Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlos V 5 stars

Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041 Alghero, Italy

#8 of 28 hotels in Alghero

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinners were the worst I have ever had in a 4/5 star hotel, everyone was dissatisfied. We were given buffet meal Thursday n Friday n although it was the same as the main restaurant, it was dreadful if you compare it to other hotels I have stayed in across Spain,Italy n the canaries. We would not go back.

    The breakfasts were good but still not much choice if you didn't want a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance and parking sign may help people, it all looked like a building site. Several facilities in the Spa were not working. The restaurant was only open in the evening. No air-conditioning - very hot rooms. Swimming pool was empty. Breakfast coffee undrinkable. Shocking value for money. Etc. Etc. Etc.

    Good bartender.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Is fare from the central aria and are no local restaurants and shopping in the neighborhood . The breakfast was the same in all 7 days of our stay. For the towels of the swimming pool they ask us a deposit for 20 Euro . For coffee and tea boiling vessel and bags with coffee and tea in room, they ask 10 euro per day. This is not for a 5 stars hotel !!!

    The room was very big and the view was wonderful. They offered a bigger room at the same price and a bottle of Champaign on my birthday !!! Very nice !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Magnificent large room and huge balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Wonderful breakfast Very well maintained Excellent value for money Friendly and very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally the staff were polite but not particularly welcoming, the restaurant didn't have much atmosphere or ambience and wasn't a particularly great dining experience. The indoor bar area was a small section of the restaurant not particularly comfortable or inviting, only one member of the bar staff seemed in any way enthusiastic towards residents. The bed room was kept very clean including towels and bedding, chamber maids always friendly despite the language barrier. The bathroom was a bit tired for a 5 star, shower over bath, no anti slip mat provided, toiletries very downmarket, wall pump for body wash and shampoo more Travellodge than 5 star. It's called hotel and spa but the only treatments available were massage which doesn't really constitute a 'spa'. The services of a concierge would normally be expected of a 5 star hotel, at the very least a bit more info about hotel services and the surrounding area would be useful. The car hire man told us more info about the area.

    Great location, our executive room was large and comfortable with a lovely view of the sea. The breakfast dining room was fine with a varied selection to choose from. The swimming pool was fastidiously maintained by the lifeguards, with plenty of sun beds at the time we were there. The outside bar area was pleasant when the weather was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant food is pretty awful. The worst food during our week in Italy by far - tasteless pasta, tasteless sauces, cheap ingredients and I suspect a lot of pre-frozen food. The girl at the next table was visibly upset by how poor the lobster risotto was and left it all. A real let down. Go to the beach bar 200m down the road for a better meal for 1/4 of the price or head in to town where there is a great choice of restaurants. The breakfast is much better - although the standard coffee is awful - ask the staff to make you up a coffee.

    Clean modern hotel with a nice pool. Nice cocktail bar with a good range of cocktails (though the bar staff could try to make a bit more effort to engage)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfasts were less than luke warm. Because the swimming pool was in the shade early morning people would put towels on beds early and come back much later

    Very clean, well maintained

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful breakfast - cheap options. Undrinkable coffee, even the espresso. Pool only accessible by ladders. Smug supercilious staff. No help with luggage or room. Need to access hotel by ramp - unable to drive up. Told off for using taxi ramp, other ramp blocked by cars parked

    Location. Shower. Drinks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff had been excellent throughout, only the check-out was somewhat strange. Nobody asked, if we had been satisfied, we just paid the bill and that was that. Similarly, there was no reaction from the front desk staff, when we greeted them as we were leaving, when our taxi arrived. They just chatted away among themselves.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner at the hotel which was inedible & expensive. The worst meal I have had in Italy yet breakfast excellent ... the restaurant is therefore empty in evenings. Need water fountain in gym & longer morning hours in gym.

    Outstanding location , cleanliness & breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not amazing. Although we have found that to be an Italian hotel issue not just this hotels. The rooms were also quite cold as the cleaners kept putting the air con back on. We didn't need it any of the days we were there.

    This is a great hotel for just a no fuss holiday. Easy 20 mins drive from the airport costing about 25Euro. We received a slight upgrade at reception to a partial sea view room. The rooms are large and have everything you need. You are also allowed free soft drinks from the mini bar which was a nice touch I thought. 2 cokes, 2 fanta and 2 waters were always topped up. Our bathroom just had a shower but I always think Baths are a waste of space in a hotel if they aren't fancy ones. The breakfast is very good, lots to chose from. The pool area is good too as it has plenty of sunbeds. The pool bar has fab views. There is a table tennis area too which was a nice touch. There is gym if you do want to work out and it has showers there if you want to get changed before leaving for the airport and you have checked out of your room. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from nice restaurants and you can cut quickly through to the harbor or walk a long scenic way around the coast. The beach is quite far but you can catch a bus if you dont want to walk. The beach in Alghero is packed but we found that with most beaches so you just have to embrace it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was full of chemicals - could not swim in it . Breakfast staff poor service. Omelettes were terrible at breakfast .

    Great pool for Training in which is one of the reasons I chose this pool but I couldn't due to high volume of chemicals. Large rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel facility is superb, but hotel is too far south of town to walk in and staff was arrogant and surly. Failed to make dinner reservation. and then failed to tell us - so we show up without res. Had to lug luggage up hill from lower parking lot. Shame to waste such a great facility with such bad service

    Alghero is wonderful. Take boat to Grotto de Nutino (3 hours). It worth it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely horribile reception area and Hall. Looks like a third rate hotel! Offputting.Terrible word out carpet evrywhere. The water was cut off or had pipe problems for several hours one day so no showers at the pool area or anywhere else in the hotel: very bad during a blistering summer at a 5 star hotel. The air con in our suite was crazy and was 11-14°C, freezing cold for the first 2 days and nights. The TVs (both) didn't work well and stayed on all night the first two nights but it was very difficult to get any channel at all. There was a huge fat cockroach in the middle of the sink area one morning.

    Fabulous breakfast. Lovely pool We had a beautiful suite with a gretat terrace the whole way round, overlooking the bay. Barman very professional. Some of the reception staff were truly very helpful. Loved the cortesy room they lent us for half an hour in the afternoon for a shower and a change of clothes, after checking out in the morning and before leaving for the airport in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having breakfast on the terrace should be made possible.

    Quiet Location at 20' max by feet to old town and main roads to easily accessible. Quality and variety of breakfast buffet. Comfortable and spacious room with sunny terrace. Gym's equipment. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been handy to have access to an iron as we have been travelling for a while.

    Lovely spacious room and extensive choice of food for breakfast. The bar and room mini bar were a good price. A lovely pool area with plenty of sun beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced considering ongoing renovations on the outside, quite ugly, should offer discount. Need GPS to get to pool from our room on 2nd floor, have to go up to 3rd floor then back down to ground floor. They do not allow you to adjust your A/C, you must call the reception and they will adjust it for you. Each time it's too hot or too cold in your room, you must call them then wait a long time for the results. The most ridiculous thing I've ever seen in a hotel! They know when your balcony sliding door is open, either by camera or electronic sensor, and refuse to turn on your AC when the "detect" your door is open, very CREEPY! Forbidden to go barefoot on hotel premises (although when swimming it seems to be allowed), however this seems to be the norm in Italy, not my style.

    Large swimming pool with salt water. Excellent breakfast with unlimited fresh squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The un paving parking lot Under construction front Part of the hotel under construction The staffs Check out time to long

    Location Breakfast Pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description on booking regarding the room i booked did not report that the room was garden view and i asked for sea view.

    Kind personnel, incredible view, big balcony and room. The hotel is very very clean and close to the center of Alghero. International Breakfast, fresh and very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food (for breakfast) was disappointing. The restaurant/bar snacks (evening meal) was expensive. The local town has a good selection of restaurants which offer better value.

    The hotel was very clean. The staff were polite and very helpful. The view from the balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was drained so could not swim and some of staff's English made it a challenge to communicate . Also a bit expensive given other options nearby

    Very clean and central. Breakfast was good standard but(food allergies and in tolerances e.g. lactose and gluten free options should be considered Also very cental to town centre restaurants etc

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff a bit laid back. Around pool why not offer drinks & pool staff very remote. Almost trying to ignore customers

    Great breakfast. Lovely room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    BREAKFAST COFFEE UNBELIVABLY BAD AND COOKED BREAKFAST ITEMS POOR. TOASTER IS THE SLOWEST EVER. BED MATRESS VERY HARD AND PILLOWS A BIT RUBBERY. BIG BEDROOM AND TERRACE BUT TINY BATHROOM 15 MINUTE WALK INTO TOWN IS GOOD FOR YOU BUT BECOMES A BIT TEDIOUS AFTER A WHILE. TO GET TO A BEACH YOU NEED TO TAKE A BUS WHICH NEEDS TO BE FINELY PLANNED AS BUSES DON'T RUN THAT OFTEN. THERE ARE NO CHANGING ROOMS AT THE POOL AND THE SUN LOUNGERS ARE NOT THE MOST COMFORTABLE. IN ESSENCE, THIS IS NOT A FIVE STAR HOTEL BUT IT DOES CHARGE NEAR FIVE STAR PRICES - HENCE I GIVE IT A POOR VALUE MARK.

    THE 25 METRE SALT WATER SWIMMING POOL. FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT STAFF HOUSEKEEPING AND CLEANLINESS IS EXCELLENT. FREE BOTTLED WATER IN YOUR ROOM - LOTS MORE HOTEL GROUPS SHOULD FOLLOW THIS EXAMPLE. GREAT BREAKFAST AS LONG AS YOU DON'T WANT A COOKED BREAKFAST. HOTEL IS NEAR A BUS STOP

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable, extremely hard and also the pillows. No warmth and friendliness with the staff but very helpful. Although a lovely hotel I felt it was very impersonal.

    Breakfast extremely good. Bar food prices very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service during check-in. Needed to carry my suitcases by myself. The food in the restaurant is not 5-star level.

    The staff really fulfilled every wish. Extrem neat and well-cared location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach nearby. Overpriced. This is more like 4* hotel with bigger room but it doesnt make it a 5*... the tv was very small and the quality was aweful.

    Great breakfast. Great lunch. Great staff. Great swimming pool. Very nice bar. Room was big.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    GRANDDAUGHTER FELL ON STEPS OUTSIDE THAT WERE WET THE STAFF SAID THAT THEY ONLY HAD ONE NOTICE WHICH WAS UPSTAIRS SUGGEST YOU GET OTHER SIGN

    I THOUGHT THAT THE POOL WAS GREAT

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its walking distance to city center, but when the sun is up, or when you are returning from dinner after eating pasta, this distance seems too long

    Great swimming pool Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike at all!

    Fabulous hotel. Perfect location. ( Only 20 minutes walk to Old Town ). Lovely staff. Fantastic food. Breakfast the best choice we have ever had. Beautiful views. Great room (Executive) Free mini-bar.Loved everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in. Like sleeping on a block of concrete. Huge room but the smallest flat screen tv you can have. No robes, no nice toiletries just dispensers on the wall in the shower and by the basins. Considering this is supposed to be a 5* hotel, it was missing some of the extras you would expect from this category of hotel The breakfast was good but have had better in other hotels we have stayed at over the last few years.

    Cleanliness of all areas, friendly and helpful staff, location, size of room, views and prices at the bar. Nice pool with plenty of sun beds and parasols. Free car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A soulless place missing the charm and warmth of smaller family run hotels found elsewhere.

    Large swimming pool; nice sized bedroom room, good shower; amazing massage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically everything, including the exorbitant price.

    Nothing much. A pretentious place with a "luxury" connotation. In reality, a worn place with very bored staff. Only one person (Massimiliano) at the reception was genuinely friendly and helpful. All others were barely there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left early around 6am. No staff said good bye which was a small thing but after 6 days we felt a bit sad to be leaving and would have liked a good bye.

    The location was good for us as we like walking. It's slightly out of alghero town. The staff were ok. Poor English did not help. The pool was v good as it was big and had salt water. The breakfast was v good. Even though it says this is a 5 atar hotel, for us it is more like a good 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brand new, very clean, SPA is out of this world, perfect location close to the old town yet nice and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choice hot food at breakfast.car park not finished off.

    Hotel restaurant and waiters excellent.and comfortable stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay (half april) a lot of maintenance was going on

    very nice location at the boulevard close to city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside bar wasn’t open

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brand new renovated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough lighting in the rooms.

    It had a wonderful beautiful pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Very helpful staff and hotel facilities and room were perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wish we had bikes available!

    Suite was roomy and we'll equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An exceptional team at the reception, they put a lot of soul in everything they do. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is a bit pricey and there is no ability to drive your car up to the front entrance.

    the hotel is beautiful and has very good amenities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a chanche this can be considered a 5 star hotel Max is a 4 star the rooms are old and the propriety is def old Only the pool was ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A big luxury room, comfy bed, excellent breakfast. The stuff is very polite. Great pool with salt water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stafs are very kind

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Big Marco behind the bar deserves a special mention. A great guy and full of fun. Take care big guy and thankyou

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure parking - wifi very poor and need to pay to upgrade

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pre-prepared coffee at breakfast - awful!

    Large, comfortable room Situation - within an easy walking distance to the centre of Alghero

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home!

    B&b basis, excellent choice at breakfast. Staff and facilities excellent, back for the 4th time - so must be good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff are outstanding. Nothing is a problem.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a well appointed hotel that caters for everything you need on a weeks holiday. The hotel was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Location, even better with upgrade, walk to everything in Alghero, besutiful place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    access to the room took a little while

    The location and the overall quality of the hotel - it is a lovely place to have a weeks holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the the room, pool, bar area & breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hitel is not located in porto cervo as its listed on booking. Very very disapointed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No change in dinner menu

    The large clean pool

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, matched the price paid

    Beautiful hotel with great views, staff were very friendly. Our rom was great looking over the pool.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi sometimes unstable, wrong evacuationplan, they removed it and did not replaced it during our 4 night stay

    Free water in minibar, free parking, free wifi, breakfast was very good, the pool was big and had sea water

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent and helpful staff. Spacious rooms and terrace.Great views. Good buffet breakfast.Nice pool area.Hotel a little out of town but a comfortable 15 minute stroll to old town.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a modern hotel to still have the shower in the bath cannot be accepted as five star. The " snack bar " was very small and only served toasties. Maybe because we were in the off season.

    The bedroom was large and well furnished and the bathroom was nice and clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful , especially the reception ladies . We were there in march so the pool area was not in use , but for a city hotel it looked very smart

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower gel was empty when we arrived. Admittedly we could have asked for more but we didn't. The room seemed to be kitted out for just one, we had to request another towel, but appeared in a flash so it was not a problem at all. The only problem really was there was No kettle for making hot tea! We asked and you either have to pay €10 or have an executive room. We travelled out of season - it rained constantly and was quite chilly. It would have been nice to have this simple facility. The TV wasn't really much use.

    We stayed for 2 nights and had the lowest scale room but it was big size, huge bed and really comfortable with a balcony. Staff were helpful and accommodating. We had a very early morning flight with some complicated taxi requests. But it was all handled brilliantly. Antonio was excellent and even arranged a packed breakfast for us to collect. Complimentary soft drinks. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not as easy to find in the dark when you are driving - couldnt see the name of the hotel despite its size!

    had to leave early - without asking they offered packed breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for a week in an executive room with sea view. Nothing to fault - room was spacious, spotlessly clean, impressive bathroom, view was stunning. Staff were all helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the walk into town although we had not realised how quiet everywhere is in Sardinia in November but that suited us.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, as a minor point, we did not really like the taste of the champagne and wine in the mini bar

    We were upgraded to a very spatious executive suite as this was our honeymoon trip

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly, the rate is most expensive, we've stayed here several times before but we always booked well in advance & it was pricey at that. However we booked only first night we arrived in Alghero in advance this time (€192) & we were planning to stay the last 3 nights of our trip also but we were given a rate of €604 for last 3 nights...!!! I think this is outrageous..!!! Thankfully another hotel close by gave us three nights accommodation at half that price & it's just as nice a hotel.

    Lovely hotel with amazing view & I like that it's a short walk to the centre/historic parts...The promenade walk is fab

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast finished too early at 10am for leisurely eating. Restaurant for lunch, only opened for an hour and a half, then closed. €30 deposit for pool towel. A charge of €10 for coffee and tea tray in your room. Spa under construction, so no spa facilities, though pictures shown of them. Very regimented approach to card keys, information folder etc.

    Loved the location, comfort and pool

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel claims to be a spa hotel. As a matter of fact they only have one masseuse and hence 1 table. The beach across the hotel is rocks only. Tip: rent a scooter immediately so you can travel to other (sand)beaches.

    We received an upgrade to a room with a view which was stunning!! Perfect location for a walk to the old town (15 min).

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff great location and felt well looked after throughout our entire stay. Food was great and so was service. We will be returning to hotel Carlos

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were too hard for me. Also coffee and tea at breakfast were poor. To be a 5 star hotel, drinks should not be from an urn.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was as expected. Drinks at the bar were reasonable and service was good. A little way out of town but that's not a bad thing. A very nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is in a great location overlooking the Gulf of Alghero, approximately 15 mins from the Old Town which to be honest was great because it was so quiet. The Bar staff were very attentive and curious at all times especially Marco who always greater U.S. While a friendly smile. No issue with getting sunbeds around the pool at any time of the day which is a bonus. Rooms were of a good size with adequate storage for clothing and cases. Nice touch was the complimentary water and soft drinks in the Mini bar that were replenished daily.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hours the pool was opened was very limited. They closed at 7 in the evening. It turned dark around 930pm. We wanted to relax and swim around 9 to 11 in the evening. The staff was distrustful with the pool towels.

    Location and the size of the pool.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Gym hours terrible, 2 high chairs for 200 rooms...not good enough. We waited up to 30mins for a hugh chair, when you have 2 kids under 3.5yrs that's not ok to get to breakfast and have no high chair available. Told management and no help at all.

    Location, hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We weren't overly impressed with the hotel restaurant in the evening but it was "ok", but there are plenty of good alternatives within walking distance, so not an issue

    Very clean, spacious, never any problem finding a sunbed around the pool, the staff we very helpful and courteous. We had an executive room which was very nice - one of the best rooms we have stayed in.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Carlos V traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: