Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caravaggio Hotel 4 stars

Piazza Cardinale Riario Sforza, 157, Naples Historical Centre, 80139 Naples, Italy

#138 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    3.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Location good but hotel needs to provide more for breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities breakfast didn't have any sort of fruit very poor.

    Breakfast is very poor and not good quality the beds is like sleeping on bricks and at check out they wanted us to pay again when we had already paid had to waste time finding my payment as they would not believe me turned out it was there fault

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was well located in a nice small square in the centre with little noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was limited, not many options and the rooms didnt have the basic function of wifi, only in reception area.

    The hotel was perfectly located, very central, and in a small square away from the noise of the city, Naples is a beautiful and energetic city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.8
    Should not be recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room was a box without the requested twin beds Rubbish in drawers Most unhelpful receptionist AC broken in second room the following day and not repaired at all Unwelcoming hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay in Naples, lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff with good English and lots of tips where to visit! Loved the location. Easy to walk most places though took taxis to the Port. Lots of lovely Pizzerias around. A wonderful time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location for the old town sites, be prepared to use taxis to go further. Helpful Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite a tricky walk to the nearest metro the main train Station or the Port.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were all different and comfortable. Hotel was in the middle of the old town and perfectly located for historic sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Basic hotel at very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a window but a very high window with tempered glass. Very simple furniture. The bathroom very basic.The shower cabin is very small (a larger person wouldn't be able to turn) and when using, the water is running all over the floor.

    Very central position. At the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    3.3
    The service was just a disaster, we had to wait in the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was just a disaster, we had to wait in the main door for a long time to someone to open, the room was dirty, there were old clothes within the furniture. They claim they have wifi and they don't. Humidity, noisy and smelling bad. Please avoid this hotel, it will destroy the fantastic Napoli city if you come here. They don't deserve to be part of Booking network.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    3.8
    Broken Shower, Small Rooms, Bad Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given an office space that had been recently converted into a room (no door number) and told that it was a full suite room. It was incredibly small, and within minutes of being there we noticed that the bathroom had only one small light, and that the shower broke off in our hand. We complained about this and moved room, but soon found out that the rest of the hotel was in poor condition as well. The area around the hotel is quite risky and unsafe; we ventured out for a meal and felt uneasy the entire time. Eventually we left early because it was too unpleasant to stay.

    Not much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    pleasant hotel in good location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice and helful staff, good lacation, big room

    My bed was very hard but with blanket underneath the sheet it was better Would be nice to have coffee/yea making facilities in the room Breakfast was not great, no eggs, fruit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.0
    Don't go if you need wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast, was pretty slim, very, very inconvenient that there was no wi-fi in the rooms (not just in the very small reception area), maybe they could have 2 of the 500 tv channels in English, as other hotels had, there was trouble with the A/C, a single bath towel was provided (why?!); the "business center" was a single desktop computer with no sound and limited functionality.

    The reception staff were generally friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    a good choice if you want to stay in the historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in a good central location steps from the Duomo and Spaccanapoli. It is spotlessly clean and the staff are great. By no measure is it however a four star hotel. It is a very good three star. A good choice if you want to be in the historic centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Great location in old city with its many charms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very satisfactory and modern. Only slight concerns were crack in middle of wood toilet seat, very slow drainage of toilet and sink, and very weak reading lights by bed.

    Location and price were excellent. Next to Duomo and in middle to old town - busy, narrow street, plenty of character and very close to several churches with Amazing interiors. Lots of hustle bustle but all in friendly way. Staff on duty 24 hours and very helpful for info and calling cab to AP at 4:30 AM.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    A functional Hotel near a lot of sites of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could have been improved and WI FI extended from the lobby area.

    A functional Hotel near a lot of sites of interest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for city centre and places to visit. Comfortable and clean with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-fi in room, breakfast uninspiring, only lift access, no stairs

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean room and bathroom,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.3
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Very dirty with hardly any options for breakfast. A dirty part of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.5
    Very hospitable and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast simple - could be a little more choice

    Very hospitable and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    No WiFi in room or in breakfast area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left door unlocked after maid service.

    No WiFi in room or in breakfast area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Loved Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tissues not included

    Location , friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Stuff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was not so clean.

    Stuff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Room-service is available.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wi-fi in the bedroom. Basic hotel.

    Room-service is available. Late check-out at no extra charge. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.7
    fantastic position within walking distance of the best sites...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    plumbing very noisy, breakfast needs improvement and a better bar for aperiti and after dinner drinks would be an improvement.

    fantastic position within walking distance of the best sites to visit in Naples - staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.8
    The staff of this place is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A few things were not good. First,there were cigarette butt on on my balcony when I checked in. So, the room wasn't completely clean. The AC didn't work and the room got hot at night. I couldn't open my balcony because it's shared with the next room. That's not safe, especially for a single woman traveller. Noise from neighboring bldgs is loud...why do those women talk so loud!??

    The staff of this place is exceptional..always friendly, always helpful, amazing. The location is close to everything, you can walk all day then return home for a nap then back out again. It's perfect. The breakfast staff is friendly and very accommodating. Good bathroom products!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    Location is ideal for exploring the historical centre's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    Location is ideal for exploring the historical centre's churches and museums. Via dei Tribunali is filled with excellent restaurants. The staff, especially Elia, were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    10
    the staff were very accomodating and the location is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the Hotel was a little difficult to find because the hotel sign was not visible

    the staff were very accomodating and the location is very good because it's near the tourist attractions.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    9.6
    The staff were more than helpful, friendly and advised on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The staff were more than helpful, friendly and advised on restaurants and points of interest. The hotel is in the old part of Naples on a no car street making it quiet at night. Lift is great.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.1
    close to historic sites, staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room 109 was fine, but our friends in 204 had a smelly, old bathroom and a window that looked into another room in the hotel. Mediocre breakfast. Staff smoked in the only outdoor sitting area.

    close to historic sites, staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    6.7
    Staff was so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The general hotel linens were really old looking and made me feel dirty touching them (tablecloths, bedding, towels). The room was dirty when we arrived. The staff offered me to see another room which was worse so we made the best of it. The bed was two twin beds pushed together. You could only access wifi from the lobby.

    Staff was so friendly and helpful. Very sweet people. Great balcony view of the street. Smoking patio chairs out front. great location.I saw staff very polite to some rude travelers who bossed them around and they never lost their cool.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.8
    Very central in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no reason why this hotel should be noted with 4 stars. The rooms are directed towards small inner courtyards with very little light. Also the rooms are equipped with the necessary, but not even close to what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. They have a lot of small defaults such as half of the shower door missing or the toilet flush running constantly. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who searches more than just a central place to spend the night.

    Very central in the old town. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.0
    The slippers were a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower was moldy, didn't drain well and had no shelf for soap, shampoo, etc. No internet in room. Spotty and slow in lobby area. Sink clogged as well.

    The slippers were a nice touch. Young woman at front desk was outstanding and helpful. Gave great restaurant recommendations and arranged ride to airport.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Everything, staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel was spotless, very good air conditioning in my room and throughout the hotel,safe in the room, mini fridge to keep your drinks cool, breakfast was good and very fresh everyday, I highly recommended this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast was reasonable and included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was absolutely horrible. It was like a student hostel--plastic buttons poking through the sheets. The air conditioner broke in the morning just as we were waking up, but instead of saying that, they claimed it comes back on in a few minutes. (It had been an hour) before finally admitting it was broken. I had to be careful to sleep between them. Furthermore, the hotel claimed I hadn't paid, but I had paid with booking.com. Booking.com was nice enough to refund their payment to me but it added to the annoyance. (My guess is they lost the commission as a result). This is a dangerous part of town. I was assaulted just walking down the street. Do not wear any jewelry or watch that you don't want stolen. Apparently in Naples it has got so bad that the good hotels offer to give guests an inexpensive watch to wear and put their good watches in the safe. But this is an unusual location in town and the taxi driver at the airport had trouble finding it.

    Breakfast was reasonable and included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.0
    Female staff members helpful with directions and places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One male staff member informed us with great confidence that our prepaid booking had not been charged to a bank account, and forced through a second payment. After providing a bank statement saying the opposite and calling booking . com, lengthy meaningless discussions made us miss our train connection. Although our double charge was finally reimbursed, it was altogether an unpleasant experience.

    Female staff members helpful with directions and places to visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    A quiet oasis amid the bustle of Centro Historico.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet is only in the lobby.

    A quiet oasis amid the bustle of Centro Historico. Very centrally located, walk-able to major sites. Staff very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    All the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were a little hard for me. But I am used to both a mattress and box springs.

    All the staff were very helpful. Room was clean. Great value.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    7.9
    Good location, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free Wi-Fi only in the lobby

    Good location, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    5.8
    Visiting a new place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the Hotel

    Visiting a new place

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    5.8
    position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    furniture, cleaness

    position

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Hotel in Centro Storico and bags of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    n/a

    Hotel in Centro Storico and bags of character

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    The friendliness of the reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like the noise from the old Italian women in the flat opposite - chatting loudly until 3am.

    The friendliness of the reception staff

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Great staff, good breakfast, central location in the...
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi only available in the lobby, extra tax has to be paid with cash

    Great staff, good breakfast, central location in the historic center

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    5.8
    Close to sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    risky neighborhood. Our friend had her watch ripped off her arm by 2 guys on a motorcycle.

    Close to sites.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    location, friendly staff and ideally situated for old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, friendly staff and ideally situated for old town sites.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: