Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Howard Guest House Residenza D'Epoca

Via Della Scala 18 black, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#299 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 795 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough and helpful staff. Too expensive. Nice little restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor flooded. The base of shwer curtain was mouldy as it sat in the water....gross. Can gear EVERYfart from next door & noisy kitchen area late at night when trying to sleep...around 12ish midnight.

    Fantastic bed...very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Good but have stayed previously and it was better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was feeling tired, breakfast the pastry was quite hard- old and one day I got 2 pieces of toast second day only 1! Jams/conserve taste great, coffee was terrible. Staff are always helpful, although having to pay on arrival and again on departure was a hassle.

    I like the unique feel to this place, the fact it is more personalized rather than a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Would not go back. Hotel La Scala across the toad was much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not interested. Knew nothing about any of the services and were not available when you needed them

    It was not personal. Serviced by people who do not care about the business

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    The bed was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving in Italy for the first night, I would have preferred authentic Italian decor. An ‘oriental room’ was unexpected.

    The bed was wonderful! Large and very comfortable. The linen was spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    reasonable accommodation near the train station, the river, and the major sites of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were some issues with the wifi, but that was minor. There was not much space in the room for luggage, bags, etc.

    The breakfast served in room was excellent. The room, bed, and bathroom were all sufficient. Location was close to the train station if traveling to/from Florence that way. The rooms are all quite unique and interesting so that may be enjoyable to some. Staff were helpful with the luggage, which was much appreciated given the stairs required to get to some of the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing stay in a stylish and comfortable guest house with attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See above. However, we were offered an upgrade and the Deluxe room was fabulous. Clean, airy, stylish and comfortable.

    We were unhappy with the Economy room which we had booked. It looked nothing like the web page and was a real disappointment. Too small and noisy as building work was being undertaken. We complained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    It is located in a quite area of town and the staff goes out of their way to meet your needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is picky, however the shower curtain was flimsy and kept blowing in on me as I was showering. I could not open the door to the tiny terrace in the evening for fresh air because there is a mosquito problem. A minor inconvenience. Definitely not a deal breaker.

    The staff was very very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delightful. The room was very quiet. I enjoyed the touches of bright color.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were issues with previous guest with bathroom, so we suffered a bit, water canisters in our bathroom during our stay and they are about to open dining room, so our terrace did not have too much privacy. But, owners and staff are nice, so we did not mind too much.

    Unique design, fantastic location close to train station SMN and close to the center, breakfast in the room on time, spacious, nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    In a great location for restaurants, sights and the train station. We would thoroughly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a double room and stayed in the garden room with a little private veranda which was nice to sit and enjoy an aperitif. Cristy and Edgar were very welcoming and helpful. The bed sheets were made of beautiful cotton, soft pillows (as requested) and the towels were large and fluffy. A good range of breakfast items were available to us and delivered to our room at a time of our choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful architecture and characterful rooms, Very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful architecture and characterful rooms, Very helpful staff, lovely breakfast on a tray, great showers and ideally located. Really good, excellent value restaurants nearby. Couldn't have asked for more! Clare and Bill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    The service was great, fabulous room & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The late arrival charge

    We could leave our suitcases there until later in the day. Breakfast was great and delivered to our room There is a charge for a late arrival, after 22.00 till 00.00 25 Euro, after midnight 50 Euro

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is amazing and so different from any hotel I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is amazing and so different from any hotel I have ever stay in The staff what can I say They are amazing and very welcoming and do anything to help you The breakfast in bed is a nice touch and the room is so clean The location is prefect 5 min from main square and 5 min from train station Would recommend staying here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Felt like i was back in the old days being a royalty :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee but the rest of the breakfast is good, and also there is need of more toiletries.

    My stay in Casa Howard was very good we did an upgrade to the room for very good value of money.MARIA is very nice she makes you feel at home. I highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    As a comfortable base for a first-time stay in Florence...not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little cool ( though she warmed up after we'd paid ) and although it's a stylish hotel, it has claims to be more than it really is. 'We are not a hotel' runs the by-line. Oh yes you are - an OK one, and not as cool as you think you are!

    Stylish and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Luxury pad in Florence - treat yourself, you're worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we loved it

    We booked a double room here but on arrival we were upgraded to a suite. It was wonderful, 2 huge beds, beautiful bathroom and shower and incredibly spacious. We were well pleased. The bed linens are top quality high thread count cotton and along with the huge fluffy towels are pristine. Breakfast was delivered to our room at a time specified by us and there were lots of options, even eggs, which we haven't had so far on our Italian tour. We liked it so much we booked an extra night. The street in front of the hotel has lots of options for eating and at the end of the street is the most beautiful piazza where you can relax (with an ice cream maybe).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    This is a wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff were great and the rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the garden room so we had a little private patio to eat breakfast. Breakfast is fab, you get several options and its all brought to your room whenever you want it for. Would come back here and 100% would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    The room is spacious and the decorations are unique and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in closes at 9pm, there’s an extra charge after.

    The room is spacious and the decorations are unique and interesting. Breakfast is great and served in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Funky design paradise!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel is a funky hotel with edge. If you are looking for your bland hotel chain type of place then this hotel will not be for you! The whole experience of this hotel is an adventure, the rooms are all different and a lot of thought has gone into each and every room. This is a family owned hotel with lovely staff and a homely atmosphere. We loved our stay here. 5*

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The staff are very nice, they are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very nice, they are very helpful. They gave us very good restaurant recommendations, they even booked it for us! The property is conveniently located. We stayed at one of the suites and it is HUGE!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    short stay in a nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were put in has got a bathtub in the floor in the bedroom. Really unusual . and damp smell . Outside of the room is a common area which should be made part of the appartment. The second room (twin B) was OK. Just about spacious enough. Bathroom worked. Breakfast in bed is an unusual touch but they dont have space to have a breakfast room. you have no choice but to eat it in bed, roman style.

    good location near the station , restaurants and a short walk to the historic center . Nice breakfast in bed , roman style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    The perefct place to stay in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel and the rooms were stunning (we have stayed in two different rooms). Location was perfect. Breakfast was top notch and served in your room. Friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and very nice room (camel).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were very old and felt a bit cold at night...

    Very friendly staff and very nice room (camel). The location was very convenient too for almost every sight nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    The floor heating in the bathroom was a nice surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor heating in the bathroom was a nice surprise. Rich and good breakfast. Very close to train station and main attractions. The staff offered to keep our luggage during the day and let us stay in the main lobby even after the check-out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    good location, great luxurious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff communication skills are weak in french, little better in english, but generally very friendly

    Croissants are amazing, Bed very relaxing, room very very big and comfy with luxurious decoration.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing room and interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got bitten in my bed. Not sure if it was moscitos or bed bugs. I had a fabulous bath but the water was not very hot. But everything else was really good.

    Stunning interior and alot of space

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Happy to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Website is misleading as to whether you looking are at YOUR room or random pics. Lots of positive reviews about breakfast but breakfast not included.! 3ft(90cm) wide bathroom- no bath

    Location , and quality of room. Nice breakfast - not included in room rate Very quite location despite being on street. 5 mins walk from station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    The one person managing at the time provided excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one person managing at the time provided excellent service. He was there when we arrived, answered promptly, and showed us to our room which was perfect for our overnight stay in Florence. The breakfast was on time and he was ready to help us with anything we could have asked for at the time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice hosts (they offered us the best cappuccino I have ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hosts (they offered us the best cappuccino I have ever had), excellent location, you can get to the cathedrals, museums and shops very easily, room was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly and attentive staff, they gave us a pleasant surprise as they noted we were on our honeymoon, provided us with some suggestions for local restaurants. Love the cute interior design of the room, feels like staying in a house, very comfortable, short walking distance to metros and main attractions. One of our favourite stay in Italy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Elegant, stylish, lavishly comfortable, silent, friendly, discreet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was greeted with care and attention by the staff who even suggested and booked restaurants for me. The suit was a work of art with lavish furniture. The detail was increadible, right down to the perfumed soap! Casa Howard is bang in the middle of the historic center, a stones throw away from Ponteveccio. Breakfast was delicious including the honey produced by them. I would happily have paid twice the amount.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming friendly staff running a quirky guest house, convenient for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, as no air con active. Manager immediately provided portable heater, making a significant improvement. We felt the liquid soap had been watered down! The guest house has a unique, quirky layout and decoration. Some of the electrics unusual- the tv switched itself off when the hall light was switched off, and one bedside lamp would intermittently switch off and then on again.

    The staff were polite, kind and friendly and couldn’t have provided a better service. The room was kept very clean and there were regular linen changes. All sites within easy walking distance .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value, good room, maybe not for long term
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common room area had a slight smell, lofted bed a little bit annoying but cool for a day or two.

    Well decorated, quirky look, great location, easy check in, great room. Overall would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    The inroom breakfast is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the only plce required me to may city tax in cash.

    The inroom breakfast is amazing. The hotel gave me a very hisorical feeling. 6 to 7 minutes from train staion and there's a suppermarket in beyween.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    The room is spacious with door to outdoor small garden, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit cold during the night and the blankets provided are a bit thin for this season.

    The room is spacious with door to outdoor small garden, very quiet and cosy. The breakfast was brought to you in the room and was really good. Hot croissants, ham with different cheese, youghurt in different flavors and fruit bowl, loved it every day. The shower was very big and comfortable and staff are friendly. Great location, five minutes to train station and 10-20 minutes walk to major churhes and galleries. Will come to Firenze again and will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    From booking to leaving there was nothing negative about this accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to an enormous room. It had two queen size beds, fantastic bathroom and fittings. Breakfast was great, nothing could fault this room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    The suite was excellent.
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The suite was excellent. Christy was fabulous and so helpful, calling taxis, booking restaurants, made sure we had a great stay. For anyone who prefers their own space instead of the corporate blandness of chain hotels this place is a must.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff went out of their way to provide a delicious breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small

    Staff went out of their way to provide a delicious breakfast to our room for us on an early departure day, and were very helpful with some technical difficulties; loved the towels! And the terrace was a nice touch. Great location. We like the feel of this place and would want to see other rooms!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Treated like Family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing some of the Florence attractions due to the broken ankle!!! (Not the properties fault 😊)

    Great location near train and central attractions, clean and comfortable. The quirky room themes add to the atmosphere, our room was spacious and had a terrace with outdoor seating. The bathroom was fine, and we used the shared refrigerators for wine and drinks. Coffee, croissants, toast and eggs for breakfast delivered to room (included or €8). And the BEST PART... we were treated like family and with compassion, particularly when my partner sprained/broke her ankle. There is a small service elevator to the second floor which was made available with no fuss. Being immobilised at the apartment with good air conditioning, and extra service was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We booked Casa Howard during some last minute travel changes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked Casa Howard during some last minute travel changes and are so happy we did. Great location, beautiful terrace, and staff was extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    The property should be called Cass Excellence and we can't wait to visit again. Wonderful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything to dislike....thats a rare thing staying anywhere.

    Breakfast was lovely, better yet served to you in your room. Fresh fruits and yoghurt. Delicate pastries and toast with hot coffee and warmed milk. Meat, egg and cereals. Decadence meets yummy. Perfect start to the day and for full tummies ready to explore fabulous Florence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Superb property to stay at in Florence. Great location and great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cristy was a superb at her job. Very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent. Very clean and all services working correctly. Breakfast was great and the added bonus of having it delivered to your door. Location was also excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Love the size, creativity, and decor of the black and white room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water! Really wanted a bath but couldn't take one. Not fond of ice bathes even when hot out. Please put id of some kind or something on doors. I was afraid I was opening a guest door.

    Decor, bed, layout, kindness of staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough wifi coverage - signal in bed was rather poor but was better in the corrdior which was closer to the wifi router.

    The fantastic shower and huge bed. The staff was very lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    The quality and variety of breakfast was standard but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of facility is specific and worthwhile to experience but it doesn't provide necessary standard for longer stay.

    The quality and variety of breakfast was standard but the facility doesn't allow to have a normal breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Our room was ready for an early check-in at no extra charge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would prefer a fan over the bed rather than aircon. No bar fridge to keep water cold.

    Our room was ready for an early check-in at no extra charge which was fantastic after a 12 hour flight. The bed was super-comfortable! Breakfast served in the room was a real treat and delicious. Tea/coffee station in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast is served in the room, but room is very small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is served in the room, but room is very small and there is no propriate table and chairs for the breakfast, so you have to eat on the bed... (breakfast is very poor)...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    The place provides a comfortable one-night stay and the host is incredibly hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to find flaws within this place. We'd welcome a second teabag in the room.

    The host was incredibly kind to meet us late in the evening and to offer us breakfast early in the morning. The small room was neatly thought over and we found it very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Very nice design , very good location although has to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice design , very good location although has to be more attentive when looking for the venue since they do not have a big signage. Loved the breakfast delivered to the room and had a breakfast in bed ! Staffs were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely loved this place, gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included in the Booking.com booking but was for direct bookings

    The stunning room and decor; the shower was good; location great near the station as I walked it with 2 suitcases; quiet; for a B&B it was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    This is a kind of aparthotel, but the room was very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a kind of aparthotel, but the room was very clean with very nice toilleteries in the bathroom. Also, they are serving a light breakfast in the room and the personnel was very kind and politely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Personal service in boutique setting surrounded by antiques
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to transport and restaurants and all the major sights. We were upgraded to a suite that was massive but all the rooms are beautiful with different themes furnished with antiques. Staff are very helpful nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Quirky rooms with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served to the room but only one chair in the room

    Individually decorated period rooms with character close to the train station and within walking distance of Florence attractions. Hotel is a group of apartment rooms in an old building just of Santa Maria Novella square. We had the library room which was full of old memorabilia. Staff were very accommodating and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast is served to the rooms but there was only on chair in the room so not the most comfortable setting. Florence is very flat so an easy walk to the river , Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi. Plenty of restaurants in close proximity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Amazing hosts and incredible accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hosts and incredible accommodation. Can't recommend this highly enough! My partner and I loved every minute of being at Casa Howard and would highly recommend it! Fantastic location and an unmissable place to stay whenever you're in Florence. We can't wait to get back!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge inside the room and more lighting in the main stairs could have been better. Plug in insect repellent in the room is advisable as mosquitoes from the terrace are going in when the door is open.

    Excellent location, friendly and very accommodating staff. Appreciate the free room upgrade with the terrace that is so cozy for breakfast and afternoon tea or coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Amazing Guest House, congratulations to the Owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I didn`t book the breakfast, I would have liked them to have an Expresso machine in the lounge.

    Amazing decoration of the Guest House, as well as comfortable. Very good value for someone who wishes to be well located as well as inside a beautifull environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location with lovely hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely renaissance style building and some nice touches to the room as well. Lovely hostess who was willing to give some help full information about the city. Parking is just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Cozy design guest house in the centre of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy design hotel in the centre of Florence 5 mins from Firenze train station. Fantastic rooms, terrace in the room. Super-friendly staff. Highly recommended)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Good hotel near to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there are stairs to some of the bedrooms although there is a lift part of the way up

    comfortable guest house on 2 floors - part of a large villa, centrally situated to get to all the "must see" sights in Florence. Had two double rooms overlooking the road which could be a bit noisy if the windows were open - no need once the air con was in operation. We needed this as the temperature reached 28 degrees. Good simple continental breakfast was served in the room , we had the "Black & White" room with adequate seating. There's an excellent pasta (made on the premises) Restaurant opposite and recommended by the lady who runs Casa Howard but there are also plenty of places to eat in Florence both lunchtime and evenings Took taxi from airport (standard fare of 22 euros) which was more convenient - allow 20mins travel time

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, beautiful room & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding Casa Howard location within building on arrival was a little confusing. If booking info confirmed that guests needed to take lift to 1st floor and ring bell at doubledoors that would really help.

    Beautiful building room & decorations. Staff were extremely helpful & discreetly friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows need screens so that they can be opened without letting in mosquitoes. The dark colour of the room and too many pieces of furniture made the room very cluttered.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.4
    Great location - small improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are OK - but eating breakfast on the floor or working on the computer in bed or on the floor does not work for us. 1. A small table and 2 chairs really are missing in the Oriental room. Yes, the property is part of an apartment building - the general entrance area looks dirty - not welcoming. 2. Cleaning the common area entrance walls and providing new good looking mail boxes would make the entrance much more appropriate for a B & B.

    The location is perfect. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower (bath only).

    Very central location. Close to train station and bus terminal. Sights are walking distance. Rooms are stylish. Breakfast in the room. Good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Be careful with staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was going to advise this place to everyone, but then this happened: We came to Florence for the fashion show, planned to walk around the city and be back by the evening 3 hours before the show, wanted to take a shower and have a small nap. Then all of a sudden, we hear the door knocking constantly, we asked them to come a bit later as we rest, they required us to open the door immediately. As we open the door, they started pushing and screaming at us to leave the hotel and threatened us to deport from Italy because we damaged their property! We asked to show us the damage, they took us to the bathroom (has wood floor and no protection glass) and they said the whole floor was wet, and the curtain was wet from top to floor and they will sue us for that. First of all, we didn't do that, as i guess they thought we are two naive girls traveling and they thought if they scare us, we will leave the house, and pay the damage. We already paid for the room for 3 nights when we arrived. So if we leave they can accept another clients. Nice business! We called police, for the eye witnessing that there is no damage. Police asked us to write official report for the moral injury. We missed our show because of this ridiculous issue. If the curtain is wet it will dry! Itsn't not a damage. They treated us extremely bad, there was no water on floor, they showed us videos where the floor was all over wet, but who knows when this video was recorded, and who can prove that it was us, not them? Or if they have problem with their bathtub, it is not our problem! And nobody informed us to be careful with the floor. We are guests, and they treated us so bad. Be careful when you travel this place. Be aware they are crazy. I wasn't comfortable when i was leaving the house, because i was thinking they can maybe burn the room and blame us after!

    The room is nice, but seems to me like fraud! Please be careful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Really easy to find from train station also located well to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really easy to find from train station also located well to visit the iconic building in Florence. Staff are friend and are generally happy to ensure your stay is a comfortable as possible. The breakfast is very good with good, coffee, warm milk, croissants and toast. Worth while staying here when visiting Florence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Elegant place to stay but would not recommend for a family given add on charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not like being charged 20 Euros extra for our 10 year old on top of what was an expensive room rate at 169 Euros B&B. Especially because there was no put-up bed needed so no extra effort on the part of Casa Howard. We only had 2 sets of bath towels even though we were charged this extra 20 Euros on top of the room rate for the 3 of us. The breakfast was poor given how much we were paying.

    The room was palatial, elegant and very comfortable. Staff on arrival were very welcoming. We booked Casa Howard because the room, had lots of space and with its 2 double beds, it was suitable for a husband and wife and our 10 year old to sleep comfortably.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful quirky guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful quirky guesthouse. We stayed in the playroom which is modelled as a child's room with a rock climbing wall! A large spacious room. Location is great, an easy walk to the train station and easy walk to the main attractions of Florence. Staff very friendly and also very secure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Tales of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved Casa Howard. Each room is beautifully decorated in a different theme. You have everything you need for a comfortable stay. A tasty breakfast is served to your room each morning, which sets you up for a great day of exploring. I loved the city. Lots of history to enjoy, and excellent coffee and food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to my arrival I emailed the place and asked if we could leave our luggage to the house before checkin time, which was at 14.00pm, as our train was arriving in florence at 11.00 but they answered that they were not in a hotel category, they were a guesthouse so they couldnt provide us with this. It was very hard for us to wander around the city with all the luggage we have until 14.00 pm and then go back to the hotel (which was near the train station so it meant going back all the way again), check in and then go out again and when we went for check in I saw that they could easily have taken our luggage in the morning. They have a lot of space there. This was a real problem if you are arriving the city early. Keep this in mind.

    The guesthouse is in 2-3 minutes way to the train station. Florence is a small city so all the attractions is in walking distance. The common areas and the rooms are very cute and cosy. The staff is very kind and sweet. We had an early train to catch in the morning so we said we wouldnt be able to have breakfast so the lady came early the other day and prepared breakfast for us and brought it to our room, knocked the door like a mother and fed us :) we really felt very special and that breakfast saved the day reaally :) we liked the place very much and definitely suggest it to everyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Relazed and enjoyed every minute there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know that in Italy the breakfast is more croissants and coffee. When I travel I enjoy having an American breakfast. Was told that the price was 10 but was charged 12euro. Whenever I travelled all my hotels had eggs with the breakfast at no extra charge. Even though that I enjoyed my stay completely. Our garden room was great.

    On the whole we loved our stay.Staff were extremely helpful and nice . Most probably will be back again for another visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful staff, individual & stylish rooms, central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were fine with a tray on the bed, but in our room it would have been nice to have the choice of a small table & chairs near the window for the breakfast.

    Very helpful staff, individual & stylish rooms, central location within easy walk of the main sights. WIFI service was easy to connect & reliable. If we go back to Florence, we would return here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    boutique hotel with lovely hosts, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved it

    great location for the train and the city, gorgeous boutique interior, lovely helpful hosts and they upgraded us. they bring breakfast to your room which is warm croissants and toast with jam and honey plus tea or coffee. very nice breakfast. comfortable bed and the shower in my room was enormous. were able to leave bags before and after check in/out. good value for the city and for standard of interior.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff have gone out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We checked in quite late and still the staff were their waiting for us and were friendly and helpful. Rooms beautiful. Location great and even breakfast in bed!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    exquisite hotel with wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the front desk is not 24 hour on service, travellers need to carefully plan in advance

    extremely exquisite decoration which makes travellers dwell in romance with the enchanting Firenze

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Exceptional good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At least in our room, maybe a bit more light in the livingroom

    The Interior was awesome, also the location, 2 min to the trainstation and 5 min to the oldtown. Staff was friendly and they brought the breakfast in your room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Тhе room is small but cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Тhе room is small but cosy.The wooden ceiling with decorations makes the room like in the medieval palace. Breakfast is OK. Staff is polite and attentive. Location is perfect, you can get to places of interest, the railway station, the central market.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Casa Howard Guest House Residenza D'Epoca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: