Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carmine 3 stars

Piazza Carmine, 16, 91025 Marsala, Italy

#2 of 17 hotels in Marsala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 319 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the old town centre of Marsala.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Nice breakfast in the verandah overlooking the garden. Our room had a balcony overlooking the garden. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Boutique hotel with great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great!

    The service is great: the hotel booked for us a vineyard tour with their driver, Giuseppe. We went to 3 main vineyards and had an English guide and 3 wonderful tasting. Giuseppe has been very patient and helpful and in fact he gave us information on when to go and visit Saline Ettore Infersa. He organized a visit to Museo del Sale and the windmill and suggested us a great spot to see the sunset having drinks. The hotel has a great ancient common area with a wonderful garden and the location is very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good once we moved to a quieter room with more air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first room we were given was on the ground floor. It was dark and airless as the window did not open and ac was noisy. Also the noise from the breakfast room above was dreadful next morning. We asked if we could be moved and were given a much pleasanter room on the 2nd floor.

    Good central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Super experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Very nice hotel, loved the building and the decoration. The room had also a small private terrace where you can enjoy a glass of wine. The breakfast is rich and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful chic hotel, our rooms rather small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a room for 4. Unfortunately it felt claustrophobic under the eaves with only skylight windows and the internal stairs were v steep to get to the bathroom at night. They kindly were able to move us to two rooms which were ok for two nights but rather small. Wi-fi patchy. No tea making facilities in the room :-(

    Fabulous building with comfortable and very stylish communal areas . The original monastery building is of course lovely and the renovation has been carried out very well , modern but sitting well with the original features to give a sense of calm and timeless quiet luxury. We enjoyed being able to have a refreshing cup of tea or reviving Prosecco at the bar after long days site seeing. Staff very helpful. Abundant breakfast with local specialities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great property, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay longer.

    Secured parking in Palermo!! Location was perfect, we could walk to the opera house, and driving in and departing were not as difficult as we expected. Room over looked the courtyard, not a great view, but it was very quiet. We were in a suite, a nice space. The breakfast buffet had great variety, and musn't forget to mention that we really appreciated that little private elevator.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Unexpected gem in old Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the bar was a problem one of our two nights.

    A beautiful, surprising hotel in a lovely quiet square. Old features were well integrated into a modern hotel. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking a secluded garden. The bathroom was a little small and old-fashioned, but acceptable. Staff were very helpful and charming. Welcome drink of Marsala!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful; the essence of Italian interior decoration. Our room was spacious with a big bed, separate dressing room, large bathroom and a balcony shared with the room next door. Breakfast room is amazing and so is the choice of food. The staff super helpful, kind and friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend. Good value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was more air B and B than hotel so not quite what we were expecting. Could have used drinking glasses

    Comfy bed. Excellent location. Good shower Loved the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    pleasant 3 star in Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel was difficult to find without a nave-man. neither of us were well so I can't be objective.

    the location was very central to the main square. the buffet breakfast was good and the hotel was attractive - pity we missed out on sitting in the garden as the weather was cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Perfect l;location , clean efficient and nice size rooms . Staff super kind and friendly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place to stay in Marsala , very well located in the heart of the historical center Rooms were clean and staff was efficient, helpful and super friendly ! thank you very much ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Quiet place in Marsala - just off main streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the room. Note that this was not dramatic and all was fine - a room a little bit further away from the sonority of the whole hallway and staircase shaft would be been better

    Lovely location, probably quietest place in Marsala - impressive area. However, room was located just next to the lift and overall, this is a very noisy interior, especially when late arrival guests drag their suitcases and make load comments - that was a shame. Breakfast was OK - large selection of cakes (freshly made) - but staff was a bit "brusque". But, the welcome desk was great, parked the car nearby for us ... and I was able to find it back, which is always a bonus. The room was spacious but you really had the impression to be in the hallway (this was re-enforced by the fact that you are near the lift!).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    In general we were more than disappointed with the room. Broken toilet flusher. Noisey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor, which was annoying. Very noisy. Not the hotels fault as they were full but we should have been told before booking. Toilet flusher was broke and was loose off the wall. Room was generally okay but very small and not worth the money. Prices off mini fridge were okay but a wider range would have been better. We had to ask for blankets because we were cold. There was a power cut, not the fault of anyone but it was frustrating.

    Friendly staff. Clean areas. Charming orginal features.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and surroundings to explore the old town of Marsala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to a restaurant in the hotel would have been nice, rather than being forced out to eat.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic as was the conversion of the property to a peaceful oasis in the midst of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay. Easy access to main corsa which hums in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a second extra pillow. Parking in neaby street, although free, was a bit of a raffle. We got lucky.

    The use of the terrace outside our room.( wouldn't apply to all rooms) The garden area was lovely. Breakfast was extensive with ample quantities and selection of sweet and savoury.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Delightful hotel in an interesting, historic building, with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely hotel in a historic building. We had a very nice room with a balcony overlooking the garden. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is not available in front of the hotel, you can park there overnight but have move by 6.00am when it becomes a tow away zone. There was some confusion as to whether staff would assist in moving car to a suitable parking place nearby. Rooms not well sound-proofed. The bathroom of the adjacent room was directly behind our bed head, we could hear toilet flushing, taps and shower and conversations.

    Beautifully restored old building in the centre of Marsala.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Overnight Stay in Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was was very good but difficult to turn down.

    The breakfast was very good. Lots of choice. Eating outside was lovely. The free glass of Marsala was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within the 1st hour our door handle came off and our toilet head fell off - easily fixed though. Everything else was perfect.

    The breakfast was fantastic. It had everything you could ever wish for in a breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    A short stay in Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use an update.

    Location was great, right in the city center. Parking is in the street near by. Welcome drink was a nice guesture. The room was quiet, overlooking a square where there is ni traffic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    good location, historic building, but somewhat overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were shown 3 other, small, dark, no-view, rooms before they finally came through with what I expected from a hotel with this level of rating and price. Very irritating!

    Once we finally were offered the kind of room I expected, especially given the price, we found it very nice with a lovely view. Also, the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    A unique hotel experience in Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have had better eggs for breakfast and more choices of bread

    The garden was fantastic, we had breakfast there, and I sat and worked there; the architecture of the building and the rooms; a 17 century bldg converted into a very modern hotel, keeping the older style visible to the eye

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Good location, excellent restaurant close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work, so sleeping in the heat was difficult. They made a small adjustment to the bill but I would rather have a good night's sleep..

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    nice little property, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit dark and not properly insulated from noise coming from next door. Breakfast could be a bit more creative, it's very sweet with a lot of cakes and pastries. But if you like that sort of thing you're in good hands!

    Location was excellent. Staff were friendly. The layout of the common areas was nice, spacious and bright.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    An oasis of calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel. Firstly the checking and welcome was lovely. We were greeted with some marsala and great ideas of where to eat dinner. The car parking is great. We just left our keys and they sorted out a safe place for two days. The conversion (from a monastery) has been tastefully done. Yes the rooms are a little small - especially the bathrooms but you really feel the place has history. There is a wonderful sunny garden with plenty of seating and a superb roof terrace to relax and get some quiet time. It really is a peaceful oasis. The breakfast was amazing! Fantastic home made cakes , eggs, cereal, breads, hams, cheeses, fruit. Coffee how you like it. Just lovely. We also lived the lounge where you can get a drink and read or watch tv. Great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Night in Marsala .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size a bit small but high cealings.all in all, would return again.

    Nice hotel in Marsala. Old renovated convent. Nice garden but was chilly outside. Recommendable place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    A unique sense of place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really have to look for a flaw, there's nothing that affected our stay negatively. There was no restaurant but that wasn't an issue for us, there are around 5 or 6 in the 2-minute walk to the main street. Would love to have stayed longer!

    Before you enter, the setting on Piazza Carmine is fabulous- totally unique architecture in my experience. Hotel is one of the best 3-stars we've ever stayed in. Building is full of character, fascinating and authentically restored, staff were extremely helpful (even parked our car for us). Bar is in a vaulted room and beautifully furnished, with plenty of Marsala wines to choose from and knowledgeable staff to help. Breakfast buffet had lots of choice and was really good. Stayed in junior suite, which was gorgeous - cavernous, comfortable, characterful, beautifully decorated and furnished, views of the piazza, rear terrace space. There was also jacuzzi-style bath.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    1100km tour around Sicily - Palermo anticlockwise then back to Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place takes some beating ! Think the second best place we stayed at in Sicily this trip..

    Beautifully converted building - the lounges around the bar were excellent for spending time with friends in the evening - large areas & confortable seating - staff were excellent & very very helpful A visit to the Pellegrino distillery to sample & maybe buy some of their selection is an enjoyable outing - A short distance from there is the museum with some very interesting exhibits including a (big!) ancient boat

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Great location in a charming city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Staff will park car on side street for you.

    Fantastic location. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet. Handy bar for afternoon tea or evening drink. A very professionally run establishment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely setting, beautiful gardens in heart of Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable and took an age for hot water in shower to come through. Also shower cubicle was tight and mixer tap in the way

    Location and overall helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.5
    Stunning decor, great views of historic buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were short on words and could have been more helpful. They offered to re-park our car, and move it back into the hotel compound at night, but did not.

    The hotel is part of what was once a convent and has been done up beautifully, without sacrificing any of the history of the building. A garden courtyard with flowering trees and inviting lawns completes the look.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel said the piazza was quiet there was quite a lot of traffic noise.

    Staff exceptionally helpful. Location good for restaurants and travel to sites.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great ambience and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2 level room was fine for one night - we kept our bags downstairs near the bathroom and slept upstairs. For any longer than 1 night this could have been annoying, but was fine for one night.

    Lovely hotel, great location and fantastic staff. The room was excellent - we had a triple room split across 2 levels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel for short stay in Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Could have had a mirror in room. Only One in bathroom

    Loved this hotel. 2 night stay visiting Marsala. Perfect location. In the centre of the old town. Lovely square. Interesting property - converted monastery. Furnishings and design good. Staff helpful. Breakfast good. Raking in side street nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    Stunning Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The arrangements for parking are a little strange (we had to move our car over night, then move it back to the road early in the morning), but local and free. It's unfortunate that people are allowed to smoke on the terrace where breakfast is served.

    A beautifully restored and converted old building. Our room was quite small, but had a lovely balcony overlooking the peaceful garden and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice and it was a short walk from the hotel to the historic centre of Marsala.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location right in the city centre, lovely staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location right in the city centre, lovely staff and beautiful rooms. Would totally recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Traditional decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Traditional decoration. Modern comfort

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good, and facilties in general good for class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult access

    Breakfast was good, and facilties in general good for class of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice location and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location and garden The bartender was very friendly and helpful (he gave lots of tips)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Only recommandable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and everyone. Very charming and relaxing place. Well kept and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice sweet breakfast, beautiful building and good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice sweet breakfast, beautiful building and good location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Classically smart hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classically smart hotel, excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    1 day only visit. (Unfortunately)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Superb location 100 yds from town centre, Stunning building Entrance, bar and garden are most impressive. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    À nice period Buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff not too friendly. Bathroom awkwardly narrow

    The very nice Piazza on which the hotel is located. The architecture

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful buildimg. Lovely garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast choices More bread, less cake

    garden lounge bar area... Ambiernce Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff is not really friendly

    Great breakfast Super location Nice building (old convent)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great conversion of monestary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cool place. Awesome staff especially Tina! Wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Very elegant, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a grand and elegant hotel in a great location. Friendly, helpful staff. Marco at the front desk and Tina in the lobby bar were exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    16th century monastary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old monastery, wonderful staff, great location. Excellent renovation that kept the charm & character of the monastery, with elevator

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    Delightful hotel in the centre of Marsala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a dreadful view!

    Lovely old building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    A pleasant garden to relax in after a day exploring the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A pleasant garden to relax in after a day exploring the wonders of the west coast of Sicily. Extremely helpful staff. Abundant Italian breakfast. Very happy to return to this stylish hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Excellent location and amazing renovation of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location and amazing renovation of the hotel. The garden was very nice .Our room was lovely and important to us after Month of travel, they had an elevator.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    This is my perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A room with a view would have been perfect but for such a short stay not top on my list of priorities.

    This is my perfect hotel. My second visit and I a already planning a third. Breakfast was delicious, wonderful choice and the freshly squeezed orange juice the icing on the cake. Coffee excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    Rooms and hotel in general have a lot of character.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have more salty stuff.

    Rooms and hotel in general have a lot of character.They maintain their traditional character with all modern amenities.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.6
    I think it was the best choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was disappointed that the table for our 6 persons group could not be combined during b'fast. We had to eat separately (and had little kids so a bit of a pitfall). Tiny bathrooms, which require proper renovation.

    I think it was the best choice. This lovely boutique hotel is in central location and has very pleasent staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    We booked the junior suite for our stay and it was exactly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the junior suite for our stay and it was exactly what we hoped for. It was spacious and comfortable. It wasn't until the 2nd day of our stay that we realised that one of the doors opened up on to a terrace. The staff we very helpful and attentive and gave us a great recommendation for dinner on our second night. It was 3-4 minute walk from the main street so it was perfect location was as your wasn't to far from the busy nightlife but it was far enough for it to be quiet. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Great location, easy walking distance to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, easy walking distance to the centre of town. we had a large room with a big bathroom, well appointed, parking available. A really nice hotel. we had an outlook over a small square at the front of the hotel, it also has a really nice garden area. Breakfast was good too.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    The helpfulness of the staff was remarkable, from assisting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The helpfulness of the staff was remarkable, from assisting us with our parking to recommending a spectacular restaurant. Our every need was tended to. The location of the hotel was excellent as well.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Superb location in the heart of Marsala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb location in the heart of Marsala. A brilliant conversion of an old Monastery, lend some genuine character to the hotel. A complementary glass of Marsala left in our room was avery nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Lovely room, excellent staff and quiet but convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be much better: good coffee, fresh fruit, smaller but higher quality choice of cakes.

    Lovely room, excellent staff and quiet but convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff that speaks very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly and helpful staff that speaks very good English. Perfect location to enjoy Marsala wine and city itself. Hotel with good soul. Modern but connected with the history of the place. Very nice room. Clean and functional.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The hotel is very spacious, well-appointed and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. The location is excellent, near the centre of Marsala. The breakfast (continental) is first-class! The reception staff were very helpful when we asked for help with parking and with a minor problem with our rented car. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact the we only booked one night since we had other areas of Sicily we planned to visit. Wished we could have stayed longer.

    Everything! The is no way there is a better hotel in the area. The owner Antonio went above and beyond to make sure everything was just right and this filters down to his entire staff. The most genuine people I have ever meet throughout many years of traveling the world. Great restaurant with one of the best views of the valley below.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    Tasteful remodelling of the whole building including yard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've had a larger room facing the street with a small balcony (which we preferred). The other room facing the garden are smaller but enjoy larger terrace. Many of the staff people did not speak English.

    Tasteful remodelling of the whole building including yard and a garden. Free parking in front of the hotel on first come first serve basis. Although very downtown, it was quiet in the night. Relatively rich italian breakfast with seating outside, facing the private garden. Ergonomic bed. Good wifi internet.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Ambience, public rooms, garden, staff attitude, location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the hotel without satnav is difficult, they need to deploy more signs (like their competitors).

    Ambience, public rooms, garden, staff attitude, location, value and because there it has no restaurant, the proximity of an exceptional fish restaurant (San Lorenzo).

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Location and old building beautifully restored
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The actual bed was great but there was a very heavy bedspread of quite stiff material and no blanket and the bedspread was uncomfortable but the sheet on its own was too little.

    Location and old building beautifully restored

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    Gentillesse des gens a l'accueil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rien

    Gentillesse des gens a l'accueil. Nous donne de bons conseil pour les visites et d'excellentes recommandations pour les souper. Nous y sommes restés 2 soirs et n'avons pas été décus.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    An old monastery was transformed in a delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would recommend to add at least one channel in English language for the TV. Besides the various Italian channels, there is only one foreign channel namely in French.

    An old monastery was transformed in a delightful hotel. The rooms and the facilities combine in the best way comfort with elegance.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    10
    A lovely restoration of an old building;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The narrow old streets and poor signage made it a challenge to find by car. But well worth it.

    A lovely restoration of an old building; quirky and full of charm.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful house, friendly staff, nice lounge, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be sure to check if your room has a window. Ours - didn't. We stayed there only one night so it was not really a problem but better be careful.

    Beautiful house, friendly staff, nice lounge, excellent breakfast, in the heart of the city.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    The hotel has been converted from a convent and has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel has been converted from a convent and has a beautiful old world feel to it.Location is very central and is surrounded by charming period buildings.Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    10
    Superb renovation of historic property- a former convent, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb renovation of historic property- a former convent, I believe. Design at very high standards. Probably our favorite place to stay in sicily during a month long trip. Peaceful, impeccably kept, and very reasonable for the level of design and accomadation.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Great location, beautiful garden and high end furnishings in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking can be limited

    Great location, beautiful garden and high end furnishings in authentic building

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    Elegantly restored palazzo with style, well situated in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Elegantly restored palazzo with style, well situated in Marsala old town and close to archaeologial sites. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    Simple but comfy rooms, quiet location, pleasant staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to complain about

    Simple but comfy rooms, quiet location, pleasant staff, amazing breakfast

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Carmine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: