Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cardinal Hotel St. Peter 4 stars

Via Leone Dehon 71, Aurelio, 00165 Rome, Italy

#638 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1669 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had a rude manner at reception and the restaurant, food not appetising and lack of choice. Asked for cool bag blocks to go in a freezer as was required to keep medication cold, we were sent from reception to bar to restuarant and still not rectified. Appears a corporate event taking place over a few days took priority over public paying guests. No notification prior to swimming pool closing 4 hours early due to private booking, would have planned Day differently if we were informed. Having travelled from England and stayed in 7 other hotels through booking .com The cardinal St. Peter is the only unacceptable location. The venue isn’t that close to The Vatican or Coliseum, would not go outside once dusk falls in this hotel location.

    Clean , tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No personal control of aircon'. Beds could be more comfortable. Couldn't open any windows and if you opened the balcony door, at least 15 other rooms had access to yours.

    Good pillows. Great staff Easy access to Rome sightseeing by bus or metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too far away from main sights and taxis expensive, buses very limited so wasted time travelling. Pool ok, very cold and limited loungers. Roof bar was closed at 7 pm and uncared for. Not a 4 star.

    Hotel ok, restaurant was managed by one staff who took orders, served drinks and food, poor chap was very busy and excellent but required support. Food mediocre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great having a pool for the lazy days that were hot. The breakfast was really good. Lots of options to eat. There were buses you could take to the Vatican or the colosseum (40 min ride) that were a short distance walk. Taking a taxi to either location wasn't horrible either. 8 euros to Vatican City and 15 euros to the colosseum. The restaurant in the hotel was expensive. No where to eat accross the street but about 10-15 minute walk you can find something.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the balcony was big but the view was terrible, sometimes it was noisy and the hotel was far from everything, even the metro station. i would say its a good 3-star-hotel but definitely not 4stars. also the rooftop bar closed earlier as it was expected (before the opening hours)

    we liked the handy in the room with internet and we could also make free calls from it. the rooftop jacuzzi was amazing. the staff in the bar was kind but at the reception they were not too helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, very few restaurants nearby.

    Lovely hotel and great facilities. Too far out for restaurants and the sites so be prepared to jump on the bus or get a taxi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Enjoyed a drink in the bar, but it was a bit expensive.

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was serviced everyday with clean towels. There was a good choice at breakfast. Nice pool to relax around after sight seeing. Shuttle bus to the metro was really handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed the Jacuzzi and Pool we’re not open . It was the end of April and we would have really enjoyed sitting in the Jacuzzi with the view…

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and tidy, lovely room with balcony. And staff explained well the buses available and directions. About a ten minute walk to buses, buy your ticket from tabacchi newsstand near mc Donald’s and when on board validate your ticket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was luxury comfort

    This hotel rescused us from a nightmare hotel we booked north of the town centre. We were not let down when we arrived. The facilities are amazing, very friendly staff with great communication in English. Room was spacious and for a young couple like ourselves the 2km walk into the town centre on 1 lomg road was fine to do and easy to navigate. If you would like to travel to the centre of town in a taxi it will cost less than 20 euro. You saved us from what was almost a nightmare experience, thank you. P.s the poor hotel not to stay in was MF hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very clean, had a very dull view and the wi-fi speed was slow and unstable. When I wanted to change the room, the night shift manager "Roberto" was aggressive and not supportive at all.

    Very good breakfast and breakfast hall. When trying to find directions and information in general there are 2 receptionists ladies, one of them called "Sara" were friendly, they were cheerful and trying always to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos of the room on the Booking.com did not correspond AT ALL to the room I was given. The hotel is noisy and poorly cleaned. The staff of the hotel kindly changed the room for me after I was complaining to the noise, but I could not sleep all night. The furniture in the hotel is very old and the ordinary rooms are poorly decorated and the bed linen smells and is not clean. The hotel is far away from the city center, it takes approx. 20 mins by car to get to the city center.

    The personnel did their best to make me feel comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the breakfast

    we chose this hotel because of its location just outside Vatican city and the fact it boasted a swimming pool and terrace jacuzzi...HOWEVER, what the hotel didnt make clear until we arrived was that the pool wasn't open until May 3 weeks after we return to UK and the Jacuzzi was also not in use and the reason we chose this hotel was because of these facilities...the breakfast was adequate but not really earth shattering, basic buffet fayre with at times quite flustered staff. The bar was very good, but expensive, the location was perfect for our needs, it was the start of the season, and the receptionist was really helpful with local knowledge, transport and dining. We would definitely return, but more during the main season time...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fridge was not working, also our safe in room. This was looked at on our first day but unable to fix.

    Friendly and very helpful with places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was awful, I ordered a funghi lasagna - it came out cold. It took us ages to get a seat and it was a small area to eat in. My boyfriend ordered a tomato based pasta yet he got a creamed based pasta. Would definitely not recommend going to there restaurant, it's a waste of money. The swimming pool was also closed, we were unsure as to why until we got to our third hotel where they advised on the website it was not in season but there were no signs or anything on the website that advised the pool was closed - we chose this hotel solely on the pool. It also looked nothing like it did in the picture.

    The hotel room was nice, exactly what we needed which was a bed to sleep in and we had a nice view from the room. Also the man on reception was helpful and nice, always smiling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact it was advertised to have a hot tub and a swimming pool however we couldn't use either . I understand it's still classed as winter but it was 21 degrees. Also the rooms were like saunas and we had 2 bathrooms one we had to shut off because of the smell of poo coming from it. The food was disgusting in the resturant. I think I came across one very helpful staff member called francesco at the front desk the rest I found almost rude and dismissive I will never return to this hotel ever again. it's a shame it has been allowed to deteriorate the way it has because it does have fantastic potential. However rooms and staff need modernised.

    The view we had from our balcony was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lady’s closet next to our room ensure that each morning during our stays in hotel I was up before I like during our staying- (discussion, loudly taking supplies, ...) Cleanliness of the Bathroom is issue - mold, stains on the floor.

    Location - walking distance from city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. the hotel did not look like any of the pictures listed 2. The bed was so hard I was like sleeping on concrete 3. It was NOT 5 minutes walk to st Peter's basillica, it was and hour walking or 25 mins on the bus. 4. It was in a uneasy area 5. The breakfast in the restaurant was basically unbearable, terrible and you couldn't eat most of anything besides jam and toast 6. The staff were not very friendly at all 7. The tax was added to my account which we were not informed by booking. Com or the hotel! I as furious. 8. We had to drink from plastic glasses in the restaurant 9. Often had dirty cutlery 10. Not even a water glass or tea in our rooms 11.What was supposed to be a 21st birthday present for my brother was a completely terrible stay and will never use booking.com again. 12.Ut was horrific and will never stay at that hotel again. 13. One EXTREMELY UNHAPPY AND DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the hotel was way beyond expectations (ants, etc.). On the first day we had no wifi, therefore after several fixing attempts we were offered to switch rooms. We were offered two drink voucher as apologies which were very kind from the staff. We stayed in December and the heating were very poor, almost none expect for the bathroom. We have indicated it several times and always got the answer that they are turning it on, but it never happaned. In the end we got fever. We requested medcine in order to not go to a pharmacy in this condition but were rejected. It was very cold as well in the common areas. This was very disappointing from a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All members of staff were fantastic. At the front desk, at the restaurant and of course the domestic. indeed I was impressed with everyone. It was like being at home. A lovely Hotel in a quiet beautiful area, peaceful, away from the traffic and yet near all the convenient places. At walking distance from the Vatican. Just splendid. I want to thank everyone for all their kindness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bin in to our bathroom was broken from the beginning and no-one changed it until the end of the stay. The bath was with scratched. The window door was really dusty and there was no cover sheet for the bed. For a four star hotel I expect this.

    Friendly stuff, very good breakfast, close to bus station and with Google maps easy aces to the centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable room temperature, unable to open windows at night due to shared balcony with most of the rooms on the floor. None of the plumbing actually drained (shower, bidet, or sink). Lack of response from concierge regarding black out curtains falling from the ceiling. Wouldn’t recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food Had a burger that was red raw in the middle andl not cooked fully.. On another occasion had vegetable soup which was basicly a bag of frozen diced veg boiled and poured into a bowl, no flavour at all and cost 12 euro

    Room was clean and good shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is a major letdown - might be the worst breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, and I travel a great deal for work so I get around. I had a dirty cup, a chipped plate. The bread was stale for the toasting, didn't bother eating it. The cereal was also stale. The pastries were tasteless. The coffee machine had seen better days, could do with a good clean, it was too disgusting to drink. I was in a rush for work and attempted to take a single pastry with me and was chided for removing food, and threatened with being charged. I had already paid 8 EUR to have my bowl of stale cornflakes, so I was not exactly impressed.

    It's not far from the city centre, you can walk to the metro in about 15 minutes. Hotel itself is nice, bed is very comfortable, room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed squeaked with every small movement, so it was hard to stay asleep at night with the noise our bed made. There was a smell that seemed to be coming from the bathroom sewage, but with some water, it went away.

    The parking was free and secure inside their garage, which was nice. The hotel lobby was great, the hotel room was nice. We had a bed, a big bathroom, and a terrace. It was a really nice hotel, and it had a restaurant and a bar. There was a free shuttle from the hotel to the metro station. It is close enough to walk to, but the shuttle is easier. Also near to a bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated with poor sound proofing. We got moved to another room and still the same. Staff apologetic about it but updating is needed.

    Location, staff and facilities were fine. Nice place in the 80s.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic and the hotel wasn't within walking distance of much so had to use the metro a lot. You could potentially walk but it was way too hot and uphill.

    Lovely hotel with lovely staff. Room was perfect for a short break away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good facilities including pool and jacuzzis. Good access to central Rome and airport. Pleasant environment and efficient staff. Spacious well appointed room with small terrace. Slightly tired breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sorry to say breakfast is absolutely terrible,no fruits nothing fresh only industrial foods,i dont understand being in Italy in an hotel of that great standing to offer this awful ,terrible foods.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food was very horrible, waiters and waitresses were very rude. I felt there were racist and treated the all group with no respect. Very bad experience.

    The rooms were so tinny not worth the money at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... very poor accommodation and staff..do not recommended it to anyone..

    Nothing... very poor accommodation and staff..do not recommended it to anyone..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - The staff at reception was rather rude. (Evening staff) - No room service for lunch or dinner.

    - The staff at reception was very helpful. (Morning staff) - We got a second toddler bed without any surcharge and it was promptly delivered. - Overall good value for money, as a family of five it is not always easy to find a good place to stay. - The kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't helpful. Could help overseas visitors more with information and directions on where to go and how to use public transport. We asked where we could find the city shops and restaurants and were told to go to an area nowhere near the main tourist area. Overall we were disappointed with front desk staff.

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff not helpful. If you don't want to order on the bar you have to leave the top tarrace. Be careful of extra charges for missing staff from the fright, even if you didn't take anything. Breakfasts are not great and is at less 30min walk to Vatican.

    Is nice place to stay. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had more fresh fruit at breakfast and the bathroom is aging a bit - but none of this was particularly important

    Big bed, lovely staff, great views, rooftop jacuzzis, good continental breakfast, very central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower leaked badly so the floor was flooded each time no matter how careful we were. The towels were very rough and small. There wasn't many toiletries supplied (compared to the photos), just 3 of 4 bottles of the same thing. Needed to use the room key to activate lights/power so every time you left the room you couldn't continue to charge any devices.

    The pool (with bar) was great at the end of a long day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and the facility was run down. Thevwas a situation with an Asian family where communication was difficult the staff were extremely rude raising their voice to the poor people

    Proximity to Rome central yet still quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service wasn't very attentive Bathroom shower tap and waste was fixed by myself Terraces off room were all adjoining and felt very unsecure and therefore couldn't leave the balcony door open at all Had to fetch our own milk for the coffee, we were just told there's non in the bar !! Cleaning could have been better

    Pool area and service outside very friendly and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was not worth paying for, no fresh fruit. Im glutenintolerant and got a 3xpack of ricecookies and a Marianne to eat. The bacon was like rubbergum and the eggs gave us stomacheache. Would recommend all of you to just buy a cup of coffee and eat a much cheaper breakfast in town.

    Nice rooms, great location with a 20min walk to the Vatican. There is a 24/7 shop open about 7 minutes away from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Latest check out 12pm, but they have a secure luggage storage. Sink in bathroom slow but that's the only fault I found.

    Peaceful location, room with balcony recommended with great views, good facilities - pool, roof top sun bathing area with jacuzzi. Staff pleasant. Supermarket next to bus stop less than 5 mins walk away, with buses to central Rome and sites. Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small kettle. English,Australian, Americans enjoy a very early morning hot drink. Please provide sachet coffee, tea, latte (milk), sugar.

    Everything clean, tidy and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small and furniture is old. Does not look anywere closer to a 4-Star Hotel. Will certainly never want to come back to this hotel. Manager was willing to help making our stay better but the facility could not make it at all anything nice. Pictures posted by Booking.com did not reflect the very small space and old weared out furniture.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the breakfast was up to much to say it was €8-12 per day per person.

    I liked the staff, the pool, the rooms with balcony, the roof top bar with hot tubs and an amazing view of the Vatican. It was about a 25 minute walk to Vatican City but could easily have caught a bus to either side of the river. Food was available in the hotel but quite pricey, we only ate breakfast there but plenty of restaurants around the hotel & again not far from Vatican City.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view was a building site, noise was annoying and i expected a balcony. The swimming pool area needs a hell of a refurbishment. The seats were falling to bits, only a couple of sunbathing chairs and it just needs modernising.

    The roof top jacuzi was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked the hotel staff if was possible to change room cause we wanted a room with double bed and balcony and the staff immediately and kindly did the best for us..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, really hard to get to and nothing to do in that area. understaffed and staff who did work there were not great at understanding english.

    Rooftop bar, air conditioned rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some times it gets hard to get tothe hotel using public transportation so I would suggest that the staffgive you more details about

    Very nice hotel just of the Vatican city! Close to bus stops to city center and with a prvate safe parking! I totally recommend the hotel for Rome trip. It also has a nice swiming pool if you fancy this! :) The staf helpfull and politywill guide your stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggest selection of fresh bread for breakfast and bacon cooked more fully, although this may be an Italian specific issue as noticed bacon cooked the same in other hotels. Otherwise breakfast and hotel were great.

    Overall enjoyed the hotel very much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very good. You would expect much better quality of food in 4 star hotel and mainly in Italy which is famous for its food. Another problem was housekeeping of the room. When we arrived we had a box of tissues in our room once we run out they have never replaced it. also there were 2 plastic cups when we arrived (4 star hotel and plastic cups?) the housekeeper threw them away on a third day and never replaced them.

    the hotel was generally nice and also our room was nice. The staff on the reception was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *spa wasn't heated

    *Quieter area *room was lovely even included a smartphone to utilise *pool and spa were nice *buses available within 5 minute walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italy tax price on top of our bill of €50 and the prices within the hotel were expansive for what they offered.

    Loved our stay, we traveled though Venice, Florence, Pisa and finished in Rome and this hotel was the best by far that we didn't want to do as much site seeing and just relax beside the pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a bit difficult to reach by public transport, but you get all the help and information at the reception.

    The room was very comfortable and modern. We could see the dome of St. Peter's Basilica from the rooftop bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar could have opened a little earlier, after a long day sightseeing 9pm was a little late.

    The staff were very helpful and really good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no balcony, was on the ground floor and on the other side of our window was the restaurant, so...curtains closed!

    Room was clean and spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is bit ourside Rome. Food is very expensive in the restaurant and not value for money. No menu for sandwiches etc during the day. We liked the hotel but found it very expensive for anything ie my partner got a top washed and ironed it cost €10 for one item.

    Hotel is very clean and beds are comefortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony , but room size made up for this . Mini bar in the room not cold . Some of the staff e.g breakfast staff not as friendly as others Breakfast worst part of stay , we did not starve by any means , but some of the food not great and drinks machine rubbish , shame as this let's the hotel down and put us off eating hotel restaurant ( not to mention very expensive ) . A supermarket and Mc Donald's near by but no restaurants within walking distance , that were open at least , so we had to travel on bus or tube for meals .

    Lovely spacious room , comfy beds and great air con .room 118 Kept very clean . Lovely pool with very friendly staff manning the pool area . Short walk to bus stop for access into Rome city centre .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic. Some staff were a bit grumpy at times. Coffee machine was irratic.

    We were keen to have a pool for the kids to cool down after a trip around the sites of Rome. As there was a heatwave pool was invaluable for all of us. Area around the hotel was fine. We enjoyed lovely meal as Italian pizza place (Rimpizzamose) on 2 nights and drank and ate at a cafe opposite the McDs several times. 24 hour cafe with good food, bar, amazing cake and ice cream. V friendly staff. Also sold bus tickets, water supplies etc. These finds made the hotel more appealing and out stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were with a pet and got stuck on the ground floor with no view. The location was a bit far from the center.

    Considering it was very hot in Rome, it was nice to have the swimming pool. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No sugar for tea or coffee in the room, so the teapot was useless. No good views from our room. Not brilliant breakfast.

    Nice staff. Excelent bed. Good shuttle service from the hotel to the underground station (Cornelia).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager in charge was rude and belligerent. Starting tapping his pen while we were trying to find out room numbers when checking out. When I said to him he was being rude, he said I was being rude. Obviously custom service is not his forte. I had never been more insulted. Having spent over €800 at the hotel, I would expect respect from the manager. Do not stay at this overpriced, shabby, smelly hotel. Our shower was broken and never got fixed, even though I asked twice.

    It was dog friendly and easily accessible by car, car park was secure and we were not charged for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't a lot of variety at breakfast and the coffee wasn't nice.

    Great value for money - clean room and very comfy bed, lovely pool and pool bar, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - no soundproofing at all in the rooms. Cleaning of the rooms starts at 8 o'clock in the morning and is very loud - it is very hard to try to rest/sleep then. The breakfast is horrible! Very bad selection of unfresh food; coffee is impossible to drink. Dirty tables in the breakfast restaurant. The hotel is situated in a really dirty and shabby area rather far from Vatican. It takes long time to walk to the closest metro station. Every evening one can see prostitutes at 'work' on the street just outside the hotel.

    Attentive staff at the reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is a bit far from the city centre and as our visit was in Summer we had to take Taxi's each time which cost us about 15-20 Euros. For adults the distance is ok or If one does not mind finding bus routes or walking 15 mins for it ,its fine;but for families travelling with kids its a little inconvenient. The only complaint i actually have is that for people coming from English speaking countries there was practically no channels in English apart from Euro news & CNN, nor even any subtitles in English. So our kids got a bit bored inside the room as it was too hot to be out all morning anyway.

    The breakfast bar was good. They allowed food to be taken to rooms which is a convenience when we travel with young kids. The house keepers came in everyday to clean up which was great . The Handy phone was an asset too; made booking for activities and tours easier. Food in the restraunt was descent. The bar in the room was a convenience too. On a warm summers day the swimming pool was a boon definetly! On the day we were leaving, they even got ready a picnic bag with breakfast to go, which was very thoughtful. Overall we were happy with the stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Book your own shuttle if you need one, as what the hotel we're going to book for me would have cost double if I didn't do some fast googling

    The rooftop bar was fab, as was the pool area ☺️ I highly recommend a balcony room opposed to not

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very professional and helpful. Rooms comfortable and clean with tea and coffee facility. Pool lovely with pool bar. Hotel spotless. Easy access to centre of Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indifferent service, a room on the ground floor with windows opening onto the restaurant so we couldn't open them or even the curtains.

    Nice terrace roof with view over Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it would have been amazing to dip in the hot tub and have a late night relax. However it shut at 7, and after exploring in Rome it needed to be open later as we didn't get back till 7. I would say 9 o'clock would have been a more realistic time to close so we got to use the facility. Our mini bar fridge wasent on and we found the electrics were a little unreliable. (Wiggle chargers) the lamp wouldn't come on then come on etc. The breakfast was ok but could be emproved... after 3 days boring. Would be nicer to see sausage, hot tomatoes beans..... and more juices.

    We loved the rooftop bar and view. It is soo pretty and a lovley place to have a drink. We loved the pool side and our room was comply and clean. I loved the fact that the bathroom had a massive shower and it was powerful and always hot! The bathroom also had a huge mirror and a magnified mirror on the wall which is perfect for me because I wear glasses and it was good to do my makeup in! Some staff really helpful and friendly but the odd staff a little abrupt and bossy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the view from our room over looked a work yard that wasn't nice..and the coffee was terrible.

    everything was nice..staff were friendly and helpful..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit far from the centre which meant getting on busses every day which did eat in to site seeing time. There was no designated changing facilities once you had checked out which resulted in having to shower at the poolside and dress in a toilet. For a four star hotel this is not really acceptable.

    The bed was very large and comfortable. The cleaning service was excellent with fresh towels daily. Most of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The view from the terrace was very nice and the same as the one on the website. Luggage storage on check out was secure and efficient and lounge area was comfortable and cool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the rooms I booked (adjoining rooms) was not what we ended with. If I had been traveling with young children this would not have been acceptable. Nobody said about booking 24hrs in advance to get airport transfer. And late check out was not available.

    Pool are was good lots of shade and sun areas. Rooms were great and staff tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the restaurant

    The staff were excellent the rooms and bed were cleaned and made fresh everyday. The bar and hotel restaurant were a little expensive so I did not drink or eat at the hotel £15 for a burger is a bit to much, breakfast was included in the price and was great lots to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved every minute of my stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and food was fantastic. What I loved most about the place were the little extras that they thought of to make my stay complete. The use of a complementary smart phone for guests during their stay, was really useful and thoughtful touch. It meant I was able to navigate myself around Rome with ease, and they even put apps on about transport, places to eat and sites to see. Thank you for a lovely stay! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the breakfast did not have light options for milk, juice, no turkey, hard to find sweetener. The restaurant had a poor menu and the service was very slow When asking a taxi at the reception the price was always anything different. My sensation is that in Rome everybody is trying to steal your money.

    the room was nice there was a free handy mobile very useful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could be improved, particularly scrambled eggs (didn`t look very appetising) and coffee machines very not in good condition and not very clean too. We stayed in the hotel on the 2 separate occasions with few days apart and were located in 2 different rooms. The room upstairs we were located in for the first time was good, clean, quiet, but the second room we stayed in in few days when back to Rome was not great. In fact it was a twin room, with beds pushed together, no carpet on the floor, no kettle (we had to request the kettle from the desk quite late at night, as we checked in later than expected, at first we were told they might not find a kettle at all, which wasn`t good enough, because you advertise the rooms with a kettle facilities, so you should have it in every room ready straight away). The room was on the first floor at the very end of corridor, I admit it was a good size but that`s about it. The shower was different than in the room upstairs, it looked as the shower head is going to fall down on you, and the whole shower was quite small taking under consideration the size of the bathroom. We suggest to have shower cabin installed instead of curtain. The room was very loud, we heard all the noise from the neighbours and outside delivery area, air condition and wifi were not working properly. Overall bitter sweet opinion about the hotel. Would not mind to stay again if located in better room, at least back to the same one on upper floor. Some staff members were not very nice too, however the girl from the restaurant and the man at the check out were really lovely.

    We loved the view from the rooftop and Jacuzzi (however the management could have got new umbrellas)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical southern Europe breakfast (bad), with sloppy bacon, eggs prepared in an owen and all other things on the buffet factory made/ cheap vacuum packed stuff. The ala carte restaurent is not recommended eighter - small servings, dry bread and way too expensive compared to the Quality of food served. We ordered the ravioli and got 4 (undercooked) ravioli per plate at 22 € If you want to eat around the hotel there is a fabulus restaurent (Le Vele) at the bus stop only 500 meter away. Same price level as hotel but 10x the quality. Do reserve a table as the restaurent is very popular and many locals eat there both throughout the week and especially the weekends. For a very delicius stoneowen made pizza and cheap prices, the first restaurent on the right after the busstop on the road towards the vatican is highly recommended. Activities: If you are traveling with children the pool area is nice especially in sommer, but besides that there is absolutely no other activities for young or older kids at the hotel. A game room, tabletennis, pool table, gym or simular is not to be found at the Hotel.

    location good with only 15 min walk to metro station (A-Line going to central Rome). Roof terrasse with jacuzzi has a nice view and was not crowded.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cardinal Hotel St. Peter traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: