Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Rovai Guest House

Via Fiesolana, 1, San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50122 Florence, Italy

#266 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no continuous reception so there was nobody to pick up my call when I was having trouble to enter the "zona limitata di traffico". Also the remote control for the air conditioning was not provided. Do no forget to ask it if you think you'll need it.

    We dropped the car in the garage next door and could enjoy being in the center of Florence with the duomo at 5min walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be a common bathroom for guests to use anytime. The light switch after the main door before getting to the stairwell should be more visible or lit up especially at night. We could not see where the switch was located to turn on the light to be able to go up the stairwell. So we had to use our cellphone's flashlight to go up the dark steps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in single room , the only thing I didn’t like was the private bathroom was down the hall

    Great place downtown , walking distance to all places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to carry luggage up and down.

    Property has great character with very friendly helpful staff. The location was perfect with easy access to most attractions within walking distance including the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at check-in and were shown to our room, it was ok. We told the reception lady that we were checking out early and asked to leave our luggage until noon, she said there was no problem. Next morning we couldn't find her to check out (around 8 am) and when she was finally in sight she said she was busy, to come back later... we insisted and she asked us to leave the keys on a table and our bags in the hall. She was overall uninterested in dealing with us!

    There's a mineral water dispenser

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locked doors between ajoining rooms provided little sound insulation.

    Location was good. Most major attractions within walking distance. Grazia, The lady who checked me in was particularly sweet!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Casa Rovai was a wonderful place to stay in Florence! The staff really care about your comfort and even go the extra mile to ensure nothing goes wrong. As a 21 year old lone traveler, this b&b could not have been more fitting! The lady at the front desk gave me her personal number in case I needed anything once she left. The toilets were very clean and the guest house was cosy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more run down than we anticipated. We had to ask for towels to be delivered and had to coordinate most needs by phone or email, since the desk is only sporadically manned.

    5-10 minute walk from most tourist attractions. Very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had an amazing stay, it was comfortable, clean and beautiful interior. The lady behind reception gave us lots of tips and advice and was very friendly. I hope to stay there again in the future! As soon as you turn out of the guest house when you look to the right you can see the Duomo (florence cathedral). Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not able to open the window in our room, only the small one in the bathroom. After asking for the remote control for the ac, we got one but it wasn't working properly. We didn't ask a second time, maybe they could have fixed it.

    The location is great. You can easily explore Firenze. It's in a nice building and we experienced a very warm welcome by the friendly staff. Additionally you get free water 24/7, even sparkling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud people parting in the down stairs apartments until 3am. Climbing 4 flights of stairs with luggage was difficult.

    The room was very clean and newly renovated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though a nice touch from them, I had to keep the aromatizer sticks outside the window.. too strong.. sometimes less is more. Coffee available, rather than tea or besides tea, would habe been appreciated

    Excellent mattress. A machine for fresh water available for all. Tea available also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stefani at the front desk was wonderful, helpful and a real asset. The accommodations were good, not fancy, but clean, comfortable. Local Italians. A good option if cookie-cutter hotels are something a person wants to avoid.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would pass on their breakfast and take advantage of the vouchers.

    Stefania was extremely helpful, before and during our stay. We had a lovely, huge room with comfy beds. We would recommend Lo Scudo for dinner, a 7 minute walk on Via dell Oriuolo. We dined there 3 of our 4 nights in Florence.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good place to stay if you need accessibility - Casa Rovai is located up three flights of stairs, with no elevator

    Lovely old guest house - less than 5 minutes walk from the Duomo or Santa Croce. spacious rooms, very comfy beds. great restaurants around the corner - as well as a neighborhood supermarket for wine etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less flexibility for the check-in time since it's a guesthouse. Quite a few staircases to climb (@3F) without the elevator.

    The location is the best, by walking distance to all sites. The room for 3 given to us was brand new and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Italian, sugary breakfast. Quite smelly inner court, where windows and house balcony goes to, especially in the morning - you better leave window closed. Seperate bath, but we knew that before.

    Friendly personnel. Good and relativly quiet starting poit to browse the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it is an adjoining room, you can hear everything from the neighboring guests. But if you are out sightseeing most of the day it's not really a problem. The external bathroom is located behind the reception area, so you have to walk past the other rooms to get to it. Again though, it's not a big inconvenience.

    Great location with very friendly and helpful staff. Only a short taxi ride from the main train station. The room was fine for one person for several nights and had lots of natural light. As reception is not 24 hours, it's best to advise them of your arrival time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a bit pricey for the comfortable simplicity of it.

    Great location, walking distance to everywhere in Firenze. amazing place with real afrescos on the wall, all taken care in detail, closet, toilet, water, heater to dry the clothes and aircon. Breakfest is simple but good enough! Staff extremely kind and helpful! Totally recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the wooden furniture and the beautiful mural on the ceiling. It was just what I was hoping it would be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely little place to stay, genius location. Love it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Good location, very welcoming staff, good looking, clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen. We have been said the check-in hour is 10 am, but when we arrived the room was not ready.

    Clean and safe neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close for sightseeing and great little places around to get cheap meals

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an entire apartment for us. Very confortable, clean and well furbished. Owners were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor signal of the wifi. Hard to open a webpage even in the lobby...

    Close to historical center of Florence. Easy to find. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple

    On the center of the city. Wolking distance from evrerything. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable, clean and spacious. Close to my school.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no elevator, luckily it's in 1st floor

    Nice B&B with supportive staff and great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's lovely place with lovely staff ;), highly recommended. It's in the heart of the city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One can choose 2 options for breakfast Parking 1 door

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and nice modern rooms 300 meters from the Duomo, very friendly and helpful staff, very reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location and good value for money. Stefania, the host, was very nice and helpful. Recommended!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High windows, with no view. Building is old and not modernised. Limited facilities, no manned reception post 1600 pm, small and old bathroom and toilet, though perfectly clean. Bed was short for a 1.80 m person, good mattress but a creaky wooden head- and floorboard. No automatic light in dark hallway with stairs, no elevator

    Room style is classical, high ceilings with classical paintings and furniture, friendly staff on premises. Good wifi, Quiet and cool room. Outdoor breakfast vouchers for a small deli across the square.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast is served in another bar, service was terrible and unfriendly; but it wasn't the problem of hotel, I suggest the hoest change another coporation patener.

    very nice staff, even if some of them were not really good at English, but they were so nice, patient, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff is very, very friendly and with a kind and professional attitude. Stefania is very helpful, nice and very prompt. The Rovai house is very well placed in Florence, close to any touristic objective.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location right in the walls , Easy walk to train station . Elena at the front desk was VERY helpful , gave us great ideas and printed out train schedules for us...thanks so much! The breakfast was very good as well. Clean and good size shower. Would stay here again :) Wish we had more days in Lucca .

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked as thought we would be in one of the original fresco rooms, we ended up in a very clean modern renovated room upstairs. If you have a preference, you need to make this clear! Breakfast selection isn't great.

    Very clean, great shower, excellent location 5 minutes from Il Duomo. Great quiet aircon.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weakest point was the breakfast. It was all very good but small which is typical for an Italian breakfast (we are Americans that recently relocated to Italy). Address was a bit hard to find.

    We really enjoyed our stay. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, the bathroom was large and great. We loved the "on tap" carbonated water...so refreshing!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Much like Great Britain, The Casa Rovai is a fantastic place to stay with history and grandeur that is reflected in the setting of Florence. A super location that gave us simple access to lots of local Florentine culture, truly invigorating international music events and exquisite buildings and architecture. The Casa Rovai staff provided excellent service throughout our stay. The room was a joy from the moment we opened the door and looked up to the fresco's. Just what we had hoped for. We shall be back, soon I hope.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found after we got there that our room was two stories up, 69 stairs. There was no elevator. This was not made known to us when we booked. This should be a serious consideration, especially with our needs.

    The staff was pleasant, and the room acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Our room was on a courtyard and the outside noise could be loud at times

    -Stefania (manager) was very helpful and willing to go the extra mile for her customers -Silvana (breakfast host) always had a smile and cooked some yummy breads -Good value -The location was acceptable on quiet street -The room was very clean and a good size

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast not included

    The location is very good. The experience to live in an authentic house of Florence

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Large and clean apartment Friendly personal Special room for tea and coffee

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Uncomfortable bed

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from adjoining room and outside noise

    Breakfast is excellent. Free water at machine to fill up your room bottle.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice and clean place, good location

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi

    location is great

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Little bit small rooms. It could be nice if there were more space.

    Hotel stuff very nice and friendly. Location of the hotel is very good!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bad breakfast. Poor staff hours.

    Great location. Comfortable bed. Cool room.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was really friendly. Our stay was absolutely joyful.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: