Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cardinal of Florence 3 stars

Borgo Pinti 5, San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50121 Florence, Italy

#159 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1411 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a city tax that is not included in the price. It's only a small amount but I didn't expect it.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful as regards what to see in Florence. The location is ideal with everything within walking distance. It's not a huge hotel so it was fairly quiet and the breakfast room was not too busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on 3rd floor, there is no lift but staff do help with bags.

    Really friendly staff, so helpful. Location was brilliant. Room was comfortable. Great view from roof terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was cramped. The shower room was too small and in poor repair. The climb to the reception area is difficult for some and best forgotten.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3 flights of stairs no lift BUT staff did help with all luggage Roof top terraces was smaller than pictured on booking.com and needs some TLC e.g paint the chairs

    The reception where excellent, efficient and friendly, the location, view from roof top terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower area was super small. My elbow kept hitting the wall and knocking things over.

    This was so close to the heart of florence. They have incredible staff who are friendly and give you a map of the city with the best food places, landmarks, gelato spots and best pizza in florence! O'Munaciello's! They also have a rooftop terrace where you can see the duomo and other parts of florence. The room was tidy and cleaned daily. I'd easily come back and stay here. Great price, location, staff and room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it’s on the third floor and no lift but staff super helpful with bags. Wouldn’t be any good for wheelchair user or limited mobility though. Perfect for us however!

    Very comfortable accommodation and great location. Breakfast was simple but a perfect start to the day in advance of much larger meals in Florence later in the day. Staff exceptionally helpful and polite (just ask if you need help with the staircases and baggage) and the location was perfect - 3 mins from lovely square but far enough away for no noise. Roof terrace is exceptional... no need to pay to climb other monuments!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs! We have to walk up 3 flight of steep stairs but that's for Italy! Steps everywhere. Lucky the porter help us with our luggage when we arrived but we have to bring our own down after checking out. Should have someone readily available to assist. Not suitable for elderly people to stay here or those with knee injury.

    The room was so comfortable and our window was facing the sky and it was full moon that night it was so beautiful! Staff were helpful and friendly. You can open the window for cool breeze and when it's shut you cannot hear any noise from the happening street below at night. We slept soundly. Hotel is walking distance to touristy and shopping area. Few cafes and small restaurants just along the way for you to check out if you are feeling peckish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is fairly tiny, but nothing out of the ordinary for Europe.

    Bed was great. Breakfast is included and had a nice selection. The room and bathroom are small but comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like about this facility.

    Staff was amazing. Hotel is extremely clean and rooms were amazing. I strongly recommend this property. Staff helped us book excursions, carry luggage, call for taxis and recommended delicious restaurants. 100% would come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no elevator and the hotel is located on the 3rd floor which can pose a serious problem for elderly guests - located in a very narrow, limited access road, so it is almost impossible to unload the car in front of the hotel - bathroom looked old fashioned and could use a makeover

    - Good location in the city center - friendly and helpful staff - free bottle of Prosecco as a welcome gift - the hotel has a beautiful rooftop terrace that offers stunning views of the city - decent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anyone has trouble climbing stairs, this may not work for you. There are stairs and no elevator, but for us it was totally worth the stairs.

    The location was perfect. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with fresh juices, pastries, cheeses, meats, fresh-baked panini, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. The view from the terrace was breaktaking. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating. They made us reservations at a nearby excellent restaurant, held our bags a little while after we had to check out so we could see a bit more Florence, helped with our car, and recommended the best places to go and see and places to eat. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the last floor of building with no elevator. There is no iron available.

    The view from the terrace is great.The breakfast is good and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to climb a few flights of stairs with our luggage as the hotel has no elevator! Good exercise though but might make tough going if not very fit.

    The rooftop terrace was AMAZING! 😍Breakfast was a decent selection of fresh bread rolls, cold meats, cheeses and cereals with coffee or fresh fruit juices to drink. Not bad considering Italians are not that big on breakfast! Also, the staff were brilliant especially Rodolfo at reception. He was incredibly friendly, polite, knowledgeable and extremely helpful- providing us with welcome drinks and great sightseeing suggestions as and when needed! Thank you! To everyone at the hotel who made my first trip to Florence, that much more memorable!😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was at the top of the entrance stairs & next to the umbrella rack so it was a little noisy; the hotel had a sign in the room offering ear plugs if needed.

    Fantastic hotel staff and a superb location; everything is within walking distance. Clean and spacious room. Lovely views from the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the third floor of an old building so tricky to access with luggage but staff did offer help.

    Location. Easy to walk to historic sights and eateries and supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to climb quite a few flights of stairs to the hotel, little difficult to find the entrance to the hotel on arrival. Rooms were basic, shower was very small. Room walls were not very sound proof if at all! Roof top terrace was very small and extremely basic!

    Location was great. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was Perfect!!!

    Both of receptionists was perfect!!! They explain us everything about Florence(tourist areas for city contact, best taverns, atractions..everything)!!! Thank you so much!!! The Breakfast was AMAZING!!! It was an experience for us!!! We will go back again for sure!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing the hotel could have done, but the hotel is located at the top of many stairs. No lift available, so be prepared to carry luggage.

    Hard boiled warm eggs-so fresh! Front desk staff was always helpful and informative. The bed was comfortable. Our stay exceeded our expectations. The price was less expensive than many close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thin walls and smell of mould on the walls behind the bed.

    The staff were delightful and super friendly and helpful. The room was lovely too, apart from the walls being slightly too thin that you could hear your neighbours toilet sounds next door. I could smell the wall mould behind one side of the bed, which was very strong and difficult to avoid. Overall the room was spotless and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The streets of Florence can be quite loud, especially on Saturday and Sunday evenings. So, rooms situated on such a side of a street could be of disadvantage.

    Perfectly located, since almost every attraction is just within a short minute walk. The staff was super friendly, helpful and hospitable, willing to assist you in everything needed. The rooms were clean (including complimentary water and a mini-bar) and the beds really comfortable. The breakfast was simple but really tasty. Do not miss on the chance to enjoy a lovely view from the roof terrace over the charming Florence!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the stairs aspect. I have back issues. And the walking really took a toll on my back . Location of my room, I had to endure noise on the street. Was not happy when I booked through booking. com, I pressed for breakfast included. What when I paid my bill, it said it wasn’t included! I sent an email and was waiting to hear from the hotel , but they couldn’t accommodate me. When I arrived at the hotel I told them of this and they wouldn’t acclimated me. So NO, I don’t plan on staying at your hotel again.

    Size of room. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of the room

    This hotel was one of many we stayed in on our trip around Italy. When we arrived on an early Sunday morning, we were greeted by a very helpful guy who gave us a map and an itinerary of what we could do including where the best places to eat where etc in our short time there. Upon leaving on a Tuesday morning again another guy asked us if he could be of any help getting a taxi a coffee etc. In the most ideal spot for the centre and places to eat, hotel is on the third floor with no elevator which wasn’t an issue for us but the staff are more than happy to carry up your luggage if you think you’d struggle. Our one snag was that our room was quite cold but we had a nice big window and it was Avery cold feb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being near the street window it was noisy until 5am on weekends due to people drinking

    Amazing location and staff. The terrace is beautiful and an amazing view of the city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware of a few flights of stairs if that's an issue for you personally.

    good location amazing view from rooftop terrace clean rooms very friendly and helpful staff good quality at reasonable price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the breakfast we meet a lady who was quite grumpy and kept on explaining how to toast a slice of bread as it was the first time we use a toaster. A coffee machine was placed in the room but coffee or tea bags/caps were not included, I encourage you to consider ether to add them or remove the coffee maker from the room.

    The property is located in the very heart of Florence and it has a beautiful panoramic terrace from where you can admire all the city. Our room was modern and really cleaned, with a small balcony facing the Halley beside the Hotel. The front Desk staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and made us feel looked after.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase (4 flights and no lift), the drinks available at breakfast - the juice was more like squash (fresh orange juice would have been great) and the coffee was disgusting, from a machine with no fresh milk, couldn’t drink it and had to buy another coffee elsewhere after. Visited Italy many times and all other hotels I’ve stayed in have had far nicer coffee, even much cheaper hotels and hostels. Asked for a double bed and got two singles.

    The staff were very friendly and gave great recommendations of things to see and restaurants to try, loved the rooftop terrace with a great view, good variety of food at breakfast. The room was warm and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't the strenuous four flights up to get back my room, but you have to take them into account.

    The quiet here, at the center of this splendid town whose dialect word for "street" (chiasso) is a synonym in general Italian for "loud racket"!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only disadvantage is that you have to go up third floors with your luggage.

    The breakfast is simple and good. The location is fantastic and convenient to all attractions. Lots of good restaurants are nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is located on a narrow lane that is typical of Florence's medieval charm. The big green door through which you enter the residential building where the hotel is located, on the third floor, only adds to the allure. The hotel is a 5-minute walk away from the Duomo, which is the centre of the old city, and all the major sites are within walking distance. The rooms are neat and have windows that look onto the Duomo and neighbouring tiled-roof buildings. The heater in the bathroom is kept on, which is useful if you are travelling in November or later. The biggest attraction is the panoramic rooftop cafe, from where you can see the whole of the city. The view is truly memorable, and it helps that your are left alone on the terrace and can take your own food and beverages there. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They speak fluent English and go out of their way to make your stay not just in the hotel, but in Florence comfortable. All the concierges seem to have a genuine passion for the city and will recommend sites to see and great restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the worst thing is the noise, you can hear people outside, people in the rooms next to you, people who are preparing breakfast (I though the quests were talking so loudly but it was the lady who was preparing the breakfast, doesn't she know people in the nearby rooms can hear everything??); it's ok for short stay, definitely not more than 2 nights

    good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    couldnt get english t.v channel !! the 3 flights of stairs felt like 13 !! neither were a problem though! x

    FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF,GREAT LOCATION,CLEAN COMFY ROOMS.STUNNING VIEWS FROM THE TERRACE.GOOD BREAKFAST SELECTION

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most expensive "hotel" we stayed in. GPS got us in front of hotel in alley but we didn't find the hotel until later. No one from locals knew were it was and it was 10 meters from us. Very small sign. Located on third floor of residential building, with "parking available" and no elevator it could pass as apartments, not hotel. We payed parking 30 euros for one night and had driver take a car to garage, then waited 45 minutes next day because it was in garage far away. Room was spacious but cheaply made. Small iron frame bed with bad mattress, 3 foldable chairs hanging from the wall with coat hangers hanging from them...I guess decorative in purpose, but great for loosing an eye and looks really bad. We payed more for bath room but bath fits only one (we are really slim). Useless decorations are cheap and look cheap. Still don't know why they call themselves smart hotel of Florence.

    Staff was great, nice and welcoming. Really clean and mini bar had choice of drinks and snacks at good prices. Coffee machine (with 2 doses of coffee and cream) in the room and filtered water were a nice surprise. Complementary shower gel and body cream were high quality. Breakfast was exceptional, great choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was on the third floor and there was no elevator, but the staff will help with luggage.

    The location, so close to the Duomo was good. I was able to walk to the train station and megabus stop with my light luggage. There were many good restaurants nearby. It was clean and breakfast was included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I unfortunately slept badly. Woke up with pain in my back and neck. Was awoken by the cleaner entering the room without knocking. Hotel is very noisy at night. View of the duomo from hotel room balcony was slightly disappointing, we could only see the tip of the dome. Breakfast was nice but limited.

    Beautiful view from the terrace! The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Advised us on how to get around and where to eat. The hotel was a bit hard to find and is on the third floor without a lift but staff are there to help you carry your suitcases up.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the hotel beds (5) we stayed in Italy were hard so I wouldn't blame this particular hotel.

    Location was fantastic, we walked everywhere (train station, Duomo, Uzzi Galleria, Galleria De Academia, through all the open markets of leather goods and jewelry street).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location - Cathedral just a 5 minutes walk away. Amazing terrace on the rooftop! Staff very friendly, funny and helpful.we had a great stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Halloween holiday was awful with people partying ALL NIGHT, until 4:30am!! Normally heard very little outside. That night was terrible!

    The breakfast was wonderful and the staff charming. Staff very helpful and gave great directions and suggestions for tours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not suitable for older people because there are 3 flights of stairs to the hotel reception and there is no elevator/lift. The staff will carry the luggage but 60 steps up and down each time you go in and out is not recommended. The hotel is accessed by a large ,stable like, door similar to that of a night club and leads to a courtyard. You have to ring for attention and can easily walk passed the door. There is no brightly lit entrance hall or foyer usually expected with a hotel at street level.

    Breakfast was fine, room clean and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the breakfast was a little sparse - could have more on offer for guests.

    The bed was very comfortable. I found the stairs a little too much for me as I am a 61 years old woman. The location couldn't be better. Many restaurants and cafes nearby as well as the attractions. The terrace was pleasant and had a wonderful outlook.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many stairs :) pros and cons in Italy considering, if you’re like me you eat a lot. The do offer to carry your bags up the stairs but if you are older or have any health issues the stairs up may not work for you.

    The staff was amazing - the rooms were good size, small shower but overall comfortable. The view from the balcony was amazing. The staff made sure we were taken care of, providing us with taxis as well as having a little book of recommendations prepared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s on the 3rd floor of a building so might be challenging for people with heavy luggages.

    Great service at front desk. Friendly and welcoming. Clean sheets and bathroom. Spacious room. A little walk from the Duomo but it’s away from the hustle and bustle but still safe to walk around at night. Beautiful terrace that overlooks the city!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the third floor, without a lift, you have to climb five ? flights of stairs to get to it. Not ideal after sight seeing. The towels are not changed every day. It says please reuse towels. They did change once or twice in five days.

    Very good location. A few minutes walk from the Duomo and all major sights. View of the Duomo from my room. Good view over the city from terrace. Spacious comfortable room. Stuff very helpful and a porter carries luggage to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, could hear the couple next door, could have been a bit unlucky as the bloke snored like a hog!

    Great location, friendly staff, lovely roof terrace with views of most of the major tourist spots

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were quite thin so could be a little noisy but only when people were getting up for breakfast

    This was a great little hotel a few minutes walk from the very centre of Florence. The rooms were spacious and perfect and the staff were extra helpful, would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit difficult being kept awake by the noise of a party next door on my last night. but once again the staff responded very well and there was quiet eventually and I was able to get asleep. On the previous nights it was very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    Staff was friendly and helpful in getting us familiar with Florence. Roof top terrace gave us a quiet and lovely view of the city!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was our first time visiting Italy & Florence was our favorite city. Hotel Cardinal made our experience even more enjoyable. My husband & I met Mario upon check-in and he is the sweetest! He recommended awesome locations for food and the amazing views Florence offers. All of the staff members are helpful and go above & beyond to make sure you're comfortable. The rooftop terrace is BEAUTIFUL & the size of the rooms are HUGE. Mario, thanks for everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    lovely little hotel in an excellent location close to the interesting sites, restuarants & stores. very clean, comfortable & quiet. very knowledgeable host who shared great information with us about places of historical & art significance. would go back in a second!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 360-degree terrace is to die for! I enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overlooking the duomo, the basilica of santa croce, and palazzo vecchio. Just stunning. The service was perfect, too. The concierge was extremely friendly and carried my luggage upstairs for me, and gave me a glass of water as I was checking in. A very warm welcome! The room was so cute and impeccably clean. Chocolates, good cream, shampoo, etc. Excellent wifi. Very quiett inside the hotel. Altogether I was extremely pleased with my visit. The terrace alone is reason to book this property immediately!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long stone staircase to 3 floors. No lift system. Stepped out of the door of the hotel onto the Main Street.

    The lady of the house was rude. Asked us when we were leaving as we had ruined the coffee machine by pressing the button to obtain hot water from it !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small breakfast and no "real" coffee was a surprise, not the least when learning it cost extra. Paper-thin walls left no cough, talk, bathroom visits or other activities unnoticed between the rooms (or the hall). Being a third floor hotel without elevator, climbing + carrying in stairs needed. No beer, wine etc in the mini-bar nor an open bar in the hotel was not necessarily missed but a bit of a contradition to the marketing ("explore a wide range of exotic cocktails on the roof-top bar"..).

    Excellent positioning, friendly staff, nice and decent size room, 360 degrees view from the roof-top terrace, wi-fi working, clean and fresh atmosphere. And fresh water always available in the room + free mini-bar containing bottled water and mineral water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was good and the location of the hotel was great! Very central. We walked from the train station, which took about 15 minutes. When booking please remember there are stairs up to the hotel, the hotel did help us with the bags tho. When staying here, go up to the terrace , the most amazing views while having breakfast or having a drink in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not ideal as the coffee machine tasted bad. The 3 story walk up was also not fun with our luggage.

    A beautiful terrace view and Philipio(?) That checked us in was wonderful and gave us lots of suggestions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are lots of stairs to get to the hotel. We heard the lobby conversations in our room loud and clear. We had to leave the hotel at 7:30, and we missed the breakfast. We tried asking for anything the day before (at least coffee) but we heard only "no" .. very strange. Our room was not cleaned one day at all. The toilet stopped flushing once.. not a nice experience, we had to use the bucket.

    Nice terrace with a view (very small though). The room was spacious and the the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a negative point but FYI the hotel is about 20 minutes far from the central train station by foot. It can be an issue for someone coming from the airport with the shuttle and doesn't want to take a taxi to reach the hotel (budget issue)

    Clean room, confortable bed, air conditionned. Friendly staff, ready to help you finding your way in the city, giving you some good restaurants in the neighborhood. The terrasse is amazing !! 5 min from il Duomo by foot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a lift. 67 steps to climb! Not for the faint hearted.

    The staff on the reception desk was very helpful. Gave us a lot of information for our stay. There is a roof terrace which gives you a beautiful view of Florence, especially in the evening. Also, as we had a lot of heavy luggage because we were travelling by motorbike, they helped us up the stairs with them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs! No elevator. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor.

    Incredible location. All sightseeing is 10 min. away by walk. Very romantic terrace with amazing view. There is a garage very close to the hotel for 20 EUR per day. Free table water every day. Good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chose this hotel as an overnight stop. We live an hour from Florence but had spent a weekend in Verona and wanted to stay overnight so as not to rush the travel. There is an intercom system on the street to enter and then 3 flights of stairs to climb. We only had a rucksack and 'carry on' size luggage so no problem. The man on reception (sorry, didnt get his name) was very welcoming and friendly and explained everything. We checked in at 8pm. The hotel is a series of rooms in a large apartment building but it is very nice. All colour coordinated throughout. Our room had a nice doublebed and ensuite bathroom. All very clean and the bathroom was a reasonable size having experienced other hotels in Florence. Prior to going out to dinner we took a couple of drinks from reception and went up to the rooftop terrace. Amazing 360degree views of the Florence skyline, Duomo, the tower of palazza vecchio, santa croce etc. Returning late in the night everything was quiet. The room had a small nespresso machine with complimentary coffee (2 pods free). Breakfast was served in a small room but very well laid out and there were reasonable choices of everything. Cold cut meats, cheese. Bread and a toaster with various jams. Multiple cereals and yoghurt. Juices. An excellent coffee machine with 8 options to choose from, espresso, cappucino etc. There's even a view of the duomo from the breakfast room. The hotel itself is located just east of Duomo - 5mins/500m. Ours was just an overnight stay but I'd be very happy to stay longer and recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps to reception but staff do carry luggage up for you.

    Concierges and hotel staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good and location excellent. Mario on the desk was very polite, friendly and helpful. View from roof was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Travelling by car is a little bit problematic in Florence, we left our car in a garage from the hotel (20 euro per day). It was a little bit complicated to find the hotel (real quest) and difficult to lift our luggage to the 4th (or even 5th floor) by ourselves (unfortunately, no elevator)

    The hotel was very very good! Separate gratitude to Mario and Rudolfo - very nice and always helpful guys. The location is superb, especially the view from the terrace. Breakfasts were good. We really enjoyed our stay and I would definately recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At one point the air conditioning unit got quite noisy and the street below could be noisy at times. Also you need to be fit and active because their were a lot of stairs leading to the hotel. However we got used to this and it didn't spoil things.

    It had a lovely, homely and warm feel to it. Staff very helpful and friiendly and a fabulous location, right in the centre of everything, also great restaurants in the little square next to it. Also the views from the roof garden were breathtaking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a problem with the wifi in our room.

    Amazing breakfast. Kind and helpful personal (even printed our boarding passes). Nice and clean rooms. Mini bar was for free so was the expresso machine. Air vonditioned. Best part was the terrace and the view. our room we coud see the dome even from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The three flights of stairs were a bit tough after a long day of walking.

    The front desk staff (and staff in general) were very helpful in recommending restaurants (ask them about where to get Gelato!) and places to visit. Breakfast was good. Views from the terrace were spectacular and the overall location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Unless you really need to, taking your car to center of Florence and navigating through the plethora of traffic limitations may be quite challenging.

    - Fantastic Room with a view on the Duomo - Fastastic Common Terrace with panoramic view on Florence - Rooms are nice, quite spacious and clean - Great Breakfast - Helpful staff that will bring your things up the stairs (3rd floor - no elevator)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated on 3rd flloor of building...Also lacks a restaurant/bar.. No option for a cooked breakfast either!

    The location was easy to get to from city centre...Rooms were cozy & clean ...Staff were friendly & informative too! Had a nice stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect!

    Awesome dynamic and friendly receptionists, cozy and clean room with very compfi matrace and the patio with an breath taking view over the roofs of Florence and to the Dome! We will definitely come again to this fantastic hotel!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quite a few stairs (hard with luggage!) and no towels after the room was cleaned (quickly sorted though!)

    brilliant location, rooftop terrace with great views, friendly and really helpful with recommendations for places to eat and things to do! room was clean and exactly what we wanted, breakfast was a good variety!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the manager and reception staff were awesome. He even booked us a walkabout tour in Tuscany for the next day, my husbands birthday and helped us get to the pick up point. they were helpful with all we asked for and asked about. location was excellent. 2 minute walk from a square where restaurants were and so lovely at night. yes the stairs made us fit!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean (hairs in the bed!), and the room was very small, it didn't look like the picture at all! So pretty expensive for what you get. The breakfast is poor for being in Italy and they tried to make me pay for it on the top of the booking price.

    Very well located, wifi and AC worked well. I arrived after midnight and the staff was available for welcoming even after reception hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was extra comfortable and the stuff was great and friendly!!! They helped us with problem with our bank very quickly :) Great breakfast. Everyone can find something for yourself. TARAS WAS AMAZING!!!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift and up 3 floors but staff very helpful with our heavy luggage. Compensated by position and ambience

    Views of Florence from room and small terrace. Comfortable room. Nice ambience. Good suggestions of really good small restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are extremely friendly and passionate, introducing everything to you with patience. Room is clean and cute with good wifi, bathroom, air conditioner, and there is a fantastic terrace with the view of the Duomo. Location is nice and price is fair, with a free mini bar in room for summer promotion!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tough to find the place. Just a nondescript door down an alley. Tough hike up several floors to lobby.

    Staff told me about a nontouristy restaurant around the corner. Staff were two fine gentlemen who did everything including dishes. Check out the roof at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can´t think of anything... maybe an umbrella on the terrace would be nice.

    The hotel made our stay in Florence unforgetable! The staff was very friendly and helpful, spoke english (and german) perfectly. The location of the hotel is great (very close to the dome). The panoramic terrace invites to enjoy the few or just to hang around (as it was never too crowded).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. and property is at 5th Floor. Assistance with luggage is provided if needed.

    Beautiful Terrace available with city views. Excellent Location. Parking 2 minutes walk from property at 30 Euro per day. Garage Florence (your car will however be taken to a car deposit and it is not kept at the garage. You will need to call 20 min in advance before you pick it up).

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cardinal of Florence traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: