Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carillon 3 stars

Via Nazionale Del Sempione 2, 28831 Baveno, Italy

#8 of 15 hotels in Baveno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Breathtaking views overlooking Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent and not far from marina to get boats to other islands. The place was very clean. Balcony from room overlooked lake and views were breathtaking. Staff were very helpful and obliging on where to go to eat and places to go and see. Recommended by friends to stay here and would definitely go back. Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Carillon. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Breathtaking Lake Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a hospitality tray in the room, small kettle etc, and although we enjoyed the short walk to Feriolo to eat, some families might prefer a hotel with an on site hotel.

    The strength of this hotel are the superb views of Lake Maggiore and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water. There is a garden to relax in and breakfast is a continental buffet. A nice family run hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Overnight on the Lake before Heading to Milan Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To leave the hotel and walk to village restaurants, you have to walk on the busy roadside a short way, before getting onto a path.

    Discovering Lake Maggiore is closer to Milan airport than Milan itself, we found this comfortable family-run hotel to be the perfect place to relax and unwind for the last night of our vacation. The hotel, now 65 years old, is actually located north of Baveno, just off the road, closer to the small fishing village of Feriolo. Since there wasn’t a restaurant on site, we walked 10 minutes to Feriolo, where there are two campgrounds and a few nice restaurants right on the lake. Nearly all the hotel’s rooms have balconies overlooking the lake. Within minutes of check-in by the hotel’s owner, we had donned our swimsuits, found deck chairs, and jumped in the warm, clear lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to mention here. My wife complained of unauthorized use of her cosmetics but that could be our daughter, too :)

    Everything, this could be easily 4 star hotel as well. The hotel is full of paintings, carpets, etc. and is very well designed. Family run by 2nd generation, very helpful staff and owner lady, a lot of history and pictures. Perfect private beach with palms, sand, lawn, bar, playground, large lake front, free parking with lot of space - whatever you can imagine....Cosy restaurant next door with water sport facilities, The village Feriolo is lovely, only 10 minutes walk, some cosy restaurants, life music, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    An aged, although well kept facility with a direct/private small access to the lake for swimmers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The extra-small room. Extra-small bathroom. Sink in the bedroom and not in the bathroom (?). Low room privacy. Dangerously close for all guests, to the fast, open and very busy main coastal road. Need a vehicle.

    The staff a big plus together with Location and Parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Kind and helpful stuff, very clean room, good parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little thing: the street is called "Strada", not "Via" in case you add it in the navigation manually...that made our arrival a bit tricky 😊.

    Kind and helpful stuff, very clean room, good parking, sufficient breakfast (lady in the dining room kept making sure nothing was missing).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.3
    Kindness at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downgrade without communicating upfront. Bathroom (sink in the room-very small bathroom), size of the room, noise until late, contact with the owner...

    Kindness at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Lake Maggiore surpass our expectations and the town of Feriolo was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom badly designed no room to put clean clothes and all towel rails were put too high up the wall.

    Location of our room and the patio overlooking the lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Amazing, great value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host, and owner, was very nice and welcoming, also her family has a very nice restraunt in the town near by (5 min walk) so you get a discount if you show your room key. We got a room right on the water which was just perfect. I would totaly stay there again no doubt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Unbeatable lake view, good value, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet disappointing (canned fruit salad, weak coffee). Very hard beds. Fumes from motorboat refueling dock just next door.

    Beautiful view, good parking facilities, friendly staff, cleanliness and housekeeping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Nice cosy hotel, right next too the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the terrace and the sungarden, and the feeling of velcome from the staff. And the wiew. The small town Feriolo a 10 min. walk from the hotel with a supermarket and fine restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Room with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, but it wasn't a problem for me.

    I liked everything in this fantastic hotel. The staff was friendly, the room had a small balcony and a wonderful view, parking was included, and sunchairs available next to the lake. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.1
    Accommodation jaded but locatin and view carries the above average price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tinned fruit salad for breakfast and banana yogurts!!! Walk to Baveno at times dangerous as no continuous footpath. Rooms small and accommodation at top end of value - location means just about value for money

    Excellent location - right on the lake. Beautiful view from room. Good coffee at breakfast and short walk to Feriolo for choice of 4 restaurants for evening meal and /or apéro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, comfortable and clean. Breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of Lake Maggiore was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Own nice beach and quite a quiet location but a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Own nice beach and quite a quiet location but a short walk to the nearest beach restaurants. Clean and nice rooms. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel directly on lake side, friendly staff, comfortable bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    good but not varied breakfast

    Hotel directly on lake side, friendly staff, comfortable bed, lake view from balkony, safety parking place,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    The personal recommendations for activity locations & food was very useful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger shower

    The personal attention of the hosts/managers was mush appreciated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    tour of northern Italy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tinned fruit and orange juice was not fresh squeezed

    Bread and coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Spot By The Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right on the lake and every room has gorgeous views. The owner is warm and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing could have been better! 250% happy!

    Everything! Staff wonderful. Particularly the manager, Danielle. Very comfortable bed. Lovely room with balcony and lake view. The sun streamed in each morning. We wish we could have stayed longer! Very handy location to walk to Baveno or village of Ferioli. Great cafes and cheap prices. The breakfast was wonderful. Very impressed with the whole place. Would highly recommend and definitely go back there again if in Baveno!!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was the smallest and most cramped we have ever come across - practically unusable, so it was a good thing we were staying only one night. Cleanliness was good but everything is tired and in need of updating, and the whole place had a very old-fashioned and "old folks home" feel that we did not enjoy. Would not stay here again.

    Good location. Beautiful views from the room and small balcony. Good parking. Very pleasant outside areas.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Everthing was great from time of arrival to our departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everthing was great from time of arrival to our departure. Lovely family run Hotel... view was magic. Very clean. Good breakfast Very close to town

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is located directly on the shore of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a three star hotel.Rather like a boarding house.The rooms are very small. There is not enough space for luggage. The bathroom is extremely small, the shower cabin was claustrophobic.The sink is in the hallway.There is no fridge or minibar in the room. Everything is old and worn.The hotel needs a complete renovation. The hotel is located 3 kilometers from Baveno.You need to have a car. No restaurant in the hotel. The price is high for what is offered hotel I do not recommend this hotel

    The hotel is located directly on the shore of the lake.There is a small private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. Free parking is available.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.0
    All rooms have a good view of Lake Maggiore and the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant on site - nearest was 1km away. Needed to use car for restaurants in Baveno or Stresa.

    All rooms have a good view of Lake Maggiore and the hotel has its own private lake frontage and pleasant gardens. Private parking was a bonus - many "posher" hotels in the area had no parking. Excellent value in a very expensive area.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    The view and a dinner when we could'nt go out in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You really need a car to stay at this venue. Taxis are exorbitant,you can not walk along the road from Baveno. There is a bus. The stop is 800metres from the hotel, in Feriolo. There are very few buses on Sundays.

    The view and a dinner when we could'nt go out in the rain. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.1
    Overlooking lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not possible to walk to restaurant or anywhere from hotel as on main road

    Overlooking lake. Lovely views. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    very friendly staff, great location with private beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very friendly staff, great location with private beach directly at the lake, all rooms with lake view

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin towels

    lakeside location good parking

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Friendliness and warmth of all staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendliness and warmth of all staff Location stunning

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.5
    Exellent place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exellent place!!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    View on the lake from my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too many German-speaking tourists.

    View on the lake from my room

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: