Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton On The Grand Canal 4 stars

Santa Croce 578, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

#211 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1102 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Room a little tired •Moved out of main breakfast room in the morning and sat in a room that was obviously a make shift breakfast room and was poorly staffed. Afterwards I saw that the tables had been reserved but an explanation would have been much appreciated as I was left wondering if we had been sat there because we were only in the classic double room.

    A beautiful setting and reception areas. Lovely rooftop restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for what is was, but all the Hotels the same in Venice!

    good location, close to Station and bus stop from Airport. Right on Grand Canal, with the water bus stops close to Hotel Wonderful roof top bar with views over Grand Canal. 30 min walk across Venice to San Marco square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too small and hard to get into the WC.. Almost no space for the large luggage. The only choice we had was to take water taxi to the hotel location as we had 4 pieces. If we take taxi only we had to carry our luggage across 3 bridges to reach the hotel. Almost impossible for elderly couple to do this. Water taxi costs 120.00 Euro for 2 person one way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They would not lend me an iron to iron my clothes and I therefore had to pay per item to have it ironed by housekeeping. Bathroom in our room was dated and run down.

    Hotel is in a good location and has a great roof top bar overlooking the grand canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very expensive, not worth the money spent, for online booking travelers they provide rooms which has no view either of the canal or the garden. basically the windows open on to there heating or aircon, central machinery with makes lot of noise. no fresh air.

    nothing much, very old design, dated interiors, and rooms with no view. even after spending 300 euros per night. they don't even provide a single complimentary bottle of water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel did nothing for being violated And did nothing to get back my money.

    My hotel room was robbed when I went to breakfast. Between 9- 9:45 we went down for breakfast, my husbands back pack was pillaged and my purse tucked away had 25 euros taken from my pass port and all my AMERICAN dollars. 4 pockets and the main flap of my husbands nap sack were unbuckled and thrown back under the luggage rack. The front desk lady called housekeeping and the cleaning g woman who was in our room lied to our face, the hotel said nothing. Do not stay there. The head waiter was also very rude, service for dining ng was not good. We were challenged by head waiter when we asked for undelivered drinks to be removed from our bill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is okay but not amazing and definitely geared towards Mediterranean tastes. Strange they will not provide kettles or irons in the rooms. It was too hot for hot drinks but their ironing service would not have been able to turn our garments round quick enough to wear on day of arrival. This was a nuisance and unexpected.

    Cocktails are first class and worth the money. Location was perfect for being close enough to the tourist attractions and easy transport links to islands without it being unbearably busy. Choice of Rooftop or canalside for food and drinks was good. Even standard room was a good size. Arriving and departing by water taxi was worth the extra expense. Staff were helpful and well trained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit dated and bath too narrow for overhead shower - very difficult not to get heaps of water on the floor especially if you are of a big stature!

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Super location close to station and bus depot and waterbus stops. Our room overlooking Grand Canal was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were like rocks, and bathroom had only a hand held shower. Waiter at downstairs bar was quite rude.

    Great location, one bridge from train station on Grand Canal. Breakfast was very nice, too. The courtyard our room opened onto was lovely and had tables and chairs if one wanted to sit outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property or the room allotted to us looked very old and didn't match to what or class of how its shown in picture, I am bit disappointed there.

    Very good property compared to all other in surroundings.. very good staff friendly and good breakfast spread if you specially like desserts or sweets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no view.

    Location was fabulous and convenient. Property well maintained. Restaurant had great food. Vegetarian breakfast was managed by the hotel for us. Very prompt, helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comforter on the bed was a little scratchy but overall everything was great.

    We had the first flight out of the airport so they packed breakfast bags for our trip since we were leaving before breakfast started.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to from the train station; almost right across the canal. Much quieter than around St. Marks sq.; a little reprise from the large noisy crowds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air conditioning ... apparently does not get activated until the end of April. It was quite warm when I was there, and was told by Reception to 'open the window' to cool room! That let in some mosquitos - I was bitten.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was far from the san marco place . Any how, you can go there with boat with around 7.5 €

    The hotel was very nice and its near from the train station and airport bus station. Also thebreakfast was very great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO air conditioning! So hot in our rooms had to leave all windows open all night. Right above the kitchen so had so much noise until early hours.

    Very nice location. Easy access from the main train station. Straight over the bridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have liked to have had a kettle in the room.

    loved the location, great breakfast included. Staff were all very friendly and helpful although breakfast room was busy at the weekend, staff always tried to find tables quickly for everyone. The venetian styled rooms really added to the feeling of being in a very old historical place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and pretty basic, but worked fine for what we required on this trip. No bathtub, just a stand up shower (wife likes to soak in a bath). The location made up for this.

    The location is awesome. Our room looked down on a very popular plaza/square, lots of action all around us. Tons of restaurants and cafés with outdoor seating, and excellent shopping. 5 Star!!! Staff were very nice and informative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for tourist with big luggage as the bridge has many steps before reaching hotel. There's no A/C In the room. When we opened the window for ventilation, mosquitoes came in. View wasn't as described in picture. Our room was facing the dark corridor. Room is small and stuffy. Toilet is small.Bed pillow is too soft and there's one pillow only. Do not hotel doors closed after midnight. Have to ring a bell to get in.

    Close to station but have to cross a bridge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing of room windows wasn't great, noises from the street outside and ferries could be heard. Breakfast area was very crowded and food was average but enough to keep you going for the day. Hotel location was indeed opposite the train station but tourists with big luggages must be ready to cross over to this hotel with your luggages by using the nearest bridge and climb step by step. No lift and wheelchair access is available. The hotel did recommend paying 15-20 euros to get our luggages transported across.

    People at the front desk are quite helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, the beds were very firm and uncomfortable. I definitely felt my age waking up each morning. The hotel could really use a sprucing up; bedding seemed outdated, many cracked tiles, stained carpets, and the rooftop terrace was inaccessible which had been a big selling point for selecting this hotel. The weather was very pleasant, so we did leave our windows open to allow the air to flow since the hotel doesn't provide fans. We could hear our neighbors really well but for us it wasnt a problem. Since this is our first experience in Venice, we have nothing locally to compare our hotel to. However, compared to other "4 star" hotels we've stayed at around the world, I believe this one was overpriced for the level of accommodation provided.

    Most of the staff were kind, such as Elena at the front desk. The dining room staff seemed happy and attentive, and the breakfast was adequate. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the room nice and clean, which was nice to come back to in the evenings. Toiletries were good, the towels were very big and soft, and there was good water pressure. The location was excellent, and we didn't have to trek all over Venice searching for our hotel as we saw loads of others doing. If a convenient location is a high priority for you, then you can't beat it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar never open, no reason advertised at hotel why it was closed Front view room, very noisy in the evenings with the boats, people downstairs in the bar and random singing for hours into the early night! Room could do with a little redecorating

    Italian decor Yummy breakfast, eggs and bacon, croissants etc, tea tea tea! Luxurious bar downstairs Super friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    excellent location - opposite railway station (across the bridge) and not very far from the center; good Wi-Fi; friendly staff; good breakfast; our room was at the first floor and windows looked in the yard, so it was not noisy, but not so sunny. We were given triple room instead of double so it was even more than we expected. Very nice decorated room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable. Pillows were terrible. Room was small and did not have tea or coffee making facilities. We expected more for a 4 star hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would suggest bigger beds, as my partner and I are quite tall and both of our feet were almost hanging from the end.

    The location of the hotel is excellent and the staff is extremely friendly. We have been offered a complimentary upgrade to our room, which had a view to the grand canal. We were however disappointed with the size of the room and the size of the bed, which was very small. The bathroom on the other hand was brand new and shower was amazing!! We were looking forard to visiting the rooftop bar, but was closed due to colder weather. It would have been nice to have this information before.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where somewhat rude. The beds are rock hard A double superior room... was two single beds pushed togther, not even a double sheet on it. Literally two single twin beds made up separately and pushed togther. Our room had such bad damp sections of the plaster off the being fell off during our stay above the TV (room307) and I don't mean a small dusting I mean sizes the same size as my hand. From 5am onwards you will be woken by the water taxis if you pay for an upgrade to a Canal view room because there is no sound proofing No toilets within the hotel other than the ones in your room

    The location was ok for commuting in and out of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All was excellent.

    Very nice hotel at a great location, right in front of the train station and very close to the bus station as well. Nice decoration and excellent breakfast. I would stay longer if I could. We had dinner at the restaurant on our last night and the menu was excellent. The chef and the maitre were very gentle and talked to us. We also had some drinks at the bar and the people working there were also very nice. In fact, all staff are well prepared and nice. I would love to go back and spend more time at this wonderful town!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For Venice, this is quite a big hotel. It is therefore rather crowded. The breakfast room is always full and although the staff does its best, sometimes it takes time to get a table, a coffee etc. The same at the reception - there is often a long queue and you can spend 10-15 minutes just waiting for the key of your room.

    I had a nice room with the view of the Canal Grande. There was a safe and a minibar. The hotel is opposite the railway station close to Piazzale Roma.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was a lot of noise in the courtyard outside our patio room pretty early in the morning (before 830, possibly earlier). The bed and pillows were much too hard for us.

    Super convenient location! Right across the canal from the train station (be forewarned though, the bridge you have to cross to get there is all stairs, both ways, so don’t bring a lot of heavy luggage)! Traditional decor. WiFi worked great. All of the staff were polite, professional, and dedicated to assisting guests in any way they could. Stored our luggage for us when we arrived before check in and again when we checked out several hours before our train left. The restaurant, while a little pricey (dinner, dessert, and three drinks each cost about as much as our room), was top notch! The maitre ‘d was very professional and responsive. Sadly, we missed the breakfast that was included with our room but it smelled great! The bathroom was very nice, great water pressure in the shower. Nice towel warmer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel noisy not from outside but inside by Cleaning ladies, they slamm doors often on the morning. As a 4 star hotel, lack of bathroom robe and pappy :), and breakfast could be more various hot meals (not only cramchy, packed things), and dark bread additionaly (was only white bread), so for vegans and vegetarians to hard find varions meals, but it is ok.

    Close to Piazzale Roma i Ferrovia, you dont need to carry your stuff so far, only 2-3 small bridges, so it is important when you travel by car (Piazzale Roma Parking Lots), and when you to be lost at night i Venetia - only follow P. Roma or Ferrovia arrows direction, you always find you hotel eveln little drunk :), About Hotel: it was our next stay in it, during a Carnavale, Room are cotty in veniatian style, always cleaned, Bathroom has thub and dushe e..qo, and is clean. Personel: very nice and friedly (maybe we speak italian) Breakfast hall in venetian style, breakfast so, so, as normal, scramled eggs with sousidge, etc, etc, Dont forget a discount coupon (stamp) to Garage San Marco (20% off from 30 euro a day).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold weather. It was unseasonably cold in Venice at the time and it could’ve been warmer but the hotel was well heated and I slept beautifully

    Overall the staff was very helpful. They let me check in a half an hour early they stored my bags and they recommended places for me to go in the meantime. Every time I approach the front desk I received a smile which means a lot to me when I travel abroad alone

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff I asked for a bottle opener early eve and guy on reception rudely said you have to get it yourself on the night of 2nd March, 2028

    Location on grand canal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly people in general, rip off restaurants as well

    Local restaurant charged us 30 euros more for the same meal on different nights a total rip off

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the croissants there wasn’t much option for breakfast unless you wanted to pay extra, the bathrooms were a bit run down and for a 4 star hotel I was surprised you weren’t given bottles of water. You had to pay €3 for them.

    The croissants were lovely with breakfast and the location was perfect. The staff were all lovely and the bedroom was beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkin was easy, staff all over the hotel are very helpful. Bedrooms are nice, bed is comfortable. Great location, easy to get to the train station (just over the bridge) Breakfast is good, plenty of food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only had one pillow - would have been nice to have 2 but then in fairness we didn't ask for an extra one so not sure if our request could have been accommodated. The view from our room was essentially the back of another hotel. We went during Carnivale and so the hotel was full. Again, we did not ask for a canal view or put any other specific requests in for the room so not sure how accommodating they could have been had we asked. So, I suppose my advice would be to request a specific room when you book really. One major issue I did have though was the heating in the room. We went in Feb so weather was chilly and so after being out all day we wanted to warm the room up. However, the heating system appeared to be a bit antiquated (not Venetian antiquated but perhaps early 90's?). It essentially just blew hot air around the room. As a result, it can leave your throat/skin feeling very dry and a bit groggy in the mornings (it was more than the wine!!) Breakfast was ok. Standard European fare i guess but i have had better. Perhaps a bit expensive but again we booked quite late and during Carnivale so perhaps to be expected.

    As much as many people slate the decor of the rooms I felt that they were to be expected. The hotel is described as having been decorated in the traditional Venetian style so I wasn't expecting city scape wall paper or minimalist furniture with modernist lines. It may not be to everyone's taste but it certainly was as advertised. Staff were attentive, helpful and friendly Location is perfect, it is right on the canal, opposite a water bus station, opposite the major train station and about 10 minute walk from the main bus terminal Considering you are in Venice to explore the hotel is always a secondary consideration and overall this offers the average traveller the facilities they need. Towels in the bathroom were good quality, room was warm and heating adjustable, cleaned daily and the maids even folded my partners pyjamas for her!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel closed the restaurant on the Saturday night as they had a carnival function we were offered a place but at full cost of 220 euros per person. We feel that as guests with no restaurant available we should have been offered a discount. We were planning to eat in the hotel on the Saturday night

    Location was excellent for our needs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a little more from our room for the price. Was partulstly basic and heavily dated. We didn’t have a bed for our 2 year old son on arrival as the hotel expected him to share our double bed. They quickly rectified the situation with a travel cot.

    The bed was very comfy and the hotels facilities and breakfast was above expectation. House keeping very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you get a room with the canal view, it can be very loud (may "vaporettos" circulating during the day and night). The breakfast was not as extraordinay as shown in the photos. The beds are hard and the rooms are decorated in old venezian style. If you don't enjoy old style, then don't book this Hotel.

    Good Location, very central and esay to arrive from Airport or Train Station. The bathroom was very big and clean. Very luxurious rooms/Hotel decorated with old venezian style (you like it or hate it).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was always kind and helpful, gave us a map and offered help when necessary. We received an upgrade and stayed in a bedroom with a beautiful view to the canal. It's amazing that their location is right at the front of the train station, walking distance and no chance of getting lost, what always happens when walking in Venice! Breakfast had a great variety, was very good and staff was serving us all the time, fresh and delicious food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too shabby chic for my likings. I expected the room to be a bit better for the cost of the room. Quite expensive for one night.

    The location across from the train station was excellent. Opening up the window shutters the the Grand Canal was such a wonderful treat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude, unwelcoming reception staff. Rooms small and dated. Reception staff rude and unwelcoming and disinterested. No Kettle/Coffee machine etc. Doesnt feel like 4 star at all except the entrance lobby.

    Great location as opposite to train station and on the Grand Canal. Beautiful lobby Breakfast staff warm and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and room

    This hotel did not deserve to be rated as 2 stars. Although great location but very old rooms and showers. Also the breakfast buffet was like shut down for appetite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is good.

    The hotel is very near with to Sta Lucia Venicia train station which is very helpful and very safe, we just walk from the station to the hotel as its just 3 minutes away, you can see the hotel because its just exactly on front of station. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hote is only a few minutes walk from the bus station. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and to my delight my room overlooked the grand canal! A breakfast buffet was included in the price, and was very impressive. I enjoyed my stay and fully intend to stay at the same hotel on my next visit. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Good breakfast. Excellent restaurant for dinner. Comfortable lounge area for relaxing whilst enjoying an aperitivo or after dinner drink. Super helpful and friendly staff. Stunning location within easy reach of everything that Venice has to offer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that we were served instant coffee in Italy! We asked for a double expresso at breakfast and they brought us what was clearly instant coffee, it was surprising. When we asked for actual expresso and they brought it right away.

    Breakfast was very good. There was all the usual stuff plus bacon and scambled eggs every day. We were able to get vaporetto tickets at the front desk. One morning it was raining and the staff gave out rain ponchos in clever little containers. The hotel was quite busy, with several tour groups and 2 events in the 4 days we were there. They were still able to provide good service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location and kindly given grand canal view rooms as my daughters 21st birthday. Unique decor in rooms which was very attractive. Helpful staff, nice breakfast and relaxing but way too short stay. Hopefully we will return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location to the train station and ferries. Easy to walk everywhere. Breakfast was excellent and included in price. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I came in late at night and was not able to get a porter to help with my luggage over two large bridges. It was exhausting! Not the fault of the hotel, but a consideration nonetheless.

    The concierge was extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room was very comfortable and the bed was top rate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For a Superior Room, not so spacious, also reduced space for clothing, overlooking the canal, it was noisy. Personnel not so friendly, no one to help you with the luggages or to give you your key back when coming back to the hotel...

    Location was excellent, well connected to vaporetto and walking distance to any attractions. The breakfast was very good. Nice rooftop terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The canal is quite noisy as the hotel is right opposite the train and boat stops so it is definitely not a quiet location, but if you can deal with the noise everything is a 15/20 minute walk from the hotel and there are transport links everywhere.

    Great view onto the grand canal and super close to many good restaraunts and beautiful walks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I was getting a canal view room, but didnt. Small breakfast area.

    Hotel was nice and clean. It's on the Grand Canal. Close proximity to the train terminal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Top of the Canal Bar was not open when we wanted to go there on a sunny afternoon.

    Excellent location and service with a great view of the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is really a "tour group" hotel, and those on-their-own bookers should be made aware of this as it is cattle herding at its worst. The room was so small that one of us had to stand on the bed to let the other move around (e.g., get to the bathroom or door). The room was "musty" smelling and induced an allergy attack each night. The food was not good -- soupy eggs and no other protein; mostly bread options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite expensive, particularly if one considers the overall standard of the services provided. The people at the reception are not responsive or nice (especially Dennis) and the breakfast service lacks quality (both food and service). You are basically paying for the location and for a reasonably confortable room.

    The Hotel is very well located and it is a reasonably confortable hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the standard was poor Breakfast offerings were dismal and small restaurant Noise was a factor also Upstairs on the roof top they were dragging tables and chairs about from 10.30 at night Couldn't sleep No choice of pillows

    Convenient location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to station and water taxis easy walk to Rialto and St Marks. Room comfortable but not big. Lack of power sockets and no adaptors available from desk. Good selection at breakfsst

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get a room with a nice view as requested, in fact our room over looked a roof and I booked this ages ago, the room was also at the very back of the hotel, though we didn’t mind the walk, I felt that the booking was so far in advance our request may have been granted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and small bathroom. No space to open cases which we had to use because there were no drawers for clothing and tiny wardrobe. Tired decor.

    Good position on the Grand Canal. Roof top bar with music was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no advice about carrying our luggage by ourselves in a very rocky long street and our room had 3 windows looking to the walls

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was very uncomfortable, breakfast was lacking, room to small for amount of people Could not keep up with all the people at breakfast

    closeness to train station and waterbus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Canal view room although nice needed a bit of a revamp. The bathroom is looking a bit dated and a seperate shower unit rather than just over the bath would have been better. The room was also a bit noisy with the ongoing canal traffic.

    Lovely hotel in an excellent location for sightseeing. Directly opposite the train station. Water bus depot directly opposite also so easy to reach just across the bridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boat ride to St. Mark's Square. No real sites near.

    Close to Train Station, but you have to cross canal to get to hotel. Porters available so not really big deal. Vaporettos leave from Train Station side of Canal. Can get to the "sites" easily from there. Hotel itself first class. No complaints. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa facilities

    Great location on the grand canal, Near bus station, train station and water bus station. The roof top bar is lovely on a sunny day. I enjoyed watching all the boats and gondola's going by it was very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    I love everything about this hotel, I go here most years, although first time booked through booking.com.....will be return next year as Venice is my yearly holiday of choice and my favourite place. I always stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on check in could be more welcoming. They were better when dropping key on and off.

    It was all lovely, very Venetian and not a bad size as we expected quite a small room, so better than expected. Fantastic view from our room on to the grand canal. Lovely croissants for breakfast, fab roof terrace for drinks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms are tiny for the money you pay. also there is no iron in the room and hotel is not providing it because they want to charge 7 euro for a single shirt to iron. Looking over the grand canal but hotel is very far from main attractions. It is a long walk to Rialto or san Marco. We Arrived late night and there was no way but walking to the hotel with luggage because there is no porter service at that time. it is close to piazzale roma but walking over the bridges with luggage is very hard. I recommend find another property which is more accessible for transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always enjoy our stay there it's like home for us as we have been there every year for the past 4 years. Food great , service excellent , staff friendly 👏🏻

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved dinner on the rooftop. Room was nice and quiet, but we had an inside room. Inside room was nice but an exterior would have been better, but I booked last minute so can't complain. I would recommend travel to this hotel with the airport shuttle bus and not the water taxi, we took the shuttle bus, booked this one for an overnight before our flight out, access to the airport was easy from this hotel as opposed to where I stayed earlier in the trip. It was surprisingly easy to get around the city from here, I was expecting to just walk around the area near the hotel but ended up going much further.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was pretty basic for the price and bit tired in decor.

    We really enjoyed Venice - picturesque, clean and friendly. The hotel had easy access - the location was close to the train station and parking area. It was easy to catch the water taxis and also easy to walk into the hidden streets of Venice. The hotel had a roof-top patio that was a lovely place to have a drink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, each night in another room. The rooms: The family rooms are very small and cluttered, the bed sheets are very old (1980 probably or older) but they qualify only as old & cheap sheets not vintage. Stains are on everything from mattresses to linen. The extra blankets look like something that should've been discarded long ago. They are going for a vintage look, but I think outdated and unkept describe them better. No complimentary water, glasses, kettle, coffee... though you would expect it in a 4 star hotel. Our rooms had no views. One had a special view to the back street of the hotel right above the glass and paper recycling bins, the other room had a view in the inner courtyard and above the reception hall with special view from the bathroom to the hallways of the hotel. Therefore we had our blinds down most of the time so we felt like staying in a cave rather than a 4 star hotel room. The bathrooms: The bathtub is so small that even a small person has problems fitting in. You risk flooding the entire bathroom when taking a shower so they added bathroom curtains, which might be ok at home, but I think they are not a good idea in a hotel as I am not sure they change them for each visitor. The bathrooms themselves are outdated in terms of look and feel. The atmosphere: The hotel looks and feels more like a motel at the border of a country (or next to a train station..) than a 4 star hotel in Venice. They obviously spent a lot of money to update a bit the reception hall, but if you look closely you can see the cheapness of the work. The cleanliness: As I was saying the hotel is very dirty, stains are everywhere, there is a lingering smell of sewers and dampness. We had to change a towel right after check-in as it had lipstick stains on it. The noise: The noise is unbearable, the walls are not soundproof, the windows are 1 sheet glass panels and rattle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, particularly the front desk, weren't very helpful, they made you feel like you were bothering them and were very condescending. They didn't have recommendations for dinner or bars in the area. They weren't prepared to accommodate the large crowds staying at the hotel. The restaurant staff were also rude until they realized we were having a full meal with drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room with weird furniture, Small tv which was actually adjusted on a dressing table

    Break fast buffet was really good Wifi had a good speed Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small and dirty , TV small , room was sub standard , I complained and contacted booking.com , room then changed which was better but air conditioning was not good , somebody else also complained of poor air conditioning in their room.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Carlton On The Grand Canal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: