Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carasco 4 stars

Porto Delle Genti, 98055 Lipari, Italy

#20 of 21 hotels in Lipari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 176 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location, beautiful hotel, decent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were merely present than actually providing customer service. You had to squeeze for any kind of service. The shuttle was out of order for majority of our stay which we didn’t mind so much. However, when we checked out to make an early ferry at 7am, we were charged 20€ for the 4 minute journey that the hotel implied was at their expense due to the shuttle not being available so early. Perhaps a better customer service experience in the peak season when more staff are on board?

    Great location, beautiful hotel, decent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    Breathtaking views of an amazing island, from our too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was dusty and dirty ians corners in the bathroom.needed a good scrub. Had minimal staff, possibly due to season, which could have contributed to the general house keeping issue.

    The view was breathtaking, the staff friendly. Sheets and towels fresh and clean. Shuttle service was great and the driver obliging . Pool was amazing and clean. So nice having a seawater pool. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Amazing views out to sea from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed in the deluxe double room was two single beds pushed together. We would have expected better for a four star

    Amazing views out to sea from our balcony. The outdoor pool and access steps to the sea make it a really special place to stay. very helpful staff and the free bus shuttle makes it really easy to access Lipari town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend paying extra for the sea view it’s worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend paying extra for the sea view it’s worth waking up to... pool was lovely, direct access to the sea was great. €10 charge each to use the gym was a bit much I felt... breakfast wasn’t amazing but did the job... rooms are dated in-terms of decor but they are clean and air conditioned so we didn’t mind... steep hills but the shuttle service is great and the the town is only 10 minutes walk away!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Good Location but extremly overprized
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Building is from 1971 and has been pourly maintained since then thats why the basic furniture is in a very used condition. Furthermore there is no minibar, no bathrobes or slides and the sheets in the second bed haven‘t been changed all week. Also there is basically no room service and the breakfast is lacking variety with everything except sweets. But the biggest disappointment was that the high price of more than 600€ per night for 2 adults and one teenaged child didn‘t include food at the restaurant, towels (12€ for the stay) for the pool, cushions for the sunbeds or a visit in the very small and aged gym (10€ per person and visit). After all we will for sure never visit this hotel again and also don‘t recommend it to anybody visiting Lipari.

    The Location ist great with a wonderful view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in urgent need of upgrade. Not well maintained. Beds very creaky. No plugs to charge devices unless a bedside lamp or fridge is unplugged. Shower extremely small with just a shower curtain causing the floors to be flooded once shower finished. No toiletries supplied other than soap. Lighting in the bathroom terrible. Hairdryer very old fashioned attached to the wall with very little power. WiFi signal in the room weak. No English channels on tv. Breakfast was limited and poor with the same thing being offered everyday. The transfer bus is in appalling condition. The seats are torn and headrests badly damaged. Hotel is not 700 meters from the city centre as stated. It’s 1,5 km away. Not easily accessible. Hotel has no atmosphere. Staff very aloof, not sure if it’s because of the language barrier. Would definitely not rate this hotel as 4 star.

    Spectacular views. Breakfast room in a nice setting. Nice pool area with amazing views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Stunning views from a reasonable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite isolated so you’re quite restricted to spending time at hotel and eating there too. But this is the price you pay for the peace and amazing views. My room was quite small and not that nice. It was one of the cheaper ones as a single, but still hotel wasn’t cheap.

    There’s no disputing the incredible views from the pool terrace. It’s incredible. And the pool terrace itself. Restaurant food is good too. Staff are generally friendly and helpful and hotel offers transport into town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Panoramic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not very comfortable and the bathroom - mainly shower were tiny. There needs to be a working fan in the bathroom. The beach area is in need cleaning, the rubbish seems to get stuck in the bay. Perhaps the hotel staff can take out at least the plastic that washes up so the fish won’t eat it :(

    Enjoyed the panorama of the location and private swimming area. It is very scenic. There is a shuttle service to take you to town until 8pm - it isn’t really possible to walk the distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Beatiful view from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea towels just for charge Old and jarring bed Weak and unusable Wifi

    Beatiful view from the hotel Clean swimming pool Direct approach to the sea Delicious and copious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay at Hotel Carasco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of restaurant

    We came to Sicily on what i call a heritage trip. We traveled through many areas and stayed in a few from Castelemarre DelGolfo, Trappetto, Cefalù, Lipari and Taormina. Lipari is where my husbands great grandma “Nonnie” came from. A beautiful, future rich, “fishing town” with so much to offer. I’ll begin with our favorite part of the hotel ...the view and location! It was a bit more than short walk from town-about 10 minutes -7 to the Marina Corta. As beach bums many would be surprised to hear we didn’t leave the hotel!! The Ionian Sea from the cliff was my favorite spot. Never crowded yet had at-least 8 chaise lounges spread around in pairs...leaning the ability to stay private. I cant describe the pure seemingly untouched beauty we experienced at Hotel Carrasco. The view from our large room was beyond compare. Actually there wasn’t bad view in the hotel! Our room was large and very clean. The bathroom was large as well with a 2 head shower more than enough room for two. The balcony was, again, large clean...everything was perfect! My best way to describe it through the attached pictures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Great access to the sea but bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is very poor: The coffee from the machine is almost not drinkable, the croissants are harder than bread, the toast machine can only warm the bread but is unable to make any crust. Therefore we changed the hotel and are now staying at the Giardino sul Mare (Gardens by the Sea), which is nearer to the town and also provides direct access to the sea - and the breakfast ist great. In contrast to the hotel Carasco we now can close the curtains in our hotel room.

    The direct access to the sea is great and they picked us up very fast from the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.5
    Somewhat disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is showing its age and the grounds could be much better kept. Dead plants in pots etc. The hotel boasts a free shuttle service to and from the port but this is no longer available . Staff say it is a 10 minute walk to town. This is most optimistic as the walk involves several steep hills...took us nearer 20 minutes along lanes with no pavements.

    The desk staff were very helpful. Some restaurant staff inexperienced. Thie views from the hotel and the private beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    A charming traditional hotel built right on the rocks with amazing sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness suite was rather basic and became unavailable during our stay.

    Lovely old hotel on a seaside location. The building had real character. They ‘forgot’ to do our laundry which was rather annoying.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Unbeatable views and a very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nothing special, but perfectly fine.

    Hotel Carasco has an unbeatable location - with balconies overlooking the beautiful blue sea, a great swimming pool, as well as a fab rock platform where you can jump right into the crystal clear seawater. The hotel might be a little old-school/slightly worn around the edges, but it's extremely clean and a very relaxing wonderful place to stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, lovely and not “boutiqued” up......made great use of the natural setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping

    The room was comfortable. With the upgrade to a water view, we were able to sleep without A/C, just a ceiling fan and open balcony doors. The staff were great and we made ample use of the hotel shuttle to get to town. Breakfast was really good and we ate in the restaurant both nights, which was excellent. Had to do some dusting in the room.....housekeeping is a shortcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Friendly hotel with breathtaking views to relax and enjoy Lipari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was comfortable and roomy but in need of a facelift. In general the hotel looked a little tired. We stayed for 5 nights and our bed linen and towels were not changed in that time. The position of the hotel and the views more than compensated for this minor glitch. We may have misunderstood the sign but we also got the impression that to use a hotel pool towel came at the cost of 3 euro per day. We also felt that perhaps they were understaffed especially in the dining room at breakfast. Tables not cleared promptly or reset ready for the next guests.

    The staff were helpful and friendly and the views over the Tyrrhenian Sea were amazing. Sitting on the terrace near the pool having a drink at sunset was what you imagine a holiday on an island should be. The small area at the base of the cliff where you could swim or relax on a lounge was very special. The walk into the Marinas was about 15 mins , or the hotel shuttle bus would take you if you didn't feel like the exercise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing. Moved to a much cheaper hotel on Lipari afterwards which had far superior facili
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in room, no magnifying mirror, no soap, no rubbish bin except in bathroom. Had to pay extra to use beach towels, bars were not staffed, no cushions on sun beds. Not enough staff to cope. Poor breakfast. Fealty Towers type of establishment. Gun and tonic served in throw away thin plastic cup and over priced.

    The view from the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    If you want the complete Mediterranean dream vacation. This is the place to dream it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff - helped me with my terrible Italian. A grand pool then a few stairs to the sea with a tiny island just big enough for two lounges. The complete Mediterranean dream

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place with an excellent view. I would recommend the Carasco to Friends and Family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the balcony of our room was spectacular. The land scape of the hill sides and houses in a stair step image facing the harbor to me was worth the cost of the room. We also had a great view of the Lipari Castle. The staff was very helpful and provided a myriad of information about the island. I would advise renting a scooter or car which is reasonably priced. It's about a 15 min commute from the harbor to the hotel if you come in from Milazzo on the hovercraft. Catching a cab is 15.00 Euro from the hotel to the main area. This can add up each day depending on the length of your stay. Over all, it was a great trip, and my wife and I will visit Lipari again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Not very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the toilets were disgusting . Too many couples in love , too expensive for the affogato, the location was inconvenient .the room service was not attention to detail .

    The private beach was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    From the moment i arrived, i got a five star service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was great i cant say i didnt like anything.

    The front reception were ecellent not to mention the valet drivers who drove me back and forth to the main port district.The waiters and cleaners always smiled and greeted me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    The best stay on our vacation!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Waiting for the shuttle to take us into town. Though it is walkable, it is hilly and we could not do it as I traveled with my Mom 80+ years old.

    Spectacular view from our balcony. Sea water pool. Hotel is beautiful.....it has a Spanish/Moorish look. Perched on a hill, we went down the stairs for dip in the sea. Restaurant is fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location and view. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Typical Italian style hotel, stunning view to the sea, great pool and restaurant. Great service all around and good enough wi-fi, also in the rooms. In addition, free shuttle to drive you around. Did not really understand earlier reviews, of course if one is not familiar with Italian culture and way of life, things can seem like glass is half empty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.8
    The most expensive hotel we stayed at and definitely not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and not well maintained, the rooms were very sparsely fitted out and not clean enough. There were none of the normal facilities one would expect from a 4 star hotel: there were no glasses in the bedroom, only shrink wrapped thin plastic disposables; no tea and coffee making facilities in the room; cheap bathroom linen - think threadbare bathmat with fraying edges, greying towels; the top sheet on my bed had a very visible tear in it! The toilet paper and toiletries were cheap. The rooms were not made up until after we complained at 4.30pm on our first full day there. The hotel is large and appears to cater primarily to families with children so the swimming pool and surrounding areas were frequently very crowded and noisy. The tiles were coming off the bottom of the pool and generally it did not look very well cared for and clean so we swam in it once and not again; that was a great disappointment as we had looked forward to a few days relaxing by the pool. Generally we felt that things were being done to minimise expense rather than maximise the enjoyment of guests. The hotel is definitely not 4 star standard, we would have said 3 stars at most.

    The views from the property were wonderful as were the grounds/gardens. There was a complimentary shuttle service with a friendly driver which was good as the hotel is out of town but unfortunately the service stopped at 8pm so after dinner each night we needed to take a taxi back rather than walk up the very steep driveway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.5
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the distance to the main shopping area difficult to walk in the heat as the shuttle bus wasn't always available. Couldn't always get wifi in our room.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the swimming facilities and access to the sea . Breakfast was full of variety .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Full of promise, entirely lacking in character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel lacked any charm or character whatsoever and, I am sorry to say, so did the staff. All the ingredients are there - the hotel architecture, its location, the pool, the private sea-bathing area - but the hotel had absolutely no character or "life". Reception was rarely manned and when staff appeared they exhibited no hospitality, smiles or graciousness. Similarly at breakfast time, staff seemed to be going about their jobs almost as if the guests did not exist. I know that can be a good thing sometimes, but it was evidenced here by conversations across the heads of guests and clearing of tables in a very "obvious" rather than subtle manner. On one occasion, we heard management staff arguing heatedly behind the reception desk while we waited for attention. This was incredibly disappointing. I don't know whether this is a case of "faded glory", new management or simply a lack of understanding and implementation of the most basic customer service standards. It is a huge missed opportunity. Although this was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed in on our two-week tour, it was the one I would be least likely to recommend to anyone. We said nothing at the time, as there was nothing to "complain" about. It is more a matter of style and character - and this hotel lacks both. Perhaps I should have guessed that this would happen. I emailed the hotel before we left the UK to tell them this was our thirtieth wedding anniversary. (Yes, I used their own website's contact details.) I received no reply.

    This hotel is in a fantastic location. It was the cliff-side position and the swimming pool that led us to make the booking, together with the anticipation that this might be a "grand hotel" with a certain tradition. It was highly rated and within walking distance of the harbour, which suited us well as backpackers relying on public transport and trying to avoid having to use taxis. Oh, and this was our thirtieth wedding anniversary, so we were prepared to spend a little more than our usual daily budget on this three-night stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a four star hotel. Completely over priced. Beds are the worst I've stayed in and the walls are paper thin. there was a weird noise in the room that didn't stop for the duration of my stay. Complained about the noise and the bed to reception and they said all I could do was pay for an upgrade! I've stayed in a lot of hotels and the beds here are by far the worst. Need to be under the influence in order to fall asleep! restaurants nearby are okay but are extremely overpriced. The whole of lipari is a bit of a tourist trap.

    Pool area was really good and it has a six foot diving board which is fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    An amazing view, the staff were lovely in accomodating for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double beds were just two single beds joined together so it was a bit uncomfortable but other than that everything was great.

    An amazing view, the staff were lovely in accomodating for our needs. The location was everything we wanted and more. Only a short walk into the marina. We had a very relaxing stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Highly recommend for value and ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was great. Meals in restaurant exceeded expectations, facilities were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, pool, restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, pool, restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    The most beautiful location on Lipari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not particularly comfortable and the WiFi was pretty poor

    The most beautiful location on Lipari

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    No staff there when needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff there when needed. Bad pool bar service and too expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big tour groups which could be noisy at times no shuttle service apart from pick up and drop off

    friendly staff nie view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    value for money was very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy full of tour groups no shuttle service only on arrival and departure

    view at breakfast helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    a little too expensive but a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better. The coffee is bad.

    Great waters

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Carasco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly hard mattress but I'm being picky

    Great location and probably best hotel on Lipari. Very good staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Top location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location. Beach cliff outstanding. Restaurant recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Access to the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Access to the water

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    A glorious location and a fabulous pool and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little dull but really ok

    The location was fantastic and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Really bad internet connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really bad internet connection

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Great views from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Location View

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.8
    Amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable, I woke up numb a few times.

    Amazing views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Bellissimo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk from town or 15 euro by taxi

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    6.3
    This hotel grew on us - initially we were disappointed, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel grew on us - initially we were disappointed, the view was incredible but the hotel was very old style - dark furniture and dark tiles everywhere. As the days went by (we had 6) we realised we were warming to the laid back atmosphere, the fantastic access to swimming in beautiful sea water and that view never failed! Sadly the bed didn't get any more comfortable! Overall we would recommend Carasco as a great choice from which to explore the islands but also enjoy beautiful peaceful surroundings. The staff were very helpful, the shuttle bus service was great.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.9
    Position in cliff overlooking bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of info about services offered; I.e. Schedule for Shuttle to and from town; water sports available directly from hotel, meal choices

    Position in cliff overlooking bay

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    There was nothing more spectacular than sitting in a lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't expect four star accommodations based on other reviews of this property...and we're not very picky about not having things fit for a king...but the beds in this hotel were absolutely the worst we have ever experienced in all of our travels. Rock hard mattresses and pillows to match. I didn't think you could buy a pillow that unyielding. They get a zero in comfort from our family.

    There was nothing more spectacular than sitting in a lounge chair and taking in the beautiful coast line of Lipari. We booked this hotel based on the photographs of the sea. And we were not disappointed in that respect. This hotel does need a face lift, however. I had read on another review that the furnishings and decor were straight out of the 70's and they were true to that description. They rooms are sparsely furnished and need a make over. What the hotel lacked in amenities it made up for with the quality of the people that work there. The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of pasteries, meats, cheeses and beverages. The hotel lacked any real menu for poolside snacking, however, aside from beverages and a few small plates. This was disappointing as there was no where else to eat because the hotel restaurant did not serve lunch. It was a long time between breakfast and dinner unless you took the shuttle into town for a mid day meal.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    Spectacular location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast too heavy on breads/cakes.

    Spectacular location. Great pool and Mediterranean swimming from hotel rocks. Nice public areas and bars. Short walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    5.0
    Hard to argue with the location as it is right on the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel felt understaffed and the staff was not especially helpful; perhaps they were overworked. Seemed the hotel had fallen on tough times. The walk into town wasn't too bad - about 15 mins, but in hindsight, we would have been better off right in town.

    Hard to argue with the location as it is right on the water and had incredible views. Pool was great but pretty crowded and rowdy. I booked this place because of those steps into the Mediterranean - we did swim from there but lounge chairs were taken early.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    This hotel is amazing, the views, waterfront, pool, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was quite uncomfortable, as is the case with most beds I've had throughout my travels in Italy.

    This hotel is amazing, the views, waterfront, pool, and staff are all top notch!!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    Awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the pool staff do not speak English at all, so obviously they are friendly to Italian guests but colder to other guests.

    Awesome location! Close enough to to town for a leisurely walk. Christian bends over backwards to help, accommodate and support. This is an Italian family hotel and not a international chain hotel, that is a huge positive! The saltwater pool is always pristinely clean, that it's beautiful is clear from the pics. The food in the restaurant was incredible ! I am vegetarian and had a great selection Although most of the guests were Italian there was a nice international mix

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful pool and view on Lipari, proximity to the sea,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet was mediocre, staff in restaurant was unattentive, the quality of service and food rather represents an average 3*** hotel.

    Beautiful pool and view on Lipari, proximity to the sea, nice room.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    The views of both the sea and the village were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit of a walk from the village. The free shuttle bus only ran until 8pm which meant taxis home (€10). For the price I paid for a superior room I would have expected a double bed (and not two singles pushed together). Breakfast was very average and I was particularly disappointed by the lack of fresh fruit when the local produce is so delicious, tinned fruit at these prices is not good enough.

    The views of both the sea and the village were wonderful. The pool was lovely and big and the hotel wasn't too crowded. The hotel restaurant was good but a lighter menu option for lunch would have been nice for those who didn't want to do the three course option. Wifi was only available in reception but it actually made it easier to relax. Hotel itself was lovely, clean and comfortable but not luxury.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.5
    The view, the pool and ocean terrace were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mattress in our twin room was so old that the springs were protruding with only the mattress cover stopping them from making contact with your skin. When brought to the attention of the front reception they were most helpful. The housekeeping supervisor however was very cross and disbelieving insisting that we go back to the room and prove that there was a problem and even when shown the mattress was extremely reluctant to address the problem. The shuttle bus driver was rude and unhelpful and changed the finishing time of the evening shuttle seemingly dependent upon how he felt even though the front reception staff said it was available until 9.30 pm.

    The view, the pool and ocean terrace were amazing. The front reception staff during the day were extremely helpful. The rooms were a generous size and the bathrooms were beautifully decorated and well resourced.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    The location, the beauty of the hotel, and the friendliness,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location, the beauty of the hotel, and the friendliness, helpfulness, and patience of the staff were all extraordinary. We can't wait to to return.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful location and views .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi limited - showers Luke warm

    Beautiful location and views . Pool area wonderful and to be able to dip into the sea below hotel great

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    5.8
    the pool and access to the private jetty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi in rooms, poor restaurant. uncomfortable bed.

    the pool and access to the private jetty. the free ride to town. helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    2.9
    Leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very rude

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    Location, direct access to the sea, beautiful decor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in the bedrooms

    Location, direct access to the sea, beautiful decor, friendly & helpful staff, authentic atmosphere, views

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Great pool, nice restaurant, relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great pool, nice restaurant, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    2.5
    Nothing horrendous experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything

    Nothing horrendous experience

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    My wife had two massages and the man who gave them was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road going to the Hotel

    My wife had two massages and the man who gave them was great. Great pool

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.6
    Location, ambiance, lack of pretension, view, helpful staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location, ambiance, lack of pretension, view, helpful staff, room.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Spacious hotel with comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi

    Spacious hotel with comfortable rooms

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hotel Carasco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: