the rooms were very nice and clean the only problem for us was the size of the rooms which are small, the bed was also small were all over 6 feet tall and our feet were hanging over the edge.

    Friendly staff on arrival very clean hotel fantastic breakfast good location in lower town close to train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a bit weak in my room, plus there was only two electrical plugs available.

    Very positive and helpful staff. Everything is made in order for you to just enjoy your stay. It was a great experience staying there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very charming hotel in an excellent location about a 6 minute walk from the station, Karin on reception was friendly, helpful & welcoming. As our room wasn't ready they let us leave our bags & when we came back later our bags were waiting for us in our room. There are great facilities at the hotel and a deliciously sumptuous breakfast is served each morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough complects in the room : 1 shampoo tube for 3 guests,not added during room cleaning. Paid accommodation,but the pre-booking at credit card still reserved . (though twice reported to the receptionist and confirmed to be released)

    Location,printer availability

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The central heating is imperfect: the first three night was very cold (external temperature was 10 C degree) and NO heating. The reception desk said, the heating works, but that was not the case. Ok, we got blankets and heater, but we missed the central heating. On our last night finally there was heating from 18 to 20h ...

    Nice clean room with a lovely view to the Porta Nuova - comfy bed, adequate bath, coffee maker. Very good breakfast with excellent service. Nice flower and Halloween arrangement in the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wall sockets were limited (only one available near bed in a double room)...charging mobiles/camera was challenging for 2 persons. The ac control was not working and room was too hot. The shower head was of fixed type, we prefer the shower with flexible tube.

    Hotel is based on classic design with aged decor but at the same time in symphony with the area and the buildings around. Room was well organised, spacious and clean. Bathroom was decent as well. The room included a mini bar, tea/coffee making facility with free supplies and also basic good quality toiletries. breakfast variety was excellent. Jonny in the breakfast area is an asset to the place and makes you feel important unlike the young ones.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff comfy bed, clean room fab view. I have stayed in this hotel before and I always enjoy my stay.i have also recommended it to friends who have also rebooked it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television wasn’t working properly...couldn’t shut it off! We had to unplug it! There were some internet issues, but they did attend to those quickly.

    Location was perfect. They had a room for the three of us which is uncommon in Europe. The breakfast was very good. Check in and out was seamless.. liked the new decor in the room. Very sharp!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were really friendly & accommodating. Location perfect for visiting La Citta Alta & also getting to/from the airport (bus stop is right outside the hotel) & train & bus stations which are 5 minutes walk away. The hotel has everything you could want & even provides a pre-breakfast buffet in the lobby for guests who are checking out early for flights. Really well organised and friendly hotel. Rooms are quiet & comfortable & bathrooms have a free standing shower unit rather than just the typical shower over the bath. Really great hotel, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a room for three adults, but the beds were not very comfortable. One of the beds was of a smaller size more suited to a child. The mattresses on all three beds were hard. Glasses and toiletries were only provided for two guests, e.g. two glasses, two spoons, even though it was meant to be a room suitable for three people. The breakfast buffet was good overall, but there were limited gluten free options. On the first day of our stay our names had not been included on the guest list, so the breakfast host claimed that we had not paid for the breakfast even though this had been paid for when the booking was made on Booking.com. This had to be confirmed with reception before we were able to eat. The list was updated for the following day.

    The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre in-between the main train station and Citta Alta (the Old Town). The airport bus stops just outside the hotel entrance. Easy and friendly checkin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke detector light in the room flashed every 8 or so seconds. During the night it is like having a strobe light in the room and it woke me up regularly. Very annoying!

    The room was small, but comfortable enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only 2 cartons of milk on the tea coffee tray.

    A great hotel, clean and a great location. A perfect breakfast and the waiter Jonny takes care of your every need. Outside towards the station can be a little dodgy after dark, but thats not the hotels fault.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The "deluxe" rooms vary greatly, and only one of the three we booked for our group was worth the extra money we paid. (Reception assured us that we had all been assigned deluxe rooms.) That was extremely annoying as the booking cost substantially more overall, and the stay at the hotel was intended as a birthday treat. We did like the hotel but would only book standard rooms next time.

    The hotel is in a really good location between the train station and main shopping area, also good for public transport. Staff are friendly and pleasant, the reception staff also speak good English. Hotel is very clean, rooms are well cleaned, etc. Breakfast was good, and there is a computer terminal in the lobby for printing out boarding passes, which is very handy (even if the printer itself is a bit temperamental).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    European pillows, need to have more choices

    Close to old town and all activities, very friendly, helpful, clean, comfy, easy parking for bus, sitting area and meals, breakfast very good and fresh

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Very central, short walk from railway station. Ideal if you are using Bergamo airport which is a bus ride away (bus outside hotel) or short taxi ride away. Breakfast excellent and waiter who has worked there for over 13 years is very friendly, polite and efficient. Stayed here many times and wouldn't hesitate to book again. Bergamo is a hidden gem - especially Bergamo alto the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bubbly water sounds continuously from air condition. Room not very sound proof. Did not spoil our stay

    Bed very comfortable. Excellent breakfast hotel very busy but always replenished lots of choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really cold early in the evening and then hot by 8am. No extra blankets in the room so I didn't sleep very well

    Room was clean and comfortable - location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our fourth visit to this hotel and it is not a real 4 star any more. Toiletries provided were one small bar of soap, one shower gel and one body lotion. On the first night we had to phone reception to ask for another shower gel and body lotion. Next day the room was cleaned but they never replaced the toiletries which meant we had to phone reception again. Very miserly for a 4 star.

    Breakfast choice was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent location close to the main shopping/eating area. Rooms are generously sized, clean and comfortable. Given its on a busy road noise wasn't an issue. Breakfast really good quality. From memory it's about 5-10 minutes walk from Bergamo station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear everything from the room next to you - poor insulation.

    Hotel is very well located, just to Porta Nuova. Airport bus stops outside the hotel. Breakfasdt is very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at breakfast Luke warm. I prefer my scrambled eggs, bacon , etc hot. As by the time you are half way through your breakfast it is barely warm and by the end of your breakfast you are actually eating cold scrambled egg. Yuk. Room has funny smell. Might be the cleaning products but when you entered bedroom it smelt nasty.

    Location great. Half way between train station and feniculor railway to citta atta. Staff were exceptional on reception. So helpful. Well done. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really helpful with recommendations for meals, room was pleasant and helpful exactly as advertised. There were bonus sun loungers on the balcony, if only time had permitted! Location is excellent for anyone arriving from the airport or train.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed huge and comfy Nice courtyard area for sunshine and an evening drink on first floor Breakfast good Location great- bus to and from airport stops right outside Short walk to train station and to Funicular for Old Town Staff very friendly and informative Photos are the view from outside hotel up to Old City and a little watercolour I painted of Church across road from hotel in the evening sun!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't recall anything. Probably they should have a place to park for a few minutes and get the luggage out. I had to stop at a bus stop, while the others get the luggage out, with the help of the hotel staff.

    This was by far the best hotel we booked in our 8-day trip. The location was excellent, several services around and plenty of free street parking from 19h. The breakfast was excellent, with a multitude of options, a very nice coffee machine, fruits and even gluten-free bread.The staff was very helpful when needed. They even have a very nice terrace and fitness room that we didn't use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i wasn't here almost 5 years and seems that it's time for some changes :)

    I received greatest invitation to improve my reservation and find out option of room with balcony. Balcony was super :) and costs just +5 euro, but you should be ready that room will be really small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated with classical Italian paintings and sculptures. There is a piano and a bookshelf with books in different languages. Our room had a wonderful view to a Church which keeps a famous fresco of Jesus Carrying the Cross. Rich breakfast with plenty of fruit; a cooking machine to make freshly squeezed juices; friendly and caring waitress Marta who served us coffee in the morning; professional and helpful staff at the front desk, made our stay in the hotel marvelous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast finishes too early. The shower didn't close properly.

    The room was cosy and confortable. The breakfast was excellent! And the staff very friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a bath would have been nice but for the purposes of our stay it's not really a complaint.

    The breakfast was really good, the breakfast staff and reception team were excellent. Everyone smiled and nothing was too much trouble, really nice people and a great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in excellent location near station and centre of lower city. Breakfast had good quality and choice. Staff friendly (special mention for Giulia).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't very effective. Yes it cools the room somehow but I had a feeling that it was on the limits even though it was not superhot days when we visited.

    Location is the best possible in Bergamo, rooms are not very modern but clean, breakfast is good but not awesome. Very good hotel if price is not too high.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel Cappello d'Oro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: