Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Casabiancalana

Via Ss.Annunziata, 1070, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#120 of 154 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 B&B reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there at about 3pm and we ringed at the door, nocked, called for almost half an hour and no answer... Finally, the lady opens the door and says that she was sleeping. The room was spacious, but not the cleanest place... the bed was super uncomfortable: we would slide to the middle because it was a bit inclined... A bit expensive for what we got there...

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Quirky but very quaint.

    The property was charming and full of character, very quaint. The owner Attillia is very hands on and approachable. The property is her passion and she thrives on making her guest’s stay as comfortable as possible. She’s up early each morning baking cakes and croissants, etc. There is plenty of choice at breakfast, including cold cuts, cheeses and omelet, which is great value for money at just €8.00 per person (optional). There is a Carrefour supermarket just a few mins walk, 2 mins in a car. The casabiancalana is just 10 mins to the centre of Lucca and the gardens and pool are a welcome retreat after a busy day sightseeing. Also just 30 mins to Pisa the property is ideally situated and very comfortable and reasonable. My wife, daughter and I stayed for 3 nights and occupied the 2 bed Lavinia apartment with kitchenette. There was ample space and plenty of storage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Recommended to experience Nice Antique Tuscany villa and sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Villa with a very beautiful garden and swimming pool, just amazing breakfast and the owner lady, she is amazing and made us feel at home, she prepared the breakfast herself... The room was too big , comfortable and clean.... the garden and the swimming pool are amazing... Just wish to spend another night... Very near to Lucca...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Everything about this property was wonderful ,the owner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t stay longer

    Everything about this property was wonderful ,the owner was particularly lovely .I would recommended it to anyone and intend to return next year

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Such a unique and charming place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a superb property, Attalia is a fantastic hostess - so welcoming and warm. The atmosphere in the house is amazing with genuine quirks and eccentricity - lovely big beds, great big rooms and an amazing breakfast! what more could a traveller want!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    The owner charged money to our card without telling us and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner charged money to our card without telling us and with no reason/explanation. When we called to ask her why, she hung up on us, twice. Has not responded to our emails about it. Would not recommend anyone to stay here. Terrible service! We now have to figure out a way to get our money back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Brillant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    It was so old Italy, so many old things to look at and the whole building was set back in time. I loved the feel. Attillia and her daughter were perfect hosts. We was quite a large family group in Italy for a family wedding. Yet the garden had all modern furniture and was beautiful, with a very clean swimming pool. we was made to feel at home, nothing was too much trouble. if you like a little history and something a little different, then the Casabiancalana is well worth a try.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay but everything is a little dated.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is a taxi ride from Lucca centre costing about 15-20 euros each trip and it is right by a busy road.

    It was like staying with a family friend, very helpful and friendly hosts, easy parking and very spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, romantic Tuscan villa for touring and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small thing, but the price of breakfast was not included in our booking. If I book a B&B, that means Bed and Breakfast. Seems odd that we had to pay extra for the breakfast. Should be stated up front that the cost is extra. Also, beware the city tax that has to be paid in cash. Oddity that can become expensive fast.

    The facility is beautiful and romantic. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was generous and tasty with plenty of coffee and a good variety of food. The location was excellent and parking is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Cozy apartment with trade-offs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In most cases we simply and solely couldn't find anyone from the staff. Usually there was no hot water in the evenings. The tap in the bathroom really needs some limescaling. The water barely flows out of it. The sockets were not compatible with all our plugs. (even though the standard is the same)

    The garden and the pool is really nice. Staff was helpful. (when we could find them)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely women with a lovely house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The women that host the air B&B was very sweet and helpfull. Furthermore the breakfast was amazone with All kind of self made pastries. The house is what you expect in Italië. A typical Italian stukje air BnB. I would definitely recommend it and we would go back ourselves when we are returning to Italië.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    The owner was very nice and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not know there were so many steep stairs to room which was difficult for one of us. The key to get into the property was so difficult we were in the rain for several minutes to open it. The pillow for third person was some foam stuffed in a pillow case which wAs very uncomfortable. No good transportation to Luca unless you had your own car

    The owner was very nice and cheerful. She baked delicious pastries for breakfast. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    -Noisy ( just near a traffic road)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chiesetta Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Noisy ( just near a traffic road) -Précised in our booking receipt : 4 adults When we arrived , one room for 2 adults, and a tiny room for 2 childrens!! Owner proposed us another appartement , but 30 € more expensive : Grrrrr Finally she has given up at the same price .... but we discovered we had to pay for cleaning .. Money money money We definitely don’t recommend that place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for an old grand charming house outside the centre of Lucca then this is for you. However, for us it was an 'ok' stay as there were a number of things which could be improved: - the welcome: there was no check-in desk. On arrival, everything looked closed up, all outside doors locked, no-one saw us for several minutes, and there was no sign-posting for arrivals and for parking - the room overall was ok but a bit dark for our liking - the shower could do with some TLC - sadly we were a little put out by the fact that for several hours on the Saturday afternoon (late afternoon into the evening) the whole garden and main breakfast room were being used by the owners for a family celebration. I just think while you are professionally renting out your property, it is right and proper that your paying guests get full access and use of the common rooms and garden area. While the owner was kind and friendly, we had to change our plans and go out instead.

    The drive into Lucca is about 10 minutes or so, and Lucca is a little gem of a place. The owner was friendly. Even though the property was on a main road, we slept really well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful retreat from the stresses of the Modern Age
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better. The place is wonderfully charming, old fashioned.

    Home made food produced fresh every morning by the owner. The quality was off the scale. A wonderful breakfast with numerous varieties of local bread, hams salamis omelettes home made cakes and tarts and good fresh Italian coffee... hospitality sans pareil.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.5
    Be careful!! Charged us twice and never responded to our e-mails when we found out!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have loved to write a great review. Everything was very nice until we had already left. I booked the room via Booking.com but when we checked out we were asked to pay by debit card. We did but when we were already on to our next destination we found out that they had also charged us on my credit card. Off course a mistake can happen so I wrote an e-mail if they could please cancel the credit card transaction. We never heard from them again. So we paid twice. Really bad service and that is why I can only give a very bad review as well. We are now trying to have our bank cancel the transaction.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Relax and chill in a major tourist spot
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to update the electrics in the kitchen!

    Private patio - swimming pool - access to Lucca. But what a beautiful country house - part of the history of Lucca.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Peace, quiet and comfort close to Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chiesetta Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice authentic looking property on a biking distance from Lucca city centre. Nice garden with dito pool. Friendly & helpful owner. Good for staying 1 day up to a few weeks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful character, very near Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea towel for drying dishes.

    We stayed in a one bed apartment with separate private entrance, and with patio doors into the garden. Noise from the fairly busy road in front of the property was minimal for us as there was an entrance porch and courtyard between the road and the apartment. There was a nice area to sit and drink, read etc immediately outside the apartment, and also a table and chairs to sit and eat at which we made use of daily, eating food we prepared in the well equipped kitchen (apart from lack of tea towel). You could enjoy a fair amount of privacy when staying at this particular apartment. There were tables and chairs around the corner near the pool for other rooms and guests too. Staff were very friendly. The property has a lot of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    A little haphazard but lovely stay all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately, being a noise sensitive person the location of our room which was road facing (a rather busy road) was not ideal (The economy room was the only room left and so I took it but this information was not really made available at the time of booking. Why would it be, most people don't mind traffic noise) There was no air conditioning, so we had to keep the windows open (so the traffic noise was worse) and mosquitoes (but these were dealt with with repellent) The room was quite dark - because it's street facing and on the ground floor, so passers by can see straight in and so we had to keep the shutters closed most of the time. It wasn't the same room as shown in the picture which looked much lighter. Again, this is not terrible stuff - we still enjoyed our holiday immensely but the expectations were a little different is all. We could not upgrade due to budget restrictions and besides, I think they were fully booked. I think the pictures of the economy room ought be updated.

    The owner Atilla is a very helpful and lovely lady. The bedrooms were cleaned every day. We also had fresh towels delivered halfway through our stay without even asking. The property is close to Lucca (about a 10 minute journey door to door) and there is free parking close by. The garden and pool was a great blessing and serene and the other guests were lovely. I'm sure the other rooms were lovely. Breakfast was good too - though I couldn't partake in any of the lovely homemade cakes as I am coeliac. However, gluten free bread was quickly provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    A Piece of Authentic Lucca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room was situated on the street where we could hear the cars passing, nevertheless after a long day you would surely fall fast asleep & wake up nicely.

    The authenticity of this space is very well preserved, this large beauty villa is nestled outside of the loud center where you can enjoy peace, birds chirping, delicious homemade cakes freshly baked, and cozy furniture preserved for years. Thank you Atelia for sharing a piece of authentic Lucca!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay if you're driving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was pleasantly surprised by the charming character is the property. Attila, the owner, told us it was previously a monastery, and many of the rooms reflect that wonderful old architectural style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautifull, but not too close to Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old house is beautifull, but is also a little bit dark. Also, as the garden and swimming pool are not too big, it depends a lot on the other guests how free you'll feel. Also Lucca is quite of a walk in a not too interesting area.

    The swimming pool, garden and breakfast are really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Outside the City Center but Incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Things were great!

    The home and the space is incredible. My room was large and comfortable and the outdoor space was well maintained. In addition, the 8 Euro breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    3.8
    Avoid unless you have a car and like dusty faded grandeur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was inaccurately described on website as being 2km from town centre. It took 40 minutes to walk or on average 14 euros in a taxi. Do not consider staying here unless you have a car. Roads too busy and no cycle path so dangerous to cycle. The room we were in was next to the road. It was noisy and dusty. No seating area. The shower took 10 minutes to heat up.The toilet seat was cracked. Owner spent a lot of time on phone so sometimes breakfast was very slow and sporadic. Chose place as it advertised a pool but repairs and tiling were ongoing so it was closed until the day we had enough and left. Owner's attitude about pool was dismissive. Said weather wasn't good so you wouldn't have used it but we had one really hot sunny day when it would have been nice to have a swim. We paid for other accommodation close to the historic centre at additional cost to ourselves. This accommodation is accurately described in relation to distance from town centre.

    Garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    4.2
    Not Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not enjoy our stay. Firstly, nobody answered the door for about 15 minutes, we were not even sure anyone was there and were getting nervous. We finally found a very kind local who called the owner of the house who then finally welcomed us. She was very friendly however quite overwhelmed with the business and we didn't quite know how to check in and check out. The room was quite dusty and the toilet wasn't clean and didn't flush properly. When I mentioned it to her she disregarded it saying that we just need to flush a few times. Spending an extra €15 on a cleaning fee therefore seems quite high for what we actually received. The water in the shower was not consistently warm either. We received clean towels however and the bed seemed clean as well. The location was not great - thankfully we had a car but if you are looking at going into town by foot I do not recommend staying here. Lastly, the pictures do not exactly represent the B&B either such as the pool area. We were travelling through Tuscany for two weeks and this was going to be our last night and so we decided to spend a bit more on this night's stay, however unfortunately it was the worst night we had in Italy - this is not good value for your money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast. You would think a bed and breakfast has breakfast included

    Nice little place. The lady that owns it was really nice, I was surprised at the 8 Euro per head breakfast though, which drove the price quite high. Other than that it was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice place but really need a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was quite difficult without a car it was quite a walk to the regular bus service which only operates until 8pm. Taxis were very expensive And variable in price for a short journey from the town

    The apartment was a good size and a lovely building

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.5
    Mixed feelings about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The living room of our apartment is not very cozy. There were 2 bright bulbs hanging from the wall. Not a real nice seating area in the room. The breakfast is not very good. We only did that once and decided to get our own croissants at the supermarket. The building is right on the road so there is a lot of traffic. I would not stay here again. I would try to find something more secluded and quiet.

    Location very central between Pisa and Florence. Building is very quaint. The lady is very nice and helpful. Lucca has a very nice towncenter with tons of nice restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing holiday
    • Group
    • Chiesetta Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting is beautiful and relaxing. Attilia,the owner, is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lavinia Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Pool and outdoor area are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of room being cleaned and confusion over payment.

    Pool and outdoor area are great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    It was a peaceful and relaxed stay- Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice relaxed atmosphere. Pleasant garden with pool, spacious and characterful old building. we felt well looked after.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.2
    Quite place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality not in line with price Bed was too soft. 2km to Lucca and no bikes available.

    Quite place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Just lovely 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the atmosphere of staying in a traditional Italian home, felt very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely visit. We recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very friendly host. - good breakfast with many options. - clean and cosy rooms. - Nice pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Garden and swimmingpool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated and no airco working

    Garden and swimmingpool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent address for people who want to stay in a charming venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, charming host, beautiful house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Back in time..!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    900 odd year old building.. simply beautiful..!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    It was pardiso for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast and hospitality was exceptional! The grounds were beautiful and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great and relaxing stay near Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We prefer a duvet in stead of sheets and blanket.

    The room was great The garden very relaxing Our host Attilia very lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful accomodation and the friendliness of the hostess...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful accomodation and the friendliness of the hostess was superb. The breakfast was a banquet table of food. You will be as blown away as we were. Robin Satterthwaite

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    We have just returned from our honeymoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have just returned from our honeymoon. We stayed in the b&b for a week and everything was just perfect! The couple that run it are so lovely and helpful, they gave us lots of info about the area and places to go. The breakfast was delicious, and I loved the homemade cakes!! We have had a very relaxing week, our apartment was well equipped with all you need to make meals and overall the apartment had everything you needed to feel at home. It is a great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    The owner of the B&b was extremely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was just a little bit too far out of Lucca. We walked to the town every day and it was at least a 30 minutes brisk walk.

    The owner of the B&b was extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful 11th century monastery (old in a beautiful way),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was next to a main road, so we had to close the windows at night not to hear the traffic, which was quite warm considering temperatures of 34-38 degrees Celsius (day time).

    Beautiful 11th century monastery (old in a beautiful way), very fiendly owners, magnificent breakfast, great garden with lounge area and swimming pool. Close to city center of Lucca (5-10 minutes by car).

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    we find this oasis and beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we find this oasis and beautiful place. The hostess was very kind. Really recommend this nice garden with pool and the wonderful breakfast. Thank you Biancalana for you lovley place.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.9
    The hosts were delightful and very helpful, the breakfasts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not a great location. Any reviews which say it is 20 minutes walk out of Lucca are misleading as we walk very fast and despite trying different routes we could not walk it in under 30 minutes, and this is along a very uninteresting road. Consequently we had to keep taking the car when we went into Lucca to eat in the evening, which meant that one of us couldn't have wine with our meal - a shame when on holiday. Also, car parking is on a strip of public land opposite and out of sight of the house. If this is full, which is was sometimes, then the car has to be left some distance down the road, which is a bit of a concern when the car is hired and brand new! Re our apartment - we were in the apartment on the ground floor with doors opening to the garden; it was very dark (why the awful lighting?), and I got very bitten by mosquitos from the pool outside the doors/windows. Also, an fyi for future guests, the bathroom is on a different level up a fairly steep staircase. This wasn't a problem for us, but could be for anyone less mobile, and the room description doesn't mention it.

    The hosts were delightful and very helpful, the breakfasts were excellent, the old house and antique furniture was lovely and the garden was peaceful and well tended. Being able to hire the house bikes and cycle into Lucca was fun.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.8
    The warmth and friendship of the owners, the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warmth and friendship of the owners, the beautiful garden and pool area, and the very enjoyable breakfasts were outstanding for us. We didn't want to leave.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was great, lovely pool and garden area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was great, lovely pool and garden area. The breakfast was fantastic with all home cooked food and the staff were very pleasant. A little out of town but we had a car so no issue there. Would definitely return. (Hopefully soon).

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.9
    The originilatity of the property, the calm and welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The originilatity of the property, the calm and welcoming atmosphere, the relaxing garden and pool and the wonderful ambience and karma. The property is close to Carrefour so we could easily get provisions and wine!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.6
    Loved the beautiful villa tastefully and lovingly restored...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved the beautiful villa tastefully and lovingly restored by the owner Mrs Attilia and the wonderful welcome she gave us.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was just the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was just the best

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff are every attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are every attentive. The property itself is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.9
    FAMILY WELCOME AND ATMOSPHERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    FAMILY WELCOME AND ATMOSPHERE

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.3
    Amazing breakfasts and really friendly owners, it felt more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing breakfasts and really friendly owners, it felt more like we were staying with family than at a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Pool and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No UK tv channels but plenty for the rest of the world

    Pool and room

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Welcoming and friendly hospitality, style of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming and friendly hospitality, style of the accommodation, loved the home cooked breakfast, the serene garden and the chats with the host

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: